Reading Reviews for Ghosts of You
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Ghosts of You

9th September 2013:
I saw that you had revised a story so I decided to check it out, and then when I saw it was a This Longing sequel it made me even happier! Iím definitely not here for spoiler hunting or anything :P

I really loved Minervaís inner thoughts at the beginning of this chapter. It was really nice to compare them to her thoughts in This Longing where she is mature, but here she seemed to have this inner peace and not so much of the youthfulness as seen in TL. She was actually rather witty which was a nice characteristic I really see in her but really fits. I think it was this line ĎHer gaze fell on Gryffindor table and the very spot where she once sat for every meal, now taken by a pair of grinning gingers.í Which really made it for me!

I loved the build-up to her and Grimm talking! The suspense was just brilliant and even though I guessed that the wizard was Grimm there was still those fleeting moments of doubt over whether it was or not. I thought you captured both of their surprise of seeing one another brilliantly! I think what really pulled it off was there anger at Dumbledore for not telling the other. It was so him not to do that, and shows how well he really knew them because I highly doubt that Minerva would have agreed to teach judging by her reaction here.

Their verbal attacks were different and it was so strange reading them here. It was as if there was almost anger mingled in with them for not keeping updated about their lives, and I was glad to see I was correct when Minerva remarked that she thought Grimm had died in the war. Ah, Iím just so excited about reading the end of TL now, because her thoughts about the lack of marriage and children just seemed so bitter itís making me wonder how they left it, and why there was this animosity there.

When they were having their argument of sorts in Grimmís room, I was just thinking how your wonderful your characterisation of them was and all that stuff and then Minerva went and dropped that bombshell. I mean, I had a feeling something else might have happened but never that! Grimmís reaction to it was perfect, and all of Minervaís thoughts about children and marriage make sense now. It really brought me close to tears when she was talking about it as you could almost still sense the sadness despite the fact she hadnít even known she was pregnant, but the strong attachment you created between her and the baby was really wonderful!

The tender moments after Minerva lashed out at Grimm were just brilliantly written! I didnít really know what to expect because their situation had changed so much and after Minervaís bombshell it felt as too many things had happened that it could never go back to how it used to be, but how you wrote it was simply perfect! I canít really describe it more than that, because Iím just trying to adsorb the entire one-shot and how great it was, but yeah, I loved that last scene as it tied up Minerva and Gimmís relationship really well.

Sorry about this review, I feel as if itís really garbled and doesnít make all that much sense, but I want you to know I thought this was a really brilliant one-shot and showed a really interesting new side to Minerva and Grimm.

-Kiana

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing this story, Kiana! It's lovely that you've stopped by, especially since this story does give spoilers for "This Longing" (though the ending to that one has probably gotten obvious by now). It's weird, though, because this story came before the novel, and I've been having to work backwards ever since. I've been glad to have had the chance to revise this one, not only to make things fit more easily, but because some of the writing was... ugh. So many clunky sentences...

Anyway, I'm glad that you like how Minerva has matured. She still has a long way to go until she becomes the McGonagall of the books, but one thing I've always liked about her even in the books is her sense of humour - it's a very strange sense of humour, filled with snark and Lady Violet Crawley-isms. At this first dinner, there's already foreshadowing of the kind of relationship she'll have with her students - in this case, it's the Prewett twins who have caught her eye, but later on, it will be the Marauders, the Weasley twins, the Trio... all these students who encapsulate what it means to be a Gryffindor (and perhaps they also remind her a bit of Grimm, who is not a Gryffindor, but still shares many of their traits).

I liked making them angry, not at each other, but at Dumbledore for placing them in that situation. They're embarrassed, and there's nothing they can do about it because they're in front of the whole school, which, as you said, is exactly what Dumbledore wanted. He's always shipped them, I suppose you could say, and perhaps now the opportunity has arisen for things to work out between them.

The animosity is the one thing that I've been struggling with in TL - the novel is meant to end on a not-unhappy note, so I can only say that the animosity comes afterward. Grimm never wrote to her, though there were times he wanted to, but he didn't know what to tell her - he couldn't put his feelings into words. And Minerva wouldn't write if he didn't. The War kept them apart, and once it was over, they just go on with their separate lives. Pride is their problem. They won't admit their feelings for each other - and they can't without entirely letting down their defenses, which is what happens in this story.

It means a lot that you've enjoyed this one-shot - your compliments, especially about the characterization, are lovely to hear. Thank you so much! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #2, by Lil lily71 Ghosts of You

22nd May 2010:
I have no idea why but I seem to be reading your stories backwards, yet they still make perfect sense. I really enjoy reading your stories Susan especially Minerva/Grimm stories, I think now though this has to be one of my favourites. Your descriptions were perfect, and characterization too, I love the last part of the story it just ends perfectly.
Amazing work as always Susan!! 10/10

Lore

Author's Response: Don't worry, Lore. I wrote them backwards. XD This, having been the first story, needs some updating to get it back into the "canon" of This Longing (the ending of which I've had to tweak a bit because I couldn't be that cruel to Grimm). But I'm glad that they still make sense with the storyline, even if read backwards. :D

Thank you so much for this, Lore. It means a huge amount that you enjoy this story and all the Grimm/Minerva ones. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #3, by Edward Ollivander Ghosts of You

22nd February 2010:
It was great to find this chapter story. I see that they still haven't gotten over each other after all of those years. If they took the time to think about it they would realize that Dumbledore hired both of them to put them back together. He's a sly one that way. Nice work. Happy writing.

Author's Response: This is a story I'm going to have to revise after finishing "This Longing", as some of the details will need tweaking, but I'm still glad that you've enjoyed it, my first separate story about Grimm and Minerva. And yes, Dumbledore probably did do that - there's something about him that makes him a perfect matchmaker. XD

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing! It was great to hear from you again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by FannyPrice Ghosts of You

28th December 2009:
Wow! After reading this, I desperately want you to finish This Longing, soon if possible. Your characterizations are so good, and you really make the moments between Grimm and Minerva very intense. Great Job!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D Haha, I'd like to finish This Longing soon as well - the rest of the story is planned out, and I just have to hope for time and inspiration to actually write it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Harry and Ginny Ghosts of You

16th October 2009:
great story u have here. please keep doing the good job with these fics.^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Liam R Ghosts of You

17th March 2009:
Ahh, that was amazing :D

Okay, I don't even know where to start. I get the feeling I should have read This Longing first, but since this is the first posted story in the trilogy, whatever ^_^

The weird thing is, I don't even like Minerva stories. She always seems so cold and withdrawn, severe and a little mean, and I think it's really original to portray her as a younger woman, with this horrible burden weighing down on her. I thought at first that she was really fiesty and tough and nothing would get in her way, but then you see how vulnerable she really is, and how Grimm is making her feel.

I also really liked the references to teenage rebellion, it adds another layer of originality to your characterisation of her.

I have to read the other two instalments now!

This is so fantastic! ^_^
10/10

Author's Response: *stares* Wait, this isn't a mystery story! :P I honestly didn't expect you to check out the more romantic things I'd written, but it's wonderful that you did and that you liked it. This story was written first, so it works as the first one to read as well - a little whetting for the one that comes before and the one that comes after. ;)

I agree with you that Minerva is often stereotyped in fanfiction, always being portrayed as the same stern witch she usually is in the books. The way you've described her here really gets to how I wanted to portray her instead: very stubborn and firm-minded, but with this other weaker side that haunts her. I wanted to make her feel more realistic, human. Of course, by now the angsty-past plot is overdone, but hopefully it still works with her.

Thank you very much for reading this, Liam. I'm really glad that you liked it, and hope you enjoy the other Grimm stories. :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by jemma341 Ghosts of You

3rd April 2008:
That was really beautiful Susan. This is one of the first Minerva stories I've read, I've never really thought about reading her before.
I really like your portrayal of Minerva in this, you've made her a strong woman, much like she is in the books. This is how I would imagine Minerva to react if in a situation like this. You have made the plot to this very believable, I can see Grimm walking away if in this situation.
Truly magnificent writing Susan, you've convinced me to read more of your stories now and I look forward to reading the novel length story this was inspired by :)
-Jemma

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much, Jemma! It's fantastic that you read and enjoyed this. ^_^ Minerva is a highly interesting character to write - both because so little is known about her and because of her strength of personality. I hope, if you get the time to read more of my stories, that you enjoy them as well. =D

 Report Review

Review #8, by padme_alejandra Ghosts of You

3rd November 2007:
Mmm, more Tiberius/Minerva! I'm developing quite the love for these two. I especially liked this one, part II. It continued to develop your characters, seemingly effortlessly. I was riveted to your every word. You've made these two seem like they have been embodied in the HP canon as long as Harry has existed. They're so real as characters, as 3D as words can make something, and so complicated and conflicted that they're so very wonderfully human. I can feel the electricity between them. It's - you're - magnificent.

What's more, they're imperfect, and they both know it. And I love that. I love that they're so real and have so much depth to them.

Fabulous.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Dani! ^_^ I can't thank you enough for all your wonderful reviews - they've been so inspiring. It's wonderful to hear that the characters are canon and realistic - they've become so real in my head that it's a relief that they come out on the page just as real. =D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Bears Kitty Ghosts of You

29th September 2007:
again as i have said with some of your other one shots, this would make a good long lasting story

Author's Response: Thank you! It'd be interesting to try and lengthen it, but the idea sort of burnt out after writing this. It's getting hard to write full-blown novels. :(

 Report Review

Review #10, by lacrymose Ghosts of You

25th September 2007:
Does this mean you're going to finish the other story?

Author's Response: Haha, yes. I'm not giving up on any of my current stories, especially if Grimm's involved. =D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rupertluver2012 Ghosts of You

1st September 2007:
how freaking cute.
:]


great job.
ilovemcgonnagle.
like lots.


i like how she has love; it's brilliant :]

oh yes.


10/10

*chow*

Author's Response: Aww, thank you very much for reviewing. I really appreciate it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by Riddle Wood Lupin Ghosts of You

10th July 2007:
Oh, this was lovely. Minerva stories are rather rare, and this was just a great insight into a would-be past. I think you pulled off her character well, you can really sense the pent-up passion and regrets and struggle over her emotions. She's got that elegance that she has in the books, but she's still bordering on adolesence, and that's a great way to portray a character. Caught in the middle (which, it seems to me, Minerva tends to be). I particularly enjoy the bit about her being a Quidditch player, seems so increadibly plausible to me.

I love Dumbledore's modesty about Gryffindor's having a better chance at winning the cup with her as the head. Such a Dumbledore thing to do. My only nitpick about Dumbledore is him referring to Grimm as Professor Grimm. Dumbledore has a habit of calling his staff by their first names, so I think it entirely plausible that he may call him Professor Grimm the first time he address him, but after that I imagine he would call him Tiberius. Or maybe there's some background that I'm not previously aware of (having not read your other story, which I should probably do, come to think...).

Grimm's a great character, from this little glimpse I've seen. I must admit I'm extremely curious about where he went and such now...I'm extremely happy that he gave back the ring. I can see Minerva wearing an engagement ring around her neck for ages and no one knowing...ha. They're both so intelligent, though, in speech and thoughts and realizations, they click. ;) The bits where they touched one another were written beautifully, you could see the passion so clearly.

Anyway, I'll stop boring you with my rambling. I enjoyed it very much, thanks for the great read! :)

-Riddle Wood Lupin

Author's Response: I've fixed that bit about what Dumbledore calls Grimm - thank you for pointing that out, I forgot that aspect of Dumbledore's character. It's not a nitpick at all - I really appreciate that you pointed it out to me. =)

Thank you so very much for this excellent review! It's great to hear that Minerva and Grimm turned out well as characters and that their relationship was believable. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by LostMaeblleshire Ghosts of You

5th July 2007:
Just beautiful. Stories about a younger Minerva are so interesting, because while she's very prim and proper during Harry's time, she was and is still a Gryffindor, and once she was exceptionally capable of doing very Gryffindorish things. (Well, she still does, but in a different sense, I suppose.) I really loved your take on her character, and of course, your language was lovely, as usual. And the end... Guh. I just loved this! Now I feel badly for not keeping up with The Fires Within, because obviously, I've been really missing out. ♥

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! ^_^ It's wonderful that you enjoyed the story, and how Minerva turned out (guess I worry too much, eh?). Thanks so much for reviewing, LostMaeblleshire, and don't worry about Fires Within too much - it's not as good as this story. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #14, by tiffers Ghosts of You

30th June 2007:
AWWW! *tear* I absolutely loved this Violet! Rarely when one offers to give out reviews do they find a story that they truly fall in love with, but luckily for me, you brought this little gem to my attention. First off, the banner is amazing, and I adore it! ^_^ You always have such beautiful banners, and they really catch the attention of the readers, not to mention I think it really fits with this story beautifully!

Now, to this amazing story, that is still leaving me slightly speechless. You have such a beautiful style of writing, and I have enjoyed reading your one shots immensely, they always leave me wanting more, and I truly feel it is a mark of a good story to make the reader want more. This story surprised me, mostly because I wasn't sure if I was going to be interested in reading about Minerva for an entire story. Turns out...I DO! I was completely blown away by this, you did an amazing job of making her come to life. You may have felt that she didn't really stay Minerva-ish, but I truly felt reading this that this one-shot could have come from J.K's own personal collection of histories about her characters.

I absolutely adore Grimm!!! Here's the thing, I am wary of OC's, and I am not sure why, as I have read some really incredible OC's on this site, but I am always a little unsure if I want to read about them. It takes a very talented person to make me care as much about the OC as I do about one of the original HP characters, but unsurprisingly you managed to make me fall in love with Grimm. He's sort of one of those characters you cannot help but respect. There was just something about his flawed character that I really found myself latching to, I think he is amazing, and I am guessing since this story sort of came about from one of your other stories, that you have written about him before? I would very much be interested in reading more about him.

Their whole interaction is incredible, and what strikes me the most, is how real it feels. How the feelings between them are so palpable and how much I felt like I was watching this movie of the scenes unfolding. *gobbles down more of the popcorn she made to watch the scene between them* Their story is just so bittersweet and yet so hauntingly beautiful at the same time. I just cannot put into words how touching and moving and heartbreaking this story was. I loved it Violet, truly and honestly loved it to pieces!

Another wonderful story to add to my collection of favorites, you make it increasingly clear with each and every story of yours that I read, why you are so respected and liked as an author. You have phenomenal talent my dear, and it wouldn't surprise me if someday soon we see you publish something, I certainly know I would be in line to buy it! Amazing job, thank you sooo very much for sharing this fantastic story with me, I feel honored!



Author's Response: Thank you very much for doing this, tiffers! I really value your opinion. ^_^ It's really awesome that you like Grimm - he's probably the most real character I've ever come up with - more flawed than anything else. And it's a relief about Minerva, though a surprise that it's that good of a portrayal - JKR's personal collection? Wow! =D

I'm really happy that you enjoyed the story so much,tiffers, and that you found it so moving. Honestly, I can't tell you how I was able to write something like that, haha. Once again, thank you for the review. =D


 Report Review

Review #15, by ElissandrAnne Ghosts of You

22nd June 2007:
First of all, I love the banner - but you're a very good graphic maker.

I've been wanting to read this one-shot for some time. And I'm glad I finally did. I do like your writing style. It flows, the rhythm is flawless. And your storyline is great. I liked it a lot!

Especially your characterization of Minerva. We're so used to read about the stern professor that most of the time we forget that at 70 something she's not that old, being a witch. But we know close to nothing about the young woman she once was... and you portrayed her very well. Strong and vulnerable at the same time. Already hiding behind a mask. That was very well done!

Grimm is very intriguing. I did like the way you portrayed him. Now I feel compelled to read the Fires Within. :D

Good job! 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you, Anne! ^_^ I'm so excited about your review because you're such a great writer yourself, and this is my favourite fanfiction write now. Minerva is a great character - I've loved writing her since my contribution to "Looking Glass" and putting her up against Grimm seemed so perfect. To write their history was wonderful. =D Thanks so much for reviewing! I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by SilverShadow04 Ghosts of You

18th June 2007:
You are master of words dearie you really are. I don't know how you do it but you always seem to find the right words to place together and they just seem to flow. Few people can create words into a fascinating story.

Author's Response: *blushes* Whoa, that's way too kind, SilverShadow. =o Thank you very very much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dras Leona Ghosts of You

18th June 2007:
I didn't even realize you had this up until after you mentioned it in the note at the bottom of chapter 23 of The Fires Within. I wish I'd noticed it sooner. Amazing job, I love how this story fits in with Fires Within.

Author's Response: Thanks! It's great that you enjoyed this. ^_^ Yeah, I put that note there, just for those readers who may want to have a last glimpse of Grimm. *sniff*

 Report Review

Review #18, by Snape Obsessed Ghosts of You

10th June 2007:
-sniff- glad I could read about Grimm one last time... Nice fic. I love the pairing and new background information given about the two.

~Snob

Author's Response: Thanks! Poor Grimm, I'll have to write a load more of fics just about him to keep him alive a bit longer. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #19, by delta Ghosts of You

29th May 2007:
Wow. Amazing one-shot, Violet. For some reason, the idea of Minerva playing quidditch made me laugh. But that's probably because I'm too stuck in the idea of Minerva as a stern and elegant professor. You've truly reshaped my view of Minerva here - making her different enough that her youth is believable, but similar enough that the reader can still see the older Minerva peeking through. You've really transformed both of the characters here - Grimm and Minerva - from their canon (or FW in the case of Grimm) into real, live, tangible, youthful characters. I love the way you write them. You really have a way of making them come to life and making their emotions palpable. Amazing job as always. :D

Author's Response: It was a bit awkward trying to imagine how they'd be as younger people, and it was worrying, especially with Minerva, that I'd gone too far in OOCness. It means a lot, therefore, to hear you say that it works out believably. =) Thank you so much, delta. It's always wonderful to read your reviews. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by caryjanecarter Ghosts of You

28th May 2007:
I loved it, really. Minerva's early life is one barely touched upon, or if it is, it's full of cliches, but yours was brilliant. I liked Grimm, and I really want to hear more about him. The moment in his office - it wasn't forced, but just perfect. We didn't learn all of the background story at one time - which is a very common mistake of some writers here - and that helped keep the reader interested and also made them want to read more. Will you write a sequel? I think it can go either way. I would give you some criticism, but I really couldn't find anything to improve on.

~ Caroline (Ellarose)

~* The Team Potter Reviewer *~

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I'd love to write a sequel, if only to have an excuse to write more about Grimm. ^_^ Hopefully some good plot idea comes to mind about it. =D Thank you for reviewing - I really appreciate it. =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Chloe Kay Ghosts of You

24th May 2007:
Wow.

I...

Wow.

That was gorgeous. Absolutely. Exquisite.

I don't even know what to say to you. This is one of the best stories I've ever read. I'm trying really hard to focus my thoughts into actual feedback, but its proving to be a bit difficult.

Ok.

First, I loved your characterization of Minerva. This is the first story I've ever read about anything in her past, and you wrote it beautifully. You revealed enough of her past to show why she has developed into the strong woman she is today, albeit troubled and with a bit of a hard exterior. Grimm's charater was also fabulous, so mysterious, and more open with his emotions than Minerva. I thought the fact that he left her when he realized how daunting the idea of marriage right of out school was very different and much more realistic than what you see in most fanfiction, and I, for one, really appreciated that.

I would pick out my favorite lines for you, but I have a feeling I'd be here forever.

Author's Response: One of the best?!? =o Wow, that's wonderful of you to say that. I'm really happy to hear that you liked the realism and the characters, and it's awesome that you liked this story so much. Thank you so much for reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #22, by QueenRowena Ghosts of You

23rd May 2007:
I really liked this. The one thing I can appreciate is the fact that Grimm recognized at 18 that he didn't want to be tied down and left. This is a bigger reality than most of the stories with kids getting married right out of high school. I think Minerva's character was fantastic. Because we don't know much about the teachers and how they were, "typical" Minerva could really be anything. Who knows why she is the way she is, so I really liked your rendition of her.

Author's Response: Haha, that's probably why I did it that way - to escape the dreaded teen marriage romance. ;-) Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to hear that Minerva turned out well, and that you enjoyed the story. =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by DAC Ghosts of You

19th May 2007:
I clicked this fic on a whim.

And I'm incredibly glad I did.

It's a nice short look into one of the most mysterious characters in the Potterverse.

I really enjoyed this.

Thanks for it!



Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad your whim worked out, haha, and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the story. =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by katey Ghosts of You

17th May 2007:
this was amazing.
end of story.=D

Author's Response: Thanks very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by Romina Stephanie Ghosts of You

15th May 2007:
Absolutely brilliant. You portrayed the characters in an excellent way, describing their emotions incredibly. What else can I say really? This was flawless.

I especially loved Minerva; at first, I saw her as a strong woman, but as I continued on reading, I noticed how shattered she was inside because of Grimm's departure thirteen years earlier. You really managed to capture this confusion and despair, making it heart-wrenching.

Grimm is also showed perfectly: his character is very... I don't know, a bit reserved, yet emotional all the same? He's mystical.
His actions, though foolish, were understandable. Proposing one night and then leaving. To be so young and marry may have been common, but I suppose not everybody liked the thought. And not wanting to hurt her, he left, thinking it was for the best. I guess one doesn't think thoroughly when finding oneself in such a situation. So, one makes the choice that seems rational, even though it can be crazy.

Here are two small mistakes I noticed (or I presumed they were mistakes, but I might be wrong - in that case, I'm sorry):

“Headmaster Dippet chose to retire rather suddenly due to an illness, so a new Transfiguration professor was needed was needed to take my place.[...] - You've repeated the words 'was needed' there. Not much, but always something.

and

‚ÄúYou cannot even understand what I‚Äôve been though, Tiberius.‚ÄĚ - Do you mean through?

Anyway, this was a great one-shot. I was so happy when I saw this was up!... And yet again, you've amazed me by what you've written - the language is beautiful in itself and the descriptions are... well, perfect. I just love your writing-style.

Anyway, great job! - Stephanie

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out those errors, Stephanie. I fixed them right away. =) I let out a sigh of relief when I got your review since I was worried that no one would want to read such a story as this. I am really glad to hear that you saw the characters as realistic - it was worrisome that maybe Minerva wasn't as strong as she was in canon, but then again, the books do take place around forty years later. Grimm's mistake probably saved them from becoming bored, and maybe coming to hate each other, but how can we know? =P

Thank you very much for reviewing this, Stephanie. It means a lot to read your opinions on my stories. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login