Reading Reviews for The Sketch Book
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gracey Over the Cuckoo's Nest

15th January 2011:
This. Is. Absolutely. Wonderful. Oh my gosh! You are an amazing writer! I love the believability of it: for a while there I forgot it was fanfiction! Besides a minute amount of typos/grammar issues this is perfect, and I'm not just saying that! Kudos to you my fellow writer!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love hearing that someone likes what I write. I'm sorry about the typos and grammar things. No matter how many times I edit, I always miss something. Feel free to point things out if you notice them :) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Timechild Over the Cuckoo's Nest

6th January 2011:
Not bad. I liked how Lily finally came around and confessed that she had been stretched thinking that she hadn't done well.

James as Head Boy is surprising, but you made it believable.

Overall, nicely done.

Author's Response: Thanks! I always had this idea that James matured without anybody realizing (not even Lily or himself). It really bothers her that James is handling being Headboy, because if a screwup like him can handle it, then it should be easier for her.

Anyway, thank you so much! I'm really flattered that you like it :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ruthje Over the Cuckoo's Nest

4th January 2011:
Do you want to know what is really annoying about some fanfics like this one? It is not finished yet! You finally discover a good, original fan fiction and than it just stops. Please write fast ;)
in my opinion there should be more dialogue. Let the characters really react to one another.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm really flattered. You are probably right about the dialogue. I'll make sure to pay attention to that while I'm writing. Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHufflepuffian Through the Cyclone

3rd January 2011:
Awesome job on this chapter. There's a few typos, but nothing too bad. I'm really starting to get into your story now. On to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Sorry about the typos. I was in a rush to beat the queue and didn't edit it before I sent it in.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Sabrina Bane My Wand is Bigger Than Yours

3rd January 2011:
I know the feeling James.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Sabrina Bane Through the Cyclone

3rd January 2011:
Ohhh. This is getting good.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sabrina Bane. Queen of the night, leader of a pack of wolves Crazy People...

3rd January 2011:
This is a formal title, it will disapper. The Potters, *Eye brow arches along the pale face of a grown woman.* nice. I am Sabrina Bane, I grew up as Sabrina Snape, before I married. *dark smile. With a swoosh of a cloak you never noticed the woman leaves. In your hand was a few gold coins and a letter saying the book will be returned when Sabrina finishes. She was gone when you looked up.*

 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHufflepuffian Crazy People...

3rd January 2011:
Good start! I like your plot and the direction it's headed. I'm surprised that Sara didn't recognize James' mother though. Anyway, I'm liking your story so far and I will be reading the next chapter soon.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I've actually gotten a lot of reviews asking about the Potters. In my mind, Sara never met the Potters because they and their house and their lives were magical, and you can't just go around letting muggles know you are a wizarding family, ya know? So James just never brought her home. I'm not sure if thats a legitimate reason, but thats how it worked out in my mind.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Matthea Over the Cuckoo's Nest

3rd January 2011:
Hey, like your story! James is really sweet for Sara. I'm gonna read the rest of the story too, when it's up.

 Report Review

Review #10, by de1boy Through the Cyclone

2nd January 2011:
Brilliant! Can't wait to see what James does :) Keep it up! Now, off to read the next chapter!!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by de1boy Crazy People...

2nd January 2011:
Oo!!! So I take it she's going on the Hogwarts Express!! That's exciting but how did she not know that was James Potter's parents??? Had she never met them? I'm just curious :) Apart from that brilliant start!! I'm now going on to read the next chapter :D Keep up the good work!!!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review. Sara never met the Potters because their house was magical, and you can't just go around letting muggles know you are a wizarding family, ya know? I'm not sure if thats a legitimate reason, but thats how it worked out in my mind. Thanks for the encouragement!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Timechild My Wand is Bigger Than Yours

30th December 2010:
Interesting chapter. I find James' attitude to be a bit surprising, but believable. The thought that he might take some responsibility is humorous, but also believable.

The emotion was nicely done. James' feelings came out well, and Sara's was as well. You portrayed her feelings nicely and the detail was good. All the actions you portray were nicely done.

I liked the part about the wand. You made it make sense.

A few spelling errors, but that's okay.

Overall, good job. Keep it up.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Timechild Through the Cyclone

30th December 2010:
Nicely done. The part about Sara's reaction to Dumbledore showed the right attitude ( in my opinion). James' reaction to Sara was also quite believable; especially the part of being surprised to see her. I can also see how Sara would have come to the conclusion she did.

Good Job.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Timechild Crazy People...

30th December 2010:
Interesting fic. I liked the way you showed Sara's emotion to her mother's death and her surprise at someone mentioning Hogwarts. Her reaction to passing through the barrier was also nicely done.

Your detail was also good. I could see the confusion in Sara's eyes, and that was good too.

Overall, good job. Keep it up.

 Report Review

Review #15, by PeneMuzBubbles Over the Cuckoo's Nest

29th December 2010:
It's quite nice, im looking forward to reading mroe:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really means a lot that you would take the time to tell me so :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by penonpaper Over the Cuckoo's Nest

28th December 2010:
This seems like a very interesting story! I'm really looking forward to more :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really means a lot that you would take the time to tell me so :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Scipia Over the Cuckoo's Nest

28th December 2010:
Amazing, moving story. I absolutely love it! James is such a sweet, brotherly guy :) I'll be looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: I really appreciate you saying so! I really love writing James and I'm excited that someone else besides me likes him (as I imagine him). I'm glad you like the story!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Mary Over the Cuckoo's Nest

27th December 2010:
Wow.
I LOVE this!
Please write more, it's truly amazing and just as I'd imagined James would act.
I also love Sara's character and all of the little details in your story.
Truly brilliant!

Author's Response: I really appreciate you saying so! I really love writing James and I'm excited that someone else besides me likes him (as I imagine him).

 Report Review

Review #19, by Miss Person Over the Cuckoo's Nest

27th December 2010:
Man i love this story hurry and write more. It'll be thrilling. I love the whole aspect of everything. Very exiting.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by SusieBones Through the Cyclone

9th December 2010:
This is really good!

 Report Review

Review #21, by FluffyBunny My Wand is Bigger Than Yours

8th December 2010:
I like it. Normally this would be the dream of every eleven year old, an dI quite enjoy the thought that Sara is thinking she's crazy is cool. I like the twist on the normal 'I-was-thrown-into-the-magical-world-and-I-adapt-perfectly' stories. :)
Lara
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! The 'I-was-thrown-into-the-magical-world-and-I-adapt-perfectly' stories are why I wrote this one! I really hate stories where the heroine is perfect. I'm not a great writer, but I love putting that aspect into the story :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by BlueBerryMuffin My Wand is Bigger Than Yours

8th December 2010:
Awww :D
Loved it! The changing age difference between Sara snd James is quite cunfusing, but I think I got it now. James's so adorable and sweet hee ^^"
I wonder what Lily's reaction is going to be. Hmm.
Until next chapter,

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you think James is sweet, cause thats what I was going for--I always pictured him being really adorable underneath his troublemaking ways haha

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ravii Crazy People...

15th September 2007:
Icky.

 Report Review

Review #24, by PolkaDotted Crazy People...

3rd September 2007:
This story is alright and I love the originality of it, but it definitely needs some work. I'd suggest a beta to work out some of the grammatical errors. Also, the spacing and centering of the lines makes it hard to read. You might want to fix that.

In your summary 'veiw' should be view, 'dispite' should be despite, and I think when you say 'and almost five year age difference' you meant an almost five year age difference.

Sorry if I came off pretentious or bossy, just trying to offer some constructive criticism to help your story become the best it could be.

Author's Response: Thanks for telling me- I am grammer/spelling impared, so I have problems sometimes. I would have written back sooner, but I'm new at this and didn't know I could respnd! Thank you for reading.

 Report Review

Review #25, by not2b4got10 Crazy People...

3rd June 2007:
Wow.I LOVE your writing. I love the way you slip details into the story without being overt about it, I love the way your writing just flows together and sounds natural, and I love the way you actually use punctuation, unlike 90% of the writers on this site. And the story sounds absolutely fascinating, and it's an original plot, so it won't become boring after the second chapter...can it get any better? I will definitely be tracking this story.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>