Reading Reviews for Refuge
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lillylover22 Refuge

17th May 2012:
That was so sad 9/10 : )

Author's Response: I'll gladly take 9/10!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Undertone Refuge

29th March 2010:
Bravo, superbly written! :D

Author's Response: Thanks! I just love weird pairings.

 Report Review

Review #3, by inkismyworld Refuge

5th April 2008:
I've never read a pairing like this before, and I was not disappointed :) The characterization of both the characters were spot-on, and though the end was crushing ( "When she leaned over the frozen floorboards to press her lips against his, his mouth was cold and tasted like a coin. She didn’t know why she did it. The kiss was as dead as he.

“Bartleby, I hope you don’t mind let him being here, just for a while,” she said quietly as if talking to an old friend. And she was. She was speaking to the only thing that had given her some sort of refuge in this war, aside from Remus Lupin.") :( It was very well written and overall it made for a very enjoyable read. Great job!

And on a completely unrelated note this makes my 200th review :D 10/10

Author's Response: ooooh 200 reviews? well damn. haha congrats for that, and thank you for mine! do i win a prize? :]

thank you very much! i forgot about this pairing, actually, but i do love it too. i'm a fan of random ships, though, so maybe i'm biased... thanks again!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Refuge

23rd November 2007:
Wow. That was beautiful and extremely well written. Sorry, I can't think of much else to say except is was wonderful, haha! Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

Author's Response: thank you. i love weird parings like this...

 Report Review

Review #5, by XharrysdarlingX Refuge

10th November 2007:
I loved it, I thought it was so sad. I really liked Luna's feelings towards the Shrieking Shack - linking herself with it through the teasing she is subject to at school.

well written. Good job

Author's Response: thanks! i really love this pair. :]

 Report Review

Review #6, by HrXd Refuge

21st July 2007:
This was so good. I loved the emotion and I loved this quote I often do, when Luna said he was bleeding nicely done.

Author's Response: thank you! i am so vurry glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by mira Refuge

4th June 2007:
Wow. Just... wow. I love this fic. Luna is portrayed very believeably and just... I love this! :-D

Author's Response: thank you! i'm glad you liked it. :] don't you just love luna?

 Report Review

Review #8, by GloGirl3223 Refuge

30th March 2007:
that was so good, I'm crying from it.

Author's Response: Aww, don't cry. :] I'm really glad you liked it, though.

 Report Review

Review #9, by daisyCHIC963 Refuge

30th January 2007:
that was so sad and so pretty at the same time...well, pretty hardly does it justice, but Luna is a very poetic character and Lupin is...well, very like Luna in that way.

i LOVE this story!

Author's Response: thank you, i'm glad you liked it! i really need to get past writing angsty one-shots, though, haha. :] thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by goodbyetrain Refuge

16th January 2007:
Your amazingness astounds me (:

Author's Response: teehee, thank you! it's nice to hear from you again!

 Report Review

Review #11, by candlesflame Refuge

20th December 2006:
Wow. I could so see Luna naming the Shrieking Shack... Anyway, I loved the sentence "Everybody in the Order knew that the Boy Who Lived would have to die." The irony is extremely bitter but very accurate. Amazingly well-written

Author's Response: yay, thank you very much! glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Chelz Potter Refuge

21st November 2006:
Wow. This story is really beautiful. I can't think of one thing to criticize. The way you portrayed Luna and Remus is just perfect.

Author's Response: hey, thanks! glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by you are not even close Refuge

23rd September 2006:
Wow,that was really cool. I never would have expected that. This is definatley going on my favs...he he.

Author's Response: thank you! :) and i like your screen name.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ydnas Odell Refuge

21st September 2006:
First class all the way! This is one of the best one-shots I have read. Vey well done, Luna and Lupin are pprtrayed perefctly. This is so sad.

I like this so much that I have a lot of questions about the story

I was confused about what happened at the battle. Id Voldemort cast some sort of spell causing people to disapear as soon as they appeared how did Luna, Nevile and Lupn get there in the first place.

I get that Luna and Neville had to leave because they were both to injured too fight one. Maybe Harry ordered them to leave? But why did Lupin retreat? If he is dying and knows it, what is the point of retreating? How could he leave James and Lily's son to die alone under any circumstances?
It tends to make him out to be a coward in some ways, especially if he left Harry in the state he says he did. Is this the real reason he won't tell Luna what he did, because Luna would think badly of him?

Was Voldemorts spell just preventing reinforcements and the good guys were just too outnumbered?

Again what a great story this is. A ten! Added to my favorites.

Ydnas Odell AKA DA Jones

Author's Response: hey! sorry if that bit was confusing; voldemort pretty much lured harry, the order and some of the DA to some battleground. only a few seconds after arriving, everyone except harry was suddenly apparated away; not by themselves. basically they just disappeared because of a charm voldemort had set, and then harry was left alone. but while they were apparating, luna and remus both realized that they were apparating and thought of their destination: the shrieking shack. and that's where they ended up.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Siofra Refuge

10th September 2006:
The depth behind the story is great! You have to think about it for a while to fully be able to understand the full emotion behind it. Few people can write very powerfully without it sounding awkward or unlikely.

It would have been nice if the reader was given more details about what had been going on at the battle and more of Luna’s feelings in the beginning while sitting at the table. However, besides adding more details throughout the story and maybe being just a little more descriptive, the story was amazing.

The feeling behind the story was fantastic! You were able to show their emotions without just saying it straight out. I really is one of your great strong points in your writing and you should make sure to incorporate it into all of your writing!


Author's Response: more detail? i'll look in to that! thanks for pointing it out :) i'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by 0MFGZshes__DEADLY Refuge

3rd September 2006:
oh goodness.
why must you write such good stories??
they end up in my favorites one way or another.

this was really sweetly written. the way the story flowed. it was like a scene from a movie.
the beginning confused me a bit, luna talking about bartleby an' all.
but when you explained that it's the house and why she named it that, it was touching.
the entire thing was touching.
i loved it.


Author's Response: yesss. :) i'm glad you liked it. yeah, the whole bartleby thing is pretty weird, i'll be honest. haha. thanks for the review and the favorite!!

 Report Review

Review #17, by xbeautiful_lifex Refuge

2nd September 2006:
This is a beautiful yet sad but wonderfuly written story!! It's very interesting to see Luna this way, it's side we've never seen of her. I abseloutly love the way you write.



A drop of blood fell quickly from his temple like a tear. Its crimson tail left another mark to tarnish his visage.



That is one of my favorite parts of the whole fic. I think anyone who is not a Fluff-Only reader and is not afraid to read something dark for a change will fall in love with this one-shot.



GREAT JOB!!

Author's Response: thanksss! i'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Adelaide Merrefield Refuge

19th August 2006:
I don't know why, my penname is already there for reviews for other stories, but for some reason, even though I am logged in, I have to type in my name for your story.


Anyway, let's get to the point. Beautifully done. So many of the lines in this story were so hauntingly beautiful:


She didn’t know why she did it. The kiss was as dead as he.


“Bartleby, I hope you don’t mind let him being here, just for a while,” she said quietly as if talking to an old friend.


This is going to be quite a short review, in comparison to my other ones, and I swear to God I am being critical, but honestly, there's nothing to criticize. The description is superb, there are no errors...10/10. Also, this is going into my favorites (the 6th story, actually). Excellent job.

Author's Response: that's fine, it was a great review. thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #19, by xxnatalie (nsi) Refuge

16th August 2006:
Um, so I'm pretty much speechless.
...
Somehow, "amazing" doesn't quite cut it. I just recently posted a thread on the boards, in search of a Luna/Remus fic. Lairyfights123 recommended this, and I have to agree with her - this is one of the best one-shots I've ever read. And I can't think of anything to say, lol.
I *loved* how Luna called The Shrieking Shack 'Bartleby'. And her answer, when Lupin asked her about it ("I know what it's like to be called names"). It's just so... Luna.
I also loved how they didn't lost sight of the war itself. Meaning, I've read romance fics before that occurred during/right after the 'final battle', but the author pretty much just focuses on the romance. But in this one, Lupin and Luna agonize over Harry's fate, which is so important.
Oh, and I loved how Lupin remained calm so that he wouldn't scare Luna. I can just so easily see him doing that, the adult/teacher in him wanting to protect her.
And the romantic part itself was so delicate and innocent and subtle that it made this fic perfect!
Oh, *and* it's tragic. Heartbreaking and tragic. Definitely my kind of story!
*Adds to favorites*

Author's Response: oh, yay!! thank you so much for adding me to your favorites! i'm very flattered. :) i'm glad you liked it. i didn't want the whole romance thing to be too prevalent, because, well, he is a lot older than her. but yeah. thanks again, so much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by lupinlove (nsi) Refuge

12th August 2006:
sorry to write a second review, but it always seems like half of what i write disappears ... anyway, i was just to write that i love that sentence ... it's chilling, dark, and yet perfectly possible.

i loved everything. it was perfect :)

Author's Response: thank you again! glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by lupinlove Refuge

12th August 2006:
this is beautifully written and terribly sad :( i love the way you wrote luna and the way she gave the shrieking shack a name ... and i love that she thought lupin was beautiful.

"Everybody in the Order knew that the Boy Who Lived would have to die. They could only pray that Voldemort would not defeat him first."

Author's Response: thanks! i was afraid everyone would think that was a little weird because, well, it is, but then again so is luna. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by almost_witch Refuge

11th August 2006:
Ahhh!!! Wonderful! I haven't ever read a Luna fic before, and may I say that you really kept her in story! Such as her naming the Shreiking Shack, *laughs* that's such a Luna thing.

Also I LOVED these lines, - Snowflakes blew into Luna’s tangled hair and pale lashes as she crawled from her chair. Her knees touched the cold, dusty floor and she watched the willowy man. For a moment Luna forgot that the scent of death was still on her."

I read it, and re-read it, and re-read it, I don't know but I really loved it so much! *smiles* well done :)

Also a thumbs up for writting this about Harry's eyes -
'Green like the color of decay; like death. The color of the Dark Mark. Or the color of peace,'
I haven't before seen someone write something like that about his eyes, where did you get such an idea?

Perfect length, perfect in-character, over-all a perfect story I can't find one thing wrong, you also ended it brilliantly, I like how you didn't drag it on too much so well done with that.

Also may I ask, what challenge was this story? i love challenges. :)

Well done and thank you,

almost_witch

Author's Response: the challenge was that the fic had to start of fwith "beneath the table was a half-conscious man," or something like that, but a few months after i uploaded it i tweaked it a bit. :| i'm really, really glad that you liked it so much, thank you for such a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by nicalyse (nsi) Refuge

4th August 2006:
This is a really interesting look at Luna and the way that the war could affect her. While it doesn't match my personal belief, you portray her really well in the story--she's addled, really, and the Shrieking Shack was the perfect place to put her. The interaction between her and Remus just as interesting. The way that he speaks to her, and the way that he dies in front of her. Quietly powerful. I didn't see any glaring mechanical errors and the story is good, so keep up the good work!

Author's Response: why thank you! yeah, i honestly don't think remus and luna would ever be. and i don't really support the ship, actually. haha, this just came out after responding to a challenge. :) i knew that i wanted luna in it and then i thought "okay, pick a random male," and it turned out to be remus. :S whatever works, ha. thank you for the lovely review, i'm so glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Joliefille252 Refuge

2nd August 2006:
ok first of all, gorgeous banner! Ah, by the wonderous ANSWR24...she's done a few of my banners too. :P

Like how you started off. You just jumped right in, not wasting any time with descriptions (don't get me wrong, descriptions are nice..but I like how you dove in like that)

Luna thought he was beautiful. In all the bloodiness, I love that Luna stops to observe this. Very Luna-ish, I think. ;)

wow, ok. So I'm not really into student/teacher ships b/c they seem so unrealistic (though that doesn't stop me from being in love w/ one of my own professors..lol) but wow. I really like this! I really like luna/lupin! it's a bit weird, but kind of believable...I mean, obviously not cannon, but their personalities click in such a way...well, no I don't know. Luna seems like the kind of person who could fall for a Lupin...not quite sure if it'd be the other way around. hmm...well, you have me intrigued, and for that I'm adding you to my favs and giving you a 10!

Author's Response: wow, what a great review. :) i never actually thought of this as a student/teacher pairing, in fact i never really thought of it as a romance at all. :S i guess it depends on the reader, eh? it could easily be taken either way.

i'm so glad you liked this, and thank you for the wonderful rating and the addition to your favorites!! and yes, haven't we all at one time lusted over a teacher? :P


 Report Review

Review #25, by firebreathingradishes Refuge

1st August 2006:
Wow. That was beautiful. "“Because I know what it’s like to be called names.”" and "When she leaned over the frozen floorboards to press her lips against his, his mouth was cold and tasted like a coin. She didn’t know why she did it. The kiss was as dead as he." were my favorite lines. Wonderful job. :]



Author's Response: thank you, i'm very glad that you liked it. thanks for taking the time to review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>