Reading Reviews for Loved and Lost
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by American Ginny Who Wants to Live Forever?

26th July 2012:
wow this story... this story had kind of a grace to it. It was kind of like Ginny was narrating to an interpretive dance. It was definitely beautiful. The song fit perfectly and formatted to the story. The words painted a beautiful movie in your head, and there was never an instance in which you just wanted to close the page and move on to a new story. Brava! Well done

Love,
Am.Ginny

Author's Response: Wow, I didn't expect someone to dig back all the way to this story! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed it, and even thought it beautiful - I'm glad that you liked it that much! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by bri_5_stars Who Wants to Live Forever?

21st March 2012:
Whoa... that's crazy good. A little bit depressing because of Ginny's mood, which means you are good at conveying emotions. I had never really thought of Ginny and Tom Riddle, but I can totally see that now that I think about it. While Ginny may have been infatuated with Harry first, after months and months of corresponding with Riddle it makes sense that she could/would fall in love with him.
This is a great one-shot, makes you think.
:D brithewriter

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I was surprised to see a review for this story, but it's lovely to hear that it both made you think and feel - I always hope for that with each story, and it means a huge amount to hear it was successful. :D

The whole Ginny/Tom thing was a passing ship from before the series finished, but as it was never mentioned in HBP and DH, it was soon forgotten, but I still find it an interesting idea to play with. There's something fascinating about it, a lot of potential to be explored. ;) Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by MyMyMiss Who Wants to Live Forever?

19th February 2012:
Susan *tackles* You have converted me to reading Harry and Ginny!!!

Your writing is spectacular - I don't review that often, on anyones stories really, however that doesnt mean I don't read. i have practically read every one of your stories on your author page. I've read your next gens, your 'other', and god forbid I'v even read you Maurders story - Venom: a tradgey.

You are such a unique writer, no matter what you write, what spin you put on a tale, what PoV it comes from, you can write. And I for one love this story.

However, i'm not going to lie - it was another review you recieved on this story that led me here, but I have to disagree with that review.

Every story is different, becuase No minds are the same, which means no imagination is either. We all see characters in a different way, with different feelings, emotions, characiristics (sp?) etc.etc. When writers write, fanfncition or in real life, a character is what we make it, it's what we see. If Ginny fell in love with Tom first - good on her! Good on you for tackling that side of her! Its your descion, as the author, to write the character how you feel comfortable with writing her.

And I really enjoyed reading this, becuase this is how I always invisioned Harry/Ginny. He left her to go galavanting around the country side, she was always going to be heart broken, there would always be a part of Ginny that ached for the year or so that he left her, but she will always love him. I thought it was really well written.

I coudl really get into how Ginny was feeling, I could feel her heart breaking but at the same time I felt she was still being strong. She was practically dying and yet she was pulling courage from somewhere - it was incredible, I still have a little tear in my eye.

The ending was lovely as well, I really thought the way that it was centered around Dumbledore, but also Ginny and Harry was just lovely. And the words from Dumbledore, are really true!!!

Just becuase one story - might not be someone elses cup of tea, it;s sure is mine !! ^^ And I loved it. Kudo's miss Susan *tackles*

100/10.

~Love Karni.

Author's Response: Thank you, Karni! You're much too kind, though. This story doesn't at all deserve the accolades you've given it, not only because it's totally out of my realm (which was the point of the challenge it was written for), but it's very old and definitely not my best work. It's lovely to hear that I was able to get into Ginny's head in an interesting way and bring out her emotions, but I don't know, I never really liked it from the beginning - I was never very invested in it.

The one thing I did like about it was the whole Ginny/Tom aspect, the potential that she was always affected by the events of CoS, even if she was only eleven at the time. Tom and Harry are very much alike in appearance - the main difference between them is Tom's overwhelming egotism as opposed to Harry's overwhelming humility and self-sacrificing nature. Tom can't care for others, while it's all that Harry can do. But being so young, Ginny probably didn't see that until it was too late, and I think it made her love Harry more. Even so, the very act of pouring out your heart to someone forges a connection between you, and that can't be forgotten. I'd love to read a story that explored more of Ginny's understanding of what happened with the diary, but I've never found one that really captures the trauma to its full potential.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing this story! It was lovely of you to take the time out to do so. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by lizmusic45 Who Wants to Live Forever?

19th February 2012:
Hi.

Well, I was looking at your page and I guess, I was hoping to find a Harry and Ginny, because it's always nice to find a Harry and Ginny written by someone who known to have amazing writing.

Also I'm the world's biggest Harry and Ginny fan, I mean I don't shut up about them. So I was really excited to see this, and the summary was amazing.

I think your amazing writer, but I...I guess I'm hurt.

I was hurt to find out that she considered Tom Riddle her first love. I don't know if you're one of those people who think Ginny had to love Tom because he was in Harry in a way, I mean a bit of Tom was inside Harry.

I'm actually really against that because I see Tom as someone that hurt her, and Harry as her happiness. I think she saw as completely different and was one of the people that reassured him of every being very much unlike Voldemort.

I was hurt that you portrayed Harry like that. I was hurt because I don't think Harry thought Ginny as a marker, holding his page. I think he thought she wouldn't wait, that she wouldn't care.

I think he expected to come back, years later and see her, and she would be someone else's everything, bliss and joy. I think he hoped to see her again, for her to be his, but excepted never being normal again.

People don't understand that if Harry said screw it, I love her, I want to keep snogging her face off that Ginny would be hurt, and well that's the end of Harry and Ginny.

I think he truly wanted to keep her safe, I think he truly was fighting, even where he didn't know it for Ginny.

I was so hurt by Ginny. I was hurt because she's the same way everyone thinks her to be. For her to once have Harry and never care again.

She's not like that! She's loved Harry for such a long time, and now that she's what had him for a month, and now that he's gone she's what? Not going to care? She cares, she doesn't give up.

Everyone makes Ginny so tough and so determined for all the wrong things, and she's determined to keep fighting for her family, for Harry for the things she wants. I'm not saying some days she's lost or broken, or feels alone, but she determined for the ones she loves, and Harry is apart of that.

That's what her and Harry have in common along with a lot of other things. They're both so passionate, and trying to make things right, and they always get mad at each other because there doing the same thing in different ways, but just because you get mad at somebody doesn't mean you leave them forever.

I don't understand why Ginny is being like this. I don't understand why Harry seems like a jerk. And I don't understand the whole Tom Riddle was my first love thing!

I'm sorry for going on this really long rant, but I'm just a tad obsessed with Harry and Ginny, that's all. I don't want you to think I'm being mean, really I don't mean to be. I guess I'm just a little hurt, that's all.

Lizzie

Author's Response: Thanks for your honesty, Lizzie. I wish that I could have written something more to your taste, especially with your favourite ship. Harry and Ginny have always been a challenge to write, probably because JKR filled them out so much in the books, leaving little for someone like me to do - I don't feel particularly intrigued by them like I do with other characters in the series. However, I have written them more into my next-gen stories, mostly in the background, but they come through strong, or so reviewers have told me. As adults, I understand them more, for some reason. It's very strange.

Anyway, thanks again for reading and reviewing this story. Hopefully you can find something I've done that you enjoy. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pacific Wizard Who Wants to Live Forever?

11th January 2010:
Interesting approach to the relationship between Harry and Ginny. The fact that she finds the reasons to move on is bold but I wonder if she forgets that being truly in love means having faith in each other despite the circumstances. In book six after the funeral she questions Harry about the reason for the break up being for a noble cause. Harry doesn't deny it and even says that being together was the best part of his life but to continue would put her at greater peril. JKR gave a lot to Ginny to hang on to in spite of Harry's clumsy and awkward way of breaking it off. I would agree with her confusion and angst but I don't think she would conclude that this was truly the end and having Harry for even a brief time was enough to satisy that part of her life. I guess I don't view Ginny as being that selfish. Anyway, just my thoughts. You are a very good writer and I do enjoy all of your other stories. Thank you for your talent and time. PW

Author's Response: Wow, here's a story I didn't expect to get any new reviews on. Anyway, I do understand what you're saying here - that Ginny would be stronger and believe to her core that Harry will succeed, thus "coming back to her" in the end. Perhaps I'm just too cynical, or my dislike of Harry was showing through - that I didn't want him to return and experience that too perfect happy ending. I cannot entirely remember, though, and actually like your way of describing the situation much better.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this story. It is always of interest to read and discuss opinions of stories, particularly the older ones I have forgotten about. ;)


 Report Review

Review #6, by pink_rook Who Wants to Live Forever?

1st June 2008:
Amazing, really. This story is so delicate and yet so precise in portraying Ginny's character. It reminds me of a one-shot I wrote ages ago, called "Weapon," I gave Ginny the same strenght of character. So, maybe we managed to undesrtand her? Who knows.

Good, good job. I'm adding this story to my favourites. :]

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's wonderful that you enjoyed it so much - I'd never written Ginny before, but really wanted to show her as strong and unwilling to just let Harry walk away. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by BigTiggaPwnz Who Wants to Live Forever?

5th April 2008:
That was great Violet. The strong emotion shown made this fic amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #8, by keladry_leigh Who Wants to Live Forever?

24th February 2008:
why is it that you can write in a way ur not used to and still write a wonderful story i loved it !

Author's Response: Haha, I find it easier to write something I don't like all that much - it comes out less fangirlish and more serious. ;) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Midna Who Wants to Live Forever?

2nd September 2007:
Wow. This was brilliant.

First of all, I have always loved Queen. When listening to this song, I thought the lyrics would be a great idea for a fic. And you incorporated them beautifully. I really enjoyed this, despite my being a die-hard Harry/Ginny hater. This was perfectly crafted and you really got into Ginny's mind with your immaculate first-person writing. I don't know what else to say. This was perfect brilliance.

.:.Midna.:.

Author's Response: Haha, don't worry, for me, Harry/Ginny is fine in the books, but not for fics. :P But this was OOYR, so being terrifyingly canon I had to be. *sigh* Oh well, I'm glad you still enjoyed this, even with the pairing, lol. Ginny as a dark character is a fascinating idea, and I sort of wish that JKR had included more of that in the books. Thanks very much for reviewing and enjoying. I really appreciate it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by __lestrange Who Wants to Live Forever?

23rd July 2007:
good read, loff.

Author's Response: Thank you! =)

 Report Review

Review #11, by GryffindorGirl29 Who Wants to Live Forever?

20th December 2006:
Loved the story. 10/10 and in my favorites. I was wondering if you could do me a huge favor and make me a banner. If that is possible email me at bratt2934@yahoo.com. Thank you so much and if it isnt please let me know.

Author's Response: Thanks very much. If you want a banner, please go to the-dark-arts.net, where I take requests. =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by SilverShadow04 Who Wants to Live Forever?

9th December 2006:
Aww u_u so sad and touching, it makes you think I must says. I was never good at reviewing but I must say this one-shot touched me n_n.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the story. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ydnas Odell Who Wants to Live Forever?

5th November 2006:
Wow. This is great violet. I had tears in my eyes at the end. Just the thought that Ginny can move on, and not wait because just those three weeks of Harry's love are enough to make Ginny happy forever no matter what happens is a very romantic idea. But I would hope that Ginny would never give in to the despair that Harry coming back is hopeless.

DA Jones

Author's Response: This was a very heartfelt story to write. I felt terribly sorry for Ginny at the end of HBP, that Harry would treat her so heroically was stupid, in my opinion, but then again, that's why I don't like Harry. =P Anyway, it's a great compliment that you enjoyed reading this. It's not really one of my stories that I pay much attention to, but maybe it should be. =) Thanks very much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #14, by OneDamselsKiss Who Wants to Live Forever?

27th August 2006:
Wow.... interesting... very good! i like it! u r trult bloody brilliant!

X's nd O's

The Damsel

Author's Response: Thanks! =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by delta Who Wants to Live Forever?

29th May 2006:
Interesting. You've left me pondering about this Ginny that you've created. I love the comparisons you draw between Harry and Voldemort, and the jumbled thoughts of Ginny that you portray. Like the heartbroken teenager she is, she turns to anger, and then to denial. At the end, does she mean to commit suicide? I didn't think so but I'm not sure. I would think that would be out of character since she remained strong after the chamber of secrets. Ah, interesting, you've given me a web of words to ponder. If this is Out of Your Realm, perhaps, more character sketches would be welcome. ;) Great job!

Author's Response: In my mind, she hadn't been so heartbroken that she'd look to end her life, but it is a possible outcome of this story. It all depends on what you got from it. Writing from the standpoint of an emotional teenager is something I hadn't really done before this - I had written first person stories about teenagers, but none of them quite reached this depth and was rooted so deeply in the character's mind. I'm glad it made you think - that's mostly what the story meant to do: make the reader ponder on Ginny's character as well as the comparison between Riddle and Harry (they're disturbingly alike in many aspects). It wasn't so much the style of writing that was out of my realm, it was rather the characters involved - I'm not really one for the trio era. Thanks very much for reviewing. =)

 Report Review

Review #16, by sauntering_horse Who Wants to Live Forever?

25th May 2006:
Is she gonna wait for him?? "Loved and Lost" is a really beautiful fic. The depth with which you have written it, amazes me. Really Violet, you are a good author.

And I am the girl who knows and has loved each of them. This sentence really touched me. I read the latter half of the fic with watery eyes. Your story flowed so well :)

...death was not to be feared, that it wasn’t the end. This sentence is so true. I didn't remember it when Dumbledore said it but now that I read it here, I guess I'll remember it forever *sniff*

GREAT JOB!

Author's Response: Will she wait for him? Well, I guess we'll see what happens in the seventh book. =P Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed the story and that it touched you. I tried to capture Ginny's pain at that moment, and I guess it worked. =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by evil doxies ate my nasel hair Who Wants to Live Forever?

12th May 2006:
this is so sweet i'm crying i loved it its great

Author's Response: Aww, thanks very much. Sorry that it made you cry - I didn't mean to make it that sad.

 Report Review

Review #18, by phoenix ever rising Who Wants to Live Forever?

2nd May 2006:
That was a deep, powerful, wonderful story. I really loved it and I think it's *amazing*. Keep it up! ~K~

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for the great review! That's wonderful news to hear! =D

 Report Review

Review #19, by PhoenixStorm Who Wants to Live Forever?

17th April 2006:
well I finally got over here to read this so now I can make up for nicking all the good questions in Missy's thread :p .

You had one mistake and a brit correction so almost perfect :D . But did he realize that what he had done to me could cause my own death? realise. But was sort of wish was that? what sort. There was also a bit somewhere in here when Ginny thinks Harry has just rejected her, but I've lost hwere it is. I wasn't too sure about that because right at hte beginning you talk about how it would have been better if Harry had told her they could never work that he didn't like her anymore or something, which is more rejection and what he did was worse than that. So not too sure baout that line, wherever it actually is.

I've only read one other fic about this, Noblevyne's I'll Follow The Sun, and you both wrote it great. I thought you really got into Ginny's emotions and characterised her well. I especially thought I am not a book to be put aside, a marker keeping the page where he had stopped was a very Ginny thing to think.

I really thought it was clever to note the similarities between Voldemort and Harry in Each had the will to prove himself and the ambition to finish what he started. Both are leaders and powerful wizards, I've never really thought about it before but it's very much there in the books and mentioned often. and then you had Ginny think And I am the girl who knows and has loved each of them which I htought was great and really well done.

I liked how you included the if only's If only that moment could have lasted forever and wondering about the might have been's, very real and I could easily picture Ginny thinking them. And for some reason I really liked The paths that Harry and I had to take from that moment were not the same, nor would they ever meet.

I htink my favourite line was An inexplicable silence that filled my heart with despair and hope, like being lost by one thing and found by another it was such a lovely paradoxical image. And then I loved the reflection on Dumbledore's words, they are at his funeral after all I believed him then, but now I understood what he had really meant it was good that she undertands now and i liked how you ended it. Lovely fic, really liked reading it :) .

Author's Response: Wow. This is quite a review. =D It's wonderful to hear that you liked the story (and that there was only one small mistake =P). Ginny's an interesting character to write - or maybe it's something I picked up from fanon (like Lauren's story). I enjoyed writing her thoughts, especially when she compares Harry to Tom - a comparison that I couldn't help noticing in the books. Thanks so much for reviewing, I really appreciate it. =)

 Report Review

Review #20, by argetlam shadeslayer Who Wants to Live Forever?

14th March 2006:
Wow. Once again this was beautifully written - as always - and I'm completely blown away. You write so amazingly - it always has this perfect flow to it, and it kind of challenges the average thought, provoking even more profound thoughts. Every time I read one of your stories, the emotions and essences of the characters are captured so well that I can actually picture the events in my mind's eye, and not many people can do that. I mean, when a lot of people try to write this kind of stuff, the words are, well, just that - words. But when I read your stories, the words are actually colorfully depicted scenes, and it makes me love them. Once again, you are awesome, and I definitely look forward to reading more of your stories.

Author's Response: Oh my, thanks so very much for such a wonderful review. I never really thought of my stories having that power - I just write descriptions and such using what I think would help the reader best understand what's going on. It's fantastic to hear from you that I've effectively captured the emotions of the characters - it's one of my greatest worries while writing, that I've somehow made them too unrealistic. =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Noblevyne Who Wants to Live Forever?

15th January 2006:
Queen songfic! I can die and be at peace now. The song fits excellently, a perfect little soundtrack to Ginny's thoughts, which were expressed very well. I do love her philosophy on love and Harry, Ginny's always been such a strong character and you do her great justice in this fic.

Author's Response: Die? I should hope not. =P Thank you so much for reading this, Noblevyne, I was quite excited to see that you did and that you enjoyed it to boot.

As soon as I heard the song after reading HBP, I knew it was perfect for that scene. It was strange writing Ginny, cause I'd never done it before, but I'm extremely happy to know that it worked out. Thanks so much! =)


 Report Review

Review #22, by IchigoPan Who Wants to Live Forever?

6th January 2006:
You really got into Ginny's psyche on her affections for Harry and Tom that I don't think anyone else can capture without giving it a mature POV. I applaud you for such a great work. Firefawn was right in choosing this as one of her many favorites. The lyrics, oh the lyrics! They just tugged at my heartstrings as I read this one shot. A lot of people do see Ginny as the weaker one of the Weasley family just because she's the youngest and a girl. They don't see the potential that she has in magic as well as her own determination. That's something not even JKR can even write on! And that's saying a lot!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you very much for the great review, IchigoPan. You're right that a lot of people write Ginny as being weak or something like it, and I wanted to give her more of a voice, especially at that critcal moment for her in HBP. I am extremely glad that you liked it and quite gratified that you found it through firefawn. Thanks. =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by BlackMoon741 Who Wants to Live Forever?

12th December 2005:
Beautiful!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by charmed ravenclaw Who Wants to Live Forever?

25th November 2005:
This was awesome! Very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. =)

 Report Review

Review #25, by fanatic_writer Who Wants to Live Forever?

24th November 2005:
Very good, I liked it :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>