Reading Reviews From Member: PaulaTheProkaryote
  
333 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: Don't Let it Pass

17th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

Oh boy. Here we go.

Honestly Albus should have suspected trouble as soon as he saw James sitting rigid instead of smirking! And Also Harry being like a real Dad and laying down the law with the whole I'm-disappointed-in-you line was just so classic and beautiful.

Sooo. I don't think arguing their case is helping at all. They're definitely just digging a deeper and deeper hole for themselves to climb back out of.

I mean in reality what they did probably wasn't that bad. Minus the kidnap. And maybe Lily punching him.

Silly government always snooping around for no reason harassing innocent sweet parents. Literally the worst timing for the boys to decide to harass Archie. Like it really could have waited a few days until the Cora matter was settled. I know he couldn't have known, but still.

I don't blame Brandon for being short with the waiter. I hate assumptions. At least they got some free drinks off of it though. He clearly didn't mean much harm.

I really liked this line: ďI donít think youíll ever settle, Rose. Youíll meet your match.Ē Thatís what I want for my babies when I have them.

Poor both Scorpius and Rose. I really think all things considered both of them are just better off as friends. All of these emotions and hormones have to be a lot for them to deal with but shoutout to their maturity for not going ahead and being impulsive for the sake of their friendship.

Lysander is perf. I love him above all else. I want a spin off of him.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #2, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: In the Waiting Line

17th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

Did I mention that I sorta love how everyone is in this massive love tangle knot. Like everyone is semi-dating everyone in this story and I think that makes it messy in the best way. Even though itís not like that this time with Rose and Scorpius. Also massive kudos to him for taking her in. I would not let any of my exes even come up my driveway so heís a champ.

Also poor Rose. Being used just to make his parents happy is actually pretty cruel, but she's still pretty great about that knowledge. Like she immediately empathizes with him about the loneliness and the rejection.

I wonder how Corbin will take it. That's he's now got an ex girlfriend in the place and that they casually cuddled all night.

Molly is as Molly as she can be with her barrage of questions and poking and prodding about his eating habits. I love her characterization and think it's spot on.

All of the muggles are just copying everything that Arthur tinkers with in his spare time.

Death has a way of sorting out your priorities I think. I hope thatís not foreshadowing though donít give my poor little baby a near-death-experience. Commitmentphobe or not, he doesnít deserve that kind of agony!

Iím keen on the complex nature of Harry and Brandon. Like the way they communicate is just interesting to me and I canít wait for more of their interactions.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #3, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: Only Myself to Blame

16th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

I'm glad I emotionally invested in Brandon and Albus because they seem to be super cute in this chapter. Also I'm in love with Rose dropping off a massive pile of baby books and even though that's not what you said that's my head canon. Like teetering with all of this information true Hermione style. That's it.

OH! WE! We get a larger place! Ah! It's a big step and it's so cute! Even if Albus wants to be all weird and noncommittal. Men. Ugh.

Yeah, Brandon really did lay it on thick with the whole our thing but Albus's reaction may not have been the most tactful. Bless his soul. That is a good question though. Like now that Cora is in the picture he needs some kind of stability and surely Albus would know that before hand. Although clearly he didn't.

I feel like if you're going to call someone a lady-of-the-evening you should be sure of her profession first. Like asking someone about their pregnancy. Just don't do it. Pedro was precious though. I hope she goes back and sees him again!

OKAY. I'M just saying that if some fella took me to an observatory to go see the prime meridian I'd be in love. Like he's the cutest. Also brunch sounds extra cute. I'd be shy about it too though.


-paula

 Report Review

Review #4, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

16th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

Did you just add that whole food scene to make me hungry? I just had dinner and now I could really go for some good soup and salad.

I'm a little hurt for Corbin in general because I think if I was dating someone (casual or not) and they were using that time to sort through their feelings for someone else (plus the kiss last chapter), I don't know. I'd just feel a little used even if that isn't at all Scorpius's intent.

They are very domestic though and it's adorable. Setting the table and cooking cute little dinners. I think I missed out on all of this during dating.

I like this clever little enhancements of books. But also I think that would make reading in public a total nightmare.

And obviously Corbin is the jealous type. Ex or not, I'm not in love with Corbin trying to dictate who he sees and how often though. Shady shade. Even if Scorpius did kiss Albus like a handful of days ago.

Also he's a bit possessive which I'm not crazy about. But Scorpius is obviously into it so it's hardly my preference that matters!

I think Brandon and Albus are very sweet and I'm more emotionally invested in their relationship than Scorbus for sure. I think Brandon is particularly precious.

Hermione definitely is still treating Rose like a child which obviously isn't going to be working out. Also Ron is 10/10 in the characterization with the whole leaving things in the office line. Amazing. And Ron definitely seems to relate much more to Rose.


-paula

 Report Review

Review #5, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: Such Great Heights

16th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

I really wanted to come to this story when I was ready to sit and binge it all instead of hope around, but that just means I have to come back!

First of all I love this idea of Albus doing marketing for Weasley Wizarding Wheezes. I know James a lot of times is typecasted as the Potter boy most likely to join the company and Albus ends up in some serious academic pursuit, but I like this better. Oh, there's the famous Brandon I've heard so much about!

I like this playful, mischievous characterization of Rose as well. Teasing Albus for not paying much attention and all of that. She's adorable. But then she also has these brilliantly sage moments (like when sheís telling Albus he has to...pick a broom).

I wonder if Rose has ever really sat down and told her mom what it is she wants to do. I feel like Hermione would probably aggressively over support her in any job that was remotely sensible. I really think it will be nice when we get more insight into their relationship.

I like the mess of the relationships in the story. Nothing seems too ironed out and everyone is kinda dating everyone. The brandon-Scorpius-Albus love triangle is going to be a fun one too.

I'm really interested in Brandon's career and I can't wait for a bit more information on that. It sounds like it'll be really intriguing!
-paula

 Report Review

Review #6, by PaulaTheProkaryoteBeautiful: Alone

16th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

I haven't read The Worst, but after reading it I think this is a viable stand alone story so it was a good first pick given my lack of background knowledge.

I always love a good second person pov story if they are done well (and so many arenít). I think you did a really good job maintaining the perspective in an easy to read fashion.

Immediately I get a real sense of anxiety in the story when you set the scene with burning eyes and a clock ticking. The line that brings up all of her physiological responses is just really good for putting me in the spot and feeling what she's feeling.

I really identify with this idea of being young, but seeing so much/going through so much that she feels ancient and exhausted. I think some days my depression makes me feel the same way.

Your imagery writing is just absolutely fantastic. The scent of the pine, the water in the distance, that sound of the trees whistling as the wind murmurs through the trees. I feel like I'm back home in the mountains. I love it.

I hate the way she views herself but it makes sense. It really intrigues me as to how she became a werewolf. I'm making that assumption, but in reality you don't outright say that is what afflicts her. The talk about untainted and unmarked and fragmented being really could be so very many things. But assuming it is a werewolf, I wonder if it was from someone like Teddy? Or maybe some leftover hidden side effect after Bill was attacked by Fenrir. I have so many questions!

-paula

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I am pleased you liked this and that it worked as a stand-alone. As for how she became a werewolf, the worst has answers to that!

 Report Review

Review #7, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Confronting

12th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Oddly enough this chapter also sent me down another weird tangent (are you getting used to those yet?) So, you say that the letter from Remus came back early in the morning which means he probably was up at some ungodly hour. And we know that owls are pretty quick at traveling and love tapping at window. So like I think there would be a great market for owl doors specifically so they don't wake you up and can just slip inside.

I mean technically it is wandless magic. She's not using her wand. So maybe some kind of weird instinctual wandless nonverbals?

I like that the love, Remus bit caught her emotions. I think she's going to need some people on her side to survive all of this.

I don't think it's unreasonable for Sirius to want space. I really don't. I understand her desperation to get in contact with him, but I think if it were the other way around it would be a no brainer to ignore him.

She really should have owled first. Poor James. Poor Sirius. It's just so awkward. And ugh at Sirius acting so cold. And James. I mean she is blood after all.

No I do agree with James. If she really didn't want to be involved in it I do think she could find some way to get away. Dumbledore could hide her. She could break free. I think that's just an excuse and once she pushes by that excuse she'll grow and change dramatically. Flourish even.

Iím glad though that she was strong enough to face that conflict head on and that her and James wonít be on such rocky terms. She really canít be alone in all of this.


-paula

 Report Review

Review #8, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Monster

12th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Yeah, so perhaps after this little torture session with Fenrir she'll at least be more mindful of her attitude when she's around those that could be deemed enemies. But then again I think that attitude is exactly what makes her and Sirius compatible. Neither of them seem to know when to shut up. Or as my momma says "fix your face."

That is bizarre that somehow she could just suddenly hurt him. And that she's done it before. I feel like Dumbledore would have an explanation for it. Some kind of ancient magic, I'm sure. I love Fenrir's response that's just like "uh okay, let's move on." Like he does not want to anger her again. I donít love that heíll probably immediately report back what she managed to do. Although there is the saving grace that maybe his pride wonít allow for it after all.

Also I know there's the whole moral dilemma of being a monster or not, but to frighten someone as terrifying and vicious as Fenrir Greyback says a lot about her. Like I wouldn't argue that she is the monster, but I am glad that at least it's directed toward Voldemort's followers and not Sirius when he's being snotty.

I think Remus would be a good resource to have for her newly found condition (and really the whole werewolf thing too) and I'm thinking that homework line won't fool him. He's just too clever.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #9, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Fenrir Returns

11th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Ugh. Fenrir is such a shady shade. I feel like her reaction toward her mother demonstrates her general immaturity all things considered. The useless scum bit doesn't help. I don't think anyone would really be that excited for the Dark Lord to be coming back for them.

And I do feel like her mom is putting in some kind of effort. More than she can be bothered with. But like I said her youth is really on display when she talks to her mother. Like the fake gagging and the mimicry.

I'm not sold on the idea of Voldemort having a follower not by choice. I just feel like if he wasn't pretty sure of loyalty he wouldn't bother. But I don't know. Iím mostly basing that off of his general paranoia.

Does the Dark Lord ring the doorbell? See I feel like that's just so mundane I never pictured it.

Again with the idea of shutting the door and slamming it in Fenrir's face. She just seems really juvenile in this chapter. I think it's a good character flaw though and every character needs a handful of those.

And like her egging him on with the cruciatus curse threats. Super young seeming. I feel like sheíll lose a lot of that innocent rebellion in the next chapter.


-paula

 Report Review

Review #10, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Summer Dreams - Nicoles Goodbye

11th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

The whole complex with her older sister moving out is interesting. I remember when my brother moved out I was ecstatic because I could take his bedroom which was a suite. It was awesome. I was also much younger than Aleesha though so I can understand the bittersweetness.

Their relationship seems to be pretty good even if she's a bit upset that her sister was leaving. The begging is a bit beneath dignity, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

Plus I agree with Nicole that it's time for her to find her own way in the world. And if she's in love, she's in love. There's nothing more to it! I don't, however, like the way that she writes of the stereotyping and hatred of werewolves. I don't think any illness, contracted or genetic, is a good reason to call for someone's blood and I think after all the hatred she receives she shouldn't justify it either or then she's part of the system that's doing the oppression. Ah, but sheís young.

Sirius going overboard with hating...well, I think he does a lot of all or nothing. But that is a major betrayal. I do think it's notable that she distinguishes between loving someone (ie Regulus) and being in love with someone (ie Sirius) because a lot of times I think people miss that important little memo.

Iím sorry sheís crying at the end, but I really think sheíll be okay. This is one of those growing up moments.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #11, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Worrying

11th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I think you do a really good job in the introduction conveying her sheer pain and weakness. That whole wanting to never more again is kinda how I seem to feel every single morning. Ah, but she tugs herself up all the same.

I think it's interesting that when she comes to she's so very disoriented. It makes sense, but at the same time I wonder how much she could possibly remember from her night with Fenrir. I don't imagine she'd want to remember much so even if she can remember stuff from transformation periods, I think hopefully her brain would keep her safe from that kind of stuff and repress it.

I wonder what had to have happened to make that kind of gash. Hopefully it was a shallow gash she didn't lose too much blood.

What a thing to have to explain when you didnít know yourself.

She's in this much pain and in danger and still she's worrying about Sirius. Yeesh.

I think it would actually be better if she did remember the night for the simple fact that she'll constantly worry about the what ifs. What if she did end up biting someone. I hope they properly cleaned and healed the wound before she slept in his bed. Otherwise it might stain and that would be a terrible way to get caught.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #12, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: With Fenrir

11th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I really enjoy Fenrir Greyback as a character. I think in general he's pretty overlooked. I actually think I've only read one other story with him even in it and he was really vicious to the point of sadistic gore. Not my ideal, but still. Your characterization of him still has that cruelty and that vicious anger, but he's not just pure monster as far as I can tell. (Also my dog is named Fenrir Greyback because his back is literally grey).

I think sheís very valiant in her sheer, open defiance against someone like him though. Very Gryffindoresque.

I can't even imagine what it would be like to be forced to create more werewolves. And there's next to no time to do anything to prevent it. I wonder though if you somehow stunned yourself would you remain stunned throughout your transformation? Or if someone else stunned you or maybe even can werewolves be petrified during their transformation?

The characterization of Sirius is pretty on point with him from the books. Whining and stubborn and petty. I love him though. Sirius is very melodramatic. Although I understand the pain of betrayal and how deep it runs, I do agree with James that he seems to be a bit stupid about it all.

Hopefully Sirius is starting to see reason. It seems like he is in that last little paragraph.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #13, by PaulaTheProkaryoteHappiness: The Eye of the Beholder

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

James can't sleep? We're two birds of a feather. It's 4 am here. And I'm exhausted too. Yes, James. We're the same. This is a very sweet little moment of him just admiring her when she can't even recognize it. And the way he sees her and thinks about how gorgeous and vibrant she is. Isnít that every girlís dream?

The fact that he thinks it might be a dream is just too sweet.

The idea of her always smiling, even when asleep, is very much in stark contrast with the scowling girl I often think of back in her Hogwarts days. Or perhaps I often read it. I like her better smiling.

Iím not surprised that the darkness of the current world filled with all of that prejudice and hatred would leave her crying some nights. Especially considering her own run ins with that kind of prejudice.

There's my lily line. You have one in every story and they make me love her so much. How annoying he is. Although I imagine it would be annoying to find your significant other peering down at you while you sleep.

I think as long as they have each other theyíll be okay.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #14, by PaulaTheProkaryoteIn Pursuit of Fairness: Fair

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Iím really getting my Jily fix tonight! Endless Jily for Paula! This is an interesting take on Jily just because itís clear that thereís some deception happening from the summary and it just sounds like itís layers upon layer of shady.

Oh, I like that you're talking about this part of those happy youthful years in which hate speech and prejudice runs rampant. I think it's easy to say "oh that person's an idiot, don't listen to them" and move on in fic, but I think in real life words matter so much. Hate speech especially. I think in real life POCs have to face this much more than I realize. Like in my neck of the woods there's the old adage about an old horse too stubborn to change directions. But sometimes those old horses need to not be hateful. Yíknow?

ďDumbledore. McGonagall. Me. Sirius. Remus. Peter. Lily, youíre not in this alone.Ē I feel like this is her recruitment into the order of the phoenix!

I'm with james on self care. This is why he's my soulmate. You gotta put yourself first once and a while.

James is truly hilarious. The not even telling the joke line was really cute.

Okay the deception wasn't nearly as bad as I expected it to be. He's my precious angel baby. She was a bit dramatic there for a moment. It's hardly James's fault.

YET. Thereís an importantly little word cropping up.

SO CUTE.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #15, by PaulaTheProkaryoteStaring: Staring

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I always love second perspective stories because I hardly ever see them and when I do theyíre always done really well.

I feel very confident that the fact that his stare is so unnerving is that her newfound feelings are amplifying everything he does. Oh to be young and in love.

Lol bless his soul for at least having the decency to blush a bit. Despite his words. and also she's adorable with the whole mushed up words as she has to say that it's a bit too much for her and that he's thinking...unholy things as you put it.

Well at least he tries not to. That's the best anyone can hope for. Although it is funny when later on she tries to rationalize it. Like maybe itís not the worst thing that could happen. Although his explanation for why he doesnít is also next level cuteness.

Sweet baby James is literally the most romantic creature on earth. What with his description of her. It'd turn anyone as red as her hair.

Although to be fair intense looks always creep me out. I donít think Iím made for this kind of love. Iíd probably poke his eye to prevent that kind of meaningful look.

I like the end where itís definitely a play on the traditional James/Lily cat and mouse game thatís always the cutest.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #16, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDeath's Manual : Prolouge

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I'm back here at another abandoned story, but this one drew me in because it's also very different from the rest of your AP. Like for starters it's not jily. But Plums got me hooked on Voldemort so I decided I'd pop by this one to see what his characterization is like in your writing style.

This definitely reads as a bit crack! in the sort of joking manner the main character talks about taking a vacation (where would he even go? Someone like him? Or maybe her. Did we get an established gender), but at the same time this sort of not a sadist for sadismís sake characterization is very in line with some of my favorite characters like the Grey Man in Raven Boys and even Tom Riddle in some gorgeous fics. Maybe Tom and him arenít too different. Itís a sort of means to an end. Heís trying to remain in power and cruelty and fear is a good way to do that and this unknown character is trying to...right wrongs? Maybe heís a hired killer. I canít decide yet.

He's very logic driven. And he's also very serial killer-esque in the idea that what he's doing really is humane in his mind. It's not that he enjoys it. It's just that it's what is best for humanity.

There was this guy I went to high school with that ended up being arrested for some gross stuff I'll skim over, but the day before he was arrested at his house he posted on fb some long post about how he saw a guy walking down an old dirt road and he was in his car and he could have ran him over and no one would have ever known because it's so far out but he didn't because he was a good person and I kept thinking that it was insane that he thought not murdering someone was an act of kindness. Like someone should be thankful you didn't do it. Bizarre. And that's a lot like the character I'm reading here.

Iím interested in how this character is going to deal with the nuisance of killing off voldemort if heís in horcrux form. Like in DH we know for sure that at some point Voldemort starts to realize whatís happening. Right? So like do you gather up all the horcruxes first? Or maybe thereís some kind of magic even more powerful.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #17, by PaulaTheProkaryoteFairytalesque: Prolouge: Once Upon a Time

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I'm interested in this story mainly because it seems very different from your other jilys (abandoned or not). The fairytale style is very intriguing because thereís often this trope in jily fics that Lily is like the stuck up Gryffindor princess and Iím interested in where youíre going with it. Even if itís only for a few thousand words.

I like this idea that in the prologue we get a very early indication of what Lily's childhood was like. Ideal. It's a bit in conflict with what we get from the typical Lily. There's no mention of her bratty sister calling her a freak or any of that jealousy involving her special powers. But I think it's okay without that stuff because in reality a lot of kids (especially so young as to believe in fairytales and to still be read them every night) would probably gloss over those dark patches. And perhaps Petunia didn't have any real issues with her sister until we get closer to Hogwarts age.

The stealing cars thing threw me for a bit of a loop. Iím assuming itís all metaphorical but...but..maybe her boyfriend is literally stealing cars for a living?

Iím assuming the darkness that has stolen her youthful innocence away is probably the impending war that is looming like a dark shadow over the entire wizarding community, but especially for someone like her who is muggleborn. She can never revert back to the muggle lifestyle of comfort and innocence because she is in too deep.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #18, by PaulaTheProkaryoteFirst Kiss: First Kiss

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Youíre my go-to Jily writer because you just do them so well. Even in your older works. Theyíre adorable and even though you pick up the general ideas behind cliches sometimes (like first kiss, thoughtful proposals, etc) you always do them in a way that just seems right and fresh and wonderful.

I always love when we have the head students complex thrown into a story too. I swear the entire castle shipped them and that's why he made head boy. Sure, it might have accelerated him growing up, but it also definitely forced Lily to give him a proper chance and get to know him better.

I'd so have attitude if some portrait decided to scold me. Rude.

I love that he didn't immediately taunt or harass her for being late. It could easily have been something along the lines of being irresponsible or trying to extort some affection from her or anything that I think a lesser writer might have gone with. But James is just kind and moves on. Heís got a good characterization here and I find him much more tolerable than some common Jamesís I read. Jameses? I donít know.

She's definitely frazzled and I love it. Him joking with her about quidditch was also cute. I love this lax adorable only slightly mischievous James.

OH JAMES. He needs his first kiss. ;)

17 years old and still never smooched anyone. He's bold to admit it. Although it was a different time. And it is sweet!

ďI always thought you were incredibly lame.Ē Lines like this is why I live for your version of lily. Sheís so perfect and always has the best one liners.

Ugh. This was just so sickeningly cute and innocent and precious and 135 points to Hufflepuff for this cuteness.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #19, by PaulaTheProkaryoteKiss and Tell: Prologue: Fourth Year

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I like the way you've set the story up. We get present day break up and all of the angst that goes along with it and then we are taken back to where it all started. In fourth year. I wonder what exactly it was that caused James to end it with her when we know he's probably head over heels with her. Is she forcing her to keep them a secret? I'd say yes by the way he scoffs at the phrase 'no secrets' which just makes it even more curiouser. But that's just my speculation. Iím like 90% sure I read this back when I binged every Jily I could ever find ever. Itís still cute after all this time. (Always).

There's nothing that angers me more than when I am hormonal and my husband will point out that I'm reacting like this so I must be hormonal and then I have to screech that it wouldn't matter one way or another because I'm right and wow did you just look into my life?

Honestly I'm not even surprised that Lily had such a problem with him because to be fair as a teen he was super annoying. Like the remarks about her growing up. eugh. I'd bat-bogey him. But I do think it's cute all the same. Anger. Snogging. You gotta channel it somehow.

ďNot even their petsĒ Thatís how you know itís serious. I tell my pups everything.
-paula

 Report Review

Review #20, by PaulaTheProkaryoteHistory of a Snitch: Snitch

8th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Oh this is a whole new level of cute James badgering. Badgering for quidditch. His other part-time true love.

I love your Lily characterization in all of your stories. She's funny and quick witted and not at all the stuck up elitist ravenclaw reincarnate that she so often gets portrayed as. I feel like it's safe to say your lily is the best lily.

Also I love this idea of Madam Hooch being a stickler for the game rules like I think she would be and making sure that you have to play by her book or you won't play at all. Love it!

Of course he has an extra. Spoiled brat.

I gotta be honest. 9.9 times out of 10 I end up just skimming the actual quidditch scenes because they can become tedious quickly BUT i didn't do that here because you make sure the scenes aren't tedious.

Surely a beat could come keep an eye out for her since Hufflepuff decided to harass her with their bludgers! Itís only polite.

AH! Yes! Lily is number one! A NATURAL BORN SEEKER! And also aw, James and Lily's hug! So cute. And surely he had to be crazy proud of her!

Okay it's so cute that the snitch he kept was her snitch and also totally makes sense because he wasn't seeker so why would he have one?

WHAT AN ADORABLE PROPOSAL. MY BABIES. I'M IN LOVE! Like he just casually tosses it and flesh memories and all of that and then BAM there's this cute little ring in it and wow, James is literally the suavest. I'll marry him for her if she'd prefer.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #21, by PaulaTheProkaryoteAfternoon Tea: Afternoon Tea

8th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I LOVE SCORBUS MEET THE PARENTS. SO, meeting the grandparents is bound to be even better. I mean thereís no way that itís not going to be awkward especially with Harry Potter being the high-key bane of Luciusís existence, regardless of how Deathly Hallows turned out with Draco and their semi-patched relationship. Like is there anyway to be like ďhey, I tried to kill your dad like ten times and he sent me to wizard prison, nice to meet you, youíre dating my grandsonĒ to be casual and pleasant? Iím opting for probably not.

I feel like a table that massive that puts the much distance between every family member is probably some kind of indication of what Iíd expect to expect. Iím not sure if that even makes sense. But none of them being morning people or talking to anyone is probably easier done when you have that much distance between them. Also I like that Draco calls him Al because it immediately indicates to me that there must be some kind of relationship there. Maybe Iím reading too much into it but it sounds like theyíre all close.

Also I'm in love with your characterization of Astoria. I can see how she'd be a great match for Draco. And I like her chastising him about how inconsiderate it is. And she's on Scorpius's side on both of these conflicts. Astoria is like the anchor of this family, constantly calming everyone. Sheís perfect.

Also the tell-the-parents went exactly how I would have wanted it. Iím all about Draco whining about it too. Hilarious. Cute.

ďI wonít even complain while you look at boring sports stuff.Ē Literally me to my husband every time I try to make him do something he doesnít want to.

Narcissa was perfect. I'm happy with her response. And TBH no one even cares about Lucius. Heíll cope.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #22, by PaulaTheProkaryoteLike Clockwork: Antiquity

8th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

You had me at witch trials and secret societies.

Dear Merlin above, you have the best descriptive writing and better yet, you consistently use it throughout the chapter. I love good descriptive writing that has value to the story (you can only spend so many words describing a chair that no one sits in Charles Dickens) and moreover, so many writers just seem to drop off the descriptors after the first few paragraphs. Love it!

The description of her lungs burning so hot that carried on through her tongue, lips, forehead, nose, etc was really well done. I really felt like I was there.

I like the way you did the self doubt with perhaps she was sent from the devil after all. Thank goodness someone from Hogwarts finally stepped in! Poor baby girl! She was 11! Why wasn't she already to Hogwarts by Halloween? Maybe it was hard to find her? He did allude to him searching for her with the found you bit.

And what does he know about her tendencies? One too many spins? That sounds like some major time turner stuff. This is so interesting! Also I wonder how she handles the ery long life that she's going to have to endure. I think with all of the societal and cultural changes over the years I'd probably go mad.

And then that brings forth an entire question about her family. Are they really her family? Do they know that she was sent back? Are they part of some kind of proto-Order of the Phoenix organization?

I imagine after all that time traveling and then nearly being murdered and then discovering youíre a witch in an age where witches were evil, demonic little things would be more than stressful enough to knock anyone out.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #23, by PaulaTheProkaryotePretty Little Thing: Pretty Little Thing

8th April 2017:
HELLO AGAIN LOVELY! Iím here again for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

SO Iíve consistently signed up for your stories first because I love the way that you can take these relatively undeveloped minor characters (in this case minor minor characters) and you give them this amazing breadth of characterization that really is settling into full blown head canon.

I especially love teacher stories because I can't even imagine what Hogwarts would be like to them (although I've tried to write a few and gave up). I love this idea that the staff still hate things. Like the bed. It reminds me of Slughorn complaining that his previous office was nothing more than a water closet.

I love this line about Septima being everywhere. What a haunting kind of love. And then to have to face both changes so suddenly. Talk about terrifying.

I really, really like this line: ďput on my brave face, which I realize looks a lot like my normal faceĒ and Iím overanalyzing it because I like it so much. At face value itís sort of joking about how itís not a very brave face, BUT it could just as well be that sheís channeling some serious inner gryffindor and sheís always brave.

I don't think in reality she'd have to justify herself too terribly much only because if she was hired, she's clearly qualified. Right? Like do you think teachers that just had her would look down on her or still see her too much like a student? Like I'm year two into my grad program and one of my profs hunted me down the other day because she had an undergrad with a question about my specific field that she thought I'd be able to answer better than her (yes, it felt amazing to be able to answer). So tldr; I think they'd accept her, but I like her realistic insecurity.

Very unfair of Septima to just act like nothing ever happened and want her to just appease her. Shady shady.

HOly guac, I love that she shut her down the with the pretty little thing line. That was great.

This was really such a powerful story of dealing with toxic people that you just happen to care greatly about. It happens all the time and I love that Madam Hooch was able to be self-care oriented and think of herself and her own happiness (or at least sanity) first.

10/10 would read again! Thanks for writing such lovely stories

-paula

Author's Response: omg I am in love with your reviews and super super flattered at you seeking my stories out ♥

I too love developing minor characters, but I guess you knew that since I write about them so much =P

I really don't think anyone would be nearly as hard on Ro as she is on herself, and that's something that I can definitely relate to. Especially when starting a new job, and especially especially when that job is in a place where you used to be a student, I think it's a very understandable circumstance to develop imposter syndrome, as baseless as it may be.

I love you loving my lines! And I love you! ♥ =P

Thank you for all of your wonderful reviews. Many hugs!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #24, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTo the Past, From the Future: Forever Love

4th April 2017:
Hey there! Iím here to make sure Ravenclaw wins the CTF at HPFT/read your lovely stories.

What a conversation to have to have with your kids. I mean I can't imagine telling kids that you're going to have to go down to the ministry of magic without mummy and daddy because they have to hide from the bad guys. I think just moving on and finding a safe house would have been fine too. And then the family could stay together. I also think it's funny that of all the things that she could compare it to she compared it to the Sound of Music.

I mean as far as a team of heroes go you can't really go wrong with Harry, Ron, James, Sirius, and the rest of the family. And Aurors. I mean in reality the odds look pretty good, right? Theyíre basically all Defense Against the Dark Arts prodigies and thereís something about fighting for the people you love that seems to give you a little something extra. You have a real, personal reason to fight.

Honestly I don't think it's fair for Harry to lay all of that out on James. With the death of his mother, father, sister, and grandfather...well it's just too much for one kid to process. I honestly think it would have been kinder to just go into battle and if you make it, you make it. If not then James is going to spend his life wondering what his future self should have done differently.

I'm glad Harry and Ginny kissed and everything is fine.

-Paula

 Report Review

Review #25, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTo the Past, From the Future: We'll Keep Trying

4th April 2017:
Hey there! Iím here to make sure Ravenclaw wins the CTF at HPFT/read your lovely stories.

Oh dear heavens above with the fight that's going on between Harry and Ginny right now. I'm not sure that All was well after all.

I think at this point they should just pack their bags and head off to the safety that is America. Or Brazil. Or somewhere where they can actually raise their kids. Also lol at her for calling him Potter even though itís her name too.

Honestly I just can't imagine a universe in which either Ginny or harry would act like that. I just can't. At least Sirius is there to break in.

Are you sure they love each other? I mean let's be real, this is hardly a healthy relationship. Okay well she doesn't love him and honestly after that display I'm not surprised.

The Daily Prophet was comfortingly familiar. It felt very Skeeteresque and I'm really just wondering who even pays that much attention to whether or not she has her ring on or what kind of temperament Harry has at work. Poor Harry can never get away from the media.

Hopefully the idea of James and Chloe having a baby will pull everyone back together again. I'm glad chloe didn't end up dying or anything crazy. The miracle of life and all the cuteness of little pink bundles of joy combined with the pleasantness of being grandparents might just be enough to get them to settle down together and work out their differences. Hopefully a baby will bring some kind of unity to the family. Births always pull people together, right? I hope so for Harry and Ginny's sake.


-Paula

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>