Reading Reviews From Member: intothether
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by intothetherCounting Daisy Roots: Four

14th July 2013:
oh Oh OH.
Give me a moment to fully comprehend what I just read.

Well, that certainly was a plot twist. And also nothing like what I was expecting. It did sound impossiible in the beginning, bringing Scorpius back from the dead. But then I accepted the information given before and went with the flow.

What i don't understand is how Albus found the stone in the first place. Harry could have dropped it anywhere in the forest floor. The probability of Albus finding the right one is that of one in a million.

Also,isn't what Albus is suggesting- Using the Hallows to fight- going against what his father decided all those years ago?

I'm not exactly sure how I feel about this so I'm just going to read on.

Author's Response: Yeah, it is a bit of a plot twist! I only fully worked it out /after/ I'd finished Blunderland, which is a bit lame, and this sequel partly came out of a need to fully explain What Had Happened To Scorpius.

I'll clarify about Albus - he found the stone by simply looking, over and over again, trawling through the forest. I really need to go back and edit Blunderland so Albus' unhinged weirdness becomes a little more prevalent, but, essentially, in the context of this story he became obsessed with the Hallows legend around the end of his fifth year and began to obsessively research it, so possibly asked his Dad a lot of questions about the final battle and read up on eyewitness accounts to try and find the exact location, then just trawled the place in his invisibility cloak looking for it. I reckon that magical objects in the Harry Potter verse might actually be sentient in small ways because they're imbued with magic, so the stone might have resisted dirt/soil and not been buried. I know that's a vague explanation, but it's what I imagined happened for this story!

As for your second point, yes, it is exactly the opposite of what Harry wanted, but Albus isn't necessarily a carbon copy of his father. I think I tried to write him that way in the beginning, but he isn't at all! In my next generation headcanon, the Potter children were all rebels in some form - the pressure put on them as 'Harry Potter's children' would be enormous, and the feeling I got from the epilogue was that James was the prankster but Albus was the 'good' son. So I figure that's an extra level of pressure. Albus, by the time of this story, has become just a little unhinged (I'm going to elaborate on that later in the story) and whilst he has good intentions vis a vis mending society, he's taken all the wrong steps to get himself there. Does that make sense?

Anyway! Despite the plot twist, I hope you can still enjoy this story, and that I can clarify some of this for you in later chapters! Thank you for reviewing ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by intothetherCounting Daisy Roots: Three

14th July 2013:
When I read this story, I can picture everything perfectly in my mind. Lucy's jars, Albus's wallet lying turned over, the orange streetlights thowing patterns on the floor, and for some reason, I find it calming.
The story has such a slow pace that for once, I'm actually enjoying how leisurely we're proceeding instead of rushing into the plot immediately. I'm still not sure about what the plot is though. Up till now it's been keeping in the shadows. With the exception of the imminent Scorpius/Lucy pairing that is.
The last few lines are truly beautiful.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you for saying so! I find it quite calming to write; it's a bit of a break from some of the more frenetic things I've been writing lately, so the slower pace suits me.

There's not much of a plot, I'll confess. I think it's more of a character development story, you know, just about Scorpius coming to terms with being dead. But no, I'll confess that there isn't really a plot, although I promise I've got it planned right up to the last chapter!

Thank you so much for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by intothetherSectioned: {sectioned}

24th May 2013:
If I have to be completely honest I'll admit that the first thing that caught my eye about this fic when I was scrolling through HPFF, more than the banner or the summary that goes with the story, was your username. Pretty awesome actually, I wish I could steal it for myself. :P

As for the chapter, I think it's quite well written. Lily doesn't seem too pretentious or fake like most characters in fanfictions dealing with mental problems or depression do. Her misery seems quite justified and well, I had a friend who was dealing with depression and suicidal instincts once(shes better now) and II can identify Lily's cynical, unbelieving attitude with hers quite a bit.

All in all, it's quite a clean introduction to the story. Moving on to the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by intothetherCounting Daisy Roots: Two

24th May 2013:
Okay, this chapter was quite morbid. References to death, comparisons to death, metaphors for death, death everywhere! Lucy Weasley with a yellow bucket tho, that was something else.
And you just can't resist your Scorp-Lucy pairings can you? :D

I must say, hardly any fanfiction writers attempt to write first person from a boy's POV. So cookies to you for that. Probably got something to do with how this site is almost entirely composed of teenage Harry Potter fangirls. xD

I love the last two paragraphs, the descriptions of the land, his conclusion where he mentions the daisies. Beautiful.

Personally, I believe more than the plot itself, it's your writing style which makes your story special and so far, it's only getting better. :)

Author's Response: Well...what do you expect from a story about a zombie? :P

Fun fact: before writing this, I actually compiled an entire folder of bookmarks on my browser for this story - some pages were serious and about Hypothermia, others were not-so-serious and just, er, listed euphemisms for death. I'm trying to work as many in as possible, although I'm not sure how to shoehorn 'shuffled off this mortal coil' into the prose, haha.

Awh, thank you! It is a little difficult writing from a boy's POV. I don't actually think I've ever attempted it before - all my first-person narratives so far have been from the POV of a girl. Huh.

:3 that's such a lovely thing to say! I'm glad you're enjoying it, and thank you for leaving such nice reviews! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by intothetherCounting Daisy Roots: One

14th May 2013:
Aaah, I've been waiting for this ever since Blunderland ended. And considering that I didn't review any of the Blunderland chapters, I'm going to make sure I review each and every one of these.

I've missed brooding angsty scorpius! Your version of him is probably the one I identify with the most. This chapter wasn't as overflowing with angst as you warned. I mean, he's entitled to a bit of extra angst considering he just died and came back, right? And then there's Flora adding some cheer by giggling and pretending to be a zombie.

I'm quite excited to find out where this will be going. Do we get to see Scorpius working in a kitchen somewhere in the near-distant future? As hinted in Blunderland, haha.

Also, I was wondering what 'Counting Daisy Roots' meant. Or is it something we'll find out later in the story.

Thank you for updating! :)

Author's Response: Awh, thank you! I hope to update at least once a week as I'm almost finished writing this, although my life is a little hectic right now so it may be a fortnight until chapter two is up!

I'm glad you can identify with him! I do enjoy writing Scorpius the most in any of my stories - so self-deprecating and miserable, he's basically me :P Don't worry, this fic gets very angsty as it goes on - shocking revelations about Albus and such to come...

Wait and see! :)

As for the title - Counting Daisy Roots is just another euphemism for death (similar to 'pushing daisies'), but there are some physical daisies in this story to come. Er. If that makes sense, haha!

Thank you for reviewing and I'm really glad you liked it! :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by intothetherNo Solid Ground: Can't Make It Through It But I'll Try Anyway

4th April 2013:
Oh the awkwardness and the tension, it makes me die a little inside while reading. I feel so bad for Cassie, with the exhaustion and the lack of sleep. And James manages to be annoyingly delightful. He's quite a contradictory character isn't he? I can't wait for Albus to return though, hopefully it'll be sometime soon.

Urgh. I just went back to check and realized that your last update was 7 months ago. That's a long long time. Far too long for me to be able to wait, I'll probably die of despair if I have to wait that long for chapter 18.
And the sad bit is that I just began reading this story today. I can say this much though, none of your chapters disappoint, no matter how long the wait may be. Which is why I solemnly swear to stick with this story until the very end. :')

 Report Review

Review #7, by intothetherNo Solid Ground: Even The Best Fall Down Sometimes

4th April 2013:
First of all, I must mention the excellent characterization you have accomplished in this story. Cassie is likable but at times you have to get annoyed with her. It gets irritating if the protagonist is too likable or too perfect. You managed to get the right blend in Cassie which makes her more identifiable, like a real person.

Al and James, well, they're a bit hard to choose from. I like Al and his nice boy behaviour and I like James and his snark but if you ask me to pick one, I'll just hang my head and shut down. I'll be honest, James annoyed me in the beginning. I kept thinking how Al was the better of the two. But as Cassie worked him out bit by bit, I sort of grew to like him as well. In a way, you make the reader see through Cassie's eyes as the story progresses.

Another point would be the Golden trio. I have rarely seen any next gen writer portray the Golden Trio accurately. Harry always comes out as some sort of perfect idol which is not the case here and I'm glad. And the action. I don't think I can bear the fluff and romance in fics anymore. I'm so SO glad that there's a definite plot bunny running about here.

Its funny, but in someways this fic reminds me of the Hunger Games. The bit about living in the wilderness, the portkey instead of the tracer inserted into the arm, even the love triangle. James instead of Gale, Albus instead of Peeta. And how cassie will have to go back to where it all began, Hogwarts like Katniss had to go back to the capitol and the arena.

But despite that, this is probably one of the most original fan fiction stories I have read. It's brilliant how you came up with the whole twisted plot and I really wanted to review every chapter in detail but I was racing through the story the whole time and didn't want to stop reading. I just realized I have two chapters left to read so I stopped to take some time off, can't have it finishing too fast y'know?Maybe someday I'll re read and review the whole thing. But for now I'm just leaving you a long review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by intothetherBeauty Queen: Caught

2nd March 2013:
Aaah, I'm in far too much excitement to leave a
coherent review so I'm just going to read the next
chapter and that's it. :A:

Author's Response: Don't worry! Your review is totally coherent and I'm just glad that you're still reading it :)

Thanks for reviewing!!
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #9, by intothetherBeauty Queen: Quitting is Always an Option

2nd March 2013:
Hahah, all that bickering. It's just so natural, to read something like that. And though this chapter is quite filler-y, it's just a nice read. Plus I have this beautiful mental image of James swooping through the air on his own.

"It seemed like he-for the most fleeting of moments-owned the night sky, owned everything that surrounded him."

This line. Urgh. So fountainhead-y. I love it. ^_^

I have guesses about everything other than what James could be writing. I don't have a clue what that could be, honestly. So I'm going to read on and find out.

Author's Response: Ahhh, you're actually flattering me way too much with these reviews. I'm getting a big head. Like I'm getting a little teary eyed from how nice you are.

I've never actually read the fountainhead, but I literally can't believe you're comparing my embarrassing writing to such a timeless piece of literature. My brain may explode.

Ah yes... the letter James is writing. It's probably not going to be explained until the very end. But don't worry, you'll find out!

Thanks so much for another amazing review :)
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #10, by intothetherBeauty Queen: Arriving at Hogwarts

2nd March 2013:
I like how every character is so distinct. Like, there's something about everyone of them that separated them from the rest.

Also, I totally think Gryff and Molly are going to end up in a relationship at some point.

Short review, because I just can't wait to read on. :D

Author's Response: Aw yay! I'm so happy you like the characters. I definitely tried very hard to develop them and make them have their own voice.

You may or may not be right about Gryffin and Molly... I will tell you that they're my two favorite characters of this entire story.

Thanks so much for another review! You're amazing :)
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #11, by intothetherBeauty Queen: The Aftermath

2nd March 2013:
Ouch. That last paragraph really hurt. But it's exactly how I think Natasha's mum would behave. For some reason I can't seem to make up my mind about her. Sometimes I feel bad for her considering her husband ditched her and everything, and sometimes I'm just annoyed. Cross that. Most of the time, I'm just annoyed.

Finally! Hogwarts! I'm going to hurry onto the next chapter now.


PS: Favorite line from this chapter
"...act like you're the biggest disappointment since your older sister announced she was in love with 'that hooligan with the blue hair'"

Ah Teddy. :')

Author's Response: Natasha's mum is definitely everyone's least favorite character. I quite like her, but that's because I know where she's coming from. I'm more annoyed with Natasha than anything, because she lets her mum micromanage her. She's like the complete opposite of me.

But yes, Hogwarts! She's actually going to go!

Yes, Teddy... I harbor a secret love for him.

Thank you so much for a lovely review :)
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #12, by intothetherBeauty Queen: What Do You Want?

2nd March 2013:
I actually did a fist pump at the end when she said no. Four chapters in and I'd say it's about time. :D

I think you've paced this story perfectly, it's not rushed and I give that credit. Most fics I read these days just hurry through, delay the romance part a bit, tie up the loose ends and finish it off. I like how Natasha's taken her time to make up her mind. Her low self confidence shows, it fits the character you've created through the last three chapters.

I also love Dominique's story in the beginning. This is the first time I'm reading Fleur portrayed negatively, and even though initially I found it odd, the more I read, the more it fits.

Good work! :)

Author's Response: Haha yes, it is about time! Tash is just a very tricky character though, because she's always been very passive. So getting her to actually be assertive is going to be quite the struggle. It's kind of the main struggle in the story.

I'm so glad you like the pacing! For me, that's the most important part of a story, because you lose a lot of the focus if you breeze through things that should be explained. I'm just super happy you like how I've developed it.

I figured it'd be different to portray Fleur negatively, and since I wanted to make this story as different as possible, I figured I'd try it out. I'm glad you like Dom's story though!

Thank you so much for reviewing :)
-Rebecca



 Report Review

Review #13, by intothetherThunder: I hate the rain.

28th February 2013:
Okay, I guess I should feel bad for Ava. And I do, because you wrote her emotions down so perfectly.
However, at the same time, I can't help but dislike her a bit, considering she was the one who broke up with Ian in the fist place, and he did wait for her for eight months.

In fact, Ian doesn't seem like a bad guy. At all.
I think he would have been a quite likeable character if we were to read about him eight months back. Ava leaving him seriously messed him up.

Lastly, Louis.
If there is anyone I truly feel bad for, it's him. He doesn't deserve what Ava's doing to him. And I hope she gets it together and doesn't wreck it with him like she did for Ian.

Beautifully written as always.

Author's Response: I understand what you mean. Yes, she's in an awful place. Yes, she's absolutely devastated and heart broken. But let's face it - she did it to herself. He didn't want any of this to happen, but it did, and he's just protecting himself now.

He's not. He's really not. Hopefully that comes out.
He's a very likeable guy, in fact. There's a reason that as bitter and jaded as she is, she still managed to fall for him.

Yes, Louis.
Poor guy. She's seriously messing with his head and just dragging him around like a rag doll, even if she doesn't intend to. It's not right, but she does it anyway.

Thanks so much for the review ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by intothetherThunder: I hate my flat.

28th February 2013:
Ian? Ian who? Is Ian the reason she ran away? Dun dun dunnn, I'm going to read on and find out.

About the drunk hookup thing, well yes, I'll admit I saw it coming, I'll admit I found it cliche, but you say there is a twist coming? Another reason to keep reading. :D

Lastly, isn't Louis taking advantage of Ava? And he said he didn't need to get her drunk to do that. Doesn't that lower him to the same level as Matt?
Minus marks for Louis, I'm sorry.

Author's Response: Ah, yes. The elusive Ian. Read on and you shall discover his secrets.

Haha yeah, I know. It's cliche. But it had to happen. Just trust me.

Hmm. Yes, I suppose he is in a way, but remember that he's drunk as well, so he's not thinking totally clearly. But still, it does take away from his points a little bit.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by intothetherThunder: I hate my job.

28th February 2013:
Haha, this is brilliant. So ordinary, yet compelling to read. It's snarky without being annoying to the eyes, it's funny without trying too hard. And you've introduced the main characters so well that I can already form pictures of them in my mind without looking at the chapter images.

I'm interested to see where this story is going, because so far, the only hint of a plot is the fact that Ava's trying to escape the wizarding world.

Onto the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Haha, why thank you! I'm glad you like it. It's just something I decided to write for the fun of it, so I really didn't try too hard with the humor or descriptions or anything. This was just a little something I wrote for me that I decided to put up :)

Sorry it took so long to respond, but thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by intothetherTriumph: two

25th February 2013:
Okay, I take back what I said in the last chapter. I'm not sure if this fic is going to be Sally/Sirius, it could probably turn out to be Sally/Remus and I'm not sure which one I prefer. Also, I don't think I want to bet my money on either. Haha.

The only bit I didn't get in this chapter is the part about the Slytherin captain attending the Gryffindor quidditch sessions, but I guess we'll find out in the next chapter.

Good work! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by intothetherTriumph: one

25th February 2013:
First things first: What I like the most about this story is the complete normalcy. I like that you didn't portray James and Sirius as hot hunks with an entire platoon of fan girls behind them like most fan fiction writers are wont to do.

Second things second: Sally. Hell yeah I like her. Also the fact that Ellen Page on the banner looks completely gorgeous haha, but I'll just skip over that. I was surprised when she didn't make seeker, but the twist just made it better.

Third thing third: I can bet all my money this is going to be Sally/Sirius.

Fourth thing last: I can tell but just this one chapter that this story is one I want to see to the end. Added to favorites! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by intothetherHotel Artemis: one

25th February 2013:
"Pull another stunt like that, and you'll be sacked."

Ahahahaha, that last line cracked me up.

Erm yeah, so.. Jo seems like a genuinely nice character, not too snarky or too quiet, just nice. And I quite like Michael and the rest of the 'management'.

You've built up quite a steady set of characters and it's only the first chapter so points to you for a well written chapter.

Also, bonus points for not having to add an authors note. I think everything was quite self explanatory.

10/10 :D

Author's Response: ehehe Mrs Malfoy can be mean, can't she? I'm so glad you like Jo, and the rest of the staff will get more development later on.
Thanks for the review, it means a lot!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login