Reading Reviews From Member: kristyhes
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kristyhesThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One Where I Find Out Why James Was Up All Night

13th May 2014:
Hey there! I just started reading your story and I really like it. Abigail is my favorite character so far. James is funny and you wrote about him in a way that I haven't read before. It's really refreshing. And um about Michelle, maybe she's jealous that Abigail hot a boy's attention, a boy who's THE James Potter.

Well anyways, I'll be waiting for your update :)
Toodles ^_^

Author's Response: Hello!! Thank you for taking the time to read my story, I'm so glad that you're enjoying it, I hope you continue to do so. :D

Yes! Michelle is not a nice best friend, she does redeem herself at some points, but it is all mainly down to jealousy.

Thank you so much for the awesome review! :D I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.


 Report Review

Review #2, by kristyhesMisconceptions: Chapter One

22nd November 2013:
It was a really good first chapter and I'm curious as to how his story will be going on.. I'm looking forward to the next one!! :)

- kristyhes

 Report Review

Review #3, by kristyhesThe Abundance of Potters: Apologies, Fathers and Apocalyptic Beginnings

21st November 2013:
Oh.. I really like your story and I'm looking forward to the next chapter.. And I hope that there'll be more about Kat and her dad.. :) Hmm as for the baby, well I think that it's a girl..

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying the story- only three chapters left now! Oooh, do we? We'll have to wait and see ;)

Thanks for the lovely review; the next chapter will be going up within the next week. Keep reading (and reviewing)!


 Report Review

Review #4, by kristyhesWaiting for the Train: Waiting for the Train

25th October 2013:
Review request from forum :)

Hello there!! Sorry for the late review.. My life was pretty hectic those last two weeks..

So back to the story.. For a first chapter I find it good and the light to read and the flow was really good.. I like the way you described Victoire-like a shy girl and all.. I hope she'll become a bit more confident afterwards..

Now a few things I would change a few things in your opening paragraph like the 'back to school season' bit.. I find it a bi odd.. Then you could change 'retelling' by 'sharing' or another verb if you want.. This will a better flow to the end of paragraph.. I noticed only a few grammar mistakes but nothing really bad..

So overall it was a pretty good opening chapter!! And pls don't take what I pointed out personally because it's only CC..

Well, I hope you'll post another update soon because I really want to see where you're going with this story!

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

 Report Review

Review #5, by kristyhesIn the Arms of a Death-Eater: The Last Stand

24th October 2013:
Wow!! It was kind of sad that they both died but the way you showed their love for each other and that even in death they would always be together, was beautiful..

Great story.. Wonderful ending.. You're an amazing writer.. Nothing more to add.. :)

Toodles,
kristyhes

Author's Response: Thank you so much kristyhes! I'm so glad you really enjoyed the story and found the ending as poetic as I was going for.

 Report Review

Review #6, by kristyhesEpitaph of a Good Man: Enigmatic At Best

24th October 2013:
He.Died.

Why did he die?

That was what I thought when I finished reading your story but then I remembered that you mentioned it in the very first chapter..

It was a good story I really liked it but why in Merlin's name did you pair Tonks and Snape?? I found it more disturbing than her and Moody.. *sends a fake disbelieving look* but fortunately I found that it brought a twist to the story.. ;)

Well Tonks seems to be a real heartthrob with all the guys she was with in your story.. But she always goes back to Remus.. As for the latter, I was ready to strangle him whenever he rejected Tonks..

Overall it was a good story even if I find the ending very sad..:(
Maybe I'll go take a look at the sequel..

Toodles,
kristyhes

Author's Response: He died because I'm cruel. :)

I liked the idea of giving people the ending, making them forget it, then bringing it out again and breaking people's hearts.

why Snape and Tonks? Because... I felt they had a special type of hatred that could turn into passion.

I think Tonks is charismatic and that causes guys to be attracted to her. Well, if you read the sequel, you'll get more insight as to why Remus backs off so often.

I'm really glad you liked this story and hope you like the next one if you get to reading it!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #7, by kristyhesKamikaze: Untitled

24th October 2013:
Review request from forum :)

Hey there!! I'm so sorry for the late review as I was very busy..

So I'm gonna be honest here at first(I mean the first chapter) I was a bit confused with the story because of the different parts especially the part in italic in the beginning.. The story in itself is a bit confusing at first but when I read the other chapters it becomes clearer..

But on a better note, the plot is great and very interesting and unique.. Apart from the fact that it's a bit confusing at first I think that the flow is okay and I didn't see any grammar mistakes in here.. I find it very interesting that you included Cho Chang in your story and add to that the fact that she's in Draco's team! I'm really curious as to what is her role-if she has any-in your plot..

So overall it's a good story and be sure that I'll be waiting for your next update.. :)

Toodles,
kristyhes (gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read the whole story so far, kristyhes! Such a lovely surprise :) I am sorry that you were confused at the beginning. The story really does just jump straight into the action. The interviews at the beginning of the chapters were really to add some depth. Looking back I can completely understand how it got confusing. I'm glad it got a little clearer further on, and answers will continuously be answered throughout the first part of this story.
I'm so happy you liked the plot! I actually haven't had anybody mention Cho yet, but I was very excited to put her in. Her story and why she is with Draco does reveal itself later on, and while a secondary character, her role in the group (and on Draco's morale) is very important.
Anyway, thank you so much for reviewing :) It was lovely to log on and read!
Mahalia


 Report Review

Review #8, by kristyhesThe Brave at Heart: Beginnings

21st October 2013:
Review request from forum :)

Hey there! So this chapter was quite good for a first one.. I think that the canons are realistic and not out of character.. James and Sirius as arrogant as ever but there was no Remus or Peter.. I'll have to read the other chapters to see them.. Also your OCs, I like them Amanda seems to be the typical girly type while Melanie seems to have a completely different character.. As for Charlotte I need to read more about her to understand her personality..

The flow of your story is really good and the transition from first year to sixth year was well written considering the time gap between the two parts..

So overall it was a good chapter. I'll be reading your story till the end because the plot seems to be very interesting so expect other reviews from me! :)

Toodles,
kristyhes (gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you :) Oh, I'm so glad to hear that! I am really happy that you found James and Sirius realistic and not OOC. And I'm glad you liked the OC's too! I know it can be hard to tell what an OC is like after just one chapter - I guess that's just how first chapters are - but so far your analysis of them is pretty on target.

I had been worried about that jump between first and sixth year so it's great to hear that came across well and wasn't confusing/boring/etc.

I'm so thrilled you like it and want to continue reading, that's lovely to hear :) Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I hope you continue to enjoy the story. ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by kristyhesEpitaph of a Good Man: The Unexpected

21st October 2013:
Review request from forum :)

Hey there! So I wanted to read the whole story before reviewing but I needed to review this chapter..

I really like your plot so far and Remus and Tonks's relationship seems okay till now.. I was really surprised when throughout the chapters you hinted at Tonks possible interest for Moody..

And then the Moody/Tonks action.. I found that really disturbing especially the part " during my hours of passion with Moody " lol..but I found it quite funny in the end..

And my favorite part in the whole chapter was " I disapparated home to Elton John. At least he loved me. "

So overall it was a good chapter.. Maybe I'll be reviewing other chapters if ever I have something to add..

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Hi!!!

I'm a bit amazed that you blasted through so much of the story. (Amazed and thrilled)

The Moody/Tonks thing, well, yeah. You know how somethings seem like a really hilarious, awesome idea and then you look back and kind of go 'why oh why did I do that?' that's how I feel about that pairing. I can't really write them out of the story (though I could tone down the nature of their relationship). I'm glad it hit you as funny in the end (rather than terrifying and requiring mind-bleach)

Thank you so much for the awesome review and feedback. Let me know how you like it when you hit the end!


 Report Review

Review #10, by kristyhesRoyal: Crown of Blood and Wisdom

21st October 2013:
Hey there! Just thought to give some feedback on this chappie.. So I think it was good and Marielle seems to be very sweet and quite full of energy.. Hmm George in the next chapter? Well, I'm really looking forward to it! :)

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Hi!

And yes, isn't Marielle just darling? I love her!

As for George, I think you'll be surprised as to what happens. ;)

Thanks so much!

Lo :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by kristyhesRoyal: The Letter

21st October 2013:
Review request from forum :)

Hello there! Sorry for the lateness but I was busy..

So I think that your story is really good and the introduction to the plot also was good.. Carolyn seems to be very mature and I think it's necessary when your in charge of a whole country.. I also like her personality and I think that there will be more to see in the other chapters..

If I got it well Carolyn is a muggle right and her sister who is 11 received her letter from Hogwarts and I'm assuming that her deceased mother was a witch.. I think that the plot is interesting and that the way you wrote this first chapter makes the reader curious about what will happen next..

Now a few things.. I did not quite understand the part at the end " if I didnít get all the information on them that I could to keep her safe." I don't know if you typed it wrong or if it's the way you wanted it, but I think there's something missing in this sentence. Also in the last sentence " with (will) be void "?

So overall it was a good chapter!

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Hi!
And I totally understand! Real life can get hectic! :)

Yay! Good introduction! And as for Carolyn, you'll soon find that her maturity is just an act. One can only be presentable for a certain amount of time before one cracks.

And you did get it right, although their mother was a muggle as well, leaving Marielle a muggleborn. I'll try and make that clearer when I patch this up. But yay! I'm so glad you think it's interesting!

The stuff at the end I will look over with a fine-toothed comb, specifically for those mistakes, so thank you for pointing those out ;)

Thank you so much for your time and this was really helpful!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by kristyhesOnce More We Fight: Chapter One- Prologue

21st October 2013:
Review request from forum :)

So I think that you're a very talented writer.. I could see it from the way you wrote this chapter.. Your description of the scenery and every little thing was so detailed that I could easily picture it in my head..

As for the element of suspense you don't have to worry because it's present throughout the whole chapter.. For a prologue I think that you did great because it makes the reader want to know more about the story..

Well I will surely be waiting to read more about it. So hopefully I'll be reviewing in once more very soon..

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Hi there :)

Woah. thank you so much! That is high praise indeed. I'm really glad that you liked my descriptions. I was certainly trying to paint a vivid picture with all this imagery!

I'm happy that the tone of suspense rang through well enough. I'll be u[dating this in June, and I hope to be fairly regular from then on.

Thanks for the review, and I hope to see you back here as well ;)


 Report Review

Review #13, by kristyhesTime Marches On: ...tick...tock...

17th October 2013:
Review request from forum :)

It's so sad :( but I absolutely love it.. I really like this one-shot because the way you described George's emotions and thoughts was so vivid and strong... I mean I was halfway through it and my eyes were already moist!!

I think that there's nothing more to add because it's truthfully really good!!

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: hey kristyhes!

I'm pleased you liked it and that I was able to stir some emotion up inside of you!

Cannons!


 Report Review

Review #14, by kristyhesPicking Up the Pieces: Surreal

17th October 2013:
Review request from forum :)

Hello there!! So first of all I'm sorry for the lateness I was really busy!!

Well, I find your story very interesting and it's the first time that I read one like yours.. I read the whole thing 1 hour straight and let me tell you that you got me hooked to that story and I'm sure that I'll read it till the end..

I think that your description and story telling is really good and the pace of your story also..I mean you didn't rush into the story and it makes the reader become more familiar with the characters while going through the story..

Also, I really like Ana's character.. She seems so strong, independent and there's also the fact that she wants to prove herself, that makes me really appreciate her personality.. Then there's Draco.. I like the way you presented him personality wise, etc. And well it's Draco and I'm kind of biased in whatever concerns him because I really really like him.. :) (don't worry I'll be objective in other reviews ;) )

Well, I think you did a great job with your story and I hope that you'll update soon because I'm looking forward to it. :)

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: I didn't think you took too long at all!

Oh my goodness! Haha wow that's awesome that you read it all that quickly. It means a lot that you say you're hooked, it's been a big goal of mine to make this story interesting.

My pacing was good? Yeees! I've been worrying about that as well. I was scared that it was too slow at the beginning, and then unexpectedly got very fast. Glad to see you like it.

Yay! You like Ana! I'm so happy! I've been working on he character really hard. This is my first fic ever, so when I started writing I didn't really know what I was doing with her. Then as I got a better feel for her, I re-edited all the chapters to the best of my ability, and I was worrying about her consistency.

I take it that you like Draco..? Haha, I can't quite tell.

Thank you! I plan to update sometime next week, so I'll re-request then :)

Thank you again for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by kristyhesCorbeau: Raven

15th October 2013:
Wow.. It's really sad...
The way you described it, I could almost feel her pain and when I read the lyrics in French (I'm bilingual) it contributed to the emotion of grief and bitterness in this story..

I think that you did great with this one-shot and let me tell you that it's one of the best that I've read so far!! Your writing style is really good so I think I'll take a look at your other stories if you have any.. :)

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad that came through, especially in the lyrics:) I'm flattered that you think it's that good! *blushes* I loved writing this and I thought it was fun to write something about a lesser-written character. If you do take a look at my other stories, I would love any advice you offer:)

Thanks so much!
-LumosWeasley


 Report Review

Review #16, by kristyhesMake or Break: Make or Break?

15th October 2013:
Review from forum request.. :)

Wow.. That's the first thing that came to my mind when I finished reading your one-shot..

I really liked Leah's character. I find her so unique and kind of awkward in a way but I think that it makes her endearing. I also liked at the beginning when she was talking about how people treated her and it's really sad.

I found Hannah's behaviour towards her very odd because I'm not used to this side of her. I always pictured Hannah Abbott as a shy kind girl.

As for Seamus I kind of guessed why he asked her out from the bit where Leah said that his friends clapped his back and all that.. But I was really hoping that I was wrong..

At the end when she lost it, it was so sad and heartbreaking that you got me to cry, really! You wrote it so well that I kind of felt her pain at that point.

And I find your writing style is really good..

So, overall it was a really good one-shot.

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Hi! OMG this is the nicest review :')

I'm so pleased that you liked Leah because I came to really like her after writing this, even though it was just for a one shot.

There are many sides to a person ;)

ooo I'm glad you got the hint, I was wondering if anyone would!

If I actually made you cry I am so happy and so sorry! I'm glad that it made you think and provoked tears, because I think that means I did good! :) (but I do feel bad)

This was seriously the nicest review and I'm glad you enjoyed it, hope to see you around!

Cannons


 Report Review

Review #17, by kristyhesA Halloween Visit: A Halloween Visit

15th October 2013:
Aww! You really got me there it was really cute and quite sad..

I think you did great and for a first attempt at writing Harry it was quite good and you did not go out of character. It was full of emotions and I think that the flow and the content was good. And I agree with the fact that he would have gone to tell them about him marrying Ginny. It's just so Harry.

Overall it was a really good one-shot!!

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am glad you found it both cute and sad as that was my aim.

It's such a relief to hear that you think I wrote Harry good and he didn't seem out of character. I am also glad that the emotions came across even though this was so short. It's nice to know that you agree with the plot too =)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #18, by kristyhesNot Normal: {Chapter the Third}

14th October 2013:
Hey!! So I liked this chapter as well. I think that you're good at making characters become alive and it's great that you are able to define each one's personality this easily.

I'm really looking forward to Regulus being present in the next chapter.

p.s: I completed your review request but I'll definitely be following your story till the end. ;)

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think so! The characters are really important to me, as they either make or break the story. You can have a pretty terrible plot, but it's saving grace can often be awesome character design!

I AM ALSO LOOKING FORWARD TO REGULUS IN THE NEXT CHAPTER!

And that is so sweet of you! Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by kristyhesNot Normal: {Chapter the Second}

14th October 2013:
Hey it's me again!! Well another good chapter I must say. So there's nothing really more to add than your writing style is as good as ever.

Oh well actually I have something to say. Your idea of introducing Regulus Black in this story is the best one you could come up with. I think that he's the least used character in stories where he could have an important role in it. Which I think is what you're going to do. So I'm curious as to how he will fit in your story. And I personally like his 'nothing-gets-me-so-I'll-just-keep-smiling attitude. :)

So onto next chapter,

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan) (~.^)

Author's Response: I'm glad that I'm being consistent. The chapters are written quite far apart, and they've gone through at least one rewrite each, so consistency can become an issue.

I completely agree! There is so much you can do with Regulus' character, and because he is dead here, I can explore a different side of him than what is usually explored. I am looking forward to it!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by kristyhesNot Normal: {Chapter the First}

14th October 2013:
Hey there!! So I read your first chapter and I like it. The description is really good and the introduction with the great-gran was a good idea. Ellie's character is very interesting because you can really exploit it in many ways. Also, I think your writing style is good because from the start of the chapter to its end it was really fluid even if there are time gaps in between.

Overall I find it quite good for a first chapter. Now I'm gonna read the next one.

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan) ;)

Author's Response: :D I'm glad that you enjoyed the first chapter. I have a rule that I don't judge a story by its first chapter, but it definitely helps if it leaves a good impression!

I hope to exploit Ellie's character. I know what you mean by that. There are a lot issues there to mine...

Thanks so much for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by kristyhesIn Sickness And In Health: Information

14th October 2013:
Hello there!! So I really liked Pansy and Blaise's visit. It cleared up many of my questions. I was not expecting Draco to not tell them about his living conditions and with whom he's living.

I knew that Draco would find a way to get information from Pansy and Blaise. It's really sad how Draco seemed to be so insignificant to the Dark Lord and I'm a bit surprised also because of the task he was given in HBP.

The reaction of those two to Hermione being here was kind of expected. And it really harsh with all the name calling which means that the war is still going on I think..

So here it is I read and reviewed your story and I think that I'll read it till the end so this is not the last time you'll see a review from me!

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan) ;)

Author's Response: Hello again!

I am glad that Pansy and Blaise's visit cleared a lot up, it was one of the chapters that was supposed to do so. I thought that the idea of them knowing may be a bad idea, as they and Hermione do not get along very well :P

Ahh, there are more questions answered in the next chapter in regards to Draco and the Dark Lord, so i hope your theories are answered there :)

I thought the harshness was needed, as it was a huge surprise and the harshness was needed. The war may be going on.. more will be divulged son :P

Aww, thank you so very much for reviewing, I really appreciate all of these :D

Grace :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by kristyhesIn Sickness And In Health: Healing in Hell?

13th October 2013:
Hey! It's me again! Just to let you now I'll review chapters where I have something to say, not all the chapters.

Back to the story.. This was good and I wonder where you got the idea for this disease. It's really good when you come up with something new and not overused and that's just what you did.

So, I kind of misunderstood the plot a bit because I thought that they would still be suffering from the disease but it happens that they are already cured from it. Which I think is good by the way. I noticed that Draco called Hermione by her first name when he was talking to Dr.Harold. Is there a specific meaning to that or...not?

I'm gonna read the other chapters now...

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan) :)

Author's Response: Helooo again! Thank you for reviewing once more, I appreciate these alot! :D

I kind of just made it up really! I took the idea from cancer, and the idea of muscles degenerating in a way that cancer eats at organs and such. Don't really know where the idea came from to be honest!

no the curse has been healed but the symptoms and healing process is still going on, and it can possibly come back, as they do not know the full cure, because they have never come across it.. o plot twiist :P

Yay for reading more chapters, so glad you like it so far (I hope!)

Grace :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by kristyhesIn Sickness And In Health: The Battle

13th October 2013:
Hey! So I've already started reading your story! Well, let me tell you that your description of the battle was very good and just was what needed. It was neither too detailed nor boring. And it is a very good start for your story because it makes the reader want to know what will happen next.

I personally think that your description of Draco and Hermione was good even if I think she a bit harsh on him-but seeing their current 'relationship' it's not surprising. I also liked Draco's dark humour.

Overall I think that it was a good intro to your story. So, expect some more reviews from me. :)

Toodles,
kristyhes(gryffiefan) (~.^)

Author's Response: Hi NaNo mumm!
So so sorry it has taken me so long to respond, i've been ultra busy :)

I am happy that you like my description, I have a lot of trouble with description, so i really happy it works!

I mayy have bee a bit harsh, I have changed the chapter a bit since you read it, so hopefully that has helped somewhat with Hermione's harshness.
Hehe i think Draco would have that kind of awesome dark humor. I can just see it on him :P

So happy you enjoyed this first chapter! I am looking forward to your reviews :D
Thank you so so so much for this, i really appreciate it :D

Grace



 Report Review

Review #24, by kristyhesA Thousand Years: Al and Ana

13th October 2013:
It's really lovely and sweet.. I like the story and everything in it and Ana's character is great!! :)

10/10

Toodles, kristyhes (~.^)

Author's Response: Thanks!

-Janelle


 Report Review

Review #25, by kristyhesFinders Keepers: No More Mr Nice Guy

10th October 2013:
Hey there!! I really liked your story so far.. The summary instantly got me hooked up and I really like your characters also-even though Fred and James seems like jerks right now.. I absolutely love Sophie's character and her awkwardness is very endearing..

So now I'm waiting for your next update and I hope it will be soon.

Toodles,
~ kristyhes (~.^)

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you so much! This is great because I was really having second thoughts about my summary being an extensive quote!
Yeah, James and Fred will slowly reveal their good, moral sides, but hopefully we can have fun with their jerky-ness for now. Hehe.

Thanks for reviewing!
Sayonara :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>