Reading Reviews From Member: oldnumberseven
  
142 Reviews Found

Review #1, by oldnumberseven Off The Record: Mood Swings

26th June 2014:
Omg how did I not see this was updated?? I'm so sorry!

As always, I love the way Eden is progressing as a character. The opening entry is great in that respect - and I really laughed out loud at the second part of it ;) Her relationship with Gil is also very entertaining and it's funny to see her play the matchmaker while sort of having things work out with Alaric. But I'm still patiently waiting for Sirius to return. I'm really curious to see how you write them together!

:)

 Report Review

Review #2, by oldnumberseven The Perks of Being a Sociopath: The Match

23rd June 2014:
Haven't been on HPFF in awhile, but I looked at my favorite stories list today and OMG YOU UPDATED! SO EXCITED, CAN'T CONTAIN MYSELF!!

:D

First of all, I love the different ways each character deals with all of their stress - the first paragraph is awesome! And specifically, I love the way Olivia deals with her issues by doing little things like listing prime numbers in her head. It makes me love her even more, even though she really isn't doing that much plot wise.

But when she DOES do something plot wise ... oh man, the feels. Btw, could you make Remus any cuter? I swear, I was fangirling so hard during their lesson. The way he talks to her about emotions ... well it struck a chord with me, in a good way :) And I guess the ending with Evan was cute, but I'm such a Remus/Olivia shipper that nothing will be better than the moment they finally get together ;) Which, by the way, better happen soon because the image of heartbroken Remus is killing me right now.

Thanks for the update girl, hope all is well!

 Report Review

Review #3, by oldnumberseven Off The Record: How to Be a Matchmaker

13th May 2014:
Ahhh, how have I not had the time to read this new chapter? Anyways, it was brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

I love the way you give minor characters depth - for instance, the scene with the Hufflepuff Quidditch practice was hilarious. I love that you pointed out how Hufflepuffs don't respond well to threats, as well as the silly rhyming bit. I actually snorted out loud when I read that part, which wasn't a good choice, given that I was in the middle of taking a sip of Diet Coke :P

I'm interested to see what happens with Gil's love life ... but more interested to see what happens to Eden. I like that you're not focusing directly on her relationship with Sirius, but it pop up every once and awhile and makes a lovely appearance. So things seem like they are progressing naturally rather than all of a sudden.

:)

Author's Response: Oops, sorry about your Diet Coke! Heh, it's not a Quidditch chant without a cheeky rhyme, I think. I'm really excited to focus more on the Hufflepuffs, as I reckon they're secretly pretty cool, despite the wimpy stereotype. Thank you so very much for another lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Fifteen: A Sudden Brightness

9th May 2014:
So, I'm torn.

On the one hand, I love the moment with Sirius during the wedding. You've teased us with glimpses of Aislin and Sirius' past, but we've only seen snippets of their current predicament. And they seem so natural together - the part with Moody was beyond hilarious because they seemed to play off each other without much effort.

But you know me, I love her connection with Remus because it's not effortless, it's difficult and confusing. So this whole thing about the "second chance" is a little disheartening, but only because I'm selfish and want them to get together ;)

Otherwise, fantastic chapter. You're amazing and I can't wait for the next chapter whenever you're done with it!

Author's Response: Haha sorry about that whole thing. But I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter! I'm in the middle of writing a bunch of term papers, so things are a bit crazy, but I'll try to get the next one in the queue sometime this weekend. As always, thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by oldnumberseven Off The Record: Classes Begin

7th May 2014:
Ee, I'm really starting to love this fic and it's only the 3rd chapter!

Your writing and flow is amazing, it really is. I feel like all of the events are believable and connected - that is to say, nothing drastic has happened that would be out of the ordinary. I guess I say that because a lot of fics have the love interest bump into a Marauder and then have their whole life change. While it seems Eden's getting some flack for it, she's not head over heels. Well, not yet anyways :P

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for your compliments! What you said is very much on par with what I believe with fics too. It's so easy to have a main character who becomes defined by their love interest. And I'm not going to lie -- this is going to be very Sirius-heavy at times, but I'm going to try to keep Eden as true to her nature as much as possible too.

Thanks again for taking the time to read and review! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. And sorry if I tend to waffle a bit. Next chapter's in the queue. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by oldnumberseven Off The Record: Meetings and Marauders

7th May 2014:
Told you I'd be back :P

Another fantastic chapter. It's really refreshing to read things in Eden's POV because unlike most fics, she doesn't spend her days thinking about the Marauders (hence why she doesn't know Peter's name - that bit had me snorting out loud!). They're just some troublemakers who are a year older than her. It also makes for interesting canon moments, if you know what I mean. It's fun to read Lily and James flirting from a different person's perspective!

Author's Response: Ah, fancy seeing you here. ;) Writing from Eden's POV has its advantages and disadvantages. The former being that I discover everything as she does, and the latter being that she can be pretty biased. But yes, I am trying to stress that distance from canon, mostly because I'd like to develop all the characterisations separately before they start being defined by their romantic relationships (with an exception to James and Lily of course -- they are too far gone by this point haha).

Glad you stuck with me. This was probably my favourite chapter so far. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by oldnumberseven Off The Record: September 1st, 1977

7th May 2014:
So I decided to take a mini break from work and read some fanfiction ... and boy, I was not disappointed. I'm usually not a fan of diary entries, but I really like Eden's POV in the book and in real life as well. She's fresh and original and I love the little details you add to give her background some life - her french heritage, her socialite mother, her witty best friend and her easy going brother. The bit with James and Lily was great as well!

Well, I only have time to read the first chapter of this fic, but don't worry, I'll be back XD

Author's Response: My word, you are making me smile so big right now. Reviewing every chapter? You are a gem. And now I am going to reply to every review. ^_^

I agree with you about the diary-entry style. It's not something I usually consider with writing as it is overused and often pointless, but this was an exception because it actually tied in with Eden's character. We'll see how it goes, ha. I'm really enjoying writing Lily and the Marauders from an outsider's perspective, so it's great to know someone else appreciates it too!

Thank you thank you thank you for checking this out!


 Report Review

Review #8, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Fourteen: The Hierophant

6th May 2014:
Omg omg omg, the suspense! Fantastic! :D

First off, I love the scene where Remus comes home. The little details were perfect - Remus not knowing where to put his hands and blushing, Aislin realizing that she missed having him around and doesn't want him to move out. You know me, I ship them hardcore, so that was nice to read ;) Can't wait for the wedding!

As for North ... more suspense! I can't wait to see where you take this plot. Seriously, I'm so excited XD

Author's Response: So I just spilled a protein shake all over my computer and planner and textbook and things were looking grim, and then I saw this nice lovely review which made it all better :D. I'm really having fun with the development of A/R's relationship, and of course the mystery. Next chapter is in the queue!

 Report Review

Review #9, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Thirteen: The Lovers

4th May 2014:
I am so sorry I haven't reviewed until now - I read this chapter as soon as it came out but I've been so busy ... anyways, here's my usual batch of ramblings XD

I love the murders, they are getting to fascinating to read about. And not in a morbid way, but in a story telling way. Like, I'm excited to see what happens next and every time I read something, I think how it could be useful to the overall plot. It's great!

So you warned me that there wouldn't be a lot of Remus in this chapter, but I have to say, I wasn't disappointed. It's interesting to see her relationship with Sirius evolve ... because they used to have a thing, but now they aren't sure what they are exactly. And Barnabus is there as always and it's nice to see Aislin acknowledge the fact that she knows he's no good for her.

Can't wait for the next chapter!!

Carly

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! :) I'm glad the murders are compelling, hopefully the next one will be even more gripping! Also glad you didn't mind Remus not being around, although he will (spoiler alert) be coming home soon! Next chapter just got validated, enjoy! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Twelve: Making Connections

22nd April 2014:
Make way for Aislin's #1 fan! :D

Another great chapter. I'm still fangirling the hardest when Aislin and Remus are trying their best to be a crime fighting (or in this case, serial killer stopping) duo. It's so funny because Remus is calm, cool, and collected and Aislin is all over the place. It makes for some good comedy, even if you don't intend it to be.

But the mystery unfolds! I was wondering what North's evil plan might be, so I'm excited to see if he performs any magic. And hello Sirius, nice to see you again! But you know me, I'm still pulling for Remus to end up with Aislin ;)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I had so much fun with the interview scene, I really like playing their Aislin and Remus' personalities off of each other. Remus will be off on his mission for most of the next chapter, unfortunately, but there should be lots of excitement to make up for that.

Thanks for reviewing! Your comments always make my day!


 Report Review

Review #11, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Eleven: The Chariot

15th April 2014:
Hello again XD

Hmm, so where do I begin? I suppose I'll start with the scene in Barnabus' house - it's intriguing to see Aislin realize that she should have chucked her friend with benefits ages ago, but even more exciting (or at least to me) that she's thinking about Remus while she's in another man's bed. And not sexual thoughts persay, but when he would do/how he would react. And SPEAKING of Remus, what does Moody want him to do? Something dangerous and werewolf related?

I also have to say that the ending scene with Sirius was really cute. Even though you haven't mentioned too much about their relationship, I can still see them running around Hogwarts, playfully fighting and bickering. But I'm still rooting for a Remus romance XD

Great chapter!

Author's Response: I wanted this chapter to be a little more reflective / focus more on Aislin's personal life, as the last few have pretty much revolved around the case. Glad you liked the chapter, keep rooting for Remus! And as always thanks for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Ten: Into the Darkness

6th April 2014:
Ahhh, more awesomeness!

I love love love the part where Aislin and Remus go into North's home (and I freaking died when she said she would get him a house plant to try and be nice - laughed as well when Moody reminded them they can use magic and North can't). As I've said before, you lay out the whole serial killer mystery so well and the scene where they go into the basement is just the icing on the cake. I was honestly expecting something more gruesome (like actual human bodies), but I'm sure things are going to develop/become more scary as the chapters go on :D

The last dinner scene was interesting too - I'm excited to see what happens at Lily and James' wedding! I can just picture Aislin seeing Sirius and then getting really drunk to get over things, and ... well, you're the author, I'll stop here. Can't wait to see what you come up with!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you liked the chapter! James and Lily's wedding isn't for a few more chapters, but I'm so excited to write it!! xD Next chapter is in the works, should be up sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #13, by oldnumberseven The Perks of Being a Sociopath: Solving Puzzles

28th March 2014:
Omg please please let no one review before me ... because then I would be review #69 and that would make my day. Oh and btw, since you posted that xx track today, I listened to them while I read this chapter and it was phenomenal! Haha :D

Arg, your Remus is so damn sexy. Seriously, he's amazing and that scene with him leaning against the wall before class was amazing - "Hey", "Hey yourself", omg such an awesome moment. And you just HAD to make him read Kundera, didn't you? Gah, he's so perfect and silently emotional and just Remus-y :P And Sirius - explosive in this chapter, but it fits. I love how you write the Marauders in line with canon, but also in your own personal way. It's great.

Olivia's relationship with Evan is also pretty intriguing and I'm waiting for him to realize what Olivia's real feelings towards him are. But for now, I'll just fangirl super hard when they have tense, sexual moments in the mud XD

Can't wait for the next chapter, whenever it comes out!

 Report Review

Review #14, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Nine: Justice

28th March 2014:
Ha! Oh Aislin, you're always sneaking around and doing things you're not supposed to!

I love the press conference in the beginning, it was great. And it's funny to see Barnabus pop up every once and awhile. Their relationship is intriguing because they sleep together and are fine being apart, but then they help each other out. But then Sirius comes in! As I've stated before, I'm a Remus fangirl in this story, but I don't mind Sirius being the romantic love interest. I love how he was in the middle of apologizing when Aislin has a breakthrough with the case. Which is starting to get really thrilling by the way!

Yay, all caught up! But can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review! :) I have half the next chapter done but I have classes starting tomorrow so it might take until this weekend to finish.

 Report Review

Review #15, by oldnumberseven We'll Never Have Paris: We'll Never Have Paris

28th March 2014:
Wow. That's all I can say right now.

First of all, your description of Paris is beautiful. You capture the "City of Love", but in such a unique way. I have to admit, I didn't see that this story had slash when I first started reading it, but I kept reading just for your writing about Paris. Made me miss it.

So like I said, I didn't read the slash warning, but was pleasantly surprised when I started reading about Percy. It just seemed so natural! And when I read the quote at the end, this one shot just made so much more sense. It's beautiful and tragic and just ... beautiful!

Great work :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed it despite the slash. Admittedly, slash isn't something I usually write, but I make an attempt every once in a while just to shake things up a bit.

And might I add I'm super jealous you've visited Paris! I've never been, but it's on my ever-growing bucket list. I really hope it's every bit as beautiful as people tell me. :)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Eight: The Hermit

27th March 2014:
Oooo, this story is getting so so good! I can tell you've done your research on serial killers - or, well, at least you've planned out this person's kills very dramatically! This fic reminds me of Seven or Angels and Demons in that respect.

Btw, your drunk Remus is hilarious. I know he's a little more reserved during the HP books, but according to Pottermore, he did run away and drink himself silly when Tonks was preggo ... so it would make sense that he would get drunk in his youth. But of course, he's Remus, so it's always a bit funny to see him hungover :D

Aislin's relationship with Barnabus is also starting to get a bit interesting. It's a love/hate relationship, but it's not really a relationship at all ... ugh, I'm rambling. Just I know that I love it!

:D

Author's Response: Haha, I tried not to get too carried away with drunk Remus, but I liked playing around with the idea that his good habits are rubbing off on Aislin / her bad ones are rubbing off on Remus. Thanks for yet another lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Seven: The Wheel of Fortune

27th March 2014:
OMG, I love Aislin and Remus living together. I can totally picture the whole thing in my head and it's hilarious. The scene with James was also pretty funny and I'm curious to know more about their relationship at Hogwarts. It sounds like the Marauders pranked her a bit, but she also dated Sirius ... I'm sure I'll figure it all out soon.

And speaking of Sirius - hello dear, nice to see you in the story! Love the sexual tension, but I'm secretly pulling for Aislin to end up with Remus ;)

Ok, so I know this sounds a bit odd, but I also really like that Aislin had a drinking problem. It makes for some funny, witty humor, but it's also pretty sad and depressing ... so it's interesting to read the flip flop between the two.

Great work as always! :D

Author's Response: I honestly love writing Remus, and I thought their personalities would play off each other well. I want Aislin's bad habits to be realistic and I'm trying not to gloss over / make light of them too much, but I think at this stage her character doesn't really take any of it seriously, so hopefully it comes across okay. Thanks so much for stopping by again, your reviews really mean a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #18, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Six: A Darkness Within

27th March 2014:
Back! XD

Omg, Aislin is so freaking funny - "Just don't go leaving fur all over the carpets", "This is what I get for trusting the French", "Boring" - but I loved this chapter because you get to see another side of her when she figures out Remus is a werewolf. She has such a realistic and natural response (because really, if werewolves were so ostracized, most people would be a little freaked out if someone told them they were one), but then she gets over it and cracks a funny joke. Love it! Your physical descriptions of her reaction were splendid as well.

This chapter also brought out my inner Remus fangirl. Is this story going to eventually turn into a Remus/Oc romance? Omg, that would be so funny to read. But if not, no biggie, I just like their dynamic together :D

Oh - and! - the murder is getting more interesting. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Glad you're appreciating the humor, I always feel a little awkward writing jokes into a murder story! I don't want to give anything away about the plot, but Aislin and Remus are definitely going to be seeing more of each other. Thanks for reading/reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Five: Strength

26th March 2014:
Ok, so I only have time to read and review one chapter tonight because work and my own story have exhausted me, but I told you I'd be back with more love :D

These murders are starting to get interesting, as is the appearance of dear Remus! I love him, so it's cool to see your take on him, since he's out of school and all. The flat idea is interesting - I can just see him shaking his head every time Aislin does something silly XD And Sirius! I'm excited to finally meet him (so to speak, haha), because he seems pretty interesting already!

Author's Response: Yay, thanks for stopping by again! Remus is going to be in the story lots, and Sirius will make an appearance too once in a while although he's not going to be as central to the plot. Thanks again for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Four: Truth Shall Out

24th March 2014:
Ok, this is my last review of the night, but there will be more, I promise. This story deserves more love :D

God, Aislin is so REAL. I love it! I have friends like her, but I've never seen someone like Aislin in the HP world before! She's funny and sarcastic, but she also has a lot of faults, some of which she's willing to admit, some she won't. But even though she has all of these high walls around her heart, she still freaks out when she sees Regulus ... and in order to get over all of that, she drinks and has meaningless sex. Brilliant stuff, truly.

Like I said, I'll be back. I really enjoy reading this story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your insightful reviews, they've made my day and given me a lot to think about as I continue writing the story! :) :')

 Report Review

Review #21, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Three: The Hanged Man

24th March 2014:
Ooo, more plot and intrigue! I love the tarot card murder theory!

So I just noticed that you have another story with an OC named Aislin during her Hogwarts year, so I assume it's connected to this one? The other one is abandoned tho, so I'm just going to continue with this one. It's too much fun of a read for me to stop ... well I've got to head off to bed soon to rest up before work tomorrow, but I'm going to read a bit more :D

Author's Response: The other Aislin story is from a couple of years ago, and it's pretty immature/cliche, but it was the inspiration for certain elements of this story. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: Two: Bad Press

24th March 2014:
I absolutely love Aislin. She's spunky, sexual, independent, smart, crazy, and at the same time has a little part of her that feels regret. Her POV is hilarious as well - I actually laughed out loud when reading this chapter!

I had a feeling she was a Ravenclaw long before you mentioned it, because I was getting the Sherlock Holmes vibe from her, but the more I read about Aislin, the more unique I find her. She likes solving puzzles, but she also likes having meaningless sex - not a combination you see a lot in fanfiction! So props for making someone so different :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! In a way this story is experimental because I wanted to play around with Aislin as a character. I'm so glad you like her POV!

 Report Review

Review #23, by oldnumberseven Shadowplay: One: Prelude

24th March 2014:
This. Is. Brilliant. I. Am. Hooked.

I'd leave a sophisticated and lengthy review, but I'm ready to race to the next chapter. I'm in love with Aislin and her POV!

Author's Response: :D Thanks so much, glad you like the story!

 Report Review

Review #24, by oldnumberseven The Brave at Heart: The End of the Beginning

24th March 2014:
Omg, that's it?? I mean, of course the story ends here because they took their NEWTs and had the End of the Year Feast, but omg it's over??

Wow, what a story. As I've said over and over again, you have such a fresh perspective and thrilling OC, so bravo to you. 37 chapters is quite the commitment, but I'm so happy you had the time to write all of them out till the end - that's not an easy thing to do!

I'm more than excited for the epilogue, because this chapter has laid the groundwork for some interesting scenarios, but are you going to have a sequel or sorts? Or will the epilogue fill in the gaps?

Thank you so much for your story, it was a pleasure to read :D

Author's Response: Yeah... it seemed like an appropriate place to end it. I debated for a while about continuing a bit further, but it wouldn't really have been the same story, I think. I won't say any more here though, it will all be told in the epilogue... sort of.

That is seriously the most wonderful thing to hear, that the perspective and characters are entertaining and original, just, gahh ♥♥ THANK YOU ♥

I know, I don't think I had realised before posting this on HPFF just how long it was, the word count really surprised me! haha. And yes, it was quite a commitment - 6 years of writing :O Thanks for your commitment too in reading all of it! *hugs*

Mmm, as yet I have no plans for a sequel (although some of the characters will appear in another fic, just in minor roles). But who knows. Someday maybe, if I'm inspired...

Thank YOU so much for reading and for your wonderful reviews! :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by oldnumberseven The Brave at Heart: Stepping on a Serpent

8th March 2014:
Hello again :D

I want to start off by saying that you have a great attention to detail. All of the pranks mentioned in this fic are so original and funny, as are scenes like the Muggle April Fools joke and riding bikes with Balancing Charms. I love stories that have little connections to the Wizarding World/the 1970s, so bravo for making your story so realistic!

On that note, I love that all the characters are starting to think about their lives after school and what the war will do to them. It's interesting to see that Charlotte's death was a wake up call, not just for Melanie and Mandy, but for the other Slytherins as well. In all of JK's books, we see the Gryffindor perspective, but I haven't read a lot of fics that show the Slytherin side of things, especially during the First War. As I mentioned before, that's the number one thing I love about this fic - I'm a Hufflepuff myself but I love getting to know other houses by reading phenomenal fics like yours :D

Btw, I was fangirling so hard when Melanie were fighting/snogging. Gah, I love them.

Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Eee! So great to see another review from you! Thanks, I'm glad you like the amount of detail. Sometimes I wondered if I added too much so the plot didn't move forward, haha - I love adding details like that to set the scene and the time period so it feels real, ya know? So yay thank you, I'm glad it feels realistic and original :)

I wrote this section of the story when I was beginning to wonder what on earth I was doing with ny own life, so it showed up here :p But yeah, I think for these students who are leaving school and heading into a world at war, things get a lot more intense and they have to think seriously about the future.

Thanks, I'm really happy that you like the Slytherin perspective and getting to know the house - though I'm a Hufflepuff too! :p

Hehe, I enjoyed writing that scene :D

Thanks so much for another fab review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>