Reading Reviews From Member: HeyMrsPotter
  
397 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HeyMrsPotterthe earth and the sky: the earth and the sky

8th February 2015:
Hi, Adi! Here with your requested review/cheer up!

As you said in your request, I have read a lot of Draco. I really love your portrayal of him. I think it's often not considered how the war would have affected him, but it really smacks you in the face right from the start of your story. I liked his almost hatred of himself, feeling as though he didn't deserve to have survived the war, and I loved Astoria's total lack of pity for him. She had a real 'suck it up and get on with it' attitude that he definitely needed. Him turning to drink for comfort seems such a normal thing to do. I really enjoyed seeing how he changes throughout the story with Astoria in his life, and the snapshots of the proposal and the wedding were beautiful. The addition of parts from Astoria's point of view didn't disrupt the flow at all, I really liked the voice you gave her.

It's amazing how you managed to write their whole life together so seamlessly. (Also, I LOLed at the sneaky little mention of ScoRose and the red or blonde haired grandchildren :p) Him being in the accident was a total shock, but it worked so well in the story. It was something that was so beyond any of their control, but had as big of an impact on their lives as any of the other events you wrote about.

I thought you did real justice to all of the sensitive issues you tackled in this story. Brief as it was, the miscarriage was heart-breaking, and I liked that they didn't just immediately move on from that. Draco's loss of hearing was another unexpected event, but again the after effects of the accident just made it seem all the more realistic. And then Astoria's death! Her illness was so sad, Draco's desperation to keep fighting and keep trying something new reminded me of Astoria's after Draco's accident. The section between Astoria's death and Draco's was probably the saddest for me. I can't understand how when one person in a marriage dies after a whole life together, the other person goes on, and Draco barely did. You portrayed his grief and loneliness so so well. I adored the ending, after such a sad story for the most part, it was nice to end on a lighter note. The idea of them reuniting and her having waited for him for so long was just adorable.

I am beyond amazed at how brilliant this story is, Adi. I'm sorry to hear you've been having a tough time, I hope writing this helped. I loved reading it!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotterLove Conquers All: a Goodbye and a Suprise

8th February 2015:
Hello, leahandro, I'm here with your requested review. I guess since you've read my stories you know I'm a huge Dramione fan :p

I think you've got an interesting first chapter to your story here. I like all of the little descriptive details you've included, like Ron's hair sticking up because he'd been in a hurry, and the owl hooting angrily when Hermione screamed. I think you've got Hermione and Ron's personalities on point, particularly in the speech, and Hermione being so early.

I've seen a few posts from you on the forums about trying to get more reviews. I think a couple of things that would help would be looking up The Dark Arts forum and requesting a banner for your story, I know they say never judge a book by its cover but people are definitely drawn more to stories with banners. Another thing I'd suggest is getting yourself a Beta reader on the HPFF forums. There are a fair few grammatical errors in your writing, mostly with your punctuation. Having a beta reader look over your chapters before your posting can really help, sometimes a reader will be put off a story if there are grammatical errors and therfore less likely to review. Draco/Hermione Head Boy/Head Girl stories have always been popular in fanfiction (I wrote one in my early fanfic writing days) so make sure you have your story planned out and something to set it aside from the others.

I hope this review doesn't sound too critical, I think you have some really great aspects to your writing and with a little polishing your story could be popular :)

Dee :)

Author's Response: Heyy! Omg I dont realy know how u should reply to these reviews but thank u so much! i love ur stories so its amazing to get ar eview from you 2!

Ron is annoying lol but i like writing Hermione. i kind of want to just get to her and Draco being together but i no i cant just do that lol.

i see storys like urs with lots of reviews and i was just wondering how to get them? i no my story isnt as good as ur writing but i want to know what people think anyway. i didnt know there are grammar errors?? :( i was just so exited to post the story i hope it isnt too bad. i dont know how to get those banners tho.

thank u for ur review Dee your awesome!


 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotterBlood Red Petals: Chapter One

8th February 2015:
AVI! ♥

Here with your requested review. I'm sad I wasn't the first to review this but happy to finally have read it! As you know, I absolutely ADORED The Wild Rose, and loved this just as much.

The description throughout this is absolutely breathtaking. When he killed that poor girl in the pub it totally spooked me! Chills, Avi, you gave me chills!!

I liked that you changed the style for this one and it flowed beautifully between the three parts. As much as he's totally creepy, I enjoyed spending more time in Scorpius' head. His arrogance is really obvious an dstriking throughout, the small fact that Rose once rejected him had such an impact on his ego that he became a serial killer to all red-headed girls! You could only get away with giving that story to a Malfoy.

I thought the use of the colour red throughout was really effective, from the title, to the hair, and the roses. It linked really well to The Wild Rose.

So basically, this was perfect!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hi Dee!

That's totally fine, you're here and that's what counts! :D

I am SO HAPPY that you liked this! It means the world to me, especially since I know how much you enjoyed my creepy The Wild Rose :b

Yes, I wrote it differently then TWR, as I really couldn't see it be written the same way. I'm glad you thought it flowed beautifully. I will add more to the ending though, I just re-read it and I think it needs a little bit more.
I imagine that there must have been something wrong with him in the first place, like with his obsession of her and because she rejected him it just escalated from there on. Haha, you're right. The plot certainly does fits well with a Malfoy character :p

The title bothered me for such a long time, and I had to read it all over again, hoping I'd get some ideas out of it. Blood Red petals, that seemed like a nice fit to this creepy story of mine. I'm glad you liked the details! :)

Thank you so much for your review, Dee! *hugs*
You're the best!

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #4, by HeyMrsPotterkisses-blood-valentine: Ballad of Evvie and Bernie

25th January 2015:
Hi, Rose!

I'm pleased to be visiting your author page again. I'll definitely have to stop by here more often :D

When I first started reading this, I had to read the first few paragraphs a couple of times, I was SO confused. Now I've read the whole thing I get that she was in Azkaban at the start and Benjy was trying to see her. I really like that the story came full circle in that sense, and the use of Azkaban in the end was nothing short of genius. That line, "The innocent never do." really packs a punch! I can't get over how perfect and heartbreaking it was!

I really enjoyed reading about the two different relationships in your story. The similarities in the earlier part where Bernie is keeping secrets from both Benjy and Evvie, and both are weighing on her mind heavily. I like that even though they are twins, Bernie and Benjy don't have that perfect super-close twin relationship, and I think their parents passing away is a really good catalyst for the change in it later in their lives. It's so sad that she didn't get to share her secrets with either of them.

I really liked Evvie's character too, even though she only features briefly, you've managed to tell us so much about her. I particularly liked her mini-rant about valentine's day being commercial and misogynistic.

Am I right in thinking the imperius curse was cast on Bernie so that she ultimately killed Evvie? Or have I got that all wrong? Either way, that scene in the bedroom- just wow. There is so much AMAZING imagery throughout the whole story but that section in particular was jaw dropping. Consider me coloured green with envy!

I can honestly say hand on heart I've never read anything like this before on here, and I absolutely loved it. It was so dark and sad and just brilliant.

Sorry for the really incoherent review, I'm just too impressed to form proper sentences!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by HeyMrsPotter(Who) Needs Horcruxes?: Legend

13th January 2015:
KAREN, YOU TRULY BEAUTIFUL HUMAN BEING! ♥

All my life (well, since I discovered fanficion) I've wanted to read a good (because I've read some not so good ones) Potter/Who crossover fic, and then here you come like a beautiful angel delivering this gift from heaven. *peaceful sigh*

Your Doctor is just so PERFECT. (Totally picturing Eleven in my head because boo, Twelve). Like, this line here:
"What…"

"THAT…is a very good question!" He cut her off before she could finish asking.

I CAN SO IMAGINE THIS SCENE IN MY HEAD. (Sorrynotsorry for the caps)

I loveloveloveloveLOVE the idea of them being pulled inside a story, and of course, I love that it's my favourite story of all time :p And the way that he explains it to Clara is beyond brilliant. I can hear every line of dialogue in Matt Smith's voice.

I'm so curious as to who they'll encounter first in the Wizarding world (though I seriously hope if Clara comes across Voldy she gives him some sass about his nose, or lack thereof :P)

This was just an absolutely amazingly brilliant and wonderful first chapter to what I have no doubt will be one of the best fics I have ever read.

Best. Secret. Santa. Ever.

 Report Review

Review #6, by HeyMrsPotterDull Ache: Oblivion

12th January 2015:
Rose ♥

This isn't going to be a particularly long review, I could comment on your beautiful writing style and excellent touches of magic throughout this, which I loved, but I know you probably didn't write the story with those in mind.

Knowing what you went through and having seen a few things from you on twitter about your boy, I felt terribly for you then, and then reading this made me shed more than a few tears for you and your husband. I hope writing this story gave you a little bit of release even if it was temporarily.

This was really beautiful. ♥

Author's Response: Dee!!

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review and being so supportive. Writing this helped a bit - it was a snapshot of how I felt at that time. I'm glad to have experienced a bit more healing since then.

xoxo
-rose


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotterChicks Before Broomsticks: Fake Date

31st December 2014:
Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear! This can NOT end well! What is poor Hollie getting herself into?

I have so many emotions about this chapter. I loved seeing a peek into Charlotte's life, especially as things seem to be on the up for her. Her kids are too cute! The date part of the chapter was really enjoyable too, it's nice to have some proper interaction between Hollie and Roxanne, even if it is under the pretense of a relationship between the two. It's almost putting me off Roxanne because she's totally using Hollie, but then I remember that she doesn't aactually know that Hollie is completely obsessed with her.

My heart is breaking for Hollie at this point in the story, even though this situation she's in is all her own doing, that kiss must have killed her!

Another really great chapter, Julie. I'm very quickly becoming addicted to this story!

Dee :)

Author's Response: I know.. She's definitely self-aware of what she's getting into, especially considering feelings are already involved. One of those things I can't help but love about the 'fake relationship' trope.

I loved writing the peek into Charlotte's life. When I planned her out as the single mother/player, I didn't plan to have her kids make an appearance, but I definitely couldn't resist.

Some interaction was overdue! Definitely. Roxanne would have never asked her if she would have known about Hollie's feelings.

Oh gosh, I know.. That kiss was painful for me to write! She's definitely already in over her head.

Thank you so much, Dee! I'm glad you liked it!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotterChicks Before Broomsticks: Big Game

31st December 2014:
Hi, Julie! Happy second hot seat day! I'm back for more of this wonderful story :D

I was so convinced that someone would have been drinking the night before! Especially in the early paragraphs when Logan was looking so peaky. Clever of him to wait until after the test but not so clever to drink too much! (I'm now thinking he's a raging alcoholic and can't cope without alcohol in his system :p )

I think this was my favourite chapter so far. You have brilliant comedic timing in your writing, this line in particular: As the opposing Seeker closed her fingers around the Snitch and sealed the Tornados fate, Logan vomited on the box floor. abolutely slayed me!

And that ending!! I can't not read the next chapter immediately!!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey Dee!

a;lkdfj I'm so behind on Hot Seat day. It's beyond sad and just embarrassing. *determined voice* I will catch up!

I was a bit surprised as well! He definitely has some problems that he isn't quite coping with well enough. Hiding it in his robes is not the way to go!

Aw, yay! Ah, that's so nice of you! I always work really weirdly hard to make sure the humor isn't 'too much', and it's so nice to hear that is coming through to the reader's point of view.

Thanks so much for reviewing, Dee!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotterThat's What You Do: That's What You Do

31st December 2014:
Hi, Aimee! A belated happy hot seat day (round 2!)

As much as this story made me mad at Sirius, I really liked it!

I really like that you kept your main character pretty much anonymous (I know from the other reviews that it was Marlene McKinnon) It gave a sense of detachment from her that fit well with her detachment from the fact that Sirius was constantly cheating on her.

I loved your use of the italics for the flashbacks, and where you placed them in the story worked really well and didn't interupt the flow. The repetition of 'because that's what you have to do', serving as a constant reminder to herself, that she needs Sirius.

The final paragraph was brilliant, the way you describe Marlene's own thoughts about the mask and the facade she's nealy failing to keep up was just perfect!

Great story, Aimee!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotterLife As We Know It: chapter fourteen

30th December 2014:
Hello again, Erica! Happy second review hot seat day :D

Things are getting so exciting at this point in the story! You have this really wonderful ability to create tension in your chapters, and its so evident in this one. Even though I know what is going to happen with Harry and Dumbledore and, to an extent, Draco, I still find myself scared for them!

I really enjoyed Hermione's interactions in this one, as much as I can't get enough of her conversations with Draco, it was nice to read about her conversing with others. The brief glimpse we had of Dumbledore was brilliant, he's so difficult to write but you managed brilliantly. I can understand Hermione's disappointment with him but of course we know that he only brushed her off because he knows what is going on with Draco. I also really loved her teasing remarks to Ginny about her snogging Harry!

Looking forward to reading the next chapter, I'm very nearly caught up! Which means you need to write more :p

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotterScrambled Eggs and Coffee Grounds: The Enormous Wooden Table

30th December 2014:
Hi, Ilia!A belated happy review hot seat day!

I absolutely ADORE Ron and Hermione. Their whole dynamic thorugh the later Potter series was something I really enjoyed and I love that I can read more of it through fanfiction. I think you've gotten that dynamic absolutely perfect. From Ron's bad habits, to Hermione's exasperation with him. I loved thewhole thing with the table being too big, and of course, they would have to keep it because it was a gift from the Weasley's! Hermione announcing her pregnancy was just the icing on the top of this lovely cake, even if she did do it as he was about to leave.

This was such an adorable and enjoyable one-shot, Ilia!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for coming to review!

Actually Ron/Hermione is one of my OTPs, so when I was challenged to write them, I was thrilled. I don't actually write a lot of them, though, so it was nice to take a stab at it. I'm glad you liked it! Their dynamic is quite complicated and layered, so I wanted to try and show that in a one-shot. Thank you so much for the review! I'm so happy you enjoyed my story!


 Report Review

Review #12, by HeyMrsPotterThe Deathly Children: A Funeral

30th December 2014:
Hello, teh! A belated happy hot seat day to you! It's been too long since I paid a visit to your author page, but I've come prepared for heartbreak, sadness, and complete jealousy at your wonderful writing!

I've seen a lot of this story on the forums and have FINALLY got some time to start reading it (though it'll probably take me about 6 years to catch up on it!)

As with every word you write, this is such a fascinating opening chapter! I really love all of the characters. Dumbledore, though younger and affected in his own way by grief,is still ultimately Dumbledore. I like the contrast between him and Abeforth too. One of my favourite things about your writing is your knack for subtlety, and its there in the differences between the two brothers. Albus is determined to be polite with Bathilda, and Abeforth makes no effert to hide the fact that he sits as far away from her as possible and doesn't even speak to her.

Ariana was brilliant too, she's such an interesting character but definitely under-represented in fanfiction. I wouldn't even know where to begin with writing her and here you go and do it perfectly! She has all those problems with her magic and what happened to her with the muggle boys, but I loved that you write her thoughts so coherent and articulately. I enjoyed how she compares her brothers and her mother by the ways they tuck her in. It made me sad that she couldn't remember her mother had died and that she immediately blames herself.

All in all, an excellent opening chapter. I can already see why it won a Dobby!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey, Dee! ♥ Thank you! Thank you for stopping by and reading and leaving this lovely review *squishes*

Yes, this story indeed has some unmanageable chunk chapters. :P BUT I'm so glad you started reading it!

Aww, I'm so glad (and relieved) to hear your thoughts about the characters, in particular about young Albus. I was kind of half afraid that readers wouldn't recognise the DUmbledore we know from the books here. And I love your comment on subtlety! I'm a fan of it as well, and I like to see it in others' writing.

Ariana is fun to write, and I do agree that she's serious underrepresented in fic. And writing her thoughts coherently was all part of things shifting to her perspective, giving her a larger role in this story than what she had in the books (which was pretty much a few passing references in tales told by others).

Thank you for your loveliness, lovely! ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotter"Love you Teddy": "Love you too Lil"

30th December 2014:
Hi, Emz! I am super behind on the review hot seat, so please excuse my lateness!

I love the story idea you've got here. It goes without saying that the Potters/Weasleys plus Teddy would be a close family and I love the idea that they would support each other throught starting and attending Hogwarts. Teddy is really sweet here, I enjoyed his thoughts throughout and I think you did a good job of his character.

The song worked well in the story, I think it's difficult to get the lyrics in the right places without disrupting the flow of the sotry but you managed it well.

There were a few errors in terms of grammar, mostly missed punctuation at the end of your dialogue, it might be worth running this by a beta reader who can fix those up for you :)

Overall though, a really cute and enjoyable story!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey Dee!

That's okay! I am too to be honest!

Thank you! I really love Teddy, he's such a cutie in my mind so I really hoped that would come through!

This was my first ever Song-Fic so I was really nervous about how that would go but I'm really glad it worked!

I got a beta, so we should be sorted once it goes back through the queue! :)

Thank you again!

Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotterAlways, For You: Lost

30th December 2014:
Hi, Kyle! I missed your review hot seat day but I'm determined to catch up on them all. What better excuse to come and catch up on this story :)

With every chapter I read of this story I become more and more confused but toally intrigued! Where was the magical place Louis ended up? What killed everything? Who was the man and what powers is he talking about? WHAT IS GOING ON?!

My million questions aside, I think this was my favourite chapter so far. Your descriptions are the usual beautiful standard I've come to love from you. The strange place he was in was described so perfectly, I felt like I was there with Louis.

I'm pleased he's in safe hands in the hospital, but I'm hoping for a speedy recovery so he can continue on his quest for information! Another lovely chapter, Kyle.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey Dee!
I can give you some answers, but not all ;)
The magical place was just a dream in this chapter, but it also has some realness to it also later in the story.
Why everything is dead is one, it is super super super ancient, and also teeming with dark magic.
The man is the big baddie :) I hate him. Let's just say he is a very old and powerful magical being related to one mentioned in another of my stories.
Thanks Dee I'm glad you liked it :)
-Kyle


 Report Review

Review #15, by HeyMrsPotterAlbus Potter and Slytherin's Office: The Rising Wizard

29th December 2014:
Hi, Claudia! I'm really behind on the review hot seat, but I'm trying to catch up. Sorry it's late!

I think this is a really interesting opening chapter! I really love the idea of a next-gen Dark Lord type figure. When is life ever east for Harry after all? I'm currently wracking my brains to try and figure out who your bad guys are! The opening chapters where we are intorduced to them was really to the point, I liked that. Here are the bad guys and they're so evil they'll kill 10 muggle children at once just because they're there. Brutal!

I really love your balance here of giving away enough information so that readers know when your story takes place, and who it is going to involve, but there's enough there to leave me wanting more. I'm really intrigued about how your bad guys are going to rise to power, and how they'll get to James and Albus. I liked the warning that was given to Zac about not underestimating the boys though, I agree that was one of Voldy's downfalls.

All in all, a really good opening chapter to your story!

Dee.

Author's Response: No worries, Dee! Did you really think I'd get worried over a late review? I'm just glad I have a review!

Yeah, the two guys are kind of evil, aren't they? You'd think they were the antagonists or something. (You get sarcasm, right? It's always really awkward when someone doesn't.)

Yes, Zac shouldn't underestimate the boys. They have Potter blood running through their veins, meaning they are incredibly lucky. Even James (the older one) "defied" Voldemort three times before he was killed. Most people don't get to survive one encounter.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by HeyMrsPotterA Very Dobby Christmas(es): Christmas Cheer

29th December 2014:
Hi girls! I'm a little behind on the review hot seat (and by a little, I mean about a week and a half) but I'm trying to catch up :D

I couldn't resist this story, Christmas and Dobby related :D Hats off to you both for managing to write a story from the point of view of a house elf, a difficult task I imagine, but one you managed well!

Dobby's character is so on point in this, I love that he knew exactly what to say, and not say, to Winky to get her back to work even when she was so upset about Crouch. The line about every christmas being happy as long as Dumbledore was master was just too adorable!

It made me sad to see how the elves were affected when Snape was headmaster and the Carrows were around, I had never even given them a second thought until now! (And now I feel guilty) I'm glad that Dobby was still around for them and the DA to give them hope and christmas cheer.

This was a really sweet one-shot! :D

Dee

Author's Response: Hey reviews are reviews; and they're better late than never! ;)
We're glad you enjoyed this story so much! It was certainly different to write in house elf speak, but it seems to have turned out pretty well.
House elves are trained to serve, and that includes saying the right things. And don't worry about forgetting how the Carrows affected the house elves, that just means they're doing their job well! ;) You know, since they are completing their chores without being noticed...
Thanks so much for the review!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #17, by HeyMrsPotterThe Place That Will Never Be Dark: Prologue

29th December 2014:
Hi, Maggie! I'm here (VERY late!) for your review hot seat!

It's been so long since I've visited your author page, I'd forgotten how amazing your Founders' stories are. You truly are the Queen of this era! I love how easily and effortlessly you seem to write the four founders, their personalities that are typical of the houses are so obvious and yet you do it so subtly. Like the way you describe Helga as speaking gently, and how Rowena is so skeptical of the Seer's concerns, presumably because there is no logical explanations for what she is telling them. I like how Salazar remains silent throughout the whole thing, I assume that at this point there are already some tensions among the group and he knows that is what the Seer is referring to.

Godric is my favourite in this, I like how kind he is to the Seer, even if he does doubt what she is telling him. I also really like that he is the clear leader of the group, or at least he is in this situation, and that you plant the seed of the seer being right in the fact that he shudders at her words despide his bravery.

Basically, I loved this! Great job, Maggie :D

Dee

 Report Review

Review #18, by HeyMrsPotterof monsters: Tap, tap, tap.

29th December 2014:
Hi, Emmi! I'm so sorry that I missed your review hot seat day, I'm playing serious catch up now :p

I couldn't resist a young Tom Riddle story, he's such a disturbing yet fascinating character and you've really done him justice. His arrogance is so clear throughout, right from the very beginning when he is frustrated at how long he took to discover the Chamber. I really liked his thoughts about his mother too, the fact that there was almost a twisted compliment about her in there in the line about her potential. I liked the line about him having been named after his father too, something we know he always hated.

The repeated use of the tap, tap, tap, was really effective too, it worked well in helping the flow of the story and also created an anticipation of what would happen when he stopped walking.

Overall, I thought this was great! A really good missing moment story :)

Dee

Author's Response: Hey Dee! Thanks for the review!

I really enjoyed writing about Tom and I'm glad you liked the way I wrote him. His arrogance came to me easily enough but at times I had make sure I didn't make him ramble on and on about this or that subject. I had to mention his parents as well, since I've always felt that much of his actions were influenced by them, however indirectly (although I imagine he wouldn't exactly thank me for saying that!). Glad to hear you liked the repetition of the tap, tap, tap!

Again, thank you so much for the review! It makes me so happy that you enjoyed this!

- Emmi


 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotterEvent Horizon: Infinity.

29th December 2014:
Hi, Tawi! Long time no speak/review! I hope you're well, I've been missing your craziness around the forums :p

I will never in a month of Sundays be able to write as astoundingly beautiful as you can, Tawi, and although that makes me sad, I'm glad you choose to share your gift with HPFF so I can be forever envious.

The dream that your unnamed character has is so real, and although it doesn't describe a particular event, I feel her fear perfectly. The imagery and language you use are so vivid, and I was terrified but couldn't explain why. WHAT SORCERY IS THIS?!

I love the idea that her husband and son are the ones that bring her out of her nightmare and the line about her son's future was just lovely. I really can't offer any form of CC or any basic coherent thoughts. Excuse me whilst I sit and stare at my laptop in awe of your talent.

Side note- I'd love to read your poem!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by HeyMrsPotterLosing You: Losing You

29th December 2014:
Hi, Ellie! Sorry I'm so late with your review for the hot seat, I'm terribly rubbish at this! Better late than never, eh?

This is the first time I've visited your author page (but I'm planning on returning as soon as time permits because I notice you're a fellow Dramione shipper :D ) I went for this story as it had fewer reviews :)

In the books, we really see and feel how much Sirius' death affect Harry, but it's so easy to forget there were others who loved him just as much. This story really threw me back into that sad place I was in the first time I read OotP. This line in particular absolutely killed me-
This time you’re not just locked away, but an entire plain of existence away from me It's so beautifully sad.

The thing that I loved most about this was how well you write Remus, and how in his head you are, and you take the reader there with you. The final thoughts about his condition, and how he is craving it this time to escape the emotional pain makes perfect sense. It's completely selfish of him to not take his potion and to potentially be a risk to others but that just shows how truly heartbroken and grief stricken he is after Sirius' death.

This made me feel really sad but that's definitely just a testiment to your wonderful writing.

Dee

Author's Response: Thanks Dee.

Remus was tricky to write in this and I totally cried as I was writing it but I'm glad it wasn't just me who got carried to Remus's headspace for this story =)

xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #21, by HeyMrsPotterFiery-Haired Queen: Inseparable

29th December 2014:
Hi, Jayde!! I'm really behind on the review hot seat and I'm trying to catch up-aplogies for my lateness!

I went into reading this definitely not expecting the crushing, heart-breaking, gut-wrenching feelings I'm currently experiencing. Please wait while I compose myself...nope, not happening! I'll have to review through my tears!

Seriously though, this was just beautiful. Snape/Lily isn't a pairing that I enjoy reading, but I love fics like this one that so accurately convey his unrequited love, heartbreak and life-long torment. I'm a glutton for punishment!

You write Snape so perfectly, and he is so difficult to get right. I absolutely love how bitter his thoughts are, and that he doesn't blame himself for them being apart, he blames Fate and its determination for them not to be pefect. The final paragraph was beautiful beyond words, his ideas that Harry was the thing keeping them connected even after her death, and that he would be with her again. Gah, I just loved it!

Super job, Jayde!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotterBound by Love: Things Least Expected

29th December 2014:
Hi, Karen! I'm about a week and a half behind the review hot seat but I'm trying my best to catch up. Better late than never, eh? :p

I had to go for this story to review because it was dedicated to our very wonderful house, plus I adore Neville!

As far as opening chapters go, I thought this was lovely. I really love the description of the office and your attention to detail. Neville talking to himself is just too cute, and so him! I like how you included the information about his life and his marriage to Hannah to give readers an idea of where in his life your story begins.

I absolutely love the idea of the scrapbook. I always found Neville's story so heartbreaking, in some ways more so than Harry's. It must be so dificult for him to see his parents in the state the Death Eaters left them in. I also really like the way he took the time to study the letter rather than rushing straight in to the memories, it reminded me of Harry reading his mums note in Grimauld Place, and also is very true to Neville's character.The Drooble's gum wrapppers were a sweet touch too.

All in all, a great first chapter!

Dee

Author's Response: DEE! :-D Welcome welcome and thank you for stopping by! :-)

Thank you--I'm not much of a plant / herbal type person but since Neville is, I had to do the best I could--for some reason, I would imagine that Professor Sprout (although I know practically nothing about her) would have beautiful plants there, to make a more pleasant and welcome atmosphere and just radiate a sense of comfort and peace. It's also always been a very important thing for me to provide as lovely stage as I am able for our players (and especially the readers :-) ).

Ahh do I have plans for Neville and Hannah--I can't wait to implement them!

Thanks! I love Frank and Alice so much and their story is indeed a tragedy, and the fact that they are completely unaware of anything (especially Neville) makes it even more so :-( . It really really hits hard in many aspects its in a way very hard to fathom just how deep the end results run. :*(

The bubblegum wrappers are a central part of their overall story so there was no way I was going to omit them. I -love- Alice's handwriting--in my mind she is this lovely and graceful lady and I wanted her writing to reflect that as well.

Thank you so much for the read and review--I'm happy that you enjoyed it!

Karen xoxo

P.S. -- I think you'd have to be insane to NOT love Neville! I mean, he's so adorable and huggable and squishy lol

P.S. 2--I HAD to give credit to where credit was due and yes y'all are wonderful xoxo


 Report Review

Review #23, by HeyMrsPotterFeel Again: Feel Again

29th December 2014:
TANYA! I am SUPER behind on the review hot seat but am determined to catch up :p Also, when do I ever need an excuse to be positively green with envy at how amazing your writing is?

How is it possible that even writing a story in 5 hours and not having it proof or beta read you STILL manage to write something so wonderful?!

This is such an adorable snap-shot into next-gen life. Even though James has a terrible accident, it still had this lovely feeling of just every-dayness about it. There's all the elements of a perfect Hogwarts Quidditch match, the competitiveness, the houses rallying together (albeit against Gryffindor but still), the cockiness of James and how it would be an easy defeat. It was so refreshing to read!

I absolutely adored the ending too, a really great link to the House Unity prompt :)

As always, brilliant story, Tanya!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #24, by HeyMrsPotterHow I Saved the Wizarding World with Hair Potions, By Gilderoy Lockhart: Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

29th December 2014:
KRISTIN! So I am SUPER behind on the review hot seat but am determined to catch up :p

I know this story has lots of reviews already BUT I've seen it mentioned a few times on the forums in the past and kept telling myself that I must read it and then kept forgetting, so here I am!

I absolutely ADORE Lockhart, I feel like I'm a part of a minority in the fandom but he's just so funny. You've written him absoluitely perfect. I'm so envious! Right from the opening line, this story just screamed Gilderoy Lockhart. I loved the line about him discovering how good he looked in lilac, his reasons for Wilhelm not being right for Head Boy, the fact that he thought of himself as humble...EVERYTHING. Your ability to write humour is nothing short of amazing. TEACH ME YOUR WAYS!

Though this was a humour piece, I couldn't help but feel all mushy about the appearence of James and Sirius. The fact that James ever had the Lockhart treatment like Harry did in CoS (because this story is definitely canon to me now) is just adorable.

You have this great balance of Lockhart's ability to manipulate people and charm them (and by people I mean teenage girls) and his complete ignorance at what most people actually think of him. The fact that he keeps mistaking people shaking their heads or gawping at him for their admiration is just so him.

I just bsolutely loved this. I'm going to favourite it so that every time I feel sad, I can read it! :D

Dee

Author's Response: Dee! Ahaha I'm so glad you came to read this story - and of course I don't mind you reviewing ones that have a lot of reviews, I left it open ended so people could pick anything they wanted to read :)

I discovered that Lockhart is actually my favourite character to write. He's so obnoxious but I just had so much fun writing this! :D Ahh, thank you so much - I'm so glad to hear that you liked my writing of him, especially considering you really like him as a character anyway! The humour is all Gilderoy Lockhart and no talent of my own - in fact I have no memory of ever writing this story, I think it was Lockhart himself who wrote it. He says so in Magical Me. (ok, but seriously though, thank you SO much, you're the best! *hugs Dee* )

Once I realised that Lockhart and James and Sirius would probably have been attending Hogwarts at the same time, there was really no way I could leave something like that out as it just felt like it needed to happen! I'm so glad you liked their cameo and waaah that you see this story as canon, I'm flattered! ♥

Thank you, I'm glad you liked that balance, as well as the complete unreliability of Lockhart's narration and how he sees everything through.. lilac-tinted lenses :p

Gah, I'm thrilled that you liked the story, and thank you so much for the favourite and for this amazing review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by HeyMrsPotterSweet Talk: Welcome to Honeydukes

13th December 2014:
Hi, Leigh! Happy review hot seat day! This is the first time I've visited your author page but I remember seeing this story when I was doing the new stories updates for the newsletter and thinking it sounded great!

I really like your opening chapter! I think you've got an interesting premise to your story from your summary. I like that you haven't thrown us straight into the plot in this chapter, there's no mention of Fred II or the deal made (though I'm thinking Sweets mum's behaviour has something to do with it). I also really like the characters we've been introduced to so far, the 3 girls definitely seem to balance each other out and I like that Sweets has a friend in Kane outside of that group. There's some really great description in here too, particularly of the shop, which I find can sometimes be forgotten about in an opening chapter so kudos for that!

The only thing that stood out as not quite right was the use of the apostrophe that shouldn't be there in Honeydukes but I know you said in your Author Note that you were yet to edit it :) It's a really minor thing though and doesn't affect how lovely this first chapter was!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hi Dee!

Thanks! I don't really like being thrown straight in--I feel like background on a character and a feel for the atmosphere before the change is necessary to fully enjoy the plot. I've been told I describe too much ;) Happy to see I did that alright here!

Oops. I haven't gotten round to editing yet, but I'll keep an eye out for those.

Thanks so so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>