Reading Reviews From Member: HeyMrsPotter
  
406 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HeyMrsPotterBruises : Bruises

20th April 2015:
Hi, Meg! Here for our swap :D

This is AMAZING. Seriously. There are a million and one things I love about this story.

I love Emmeline's character, that last paragraph in particular made me want to hug and high five her! She's such a realistic character and you describe her feelings throughout so well. I like how she loves Sirius but doesn't just swoon over him, she really holds her own.

The way you portray her grief throughout is so perfect. I liked how with Gideon and Fabian she was more numb with her grief, I think that's exactly how it is the morning after. I liked how it was a different grief for Lily and James, you've got the disbelief in there that always comes with the news of a lost loved one.

I really enjoyed the break in the middle where things were almost normal for Emmeline, shopping with Sirius and then going to visit Lily, James, and Harry. There was still that undertone of something more sinister happening, it was really subtle and well done.

I find first person is a really difficult thing to get right, because there's a lot more telling than showing but you've managed to get a wonderful story with your main character telling us how she is feeling but then all of that gorgeous description in there too. Teach me your ways, Meg!!

Thanks so much for the swap, I'm so glad I got the chance to read this!

Dee ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotterA Christmas in Azkaban: A Flickering Flame

20th April 2015:
Hey! Here for our swap!

This is so different to any other christmas fic I've read. I like that you strayed from the norm and wrote a darker story. I think you descirbed Azkaban and Sirius' feelings while he was there perfectly. His pain and suffering and the injustice of him being there were so clear throughout. I think the memory broke up the story really nicely and I like that you ended on an almost hopeful note,it was really fitting with Sirius' personality.

Great job! Thanks for the swap :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I always love exploring his character, and Azkaban was definitely a key part of his life. I'm glad I got the emotions across right. Thanks for the swap, your story was great too! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotterSeven years later: Seven years later

20th April 2015:
Hi Chiara! Here for our swap!

I absolutely loved the premise for this story. You captured what it's like to be an excited 11 year old brilliantly for all of the characters, and their promise to meet up with each other after 7 years was adorable.

I really loved how the characters grew up through the story, too. In their second meeting Severus is obviously older and has changed somewhat having joined the Death Eaters but I like that he still allows himself to have fun with the group.

The last meeting is so heartbreaking with just the two of them there, and Lily's very notable absence. I like that the change in Snape after her death is really obvious in the shorter, clipped dialogue. I'm glad it ended on a more hopeful note, and after everything he still allowed himself to have a drink and a game of cards with Emmeline.

I'm so glad we swapped, Chiara, I really loved this story!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey, Dee!

Oh, I'm really happy you liked this story! So glad we swapped, too! :)

Thank you so much! It's great to hear you feel I captured their children's excitement well. I think I never really grew up, so it wasn't that difficult :P And I'm very happy to hear you found their promise cute!

They are all pretty different in their second meeting. Especially Severus. But I really wanted for them to just forget all their adult problems and the difficulties of their lives and have fun together, if only for a night.

Yes, I know... It is sad, with Lily and Edgar gone and only Severus and Emmeline left... I'm glad you liked the happier note in the ending!

Thank you for swapping with me and for the lovely review! It really made me smile so widely!

With love,
Chiara.


 Report Review

Review #4, by HeyMrsPotterTaming the Dragon Tamer: [two]

19th April 2015:
Hey! Here for our swap. I figured I'd come back for chapter two since I enjoyed the first one so much :)

I noticed straight away that there was a lot more desciption in this chapter, which is great. It's difficult to get it in a first chapter when you need to set the story up but you made up for it here.

I'm really liking Chris' character, it's clear that he can hold his own and that he doesn't let his disability get in his way. I'm hoping we get to learn more about him through Charlie.

I found myself on a bit of a rollercoaster with Charlie in this chapter, I liked how he referred to the dragons as his babies, and how he didn't let his injury stop him from healing the baby dragons. Then I was really angry at him for his comment towards Chris being a cripple. I ended on a good note with him, I liked his exasperation at Don's meddling.

There was one section that stood out a little for me:
As they entered the reserve and Charlie showed them the first few dragons, he started talking about them. Dragons were the love of his life, really. He soon forgot about all reasons and prejudices as he droned on about the dragons.
The repetition of the word dragons interupts the flow a little, I think if you took some of the repetition out it would help. Maybe:
As they entered the reserve and Charlie showed them the first few dragons, he started talking about them. The creatures were the love of his life, really. He soon forgot about all reasons and prejudices as he droned on about the misunderstood beasts. or something along those lines. It's definitely a really minor thing and didn't stop me from enjoying this chapter as much as I enjoyed the first one.

Thanks for the swap!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey Dee!

Thanks so much for the swap. I'm really looking forward to reading your story. (I'm headed there after I finish this response)

Oh snap! I thought I had already fixed that. someone else pointed out the exact same thing with the repetition... I'll fix that right away. Thanks so much for pointing it out.

Charlie has had a difficult time and isn't coping very well. Sometimes his personality is overshadowed by that mean, depressed part of him that he tries to keep hidden. I don't want to tell you too much about that, it'll be in the story soon. I don't always like him either...

Thanks so much for the swap.

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #5, by HeyMrsPotterbad blood: one; prologue

19th April 2015:
Hi, Jessica!

I thought this was a really beautifully written prologue. It sets a really good tone for the story and I'm already planning on favouriting this so I can follow the updates when you do get around to it.

I love how well you have the whole 'overdue pregnancy' vibe here from Ginny, with her impatience for the baby to arrive and the walking to try and bring labour on. My daughter was two weeks late so I totally get Ginny's frustration and can safely say you got it right.

The flashback to the appointment with the Healer was great. I think the idea of magical outburst during pregnancy is really believable in the magical world. My favourite part of that was Ginny's reaction. I definitely think she wouldn't want to tell the Healer that she hadn't experienced any of the magical side-effects, there's a sense of denial there but also a subtle hint of Ginny's stubbornness as if she thinks it will still happen for her.

Your descriptions of the cottage and the July weather were absolutely perfect, I could almost feel the heat myself.

This was such a good opening chapter, Jessica. I'm excited to see where you take this story. Thanks for the swap!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by HeyMrsPotterThe Most Beautiful Flower: The Most Beautiful Flower

8th April 2015:
Hello, I'm here (a bit late!) for our swap. I chose this story because it had the fewest reviews, plus I'm a sucker for angst!

I think you have a really unique concept for a story here. I've read a lot of stories centered around Snape's grief after Lily's death, but never specifically their funeral. I think you did his character justice, especially the parts about his childhood, it made for a really beautiful tragic theme throughout. A very poignant one-shot! I particularly liked the paragraph with the comparison between roses and lilies.

Thanks for the swap.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! I really love exploring the relationship between these two characters, there's so much tragic history with them. Snape is one of my favorite characters, so it's always fun writing for him. There are just far too many layers, and I honestly don't understand people who don't see how fascinating that is!

I'm really happy that it seems I was able to get this right and convey what I was going for. Thanks so much for taking the time to read. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotterBetween the Lines: Any-way-what-how

7th April 2015:
Hi, Beth! Here for our swap :)

I've read more and more slash stories on the archives recently and I'm very quickly becoming addicted to them, so I'm glad you asked for this one :) I absolutely LOVE your summary by the way!

I absolutely adore the way you've written a young McGonagall. Still as formal and sensible as we know her to be as an adult, but with hints of the excitable nature of a child, and a naivety. She's brilliant. I particularly loved the way you portray her love of all things magic, and that paragraph about her transfiguring the matchstick was beautifully descriptive.

My favourite thing about this whole chapter though is Amelia. She's just so fun! I can perfectly picture her chatting away animatedly and not stopping for breath. Her confidence and nonchalance is so endearing. I'm definitely adding this to my favourites and will be pestering you regularly for updates! I'm excited to see where you take their new found friendship.

Thanks for the swap, Beth ♥

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm so glad we did this swap! And this review - Gah! You've got me reduced to a puddle, over here.

Eeep! I'm so glad you like my Amelia! I really wanted to write her as fun, a bit silly and brilliant - and that can be hard to meld. I've got the story outlined until the end, but I'm a bit nervous to take on the second chapter. Your review has definitely helped me to gain some confidence with it.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotterTaming the Dragon Tamer: [one]

7th April 2015:
Hello! Here for our swap :)

Slash is a new found love of mine, and Charlie is such an underexplored character in fanfiction, so I couldn't resist this one :D

I think Charlie's character of all the Weasley's is the one we've got the most freedom with writing because we know the least about him. I like the way you've written him here, it's in keeping with everything we do know about him but you've delved a little deeper with him. I like the angle you took with his insecurities too. As understanding and loving as the Weasley's are, and I'm sure if he did bring a man home they would welcome him into the family with open arms, Charlie's concerns are justified. They're such a big family that's always expanding, and the hint he makes about not having what Bill has makes his reason for keeping his secuality a secret a plausible one.

Although we've only just met Christopher, I think he's going to be a really likeable character, and hopefully one who can give as good as he gets with Charlie's feistier side.

I think this is a really good opening chapter, you've set good groundwork for what I think will be an interesting story! Adding to my favourites, I'll definitely come back and check out chapter two. Thanks for the swap!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm really glad you like it.
I love charlie so much, he really writes himself all the time. He isn't embarrassed about his sexuality at all, only worried what his family is going to think.
There'll be a lot of Christopher coming up in the next few chapters, i really like to write him, he always keeps charlie on his toes.
Thank you for the swap and for your lovely review.
~Anja


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotterLike So Much Red Wine: shattered glass, cracked porcelein, buckled steel

5th April 2015:
Hello! I really enjoyed our TCV miniseries bashing on the forums the other day so decided to visit your author page and leave a review :D

I absolutely love stories like this, moments from the books from another character's POV, Harry can be so whiney at times :p Snapes character absolutely fascinates me and I really think you've done him such justice here. You've really nailed his complex history and thoughts in such few words, colour me impressed! I love how much he thinks about Lily, and how almost every action is somehow linked to her. His thoughts about Harry are so perfect too. I've read stories from Snape's POV before and sometimes his hatred of Harry is almost childish and petty, but there's such a dark edge to the way you've written them in this.

Aside from Snape's brilliant characterisation, you've also got such amazing description the whole way through. I particularly loved the paragraph right near the end describing the bathroom and how he had damaged and then repaired it. So poigniant.

I absolutely loved this, Roisin!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Oh hello! Thank you so much for stopping by :)

This is one of the first one-shots I wrote (it was originally in the same story as "There's Water in Oil" but I decided to split them). Basically I had a lot of feelings about Snape's perspective in the books and I wanted to talk about it! He's just such a complicated nut to crack! I was really curious about how he managed to cope with everything going on in his life.

As for his hatred of Harry, I wanted to imply that it's a actually a really distorted form of love (he notices him growing). Snape is a bit of an unreliable narrator, or at least, isn't super self aware. Like, he hates Harry because Harry isn't his son, which is then also to say that he wants Harry to be his son. Snape is just a really complicated guy...

I'm really glad you liked this story! I was sort of considering deleting my older one-shots, because they just sort of sit around collecting dust, but if people still like them then I'll keep them :)

Thank you again so much for the review!
xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotterthe earth and the sky: the earth and the sky

8th February 2015:
Hi, Adi! Here with your requested review/cheer up!

As you said in your request, I have read a lot of Draco. I really love your portrayal of him. I think it's often not considered how the war would have affected him, but it really smacks you in the face right from the start of your story. I liked his almost hatred of himself, feeling as though he didn't deserve to have survived the war, and I loved Astoria's total lack of pity for him. She had a real 'suck it up and get on with it' attitude that he definitely needed. Him turning to drink for comfort seems such a normal thing to do. I really enjoyed seeing how he changes throughout the story with Astoria in his life, and the snapshots of the proposal and the wedding were beautiful. The addition of parts from Astoria's point of view didn't disrupt the flow at all, I really liked the voice you gave her.

It's amazing how you managed to write their whole life together so seamlessly. (Also, I LOLed at the sneaky little mention of ScoRose and the red or blonde haired grandchildren :p) Him being in the accident was a total shock, but it worked so well in the story. It was something that was so beyond any of their control, but had as big of an impact on their lives as any of the other events you wrote about.

I thought you did real justice to all of the sensitive issues you tackled in this story. Brief as it was, the miscarriage was heart-breaking, and I liked that they didn't just immediately move on from that. Draco's loss of hearing was another unexpected event, but again the after effects of the accident just made it seem all the more realistic. And then Astoria's death! Her illness was so sad, Draco's desperation to keep fighting and keep trying something new reminded me of Astoria's after Draco's accident. The section between Astoria's death and Draco's was probably the saddest for me. I can't understand how when one person in a marriage dies after a whole life together, the other person goes on, and Draco barely did. You portrayed his grief and loneliness so so well. I adored the ending, after such a sad story for the most part, it was nice to end on a lighter note. The idea of them reuniting and her having waited for him for so long was just adorable.

I am beyond amazed at how brilliant this story is, Adi. I'm sorry to hear you've been having a tough time, I hope writing this helped. I loved reading it!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotterLove Conquers All: a Goodbye and a Suprise

8th February 2015:
Hello, leahandro, I'm here with your requested review. I guess since you've read my stories you know I'm a huge Dramione fan :p

I think you've got an interesting first chapter to your story here. I like all of the little descriptive details you've included, like Ron's hair sticking up because he'd been in a hurry, and the owl hooting angrily when Hermione screamed. I think you've got Hermione and Ron's personalities on point, particularly in the speech, and Hermione being so early.

I've seen a few posts from you on the forums about trying to get more reviews. I think a couple of things that would help would be looking up The Dark Arts forum and requesting a banner for your story, I know they say never judge a book by its cover but people are definitely drawn more to stories with banners. Another thing I'd suggest is getting yourself a Beta reader on the HPFF forums. There are a fair few grammatical errors in your writing, mostly with your punctuation. Having a beta reader look over your chapters before your posting can really help, sometimes a reader will be put off a story if there are grammatical errors and therfore less likely to review. Draco/Hermione Head Boy/Head Girl stories have always been popular in fanfiction (I wrote one in my early fanfic writing days) so make sure you have your story planned out and something to set it aside from the others.

I hope this review doesn't sound too critical, I think you have some really great aspects to your writing and with a little polishing your story could be popular :)

Dee :)

Author's Response: Heyy! Omg I dont realy know how u should reply to these reviews but thank u so much! i love ur stories so its amazing to get ar eview from you 2!

Ron is annoying lol but i like writing Hermione. i kind of want to just get to her and Draco being together but i no i cant just do that lol.

i see storys like urs with lots of reviews and i was just wondering how to get them? i no my story isnt as good as ur writing but i want to know what people think anyway. i didnt know there are grammar errors?? :( i was just so exited to post the story i hope it isnt too bad. i dont know how to get those banners tho.

thank u for ur review Dee your awesome!


 Report Review

Review #12, by HeyMrsPotterBlood Red Petals: Chapter One

8th February 2015:
AVI! ♥

Here with your requested review. I'm sad I wasn't the first to review this but happy to finally have read it! As you know, I absolutely ADORED The Wild Rose, and loved this just as much.

The description throughout this is absolutely breathtaking. When he killed that poor girl in the pub it totally spooked me! Chills, Avi, you gave me chills!!

I liked that you changed the style for this one and it flowed beautifully between the three parts. As much as he's totally creepy, I enjoyed spending more time in Scorpius' head. His arrogance is really obvious an dstriking throughout, the small fact that Rose once rejected him had such an impact on his ego that he became a serial killer to all red-headed girls! You could only get away with giving that story to a Malfoy.

I thought the use of the colour red throughout was really effective, from the title, to the hair, and the roses. It linked really well to The Wild Rose.

So basically, this was perfect!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hi Dee!

That's totally fine, you're here and that's what counts! :D

I am SO HAPPY that you liked this! It means the world to me, especially since I know how much you enjoyed my creepy The Wild Rose :b

Yes, I wrote it differently then TWR, as I really couldn't see it be written the same way. I'm glad you thought it flowed beautifully. I will add more to the ending though, I just re-read it and I think it needs a little bit more.
I imagine that there must have been something wrong with him in the first place, like with his obsession of her and because she rejected him it just escalated from there on. Haha, you're right. The plot certainly does fits well with a Malfoy character :p

The title bothered me for such a long time, and I had to read it all over again, hoping I'd get some ideas out of it. Blood Red petals, that seemed like a nice fit to this creepy story of mine. I'm glad you liked the details! :)

Thank you so much for your review, Dee! *hugs*
You're the best!

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotterkisses-blood-valentine: Ballad of Evvie and Bernie

25th January 2015:
Hi, Rose!

I'm pleased to be visiting your author page again. I'll definitely have to stop by here more often :D

When I first started reading this, I had to read the first few paragraphs a couple of times, I was SO confused. Now I've read the whole thing I get that she was in Azkaban at the start and Benjy was trying to see her. I really like that the story came full circle in that sense, and the use of Azkaban in the end was nothing short of genius. That line, "The innocent never do." really packs a punch! I can't get over how perfect and heartbreaking it was!

I really enjoyed reading about the two different relationships in your story. The similarities in the earlier part where Bernie is keeping secrets from both Benjy and Evvie, and both are weighing on her mind heavily. I like that even though they are twins, Bernie and Benjy don't have that perfect super-close twin relationship, and I think their parents passing away is a really good catalyst for the change in it later in their lives. It's so sad that she didn't get to share her secrets with either of them.

I really liked Evvie's character too, even though she only features briefly, you've managed to tell us so much about her. I particularly liked her mini-rant about valentine's day being commercial and misogynistic.

Am I right in thinking the imperius curse was cast on Bernie so that she ultimately killed Evvie? Or have I got that all wrong? Either way, that scene in the bedroom- just wow. There is so much AMAZING imagery throughout the whole story but that section in particular was jaw dropping. Consider me coloured green with envy!

I can honestly say hand on heart I've never read anything like this before on here, and I absolutely loved it. It was so dark and sad and just brilliant.

Sorry for the really incoherent review, I'm just too impressed to form proper sentences!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Dee!!

I'm glad that confusing at first didn't cause you to give up on it. My linear narrative of this is pretty boring and bland but it let me twist the story so that it came out in a circle. I've always thought that a lot of people in Azkaban were jailed unfairily, especially with crouch putting people there without a trial (and it seems that wizard justice jumped to a lot of conlusions).

In a lot of ways her relationships with Evvie and Benjy were what drove Bernie mad in Azkaban. Part of me hates how the secrets in her life caused so much pain for her. I mean, she had no way of knowing that Benjy's secrets would have an impact on her either.

Evvie was fun to write about (I think I spent a lot more time thinking about her character than made sense for her brief appearance).

I've decided I won't tell people if they're right or wrong with guesses as to what happened. :P At least not in the review responses. :D :D I'm touched that you liked hte graphic and gory imagery in the bedroom scene. I kind of creeped myself out there.

Thank you so much for this incredible review!! I'm sorry it's taken me ages to respond but *hugs* your review just gets to me each time

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotter(Who) Needs Horcruxes?: Legend

13th January 2015:
KAREN, YOU TRULY BEAUTIFUL HUMAN BEING! ♥

All my life (well, since I discovered fanficion) I've wanted to read a good (because I've read some not so good ones) Potter/Who crossover fic, and then here you come like a beautiful angel delivering this gift from heaven. *peaceful sigh*

Your Doctor is just so PERFECT. (Totally picturing Eleven in my head because boo, Twelve). Like, this line here:
"What…"

"THAT…is a very good question!" He cut her off before she could finish asking.

I CAN SO IMAGINE THIS SCENE IN MY HEAD. (Sorrynotsorry for the caps)

I loveloveloveloveLOVE the idea of them being pulled inside a story, and of course, I love that it's my favourite story of all time :p And the way that he explains it to Clara is beyond brilliant. I can hear every line of dialogue in Matt Smith's voice.

I'm so curious as to who they'll encounter first in the Wizarding world (though I seriously hope if Clara comes across Voldy she gives him some sass about his nose, or lack thereof :P)

This was just an absolutely amazingly brilliant and wonderful first chapter to what I have no doubt will be one of the best fics I have ever read.

Best. Secret. Santa. Ever.

 Report Review

Review #15, by HeyMrsPotterDull Ache: Oblivion

12th January 2015:
Rose ♥

This isn't going to be a particularly long review, I could comment on your beautiful writing style and excellent touches of magic throughout this, which I loved, but I know you probably didn't write the story with those in mind.

Knowing what you went through and having seen a few things from you on twitter about your boy, I felt terribly for you then, and then reading this made me shed more than a few tears for you and your husband. I hope writing this story gave you a little bit of release even if it was temporarily.

This was really beautiful. ♥

Author's Response: Dee!!

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review and being so supportive. Writing this helped a bit - it was a snapshot of how I felt at that time. I'm glad to have experienced a bit more healing since then.

xoxo
-rose


 Report Review

Review #16, by HeyMrsPotterChicks Before Broomsticks: Fake Date

31st December 2014:
Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear! This can NOT end well! What is poor Hollie getting herself into?

I have so many emotions about this chapter. I loved seeing a peek into Charlotte's life, especially as things seem to be on the up for her. Her kids are too cute! The date part of the chapter was really enjoyable too, it's nice to have some proper interaction between Hollie and Roxanne, even if it is under the pretense of a relationship between the two. It's almost putting me off Roxanne because she's totally using Hollie, but then I remember that she doesn't aactually know that Hollie is completely obsessed with her.

My heart is breaking for Hollie at this point in the story, even though this situation she's in is all her own doing, that kiss must have killed her!

Another really great chapter, Julie. I'm very quickly becoming addicted to this story!

Dee :)

Author's Response: I know.. She's definitely self-aware of what she's getting into, especially considering feelings are already involved. One of those things I can't help but love about the 'fake relationship' trope.

I loved writing the peek into Charlotte's life. When I planned her out as the single mother/player, I didn't plan to have her kids make an appearance, but I definitely couldn't resist.

Some interaction was overdue! Definitely. Roxanne would have never asked her if she would have known about Hollie's feelings.

Oh gosh, I know.. That kiss was painful for me to write! She's definitely already in over her head.

Thank you so much, Dee! I'm glad you liked it!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #17, by HeyMrsPotterChicks Before Broomsticks: Big Game

31st December 2014:
Hi, Julie! Happy second hot seat day! I'm back for more of this wonderful story :D

I was so convinced that someone would have been drinking the night before! Especially in the early paragraphs when Logan was looking so peaky. Clever of him to wait until after the test but not so clever to drink too much! (I'm now thinking he's a raging alcoholic and can't cope without alcohol in his system :p )

I think this was my favourite chapter so far. You have brilliant comedic timing in your writing, this line in particular: As the opposing Seeker closed her fingers around the Snitch and sealed the Tornados fate, Logan vomited on the box floor. abolutely slayed me!

And that ending!! I can't not read the next chapter immediately!!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey Dee!

a;lkdfj I'm so behind on Hot Seat day. It's beyond sad and just embarrassing. *determined voice* I will catch up!

I was a bit surprised as well! He definitely has some problems that he isn't quite coping with well enough. Hiding it in his robes is not the way to go!

Aw, yay! Ah, that's so nice of you! I always work really weirdly hard to make sure the humor isn't 'too much', and it's so nice to hear that is coming through to the reader's point of view.

Thanks so much for reviewing, Dee!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #18, by HeyMrsPotterThat's What You Do: That's What You Do

31st December 2014:
Hi, Aimee! A belated happy hot seat day (round 2!)

As much as this story made me mad at Sirius, I really liked it!

I really like that you kept your main character pretty much anonymous (I know from the other reviews that it was Marlene McKinnon) It gave a sense of detachment from her that fit well with her detachment from the fact that Sirius was constantly cheating on her.

I loved your use of the italics for the flashbacks, and where you placed them in the story worked really well and didn't interupt the flow. The repetition of 'because that's what you have to do', serving as a constant reminder to herself, that she needs Sirius.

The final paragraph was brilliant, the way you describe Marlene's own thoughts about the mask and the facade she's nealy failing to keep up was just perfect!

Great story, Aimee!

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotterLife As We Know It: chapter fourteen

30th December 2014:
Hello again, Erica! Happy second review hot seat day :D

Things are getting so exciting at this point in the story! You have this really wonderful ability to create tension in your chapters, and its so evident in this one. Even though I know what is going to happen with Harry and Dumbledore and, to an extent, Draco, I still find myself scared for them!

I really enjoyed Hermione's interactions in this one, as much as I can't get enough of her conversations with Draco, it was nice to read about her conversing with others. The brief glimpse we had of Dumbledore was brilliant, he's so difficult to write but you managed brilliantly. I can understand Hermione's disappointment with him but of course we know that he only brushed her off because he knows what is going on with Draco. I also really loved her teasing remarks to Ginny about her snogging Harry!

Looking forward to reading the next chapter, I'm very nearly caught up! Which means you need to write more :p

Dee :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by HeyMrsPotterScrambled Eggs and Coffee Grounds: The Enormous Wooden Table

30th December 2014:
Hi, Ilia!A belated happy review hot seat day!

I absolutely ADORE Ron and Hermione. Their whole dynamic thorugh the later Potter series was something I really enjoyed and I love that I can read more of it through fanfiction. I think you've gotten that dynamic absolutely perfect. From Ron's bad habits, to Hermione's exasperation with him. I loved thewhole thing with the table being too big, and of course, they would have to keep it because it was a gift from the Weasley's! Hermione announcing her pregnancy was just the icing on the top of this lovely cake, even if she did do it as he was about to leave.

This was such an adorable and enjoyable one-shot, Ilia!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for coming to review!

Actually Ron/Hermione is one of my OTPs, so when I was challenged to write them, I was thrilled. I don't actually write a lot of them, though, so it was nice to take a stab at it. I'm glad you liked it! Their dynamic is quite complicated and layered, so I wanted to try and show that in a one-shot. Thank you so much for the review! I'm so happy you enjoyed my story!


 Report Review

Review #21, by HeyMrsPotterThe Deathly Children: A Funeral

30th December 2014:
Hello, teh! A belated happy hot seat day to you! It's been too long since I paid a visit to your author page, but I've come prepared for heartbreak, sadness, and complete jealousy at your wonderful writing!

I've seen a lot of this story on the forums and have FINALLY got some time to start reading it (though it'll probably take me about 6 years to catch up on it!)

As with every word you write, this is such a fascinating opening chapter! I really love all of the characters. Dumbledore, though younger and affected in his own way by grief,is still ultimately Dumbledore. I like the contrast between him and Abeforth too. One of my favourite things about your writing is your knack for subtlety, and its there in the differences between the two brothers. Albus is determined to be polite with Bathilda, and Abeforth makes no effert to hide the fact that he sits as far away from her as possible and doesn't even speak to her.

Ariana was brilliant too, she's such an interesting character but definitely under-represented in fanfiction. I wouldn't even know where to begin with writing her and here you go and do it perfectly! She has all those problems with her magic and what happened to her with the muggle boys, but I loved that you write her thoughts so coherent and articulately. I enjoyed how she compares her brothers and her mother by the ways they tuck her in. It made me sad that she couldn't remember her mother had died and that she immediately blames herself.

All in all, an excellent opening chapter. I can already see why it won a Dobby!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey, Dee! ♥ Thank you! Thank you for stopping by and reading and leaving this lovely review *squishes*

Yes, this story indeed has some unmanageable chunk chapters. :P BUT I'm so glad you started reading it!

Aww, I'm so glad (and relieved) to hear your thoughts about the characters, in particular about young Albus. I was kind of half afraid that readers wouldn't recognise the DUmbledore we know from the books here. And I love your comment on subtlety! I'm a fan of it as well, and I like to see it in others' writing.

Ariana is fun to write, and I do agree that she's serious underrepresented in fic. And writing her thoughts coherently was all part of things shifting to her perspective, giving her a larger role in this story than what she had in the books (which was pretty much a few passing references in tales told by others).

Thank you for your loveliness, lovely! ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotter"Love you Teddy": "Love you too Lil"

30th December 2014:
Hi, Emz! I am super behind on the review hot seat, so please excuse my lateness!

I love the story idea you've got here. It goes without saying that the Potters/Weasleys plus Teddy would be a close family and I love the idea that they would support each other throught starting and attending Hogwarts. Teddy is really sweet here, I enjoyed his thoughts throughout and I think you did a good job of his character.

The song worked well in the story, I think it's difficult to get the lyrics in the right places without disrupting the flow of the sotry but you managed it well.

There were a few errors in terms of grammar, mostly missed punctuation at the end of your dialogue, it might be worth running this by a beta reader who can fix those up for you :)

Overall though, a really cute and enjoyable story!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey Dee!

That's okay! I am too to be honest!

Thank you! I really love Teddy, he's such a cutie in my mind so I really hoped that would come through!

This was my first ever Song-Fic so I was really nervous about how that would go but I'm really glad it worked!

I got a beta, so we should be sorted once it goes back through the queue! :)

Thank you again!

Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #23, by HeyMrsPotterAlways, For You: Lost

30th December 2014:
Hi, Kyle! I missed your review hot seat day but I'm determined to catch up on them all. What better excuse to come and catch up on this story :)

With every chapter I read of this story I become more and more confused but toally intrigued! Where was the magical place Louis ended up? What killed everything? Who was the man and what powers is he talking about? WHAT IS GOING ON?!

My million questions aside, I think this was my favourite chapter so far. Your descriptions are the usual beautiful standard I've come to love from you. The strange place he was in was described so perfectly, I felt like I was there with Louis.

I'm pleased he's in safe hands in the hospital, but I'm hoping for a speedy recovery so he can continue on his quest for information! Another lovely chapter, Kyle.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey Dee!
I can give you some answers, but not all ;)
The magical place was just a dream in this chapter, but it also has some realness to it also later in the story.
Why everything is dead is one, it is super super super ancient, and also teeming with dark magic.
The man is the big baddie :) I hate him. Let's just say he is a very old and powerful magical being related to one mentioned in another of my stories.
Thanks Dee I'm glad you liked it :)
-Kyle


 Report Review

Review #24, by HeyMrsPotterAlbus Potter and Slytherin's Office: The Rising Wizard

29th December 2014:
Hi, Claudia! I'm really behind on the review hot seat, but I'm trying to catch up. Sorry it's late!

I think this is a really interesting opening chapter! I really love the idea of a next-gen Dark Lord type figure. When is life ever east for Harry after all? I'm currently wracking my brains to try and figure out who your bad guys are! The opening chapters where we are intorduced to them was really to the point, I liked that. Here are the bad guys and they're so evil they'll kill 10 muggle children at once just because they're there. Brutal!

I really love your balance here of giving away enough information so that readers know when your story takes place, and who it is going to involve, but there's enough there to leave me wanting more. I'm really intrigued about how your bad guys are going to rise to power, and how they'll get to James and Albus. I liked the warning that was given to Zac about not underestimating the boys though, I agree that was one of Voldy's downfalls.

All in all, a really good opening chapter to your story!

Dee.

Author's Response: No worries, Dee! Did you really think I'd get worried over a late review? I'm just glad I have a review!

Yeah, the two guys are kind of evil, aren't they? You'd think they were the antagonists or something. (You get sarcasm, right? It's always really awkward when someone doesn't.)

Yes, Zac shouldn't underestimate the boys. They have Potter blood running through their veins, meaning they are incredibly lucky. Even James (the older one) "defied" Voldemort three times before he was killed. Most people don't get to survive one encounter.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by HeyMrsPotterA Very Dobby Christmas(es): Christmas Cheer

29th December 2014:
Hi girls! I'm a little behind on the review hot seat (and by a little, I mean about a week and a half) but I'm trying to catch up :D

I couldn't resist this story, Christmas and Dobby related :D Hats off to you both for managing to write a story from the point of view of a house elf, a difficult task I imagine, but one you managed well!

Dobby's character is so on point in this, I love that he knew exactly what to say, and not say, to Winky to get her back to work even when she was so upset about Crouch. The line about every christmas being happy as long as Dumbledore was master was just too adorable!

It made me sad to see how the elves were affected when Snape was headmaster and the Carrows were around, I had never even given them a second thought until now! (And now I feel guilty) I'm glad that Dobby was still around for them and the DA to give them hope and christmas cheer.

This was a really sweet one-shot! :D

Dee

Author's Response: Hey reviews are reviews; and they're better late than never! ;)
We're glad you enjoyed this story so much! It was certainly different to write in house elf speak, but it seems to have turned out pretty well.
House elves are trained to serve, and that includes saying the right things. And don't worry about forgetting how the Carrows affected the house elves, that just means they're doing their job well! ;) You know, since they are completing their chores without being noticed...
Thanks so much for the review!
--Freda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>