Reading Reviews From Member: ShadowRose
  
178 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ShadowRoseHPFF United Collaboration: The Quidditch Ban

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Hello!

I love all Marauder stories, and this one really was no exception. Reading about James's and Sirius's antics is just so entertaining, and you did a great job of keeping them in character - they're definitely jokesters, but they're also maturing a little bit and it shows in their behavior. At least they try to make their point by writing an essay and not through some master prank.

It's nice that you show Sirius and Regulus getting along, even if it is only to get Quidditch reinstated. They never quite agree with one another, so it's nice that they're working together and behaving like brothers for a while. I also think you did a good job creating McGonagall, she definitely seems very canon and realistic particularly in her speech patterns. I do think it's a bit odd that she, a Quidditch player herself as well as a Gryffindor House team fan, would want to ban Quidditch, but you explain it well enough, and I feel like there's a bit of her that doesn't want it banned and wants the boys to get it reinstated.

Overall, this was so fun to read! Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ShadowRoseOutsmarting Umbridge: Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Okay, this story was hilarious. I love seeing all of the teachers go up against Umbridge in their own different ways. I was giggling like an idiot by the end, thinking about Umbridge eating that Canary Cream. Hah, she deserved it.

I think you did a wonderful job characterizing McGonagall. You show a little bit of her softer side, as well as the conniving side that shows up whenever Umbridge is involved. I'm so impressed with her here, haha. I love the little flashback you threw in, in which she hears Dumbledore's advice from all those years ago - it shows how much she values his opinion. This sentence was perfect - "Except that you would never waste your energy or your anger on a prank. You harvest your anger, save it. Then when the time comes to use it, you have a huge reserve to draw from." - because it just summarizes McGonagall's character perfectly, but also proves to be a bit ironic, considering she does end up pranking Umbridge in a way. :)

Anyway, this story was massively entertaining - anything that results in Umbridge's embarrassment is, after all! Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Thanks!!! I would pay good money to see Imelda Staunton act this scene out. :-) A writer can dream, no?

 Report Review

Review #3, by ShadowRoseA New Moon: A New Moon

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Hello Emma!

Okay, so this is a really different story than anything I've read, but I really like it. I love anything Marauder-centric, so this story is fantastic. All of the characters are portrayed perfectly - Remus is so careful and nervous about his transformation, James is kinda goofy, and Slughorn is, well, perfectly Slughorn. It's so characteristic of him to go completely off topic when talking to a student, and I found it hilarious that he tried to get Remus to have a glass of mead - he's a student, for goodness sake, haha!

Anyway, this story was so cute and definitely put a smile on my face, so it definitely fit to the prompt of a happy memory. It makes me so happy to see Remus happy about something for once, instead of constantly living in fear of his own transformation. Great job with this, I really loved reading it!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review!! I'm so glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Discoveries

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Well, this certainly was an eventful chapter. Despite all of my suspicions, they did actually find Acanthus without a hitch. And judging by Rose's reaction, it was definitely worth all the work. I'm so happy - finally something went right for them! Now let's hope it doesn't all blow up in the next few chapters, haha.

Awww, Ron and Hermione are cute together. Their bickering is great, and shows that they're still the same people they were at the end of the Deathly Hallows - I love that little detail. And, of course, their personalities are perfectly canon. Hermione's still a worrywart and Ron's around to calm her down. And Hugo... my gosh, he's such a little bugger and I love him all the more for that. " 'Also, what have I told you about my body being a contamination free zone?' he moaned. 'Working in science means that I need to be in a constant germ-free environment. While I realise this isnít always possible, I would like to refer you to the document you signed on my ninth birthday stating that contact would be limited at all times, so no hugs.' " I'm dying. I guess child genius status does come with its fair share of oddities. :P

And ok good, the spell hit the person it was supposed to. It's nice that, for a while, Scorpius, Dalila, and Rashidi have some relief from his creepiness. And yay! They've found (sort of) Rose and Lorcan! So at least now they know where to look for them! Of course, it's also 100 years away so that certainly complicates things, haha.

This was such an action-packed, fantastic chapter! Great job, as always!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Haha, yes, some things do have to go right in this story, and finding Acanthus was one of them here. I'm so glad that you liked it and don't worry the next few chapters are largely incident free, it's the ones after that you have to worry about ;)

Aw, thank you! I really love writing Romione as minor pairings, because while I can't ever focus on them, as background people they're so much fun to include. Bahaha, Hugo is certainly different shall we say. I just love writing child geniuses because they really are strange people when you think about it, and it means you can just write really strange things as a result.

They do have some relief and they found them (sort of...). For once, this shouldn't be too complicated for them either, and I'm not kidding, don't worry! :P

Thanks for another amazing review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #5, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Cartography

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

So, I realized I misspelled my own name in my last review. That's awkward. :P

KIANNA how could you do this to me??? You're really testing my self control to review before going on to the next chapter here. Gah your cliffhangers will be the death of me.

Your details at the start of the chapter, particularly regarding the map and cartography, were just lovely. "The light of the candle flickered against the white canvas lining of the tent, causing spectres to dance and flicker across the screen." SUCH A PRETTY SENTENCE.

I'm starting to really, really like Charlotte - she seems like a genuinely nice person and she actually cares about Rose. I do feel bad for Rose though, because as sweet as Charlotte may be, it doesn't make up for the fact that she's 100 years away from the people she loves. I love the little detail about WWI you threw in - it definitely adds to the fact that they're in a different era with different issues right now. Although I do have my doubts about them reaching Acanthus in a timely manner... I get the feeling something's a little off - things are going too smoothly, and that doesn't usually ever happen... something's gotta go wrong.

Ugh, we were just about to find out more about the mysterious man, and then all the craziness happens! While I'm not too happy that we're still missing details about him, I do hope that Scorpius, Dalila, and Rashidi can get away from him. So let's hope that Stunning Spell hit its target!

Another awesome chapter, Kiana!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Bahahaha, I always do that too, so don't worry (plus I didn't even notice until you said :P). See it's sort of good then as you can improve your self-control which is always a good thing to do. But I'm sorry about the cliff-hangers!

Aw, thank you! ♥

Yay for Charlotte, as it's nice for Rose to have a BFF in this era because everyone wants one of those. It's just strange how you can get on with people even if you are a 100 years apart if that makes any sense? I'm really glad that you liked the WWI bit, because in my headcanon wizards took part in it too, so that's why it was thrown in there.

You will find out more about him as Scorpius gets all macho and starts being scary and asking questions, so more will be found out, don't worry!

Thanks for another awesome review, Taylor!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #6, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Plans and Preparations

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hey Kiana!

Aww, I hate that Rashidi's not well - he's such a sweetheart but I can tell he's definitely suffering. And just as they're planning a way to get out of there, the man's on the other side waiting to stop it all, which really stinks for Scorpius. And now someone else is going back in time? I'd say it's probably Scorpius, since he's destined to kill the ancestor, but hey, I've been wrong before.

Haha, I love how confused everyone is upon finding out that the people they assumed were Muggles are actually wizards. It's so funny that both groups immediately assumed that the people they'd met were Muggles, and both of them were wrong. I really like Charlotte - and I'm wondering if she's somehow related to Molly, since they're just so similar. Or maybe that's just a coincidence. And George seems a little sketchy to me. What was he doing just wandering around on his own in the desert paying no attention to anything? That seems just a little strange.

Oh gosh, I can't wait to get Hermione into the midst of all this craziness. Who knows where that will lead, haha. And I like the little detail about Rose always being the better-behaved one. She always feels like she's in Hugo's shadow, yet Hugo kind of feels the same way, for different reasons. It's pretty funny actually that both of them have the same insecurities but never see it in the other sibling.

This is building up so fast, and I can't wait to see where it goes from here!

-ShadowRose (Tayolor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

No, he's not, and it's so sad to make him like this as I do really love him and it just breaks my heart really. Ooh a very good theory is what I shall now for as you've probably guessed by now I don't give that much away, but you will find out what happens shortly, so don't worry.

Bahahah, yes, it was quite funny to write that! Ooh, I never had anyone guess that Charlotte is relation of Molly's before, so I like that idea. All I say is she has a link to someone. George is just a bit of an idiot really, he never really has a clue what's going on :P

Yay for more craziness and more characters! I think it's kinda natural with siblings to always think your parents love your sibling more than they love you, it's just with Rose that problem goes a lot deeper which is what's so sad.

Thanks for another great review, Taylor! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #7, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: To Anywhere

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello again Kiana!

Haha, I had a feeling that the group of people Rose and Lorcan were with were wizards - if they're at all related to the unidentifiable man Scorpius is currently dealing with, which you've already hinted at, then they'd pretty much have to be magical. But now I really have to know whether or not the map works! It's not even the end of the chapter and you've already left a cliffhanger... that takes talent.

Oh, and now we're back with Scorpius and the mysterious man. My gosh, this foreshadowing is killing me! So Scorpius kills someone, but we don't know who, the mysterious man is stripped of something he was supposedly destined to have, but we don't know what, and somehow Scorpius goes back in time, but once again, we don't know how! Ack, there's so much coming up in the future chapters!

I also couldn't help but feel sorry for Scorpius towards the end - "The monster trait seemed to be a genetic thing in his family. It was as if he knew that this would always be his fate, leading that life." My heart just broke for him here - he's spent all his life trying to avoid being like his dad and grandfather, but is now destined to become exactly like them both, despite having a personality and character totally opposite to either of them. Poor guy.

This was another really entertaining chapter, and as usual, I'm on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happens next!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi again Taylor!

Yes, they were because if they were Muggles it would just be a little boring for them, and magic just makes everything even more exciting really! Aw, thank you! It also helps having POV changes, because then you could have a potential 3 cliff-hangers in one chapter, but that would have been a little too mean if I did that.

I'm sorry about the foreshadowing so please don't die! Yes, this is a very key thing, very, very, very, very key thing like remember this foreshadowing and then when a certain something happens you may be able to figure it out earlier than other people did. That's all I'll say on this subject for now...

I know, he really does need a hug, as he's so different from his family and just wants to love people and be nice and then he gets haunted by all their faults. Gah, it's so just so sad, I want to hug him so much right now!

Thanks for another great review, Taylor! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #8, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Wicker Lines

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Kiana!

Okay, so I was hoping that finally having a chapter from Scorpius's POV would explain who the voice belonged to and what on earth has happened. It did, to an extent, but I think I'm actually a bit more confused now than I was before. My gosh, be gentle on poor Scorpius! I feel defensive of him and I really don't like him being in pain - especially when it hurts his self-confidence as well! Poor Scorpius, thinking he's not brave enough...

I have to admit, I thought Rose and Lorcan had it bad, being 100 years in the past, but hey, at least the people they're with don't torture them. I'm a bit nervous for their fate though, because I feel like something bad's going to happen to them based on what the man talking to Scorpius said. Ack.

I really love the part from Hermione's POV. It's different than any of the other characters, but you really spotlight her insecurities and her worries - it's something you do anytime you're inside a character's head, and I feel like it really helps bring them to life. I feel bad that she feels like she's been a bad mother, because she really does know Rose well and definitely cares for her. I sense a bit of tension towards Scorpius though... I wonder how that one will pan out.

Overall, another great chapter - with every chapter, the tension gets even higher and this story gets even more addicting!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

I'm sorry about the confusion, but things with the voice, and the man, and the person who will later have a name tend to remain a bit confusing until you find out his name and then it all starts to make a little sense. Scorpius will be out of pain eventually, so it will all be ok.

Ha, yes, for once they actually have it better as these people are nice to them for now. Hmm, that is a good point to remember, but don't worry too much right now as it's a couple of chapters until things do start to happen.

Aw, I'm glad you liked her, as she crops up now and then from this chapter onwards. Her difficulties with Rose and Scorpius are followed up throughout this story and eventually they will be cleared up so don't worry too much.

Aw, thank you so much, you're so lovely, Taylor, because each of these reviews really are making me smile :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #9, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: A Kaleidoscope

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

It's probably a good thing that reviews are required to be 12+ because I am absolutely freaking out at the moment. OH MY GOSH. This is crazy. First of all, we still have no idea what's going on with Scorpius, and now Rose and Lorcan are 100 years back in time. You have a gift with suspense and mystery writing, because I'm almost literally sitting on the edge of my seat reading this.

The group of people - Charlotte, Anthony, David, and the others - seem okay enough, they seem nice and very characteristic of the twentieth century, but at the same time, I feel a little suspicious of them. Did they trap Lorcan and Rose on purpose or did they really just randomly stumble upon them in the middle of the desert? Part of me feels like maybe they were the ones to set up the building/trap. But then again, I'm unnecessarily suspicious of everything and everyone, so I can't really say I have any truth to my thoughts.

I'm so ridiculously excited to see how you tie this new time travel element into the story, because I get the feeling it'll be significant. Gahh, this is just so intense and I can't wait to see what happens next! It's only the fifth chapter and already the plot is so tangled and twisted - and I know there are only many more turns to come!

And, of course, there's still the question: WHERE THE HECK IS SCORPIUS???

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

Gah, I actually hate the fact they have to be 12+ in moments like these because I always have to go and and insert an M rated word here :p But anyhow, enough of that! I'm glad you liked the mystery and suspense though as it means so much to me, because dun, dun, dun they've gone to the past!

All I'll say for the group is that some are nice, but maybe be a little suspicious of them too, because that might be the best way to go about things like this. They have a sort of link to Rose and Lorcan but that's all I can say for now. There is some truth in your thoughts, don't worry!

Yay for that, because I did actually notice a drop in my readers after the time travel bit so I was like ahaha they hate me for it but it's great that you like it though! The time travel is very significant so keep that in mind.

SCORPIUS WILL BE BACK IN THE NEXT CHAPTER. I WILL PROMISE YOU THAT! Thanks for a fab review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #10, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Before the Storm

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

What?! Augh, that's such a suspenseful ending! I'm almost tempted to hold off reviewing just so I can figure out what happens next, but I'm harboring what little self control I might have and writing this review first.

This is such an exciting chapter! They're heading off to Acanthus with the whole gang, and we finally hear Scorpius say something about Rose! I love how direct Lorcan is - it's such a fun part of his character, and I find uncomfortable Scorpius really funny (although he's almost always uncomfortable around people so I guess I just find that amusing in general).

As I've said before, I absolutely love your descriptions. The desert is set up so perfectly and I can really picture the whole setting clearly - until the end of course, because everything's a mystery, so I like that you didn't really hover on all of the descriptions there.

Speaking of the end, MY GOSH. This has gotten so intense all of a sudden, and I was freaking out as I was reading this. The building itself was already a little sketchy since it popped up in the middle of nowhere, but what happened after was even crazier. I NEED to know what happened, and most importantly - who that voice belongs to!

Overall, great chapter, and I'm going to be quick about finishing up because I have to know what happens next ASAP!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor! Muahhahaha, this is the start of something, but what something is the question so I'm glad you enjoyed the suspense :P

Erm, yes, exciting is probably the best word for it, but what I would also say is really enjoy this chapter while you have it because all might not be the same again. I'm glad you liked Lorcan as he carries on in this story right until the end!

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it, because a desert is such a fun place to set a story because they always seem so magical with all the tales and legends which go on there so it was so much fun writing one!

Intense is the best work for it and freaking out is probably a good reaction is all I'll say for now really :P You will find out a ton more about the voice later on so don't worry about that!

Thanks for a great review, it really did make my day! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #11, by ShadowRoseWho Killed Lucy?: Ruptures and Punctures

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Nadia! I figured I'd swing by and review a thing or two of yours!

OK DANG IT THIS IS 500 WORDS I SHOULD NOT BE CRYING AFTER ONLY 500 WORDS.

This was such a short, punctuated story, but it's filled with so many emotions oh my gosh. I'm entirely in awe. In just a short 500 words, you've managed to capture so much pain and hurt in the hearts of all three Weasley members, and you've made it so real and so heartbreaking that yeah, I may have cried. Oops.

I really love the choppy structure of this story, particularly at the beginning, when the grief is the strongest. It makes everything so raw and sharp, which is why I think the emotions show so strongly in this story.

This was only 500 words, but feels like 500 pages of emotion. Once again, MY GOSH. I'm just in awe.

Anyway, this was absolutely stunning and just so, so heartbreaking. You captured the intensity of the situation fantastically and I'm just in awe. I think I've said that already.

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

 Report Review

Review #12, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: The Tale of Acanthus

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Ahhh, Scorpius point-of-view! Yay! I love hearing from different characters! Plus, I think this really adds to Scorpius's character, since we get to see his character and his insecurities well, as well as see Rose through someone else's eyes. For a girl who feels like she's never good enough, Scorpius sure is impressed with her social skills. I like how you've thrown in a detail from his point-of-view (Rose's behavior whenever her family is brought up), that the reader knows more about than the character does - those kind of situations always make me smile to myself, although that's probably just the book nerd in me, haha. It's funny that despite being a curse breaker, he's the one less inclined to go after Acanthus. I guess it goes to show that they both have different kinds of courage.

It's nice that Rose is getting what she wants, and gets to go on this journey to Acanthus, regardless of whatever she does (or doesn't) end up finding. Plus, Scorpius and Dalila will be there too, so that'll be fun. I really can't wait to see how this story progresses - you've just brought in this huge plot point, and I can't wait to see how you develop it as the story goes on!

Another really great chapter - I'm so excited to see what the next one brings!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Yay, hi Taylor!

Whoo, I'm glad you liked Scorpius as you do get a lot more of him throughout the story. I really enjoyed writing him for those exact reasons you listed as it just gives the story a broader perspective and I always tend to get a little bored when reading or writing from just one perspective so throwing his in was a lot more fun. Haha, yes, I think with Scorpius he's always naturally reluctant and will always wait around before deciding on things so that's why.

Erm, yes, be wary about associating happy things with Acanthus shall we say? It might not be the best idea just yet so just watch and wait really. :P

Thank you for another great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #13, by ShadowRoseAnamnesis: Anamnesis

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay, Sian, before I get started, let me say this. Never, EVER, did I think I would ever sympathize with Pansy Parkinson. She seemed stuck up and annoying - just like so many other Purebloods at Hogwarts. I never really thought much of her, only that she'd rather protect her own skin than take down Voldemort, as she proved at the Final Battle. Never did I think that she could be such a tragic character with such a twisted and horrifying backstory that makes any of her behaviors seem totally justifiable. But you do exactly that. Pansy becomes such a dynamic character, and I find myself understanding why she does what she does and even pitying her. All she wants throughout her life is to be loved and to be accepted, and she never gets that. She gets shuffled from place to place and mistreated constantly, that it's a wonder she manages to hold up such a great facade at Hogwarts.

I love the second person this you've got going as well. Writing in second person is really something of an art, but you do it so well, and it really places the reader in Pansy's shoes, which is, I think, part of the reason that she's so relatable. I also really like that you've included the whole "flower of remembrance" theme here - it's just this little detail that adds so much to the story.

Just, wow. This story was amazing, heartbreaking, and just overall stunning. Keep up the excellent work!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

P.S.: I'd really love to podcast this story, if you're ok with it! :)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

You know, Pansy didn't seem like the sort of person I could sympathise with either until I got the idea for this story and suddenly she had this really tragic life :P I'm not sure that any of it could actually tie in with canon but I'm glad that you thought it helped to justify what she did during the books, and why she became the person that she was.

I'm really glad you liked the second person, too! I surprised myself by how much I enjoy writing it and it's great that it worked here to help the reader empathise with Pansy more. The flower of remembrance detail wasn't something I knew beforehand, but once I found it out I just had to use it for the story!

Thank you so much for this lovely review, Taylor, and I'd be delighted for you to podcast the story if you still wanted to! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Souks and Surprises

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hey Kiana - I'm back again!

Before I say anything else, I just wanna say that I really love your description style (I don't know if that's actually a thing, but I'm making it a thing). You give a ton of really great detail, but never overdo it, and you don't hang on the description when there are more important things that tie into the plot going on. It makes your writing so much fun to read!

YAY - I have to say that I'm really excited that Rose and Scorpius are friends! I feel like they always start off hating each other, so it's definitely a breath of fresh air to see that they're already friendly with one another - I love anything that breaks out of the traditional cliches. Plus, Scorpius as a character seems great. While we don't see a ton of him in this chapter, it looks like he's a really down-to-earth and sweet guy so far - which, once again, is really refreshing. I've used that phrase (or a similar one) way too many times in my reviews of these past two chapters, but it really is true - this story's definitely very different from a lot of other stories I've read, and that's a really great thing!

And I love that you've already thrown in a hint about Rose having feelings for Scorpius, even if she doesn't quite know it yet. Also, I think I like Dalila so far - she seems pretty sweet, but at the same time, I feel like she's hiding something - maybe it's just her shyness though and I'm just being overly suspicious haha. Oh well, I guess only time will tell!

Once again, I really enjoyed this chapter, and can't wait to see what happens next!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Yay, hi again Taylor!

Haha, I'm not sure if it is a thing but maybe we can make it a thing :P Thank you so much though because this was the first story where I actually decided to pay attention to description and make it happen rather than it be a fleeting thought so it means so much to me you liked it!

Yay, they are and perhaps maybe more than that later ;) Yes, I used to be a massive fan of them hating one another but I grew bored of it easily, and I just love them being together so this way it can be done quicker and there's less shouting which is always good. Don't worry, I haven't noticed you using that phrase, so it's nothing to worry about, but it means so much to me that you do think that because I thought everyone would hate me for turning next gen into this :P

Aw, poor Dalila! Everyone always suspects her when she really does do nothing, she is just shy, so don't worry about her, just embrace her and you'll be fine!

Thanks again for another fab review, Taylor! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #15, by ShadowRoseAcanthus: Spectrum

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Kiana! I've actually been meaning to read and review this story for ages, and now that the House Cup is here, I have a great excuse to finally do it!

I really love the direction you've take Rose here - so often she's the golden girl of the Weasley family who gets all the attention, so it's refreshing to see that she's more of a background Weasley, well, for now at least. But gosh, that sure is a lot to live up to, especially with Hugo being a child genius, for goodness sakes! But she's such a relatable character as well - she's so driven and motivated but still never really gets her chance in the spotlight. I also like your character of Molly - I've never really thought of there being a Squib in the Weasley family, but it's actually very realistic and makes her different than all the other Mollys in next-gen stories.

I really love the premise for this story - the magical perfume industry in Egypt? That's so unique! And, of course, since that's hardly the center of the story, I'm so excited to hear about this famed city of Acanthus as well. Plus, I can't wait to see how you portray Scorpius as well - if he's anything like your portrayal of Rose, he'll be another really refreshing and interesting character!

Also, random note - I absolutely love your detail of a middle-aged Ginny with a mild obsession with alcohol and partying with the younger generation. It made me giggle as I was reading and picturing Ginny going absolutely nuts. :P

Anyways, this was such a great first chapter and it makes me so, so excited to keep on reading!

-Taylor (ShadowRose)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor, aw, thank you so much for all those lovely reviews you left me, they were such a nice surprise so just thank you so much for them! ♥

Yes, Rose is definitely different here to how she usually is but I've already sort of done that interpretation of her in another story so I really wanted to explore a different side to her where she's perhaps the weakest of all of the Weasleys. Aw, Molly! I hate to say it but she doesn't feature in this story much more than that which is a little sad as I did like her little cameo, but I just couldn't fit her in.

Yay, I'm so glad that you're excited for it and I hope it all lives up to your expectations because it definitely was a lot of fun writing about the wizarding world in another culture. And I hope Scorpius lives up to your expectations too after reading that :P

Haha, yes, in my head canon she can never lose her party animal side and will hold onto it forever and ever so I'm glad you liked it too!

Thanks for a great review, and I hope you enjoy the rest of it! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #16, by ShadowRoseJourney to the Centre of (Mollyís) World in (Less than) 80 Days: Take It Easy

16th March 2014:
Hello again!

So I don't quite know what you're talking about when you say this chapter wasn't funny, because I thought it was really hilarious!

Poor Heath, breaking his arm and then passing out in front of Molly. I felt bad for him as he tried to be manly but was almost beaten at that by Molly, who's trained in all these situations and remained perfectly calm about everything while Heath is freaking out. I love how this kind of flips the cliche - usually the guy rescues the girl, whereas here it's pretty much the exact opposite.

I love Molly and Heath's banter, since it's gotten a lot friendlier as the story has progressed. They have totally different personalities, yet they get along so well and play off of one another perfectly.

When Heath asked "what's worse than dying," I wanted noting more than for Hermione to pop out and say "expelled!" because that scene came into my mind and I couldn't get it to go away. Of course, it's probably a good thing that didn't happen, because it really wouldn't have fit with the story, but it stuck in my mind nonetheless.

Of course, my favourite line hands down was "If you Americans hadn't thrown yours in the harbour, you'd know." That was so perfect and Molly's just so sassy and smart, and it's just really great.

I've really enjoyed reading this so far, and I hope you update it soon, as I'll have to come back for the next chapter!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 20/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it funny!

I loved writing Heath at the beginning of this chapter. He's just trying to maintain his reputation, but Molly just doesn't have time for that kind of stuff. She's too efficient by half :P I couldn't really see the "typical" scenario happening, simply because the main reason Molly is along is for stuff like this. She's trained. He isn't.

The banter was a lot friendlier in this one! I was worried about progressing their relationship too fast, but there's going to be plenty of opportunities for antagonism! *cackles evilly*

Writing that scene where Heath asks what's worse than dying, I actually wrote down Hermione instead of Molly in my first draft - the importance of editing!

Molly is just lovely to write. She's everything I aspire to be in terms of sass. If only I could say some of the things she says...

Thanks so much for the reviews! And congratulations for winning the Blackout Battle!


 Report Review

Review #17, by ShadowRoseJourney to the Centre of (Mollyís) World in (Less than) 80 Days: Uncharted

16th March 2014:
And I'm back again for another chapter!

I completely sympathise with Molly in the start of this chapter. People who are running late are absolutely the death of me, and even more so when they're in their own house! Well, at least she got to appreciate Raj's off-key singing while she waited. :P he's adorable and I really like him - I know they're leaving and all but I really hope he still shows up later in the story. "Raj the wannabe soprano" - that's great.

It's good that Molly at least recognises that Heath doesn't deserve the anger she's directed at him, but can't help but dislike him nonetheless. I still can't believe they had to go through training camp in a skirt and heels - I definitely wouldn't have enough grace for that!

Their tour guide is so weird, but so entertaining. He seems a bit like Trelawney, but replacing all of her phrases about death and despair with words like "rad" and "awesome." I feel so embarrassed for Molly, having this strange guy talk about her "aura" as she's surrounded by other people, and even bringing up her partner in this journey, which I'm assuming is a reference to Heath, in both the travel way and ... maybe something more?

This method of travel is really strange, and I have the feeling that because they said, "what else could go wrong," they'll end up in Antarctica or something completely off the wall like that. Oh well, I guess I'll have to wait for the next chapter to find out!

This was another really great chapter, and I'm looking forward to reading the next one!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 19/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: Back again! *throws confetti*

I hate late people too! Once or twice is understandable, but you know the people who are late all the time - one of the reasons I go insane. Raj is adorable. He's such a dork sometimes. I don't really know if we'll get to see him again here - the chances are very high, though! I love him too much to abandon him.

Her dislike stems from the fact that they're still practically strangers. They just don't know each other. However time will tell if she ever gets over her dislike for him... I don't know how she managed to navigate an obstacle course in a short skirt and heels. She's obviously top Auror material!

Haha! I'd never really thought of Socks and Sandals like Trelawney, but now that you mention it, I can see the similarities. He'd be like her happier hippie twin or something! I'd be pretty embarrassed with someone talking about my aura too. She handles herself well though, in typical Molly style. And we'll just have to wait and see if Heath ever becomes something more than a travel buddy... It's early days yet :P

Whenever someone says "what could possibly go wrong?" Always expect the world to end. Molly seems to have the right idea with being a little distrustful of the rocks. I'd run screaming in the opposite direction personally.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by ShadowRoseJourney to the Centre of (Mollyís) World in (Less than) 80 Days: Counting Stars

16th March 2014:
Hello! I'm back again for chapter 2!

I love the switch in point-of-view - I wasn't expecting it, but it's great to see the story from a second pair of eyes. I do like Heath as well, he seems similar to Molly, in that they're both in the pursuit of happiness, but they've also got some different traits as well. I feel like Heath is much better at adapting to situations and taking life as it comes, and Molly's a little better with self-control. This trip should be good for them - maybe they'll rub off on one another.

I still really like Molly - she's definitely a powerful force and she's got a lot of passion and fire, but she also knows that maybe Dennis Creevey isn't the best person to fight with on the matter.

Speaking of which, your characterization of Dennis Creevey is probably the best thing ever. He was such a tiny little thing in the series, so the fact that he grew up into a monstrous man with a voice that resembles an avalanche is just too funny. I can definitely see why both Molly and Heath were intimidated by him, though.

Raj is a great character too - he cracks me up! He's got a bit of a motherly streak, but he also let's Heath make some of his own mistakes - although I guess in this case there wasn't too much of a mistake since Heath ended up finishing his article.

Overall, another really great chapter and I enjoyed reading it!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 18/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: Woohoo! Chapter two!

I try to try something different with each WIP I write, and switching POVs every chapter was one of those things for this one. I'm glad you thought it worked - and also that it was unexpected. I'm not really used to writing "unexpected" things! You're right in saying that Heat and Molly come from the same sort of place, but yes, they do go about it in different ways. It makes for an interesting dynamic, for sure.

Haha! Maybe Molly doesn't realise how tactful she can be - backing off from a fight with Dennis Creevey seemed like a pretty tactful move to me!

Puberty is funny like that. I really wanted t write Dennis in a way that we might not expect to see him. It made sense that he'd go into the Auror office, and enough time has passed that it was plausible that he was in charge of training new Aurors. Making him a talking mountain was just too good an opportunity to pass up!

Raj probably has a little story to tell, I think. He's been surprisingly popular, and so there's an idea or two floating around in my head now!

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #19, by ShadowRoseJourney to the Centre of (Mollyís) World in (Less than) 80 Days: King of Anything

16th March 2014:
Hi! This story caught my eye so I figured is swing by and review it for Blackout Battle!

I really like that this story is Molly II-centric. Of all the next-gen characters, I feel like she's the least written about, but she has so much potential. I really love how you've written her too - she doesn't want to fall into that rut of a "perfect life" and wants to experience life fully instead of going through it checking off little tasks along the way, when if that means breaking out of the shell she's lived in for her whole life. She's also emotional and emphatic, which definitely shows she's inherited something from her mother, but she's not always tactful, as illustrated by the dinner, which really makes her a believable character who's fun to read about. She's by no means perfect, and that's what makes her so great.

I'm go glad she got away from her boyfriend - he sounds like a bore! Actually, he sounds a bit like a pre-Deathly Hallows Percy (read, pompous and obnoxious), but I guess they equate to the same thing! Her parents are great too - they're still obsessed with this idea of Molly having a "perfect life," but at least Percy's a little more laid back about it, which shows he's changed a bit for the better since the series ended. I also love the little tidbit about them eloping - it's so funny and completely against Percy's personality, which makes it so much better! I'd love to see a story about that *hint hint one-shot maybe?*. Also, you win for best last name -
Paisley-Bumbershuffle is hilarious!

I think you've incorporated the quite really well into this story - it's definitely a strong theme in this chapter, and I think it makes a great point about Molly needing to love herself and follow her heart.

I'm excited to see where this story goes - it's off to a great start!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 17/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: Hello!

She really is not written that often, and I find that really strange because being Percy's daughter allows you to take her in so many different directions. I wanted to write her as "normal", which is a refreshing change from my other OCs. She has normal pressures to succeed and be a certain way, and she doesn't want that. And I loved writing that dinner scene! She doesn't quite realise how much like her mother she can be, and her tactlessness is almost definitely from Percy! It's kind of scary how much like our parents we can be!

Her boyfriend is a bore. And yeah, he is a lot like Percy pre-Deathly Hallows. Definitely another reason to get away from him! Percy and Audrey are a lot of fun to write, because is think they're a lot like other parents who want the best for their child but things get lost in translation between parent and child. And there's definitely a story in Percy and Audrey's past! Maybe someday...

Thanks so much for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by ShadowRoseTraitorous Hearts: The Stolen Truth

16th March 2014:
Hello!

Oh gosh, I think this chapter is my favourite so far. We see such a different side of Astoria - she loses her calm, cool, collected demeanour, and finally lets her emotions show. It really speaks volumes about her character in that the only time she really gets emotional is when talking about her family. When her father comes up in conversation, her reaction is so beautifully strong, and it really shows how Astoria is struggling with h er father's condition.

I still really like your portrayal of Draco, as bad of a person as he may be. Like Astoria, he's remarkably good at reading people, and knows exactly how to find Astoria's weak spot. He's a bit ruthless, but there's also a hint of something else there - a touch of sympathy maybe? Let's just hope that stays there with all that he's just found out. I really love the detail of Draco being a Legilimens, because it's something I don't think I've ever seen anyone else do before, but it certainly seems like something the Dark Lord would require of his interrogators.

What a cruel twist of fate, that the Weasleys were spied on by a twisted version of their own invention. I love that little detail that ends up incriminating Astoria, because I think there's a whole lot of irony in that.

There are little buds, mostly on Draco's side, of some sort of attraction, and I can only hope that that'll develop more as the story goes along. Regardless, thats about the only way Astoria will be saved from being reported to the Dark Lord - if Draco somehow finds his heart in all of this.

I've absolutely adored reading this story so far. You've created such an intricate storyline in only five chapters, and I can't wait to see where it goes from here!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 16/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: Hey Taylor!

Oh! I'm so excited that you enjoyed the chapter :D

I really do love the section where Astoria sort of loses it. It was fun to have a small break in the midst of all that tension. You're absolutely correct--it says a lot about Astoria that the only thing that can make her show vulnerability is her family. They are a really big driving force for her actions.

Draco's definitely ruthless--much like Astoria. But she, at least, definitely has a softer side, even if it's fairly well hidden. As for his sympathy, there does seem to be a touch of it there. Whether that actually has an effect on his actions at this point, well...I suppose the next chapter would tell that. I'm glad you liked the Legilimency detail. I figured that we knew that Draco was particularly good at Occlumency, so it made sense that he would have learned how to read minds as well. And it really would be a pretty key piece of criteria for a Death Eater interrogator.

Yep. The Extendable Ear bit was kind of cruelly ironic, huh? I guess I have a fairly dark sense of humor, because I did like that little ring of irony. It's sad. But hey, the twins really made it! Even Voldemort appreciates their craftmanship.
...Not an endorsement that you'd include in the brochure? Well, fair enough.

Buds of attraction are definitely there, particularly for Draco, as you say. But will those buds come to fruition IS the question. As far as that goes, well, a large part of that question might be answered in the new chapter, which is up now, if you're interested.

Thank you so much for reading, and for your sweet, thoughtful reviews. I really appreciate hearing what you have to say about the story, and the time you've taken to write thorough responses! Thanks again!

--Penny



 Report Review

Review #21, by ShadowRoseTraitorous Hearts: The Malediction Perfidious

16th March 2014:
Hi Penelope!

I've actually noticed as I've been reading that you actually switch up your writing style a little bit as you write - your flashbacks, which aren't all that tense, have a more flowing style, while the present conversation with Draco has a shorter, choppier style. It's actually really great because it captures the current mood of each situation and helps the reader feel the environment of the story.

The way Draco's written in this story is great - he's constantly acting like he's so far above Astoria, because he's a Death Eater and older than her, and so acts in a way to make her feel smaller. For example, when he's commenting on his Dark Mark, and you compare him to an old man, and then he makes the "hideous" comment, both of which make it seem like he's trying to sound so much older and wiser than he is. But Astoria knows how to stand her own and combat that, as shown in her comment at the end of that section "I'd not concern yourself with it. We all have scars, Mr. Malfoy."

I can't believe that Astoria's mother would put a curse that horrible on her own daughter - but I guess in the secret business one must do anything to keep their identity a secret. I definitely see where her conflicted feelings stem from - her mother's always been so close to her, but yet, her mother pit this horrible curse on her as well.

Gosh, and I really love how you've written Ginny. She's strong-willed and powerful, but also caring. She's smart enough to communicate secretly, and I love the fact that she's sneaking WWW products into the school - carrying on the Weasley tradition now that she's the only one of ten left at Hogwarts.

This was another really great chapter, and I really enjoyed reading it!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 15/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: Hey Taylor!

Working on answering all these! Sorry it's taken me so long. I've never had so many reviews--the blackout bingo left me with several, and my computer had been broken, so when I finally got it fixed I checked my review count and was just like, woah! And I was also working on finishing the edits for chapter 6, which I just put in the queue last night. But please forgive me for taking so long in answering your lovely reviews. I really, truly appreciate them!

Oh hey! I've definitely been trying to create different moods for the different parts of the story. I don't think I ever consciously adjusted the structure, but I did try to create a different feeling with the way I wrote, and I'm really, really excited that that has apparently come across!

You're absolutely right about Draco. He does try to project a more mature, worldly persona. And, to a certain extent, it's real. He has been through more than most people his age. In truth, he's seen more horrors than Astoria. But she holds her own, too, as you point out, because she's been through far more than he knows. And you're right--she definitely uses that comment, and her own sort of jadedness, to beat him at his own game.

I was sort of nervous when writing the bit about Lavinia's curse. I was surprised by how much readers took to her character, and was like, "Oh boy..." because I knew this was coming. However, she's a complicated woman, for sure. And she didn't do anything without reasons. Of course, there's always the possibility that it wasn't Lavinia at all. Astoria thinks it was. It looks like it was. But I won't make any promises. Basically, I'm trying to say it's good that you're considering the various possible background factors, because whether or not she did it, and if she did, why--well, those facts could all make a big difference, couldn't they? But you're right about how it's made Astoria feel. The important thing right now is the truth as she knows and suspects it, and she's been betrayed. That definitely makes her feel very conflicted in regards to Lavinia, which is hard because, as you say, she looked up to her mother so much.

Yay! Thank you! I love Ginny, and I really wanted to get her right here. I'm glad that you liked how she came across.

Thanks so much for your kind words. I really enjoy hearing your thoughts on the story!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #22, by ShadowRoseTraitorous Hearts: A Dangerous Revelation

15th March 2014:
Hello, I'm back again!

Astoria's definitely got a lot to deal with - what with Draco interviewing her heavily in order to clear her whole family. That's a whole lot of pressure on her shoulders, but I feel like she'll at least be able to handle herself and come up with relatively decent answers, despite her "traitorous" behaviors.

I like how you've portrayed Ginny here - you've certainly captured her personality in that seventh book, showing how much she's hardened because of the war. She's definitely suspicious of Astoria, and she has absolutely no reason not to. But she's got a level head on her shoulders and is much more willing to listen than most people, but still thinks through the proposition before making any action, which shows that she definitely knows what she's doing. Props for Astoria for knowing who to go to.

This is another great chapter - I love learning more about Astoria and I think you're doing a wonderful job writing her!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 14/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a lot of fun writing Ginny. And that spin on her--how she's hardened by her circumstances--was something I really wanted to capture. It means a lot that you think I did!

Plus, writing those two together is just so fun!

Thank you again!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #23, by ShadowRoseTraitorous Hearts: The Lady of Greengrass Hall

15th March 2014:
Hi, I'm back again for the next chapter!

I really love Lavinia's backstory that you have going here. She's definitely a woman that seems stuck in her situation, with the pureblood descent and expectations that she stay in the house and not get involved in the workforce, but she makes the most out of it and guarantees that she is still doing something useful, despite her position. And she proves to be very good at it, too. I'd be intrigued to know who killed her and why they wanted to do so - she certainly would have a lot of enemies, but I'd love to know exactly why.

Astoria continues to be a great character as well - she's so sneaky and doesn't show much of herself to Draco, as she should. She's great at keeping a secret and putting up a front, much like her mother did. She keeps her own interests at heart, but doesn't like to let people know what she's thinking either - she's definitely a closed book. She's such a strong character, and I really like her so far.

I really like the combination of both points of view - it really shows just how much Astoria is like her mother since they're presented side by side. I love how loyal Astoria is too, in that she's turning agains the Death Eaters because of what happened to her mother - I can't wait to see exactly how that turns out.

This was another really enjoyable chapter - great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 13/20 on opposite house)

Author's Response: Yay! I really enjoy seeing Lavinia get some love. I'm surprised by how much people have taken to her. I'm glad that people have been able to sympathize with her, even though she was on the wrong side. Would you like to know who killed her? Hmmm...perhaps you shall. ;)

I'm also glad that you like Astoria, even though she is a "closed book". That's been one of the harder parts about writing this story--coming up with a way to make Astoria complicated and likable, despite the fact that, what with all her secret keeping, it takes a while to learn much about her.

Astoria is VERY loyal to family. It's a motivating factor for her in most of her decisions, for sure. And she is very like her mother. Lavinia groomed her for that. But it's also good to think about how she's different, as the story goes on. Astoria's spent a long time trying to live up to her mother's example. Can she find it within herself to do something different?

Thanks for the R&R and your kind words! It's very encouraging!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #24, by ShadowRoseTraitorous Hearts: An Unwelcome Visitor

15th March 2014:
Hello Penelope! I've been meaning to check out something of yours, and this Blackout Bingo seems like the perfect opportunity for that!

I really love that you've started this story with a flashback, because it really helps set the scene and show some influences on Astoria's life before we even meet Astoria herself. Her mother seems like an interesting character, so now I'm intrigued to know what happened to her, the incident Astoria refers to throughout the chapter.

I like Astoria's character - she's very attentive to detail and manipulative when she needs to be, but she also has a softer side that she hides as well, like her conflicting opinion of the Death Eaters and her natural kindness to Filly that she has to repress in front of Draco. I really love the line "As far as she was concerned, it was green for Greengrass--that was where her loyalties lay. The rest of it could go straight to -," because it clearly shows her values, which are her family above anything else.

I also like your portrayal of Draco. You've showed how his Death Eater activities have taken a toll on him through physical description but through his dialogue he's definitely trying to maintain a semblance of coolness and cynicism known for the Death Eaters, and more specifically, the Malfoys. I'm actually really intrigued to know what he's hiding - obviously there's something big that he's trying to hide, since he had to set up this formal meeting.

I also really like your writing style - it's very detailed and shows clear thoughts on both your part and Astoria's, and the reader can really picture the scene fully. And with a plot as intriguing as this one is shaping up to be, that's definitely something I'm grateful for.

Overall, this was a really great start and I'm excited to see where you godwits this story - it already has so much potential!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 12/20 for opposite house)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor! I'm really glad that you stopped by to check out Traitorous Hearts!

I'm really glad that you like the opening flashback. I was really nervous about that when I posted the chapter, because I hadn't tried anything like it before, but the past is very important to this story, so it seemed like a good place to begin.

You've really caught on to a lot of Astoria's character traits in the first chapter. Maybe more than anyone else, at least from what I've seen in reviews. Bravo! And I'm glad you like how Draco is portrayed here. If you keep reading, you'll definitely see some cracks in his plaster. Everyone's got weaknesses, and everyone has secrets.

Thank you very much! You're very kind.

I really appreciate your taking time to Read and Review. Thanks!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #25, by ShadowRoseThe Sea Serpent of Cromer : End

15th March 2014:
Hi, I'm back again for this last chapter!

I really love the historical excerpts you've included in this whole story, because I feel like it gives so much more factual basis to the story (even though it is fiction of course) and firmly roots it in magical history by providing all of this context.

This chapter in particular features much more conversation with the children than the previous ones have, which provides a great deal of information about the current scenario. It's horrible that the childrens' parents were killed, but at least they show a greater sympathy for Muggles than the Gaunts did, despite past relations. Plus, this allows Flamel to provide so much more wisdom, which is fitting since he's seen so much of the world.

The conclusion to the story itself was dramatic yet straight-forward, but the part that came after was definitely my favourite. I love how all these different plot points begin to connect to show just how involved this whole plot was, and prove that history is rarely ever exactly the way it's portrayed in the books. There's always something no one's telling us.

I really like the conversation between Perenelle and Nicholas, because it shows the combined wisdom between the two of them. I also love that they switch between English and French as they speak, in order to best express themselves. I love when fluent people do that, it's so entertaining.

Finally, I love the parallel at the end, when the children, fully grown, are standing in the same place Flamel once stood, and everything's changed, yet they still have a deep appreciation for their grandfather and all of the things that he did.

Overall, this was just a joy to read and have such a great insight into a little tidbit of magical history. Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review 11/20 for opposite house)

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

I'm glad you like the historical parts! I had fun incorporating them into the story and imagining how the Muggle and wizarding worlds might intersect.

Yes, I was saving it a little bit for the end. I know, I feel so sorry for them, and I imagine it was a typical situation for so many families during the war. :( And yes, it gave Flamel a reason for being there and needing to distract them with the old story and help them forget about their parents for a little while.

I'm glad you liked the ending! It was one of my favourite parts as well, and I wanted to play with how the act itself wasn't the most colourful part of the story, but all the things that went on behind the scenes. The whole thing kind of being rigged and planned was definitely something that the historians wouldn't know about, so I enjoyed putting that into the story.

I'm pleased you liked Nellie and Flamel! :) They seemed cute in my head-canon, I'm quite impressed they've been married for all these years yet still aren't sick of one another. And the French was fun to write!

I'm so glad you liked this - thank you so much for all the reviews! It was really wonderful to get your thoughtful feedback on the story. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>