Reading Reviews From Member: Phoenix Quill
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Phoenix QuillA Werewolf's Revenge: A Werewolf's Revenge

1st February 2014:
Hey, Haronione, I'm here with your prize - a review!
This was a good story for such a short one - it painted the fear of a mother who has found out that the things that go bump in the night actually exist, and that they could get her or her son at any time. I liked how you made her more concerned for Remus than herself - a truly selfless mother.
My only complaint was that it was so short. I love a long story, and I would like to see another chapter about the struggle of waiting to see whether Remus would survive, and then if he would turn. I'm not demanding it or anything, but I reckon it'd be cool.
Apart from that, great little story!
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D

Author's Response: Hi Phoenix Quill, thank you for the great review :)

I found this story quite hard to write in such a small word count - I am usually a long-winded, rambling type of girl ;) so to fit it into the requisite word count of 500 was hard! I'm glad you liked it though, despite the shortness of it.

I'm glad you liked that Hope was more concerned about Remus than herself - I thought how I would feel if there was a werewolf on the loose that had recently killed 2 children, and I would definitely be more worried about my child than myself! After reading this review and thinking about how she would have felt after the attack, I am now really contemplating writing about the aftermath and how Hope would have felt :) thanks for the encouragement on that! Watch this space ;)

Thanks again for reviewing

Haronione ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by Phoenix QuillRadio War: I, Ciara Jordan

1st February 2014:
Hey s2rocks, it's me, Phoenix Quill! Sorry it took so long to get these reviews to you, and since you didn't specify, I picked a random story of yours, and this was it.
And boy am I glad it was this one.
I really like the idea behind the story so far - a girl struggling to achieve her dream works in a job with a creep, and is lining up a big interview. I also liked how you showed us a bit of background into her Hogwarts life.
There are a few errors scattered around, but nothing too major, except for one "hsi" around the middle.
Overall, an enjoyable read, and I can't wait to see what happens in later chapters!
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Phoenix QuillAllergic to Fun: Invitations and Unwanted Interventions

23rd September 2013:
Hi Haronione! Here with your review!

Wow, this is really good! I can definitely imagine Lily as being the one who crazily revises despite being super intelligent anyway, and the whole 'worried about Transfig, friend gets James to tutor her' setup is a good one to explain the sudden transformation from hatred to love between the two.

There isn't actually much for me to nitpick in here, which makes me quite happy! I didn't notice any errors, although I am prone to missing that sort of thing. Just one small thing, you said that Allison, Clare and Lucinda ran over to Lily, and Clare was never mentioned again. I don't know if she's just not talkative or if you've forgotten her. If you're going to put a name in there, please make her do something, even if it's just "Clare smiled tiredly at Lucinda's antics and left." Just something to give her a reason to be there.

Overall, a great beginning chapter and a good start for what I expect will be a fantastic short story!

Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D

Author's Response: Hi Phoenix Quill :) thank you so much for the lovely review!

I am glad you enjoyed it and thought it was a good opening chapter. Also, it's encouraging to hear that you like the tutoring plot line - I'm going to have a lot of fun with it :D so I hope you enjoy reading it!

I see what you mean about Clara. She does say one line about Sirius looking pleased, but I am going to edit to add her in a bit more. She is quite a shy, quiet character but I agree with what you said so will revise it.

Thank you for setting the challenge and for the story title that inspired me to write this :) I hope the rest of the story lives up to the expectations!!

Thanks again for the great review :D

Haronione ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Phoenix QuillWaging war: Waging War of Tonks Lupin

13th August 2013:
Hello, since SunnyWitch isn't getting around to reviewing this, I thought I would!
I found this to be a great match to the given title, as Tonks seems to be up against something her entire life, whether it's her extended family, the love of her life being obstinate, the Death Eaters or even her own name. Your characterisation was fantastic, for Sirius, Remus, Tonks and Bellatrix. I found it captured perfectly the personalities that are so unique to them.
Now, for the nitpicking.
There were a few grammatical errors, such as forgetting a 'the' in 'the Order of the Phoenix', and the sudden italics slightly confused me. If you're going to use italics for a flashback, please use it for all the flashbacks, otherwise you get confused as to what is a flashback and what is not.
The story itself was excellent, and the flashbacks were a really nice touch, almost a life flashing before your eyes sort of thing. I also liked that you made it Bellatrix that killed Tonks, because it was only ever hinted, and in the movie version it wasn't stated at all, but I do believe that Bellatrix would gladly kill her niece purely because a) she's a halfblood, b) she was involved with Remus Lupin and c) she was a member of the Order of the Phoenix. Also, Bellatrix is crazy. That stands as a reason in its own right.
I can't wait for more of this (unless the W.I.P. was a lie *gasp*)!
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, I was actually waiting for your review :)
I am really happy that you liked this. I had matched your challenge with the LilyLou's one and had got Tonks as the character to write and think of my surprise when I got the waging war in yours. I mixed them together.


There are some mistakes and I am quite new to writing one-shots and having some little problems. The sudden italics were to show that it was a nested flashback, means another flashback in the existing one. I am sorry I am rambling, I used the comp. programming term :)

I always thought that Bella killed Tonks in the war as she was after her blood and that's why I chose do it. Bella had said she wanted to kill her niece by her own hands.

Sorry, it's complete. That W.I.P was the default as when I had posted the chapter and was waiting to validate, it got rejected as I forgot to select the strong violence and it was pulled to Wip. I have changed it.

Thanks for the review :)



 Report Review

Review #5, by Phoenix QuillFreeze: Frigida

12th July 2013:
This is a really good story so far! I have a prediction, but won't say it, so I don't spoil it for people who haven't figured it out. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks! A prediction, huh? Well, there are a few secrets that will be revealed in the upcoming chapters so wait and watch! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: Enemies

23rd March 2013:
Hey SunnyWitch,
SPACING EURGH I HATE IT WHEN THIS HAPPENS. UGH ARGH YEGH!
Otherwise, pretty good chapter. Apart from it being very depressing. Like almost every chapter since Chapter Five.
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D
P.S. JALLOW RETURNS?!?!?!?! THIS IS MARVELOUS! THANK YOU!

Author's Response: Hey again!
Is it doing that again? I'll go and fix it up.
ARGH!
Thank you. Depressing writing is now my thing. At least for now.
It will get better. Probably.
Cheers, SW.
PS: It is amazing! I be so happy!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Phoenix QuillBeing Summer: The One After the Thirtieth One

19th February 2013:
No.This can't end. Don't let it end. DON'T!
Ahem...you don't know me, but I've been reading your story for a little bit. My friend showed me it, and I've been addicted for ages. So...DON'T LET IT END!
Rant over. Love your writing! And love Freddie. He's a really cool character!
Mwah!
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: Crazy At Full Moon

28th January 2013:
*Phoenix
Thank you for misspelling my name.
Jokes. But seriously...
IT'S A DIADEM. NOT A TIARA. D.I.A.D.E.M.
Is Willow, by any chance...Voldemort's secret child?!?
Or at least related.
I think maybe his daughter.
Makes it more dramatic.
I like drama.
ROSE.
WHY.
SHE GOT SECTUMSEPRA USED ON HER, DIDN'T SHE?
WHY?!?!?
WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT?!?!
FIX IT, PLEASE! :'(
Love, love, love it as always, and keep writing!
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D
P.S. Metamorphagus. It's what Teddy is. And what Tonks was. :'(

Author's Response: Eep! Sorry about that, I'll fix it!
I know it's a diadem! Hermione was a bit tipsy at the time that she mentioned it... so yeah.
And nope. Nope, nope, nope, nope.
Related... maybe.
You'll find out in the next chapter, but it's going to have to wait until our first chapter of 'It's Complicated' is written and validated.
This chapter seriously validated STRAIGHT AWAY, I literally got no time in between like I usually do, to collect thoughts and write and stuff. Mostly, the validating time is my writing time.
I know what's happening in the next chapter, and the basics for another five or so chapters, but...
I can't just sit and write like you can, I need to do activities in between paragraphs. Or pages. Depending on my mood. So it takes a while.
Rose...
I'M NOT GIVING AWAY ALL MY SECRETS!
Jokes :p .
But no, not telling.
Fix it? Why?
Jokes. Again.
Maybe.
I think I'm a drama llama :( .
I know, this is from Willow's perspective, she'd never heard of it before, and she forgets things easily.
Thank you!
Cheers, SW.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: Unfamiliar

24th January 2013:
*sobs uncontrollably* ROSE! SCORPIUS! WHY?!?!
Sorry about that, I had an episode. They happen.
Lovin' Bella's point of view, it's nice to shake things up a little with different ways of seeing things.
THANK YOU FOR BRINGING RON, HERMIONE, HARRY, GINNY AND DRACO BACK INTO THE STORY. AND THANK YOU FOR OWNING DRACO. I MAY KISS YOU FOR THAT.
Muwah *kiss*
There you go. Your kiss. Now please don't turn into a frog, frogs aren't good at typing. Probably because of the webbed feet.
I really should stop being random, but can't be stuffed.
NATHAN'S NOT A LAMP! HURRAH! But returning home...so sad...*sniffle*
WHY CAN'T SHE GET HER MEMORY BACK? MAKE IT HAPPEN! PLEASE, I'M BEGGING YOU, GIVE WILLOW BACK HER WILLOWYNESS!
Love your story...except when it makes me sad. But even then, kind of.
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D

Author's Response: *smiles like a person who gets enjoyment out of other people being shocked*
I know, I was sad too.
Bella has been neglected as a character. I mean, in my head I know exactly what's been happening with her, but I realised that I hadn't typed too much of that up..
Ahh, the 'rents. Always good for making things have more drama than they should.
I won't turn into a frog, don't worry.
I not a froggy sort of person.
More of a. DRAMA LLAMA!
Being at home... it isn't really being at home for Willow.
BECAUSE IT WON'T WORK WITH MY STORYLINE, THAT'S WHY!
Yet. Maybe.
You know.
Thank you!
Cheers, SW.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: Looks Can Be Deceiving

24th January 2013:
'Eloise, Nathan isn't a lamp, is he?'
That line is classic. I wish my brother were a lamp...
THANK YOU, FIFI, FOR TELLING WILLOW EVERYTHING. YOU ARE A HERO IN MY EYES.
Rose, you clever clever girl, you! Don't let Scorp get you down!
And speaking of the man...WHAT. JUST...WHAT. WHAT HAPPENED THERE. WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT. WHY. WHAT. HOW. WHO. CONFUSED. MIND BOGGLED. TURNING INTO SCRAMBLED EGGS...BLARGHAGARBLE...
Ahem...sorry about that. Think I was attacked by Nargles. Bloody things are everywhere, aren't they...uh oh, here the come again!
Okay, they're gone now. I killed them. It's safe.
Loved it, as always!
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D

Author's Response: I don't want my brother to be a lamp... it's not much fun yelling at a lamp.
Fifi's one of my favourite characters. Siriusly, I mean, she's completely crazy, but it a totally different way to Willow. You just haven't seen much of that side of her yet.
Rose... is clever. But sometimes (maybe this is a Spoiler?) too clever.
And... yah. Scorpius... not going to even.
I wasn't expecting that either, to be honest, it just fit in with my storyline too well.
Nargles... they are annoying, aren't they?!
Thanks :3
Cheers, SW.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: The Extreme Consequences of Doom

24th January 2013:
THE LION DEN.
Seriously, what more do I have to say?
A lot? *sigh* Okay...
I love love love love love all of your characters, and I hate whoever is making Willow 'pregnant'.
FRED YOU LOVABLE IDIOT. DIDN'T YOUR FATHER TEACH YOU ABOUT THESE THINGS?
I'm basically in love with all of these people. In a non weird way... *cough cough*
Yup-puh, that's it. Don't stop popping your 'p's, it's so adorable! Once again, non weird way *cough cough cough*
Cheers, Phoenix Quill :D

Author's Response: I like the Lion Den. It's home. It sounds better than Gryffindor Tower. Maybe. I don't know.
Probably not.
My characters... I don't know what happened with them, but I think they're all crazy. Sigh.
Fred is an idiot. But he can be sweet.
Skeeter, you will learn to hate Skeeter.
*cough cough* so am I, in a non-weird knid of way.
Lol... adorable... not the way I would have described it... :P
Cheers, thanks for reviewing, SW.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: Revelations of Doom

24th January 2013:
Okay. I did steal stabbing with a fork from you. Sorry. D:
I thought, since you're being nice and reviewing mine, I shall review yours!
I'm slightly surprised the Hat didn't place Willow in Slytherin. I guess he gets threatened daily?
Bella, you naughty girl. Keeping a secret that big for that long?
James...DO SOMETHING! DON'T JUST FLIRT, I KNOW YOU LIKE HER!!!
I like it A LOT but because I'm lazy, this is how long this review is going to be. Just remember, I'm watching you...all of you...
MAKE JALLOW HAPPEN.
Cheers, Phoenix Quill

Author's Response: I forgive you... I'm going to steal your rock cakes. :P
And awww, that's sweet :3 !
Yep... umm, little bit of background info on the Hat, she's tried quite a few times to steal it. She hasn't been successful so far, but she once almost did get it to the Astronomy Tower. The Hat's cries were heard by Filch...
Bella had her reasons. Not good ones, but still.
James, James, James. Sigh.
And don't worry about being lazy, I think I win that prize ( laziest reviewer of all time ).
Jallow.
Cheers, SW.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: Oblivion

24th December 2012:
NO! BAD AUTHOR! HOW COULD YOU LET THIS HAPPEN! REPENT! REPENT, VILE DEMON WRITER!
Just kidding...maybe. But seriously, how could you let this happen to Willow? She's too...Willowy! You have to give her back her memory!
Can't wait for more chapters when the holidays are over!
Phoenix Quill :D
P.S. DIE SKEETER DIE! >:O

Author's Response: Awww... I'm sorry. Really, I am, but honestly, it wouldn't be half as interesting without these sorts of problems.
And that remains to be seen! ;)
I'm looking forward to it too, and I think you'll like the next chapter. well, some bits.
I also reckon I've been neglecting the whole 'Bella is pregnant' issue. So need to write more on that.
Cheers, SW.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: Honesty Is The Worst Policy

13th December 2012:
NO! BAD AUTHOR! I SAID MORE JALLOW ACTION, NOT TEAR THEM APART! HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME?!?!?!
Apart from that, good chapter. Veritaserum was good, but where did you get it?
Oh, and I love your characters.
BAD AUTHOR! DON'T MAKE ME HURT YOU! FIX YOUR WRONGS
Phoenix Quill D:

Author's Response: Sorry... I didn't know this was going to happen, it just did!
Veritaserum: I mentioned that, Albus stole it from Slughorn's supply.
Thanks!
I can't fix it, there is my plot to think about here!
Cheers, SW.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Phoenix QuillYour Average Crazy: The Truth Will Out

1st December 2012:
You have spacing issues... :'(. I hate it when this happens, because it makes it so much harder to read.
Cody Creevey...Dennis' son? I assume, because Colin died in the Battle for Hogwarts. HRB, very nice, and I must say, the flirting between James and Willow must come to something. Let's have some Jallow action! And, nice whisker curse. Gotta love a curse.
Love your story as always!
Phoenix Quill :D

Author's Response: I hate my spacing issues *sniffles*! Thanks for pointing it out, it's now fixed but the edited version is validating still.
Yep, definitely Dennis' kid.
Not going to give anything away, but the next chapter has some stuff on James and Willow, but it might not be quite what you were expecting.
Thanks, SW.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login