Reading Reviews From Member: spreaddapoo
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by spreaddapooThe Other Woman: IV

10th November 2012:
Hello~ Awesome that you updated so quickly. Back in the day, I made a terrible writer 'cause it took me months to write the next chapter. :) And, there's no point being a writer, no matter how good you are, if you don't get the story moving...

Thanks for the replies on the reviews I left! I was wonderfully surprised and grateful for them. I don't want you to think that I completely hate Rose or the story; I'm still here, aren't I? ;)

Regarding this chapter, you captured Albus as the Quidditch Captain really well - you can imagine him all fired up, ordering everyone about. :) I especially liked Dominique's letter; you also created that foreign, friendly atmosphere really well.

There are a few spelling errors and stuff, but nothing too major. I'm having a slightly hard time picturing Scorpius with the voice he's using, but I like his characterisation a lot and I think I'll get used to it after a while. :)

Anyway, thanks for the good read and I look forward to the next chapter. Don't lose hope and keep writing!

Author's Response: Hello spreaddapoo,

Thank you and I'm so sorry it has been a while since I updated this time, I had a bit of trouble with the validation but it should hopefully be up in a day or two.

No problem, I try to respond to all my reviews as quickly as possible (clearly I have not been so successful this time but personal life interferred a little). I'm glad you do not hate Rose or the story and thanks for sticking with it!

Oh Albus, he is rather fun to write, especially as he is so different from Rose. He is a bit of a Quidditch General. I'm glad you like Dominique's letter, I wanted to get a slightly bigger picture of the Weasley family, most of whom have already left Hogwarts, and this seemed like a good way to do it. Dominique may become a more important figure as the story goes on.

I shall eventually go back and edit all my chapters to rid them of spelling errors and the like but currently I am more focued on writing the story. Hopefully in the next chapter, you will get a greater insight into Scorpius' character but currently he is supposed to be a little bit vague.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing and I hope you come back to read more. I am so sorry about the delay in the update and I hope to update more frequently in the future. Thanks again and do not worry, this story is far from completion!

Irish Myth.


 Report Review

Review #2, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Metaphor Wrapping Paper

8th November 2012:
Wow. It's over... It's difficult to find the right words, and although most of my reviews of these twenty-two amazing, AMAZING! chapters were quick pop-ins to shout something vaguely nonsensical before moving onto the next, I've enjoyed this SO MUCH.

I've laughed aloud (much to the chagrin of my lovely sister), cried in private, felt that god-awful pit of tension and suspense, and that cheerful fuzzy feeling on the other end of the spectrum... I've had a phenomenal emotional (and existential?) journey, and to have had that opportunity drafted, edited and published here on HPFF by you, oh Glorious Scottish God(dess!)... I can't thank you enough.

I found this just passing by, literally browsing through the HPFF archives, and doing so, I feel like I sort of stumbled upon more than just a fan fic (although... no HPFF is JUST a fan fic... which is why it's so wonderfully beautiful!). It's really contributed to my creativity, technique, artistic lives, etc... I'm absolutely inspired by you!

Thanks a ton... :)

Author's Response: finishing this felt a bit like throwing the one ring into mount doom. IT'S OVER. IT'S DONE.

eee, eee, eee! I'm glad to hear I provoked such an intense variety of emotions within you (a selection box of emotion, if you will).

thank you x one thousand hundred million (that's a lot!)

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Emotional Wronski Feint

8th November 2012:
I don't even think I want to know how you even known who commented on the 1966 world cup final... Anyway; by golly - what a juicy chapter! And I am on my knees, kissing the wireless network in hope that it will reach your toes~ Your side salad metaphor was intensely ingenious and the Quidditch? ALL THE QUIDDITCH? Absolutely... spectacular... By Golly, what an amazing chapter.

Author's Response: you know how I know? I'm clever (jokes; I googled it).

all the quidditch indeed! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Sunny with a Chance of Showers

8th November 2012:
Awww... WHY AREN'T THESE TWO TOGETHER? Well... you know... Other than the obvious. Awesome chapter! Really enjoyed it (and cracked myself laughing at the Brown and Sticky joke! XD). I believe, thanks to you, I will always find myself picturing the almightiest of mullets whenever I hear of Merlin. :)

Thanks for the AMAZING read, and am totally onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: they're like magnets, and they're running at each other with their north poles forward so they keep getting thrown apart again.

thank you for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Breakfast Epiphanies

8th November 2012:
I'm starting to run out of words of appraisal!!! Which should be rare for an arteeste, but what can I say? You have this wonderful tendency of stealing the words from my mouth... throat... brain... Anyway, I'm really indulging myself in this Rose/Lucy WAR - Time to get the shoe polish out, and paint my face like a wariorrr~ I'm ready to take sides~~~

Author's Response: would a thesaurus perhaps help? paint yourself with woad, the true battle armour of the scottish ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Scrabble Smackdown

8th November 2012:
Damn you... Just... Damn you for being so brilliant... *sniffle* You made me do it again. You made me a sobbing mess AGAIN. I have decided that I have fallen head over heels in love with you, no doubt.

Author's Response: ooh, thank you! ;D ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Everything is Lovely

8th November 2012:
Oh, I am so lucky I am reading this as a completed fic; If I had ending this with only this chapter to go on for the next few weeks, I would honestly hunt you down, empty my savings in order to buy a plane ticket, some ducttape and a black hoodie, and physically shake the next chapter out of you! (Remember "Misery"? Well... Your fic has made me into the garish figure of the beautiful Kathy Bates)

Anyway, I'm loving the subtleties! And gar, Rose is scary... Whew, that little photograph at the end... You know she means business.

Author's Response: I know that feeling so well - it's a rare feeling, but a glorious one. And the opposite is the heartbreaking but more common feeling of finding a perfect story that's abandoned.

I actually only read Misery a month or so ago and the memory of it is still fresh so PLEASE DON'T DO THAT OH GOD

thank you for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: In Case of Emergency, Break Things

8th November 2012:
*Standing ovation*

Congratulations, Most Hallowed Creator (of Awesomeness, with a sideplate of freakin' Genius); You have somehow squeezed my usually dormant tear ducts, and reduced me to a quivering, wet bundle of delirious sobbing. Touche... Tou...che.

Really, amazing chapter~ I think I might have scared my cat (who was attempting to sleep at the edge of my bed)! Just the right blend of slapstick and tearjerker(ness)!

By the end, when I saw (or rather read about) BACNB(BAVMB)L, I felt a wave of strength, vitality and a teensy good measure of "Hell yeah, Get What Thou Dost Deserve!"... I like this new BACNB(BAVMB)L (although, I'll always love Wibbly (or not Wibbly) Lucy. :))

Author's Response: *bows, loses balance, topples over, sprawls into audience*

erm...would you like a tissue?

haha! yes, she does summon the spirit of the spice girls in this chapter to achieve maximum GIRL POWER! but, of course, I like writing wibbly lucy more :3

thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Destination: Gretna Green

8th November 2012:
Oh, the suspense!!! Have you ever read something so exquisitely fascinating and enthralling that you end up lunging over sentences and skipping whole phrases in rabid excitement, that you're forced to take a deep breath, calm your heartbeat down and reread the whole thing again? Well... You've succeeded in doing all of the above.

Author's Response: *blushes* you're too kind! ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Minimalist Art Party

8th November 2012:
(AH!) *Muffle me with your almightiest writing hand!* Wow, that's... Wow, either the world crumbles and falls into a neverending pit... or this may turn out alright.. :O

Brilliant! MAGNIFICENT! I'm dying to know what happens next! So I'm gonna pack up, shut it, and move on to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I think the former's more likely than the latter, heee.

thank you for your reviews! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: The Pear-Shaped Iceberg

8th November 2012:
Ooh. It was bound to come, and the Pear-shaped iceberg indeed loomed oh so innocently in the distance, until the inevitable fate of Lucy and her foolishness collided with it. Ah, wonderful chapter! :D I'm having a ball and a biscuit reading this beautiful fic!

Author's Response: Lucy is the titanic. Lucy is not watertight.

thank you for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Plan, Plot, Scheme

8th November 2012:
Haha, this chapter came out wonderfully! No doubt it's as brilliant as the rest (despite your worries over the "transition" nature of this chapter). I can't wait to read about how Scorpius and Rose react upon seeing one another... That should be... explosive...
Psst! Love the quirky "Art Finals" discussions! And the Muggle Music references... and Al in the phonebooth! Ah, screw it - I love everything!

Author's Response: thank you so much! I don't think you want to see Scorpius and Rose's first meeting - might be explosive. don some goggles?

thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Obscurity is Overrated

8th November 2012:
Hello again! Oh... I never could imagine Lucy with the Obscure One. I'm sure he's a charmer from every other unbiased perspective, but the Obscure Hipster vibe is really off-putting. :D
I'm getting rather tense and anxious about Operation Hippogriff! I mean, it's so difficult examining how good Scorpius and Rose would ship together, because I guess all I can really determine it from are fragments of an already broken relationship; so far, everything in the cosmos points to a "F*** no!" but at the same time... There has to be a reason why they're both cut up about the whole business, right?
You've got me fantabulously hooked... I NEED TO KNOW!

Author's Response: aloha!

come on, Lucy/Obscure Henry is /totally/ the endgame ship. (fnarr no chance)

there are reasons for their existence as a pairing! I am writing a prequel to this (which is kind of abandoned now, I guess, because I don't know what to do with it) which tries to explain why they became a couple, but it's not the best of fics and so I will attempt to explain it to you in the most basic of ways here:

Scorpius is a bit lame. He's also never had a girlfriend. Rose is also a bit lame and very single, and some mutual friends put two and two together. But then Scorpius and Rose gallop off and take things their own way, with a few secretive and awkward meetups in places like the Library which have a 'seriously we're just friends' vibe. But then Rose saves Scorpius from a feral house elf (long story) and writes a history of magic essay that daringly does not blame his parents for everything and he falls in love with her. Most of their relationship is her bossing him around and trying to make him into a better person and he follows her around like a little puppy, convinced that she's the only person around who cares about him.

And then he decides he wants to be an artist. And then he has his first taste of binge drinking right before his Potions exam. And then he sits his Potions exam with alcohol poisoning and a broken arm. And then he only just scrapes his way onto the further education Law course Rose wants him to take with her, and then he realises that he'd actually agreed to move in with her and everything and kind of goes 'oh my god' and runs away.

And then he spends the rest of this story feeling sorry for himself about it.

phew, that was long! thanks for reviewing ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Operation Hippogriff is Go!

4th November 2012:
You've got me hooked - I can only imagine how Operation Hippogriff is going to turn out... *trepidation - but the good kind!*

Author's Response: The good kind of trepidation? Surely you mean the bad kind!

which number is the most dramatic? ten ten TENNN!


 Report Review

Review #15, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Thus Spoke Scorpius

4th November 2012:
Oh, Scorpius... Always the charmer. And I absolutely adore Tarquin; your character developments for all of the characters (from Lucy, the amazing narrator, to the wacky Mr. Holstone) is just impeccable! You should seriously think about (if by any chance you haven't) writing a novel similar in style to this! In this day and age, when good literature is difficult to find, I would pay an excruciating amount of money to read it.

Author's Response: Scorpius is so charming, he may as well have written the book on etiquette.

eee, that is, like - nobody can comprehend how much that comment means to me ♥ I mean, obviously, I can't write FF forever, but I am just writing it for me and for kicks and it's a big thing for someone to say 'I would pay for this'. so thank you so so so so much! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Rose has a Human Side

2nd November 2012:
Wonderful chapter! Whew~ That was another close one; I don't know how many times Lucy'll be able to get away with Sc-Tarquin... Hmm... Suddenly craving a huge slab of chocolate. ;)

Author's Response: sc-tarquin is not the most subtle of names, no. thanks for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: The Shape of the Pear

27th October 2012:
:) Hello! I'm loving every chapter thus far - and am quite convinced by this stage that it'll only get better and better. I think stylistically even, you can see Lucy's development in her narration, from the fairly simplified first chapter to now - everything's becoming not only more detailed, but her comfortableness with being one of the starving artists is really showing through even in her own undertones of philosophising...

There's a pure tangibility and crispness to the story which I have fallen in love with and am proceeding to bow down and kiss the holy soil upon which your writing capabilities stand!

Thanks for the amazing read, and I'm continuing onto the next chapter!

P.S. I've fallen into the habit of enthusiastically reading aloud each chapter to my (elder) sister, and we're both having loads of fun! It's like a live-podcast!

Author's Response: thank you so much! yes, the improvement's noticeable to me when I read back - not necessarily in lucy, but in my own writing. the first ever, /ever/ version of chapter one was riddled with grammatical errors and poor phrasing that I've just about got over...I think.

eee, thank you so much for saying that!

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: The Benefits of a Flashback

26th October 2012:
Haha; a note to dearest Celeste: If ever a fanfic were to arise from this potential ScorpLettuce ship, I would LOVE to read it. Aloud. To everyone I know and dearly love.

Best chapter so far! Haha, wow, that's beautiful - the philosophical musings on ducks is such an artist thing to do! I loved it - your ability derive the most phenomenal pieces from ordinary occurrences baffles me! :)

Author's Response: whenever I next see Celeste in this online microcosm I shall pass on the message, although sadly university seems to have eaten her alive :C

thank you so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: A Sparkly Lettuce

26th October 2012:
Hahaha, beautiful! The prank - wow... I didn't even catch on at first! And dearest Lettuce... Mm... I'm not too sure I'd feel comfortable trying to hold a conversation with him - it sounds excruciating. :D

I'm loving the the buildup! And the artistic episodic journey Lucy's jumped aboard.

Author's Response: sometimes I wish I knew Lettuce in real life, because he'd be great comedy value for when I am sad.

thanks for your reviews! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Al and his Many Elbows

26th October 2012:
Haha - I had a really good time reading this chapter - the family gathering was splendid! I think you've got the whole "first step" issue down to a tee. From personal experience, I guess I'd fall under the type (much like Lucy) who keep putting it off, both nervous to get the perfect shot the first time around, and of getting any shot at all... of instigating the act.

I'm loving Al - he's too adorable!

Author's Response: thank you so much! eee, Albus is fun to write (I mistyped that as abs the first time. Abs are not as fun to write) ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Hedonism is our Middle Name

26th October 2012:
Haha, poor Scorpius - Lovely chapter! I'm loving the characterisations of Tarquin and Gwen/Raven. The immersion of Lucy into the arts world, with the slightest incorporation of open mic, is wonderful.

And I'm ready to suspend all disbelief; for all I know, it's AU, and the parents thought of the name Molly before Lucy.

Author's Response: this entire story (and the prequel and sequel) can pretty much be summed up by the phrase 'poor scorpius', to be honest.

awh, thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: A Dark Room

26th October 2012:
Hello! Wow - you develop photos yourself? I've been trying really hard to get my hands on some film and chemicals but, living in South Africa, it's become particularly difficult to find any... That's wonderful!

I'm loving Scorpius, and the whole idea of the dilapidating art school; and I find the lingo just perfect. It's not overtly complex, and it's sort of a mix between explaining what can be explained by a fellow classmate, and throwing Lucy headfirst into the deep end so she can start finding it out for herself - which is, to be honest, how everyone does (or at least should) learn anything anyway.

Thanks for the good read! Onto the next chapter...

Author's Response: yes I do! :D it's good fun, I do it the idiot's way though :L

glad you like it! it was hard to figure out; when I started it I was still at school, and actual art school has a few similarities but isn't really like this D: if I had the energy I would rewrite but...no.

thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by spreaddapooStarving Artists: Art School

26th October 2012:
Hello! WOW~ I guess the discovery of this wonderful fic is extremely late, and I'm not too sure how much one review will make any difference, but I felt compelled to tell you how excited I am, embarking on this journey! :D

It feels like it's been a long time since I've stumbled onto an original concept for a fanfic, film, novel... And I'm ecstatic about this - a HPFF not only with an interesting choice of character (Lucy is hardly the protagonist a writer would normally choose), but about an ART SCHOOL. Being an art student myself, and living amidst the stereotypes that surround it, it's phenomenal reading this.

I love the sharp, witty narration, and am so excited to see how this pans out!

P.S. The banner and chapter images look gorgeous! :)

Author's Response: hello there! (and, omg, your reviews, let me love you~)

thank you! for some reason it was always Lucy; I think I saw a Lucy/Scorp thread on the forums that snagged my attention and, well, it just snowballed from there.

ahhh! art students unite! (and starve together...)

thank you for reviewing! (also, thank justonemorefic for the yummy banner) ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by spreaddapooFraternization: Runaway

25th October 2012:
Hello! Wow, this was really interesting to read. I love the narrative voice you've adopted; it's very particular and I can imagine the whole story told by an actual narrator... It's very intriguing and I think you deserve a bit of a well done for building up the suspense. I'd love to find out what's going on! :)

Author's Response: adsajkfhsafjas thank you! I loved getting this review in all its loveliness and I'm so sorry it took so long to reply, but I just wanted to keep a hold of it. Alas, this is not feasible and it is time for it to go. :(

Watch out for the second chapter in the new year - I have plans to make updates fast. ;)



 Report Review

Review #25, by spreaddapooThe Other Woman: III

25th October 2012:
Hello! I think this is your best chapter so far. The interplay between Rose and Dave is very intriguing (and Scorpio's characterisation is fascinating!).

Author's Response: Hello spreaddapoo,

Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked it. There is pleanty more interplay between Rose and Dave... and Scorpius. Scorpius is a very fascinating character ;) Thanks for the review,

Irish Myth.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>