Reading Reviews From Member: VickyAlice139
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by VickyAlice139Innocent: The Serpent Sworn

12th December 2013:
Wow... I must say I absolutely love this story! I'm a big fan of Harry being taken and raised by Sirius and this is by far the best I've read.
All of the familiar characters are in character and well portrayed, while others such as Marlene are well developed and interesting to read about.
With so many conspiracys and smaller plot lines running through the story keep you involved and interested.
Love this story, can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm so glad to hear that. :D Yay! :D I really like the idea of both of them getting a second chance. :)
That's wonderful to hear; I put a lot of effort into my characters and the way I portray them; I try to keep them true to canon, but I also like to put my own interpretations in there, as well as make adjustments as they develop with the plot. :)
Haha, yes, I like to keep you readers on your toes. :D
Thank you so much for the review!
MarauderLover7.


 Report Review

Review #2, by VickyAlice139Taken: Kidnapped

27th July 2013:
Sounds interesting so far... can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #3, by VickyAlice139Just Breathe: Chapter Eight: Torn Apart Once More

4th December 2012:
Was so excited to find another chapter of this story up. I just love Sekhmet! Loved the chapter only complaint would have to be things seemed a bit rushed. Can't wait to read what will happen next. Will the twins be attending the World Cup? Is this story going to be following the storyline from the books but from a different point of view or will the twins create there own trouble?

~Vicky

Author's Response: Sorry for the long wait for the chapter and good news another should be up soon!

I had bit of trouble with this chapter. There is not a lot in between the events so timing each event in the story was a bit of a balancing act. I may edit this chapter later on down the road. Hopefully that will take out the rushed feeling.

We are planning on following the story line all the way to the end, but more from the twins point of view. How we are going to do that you will just have to wait and see!

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by VickyAlice139Decoding the Tutshill Tornados: The One with the Media

27th October 2012:
Wasn't sure what to expect with this, but I have to say it definitely lives up to the expectations Breaking the Quidditch Code set. Can't wait to read more. I really want to see what happens to Bink and more of Al and Paloma relationship. And Lily! Can't forget Lily, the soon to be Gryffindor captain.

~Vicky

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad it lived up to your expectations :) Though it's not a completely different story. Just a continuation with a different over-arching plot. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #5, by VickyAlice139Versicolor: Get Me Out of my Mind

15th October 2012:
Was rather shocked to find another chapter of this story up. I was in two minds about reading it as this story hasn't really hooked me in like the one before it.

Personally I find Aldan rather annoying. He just rubs me the wrong way. But the whole twist with Will makes me a bit more interested to keep reading to find out what happens.

I find it rather hard to imagine Anna as a parent. The same with Sirius. The balance between being themselves and parents is a very fine line. Anna seems to be on the themselves side and Sirius on the parent side. I think the balance needs to be tweeked a bit. For instance I can't imagine Sirius coming back to Hogwarts to try and fix a prank. I imagine him sending a very witty response to Dumbledore about how he would hate to ruin the pranksters fun. Remus on the other hand I can see coming in. But only to test his brains against the prankster.

That said you are a good writer and I would be interested in reading more. Sorry if you think I'm being mean I'm just telling you my thoughts.

~Vicky

Author's Response: I'm sure it doesn't help to suck my readers in, how slow I am in between chapters. Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it) my life is much more busy and full than it was when I was writing in high school so I don't get to writing and posting as quickly as I once did.

First of, let me say I always appreciate constructive criticism from my readers! Sometimes I get so comfortable with a character, and they are so developed in my head, that I fail to convey them properly in writing.

Yeah . . . Al is a bit obnoxious, isn't he? He does have a softer side to him. Deep down. Deep, deep down. haha

As far as Sirius and Anna as parents go, it's a hard thing to write sometimes. Personally, I see them as, perhaps, not the best parents. Their kids came at a time in their lives when they weren't ready to grow up, they decided to live with their consequences and I think it affected their parenting styles very much. Anna - a relatively selfish character - has had more trouble adjusting (though she has, somewhat) to her parental role, while Sirius (who has always been one to throw himself in front of a bus for others, and has a huge capacity to love) has stepped up and matured, perhaps more than he would have if he had been partenered with someone who shouldered a bit more of the burden of parenting.

That said, in the next couple chapters I plan on having one from Sirius' p.o.v. and hopefully I'll be able to show all of y'all that he's still the same old Sirius, just a little more grown up.

Anyway, I certainly hope that you will continue to read and definitely let me know what you think of the subsequent chapters: my portrayal of Sirius, the way Will handles his new relationship, and how you think Al is developing as a character and as a person!


 Report Review

Review #6, by VickyAlice139Breaking the Quidditch Code: King Henrik

15th October 2012:
I started reading this story around chapter fifty and have been eagerly awaiting each chapter since. I really am a terrible reviewer and tend to wait until the end of a story to review. I have to say this story was pretty amazing.

I don't really read NextGen fics, in fact this was the first one I did read. The summary drew me in and each chapter tightened the ropes that bound me to this story.

Each character was really well portrayed so that they seem really. I have often forgotten that Avery is an OC. Your a great writer. This story has never ever gotten boring.

I love James relationship with his siblings, Its so real. I love how he made Lily captain. I feel it showed how much he had grown through out the story. From being overly protective of his little sister. To finally seeing her as and actually person who can take care of her self and knows what she wants.

This has to be the longest review I've ever written, but this story deserves it. Thank you for making me at least give NextGen fictions a chance.

Can't wait for the sequel. I don't doubt that it will live up to the expectations this story has set.

Don't stop writing...

~Vicky

Author's Response: Thank you so much for sticking around! I really appreciate you reading it. And giving Next Gen a shot. I was the same way actually. Completely uninterested until I found one story that got me thinking... mostly because I didn't like its portrayal of James. So started BTQC.

I'm glad you enjoyed James' growth. To me, that was so important in the story. Where he was to who he became. He really grew up in these 54 chapters and discovered a lot about himself.

Thank you so much for the review! I hope you enjoy the sequel! I have a lot of things planned for it and plenty more James +co.


 Report Review

Review #7, by VickyAlice139Party Girl: It's Going to be a Good Year

2nd October 2012:
Would love to read more of this fic! sounds great. It flows really easily and is easy to understand!

~Vicky

 Report Review

Review #8, by VickyAlice139Susie Q: I'm yours

10th September 2012:
I loved this story. Susie is the kind of character that as soon as you think you have her in a nice little box... BAM something happens and your whole outlook on her changes. Its a really gripping story that keeps you hooked. Enjoyed it a lot. Only thing was there was a lack of Marauder pranks.

~Vicky

Author's Response: Ah, yes! I'm horrible with Marauder pranks, I can never come up with something funny and original, so that's my pathetic excuse :P

 Report Review

Review #9, by VickyAlice139Slightly Scandalous: Epilogue :: Two-And-A-Half Years Later

7th September 2012:
Absolutely loved this story. It had so many twists and turns it never got boring! I got such a shock when it turned out to be Dumbledore and Percy behind it all. Never suspected Draco to be David either. A really stunning piece of writing!

~Vicky

 Report Review

Review #10, by VickyAlice139Her Secret: There Is No Way I Am Hexing My Daughter's Boyfriend Unless My Wand Is Good And Clean

5th September 2012:
Absolutely love this story! Totally amazing. Love the whole plot. You've portrayed the characters so well. Except maybe Cho, I never really thought of her as bitchy but I suppose she had to be for the story. Would love to read more of this! Don't leave me hanging!

You're a great writer.

~Vicky

 Report Review

Review #11, by VickyAlice139'Til Death Do Us Part: The 3rd Installment: Polyjuice

3rd September 2012:
Was so excited to find another chapter of this story was up! I can't wait to see more of Jayme and Sirius relationship and Shay meeting Harry. I love how even though Sirius is out of Azkaban things are still so complicated. Can't wait to read more!

~Vicky

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoy the story!

 Report Review

Review #12, by VickyAlice139The Mermaid: Singing and Seaweed

6th August 2012:
Hey I really enjoyed reading this. Its such an original idea. I love how Erin is finding it so hard to adjust to human life.

Is there any hope of you continuing this story? I would love to read more!

~Vicky

 Report Review

Review #13, by VickyAlice139Swept Under: All in Their Heads

29th July 2012:
I really enjoyed reading this story. I'm not a big fan of story's where Harry has siblings and normally avoid them like the plauge. This one however I thoroughly enjoyed. Is there any hope of more to come?

~Vicky

Author's Response: Usually I hate them too but i thought i could do it in a less cringe-worthy way. yes, there is hope =)

 Report Review

Review #14, by VickyAlice139His.: The Halloween Dance

28th July 2012:
I really am enjoying this story, love the name Braxtany. She is such a great character. I'm guess the reason why she doesn't date has to do with Colton? Would love to read more.

~Vicky

 Report Review

Review #15, by VickyAlice139Till Forever: Trial

28th July 2012:
This is an amazing story, really well written. The tale draws you in and doesn't let you go. Dominique is a really strong character, and I love how she cares so deeply for her sister. The parts at the start of this story and the one before it with Remus fill you with dread about whats going to happen. Yet the story is lighthearted enough so that you don't dwell on it. I would love to read more, should you post it.

~Vicky

Author's Response: I am hoping to post more at some point. So don't worry I have not given up on this story. I just have a VERY bad case writers block. I know where I want to go but not how. So hopefully I will have another chapter up in the near future.

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by VickyAlice139Comatose: ...EW! Sirius Essence!

25th July 2012:
I love the whole idea of this story! I think Selene is a great character. I would love to read more of this!

~Vicky

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by VickyAlice139Breaking the Quidditch Code: She's the Talent

19th July 2012:
Hey,
I'm really enjoying this story. Avery is such an interesting character, shes brave, funny, strong, James needs to wake up and see whats right infront of his eyes... again.
Eagerly awaiting the next update.
~Vicky

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you're enjoying it so far. I really enjoy the relationship James and Avery have. It's so different, yet so comfortingly familiar. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #18, by VickyAlice139'Til Death Do Us Part: The 3rd Installment: Round Table Discussions

13th July 2012:
Yay! Was so surpised to find a new chapter! Is there any hope of Shay and Sirius getting back together? I really love this story. You're a great writer. Can't wait to read more.

~Vicky

Author's Response: There's always hope that those two will get back together, yet hope isn't a confirmation. But they do have a hard time staying away...

 Report Review

Review #19, by VickyAlice139Please, Remember Me: Take Care

12th July 2012:
I really love this story, though I did prefer the first one a bit more. That said it is still a really good story. Is there any hope of more chapters coming? I love the character of Libby.

~Vicky

Author's Response: Ahh, i don't know!! I want to just finish the story so I can say the end and everyone will know what happened! but I just don't have time!! college takes away your life and gives you one all at once!! :)

and i preferred the first story, too. i don't like writing about harry and hermione and all them.


 Report Review

Review #20, by VickyAlice139The Boys of Summer: An Underwater Wrestling Match with Sirius Black (with some help from James Potter)

11th July 2012:
Hey I really like this story. I find the idea really origanal. I love how the boys are so determined to show her that she can be a regular kid. It shows a softer caring side of them.

Is there any hope of this story being updated? I think you mentioned you had it written up to chapter eight? I would really enjoy reading more if you do posted.

~Vicky

Author's Response: It had been written until chapter eight. Then my harddrive died and I lost everything :'( maybe I'll finish, I don't know. I loved this idea and the characters from the beginning and if I finish any story, this would be it.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #21, by VickyAlice139The World, Biscuits And Sirius Black According To Nellie OíNeill.: Fragile Hope, Twists, Promises And Me

7th July 2012:
I absolutley love this story! Nellie is so perfect in an utterly unperfect way. She's a character that almost anyone with a bit of insanity in their lives can relate to.

Its been awhile since this story was updated... is there any hope of that happening anytime soon?

~Vicky

Author's Response: Hey:) I'm so glad that you like the story, it means a lot to me. Thank you! I'm so happy that you can relate to Nellie. And yes, look out for an update in August sometime:) Thanks so much for the wonderful review and I hope you have a great day. Xxx

 Report Review

Review #22, by VickyAlice139The Complicated Life of Mirabelle Rose: A Very Unhappy New Year

7th July 2012:
Hey, Just found this story and I'm really enjoying it. I love the character of Mira, torn between two very different worlds. Wanting to be in the Light but trapped in the Dark. Can't wait for the next update, I think you are an amazing author!

~Vicky

 Report Review

Review #23, by VickyAlice139Return of Egraina Emerson: Badges, Boys and Bookshops

7th July 2012:
Hey, I really enjoyed this story. Is their any hope of it being contiued? I really like the plot line, I think its quite interesting.
Crossing my fingers and hoping for more...

Vicky

Author's Response: As soon as I get time to find the notebook I used when i first started writing it I will have an update lol... or I may just decide to plow on without the notebook we'll see =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by VickyAlice139Better Than Me: Coffee Shop

5th July 2012:
Love where this story is going. The way you write draws me in. Can't wait to read more!

~Vicky

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login