Reading Reviews From Member: LittleWelshGirl99
  
246 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LittleWelshGirl99Just any other year at hogwarts...: Things just won't go right for Esmie...

17th June 2013:
This was so good! It was a mixture of funny and really really sad.
"I became a counsellor so I could be a friend to those who need it Esmie"
I can't believe how cute the counsellor is! And the name Georgie suits her wow
xoxox

Author's Response: Ahh, thanks Rhiannon! By the way I saw that you updated against the dying of the light but you only edited the chapter, I need more chapters now!!!
Love you,
Beth xoxox


 Report Review

Review #2, by LittleWelshGirl99The Middle Man: one.

1st April 2013:
Hello! This is the first review I've left in months thanks to rubbish RL stuff going on, so I apologise if it's not very good :/

Anyway, now that I've figured out how to translate all the anti-shipping words I really enjoyed this chapter! It's a great idea for a story and I love your OC Darcy (I'm assuming she's the daughter of Dirk Cresswell?). She doesn't seem at all cliched and is an interesting person to read about. And i have to say, I always really enjoy the next-gens that aren't set in Hogwarts. :D

It was a really fantastic first chapter and you've got great humour skills but without making it sound too over-the-top and forced. It's a much more subtle kind of comedy that just gives everything a light, easy-read feel.
Darcy's job sounds really cool as well! Certainly unusual.

I really enjoyed reading that!
-LWG

Author's Response: Hah, I pity you for tagging me during the April Fool's prank. But I'm glad you liked the story!

Darcy is actually Dirk Cresswell's granddaughter. Kudos to you for picking up on the canon reference before I mention it later in the story! It's lovely that she doesn't seem cliche or Sueish and that you like reading about her post-graduation life.

Oh, I'm so pleased that you like the humor! I don't think of myself as a very good humor writer because I can't seem to get that zany, wild, over-the-top humor that seems to pervade a lot of next-gen stories. I'm happy to hear that you like my subtle style better.

Thanks for your sweet review! Hope to see you back again sometime soon!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #3, by LittleWelshGirl99Just any other year at hogwarts...: The New Year off to a bad start

16th December 2012:
ARGH SUCH A GOOD CHAPTER. It was literally so exciting, I couldn't stop reading! I can't wait till you put up the next one with the fight and the crazy counsellor ;D James seemed to act a bit harshly, especially after giving Esmie such an amazing present! NOO! :( I want them to be together forever :3 Aww loved it xxx

Author's Response: ahhah, I was writing it and just thinking wahhh!! How can I do this to her!?!? x Love you x

 Report Review

Review #4, by LittleWelshGirl99Just any other year at hogwarts...: A lonely Christmas and talking cats

16th December 2012:
HURRO :3 So I love this chapter, as usual :p
'I’m not that fat…not yet anyway.' Makes it seem like she's pregnant ;D
' God Rose why do you have to be so aggy all the time?' Do you mean angry or angsty? Or did you just invent a new word to describe Rose Weasley? :D Rose is being so mean! Poor Esmie :(

LLAMARMY YAY xxx

Author's Response: haha yay Rhiannon, no she is deffinitely not pregnant, she just eats a lot of chocolate! I know Rose is so aggy/angsty :( x

 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleWelshGirl99Bubbles: Bath time

10th December 2012:
After reading the description I just had to review this story, and I'm VERY glad I did! This has made my whole day better, it was just THAT CUTE. I MIGHT DIE FROM HOW ADORABLE THIS WAS. I nee dto give Louis a few virtual hugs through the computer screen -hugs screen-.

The distinction you created between the three children - Dom, Louis and Victoire - was actually incredibly good, especially as you were narrating as a three-year-old. Each of them had a very obvious character and it was really lovely to read as well as very funny and did I mention ADORABLE? You captured the tone of a toddler so well!

And Victoire tried to send Louis to Santa via owl?! Oh that's just genius.

Loved it!!

-Annon :)

Author's Response: GO, HUG LOUIS! IT'S GOOD FOR THE SOUL!

You may have mentioned adorable, yes...

And yes, Victoire did try to send poor Louis by owl.

THANK YOU FOR THIS REVIEW :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by LittleWelshGirl99My Little Sailboat: My Little Sailboat

10th December 2012:
Hiya!

Ahh the phrasing of this was so beautiful! I thought that beginning each paragraph with 'last night' could possibly get a bit boring/repetitive, but no, it was a lovely effect to use. It made the whole piece seem really poetic and ugh just gorgeous. I do have a special little place in my heart for Snily, I must admit, especially ones this lovely. Also loving the whole sailing metaphors/references :3

BUT SO MANY METAPHORS IN THIS. I am in heaven. I love them. I want to absorb them all. So dainty and poignant and I'm very glad that I had the opportunity to read this. :)

-Annon

 Report Review

Review #7, by LittleWelshGirl99Our Post-Relationship Friendship: One day after

8th December 2012:
Hahaha, ok, wow. This was so great, there is literally a huge great grin plastered across my face right now. The entire thing was just... ack, so good!! I'm reminded a little bit of Marina's 'Just Rose' but from a less creepy Scorpius's point of view. I'm still trying to figure out Scorpius to be honest; the problem (well it's not really a problem) is that I can sense so much of /you/ in this story, particularly the sections with Draco and Astoria and the 'dysfunctional family' scenes. I'm sort of muddling up you and Scorpius. :L

But I do love the attention to detail you always have in your stories; it's amazing really, how well you can make the words jump off the paper at me. in this chapter, I think it was Lottie's dubious coffee-making ability that really made the whole thing so realistic and imaginable. Love it.

I've been looking forward to reading this ever since you said that you were writing ScoRose for NaNo, and i was definitely not disappointed by it! But then again, I was never expecting to be ;)

xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleWelshGirl99Life's Curveballs: Tracey Davis

8th December 2012:
Hello!

This is such a lovely story, I adored reading all the Audrey-Tracey interaction. You've written their single mother-daughter relationship so accurately, I can picture it all as if it were a movie. I particularly love the scene where Audrey is too close to the TV- I remember that happening so much when I was little, haha!

When I saw that this was a pregnancy story, and that some of the chapters were from Theo Nott's point of view, I sort of automatically assumed that Tracey would be pregnant in the story and that Theo was the father - I thought it would be all a bit cliched. However, I was very happily mistaken! I love the fact that Audrey is a character of her own (and an extremely adorable one at that! :p).

It was quite a long first chapter but it served as a very good scene-setter and was enjoyable to read, too! But I wonder why Theo would invite her to lunch so.. bluntly, and quickly too!? Seems like an interesting plot point.

I like that you used Tracey Davis for one of your MCs too, because while she IS a canon character, she's very unknown and that leaves lots of room for developments!

:)

Author's Response: Aw this review makes me so happy! I'm so glad you felt I wrote the single mother/daughter realtionship well as I dont have any kids of my own so i'm just making this all up as I go. I'm so glad that you were happily mistaken and that this is not a pregnancy story between Tracey and Theo. And the fact that you recognize Tracey as canon makes my heart so happy! There are a lot of people who think she is just some oc I've made up and then I have to explain that she isn't so i love when people know who she is! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad you liked it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #9, by LittleWelshGirl99Allie 'you're not a' Star: The First One

26th November 2012:
Wow i love it so so so much! It's amazing! I love this bit:
' After spending most of my summer either in my bedroom or sitting in a field so much human contact was going to be a shock to the system.'

Allie is so great. And she's a tree! ;D Woohoo! Can't wait for chapter 2.
Also, email this chapter to me and i'll beta it for you
xxx

Author's Response: yay thanks Rhiannon, haven't even really started chapter two yet though *guilty face* just don't know what to write, I have some ideas but havent sorted it all out yet xxx

 Report Review

Review #10, by LittleWelshGirl99Just any other year at hogwarts...: The Rift

18th November 2012:
Really good!! I like the dream bit too - it worked well after all :D (and thank for the mention love you xxx)

Author's Response: ahh Rhiannon thankyou! love you lots like jelly tots! x

 Report Review

Review #11, by LittleWelshGirl99To Catch a Rat: To Catch a Rat

31st October 2012:
Here from review tag!!

It's a bit of a funny coincidence that I'm reading a Halloween-type fic when it is in fact Halloween today (if you believe in that sort of thing. I personally don't believe in Halloween, but anyway...).

I liked the way you wrote Sirius - his anger and pain was so realistic and you could really feel all the emotion in this piece. It was very well written, and you didn't let all the strong feelings distract you from characterising Sirius realistically, and neither did you write these huge angst-y long paragraphs. It was a lovely mix.

I could imagine the scene so well, which means your descriptions were great!

A really interesting, lovely read. :)

-LWG

Author's Response: Hi and thanks for the review! =)

It's not coincidence, it's fate. =P Well really, I'm glad you liked it and my Sirius. I'm not very good with angsty stuff, so that might explain why there's not long parts of that.


 Report Review

Review #12, by LittleWelshGirl99Taking Care of Muriel: Attempts One, Two and Three

17th October 2012:
YES HAPPY BIRTHDAY QUOTH THE RAVEN INDEED :D

Ah Lottie you've totally outdone yourself with this - it's absolutely amazing! You must've put so much effort into it as well. I feel so lazy now :P

But wow, this was such an original idea! I love stories about really minor characters - and I always thought it would be really interesting to know more about Muriel and her past etc, but this is so great!

Those children of yours are balding you!”

“That would be age, Muriel, it’s come to you too.”

AHHAHAHAHA. god bless Arthur Weasley!

Crikey, Muriel doesn't want to go to that nursing home though does she?! This sort of reminded me of "Talking Heads" by Alan Bennett except funnier and backwards...

Anyway. This was amazing. xoxox

Author's Response: QTR FOR THE WIN 8D

Ahha thank you so much Annon! It was originally intended as a shortish one-shot but... it mutated, as my writing is apt to do once it sees my author page and decides it likes being there :P

Aww thankyou! lol Muriel's just fab, the old bat that she is, and you know how much of a sucker I am too for minor characters ;)

bahah ARTHUR IS SO FAB. At least, Arthur-in-my-head speaks these lines to me ♥

ahha yeah, Muriel is very set on not going to Ogden's. She will fight tooth and nail to NOT GO. And thank you! oooh I feel very flattered :3

Aww thankyou! And thanks for such a lovely review :D xoxox


 Report Review

Review #13, by LittleWelshGirl99Just any other year at hogwarts...: Because singing to a bottle of alcohol is totally normal...

17th October 2012:
Um, ok, in my last review I meant 'cute' not 'cut' but... darn typos!!

But this was so funny, and I remember you saying what the eventual pairing for this would be so all I'm gonna say is..

YAY FOR JAMES!

Your characters are really realistic and funny and loveable! this is just so great

Rhiannon xxx

Author's Response: again ahh thanks Rhiannon love you

 Report Review

Review #14, by LittleWelshGirl99Just any other year at hogwarts...: The First Week back at School

17th October 2012:
BETH YOU SMELL.

...really nice


AWWW THAT IS JUST SO CUT BETH. YOU ARE AMAZING. ESMIE IS AMAZING. BUT YOU ARE MORE AMAZING.

xoxox

Author's Response: Ahh thanks Rhiannon

 Report Review

Review #15, by LittleWelshGirl99The Human Factor : The One Where Damien Isn’t The Favourite

7th October 2012:
Aww I loved this chapter! I was quite sad to discover the dynamics of Pippa and Damien's relationship though - Pippa could've done without her brother abandoning her I have to say. Poor girl.

Cassie's description of Harper was just brilliant. "She's a hufflepuff and she has hair." Oh, wow. The thing that make this such a great story is the mixture of humour and angst - it's so fab. And, of course, Pippa's character.

Scorpius is indeed Awesome.

Loved it!
-LWG

Author's Response: Hello! I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far! Yes! But Damien will never see it like that, he just saw it as growing up, and you know how older siblings can be, having their youngest siblings around them can seem uncool. Haha, yes, description is a skill that Cassie doesn't really have. Thank you, I do try to mix it up a little :) and I'm glad you like her character :) and I love Scorpius, how could you not :P thanks so much for the review, I hope you like the rest of the story and I hope you have an amazing day! Xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by LittleWelshGirl99How to Organise Strangers and Create Chaos: Job 8: Talk to Lou and Send Roses to Fred

6th October 2012:
"so that she was practically galloping beside me on her shorter legs." THE FUNNIEST MENTAL IMAGES EVER. Meh, I have missed Pepper. I can't wait to get on to reading your newest chapter *rubs hands gleefully*. Anyway, this was an amazing chapter as usual lottie and I'm super-jealous of your insane humour writing skills :P

I am a Hugepper shipper. It is my new OTP.

OH WAIT HANG ON ACTUALLY IT'S HTOS&CC/ME 8D

Life is good.

*runs off to Gretna Green/Las Vegas with this story to marry it and live happily ever after*

Author's Response: ahha thankyou!! I am very glad that she has not disappointed on return, I know that I get annoyed at my mental Pepper sometimes ;P Hehehe thankyou so much! I am very glad that my weird randomness is amusing in story form :D

Hugepper?! Oh my gosh, please no D:

Wait HTOS&CC/ANNON IS WAY COOLER. Can I be the person who marries you two?

Haha thankyou for such a lovely review - it really keeps me going! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by LittleWelshGirl99Willows and Wood.: Witch Weekly, MLES and Puddlemere's Keeper.

6th October 2012:
Hi! I was so happy to get your review on 'Against the Dying of the Light' so I'm here to return the favour. ;D

Basically, this is a fabulously funny story and I really enjoyed reading this chapter! I'm not really a fan of Oliver/OC but I recently read Mistress's amazing one and am definitely warming to the ship now. :) One thing I'm really happy that you've done is the way Kiwi isn't on the Quidditch team with Oliver - it's her friend. I like those sort of ambiguous almost-accidental-meeting sort of relationships if that makes sense :P

Aww I love the nicknames Cat and Kiwi by the way, they're really cute and seem to suit the characters so well!

You've done a really good job with this - the fluff is gorgeous :3

I hope you have a nice day!
~Annon x

Author's Response: Ah, coming from you, this means a lot.

*bows down*

Mistress' Oliver/Jane is amazing.

I did have a nice day, but your review made it better! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by LittleWelshGirl99Unhinging The Mask That Is Lily Evans: Getting Started

6th October 2012:
Hey!
Thank you so much for reviewing my story, I'm here to return the favour! ;)

Wow, this was amazing. Seriously /such/ a good beginning to a Marauder's and so original too! Not very canon-compliant because James did actually fancy Lily but seriously no-one would care about that because it's so fantastically written! I was laughing so much as well, lol!

"The fiend girl had my mother in her clutches! I must rescue her!" Awww what a little mummy's boy! James was so cute in parts of this.

I really like the way you've set things out too - the occasional one-line paragraphs and things. Usually I'd think this interrupted the flow a little but it didn't here.

Anyway, a very interesting take on Lily and James's relationship! I loved it :)

Author's Response: Hello there!

Intrinsically it is canon because he's just trying to hide the fact that he's head over heels with her :P but that'll become more apparent throughout the story! :P

He was a sweetie :P But I only made him that way because he's telling the story and he wants to be seen as chivalrous and all that :P i don't know if you've noticed (yet) but a lot of it is twisted to suit his point of view :P so just be conscious of that if you're reading the next few chapters! (once they've been posted!)

Thanks a lot for your review! I really love YOUR story! Just telling you again! :P


 Report Review

Review #19, by LittleWelshGirl99Shadows of War: Chapter 1: November 2000

6th October 2012:
Crikey! This was pretty intense, and god, the moments with Daphne were heart-wrenching. Does she have PTSD? I really want to find out more about her condition, whatever she has, and what caused it. It must be such a terrible for Astoria to have to deal with - a constant reminder of everything the war took away, damaged.

Astoria seems so lost, really, that's the only way I can think of describing her. The fact that she didn't want to have a day off work because she had nowhere else to really go really pulled at me, I felt so awful for her. But Christian seems nice - he evidently cares about Astoria a lot. He seemed like a great co-worker I have to say :)

It was all so well-written and captivating, now I just want to see a little more of the plot snaking in!

This is such a brilliant story, I really hope you keep on with it! You have a real talent :D
~annon

Author's Response: Hello!

I feel like some evil genius sitting here writing this story. I have picked on such a dark topic and have weaved such a mysterious story and everyone seems to be really intrigued by what I have planned to come. And it's great, but it definately feels like I've found some dark secret about writing and getting people absorbed into a story...either that or I'm really tired and really weird. xD

Anyways, Daphne's scenes were hard to write. I myself was getting anxious as much of that scene was plotted and played out in my head before I actually wrote it. So heart-wrenching is definately a good word to describe her moments. And it is sort of like PTSD but it has this twist to it and that should be coming out in the next couple of chapter's here actually so I won't say too much more...

And Astoria...Oh dear, I feel so bad for all this stuff I'm piling on top of her...between her sister's breakdowns and her parents lack of support, I'm just amazed at how her character has changed from the initial view I had of her. She definately is much more grown up than I initially expected her to be when I started writing.

And I think the plot starts making it's move in the next chapter, or at least a big part of it will start being pushed really soon...

Thank you so much for the review!
~Grimmerz


 Report Review

Review #20, by LittleWelshGirl99Shadows of War: Prologue: August 2001

5th October 2012:
Ee I absolutely adore draco/astoria, so I was pretty excited to click on this story, and definitely enjoyed reading it.

This was very much a prologue, and a fab one at that! Lots of setting the scene, and the hint of a real mystery and great stuff to come.

I like stories about the post-war situations, dealing with the aftermath and all that, the scars left behind. They can be quite distressing - and especially that line about Daphne "losing all sense of herself" in St Mungo's seemed to convey this - but also extraordinarily interesting. I like seeing how different authors would interpret it.

Astoria seems interesting - obviously we haven't had much of a chance to get to know her yet, but I like what I've already seen.

A compelling story, I have to say :)

Author's Response: Hello!
I am so glad you enjoyed the prologue. I was concerned, when I first posted it, that it wasn't enough information with how short it was. I also wasn't sure if the mysterious aspect to it would be enough to draw attention but I'm glad I've got something good going.
Thank you so much for the review!
~Grimmerz


 Report Review

Review #21, by LittleWelshGirl99Untouchable: His Cry of Lament

28th September 2012:
For some reason, I’ve never been a fan of song fics. I can’t quite pinpoint what it is, but I suspect that it’s the random lyrics threaded through the story- they really break up the flow for me – and unless I can hear the tune in my head, they make no sense either. :P

However, I actually had a great time reading this. I love the song you chose (it worked so well with the plot), and I’m always going to be thinking of this story if I listen to it from now on!

I liked the way you wrote Snape. You managed to capture all his yearning and love and regrets all into one neat little package, and the overall effect was really quite powerful. The imagery and metaphors were fantastic.

My heart goes out to Severus, as it always does when reading Snape/Lily. There’s something so pathetic and yet loveable about the tragedy that is Snily. This was a very heartbreaking piece of writing!

One thing I’d just comment on is that I don’t think the dialogue between Snape and Dumbledore at the end is necessary! The story is really great without it, and you don’t need it in there.

I’ve had so much fun reading all your stories! You are a truly talented writer. :D Thank you for all your commitment to Ravenclaw and Quoth the Raven *hugs*

-Annon ♥

Author's Response: Hey Annon!

This review response is incredibly late, and I'm so sorry about that! I'm not sure if you'll even read this, but I really, really appreciate the time you took to read and review this!

I know exactly what you mean about song fics! I don't ever go out of my way to read them, and I can understand you completely when you say they sometimes interrupt the flow and seem to have no real purpose - so I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed this story of mine! :)

I'm lucky I got this song from the challenge I did - I've never heard of this song before either, but as soon as I'd heard it, I knew it was perfect for Snape! I agree with you that any Snily story is always kind of tragic, but I'm glad I was able to convey some of Snape's emotions!

You're not the first person to say that they found the dialogue a bit unnecessary, but you have convinced me to remove it at the very next time I get a chance to edit it - so thank you! Annon, thank you for the really lovely review you left me (along with all the other lovely reviews!) and for the time you've spent on QTR as well :) I really appreciated the reviewing gesture!

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #22, by LittleWelshGirl99To Love a Monster: To Love a Monster

28th September 2012:
Hey!

This was a really nice take on Remus and Tonks’ relationship- I enjoyed it immensely! I especially liked the flashbacks on Remus’s past relationship. It made his excuse for staying way from Tonks a lot more believable and solid. I honestly can’t believe how terrible and heartbreaking that little side-story was! On their honeymoon?! SO sad! :( If you hadn’t written it so nicely, I’d have thought it was a little too dramatic/over the top, but it definitely worked.

One thing I’m a little puzzled about was wouldn’t Remus have been arrested for killing the girl he loved? (I’m assuming he confessed because it seemed as though her parents knew he’d done it from the ‘look of disguts’ upon their faces.). Even though he’s a werewolf, he still murdered someone…

‘I still hadn’t forgotten the incident.’ –haha I’d imagine no-one could ever forget about the time they killed their new wife.

‘I loved Tonks with all the half of my heart that was still intact’ – so this made me cry.

I really love the idea for this, and it was fabulously descriptive and able to evoke a lot of clashing emotions inside me as all your writing seems to do lottie :). The ending was very sweet and lovely and made me feel all fuzzy!
(the quote was perfect)

-Annon ♥

Author's Response: Annon!

Thank you! The story is probably a dramatic/unbelievable, but I'm glad you found that it worked here! And yes, it is very heartbreaking.. I'm glad that the emotions came through though. :)

Wow, good point, haha. I think I did manipulate the story around just to fit what I had in my mind, and I had to work very hard to try and make it seem as realistic as it was. I don't think I've ever actually thought about the -being arrested- part, and I don't think anyone else has mentioned it either.. but I guess I'll have to try and think of a way around that! :P Thank you so much for pointing that out - I really like my stories to be as believable as possible and that is a very important point to consider! Maybe Remus was exempted from the crime? Like how people with intellectual disabilities often aren't found guilty of crimes because they didn't possess the ability to know what they were doing? Maybe something like that.

Thank you so much Annon! I try to avoid writing cliche stories.. although my Siriusly in Love story is quite obviously cliche.. but I'm glad this one wasn't so much! Thank you for the wonderful review! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #23, by LittleWelshGirl99Fearless: Fearless

28th September 2012:
Whoa. So this was quite different to your other stuff that I’ve read, but gosh, it was so good!

It was actually a little confusing at the beginning, but that confusion really added to the creepy/mysterious tone of the whole story so it wasn’t a negative point at all!

I like the theme of fear. It’s more of a classic ‘monsters in the woods’ fear but those fears are really not to be underestimated. Especially if the monsters are real ones. My heart was beating so fast while I read this, until I finally got to the end things were explained. I know that sometimes the ‘I woke up and it was all a dream’ ending is not preferable, but it seemed to work here.

I wonder why you chose James in particular to be the main character? Was that a deliberate choice, or random? Just fascinated ;)

I enjoyed the drama in this piece! And, as always, it was extremely well written.

-Annon ♥

Author's Response: Hey again! :)

I'm so glad that you thought it was different from my other stuff, since I did write this for an "Out of your comfort zone" kind of challenge. I've never written Action before or written from the perspective of a child so it was definitely something different.

I'm glad that you found there was a mysterious kind of tone of the whole story, since yes, the main theme is pretty much fear! I know the "I woke up and it was all a dream" is probably a bit of a cliche ending, but it is the easiest way to end a nightmare, and it's nightmares where you can have anything happening! :P

I think I chose James because the nightmare I had in mind had something to do with the Ford Anglia and spiders, so I wanted someone close to Harry/Ron who would know of the time when they actually did go into the Forbidden Forest. However, I'm not exactly sure why I chose James over someone like Albus or Hugo.. so good question, even though I'm sorry I don't really have a real answer..

Anyway, thank you so much for the awesome review! I really appreciate it Annon! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #24, by LittleWelshGirl99Stalking Cho: Obsessive Love

28th September 2012:
Hi!

Oh my gosh! I don’t know what to say :’) This is wonderful. Seriously.

Somehow, you manage to make Terry Boot sound like an insane creeper, but also really adorable and loveable at the same time! It’s quite mind boggling really and I’m not sure how you did it, but I completely loved it!

He’s been ‘observing’ her for four years. Not stalking. Of course not. :P

Aw, I was so sad when Cedric beat him to asking Cho out, but honestly Cho didn’t seem very nice in this so I think Terry deserves better, haha! But gosh, this just played out so beautifully in my mind, like a theatre production or something. It was so funny.

It was a nice, uncomplicated plotline too- if you’d tried to squeeze in any sub-plots or deep meanings or metaphors I think it would’ve taken something away from the pure simplicity and imagery that your writing creates.

I want a terry boot stalker too!

:D ♥

Author's Response: Hey Annon!

Ahh thank you! I'm glad the creepiness of stalking/observing wasn't too creepy :P I think part of that may be because I kinda portrayed him very pitifully... haha. I guess I wanted to reader to feel sorry for Terry and get on his side.. but yeah, Terry definitely does deserve better than Cho! I don't think I've ever been that great at expressing emotions in stories, but I'm glad that sadness came through!

Thank you so so much for all your nice comments! You are much too nice! & agreed - as long as the stalker was as nice as Terry! :P

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #25, by LittleWelshGirl99Reminiscences: Embrace

28th September 2012:
‘each time I did some magic, it still astounded me’. I loved this raw wonderment about the magical world – you really captured the way a muggle-born would be feeling, thrust into this strange, new world. The constant studying of fascinating books, the eagerness to learn as much as possible about this amazing new discovery. It was brilliant, and I’ve never seen it written quite like you did it.

I also really liked the OC’s description of Fred as someone who was ‘lucky’ and ‘enjoyed life’. The narration was just perfect in this- shy but secure, sweet but flowing. I’m curious as to why you didn’t reveal the name of your character though? It was interesting! But the whole style of it – the way you ended each paragraph with an ‘I later learnt…’ The whole thing just ties up so neatly and artistically.

I don’t know why, but at first I thought that the Fred was Fred I, and I thought there’d be a paragraph about his death at the end! But then I realised that I was just being stupid and it was a next-gen. :P

I think my favourite paragraph was the one when she was in fourth year, where she "grew up." It’s lovely the way you show her in every year, so we can see such character development as she goes through each stage of her life. I honestly had tears in my eyes at the end!

This is such a brilliant story :)

-Annon ♥

Author's Response: Hey!

Aw thank you! I think that if I was a 'muggle' before finding out I was a witch I would definitely have that added appreciation for magic that I think other people (born into a magical family) might not. Thank you! :)

Thank you, I'm glad you think that! I guess I didn't want to reveal the name of the character to leave a sense of mysteriousness, but also because.. I think having a name would really change the flow of the story I was telling. & I also couldn't think of a name to choose (and a name really defines someone I think). I pretty much based the whole story on that structure and I'm glad you think it worked!

I did that once with another story :P I guess it is a bit ambiguous, and in a way I think that's good because it allows the reader to slowly figure it out! Aww thanks so much Annon - that really means a lot! ♥

- Charlotte


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>