Reading Reviews From Member: purplepotter77
  
91 Reviews Found

Review #1, by purplepotter77A Man Named Newt Scamander: Part One of One

24th January 2014:
Here for the review tag! c:

This was such a lovely story! I loved the language and vocabulary and how it really complimented the oddity of Newt and really fit in well with this story. You managed to use them in such a way that they didn't sound awkward at all, and they flowed well with the rest of the story. This was written in a really witty and entertaining way, and I loved your writing style in it. Lines like "at ninety-eight, she looked amazing, especially when she wasn't in focus" were so funny. The connection to Luna was such a nice touch as well, and it was great to see that she had a connection with Newt from something other than Rolf.

Newt's characterization was another great thing that I loved. It was very easy for me to picture his eccentric personality and little quirks. His relationship with his family was so well-developed, and even though this was a one-shot, you still managed to give us a wonderful insight into their personalities.

The description was yet another thing that was done so well, as was the dialogue. The small details were lovely, and the whole piece flowed so well.

Overall, this was a joy to read, wonderful job!!

Author's Response: Hey!

Newt really came alive in this, thanks to the pretentious vocabulary I was given for the challenge. I was surprised and delighted by the result. Thanks so much for the great review! I'm glad you took a chance on this piece!



 Report Review

Review #2, by purplepotter77Luminaries: Acquainted with the Night

27th November 2013:
First off, I'd like to say how sorry I am for this review being so late! And secondly, wow, I really love what you've done with the poem and how you've managed to base this story off of it!

Tristessa is such an interesting character - she's very intriguing and well-characterized, even for a short piece. There were definitely many parts of this where I sympathized with her and how isolated she was from people at times. I also loved the part with the ice cream lady and how you wove the concept of how a lot of children of Death Eaters get segregated because people think they're just like their parents/grandparents.

The description here was great - it wasn't too flowery or excessive, but it helped me picture the story well in my mind. The last sentence was such a nice touch that really tied into the poem and brought the whole story full circle.

Thank you so much for entering my Poetry-Inspired Challenge, and wonderful job with this! :D

Author's Response: Haha, you don't have to apologise about lateness to me - I am the EMPRESS of lateness ;) Thanks for such a wonderful challenge and your kind words!! I had a great time writing this :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by purplepotter77Behind Darkness There is Stars: Grieving Burrow

23rd October 2013:
Hello, here for the review tag!

Ron/Hermione is one of my favorite ships ever, so I was really excited to see that this story was about them! I haven't read many stories about the Golden Trio's life after Hogwarts, but your take on it seems great so far. I like how this story not only focuses on Ron/Hermione but also how everyone has to build their lives back up again and try to get on with things as normal and still have to deal with all the losses they've suffered.

You conveyed the emotions of grief after Fred's death very well, and the sad mood certainly came through. The only criticism that I have is that there were a few grammar mistakes here and there, and I think you could add in a little bit more description.

Overall, you did a lovely job with characterization, and I really enjoyed reading this. It definitely seems like it's going to be a promising story! :)

Author's Response: Hey thank you very much!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by purplepotter77You. (Me).: You. (Me).

10th October 2013:
Finally here to review the entries for my Poetry Challenge, sorry this is so late!

Wow, I really love all the imagery you have here and how you managed to contain it all within 500 words! You managed to convey so many emotions, the characterizations of Teddy and Victoire, and incorporate the poem really well! I loved how you used the echo thing that was in the poem, with the italicized voice of Teddy after a section of Victoire's perspective. There's a really lovely contrast between both of their voices, and the switching perspective wasn't at all confusing, as one might expect it to be.

Your characterizations of Victoire and Teddy were really great and so creative, too! It's really interesting to see how even though Victoire is so beautiful and supposed to be really vain, she hates her gift of beauty and recognizes all the negative things that come with it. On the other hand, there's Teddy, who watches Victoire from afar and loves her, despite the fact that she doesn't love herself. The last line was just the perfect way to end this, and it really summed up the relationship between Teddy and Victoire so well!

Another thing I loved here was the reference not just to Narcissus and Echo, but to Adonis and Aphrodite. The inclusion of Greek mythology in fanfiction (or literature in general) is one of my favorite things, especially when it's done well, like you managed to do in this piece. "They swarm to the beauty, drawn as bees to a dazzling flower, as magpies to a sparkling gem." this line especially was one that I loved, because the similes were really vivid and fit so well with the one-shot.

Overall, this was so beautifully written; thank you so much for entering my challenge! :D

Author's Response: Hello! I'm sorry my reply is so late!

I was so pleased when your challenge came up and I got that poem, because it didn't take long for inspiration to strike after that! I really wanted to try this for the Every Word Counts challenge as well, and I'm glad you think it worked well and didn't seem too short! It took me a little while to decide how to convey the idea of the echo in the poem, but I'm really pleased that you liked it and that it didn't confuse you!

With this one-shot I wanted to do something different and a little unconventional, and I think that in fanfiction beauty is almost always seen as a positive (I'm not going to go into the extent of my views on it), and I wanted to show that it could be a negative too, and that beauty isn't always something to be celebrated. You managed to understand the relationship between Teddy and Victoire perfectly, and that makes me really happy!

Eep, you like the imagery and allusions! That was probably my favourite part of this piece, as I wanted to load it with lots of description and that wasn't easy to do in 500 words, but I'm so pleased you liked it!

Thank you so much for this incredible review, it really put a massive smile on my face!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by purplepotter77Not Normal: {Chapter the First}

26th August 2013:
Here with your requested review and for the review tag! (also known as killing two birds with one stone xD)

This was a great opening chapter! I really enjoyed the dialogue between all the characters. Sometimes I felt that there was a bit too much dialogue in some places, so breaking it up with some description would help.

I really liked the way you started the story with Ellie's gift. The way her great-grandmother told her about her gift was believable, though I think another thing that could help with the believability aspect is making Ellie a few years older in that scene. If she was a few years older, I think it would be easier for her to grasp. I also wondered why Ellie wasn't allowed to tell Chris about her gift, since they both seemed pretty close to each other. I hope that if Chris finds out about it later in the story, he won't be too upset with Ellie.

Ellie seems like a great character so far, and so do Chris, Rose, Albus, and even her dad. I loved Ellie's wit and her Cake Sense! I wish I had a talent as cool as that. The banter between Albus and Ellie was great, and I'm interested to see how their relationship progresses! The love/hate thing is a tad bit cliche, but I think you'll end up pulling it off nicely. The only thing that I thought was a little unclear was the reason they hate each other, but that'll probably be explained later in the story.

Another piece of constructive criticism I have is that I felt that this sentence "There was a drum kit in the far corner, a double bass and cello near the floor-length window, at least three guitars scattered around, an open violin case lying on top of a hall table that Chris had "acquired" from the actual hallway where it belonged, lying next to a haphazard stack of music theory books, and what might have been a flute, was hanging precariously off a single timpani, all amongst other music-related paraphernalia, such as reeds, bows, various types of drumsticks, a broken keyboard, a very old amplifier, including electrically unsafe leads, a music stand or four, and sheets and sheets of music covered with Chris' large, cursive handwriting in purple, and my much neater and smaller handwriting in green." was a bit too long and rather list-like. I think if you broke it up into two or more smaller sentences, it would flow much better and hold the reader's interest more.

I loved the scene with Madame Cassandra. I think it had a lovely blend of both humor and ominous foreshadowing, and it definitely makes the reader want to read on, if only to see if her predictions are true. Overall, there are a few small things that I felt could be improved upon, but this story has a ton of potential, and you already have a distinctive style with it. Great work!

Author's Response: Ah, description, description, description. How art thee the bane of my existence? Thanks for the heads up! I know it's an area in which I seriously need to work!

I wanted to make Ellie a little bit too young to fully grasp what was going on. I wanted to give her that learning experience which affects her even today. And Ellie's insecurities concerning Chris become more apparent as the story unfolds!

I'm glad that you're enjoying the characters! For me, they either make or break a story, so it's super important that they're readable! And I wish I had a Cake Sense as well! I'm not sure what I'll do with the cliche relationship at the moment, but we'll see where things will lead!

Yes, that sentence... requires a revision, I agree! A full stop or three would definitely not be amiss!

Thanks for the review, both wonderful and helpful!


 Report Review

Review #6, by purplepotter77Acanthus: Before the Storm

25th August 2013:
Ugh, cliffhanger endings are my ruination. But wow, what an interesting chapter!

I loved Lorcan! I had been wondering while reading the 2nd and 3rd chapters whether or not he was going to make an appearance again, and I'm glad to see he did! Lorcan seems like such a fun, easygoing person. Usually the Scamander twins are characterized as just like Luna, but here you've managed to keep some of the Luna-ness without making it too overtly so.

Rose, Scorpius, and Dalila were great as usual. I'm so glad we got to learn a bit more about Rose and Scorpius' relationship (due to the pestering of Lorcan, of course). "It was all inconsequential to the possible pain Ros-the others could be feeling, he thought." also gave another insight into how Scorpius thinks about Rose. I can't wait for more ScoRose to come (though I suppose it has to take time for their relationship to develop a bit more).

Again, great job with the detail and description! The way the sandstorm was described really helped me picture it and helped me imagine I was there with them. Overall, really lovely job with this chapter. Feel free to request for more reviews when the next chapter comes out!

Author's Response: I'm sorry! I'm nearly over with my travels and the next chapter will be posted on Wednesday!

I'm so glad that you loved him! Yay that's what I wanted him to be like so I'm glad it came through here! I didn't really want him to be like Luna because I can't write her at all, plus it was more fun making him unlike her!

Yes, you will learn more about their relationship throughout this story and Lorcan will continue to be the matchmaker :P With them now being apart it will mean they will think about the other more, so you'll be luck!

Thank you for all of these wonderful reviews, you really outdid yourself! I'll definitely be back on Wednesday to claim another!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #7, by purplepotter77Acanthus: The Tale of Acanthus

25th August 2013:
Ooh, I really like how this chapter starts off with Scorpius' perspective! Usually I hate it when authors switch point of views, but since this is in third person, it works really well here and gives a great insight onto Scorpius' view of things and his personality. A bookish, introverted Scorpius is one that I've very rarely seen in fanfic, and I love how his personality contrasts with Rose's outgoing, extroverted nature.

The details about the different characters are really lovely, too, such as Rose's fondness for cats and the way Dalila gets more withdrawn than usual while meeting new people.

Acanthus is finally introduced! I'm excited to see how the plot is moving, and I think you're doing it at a pretty good pace, too. The way Rashidi told the story of Acanthus was great, and it was a wonderful way to introduce the city into the story. I also love Rose's eagerness to go and find Acanthus and Scorpius' rationality and hesitation about it, which really shows both their personalities. I was wondering how Acanthus would tie in with the whole perfume feature thing, and you managed to include it in a way that really fit both of them together. Yet another thing I loved was how the grandfather is coming with them on the adventure, and I think he'll definitely make things more interesting!

I don't have much crit except for in this sentence "They were gathered in Dalila's cramped with living room with what appeared to be every living relation who lived close enough to come to dinner.", I think you mean "They were gathered in Dalila's cramped living room with what appeared...".

All in all, awesome chapter! I'm eager to read the next one!

Author's Response: I know I hate it at times too, but for the purpose with the story I need to have multiple perspectives. Yay I'm so glad I keep on defying your expectations with the characters as that's what I really wanted to do in this story!

I'm glad that you liked the little details because I often have more fun writing those than the actual story :P

Yes it is finally introduced, though them getting there may take a lot longer so sorry about that! I'm so glad that you liked the introduction to the city as it was so much fun to write! I feel so bad with you getting excited about them being together. As you've read the next chapter you can tell that they don't stay like that for long!

Thanks for pointing that out! Those silly typos always slip past! Also thanks again for another amazing review, I really didn't expect you to carry on reviewing so thanks so much! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #8, by purplepotter77Acanthus: Souks and Surprises

25th August 2013:
Yay, Rose is in Egypt now! I've never been to Egypt before, but it sounds amazing, and I've always loved Egyptian mythology and history.

Poor Rose, withering in the heat! Dalila seems like a very sweet and shy person. It was also nice how she didn't recognize the name Weasley (or maybe she did, but they just weren't as famous in Egypt). I feel like perhaps if Dalila didn't react to Rose's surname, then a lot of other people Rose would meet in Egypt might not, either. That's great for Rose, since she has a chance to make a name for herself in Egypt without being overshadowed by more famous family members.

The background information on Rose and Scorpius and their years at Hogwarts definitely added more to Rose's characterization and answered some of the questions I had in the last chapter about Scorpius. I can totally see Rose as a Gryffindor, especially with her forwardness in asking Dalila for an interview and her eagerness to travel to Egypt.

One of your concerns was whether Rose's thoughts at the beginning of the chapter match those at the end, and I completely forgot to answer that in the last review, so I'll address it now! Obviously her actual thoughts are different, but I think both in this chapter and the last chapter, her voice (her thought-voice thingy, if that makes sense) matches, and I feel like you have a great grasp on her characterization!

I loved how Rose ran into Scorpius and mistook him as a tourist. The idea of him being a curse-breaker and how he was in Ravenclaw are both things I've never seen in fanfic, so once again, great job with the originality aspect! I can't wait to see more of his characterization and the romance between him and Rose. I think you've rekindled my love of ScoRose again!

Another great chapter; I'm off to read the next one! :)

Author's Response: Hello again!

Neither her, but I also love those things too which is a big motivating factor for me to write this!

Yay that's exactly how I wanted Dalila to come across! I never really thought about the fame abroad before writing this but my theory is that they were famous when it happened but the next generation probably only know fragments of it, so that's why there wasn't such a reaction to the name. Hmm, I can't say much but they will reappear in future chapters!

I'm glad that you liked the background information as I was worried it was going to be a little tedious! It was strange writing her as a Gryffindor because my head canon is that she's a Ravenclaw but the story just didn't seem to work with her being a Claw.

Haha, it does make sense, don't worry! I'm glad that her voice follows through because it's always so much harder to tell when your writing it yourself as opposed to being the reader!

Yeah I may be a little bit in love with Scorpius so my head canon is that he's this dark and broody guy so a cursebreaker seemed to fit with that. I'm glad that I can rekindle your love as they really are an awesome ship!

Thanks for another amazing review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #9, by purplepotter77Acanthus: Spectrum

25th August 2013:
Here for your review!

Rose being the overlooked Weasley is something that I've never seen before - usually I see her as one of the more successful Next Gen Weasleys - but it was really lovely to see her in a new light here. It was easy to see her hardworking nature and her thirst to write about she's actually interested in, as opposed to clothes or perfume. Being born into a family such talented and accomplished people must be a heavy burden, though Rose seems eager to match up to them and prove her successfulness, too. Rose is very likable and relatable character so far, and one that I'm interested in learning more about!

The description was lovely throughout this chapter, especially the opening. I loved how you described the rain as "artillery fire" and the ink shooting "spectrums of color". Describing her decision to not dye her Weasley red hair as "the copper burnt on" was a really original touch.

One of your concerns was whether the level of description was equal throughout, and I'd say it is for the most part! I think there's a little bit more description in the beginning, but that fits because it sets the scene for the chapter and helps the reader imagine the story better.

I'm also interested to learn more about Molly, Tabitha, and Loran, and I'm excited for Scorpius to make his appearance! Egypt seems like it's going to be a lot of fun, and from the summary, the city of Acanthus sounds really intriguing and I'm wondering when it'll come into the story!

As for constructive criticism, I've noticed are a few small punctuation things, though nothing huge. For example, in "Rose glanced up from her work, and made a face at Tabitha", there shouldn't be a comma between 'work' and 'and', since 'made a face at Tabitha' isn't an independent clause. That's just a very nitpicky, annoying grammar-y thing, but for overall plot, characterization, etc., you did a really wonderful job!

Overall, I loved the originality in Rose's characterization and your description, and I'm eager to meet Scorpius and see Egypt!

Author's Response: Wow that was quick, and so many! Thank you so much!

That's how she come across in all the next gen stories I've read too, so I thought I would put a spin on it. I think a large amount of it is actually Rose's own worries and fears not so much the reality of it. I'm so glad that you find her likeable as I always dread that when starting a new fic! I hope you continue to like her!

I'm glad that you liked the description in this chapter as I was trying to make it sensory too, and it seems as if it paid off! That last bit is the little science nerd showing in me :P

Even if it is unequal I'm glad that you thought it worked! Though I still am tempted to go and add a little more to the end half :P

I'm sorry to disappoint you but Molly and Tabitha don't make any future appearances! I wish there was some way to work it in but there isn't! Lorcan and Scorpius will feature majorly throughout though!

Thanks for pointing that out to me, I'll fix it straight away! Thank you for those lovely and really insightful review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #10, by purplepotter77Gravel on the Ground: From the Ashes: Prologue

25th August 2013:
Here with your requested review!

This was really a wonderful start to your story! I've never watched Charmed before, but the information you included at the beginning was very helpful for someone unfamiliar with the show. What you said about HP being timeless was something that I had felt when I read the books for the first time. At first, I assumed they took place in present time, and only halfway through the series did I learn they were actually in the '90s.

You mentioned that you were concerned about whether your OC was someone people would want to read about, and I'd definitely say yes! The way you introduced her here was very mysterious - even her name hadn't been mentioned - but since this is just a prologue, it keeps my interest and makes me want to read more to find out who exactly this girl is. The setting of this prologue is also very intriguing. It makes me wonder what happened in the young girl's past so that she had to live on the streets in such a huge city, New York.

The old woman managed to pique my interest even more. Her unusual choice of clothing, the way her hair matched the color of the cat's fur (an Animagus perhaps?), and how she had a wand and the girl knew it was a wand all raise a lot of thought-provoking questions.

Another thing I loved was your description, and I felt that you included enough detail to transport the reader into what was happening in the story while still keeping an air of mystery that makes the reader want to read more. I especially loved the description at the beginning, as it really pulled me in.

Overall, I didn't find any glaring grammar/punctuation mistakes and it flowed nicely. I'm very eager to read more, and you did a great job with this!

Author's Response: Thank you! It makes me so happy that you liked it, even though it was so short.

Glad the short summary of Charmed helped. It really isn't going to be a huge point in the story, but I know some readers can get upset when you give witches or wizards new skills or abilities, so I figured it would be better to base my ideas off of somewhere and explain it that way. And yes, finding out the specific years of the stories was a little weird for me. I'd always assumed they could have taken place any time in the last few decades actually. I've pushed them forward 5 years so they are actually closer to present time. Maybe you'll like that.

Ooooh, you liked the mystery! Goodie! I was going for that! And the setting. My grin is really big right now, reading your responses. I hope you will continue to enjoy it as the story unfolds and some of these questions are answered.

You are making good guesses about the old lady. Keep thinking like that.

Awww, thank you. I really tried to work hard on the description in this story and it's rewarding to hear someone say it worked.

Thank you so very much! I hope you enjoy the next chapter as well.


 Report Review

Review #11, by purplepotter77Spies: Trading Places

21st August 2013:
This was such an interesting and well-written fic! I loved the characterizations of Peter and Severus, and I think you really got them in character. Peter is not someone written about very often and neither is Regulus, but the way you wrote them and Snape, too, is excellent. I loved the parallels drawn between them and how they're both spies - Peter is a spy for the Death Eaters and betrays his close friends, and Severus is a spy for the Order and betrays Lord Voldemort and the Death Eaters. Their situations are kind of the opposite of each other's, and it's really interesting to see how their personalities compare.

All the other characters were written so well, too, and even though they didn't have a leading role in the story, you still managed to make them very canon and very accurate!

Another thing I enjoyed here was your description. It really helped bring the story and the characters to life without distracting too much. Your imagery was amazing and allowed me to visualize everything so well.

I enjoyed reading this so much and I loved the concept of it! Wonderful work! :D

Author's Response: Hello, thanks for stopping by!

I'm glad you liked my characterization here and felt like it was a cool plot idea to focus on the parallels between Peter's story and Severus's. It's also great that you liked the imagery; I definitely worried if I dumped too much in there, but this felt like the sort of story that would benefit from a lot of description. I've been pleased with the feedback I've gotten on it so far.

Thanks so much for your very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #12, by purplepotter77Something to be Used by Others: Something to Be Used by Others

20th August 2013:
This was such a unique story, and you did a really great job with it! I didn't think of Elizabeth Bathory at first while reading this, but after you mentioned it, it made a whole lot more sense! The concept of bathing in blood was so disgusting, and a part of me wanted to stop reading, but it was also fascinating at the same time and really drew me in.

The description here was wonderful, almost poetic, and it fit so well with how disturbing this was. The oily eyes and "silly, girlish pink of before has matured into a deep bourbon red" were great touches.

Your writing style was lovely, and I enjoyed reading this! Great job! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by purplepotter77The Longest Walk of Her Life: The Longest Walk of Her Life

20th August 2013:
I don't like Dramione at all, but I really enjoyed reading this! I loved the way you inserted bits of Hermione's flashbacks into the story as she was walking down the isle, and you managed to do it in a way that kept the flow of the piece going very smoothly. I also liked how you managed to keep the Dramione realistic, because in the few Dramiones I've read, the relationship isn't realistic at all and Draco and Hermione are written out of character, but you managed to pull it off really nicely.

The description was another thing about this story that I loved. You gave just enough without having it distract from what was going on in the fic.

A part of me kind of feels bad for Ron at the end and wishes Ron and Hermione had ended up together, but I think that's just the Romione shipper in me :P

Overall, you did a wonderful job with this! :D

Author's Response: Thank you for this very kind review and sorry for getting back so late. I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by purplepotter77These Memories: These Memories

4th August 2013:
I really enjoyed reading this! Regulus is such an interesting character, and I love the way he's portrayed here and how you explored his character. His connection to Sirius and his relationship with his mother were conveyed very well. The scene where he explored Sirius' room gave a great insight into their relationship and how it makes Regulus rethink himself and his life a bit.

I caught a few typos and grammar things here and there, and I think the large paragraph near the end could have been split up a bit, but it didn't take away from the story too much.

Great job on this; it was really interesting to read! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've always wanted to do a scene in Sirius' room. Like forever.

Multiple people have spoken about the paragraph, so it must really be a bother. Sorry! I'll fix that soon.

I'm really glad you liked it, and now I'm off to review one of your stories!


 Report Review

Review #15, by purplepotter77Albanian Knights: Prologue

3rd August 2013:
I loved how you set up the story so well in the prologue. It was very intriguing and pulled the reader in, while also including a lot of great background information necessary for reading this story. I also liked how your story was set in Albania and how it's about a family of Death Eaters, because Death Eater's families are rarely seen. The love and affection that the family had for each other was really apparent, and it's nice to think that even though Death Eaters are horrible people who do horrible things, they're still capable of love.

The only small bit of criticism I have is to work on having the dialogue flow a bit more. Other than that, I really enjoyed reading this, and it made me interested to read the next chapter. Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing, glad you like the story so far :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by purplepotter77Morning People: one

18th July 2013:
I loved this! It was so cute and fluffy and well written, and it was about my OTP, which makes it even better. I loved how it was such a different take on the usual James/Lily, not the typical Lily-hates-James-no-wait-she-loves-him fic. It's wonderful that first they become friends and then gradually, they realize that they love each other, and it's not huge and earth-shattering with tons of fanfare.

They way you portrayed Lily and James here was wonderful. James is usually seen as the arrogant toerag and Lily hates him with a fiery passion, but here, they seem so much more like real people with a believable romance. Sirius, Remus, Peter, and Petunia were all very excellent background characters, and you got all of their personalities accurately without making them too cliched or overdone.

The subtlety shown through the theme of breakfast was great, though I think all the cornflakes made me slightly hungry. :D The hand-holding part (and even McGonagall smiling at their relationship), the address part, and the part when they first kissed were so cute. When Lily received that letter and James offered her a shoulder to cry on was probably the most touching part of this, and really showed how there was also a war going on at this time.

I loved this, great work!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #17, by purplepotter77Amaranthine: a lifetime that passed by

18th July 2013:
Wow, this was absolutely beautiful and so moving! It's definitely not your average fluffy Lily/James story that I've seen so many times. I love how this deals with the war and how they lived when they were in hiding, but not exactly the night that Voldemort killed them. I've seen so many stories about either that night or their life at Hogwarts, so this was totally a different perspective on their relationship and their life. Also, I love baby Harry!

There were so many small little details you included that added such a lovely touch to this piece, such as the towel or the eggs. They're the kind of silly things you notice while living with someone, but gradually you become accustomed to and later, it doesn't really matter anymore. It made Lily and James seem a lot more like normal people in a hard time, trying to start their new family and live their life, but at the same time, they also had to deal with all the horrible things that were going on. Because of the war, they were stuck in a stasis with no information about what was happening around them and a different friend dying each week, and they had baby Harry to take care of, too. The progression of Lily's emotions was so realistic and so well written. I can't even begin to imagine how horrible it must have been for both of them.

"It was more than a love worth living for. It was a love worth dying for." That line really just summed up their situation and the love they had for each other so wonderfully. It foreshadowed what would happen on October 31 in such a great way.

This fic was absolutely breathtaking, thank you for this amazing story! :D

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #18, by purplepotter77Letters to Regulus: Letters to Regulus

17th July 2013:
Wow, I loved this! It was such an interesting concept and was written so beautifully. I loved the way Sirius and Regulus' relationship is looked at from the point of view of someone outside their relationship.

Usually I've seen Sirius portrayed as not really caring very much about his brother or being dismissive towards him, but his letter seemed as though he really did care about his brother in a way. I think during the time Sirius was stuck in Grimmauld Place, he must have really lonely and it must have been horrible for him, always wanting someone to talk to or more information about what was happening or just wanting to get out of there for once.

Kreacher and Molly were also characterized perfectly. Molly had that motherly-ness, and when Kreacher talked, it was just like how it had been in the books, so great job on that!

Overall, this was such a poignant read, and this was really wonderful to read!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This was the result of one of those times when you hear a song or read a quote, and an idea for a story based around it just HITS you -- and those are sometimes my favorites, because there's a lot of inspiration there. Sirius already really intrigued me, too, because I've written so, so much about him in the past two years, and some of that time was spent on analyzing his relationship with his brother. It was almost natural for me to continue that here, even if it was from Molly's perspective.

I think he would have cared about Regulus, no matter the sort of person his brother was, just on the pretense that they were family. I'm absolutely nothing like my sisters, and we see eye to eye on literally almost nothing, but I love them very much just the same. I'm sure his time alone at Grimmauld Place would have made him think of Regulus, even if he didn't talk about that with anyone else. Any company would have probably done him good, but he grew up in that house with his brother. I'd be surprised if he DIDN'T think about him.

And I'm pleased you found Kreacher and Molly to be in character, too! I had a lot of fun writing both of them; sticking as close to canon is like a puzzle for me, and I really enjoy it. Thank you very much for taking the time to review this, and for saying such lovely things! ♥ I hope to see you back in the future, too!


 Report Review

Review #19, by purplepotter77Imperfect: Imperfect

17th July 2013:
Shell Cottage seems like a lovely place to live! I've only read a few stories in Fleur's point of view, so it was really great to take a peak into her mind! Bill and Fleur here are so cute!

This was a really nice insight into their relationship, and you characterized both of them so well. It's easy to see how much they love each other, despite all the difficulties they've faced.

The description you used was amazing. When you were describing Shell Cottage, I really felt as though I was right there in it. I loved the small details, from her wedding band to how some of the other post-war couples are doing. The part about the werewolf attack was a really nice thing to add, and you tied it in so well to Bill and Fleur's relationship. Great job!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I see Shell Cottage in my head as being very lovely! I'd like to live there -- and as someone who doesn't particularly like the beach, that's saying something. ;) For a long time, I really disliked Fleur and wrote her off, but she is such a strong character. I'm very grateful for the chances I've had to explore her more. I think her relationship with Bill is very strong and REAL too, and I've said a lot about that in past responses for this story. I just love that J.K. Rowling gave her readers so many examples of true, lasting, good love, and also examples of the opposite. To instill a children's series with that kind of morality... it's beyond impressive!

I'm so glad you liked my description, too. ♥ I do love describing things, and it really means a lot that you could "see" the story so clearly! Details add a lot to the realism of a story, I've found, and realism is one of the absolute necessities in a story for me.

Thank you for reviewing this story for me!


 Report Review

Review #20, by purplepotter77Equinox : don't you let me go, let me go tonight.

16th July 2013:
Usually, in most things I've read, the winter symbolizes heartbreak and sadness. I love how here, it's the spring that shows the heartbreak and sadness; it's such an original concept and you've made it work so well here, especially with the confetti and kaleidoscopes!

I've never read a Dominque/Lysander fic before, so that in itself was so interesting. I love all the imagery you used. Everything was written so eloquently and the whole thing flowed very well. I don't know why, but for some reason, this sort of reminded me of Hades/Persephone? I think it was mostly because of the spring stuff.

"You can't just put me together again. You can't pick my scattered pieces off the ground and tell me that everything's okay because youloveme, youwantme, youneedme." I loved this because in so many fics, there's a character that's broken and there's another character that fixes them because they're in love or whatever. I love how your story wasn't like that, because sometimes, it can take more to fix a person. All in all, lovely job with this! I really enjoyed reading it!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #21, by purplepotter77if you could save me: the long farewell of the hunger strike

16th July 2013:
The imagery here was breathtaking. Your writing flowed so well, just like poetry. It's so beautiful. Charlie/OC is a pairing I've only read once or twice before, but I think Charlie/Tonks or something could fit this because it doesn't work out in the end. The prose here is so lovely. The artist/canvas thing was such a nice concept to add to this, and I loved the last part of this about her finding the piece of glass and then moving up. I think it sort of summarizes/ties up their relationship quite nicely. All of your metaphors and similes were really fitting and the part with the dialogue was lovely.

Overall, this was a pleasure to read! Wonderful writing!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #22, by purplepotter77Le Beau Chevalier Sans Merci: The Beautiful Knight Without Pity

16th July 2013:
Your writing is beautiful. I love how you've written it in shorter, more choppy sentences. Usually I don't like stories with a ton of super short stories, but you made it work really well here, and it just fit the mood of the story so well. The repetition of certain phrases worked extremely well, too.

Tom/Minerva is fast becoming one of my favorite ships and the way you wrote them is wonderful. There's a part of me that really wants them to be together and stuff, but they're a ship that could never work, and that's part of what draws me so much to them. They certainly don't love each other, but I think there's something that makes them drawn to each other in a way. I loved the way they relate to "La Belle Dame Sans Merci" but with the roles reversed.

This was amazing, and I'll definitely check out some of your other stuff!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #23, by purplepotter77His Way by Moonlight: the Birch House

16th July 2013:
"No," I answered, "but I am sure a Mooncalf does poop." omg, Hugo is so adorable!

I love the way you've characterized him, and he has so much childlike innocence and imagination. The way you write Hugo (in both this fic and your other Hugo fics) is seriously the best Hugo I've read.

The descriptions were so vivid and imaginative, and I found myself getting lost in Hugo's world so many times. The imagery was fantastic and everything flowed almost like poetry. This had such a mystical, fantasy-like feel to it, and the mood and general atmosphere of the story was just lovely. I loved the centaurs and the Birch House and how the queen of the centaurs was half-cat! This was such a pleasure to read!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #24, by purplepotter77Still Life: Still Life

16th July 2013:
Lucy here was such a lovely character. She reminds me in a way of Lucy from Starving Artists (somehow when I read your stories with Lucy in them, I always think of Starving Artists Lucy because that was the first of your Lucies I've read), but she was so different, too. I also love your characterization of Teddy. Him being an artist is such an original concept. I love how you incorporate art into your stories. It always adds a really unique symbolism to them.

You have such fantastic description in so many places. It brings out the emotions of the characters and their relationships so well. There was a sort of creepiness to this fic ('breezeblocks' is a rather creepy song, I think), and you pulled it off so well! This was such a lovely one shot, wonderful job as always!

(also alt-j is amazing

Author's Response: Ooh, thank you! I've got a bit of a soft spot for writing Lucy (and, even more so, Scorpius) and I think I often risk writing the same person over and over again, so I'm glad to hear you liked this Lucy and thought she was different! I'm also glad you liked the characterisation of Teddy - he's a proper creep in this, and I wasn't sure I'd entirely pulled that off right :L

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :3 ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by purplepotter77The Perfect Plans of Padfoot and Prongs: The Perfect Plans of Padfoot and Prongs

16th July 2013:
This is quite possibly one of the funniest one-shots I've ever read. I was laughing hysterically all through it. (I think my parents might have given me strange looks, but oh well, what can you do?).

""Uh...," I spluttered, my face reddening. "I meant, take me, Sirius, right here against this wall. Man, you're so hot in those...uh...robes."" Oh my god. That line is pure gold.

Sirius was Sirius as usual, and James was just adorable. I was trying my best to feel sorry for poor James, but honestly, if I were in his position, I wouldn't be complaining.

This whole thing was brilliant. You pulled off James/Sirius so well! The plot was amazing and so was the dialogue, and everything flowed so smoothly. Wonderful job, I'm still laughing!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>