Reading Reviews From Member: Dark Whisper
  
424 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Rocket Queen

12th July 2014:
Well, oh my magical stars, whew! That was a lot to take in.

I'm pretty sure I've actually seen these pictures on the internet that you are describing in full detail! That she was taking these gorgeous pictures makes them all the more meaningful and sexy! LOL!

This was really a great chapter of Dramione action that we love.

Dressing rooms are usually tight quarters and him wanting Hermione in that moment (and not the model given to him) was extremely hot on the sizzle scale.

And her apologizing? Oh, boy... wonder what he is going to say about that? You leave your readers hungry for more.

Great job,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #27, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Angels With Even Filthier Souls

12th July 2014:
Hermione owning and actually riding a motorcycle? That's different. I can totally see her going rock-climbing, skydiving, and the like. She was accustomed to an adrenaline rush, most certainly, and her becoming a thrill-seeker makes total sense.

You say that she couldn't believe the things he was saying... Me either! Wow! He is quite forward and bold at what he wants. Sheesh!

I do love her verbal response though. She does (and should) have standards! LOL! She must at least like the guy... and well she doesn't like him. Or at least she wouldn't admit anything else at the moment. X)

Great job,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #28, by Dark WhisperBound To You: A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More Touch Me

12th July 2014:
Wow on Draco killing his own father! *gasp* That is quite a picture you painted for us and it is a little shocking and really sad, actually.

And Hermione seeing it firsthand is tragic as well... and she KNOWS what happened.

I am glad that he turned and was a spy. I like this characterization of him.

I happen to agree with Ginny on Malfoy being a total babe. LOL! I recall seeing the 3rd movie and said out loud... "He's gorgeous!" XD

Anyway, it seems you have written him as being interested in Hermione and you are right... she is in trouble. What woman wouldn't be? :)

Great 2nd Chap,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #29, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Shoot Me Again, I Ain't Dead Yet

12th July 2014:
Hello there. I've been wanting to read this story for a long while and thought I'd go ahead for the House Cup Reviews this year. I do love Dramione. :)

You have set the stage really well for this beginning chapter. Los Angeles, California is a really long way from home.

And I would be shocked as she is astseeing Malfoy standing right in front of her. Of all Magical people in the world... it is him!

She is smart to stay away from Chris and hope he doesn't cause too much trouble in the future.

I really liked her being a photographer. It sounds like you know how to get a great picture from someone. It sounds like you have experience in this field, at least that's my guess.

Great job on this first chapter...
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #30, by Dark WhisperMy Brother: The Stages of Grief

12th July 2014:
Ah, this one-shot was really full of the emotions of loss. Trust me when I say that I can totally relate, especially the emptiness of someone's home. Their belongings are there, but they are not and it is a terrible lonely feeling when you know they won't be back. ;(

At the beginning when he thought of going back to Hogwarts, it seemed a definite "no." But I'm so glad that with time, he was getting on that train and choosing to keep living.

I think it is wonderful that he is taking Colin's camera with him. It may have been Colin's prized possession, but now it will be precious in his brother's hands.

I think your story did really well with the 'Over-coming Adversity' theme, but could just as easily been the "Eternal bonds of Friendship" as well. Both are quite fitting.

As you said, he will never forget...

Great job on this tragic, emotional piece.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy that you liked this story! The emotions were really important to me here, and I really wanted to show what it was like to go through the stages of grief. I'm glad you liked that progression and the symbolism of him taking Colin's camera with him when he returned to Hogwarts. I'm glad you liked this! Thank you so much for this review!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #31, by Dark WhisperWho You'd Be Today: Who You'd Be Today

12th July 2014:
Awe, I could just see this cold and snowy cemetery scene that you described so well for us. And that angel statue sounds beautiful and the blood-red rose was perfect.

Poor Draco and his heartbreak at losing his love. I'm glad that you showed us the not so good memories as well as the good. It shows their relationship started with an apology, which is certainly the right thing to do.

The song you chose is really beautiful. The lyrics are so sad and you incorporated them well with your story elements.

I really like that you kept with the song in the end about hope in seeing her again one day. Thank you so much for leaving it in there, as it should be.

Great job on this little one-shot - song fic. I enjoyed it very much. And that song is so beautiful, I'll probably be singing it for the rest of the day. :)

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing for me! I can't believe you chose this story! XD I wrote it SO long ago, and even though it's been updated, I'm pretty sure it's still very corny.

I'm glad you could picture the setting, though, as well as understand the emotions Draco was going through. And I'm really happy you thought that the song went along with the story.

Thanks again for this review! :)

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #32, by Dark WhisperThe Yule Ball Fiasco: The Yule Ball, Part One

12th July 2014:
Haha! This actually had me laughing out loud in many parts. This is a really short one-shot, but really it doesn't need anymore. It was direct and to the point. Possibly my favorite part would be him saying that she never lets him touch her, even by accident. LOL!

Thanks so much for this look into Ron's thoughts. I think you are spot on.

It's a good thing Krum can't hear Ron's thoughts. He wouldn't take that too kindly. ;) Krum would pound Ron to oblivion!

Great job,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #33, by Dark WhisperThe Scent of Snow: The Scent of Snow

12th July 2014:
Well, hello.
First, I think it would be difficult to come up with a story where someone gives you the pairing, especially if you're just not into them. You did a good job, considering the challenge.

Also, writing their dialect would be even harder. I would love to write a Krum fic, but would hate trying to write his accent. So kudos for trying to do it for 2 characters!

Their chemistry seemed great and natural. He is so handsome and their 'in the moment' kiss seemed believable and romantic.

The only thing that I think threw me off a bit was him jumping in the Black Lake and going for a swim in the cold, then putting his clothing back on to go back to the dance. I think a walk around the lake would've been more realistic than actually jumping in, but maybe that's just me.

Anyway, great job between these two, especially with the challenges they present.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #34, by Dark WhisperOne Dance: One Dance

11th July 2014:
Hello there. Ah, the Yule Ball. I just loved this piece of JKR's story.

Well, I've read these two dancing a tango, but never a jive. That certainly was different and quite lively.

I liked that he admitted how pretty she looked. Of course these two would 'feel' something toward each other, but deny, deny, deny. XD

You made me laugh out loud when Blaise caught the lie when hearing his first name. Haha. That was a great little line and I loved it.

Anyway, great job on this little one-shot. It was a really cute read.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #35, by Dark WhisperIn His Kiss?: In His Kiss?

11th July 2014:
Ah, Viktor...
I just loved his character; a jock who turned out to be shy, who never even talked about what he was famous for. Who wouldn't love a guy like that?

It seems you have kept him true to canon, except that per the movies, I would describe him as quite handsome, not awkward. But maybe that's just me. :)

Your story about their kiss reads painstakingly true. Even in kissing a gorgeous person, if the sparks aren't there... they just aren't.

It brings home the fact that, even if they make the cutest couple, it doesn't mean that they are made for each other.

I truly loved all of your vivid descriptions and your portrayals of all of the characters was spot on.

Great job... disappointed in the lack of sparks and toe-curling, but that's just the way it is sometimes. LOL!

Great job,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #36, by Dark WhisperAlways: Always

11th July 2014:
Well, hello there. I was looking for some short stories and found this little gem.

Poor Krum, I really feel for him. I loved that he was at that wedding and was disappointed that they cut him out of it in the movie. :( I loved his character and that Hermione had caught his eye.

Your story is sad in that he never told her how he really felt. I think in real life it is so hard to admit feelings and find the right time... and of course, somehow overcome the fear of rejection.

You did a great job in so few words, especially how he sees her; the beauty in her eyes.

My favorite part was the last line... that no matter the future, he would continue to lover her. That hits high marks for romance, in my book.

The only thing that I could possibly suggest is a little bit more on his feelings on whether or not he would attend the wedding. Maybe he knows he would not be able to witness it and sends a letter declining? Maybe he ignores it and doesn't respond at all? You have me wondering what he is going to do. ;)

Anyway, congrats on your first fanfic, navigating through it all, and successfully posting it. I want to encourage you on your way. Don't be afraid to do it again and again. Just have fun and write what you love. :)

Great job,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #37, by Dark WhisperWhat is love?: Christmas Day

11th July 2014:
Meg,
Awe, it is Christmas time and their breakfast sounds really good! :)

And can I say that I absolutely love, love, love the concept of those little boxes! They are very creative and lovely and highly romantic! The thought of being able to send something directly and discreetly sounds wonderful. Excellent gifts for these two and so sweet that they got each other the same thing as Christmas gifts!

And now the men are gone off to do something dangerous, leaving the women behind... and on Christmas Day, no less. Men!

And I love Astoria's comment about things always being open for Malfoys and they had 2 of them. LOL! Yes, I suppose she is right. Malfoys have access in excess... and now she is technically one of them.

I love that he hugged and kissed her goodbye. But I think I would be a little upset about just discovering that he is not exactly in business nor was he very clear at what he does. Argh! Men! LOL!

And Harry sticking up for Draco in a conversation with Ron really would start "Wizarding War Three." LOL! Your line made me laugh out loud. Excellent line!

Christmas in July... perfect! I feel like I needed this little bit of gift/joy in my life these days. You did really well with this, especially the magical boxes and the magical story behind them. Great job!

Until next time,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #38, by Dark WhisperYoung and Beautiful: Truth Comes Out

11th July 2014:
Ah, yes, the truth comes out, indeed! Oh, if I was Hermione, I would feel about an inch tall or so. I would feel terrible at giving him such news that shocked and angered him.

I did love how she invited him to talk and offered to be there for him. It was lovely of her to offer such a thing.

Ooh, I loved how you portrayed his shock and anger. You are so right... How Dare She cross a Malfoy? She should be in serious trouble. I loved how he went to the Quidditch field to fly until he calmed down enough to not do something stupid. But he does need to teach her some kind of lesson. But how? I'm sure you'll come up with something really cool.

Great job with your story so far. I want to encourage you as your story progresses and these two get closer. Again, beautiful choice of song. I love it and will now think of this story every time I hear it on the radio. :D

Lovely job,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Your reviews are so encouraging and make me want to hop right back on to my keyboard and finish this story! I have been so caught up in my outside life that i let this story slip to the back of my priorities. However tomorrow after I get off work, Ill will be heading to the nearest Starbucks to enjoy a salted caramel mocha while i write more of this story and get it going!

Your reviews and your enthusiasm make me so happy! I hope the newest chapter will be up by this weekend so keep checking for it!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Dark WhisperYoung and Beautiful: Music is Bliss

11th July 2014:
Awe... the cello! My son plays the cello and it is a beautiful sound. I love that Daphne's letter was forgotten as he played his best for Hermione, locking eyes to her. What a wonderful unique scene you have given to your readers. :)

I'm sure Hermione was mesmerized by his talents that she didn't know existed and I'm happy that that the letter was forgotten a 2nd time. And oh... his base? Ah, that Daphne doesn't know the damage she is causing herself. Good for Draco to start moving on before he even discovers what she is doing.

Music is Bliss... agreed.

Reading on...
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Overjoyed that you liked this chapter so much. I love how music can connect people, its like a language without words just sounds. Thank you for your encouraging review's they keep me going

 Report Review

Review #40, by Dark WhisperYoung and Beautiful: What is Love?

10th July 2014:
Oh, I do love how you made him a 'hot chocolate' kind of guy! I LOVE it and have portrayed him as such as well... with whipped cream, of course. LOL!

I like how these two as head boy and girl are moving into the future, trying to keep their past in the past. War does change people and I'm glad to see they are not battling each other.

I also love this intimate chat... something deeper than a hello and weather. I've always thought that deep conversation between these two is the path to both of their hearts. His question has opened the door, I think.

And, oh, that Daphne and Theo... hmm. Betrayal won't go well with Draco. Hope you have something special for these two. ;)

Reading on...
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you, im a huge hot chocolate fan myself so I couldn't resist. Thank you for yours reviews they are very encouraging

 Report Review

Review #41, by Dark WhisperYoung and Beautiful: Sleepless Nights

10th July 2014:
Miss BookWorm,

Hello there. :) So, I decided to try some Dramione Songfic and yours is on the top of the Search list. And whenever I read songfics, I always check out the songs first before reading to get the tone and words... and I must say that you chose a hauntingly beautiful song. She sings it beautifully and the background sound is epic and powerful. It seems perfect for this pairing.

I love the imagery you portray, especially with this line describing the music she hears in her mind that made her feel, "...like swaying slowly in the arms of your lover." Beautiful line.

I'm happy to see that Draco wants more out of relationship than just sex and his money. His question is valid and I'm glad that Daphne is showing her true colors. She doesn't even want to talk about growing old. Great characterization.

"You know the way out." Love this cold line from Draco. It is appropriate and to the point and I can totally hear him saying that.

I only wish he had heard Hermione's lyrics through the door, but that's just the Dramione fan in me being impatient :)

Great first chapter... and again, excellent song choice.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I am ecstatic to hear that my songfic is one of the top stories to read when searched. I love this song and the first time i heard it it instantly made me think of these two and the story slowly began forming in my head.

Thank you for the reviews it inspires me with how much your enjoy and how excited you are for the story


 Report Review

Review #42, by Dark WhisperTea with Trelawney: Tea with Trelawney

10th July 2014:
Awe, Tea With Trelawney... this is really adorable. I loved her (your insight) in what kind of drink would match Snape's personality and even equating that to his relationship... yes, bitter coffee is exactly fitting and quite funny actually. Makes me think of all that water I drink... I must be quite bland. LOL!

I Loved your name for her brand, "Dark Mark Coffee." You made me chuckle with that one. I also loved Luna in this. You depicted her perfectly and the dialogue was adorable.

Great job on this little story!
Sincerely, Dark Whisper

Slytherin - House Cup 2014 Review Educational Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #43, by Dark Whisper3 years after : Meeting

9th July 2014:
Mary,

Well, hello there. I just stopped in to see if there were any new Dramione stories and I happened upon yours.

You have a lovely first chapter here and have certainly set the stage well. You've given us a time frame and told us much of what Harry has been doing. I think it is great that he was brave and bold to take action. And you certainly have your readers wondering what Malfoy got himself into. :)

And of course, Hermione was a little late, but she was there. Poor Draco doesn't seem to be doing well, but I hope that turns around soon. With all of those Death Eaters surrounding him, it can't be good, the poor dear.

Good luck on your story...
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #44, by Dark WhisperTainted Hearts: Tainted Hearts

9th July 2014:
Wow! You know, this really begs for more. I know this is a goodbye or sorts, but it leaves the reader begging for how their relationship came to this moment in time. You've given us such an emotional end, we want the beginning and middle sections that would have a Malfoy uncharacteristically beg for one more night.

I love sad, tragic Dramione and you really packed an emotional punch in only 500 amazing words! Congrats on that!

Great job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #45, by Dark Whisperdirty little secret.: ...

8th July 2014:
ohmymerlin,

Wow, this little one shot was quite steamy and I can totally see his progression from merely cheating on a girlfriend to eventually cheating on a wife. And to make it a sister is really risky business.

I'm wondering if he really doesn't even care to get caught, especially if their marriage life is one of acquaintance-type of a relationship.

As this is Draco, I can see this sexy beast having his way and getting away with it. And even if he doesn't, he is just arrogant enough to not really care, even if it means destroying the relationship of siblings.

I really loved the pictures that you gave your readers... the description of their little secret meetings was pretty warm on the "hotness scale." LOL! I love that he his so conniving and deviant and seems to be himself.

Anyway, very enjoyable read. Thank you for sharing this hot little secret of a story with the world. :)

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hello!

The line: 'I can see this sexy beast having his way and getting away with it' is officially the best line I have ever read! I literally squeaked because I was laughing so much! :P

Haha, it was something very different from me but I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D

Thank you so much for this lovely review! Absolutely loved it! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Dark WhisperWhere I End and You Begin: the gloaming.

8th July 2014:
"Desire is easier than love." Oh, wow, isn't that such an interesting line. And since this is Severus Snape it holds even more meaning. I would think he would hate nearly everything Muggle though, even if he was a half-blood, but I gather that only because he told Lilly she was special and her sister was not.

You certainly wrote him having an impatient potty mouth. LOL! Anyway, good job on this very short little one-shot. You certainly know how to paint a picture. :)

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #47, by Dark WhisperMy Sister-in-Law: horror feminae

8th July 2014:
Ah, Caoty,

The answer to your question is that I would LOVE Audrey because she is not thin and gorgeous. I would probably try to cheer her though as she seems a bit depressed, especially in her inability to be happy in a happier world.

I would probably talk her into eating only dessert as we talked about our husband's flaws if nothing more than to talk about something else besides beautiful in-laws. :D

You gave a very vivid picture of Audrey... and not just her physical appearance, but her thoughts on many things, really.

Great job in penning a character in so few words.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #48, by Dark WhisperDanse Macabre: Exit Music

8th July 2014:
caoty,

Well, this is certainly different and not what I expected at all. Your dream sequences were very much like nightmares and I couldn't tell if he was already dead in thinking these things or not. :)

I actually liked the roman numerals on each paragraph. It was like an outline of a large book... as if there were much more that could be written.

You mention Gothic horror and I definitely think you did a good job of picking up the influence in writing this one-shot. You sure scared me. LOL! ;)

Great job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #49, by Dark WhisperThestrals: Hugo

8th July 2014:
800 Words of Heaven,
Awe, this was so very bittersweet. I absolutely loved, loved how he hated the Thestrals at the beginning for what they represented, but by the end, he loved them when encountering them first-hand in the peaceful setting of the woods. You have truly amazed me with your ability to turn in story in only 500 words. That is quite a feat and a talent. Even with so few words, there is still plenty of beautiful description and real emotion. Great job, really in this three-story collection, all smartly connected with each character being able to see a Thestral... and then connected further with the Every Word Counts Challenge.

Truly an excellent job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: This was my favourite to write. I just loved the process that Hugo went through. His acceptance of the thestrals, and more importantly, of what they represented, was such a huge moment for Hugo. I'm very happy with the way he turned out in the end. And I'm a little addicted to 500 word stories I think - this is my fifth!

Thanks so much for the wonderful reviews :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by Dark WhisperThestrals: Neville

8th July 2014:
Wow, that was really amazing. This look inside Neville's head was great. It was like he was reminding himself at different points in his life, thinking of what his grandfather had told him, even if he didn't feel brave, the poor dear. And I really think that you were right in mentioning him trying and getting defeated anyway. And even though he would consider them “fails,” he actually succeeded at being brave regardless of the outcome. I would think that at that pivotal moment in time with the snake, that he would try and quite possibly think he would fail... but he would TRY and ultimately that is what helped save their magical world.

Thanks so much for this amazing glimpse into Neville's thoughts. Excellent job!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I think there must have been times in his life when he really didn't like the person he saw in the mirror. It can't have been easy for him - he has all these expectations which he in no way understands how to live up to. But the great thing about Neville is that he just soldiers through it all. He becomes very determined to become who he thinks he should be. It was very nice to be able to write about him!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>