Reading Reviews From Member: Dark Whisper
  
445 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dark WhisperHow not to be a Woodley: Of Rebels and Romantics

20th February 2017:
NH Stadler,

Hello, dear. I am thoroughly enjoying your story. The character development is truly brilliant and refreshing. The Woodley family dynamic has been very creative and enjoyable to read. You invoke pity in your readers for Seth and this is to your excellent writing credit.

Seth is adorable and you have also developed her friends characters expertly as well.

The phone booth and the rest of the 'incendent' with James was adorable. And I'm pretty sure every reader felt her humiliation. You wrote this scene very well. We know James wanted her, but she doesn't, the poor dear.

On your plot, you have built this brilliantly. We have mystery and intrigue and lots of doubt, even the professors. It is logically and beautifully done.

Writer's block can be a nasty thing. But write the future chapters that you can, even if it is not in sequence. You are probably already doing this, but it helped me a ton.

Congratulations on your Dobby Nominations! Your story is successfully addicting and extremely well-written. At the end of the day, yours would be an outstanding addition to the "Dobby Wall."

Best Wishes, keep plugging along... 10/10 and I've favorited to return for more.

Excellent job!
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dark Whisperfirst: first time

5th February 2017:
bittersweetflames,

Congratulations on your Dobby nomination!
Your story is quite sweet and I want to congratulate you on finishing your first multi-chapter story. Great job!

I must say that I love that Esme has not had the "apple pie" kind of example for marriage. This lends realism as so many people have come from broken homes and have a difficult time believing in the possibility of love lasting. You brought the feelings of many to light; this cause/effect of seeing marriages dissipate.

I love that it was her mother's words that helped her sort out the reason for her feelings and see how important love truly is. Wonderful!

My favorite piece of your writing must be the lines regarding how her mother and her had their hands over their hearts, realizing that their men were "not there." So powerful, this is the stuff of excellent writing!

My heart also squeezed when Esme revealed that somehow she always brought anger out of people. In her mind, Albus was no different. Oh, my Black stars, that is so very heartfelt and sad, but the character development leaped from the page. Her absence from family for a year fits these feelings of not wanting to anger anyone, but that is precisely the effect of doing so. Brilliant characterization again. It is true to life. It's an error that feeds the fear.

I adored their first kiss, a bit forceful, but not unwelcome. And I love Albus with his quiet longing, letter writing, and lovely persistence in writing her mother.

Fluffy romance stories have their place, but I prefer stories that are in the more realistic realm... loneliness, disbelief, reluctance, emotional flaws... with some sort of redemption in the end. Hope should falter before slowly rising. This is what I crave to read (and write) and your story certainly fits these pieces of the best romantic puzzles.

Excellent work, bittersweetflames... and my best wishes.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dark WhisperStuck on the Puzzle: It Concludes

5th February 2017:
This was adorably fluffy, well-written take on the pen pal storyline. I believe my favorite part was the 5th Marauder, Feather. This was incredibly clever and funny to read of his deep and humorous thoughts.

I loved your descriptions of James being elated and downright bubbly with happiness. And you captured Remus and Sirius antics and thoughts really well too! Loved that you mentioned the motorcycle and James' thoughts on how it could NOT make his friend "cool." LOL!

Congratulations on finishing a really cute story and being nominated for a Dobby!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dark WhisperAccidentally Bumping Into You : The Chinese Restaurant

31st January 2017:
Siriusly21,

Awe, this was adorable. You about broke my heart at, "Hermione wished Draco was another man..."
Gulp, that was hard to read, as big a fan I am of these two hearts.

I don't normally relate to Hermione much, but I did in your story... in that she re-lived those few moments with him for a year, second guessing herself and wishing she had said something else, not letting it go. Wow, I do that a lot and think of the "right thing to say" much later.

I loved the realistic bluntness of the beginning years and especially the imagery of her abruptly standing when she saw him the 3rd year, unsure of why she was doing it. I love this element, as it adds a bit of that jolt in your story that I imagine her heart was feeling.

Congratulations on your Dobby Nomination! I can see why you made the list. :)
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad the emotional part of this is realistic, emotions are hard for me to write. I'm glad Hermione was relatable! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dark WhisperThis Bird Has Flown: a cynic and an idealist walk into a bar

30th January 2017:
Hello, Crestwood!
Congrats on your Dobby nomination!
This was really adorable. I generally don't read too much Next Gen, but was quite pleased with this one-shot. Not much is written about Lucy either, I don't believe.
Anyway, I loved your characterization of Scorpius as bit of a quiet wanderer who enjoys a little bit of fun chaos on the side. And truly I loved Lucy's place. A bit of odd things, messy, no chairs says much about her personality.
I love dialogue and in-depth conversation, you did well here and somehow they ended up drunk, but not in bed. Kudos on being refreshingly different these days!
You painted a lovely picture of how people realistically begin meaningful relationships.
I also loved his little letter. It is short, but speaks volumes.

Again I say, Congrats!
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dark WhisperCircles: Circles

30th January 2017:
Nott Theodore,

This was quite a beautiful and sad picture of 5. Short and to the pin-point. Your post-war characterization of each has given them continued depth that I crave and love so very much.
Formatting to 100 words each is brilliant and quite the challenge, I imagine.
I can see clearly how you have been nominated for a Dobby. Congratulations for being recognized and for writing such a lovely piece.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dark WhisperIncendio: ...

9th August 2016:
oh my Black stars this was just what I needed today! You made me laugh and thoroughly enjoy this read today. Indeed, thank you. Oh, how we see that he is torn and struggling as he attempts to write deep harbored feelings. He must've gone through an entire ream of parchment. Ha! I do love how you ended with him saying the word one final time. He just couldn't do it ! Wonderful. Bravo dear. And thank you for offering respite from my gloomy day. Much appreciated. Dark Whisper

Author's Response: You are very welcome, and thank you so much for saying so. You have just given me my firstest ever review. Yay.

I'm also pretty chuffed that the author of Delilah's Black Book of Poems liked my Dramione and I'm very glad to hear that it helped your day.

You've certainly made my day. Thanks again!



 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark WhisperCurating Artifice: An Ode to the “Dark” Arts and Dramione: Part 1: Smut

4th February 2016:
NotReallyBlonde44,

Oh, my my my... another entry for the Smut-astic challenge? I'm so into the Dramione sort that I cannot help myself and must read all that I can before the challenge passes into archive history. The challenger truly has an impossible job of choosing the best one... I could not. They are all so lovely and yours is no exception.

Let me start by commenting that your banner is amazing! Both likenesses are wonderful for these older, sexy characters!

Anyway, I loved his collecting of dark artifacts. Wow! This truly fits and is something that he would definitely do... especially with all that time and money on his hands since his divorce. ;)

You did quite well with your required element, which I'm guessing is the corset. Truly, I think a story would be difficult to incorporate it, but you nailed it really well, giving it an important piece in his collection... I absolutely love this!

Clearly these two are quite mature at this point and involve themselves in adult things. At first, I was a bit surprised with Hermione in this, only because she is probably breaking about 50 rules. But then when I thought about that for half a second, it makes total sense. Her past history and golden reputation shine on. :)

What a fun read today. Good luck and best wishes on your challenge entry! Thank you so much for entering!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper!!

Thanks for the amazingly unexpected review :) This challenge was boss, hopefully it won't fizzle into archive history too soon. I also couldn't choose between all the entries, they're very very smutty and good.

Yes - galaxies aka raisha on HPFF aka the amazing randee - did a superb job with this banner. I choose the faceclaims, but she made this beauty sparkle and match the tone and aura and YAH could not be happier with how this turned out.

Awesome, glad you can see it. JK released this hobby of Draco's on Pottermore awhile back, so I can't take claim for this at all. She didn't mention a divorce, so I embellished there, but this is Draco's post-school hobby says JK and I just took is naughty from there haha.

Hermione's 40+ year old women, rules are for chumps at some point :P At least, that's where I took this. She's making her own rules up now and Draco's an attentive/captive audience mwhaha.

I enjoyed writing something so different than my typical, and I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks again so much for the surprise review *squishes*

ellie


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dark WhisperFallen: Goodbye

5th January 2016:
adluvshp,

Ugh... of course I must read all the smut*tastic Dramiones. Who can resist them? Not I.

And now to yours... Well, aren't those Death Eater masks romantic in their own way? They are supposed to scare people, I think. But alas, they can be used in other ways. :)

These two would have passion in the days of war. I can totally see that. And his point blank, "Seduce me," cut to the chase of what he wanted to do with her.

However, the end as shocking as it is, the only thing I wished for was a tiny, itsy little bit of remorse. Wouldn't he at least miss her body and what it did to his? Hate though... so sad. ;(

Great job on your smut-tastic entry!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing! It's always awesome to get unexpected reviews xD

Haha the masks are supposed to be scary but oh well ;)

I am pleased you could see the passion they had, and the "seduce me" bit was good for you.

The "beauty" of the ending, or of Draco, here is that he does not have any remorse. For him, Hermione was just a means to an end. He merely enjoyed the passion for pleasure purposes, and now he's done with her.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dark WhisperStill Beautiful : Still Beautiful

5th January 2016:
HappyMolly,

Oh, wow. How this rings so true to life! My husband still takes me to the stars and I am so grateful and still in love with him. It's like I'm reading my own thoughts and words. Amazing!

You get extra, extra points for realism and great story-telling, as I could understand her feelings. And you are so right about the lovely feeling of being attractive to others, not just your husband. You wrote this perfectly!

Great job on your smut*tastic elements and again... for being so "real."

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing, and thank you also for your kind words. I put a lot of myself into Ginny's thoughts and feelings here, so I'm very pleased that it paid off!

/Molly


 Report Review

Review #11, by Dark WhisperRoom 49: Summer After the War

5th January 2016:
Darkkid,
Ugh! Who can resist a smut-tastic Dramione? Who? Who? I cannot! And so it is...

Firstly, your banner and chapter images are gorgeous! I would love to have that talent. They are both mesmerizing.

And gah! I loved how you incorporated your requirements (I'm assuming Library and Mask). I adored the reason behind the mask. Of course it would be so that she wouldn't have to be herself... to help hide their past history. I really loved the deeper meaning behind it as an important story element. And hello! Of course seeing her in a mask as a solution to their "problem" would make his blood boil, in a good, wonderful way. :D

I love that you had him untying it though... it was HER and he would share intimacy with her. All perfectly awesome in my book.

You broke our Dramione hearts with Draco's wanting her to stay and wanting more and her saying no. Wahh! Boo hoo. But along with a good Dramione there is always a sad piece to it. (At least those are my favorites of this pairing).

I loved that you did give us a hint as to there coming together in the future, but alas, their love (if you can call it that in this fic) will always be short lived.

Having a summer with Draco... whew. What a fantastic smut-tastic story!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dark WhisperAnniversary Presents: Christening the Library

16th December 2015:
Aditi,
Okay, so yes, I literally ran to see this Smut-tastic Dramione in the flesh, so to speak! LOL!

I think this challenge is fantastic! 8D

What Dramione fan wouldn't love intimacy in a library with a blindfold to help christen it? XD

I like how you incorporated your required elements (I'm guessing library/blindfold), especially turning the tables with that blindfold originally meant for her, only to be used on him for "other surprises." Just brilliant.

With much fan appreciation, you definitely scraped the borderline of TOS without going over... a difficult challenge, indeed.

Nicely done, enjoyable read for anyone needing a Dramione fix... Hahah! :P
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: I loved the challenge too, though writing smut on HPFF is a bit daunting, haha.

I am pleased you enjoyed the incorporation of the library and the blindfolds, and the way the tables turned.

Thank you so much, glad you had fun reading this!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Dark WhisperBlasted Mistletoe: Blasted Mistletoe

3rd December 2015:
Bahahahaha!
This should be required reading for every Dramione fan. LOL!

I would be so MAD! I equate this to being stuck in Christmas traffic for 4 hours, starving. LOL!

Love the bit about Theo. Hahaha!

Steamy details in that kiss too! You get extra points on the hotness scale. XD

And Hermione's reaction on being "assaulted"... priceless!

Glad I read this today. Where are the reviewers today? 10/10

Cheers!
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dark WhisperHis Darkest Secret: His Darkest Secret

22nd November 2015:
Hello there.
First, I want to say that your banner for this story is absolutely stunning! I'm pretty sure that I stared at it for a half hour before I read the story. LOL! It is gorgeous!

Anyway... I can't help feeling that if he really knew, there would be no hugs for Draco in the end of DH7. XD

And at the end of your story, I was like... "And that's where they leave it??? Gah!"

So much wonderful suspense and then you left me wanting more. WHAT DID VOLDY DO? Did Draco try to explain? Did the Dark Lord take pity or something? I'm clueless.

Anyway, great job capturing fear and getting into our beloved's blond head.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you liked the story.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Dark WhisperOil and Water: oil and water don't mix

27th August 2015:
As I was reading, I was captured with the thought that I was actually reading poetry.

I love your metaphors of things that don't mix... well not only mix, but are down right catastrophic when mixed, extinguishing the other, causing conflict and pain.

I love your characterization of Scorpius. I could totally see him; beautiful and unfaithful.

Bravo in writing this one-shot so quickly!

Great job.
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #16, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: Fall - TreacleTart - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Poor Harry! Can he not enjoy anything in his childhood without have so much danger surrounding him? It really is a tragedy and you have captured this particular moment perfectly. This is during a GAME, a fun thing to do in his young life at school. But instead, he is being tormented by his own mother's murder and then plummeting towards earth in a free fall, not knowing if there is anyone or anything to help. This is really heartbreaking and quite haunting at the same time. And a story in so few words. It makes me feel so sorry for the boy who lived... the boy who would be tormented all his young life. So sad. You wrote it really well, full of vivid descriptions. Poor Harry!

Good job,
DW

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: What Did I Do Wrong? - Pixileanin - Gryffindor

11th July 2015:
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Toad races? How adorable! I this "friend from your summary was going to be an OC. LOL! I am pleasantly surprised. You described the event wonderfully. I love how the toad just sat there and did nothing. And my favorite was when Neville talked to it, trying to talk sense into it - to motivate it into moving. I'm so glad he beat out Goyle and Seamus. If anyone deserves it, Neville certainly did. And I think to answer your question... Neville needs to get another spider to coax it down, of course. Apparently toads are highly food motivated. LOL! Great job in writing a story in so few words!

Sincerely,
DW

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: Magical Photo Race - StarFeather - Gryffindor

11th July 2015:
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

I love it that Colin's father is a photographer and has inherited that talent and finds awesome use for it in the magical world... to one-up Rita Skeeter's photographer. LOL!

And you are so right about it being difficult to get a photo of Harry smiling. The boy who lived seemed to have little to smile about. His life began tragic and the Dark Lord has made his life rather miserable. Challenges seem to lurk at every corner, even at the Yule Ball.

I think it was quite humorous for him to get an accidental shot of Snape's enormous nose. That was a perfect way to end this story! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: A Blur of Colour - FredWeasleyIsMyKing - Gryffindor

11th July 2015:
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Oh, my... it would be terrible to lose your eye sight, especially suddenly and with no warning. I couldn't imagine. But it does happen and the frustration and utter change of life would be devastating. You really captured this new world of his quite vividly. I like how you wrote that sounds are now colors.

And I absolutely LOVE how you incorporated Wizards Chess. Of course he could just move them by speaking! That is absolutely a brilliant idea!

Reading this has me wondering if you or a family member or friend has experienced blindness. It certainly is a different way of life, but it doesn't have to beat you. I love your message of hope at the end. Great job in so few words.

Sincerely,
DW

 Report Review

Review #20, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: Charlie Weasley and the Dragon Races - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Hello. Well, I must say that your title and summary brought me in. Who doesn't love a good story with dragons? I love how JKR included them in her universe so that fanfiction can include them freely as well. I think Charlie is probably envied for his job, especially now that you've included races each week. :)

Your story really reminds me of caged animals at the zoo. It is sad that they are confined for their own well being and survival. But these beasts are ferocious and can do much damage. It is sad they must live their lives confined, as I'm sure they would be considered an endangered species, even in the magical world.

I like how you incorporated them in a game and that their lives are happier for it.

Good luck with the house cup.

Sincerely,
DW

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dark WhisperThis is How You Love Her: This is How You Love Her

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Wow! Your summary really drew me in. Why would he actually want to lose the Tri-wizard Tournament? Your reason is brilliant and beautiful at the same time. Love, of course.

For not liking to write action, you certainly did a good job. The key is short action sentences. It makes one read faster and faster, wanting to know what happens.

You really dove into Cedric's thoughts and yearnings wonderfully and I am truly amazed. This seems so well thought out, even though you admit to allowing the character tell you what he wanted. I wish my characters did that. LOL!

I loved how you had Harry making an unexpected "offer," giving him a perfect solution.

The tragedy is that we all know what happened just after this. So terribly sad.

Excellent job on Cedric's point of view.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dark WhisperA Flakey Tragedy: A Flakey Tragedy

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Selene! Oh, my mouth is watering for a Hermione biscuit! Your descriptions were wonderful and perfect and now I want one, or two, or a baker's dozen.

I absolutely love your depiction of Snape. It is perfect and spot on. You made me laugh several times, especially showing and telling us of the Gryffindor students and their mishaps... and his irritation. Haha!

And when his pride nearly had him dropping one, I nearly fell out of my chair. Hahah! Also loved how he gave 20 points to Gryffindor. LOL! That was great, but not overly generous, was it.

Also loved the Umbridge references as well. Even she didn't mess with his biscuit-less state that day. XD

I hope you won this food challenge. It was a true delight to read and indeed, very creative.

Bravo, 10/10,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dark WhisperSweet Sorrow: Only A Memory

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Well, Lady. I must say that the beginning descriptions in this short story captured me from the start. I could see that window curtain and smell that coffee! I always encourage these wondrous bit of words that allows the reader to really see what the characters see (and smell). Great job painting a true and lovely picture.

I love how you progressed their story and described his confidence. What woman doesn't love this in a man? And using the words, comparing it to stone walls was perfection.

Again, I love how James changes over time and becomes mature. This effects how she sees and feels for him. Excellent!

It is difficult to fit a story into 500 words. And TA Status... I'm Slytherin green with that blessing. Congratulations!

Extra points for your creative descriptions in this gem.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you!

I'm glad you appreciated the imagery of this story. I'm always happy when readers compliment my description!


I agree! About women loving a man with confidence, and James becoming mature, and trying to squeeze in 500 words. Thank you again haha!


Really appreciate your read and review!


-LA


 Report Review

Review #24, by Dark WhisperAn Inconvenient Repercussion: Chapter 1

17th May 2015:
Treacle Tart,

Oh, my darkened stars. ;(

This is the best Blaise story that I've ever read. So good, my dear. And so very dark.

It is terribly sad, especially that his mother made no pretense about her true feelings. It is heartbreaking not only feeling unloved, but knowing it without a doubt.

I am happy that the Malfoys had helped him and showed him some caring in his life.

But at the end... Wow! He killed her? I really didn't expect that at all. An accident involving him, maybe, but you floored me. It shows how, even though he might seem normal and even an upstanding citizen in becoming a Healer, deep down he was deeply scarred and messed up. I am truly amazed at this sad and tormenting story.

You did an outstanding job with his character. You made him complicated and truly amazing. I've always liked Blaise, but now I want to hug him.

I can totally see him in front of Aurors or the court, as you said. She was a murderess and hateful to him his entire life. Of course, he would have no remorse. Outstanding story!

Bravo and 10/10 again.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper!

Thank you again for another lovely review.

I'm so glad that you liked this story. Blaise was a hard character for me to write and this one really took a lot out of me. I think I re-wrote this at least 4 times, so it means a lot to me that this is the best Blaise story you've ever read.

I wanted his mother to be a brutal character. She has zero maternal instinct and is solely concerned with keeping up her cash flow.

The Malfoys were a light in the darkness that was his life. I think if it wasn't for Narcissa's care, Blaise might've lost hope a long time past.

Blaise was definitely deeply scarred by his mother's actions. I don't think it's possible to escape that level of abuse without damage. I think part of him just snapped at the end.

Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments and encouraging words.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #25, by Dark WhisperThe Duet Of Pansy And Draco: Cantata

17th May 2015:
Treacle Tart,

Oh, you ARE a Draco fan! LOL! This was so clever and creative. And he is so MEAN! He probably deserved every hateful thing she told him.

The gargoyles reminding him of Pansy?! Hahaha! I almost beat my fist into the couch and kicked my heels, that was so funny! LOL! XD

Oh, but when he said he probably should've cared when she kept coming back and instead saw it as any easy bed. Gah! I wanted to kick him!

But I did like how you pointed out that the last time, she had said and did things that went too far. Sometimes, when lines are crossed, it really is 'too far.'

Anyhow, this was just perfect. I love how it was NOT their wedding in the end. You wrote this little twist so very well.

Excellent 10/10! High marks for writing Draco as the gorgeous user that he is.

Loved it! Bravo!
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper,

Thank you so much for this unexpected surprise. :D

I am most certainly a Draco fan. He's one of my very favorite characters to write. He's a main character in both of my WIP novels, this story, and I have a short story in the works as well.

I'm so glad you found some humour in some of the comparisons he made. I wanted him to be really snarky, but in an amusing sort of way.

I think the relationship between Pansy and Draco isn't exactly as either of them paints it. Part of me likes to think that Draco might've cared at least a little bit or else why hassle with her. Easy beds are easy enough to find without much fuss, so he'd really have no reason to come back to her otherwise. On the opposite end, I don't think it's all flowers as Pansy paints it either. I feel that the truth lies somewhere in the middle.

I'm happy to hear that you liked the twist as well. I had a hard time figuring out how exactly to do it without giving the story away too early on, so it's a relief to hear that it worked out alright.

Thank you again for such lovely words. It was such a treat to log on and find this review.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>