Reading Reviews From Member: Ravenclaw333
  
240 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ravenclaw333True Romance: Ice Cream

21st July 2014:
TEDDY HAS A KID CALLED REMUS OH MY HEART AND ALBUS IS BEING ALL PATERNAL AH

ROSE. ROSE WHAT ARE YOU DOING. ROSE NO. ROSE WHAT.

(clarification: i am yelling at Rose Weasley, not you. Though I'm only halfway through the chapter so that could be subject to change)

YOU DID THE THING. IDK HOW YOU DID THE THING BUT CORBIN ISN'T AS ABHORRENT AS HE USED TO BE. THE POWER OF BACKSTORY? I'M ALMOST DISAPPOINTED THE #CORBINISTRASH MOVEMENT WAS SO FUN

oh well there's always Archie

Author's Response: TEDDY AND REMUS WERE MY FEELS MACHINE FOR THIS CHAPTER. IT NEARLY KILLED ME BUT I WROTE IT FOR YOU. I had to show Al with some parenting skillz. he can do the play time and the cute time and all sorts of stuff

SHE WAS MAKING SOME POOR LIFE CHOICES. I like to think you were yelling at both of us. ;)

I DID THE THING!! YES!! THOUGH, I WISH I HAD DONE THE THING A BIT EARLIER ON. OH WELL. #POWEROFBACKSTORY2014

Yes - there is always archie *evil glare*

oops, I mean, ARCHIE IS FAB.

THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL, SHOUTY REVIEW!

-rose


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ravenclaw333True Romance: Only Myself to Blame

21st July 2014:
HEY ROSE I THINK I'M STILL FIRST FOR THIS THAT'S SO EXCITING

THIS IS A FAB CHAPTER EVERYTHING IS FAB except Archie but hey I'm biased against him and I always will be I'M SORRY IT'S A MATTER OF PRINCIPLE

The conversation between Albus and Brandon just gave me so many shipper feels and I just want to sit Albus down and yell at him like SORT YOUR LIFE OUT ALBUS POTTER FIGURE OUT WHAT YOU WANT I mean I understand where he's coming from because that level of commitment is scary but also BRANDON IS SUCH A GOOD GUY

And Rose! That Henrik dude was creepy but Pedro was a cutie and I hope to see more of him and I totally ship it and maybe Rose can move on from her thing for Brandon because that's going to be bad news for everyone and I feel bad for her because HISTORY SHOULDN'T REPEAT ITSELF YOU KNOW

I CAN SEE THAT YOU'RE TRYING TO REDEEM ARCHIE AND I RESPECT THAT BUT ALSO NO. #ARCHIEISTRASH2K14

Author's Response: YOU'RE THE FIRST! ONE BENEFIT OF FOLLOWING ME ON TWITTER WHILE I'M NOT ON THE FORUMS.

OOOH, I'M SO GLAD YOU LIKED IT!!! I MEAN, I WROTE IT IN A BLUR OF PIZZA AND SODA. Okay, I get your hatred for Archie. He does come 'round a bit soon though. UNTIL THEN, HATE AWAY.

Yes!! I wanted to poke feels with their conversation. BRANDON IS SO AWESOME. I MEAN, HE JUST NEEDS TO BE EVERYONE'S PARTNER WITH USER APPROPRIATE GENDER MODS. Albus Potter is officially on a quest to figure out what he wants.

HENRIK IS JUST AN ENTITLED DUDE WHO MISUNDERSTOOD HIS SITUATION. Pedro is definitely someone I'd like to revisit. I mean, I'd like Rose to revisit. YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN. ... I have no comment on Rose and Brandon at this juncture.

I'M OKAY WITH THE ARCHIE HATE.

THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL REVIEW!!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ravenclaw333True Romance: The Wolves and The Ravens

18th July 2014:
AM I FIRST REVIEW I HOPE I AM

You did such a good job with the party scene! You really brought out the atmosphere of it, and the POOR DECISION MAKING, LOOKING AT YOU ALBUS POTTER, and the overwhelming sort of nature of it, and James and Cindy are super cute and I want to see more of them.

Rose! Ahhh. Poor Rosie, I really feel for her and she's stuck in such a difficult position and I like how you've made her confused and uneasy about spending time with Brandon and everything's just subtle enough, and the bit with Corbin and Astoria was really well handled as well and you did a good job illustrating their views and how they differed from Scorpius's and I'M JUST REALLY INTERESTED TO SEE WHERE ALL THIS GOES

Author's Response: YOU'RE THE FIRST!!! *CONFETTI!!**

I'm so relieved that the party scene worked out!! POOR DECISION MAKING AND ALBUS ARE BECOMING BFFS! I thought James needed a bit of progress in his love life. And Cindy needed to have a moment of boldness!!

Rose is trying not to be a bad person in this situation but she does struggle seeing someone she fancies with someone who is kind of meh about their relationship. CORBIN AND ASTORIA TOOK ME AS MUCH TIME TO WRITE AS THE REST OF THE CHAPTER!! o.o so glad that panned out.

You'll see where it goes soon enough!!

THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL REVIEW AND FOR RACING TO BE #1!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ravenclaw333True Romance: Where the Wind Blows

16th July 2014:
OH MAN THIS CHAPTER JUST HIT ME RIGHT IN THE FEELS IN SO MANY WAYS BUT ESPECIALLY ROSE AND THAT WHOLE THING ABOUT MEETING UP WITH HER OLD SCHOOL FRIENDS AND ONE OF THEM GETTING MARRIED AND THE BABY AND EVERYTHING like everything about that was so firmly rooted in reality and hit home (am I feeling whimsical about being Grown Up? yes I am. Good timing)

I loved the scene with Scorpius and Astoria, and the insights into Astoria and how she's trying to let Scorpius know things she can't quite say out loud and everything about that was just lovely and a brilliant snapshot into a complicated relationship and just all round really really GOOD.

Domestic Branbus! This is so cute my heart hurts.

This line. "as if dancing to a song both had memorized" This line is so perfect and poetic and lovely and ahhh.

"YOU'RE MY ANCHOR" OH GOD ROSE WHY MUST YOU HURT ME SO THIS IS BEAUTIFUL AND NOW I'M SCARED

Author's Response: I WASN'T AIMING FOR YOUR FEELS BUT I'LL TAKE THE POINTS ANYWAYS. I'm glad I'm not that only one who has friends who ran off to do those things right out of school and left me all o.o in the dust.

Astoria will get more play in the next few chapters. She really wants to be involved in Scorpius' life but is also quite constrained by loyalty to her marriage. I'm so happy that I managed to capture what is a quite nuanced and complicated relationship.

THIS WAS MY FAVORITE PART OF THE CHAPTER. It was like playing house. Sexy house. BE SCARED! I mean, I just like it when people are scared. so... yeah.

THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL REVIEW!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: The Web Thickens

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Is it weird that Iím so, super duper relieved that the Weasleys made it to the Egyptian Ministry with Frederic? I was expecting him to escape somehow or try to kill them or something and oh man. Heís captured. Good.

GOOD ON CHARLOTTE FOR HAVING HER SUSPICIONS AND ALERTING THE OTHERS

WAIT IS THERE EVEN A RIVAL FAMILY WAS THAT BIT MADE UP WHERE IS THIS MYSTICAL RIVAL FAMILY WHY HAVENíT THEY SHOWN UP GEORGE MADE THEM UP DIDNíT HE HE MADE THEM UP TO BE A SCAPEGOAT

YES I WAS RIGHT IíM SO EXCITED

WAIT DID GEORGE ESCAPE WHEN DID GEORGE ESCAPE DID I MISS THAT BIT? WHAT HAPPENED TO GEORGE

THE POTION SMASHED DOES THAT MEAN SCORPIUS DOESNíT HAVE TO DIE ANYMORE

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Death, the Spectre

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Iíve given up even prefacing my first shouty thoughts in these reviews but ďYouíre a much better Ravenclaw than I am. I often feel they only ever put me in that house because I didnít want to be a Slytherin.Ē OUCH. RIGHT IN THE HOUSE FEELS. SCORPIUS IS SO A RAVENCLAW. SCORPIUS IS A FANTASTIC RAVENCLAW. I WILL DEFEND HIS CLAW-NESS TILL MY DYING BREATH.

I think the House Cupís getting to me.

Oh no what happened to Edward DID YOU KILL HIM WHATíS GOING TO HAPPEN TO ROSE

RASHIDI

George. ITíS HIM WHAT IS HE PLANNING WHAT ARE HIS MOTIVATIONS

OH THOSE ARE HIS MOTIVATIONS THATíS TERRIFYING LIKE I FELT SORRY FOR HIM EARLIER IN THIS STORY THAT WAS SO REMARKABLY WELL DONE I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING OH MY GOD

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: A Sign of Treachery

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

KIANA YOU HAVE MADE ME SUSPICIOUS OF EVERY CHARACTER IN THIS STORY. WHY IS EVERYONE ACTING CIVIL WHAT ARE THEY PLANNING WHAT HORRIBLE THINGS HAVE THEY GOT UP THEIR SLEEVES

On a completely unrelated note, ďthe Romans have probably beaten us to it. Again.Ē line made me laugh a little too hard. Good old Rome with its pillage and plunder. Imperium sine fine. Moving on.

Oh no. Iím scared. ďMaybe itís a pattern, a sign that weíre in danger.Ē I just got chills. And especially because, as Scorpius pointed out, Lorcanís pretty good at coming up with theories and if heís worried theyíve got due cause to BE worried, and oh man this is gloriously tense.

WHAT IS GEORGE UP TO

What what what oh God that took a dark turn the Cruciatus oh no

Rashidiís story. Iím assuming the vanishing was Rose and Lorcan getting back to their time Ė but Scorpius oh no and people die and IíM TOO INVESTED

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: A Guise

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I love Scorpius. That is all.

Except itís not of course, but I just love this whole beginning of the chapter and how heís hanging back, assessing everyone, their characters and allegiances and motivations and whether theyíre safe or not, and that line about becoming a true Malfoy is just so good and perfect because he is, heís mastering these disguises but heís also looking out for Rose and Lorcan and if thereís anything the Malfoys care about itís their own so that works on so many levels - both the slightly negative way Scorpius sees it and the positive traits as well.

Rose and Lorcan running off to swear is the greatest mental image ever and kind of reminds me of the early days of the Nano cabin.

Hermione and Hasani are perfect, again. I love love love this line: ďÖalternating between the English and Arabic word for him, as if it were some sort of ritual which would bring them closer to them.Ē Itís just so insightful and poignant and such a wonderful line, and Hermioneís empathy just adds to it.

That segment about Islam is beautiful. Iím really glad you added that in there Ė not only is it a wonderful piece of characterisation and worldbuilding, but itís just a really good nod to Egyptian culture as a whole, so well done.

Oh this owl spell is so true to Hermione and the way she was as a teenager and I love it. I love so many things about this chapter that this review is getting horrendously repetitive and Iím sorry.

Oh wow. That line about how Hermione hasnít confronted death since the final battle was incredible and Iím in awe at how many characters youíve managed to capture and how complex they are like wow wow wow.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Reunions

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Wait so how did Scorpius get from the middle of the desert back to Rose did they find him did he somehow THINK his way back to her oh well Iíll worry about that later because theyíre REUNITED IíM SO HAPPY

HIS ROSE. THIS IS TOO CUTE MY HEART

Oh okay so she found him in the desert. This review is probably going to just be incoherent shipper feels all over the place so bear with me

I like how Rose feels personal responsibility for getting Rashidi and Dalila back to Cairo, sheís really grown up a lot and understands the consequences of being so impulsive.

Ohh does David have feelings for Rose? That expains so much and I feel kind of sorry for him, poor guy

The ancient historian/Classicist in me is yelling that I love the archaeological details youíve thrown in about Acanthus and please keep them coming and I hope hope hope the Roman conquest is going to come up again because Romans, yo.

THEY KISSED AHHH

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Bones

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Remember how I said a chapter or two ago that ancient cities are all Iím about? Iím going to expand on that and say ancient abandoned cities with a violent past of Roman conquest and terrifying ghosts/enchantments/random bones are DEFINITELY all Iím about and Iím in love with this whole premise and everything about whatís happening in Acanthus right now.

I donít know how much of this is based on your own travels/experiences but the stray animals line made me smile because have you been to Pompeii there are stray dogs EVERYWHERE

Lorcanís theorising. I hope Lorcan theorises something cool/correct/bone-chillingly creepy.

I love the scenes with Hermione and Hasani and the ways they open up to each other and close off again, and the tension between Hermione and the rest of her family is really well done given the environment and everything thatís at stake Ė really well done.

I feel like Iím being a stuck record with everything Iím saying about the Scorpius storyline but I canít wait to find out whatís going on and who Frederic Russell is and I love the little details of characterisation you throw in, like Scorpiusís lack of pity and how itís the first time heís ever felt that, and youíre building this perfect image of a rounded and complex character with those little snippets and details and PLEASE DONíT KILL HIM IíM SO ATTACHED

Iím so excited and so scared for the next chapter

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Motes of History

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I love this scene with Hermione and Hasani, itís perfect and so important and brilliantly handled, and really shows the effects that Roseís adventure has had on those sheís left behind Ė firstly Hermione and her panic over whatís happened, and Hasani and his anxiety over Rashidi and Dalila and the way he takes that out on Hermione Ė it was so, so well done, especially the comments about rich people and foreigners and how all his bitterness and anger comes out at once Ė itís just perfect, again, and itís fantastic that youíve included that. And that ending with Hermione and Hasani deciding to look for them together Ė I love everything about that whole scene.

Iím so worried about Scorpius and Rashidi and Dalila IíM SO WORRIED SCORPIUS IS RIGHT EVERYTHING HAPPENED TOO EASILY WHATíS GOING TO HAPPEN I DONíT WANT ANYONE TO DIE DONíT LET ANYONE DIE

And the TEMPLE the way you describe it is just perfect and Iím so intrigued by everything and

WHAT JUST HAPPENED OH NO

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Discoveries

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

OH MY GOD THEY MADE IT THEYíRE THERE THEYíRE AT ACANTHUS

Oh, Rose, I feel you. This entire bit just feels like it was lifted from my trip to the Acropolis (sweaty gross hike up the hill, check; spontaneous bursting into tears, check and check) and gah Iím just so excited to see how this goes and what Acanthus is like AH ACANTHUS

ÖAncient cities are everything Iím about, tbh.

Ron and Hermione are PERFECT and I love that little quip about Hermione being the brightest witch of her age because people seem to forget/ignore Ronís sense of humour, especially in Next Gen stuff, and itís so good to see it here and their whole interaction/dynamic is just perfect.

That bit about Scorpius finding his own family in Rashidi and Dalila is so sweet and so telling as well, the way he never had moments like that with his own family, and CURSE BREAKER SCORPIUS IN ACTION WITH COPTIC EGYPTIAN HEíS SUCH A RAVENCLAW IT WARMS MY HEART I AM FEELING SO MUCH HOUSE PRIDE RIGHT NOW. CELSA SUB CONVENIANT AQUILA SAPIENTES MENTES.

THE PLOT THICKENS! ONWARD!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Cartography

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I AM BACK ON MY MISSION AND THE ACANTHUS GANG ARE BACK ON THEIRS ITíS GO TIME

I love your description. Thereís nothing new in that and I always love it but the way you manage to evoke such perfect images from a few words is fantastic, and even the choice of words reflects the scene and the setting perfectly (like Ďpenmanship,í that just sticks out to me as being perfect for this old map in the 1920s and Iím not sure if itís deliberate or subconscious but there are subtle differences in your vocabulary outside the dialogue between the modern setting and the í20s and oh man IT IS SO COOL)

I am so fascinated by this map how did they get it whatís all the secrecy surrounding it I want to KNOW THINGS

I love Charlotte. Charlotte is so sweet and lovely and I want to keep her forever and Iím glad Rose sort of confided in her and I just want them to be BFFs.

HOLY MOTHER OF CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. THE WAR. WWI AND DAVID AND DESERTION AND THE STIGMA AGAINST IT OH THIS IS PERFECT THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

AND SCORPIUS AND THE OTHERS WITH THEIR ESCAPE IíM SO WORRIED ARE THEY GOING TO GET TO ROSE DID THEY MESS UP THEIR CHANCES BY NOT PLAYING ALONG WITH MYSTERY MANíS GAME OH NO

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ravenclaw333Shenanigans and Hi-Jinks: The Hogwarts Express

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #6

This is such a fantastic little story! I love everything about this - the friendship between Fred and Victoire, and the exchange of blame between them about who was responsible for making them late - I don't know why that bit stuck out to me, but it does and it's fantastic - and trying to figure out how to get to school, and the idea of getting Teddy to help them. Your characterisation is lovely, and I definitely want to read more of these two, so I'll be checking out your other stories! And was that a bit of Teddy/Victoire there? That was so sweet and awkward and perfect!

I'm really curious about how they spent their day now. This was a wonderful story, and I'm so keen to read more stories that fit into this universe!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ravenclaw333Pure Intentions: Red Hot

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #6

I'm glad I have the opportunity to actually reread/review parts of this story individually rather than going through it all in one fell swoop. You've done such a good job here with characterisation and emotions, particularly with Scorpius, and outlining the tensions between him, his family, Rose's family and of course Albus. I loved your line about how Scorpius's love for a man didn't matter to his family, but could be accomodated with a woman - that says it all regarding the Malfoy attitudes to sexuality. The Weasleys are brilliantly done as well - Hugo being the inappropriate little brother, Hermione trying to be polite, Ron being downright hostile.

I forgot how messy the whole Albus/Scorpius/Rose triangle is, and you do such a good job with illustrating it without a big confrontation scene between them. Brilliant job, as always!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ravenclaw333Waiting on You: Waiting on You

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

I SAID I WOULD BE THE FIRST TO REVIEW THIS AND EVEN THOUGH I'M NOT I HOPE THE SENTIMENT IS STILL THERE

This is such a cute wee one-shot! You've characterised Albus really nicely here - touching on the pressures he feels because of his family and how Scorpius is a refuge from that. I particularly love the line "It was different and refreshing to ignore last names, rather than dwell on the complexities that came with them," and I think that's a major factor with this ship in particular. The way you dealt with coming out and being ready to do that was really well done and woven nicely in with the romantic aspect - all in all, an excellent first slash story! You should definitely write more :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Plans and Preparations

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Kiana oh my God this line is incredible: ďIt was as if the room was waiting for them to decay so they could become a permanent fixture of it.Ē I have no words for how perfect this is so Iím just going to leave it here. And the line about how Scorpius didnít feel like a Ravenclaw, because all he wanted to do was give up and not solve the problem Ė oh man, I know that feeling. I know that feeling so well and Ravenclaw isnít as much a part of my identity as it is Scorpiusís Ė well, Iím assuming not. The juryís out on that one.

IíM SO WORRIED ABOUT RASHIDI

Roseís self-awareness in this chapter is fantastic. Not going to lie, I was waiting for her to stand back and go ďI done goofed guys,Ē and now it seems she has.

YOU DID THE THING AGAIN. THE THING DESCRIBING CHARACTERS THROUGH THE EYES OF ANOTHER AND I LOVE SEEING HERMIONE THROUGH HUGOíS EYES YES OKAY

HERMIONE GRANGER ON A MISSION. YES. GOOD.

Okay I need to stop throwing your own writing back at you but this line, ďPretending to be brave when it wasnít your natural inclination was a great downfall of many,Ē is just such a good one and I love it and itís perfect and contrasts Scorpius so brilliantly with Rose and Ravenclaw with Gryffindor, and I am ALL ABOUT how those two houses are natural opposites and you show that so well in that one line and Iím getting philosophical so itís time to MOVE ON

Author's Response: Hahaha, aw, I'm glad that you liked it! Yes, it's another we all need to hug Scorpius so he can feel somewhat ok again even though I'm not sure if that's possible. It must suck a lot when you reach that stage of despairing especially when lives depend on it, so poor Scorpius lets go and hug him!

YOU SHOULD BE.

Bahahaha, go Rose, she might do in a bit. :P

YAY I'M GLAD YOU LIKED IT BUT THIS IS HUGO'S ONLY CAMEO. BUT HERMIONE IS GOING TO KICK SOME BOOTY AND MAYBE SOME OF THE OTHERS MIGHT DO IT WITH HER.

Yay I'm glad you liked it because it is strange how much the house stereotypes can be applied to people later on in their lives and it still continues to haunt them. I do think Ravenclaws and Gryffindors are actual opposites too though which is why Scorose is so fab and philosophicalness is great as I study it so I welcome it with open arms!

Thanks for another great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: To Anywhere

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Ah, Iím so excited for more details on the 1920s crew! I love the amount of historical detail you throw into this story and how you manage to make them so real and believable and human Ė so often I see characters in historical settings who are written to be almost alien, their personalities buried or entirely dictated by their era Ė but thereís something timeless about a directionless young man wandering around abroad and jumping on expeditions in Egypt for funsies.

Also, I really like that line about Rose wondering if her Ďgoalí is Acanthus or home Ė it shows how the whole thing is taking a toll on her sense of adventure and determination, while making it clear sheís not panicking and eager to get back.

Iím honestly so curious about this whole situation and whether everything is as it seems (probably not, Iím guessing) and what the í20s Crew are keeping from them.

OH. OH ITíS MAGIC. OH THERE ARE WANDS. OH THIS IS AN EXCITING DEVELOPMENT

WAIT SCORPIUS KILLED SOMEONE? OR IS SCORPIUS GOING TO KILL SOMEONE? I GUESS THATíS LINEAR TIME THROWN WELL OUT THE WINDOW

Author's Response: Whoo hi Lisa!

Yay for more details! I'm so glad that you liked it as the 20th century is one of my favourite eras of history even if I was born in it (gah, it makes me feel so old :P) as there were so many discoveries like these in Egypt it really was a lot of fun to write because there's modernity in a way, but then something still classic about this era.

Yeah, it's around this point that Rose begins to feel more and more tied to the 1920s as well as home which is really interesting because it just shows how much you can change.

Yes they are magical which means the developments with the 1920s crew are even more interesting and fun and I hope you liked them! Ooooh, yes the revelation about Scorpius also ties in with the 1920s crew being magical so bear that in mind as it could mean something, something really big so yeah just keep thinking about that!

Thanks for another fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Wicker Lines

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

There are SO MANY DIFFERENT GENRES AND ASPECTS TO THIS STORY IT'S A MARVEL YOU ARE MARVELLOUS

No, but really. You're intertwining two very different stories and moods in this chapter and they both fit seamlessly with the other and with the rest of the story. Scorpius's point of view is dark and frightening and suspenseful, and you still manage to include humanising details in the midst of all the action that give more insight into Scorpius's character, motivations and insecurities - it's incredibly well done.

Rose's story offers a much lighter tone by contrast (I'm a bit worried how long that will last though) and hers is the true tale of adventure - really, the way you've woven these genres together to make a multi-faceted and endlessly fascinating storyline is such a credit to you.

Author's Response: Hahaha, thank you! I did try and include a bit of everything as it's more fun that way so I'm glad you liked it!

Whoo for darkness and suspense with Scorpius. I'm really glad that you liked it and exploring his psychological aspect too, as it's strange for a Malfoy to be in this position when you think about it as they're the ones usually doing the terrorising.

It will last for quite a few more chapters so don't worry I'm not that cruel! I'm really glad that you like the sense of adventure though as Rose does go off and do a lot more exploring so whoo for that :D

Thanks for another great review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #20, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: A Kaleidoscope

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

WHAT IS GOING ON IíM SO CONFUSED WHAT HAPPENED THIS STORY IS A ROLLERCOASTER AND I WAS NOT PREPARED

I DO NOT TRUST CHARLOTTE WRIGHT I DO NOT TRUST HER IN THE SLIGHTEST

Wait WHAT

WHAT IS GOING ON

I donít have this reaction to stories very often and thatís a massive credit to you, even if all Iím doing is capslock shouting about how confused I am and getting things WRONG at every turn but I suppose this is the most realistic way of portraying my reactions to this story I am so intrigued right now

A WWI veteran do you know what youíre doing to my inner history geek right now THIS IS SO EXCITING AND SO GREAT IíM SORRY ABOUT ALL THE CAPS

Author's Response: I AM SORRY. PLEASE DON'T BE TOO CONFUSED. BUT WHY CHARLOTTE SHE MIGHT BE YOUR POTENTIAL BFF LISA, DON'T JUDGE TOO SOON. OKAY.

Aw, thank you and the capslock is fine as it's just making me laugh a lot (in a good way!) if I'm honest, but all will make sense in the end, all of it will!

Yay for inner history geek, because geekiness is so much fun! And don't apologise about the caps, they were great as was this review!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Before the Storm

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

The adventure has started! I like how youíve already brought everything down to earth, with the opening and Scorpiusís observations about how the sense of adventure has worn off with the monotonous trek, and then the sandstorm and Roseís realisation that she may have brought them into far more danger than sheíd anticipated.

I love Scorpius and Lorcan. And their Clawness. And now Iím wondering if it would be possible for an innovative wizard with a thorough grounding in Muggle sciences to actually magically prevent things like sandstorms. I think I love that conversation a little too much.

OH MY GOD OH MY GOD KIANA WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WHAT JUST HAPPENED OH MY GOD

Author's Response: It has!! Though it's not as exciting as they all thought but I guess that's the thing with exciting stuff as it's never as great as it turns out to be. Bahaha Clawness, I think that's my new favourite word. I did too, until it started getting too sciency and my brain couldn't handle it but I'm glad you liked it.

DUN DUN DUN. #SORRYNOTSORRY #READON #ITWILLBEOKAGAIN #MAYBE

Thanks for a fab review, Lisa :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: The Tale of Acanthus

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

So I have such a weakness for seeing characters through the eyes of others and I think it just gives them so much more depth and complexity and it's the best thing because I adore characterisation and so I love seeing Rose through Scorpius's eyes, it brings out these new aspects to her and I love the comments about how she's always so confident and sure of herself, and the line about how she 'charged into people's lives unexpectedly.'

So, yeah. I'm really excited about the change in perspective for this chapter - and the insights into Scorpius's character and career. Translating hieroglyphics sounds wicked awesome.

And the mythology makes an appearance! I'm so excited for this story, I really am, and the way you've already questioned the lines between history and myth is awesome and I can't wait okay this is my jam

ROSE IS SO IMPULSIVE OH MY GOD ROSE WHAT ARE YOU DOING I UNDERSTAND YOU WANT TO MAKE A NAME FOR YOURSELF BUT WOW

GRYFFINDORS AMIRITE

Dalila and her family are lovely and so well characterised and I kind of love them. And Rose is going! And she's taking Dalila! I'm so excited!

Onward!

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm really glad you liked it too, as I'm a massive fan of it because then you just get a wider perspective and when writing if one character's being annoying you can always hope that the other one will be nicer so you cna switch to them :P

Yay for excitement and Scorpius, anything to do with him is pretty exciting if I am being honest :p (massive Scorpius fan sitting right here in case you didn't guess :P)

Yayyayayaya for it being your jam as it will come up again and again and again and pretty much again until you're annoyed with it.

DON'T WORRY IT'S JUST GRYFFIES BEING A BIT CRAY CRAY AS USUAL.

Yay it's turning into a group outing so whoo it should be fun! Thanks for another fab review though :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Souks and Surprises

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I'm going to restrain myself from gushing about your imagery for the next eighteen chapters because that may get a bit repetitive, but you do such a fantastic job of bringing this story and its setting to life, and I couldn't let that pass without comment.

I love Rose. I love her overeagerness and the way she comes across as a bit too forward - whether that's inexperience or cultural difference or a mixture of both - and it's a really good detail to throw in. The scene with Dalila was well done, and you've captured the speech pattern of a non-native English speaker well. The contrast between Rose before and after the interview is excellent - the way a small success can change your whole outlook on where you are and what you're doing.

Scorpius is a Ravenclaw! I can't wait to meet him in this story

FEELING BAD FOR TURNING DOWN SHOPKEEPERS/PEOPLE TRYING TO SELL YOU STUFF I KNOW THAT FEELING SO WELL I AM EXACTLY LIKE ROSE

Ah yay! Scorpius! Do I detect a bit of attraction on Rose's part?

Onwards!

Author's Response: Bahaha, it's fine as it makes me smile a ton! I'm so glad that you like it though and that it gives the story setting because whoo everyone loves that!

Yay for Rose too! I'm glad you liked her forwardness, because I was sort of going for a mix there, because when I've been in Arabic countries I've always noticed westerners are a lot more forward than everyone else. I'm glad you liked the Dalila scene as it's the start of something big really.

Of course he's a Ravenclaw, all the best people are in that house so he had to be part of it too :P

I FEEL BAD FOR IT TOO. ESPECIALLY WHEN MY MUM'S LIKE ASK FOR A LOWER PRICE THEY EXPECT BUT I CAN'T AS I FEEL MEAN SO I END UP PAYING THE FULL OVERPRICED PRICE.

Ooh maybe you do ;)

Thanks for another great review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ravenclaw333Acanthus: Spectrum

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Kiana!

I've been meaning to read this story for a while now - it's been on my list for ages and keeps catching my eye - ancient cities? Mythology? Rose Weasley? Yes please - and I figured itís time I sat down to R&R.

This chapter drew me in from the beginning. You have a gift for imagery, and I could picture the scene perfectly in my head - the bustle of the office, the "festival feel" and the frantic rush to get everything finished before the deadline. I loved your introduction of Rose - you've painted a very clear picture of her right from the beginning, as a serious and ambitious young woman wanting to escape her parents' shadow - and having her as less successful than her parents and Hugo as well is something I haven't seen many authors do with Rose before. And Molly a squib! I'm already fascinated by your interpretation of the Next Gen characters - and Ginny! This is beyond perfect.

I'm reviewing as I read for the first time, so I should probably cut this short and move on to the next chapter before you end up with an essay. Brilliant first chapter!

Author's Response: Hi Lisa!

Haha, yes I love all sorts of things like that too, so now it's finished it's like give me more, give me more, I can't let it go now!

I'm so glad that you liked it because this was the first time I actually took care with my description and tried to make it work, so this chapter will always be very dear to my heart for that reason :P Yay for Rose! I already wrote the successful version of her where she's loved by all so I really wanted to write a different one because I figured it would be a lot more fun that way, so I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks for this fab review, and I wouldn't have minded an essay at all! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #25, by Ravenclaw333Riddikulus: Riddikulus

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #4

Oh, wow. This is such a heartwarming piece and so perfectly done - I had never thought about Minerva's guilt before, the way she would blame herself for every child in her care - because they were children, those who fought in the Battle - who didn't make it, who died on the front lines - this entire scene hit home and is so poignant - you've really shown the scars war leaves behind even on the strongest of people and the cruel, cruel reality of the casualties in the Battle of Hogwarts.

Winky's scene here is perfect. The way you've captured her hesitation, her uncertainty at being treated like an equal or a friend, which is something she's always struggled with, and how she comes through that to offer Minerva words of comfort and truth - it's so moving, and you've done a phenomenal job with this whole piece. Well done.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I know that Winky/McGonagall seems like an odd pair at first, but I really thought they would balance each other out.

Minevra certainly has survivors guilt, and I thought it may be the only thing that make her break down at the end of the war.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the wonderful review!



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>