Reading Reviews From Member: MrsJaydeMalfoy
  
646 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Afterlife: Coccydynia

19th January 2016:
Okay 1) I LOVE Max and Giles. They're hilarious.

2) I was NOT expecting Remus and Tonks so soon! Oh my Gosh!! What is Teddy going to do?! And I was also not expecting the feels at seeing them again... How can you just leave me hanging like this Deee?!

I'M GOING TO NEED THE NEXT CHAPTER NOW PLZ.

NO really. DEE WHY ISN'T IT UP YET?!? (okay I'm slightly kidding, I know you're busy. But still).

Also how DARE you get me completely addicted to another of your stories?! ♥

Well done lovely!

PLZ update soon! *squishes*

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Afterlife: Slubberdegullions

19th January 2016:
!! Dun dun DUN! I was wondering when Teddy would stumble across the ring! The plot thickens! Ooh, I wonder how long it's going to take him to realize what it is, and what will happen once he uses it! I know there will be a whole lot of other things going on between now and then, but I'm excited for all of it!

Teddy and Victoire are SO in love. At least that's what I'm reading into it. :P And I can actually understand both sides of their argument - I think the only reason their emotions got so caught up in it is because they're secretly in love. Or at least that's what I'm going to tell myself! XD

Savage really does sound like an AWFUL professor, but at least Teddy's detention is with Hagrid and not someone else!

Once again, you've got a very 'original series' feel here that I absolutely love, and I can not WAIT to see where things go from here!

Well done, as usual, and I'm off to Chapter 4 now!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Afterlife: Gelastic

19th January 2016:
Teehee! Oh no Teddy! Not on the first day of class! Oh my gosh, he seemed SO much like Tonks right there! ♥ That was absolutely hilarious! But seriously, not on the first day, Teddy!

Again, this feels SO much like the series to me - reading about the classes, the friends... GAH! You could be starting your own Teddy spinoff series here! It's incredible! And as soon as I finish writing this review, this is going in my favorites! HOW do you manage to do that in only 2 chapters, Dee?!? TELL ME YOUR SECRET!

Annnd I think that's all I have to say for now because I needs more! :P

Well done dear!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Afterlife: Fidius Achates

19th January 2016:
DEE! Hello there dear! I'm sorry I'm a day or two late with this, but HAPPY HOT SEAT! *Squishes*

Okay, so I knew I loved Seized... but I was still not expecting you to have me hooked in the first chapter of this story! I mean STAHP being such an amazing author already!! :P

This had such a "Philosopher's Stone" feel to it - and by that I mean that you managed to capture all the magic and mystery that I felt the first time reading about Harry travelling to Hogwarts. Even though this is definitely not the first time I'm reading about a start-of-term feast or people returning to Hogwarts, it really felt that way! I can already tell this is going to be just as epic and just as addicting as Seized is!

I think you've got a great little Trio set up here, and I loved the hints at Teddy/Victoire, I'm really curious as to how that will turn out. And reading your description of the Hufflepuff Common Room really made ME feel like I was at home, too!

Very intriguing first chapter dear! And now, if you'll excuse me.. I believe there are 3 more chapters I need to go read! ♥

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.4 -- 'Most Drunken House Elf'

19th January 2016:
NOPE I'M STILL NOT DONE!

I swore to myself I was going to finish all the chapters you'd posted of this the other day, and then got sidetracked, but I'm here now! I saw your comment on my profile on the forums and I'm so happy to know that my reviews have made you so happy! I hope this one only adds to that!

I was glad my question about the most drunk house elf was answered pretty much immediately, and I just love how each of these chapters picks up almost exactly where the last one left off, I think it makes the reading that much more easy and interesting!

I could really start to see some of the reasons why Barty can't stand his father in this. The way he treats House Elves, and then his attitude over Barty's prank.. I mean yes, Barty shouldn't have done that... but I really just got a cold chill when his father called him into the room, so you did an excellent job with his characterization and with conveying the emotions there!

I really liked seeing how Barty tried to make up to Winky for what he had done, and how he and his mother adore Winky and consider her to be a party of the family. It makes her much more like a person and I adore that!

I'm really, really excited for Barty to get home, but I'm also paranoid and worried that his father will have done/will do something to ruin his homecoming.. I hope I'm wrong! :(

Anyway, this was another fabulous chapter, dear! And I can't wait to read more! And I'm also super-thrilled that I got to be the first review for this chapter!!

And again, Happy Birthday and Happy Hotseat lovely!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.3 -- A Son's Mother

15th January 2016:
Oh my Goodness, the thing that stands out to me most in this chapter is your DESCRIPTION! It's incredible! That garden sounds SO beautiful, I could easily picture myself there, I could almost hear the fountain - how do you do this magic?!?

I really liked the description of Barty Jr's relationship with his mother, they seem very close and I think that makes sense. I'm feeling very excited for him to get home now as well!

And now I'm also very curious about what the Drunken house elf thing is referring to... lol. I can't wait to find out! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.2 -- Festering Wounds

15th January 2016:
Did you think that I was finished? NOPE! :P I'm back for more, and this time its ON YOUR BIRTHDAY!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LOVELY! ♥

I know I said it before, but I just really LOVE your characterization of Barty Jr. in this! He's portrayed as just flat out evil in the series, but unless they're Voldemort, I really don't think anyone is ALL bad, and I like seeing this side of him that doesn't want people to die, that doesn't approve of his father's methods - it's really refreshing!

Also, this is really making me start to hate Barty Sr. XD

And I'm really curious about what his Mother's letter said, and what he's looking forward to when he gets home!

Another fabulous chapter, and I can't wait to read the next! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.1 -- Unspeakable Dreams

11th January 2016:
HAPPY HOT SEAT, KAREN!!

It's about time I got here to read this, and I'm so excited to see this on your author's page and dive right in!

This is an excellent start! You've already shown us SO much about Barty's personality, particularly how desperate he is to NOT be his father, or even associated with him. And you've given him real dreams and desires, and honestly, that's made him quite like-able! When I was reading this, despite what we see of him in the series, I was able to imagine him riding on the train, smiling, excited for his future, and it's nice to see him as something other than a crazed Death Eater for once.

This really has given me a lot of questions, and I'm definitely wondering how this is all going to turn out, I can't wait to see where things go from here! I really hope he's able to become an Unspeakable!

You also did a great job with Slughorn's characterization, and your description was amazing - I particularly liked the part about him rubbing the sugar from his candies off in his pocket! :D

Anyway, fantastic first chapter, lovely, and I can't wait to read the next!

 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCrescendo of Heartbeats: Chapter 4: Patter

7th January 2016:
Oooh, this is SO good! I'm going to need another chapter of this soon, please!

I think you did a wonderful job of picking up on some subtle things from the series and bringing them to light - like all the similarities between Draco and Hermione, and Draco's creativity. It really helps to show how those two really could wind up together!

Also, Draco seems to have started enjoying himself... :D

I wonder what will happen in their next night of detention, and I also wonder what Harry and Ron will have to say about all of this.

Really well done, lovely!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCrescendo of Heartbeats: Chapter 3: Tinkle

7th January 2016:
Ooooh, I think I see a little progress here! They're at least being slightly more civil to each other, and now Draco's heard her song! Ooh, I just know he's going to be what helps her finish it, and I can't wait to see how the rest of this goes!

I'm sorry this review isn't longer but I need to go read the next chapter now!

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCrescendo of Heartbeats: Chapter 2: Crackle

7th January 2016:
Wow, this is another really intense chapter!

I really don't think it's fair the way Snape is punishing Hermione for Draco's lack of studying - after all, she's always been very studious and has her own homework to worry with! But, we all know Snapes relationship with the Trio, so it's also very realistic :P

Hermione was being really, really bold to come out and say those things to Draco, but she was SO RIGHT about all of it, and it's about time someone told it like that!

I hope they get those cauldrons cleaned quickly so they can study!

Another excellent chapter, I'm off to the next! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCrescendo of Heartbeats: Chapter 1: Boom

7th January 2016:
Hi there dear, and HAPPY HOT SEAT!!

WOW. This is SUCH an intense first chapter, there's so much going on!

First off, I like the mentions here of how Draco's been failing all of his classes, and him taking the Dark Mark over the summer, because it really ties in very well with Canon and gives us some context about what's going on in the series from the very beginning.

Also, this is quite an interesting and exciting way to bring the two of them together! They both desperately need something from each other, and I think that's a very realistic way for something like this to get started between the two of them!

I really liked the little musical interlude the two of them had going on there, it was almost like they were both playing the piece of the musical puzzle that the other had been missing, and I can't wait to see how that plays into later chapters!

All in all, this was a very intense, action-packed first chapter, and I can't wait to see where things go from here! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsJaydeMalfoyA Sister's Love: Molly: Big Sister

7th January 2016:
Nope, I'm still not done!

Aw, this is just SO sweet! First off, I love your characterization of little Molly (I know, I keep saying I love your characterization, but it's because you're so good at it!) I love the way you spelled words like "Fwed" and "hopsicle", since that's how a little child would say them and think they were spelled! That's very realistic and you did an excellent job of portraying such a young child!

Also, Molly's excitement and constant insistence that she wants a sister and not a 'stinky brudder' is so cute and hilarious!!

And then the references to future events at the end, the way Molly is so protective of Lucy and the way you referenced some of your other works was amazing, and it really makes me want to go read those now, as well!

And then, it was also really touching knowing that you wrote this for Georgina, Freda. When I read the part about Molly holding little Lucy for the first time, it nearly brought a tear to my eye because I could feel how much you love your sister in that moment. It was SO sweet!

Once again, really, really well done with this!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much Jayde!! Gee, I love hot seat reviews! All of a sudden we have 10 reviews, which is like a year's worth! (So hopefully that's not all for 2016!)

Being realistic in kids' speech and thought process is something we really try to do well on. We had plenty of practice with our earlier short story collections; Just Another Picnic and Life in the Boot Family.

The references are useful in the story, because many of our stories are super inter-connected as far as references go. And then there's the added bonus of sending readers off to read the accompanying pieces, so that was intentional. (Heeheehee!)

Thank you so much! Though I must say that Molly's devotion to her sister is a little exaggerated compared to mine, although I'm definitely close with Georgina. Also, I must also admit that I don't remember when Georgina was born (I was three) nor do I remember a time without her.

But again, thank you so much for the reviews!!

--Freda


 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOn Imbeciles and Moody: 1982

7th January 2016:
Hello again!!

When I saw that you two had a story that didn't have any reviews, I couldn't just leave it that way, I had to stop by!

Wow. Reading this really makes me angry with the Wizengamot. I can imagine this would have actually happened in Canon, and I can't help but think "If they had only listened to Moody..." Things would have worked out SO much differently! SO many people would still be alive! I think you did a wonderful job of picking a missing moment from the series and writing a story about it!

I think you also chose the perfect conditions for this conversation to happen in. Everyone's trapped in the same room, and the heat is really high, they're all more concerned about their predicament than saving the wizarding world. Moody is the ONLY one who sees reason here, and they just don't want to listen.

I have to say, those people must have been REALLY annoyed to talk to Moody the way they did! He's pretty scary!

And, speaking of Moody, I think you did a wonderful job with his characterization. Yes, he did always seem a bit paranoid in the series, but for good reason - he's right! And even though nobody listened to him and everyone wanted him to be quiet, he was defiant and refused to pipe down - THAT'S MOODY, and you guys did an EXCELLENT job with that!

This was another wonderful story, and I can't wait to read another! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you, you are such a good reviewer.

Part of their refusal to listen was because we were tying it in with the song "Sit Down, John" from the musical 1776, where the whole time John is trying to get Congress to declare independence and they're complaining about the July heat and the flies. Once I (Georgina) saw a challenge concerning musicals, I really wanted to do something with this song, and Moody was the best person we could think of in a situation like this.

Thank you for all your reviews, they're all so kind!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsJaydeMalfoyMeeting the Girl: I'm Sorry--Who?

7th January 2016:
Hi there lovelies!

I'm sorry I'm a little delayed with this, but HAPPY HOT SEAT!

I actually really, REALLY like Krum and Padma together! I don't know what it is, but those two really seem to click!

Also, I really like your characterization of Krum - he's always seemed like sort of a rude oaf to me, in the series and in most of the fics I've read, but surely he couldn't be like that ALL the time, so it's really nice to see him portrayed in a different light!

I think you've got Padma's characterization down-pat, too. The way she closes the doors and tells the press to go away, the way she helps with the dishes - I think it all fits and I could picture her very clearly in my mind doing all of those things, so great job with that!

And OH my goodness, Padma got bitten, too! Poor thing! :( But, it really seems like she's adjusting and handling it well, and I think it's SO great that her lycanthropy isn't going to stop her from living her life, or stop Krum and his family from accepting her!

All in all, I really liked this, and when I get a chance I think I'm going to have to read the other stories you mentioned here, too! Well done!

Author's Response: Well, you're all caught up now, so no matter.

We wrote this story after having written a story where Padma becomes a were-wolf, then we wrote a chapter in a short story collection about her living with it and going on a first date with Krum, and people loved them so much we wrote this.

We wanted to show Krum as an awkward guy in this, not a heart throb and not a rude oaf.

We did a fairly good job of making sure you don't need to read the other ones to be content. But feel free to read them if you want to.

Thank you so much for all your reviews!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsJaydeMalfoyNine Nights of Dancing: Navratri

4th January 2016:
Nope, I'm still not finished! :D

First off, this is very original and refreshing - I'm pretty sure it's the FIRST fic I've ever read describing a different cultural ritual than the ones I'm used to, and it was so exciting and interesting! I honestly want to look up more about this festival thanks to what I've read here! Your description was amazing, I could picture everyone dancing, and the sticks, and all the beautiful colors, and I could almost hear the music playing and see Parvati dancing around and laughing. Seriously, your description here is AMAZING!

Secondly, I imagine it WOULD be hard for Parvati facing all of this without Padma, but I completely understand Padma's need to get away from it all after what happened in the war.

And then, seeing Parvati's reaction is just heart-breaking. So much fic focuses on what happened to MAJOR characters as a result of the war, but it would have affected minor characters like Parvati and Padma, too, and I think it's great that you showed that here. I imagine that, after being in battles like the one at Hogwarts, it WOULD be hard to be in a room full of people with sticks and NOT feel like you're back in the battle. That was very realistic and you portrayed her reaction very well.

I'm glad she's sticking with it though, and keeping that bravery up in spite of everything that's happened. She's really just SO strong and makes her much more relatable and likeable.

Another excellent story, dear! Well done!

Author's Response: Wow, now I feel bad for leaving you only one Hot Seat Review! Stop making me feel bad Jayde! :P I guess I'll just have to wander over to your AP and leave you some extra reviews. :p

Anyway, thank you so much for all your kind words! I was really self conscious about posting this at first because, after all, this is my culture and I was scared that people wouldn't like it or just wouldn't be accepting, but I should have known better because everyone here is super accepting and kind.

In addition, I'm super glad to hear that you could picture what was going on and that it made you want to look up more about this festival, as that was a major goal for this story.

In my head, Padma was always the weaker of the two sisters, so I really wanted to show that while Parvati came back and pushed through the effects of the war, Padma ran away from it all, and while that is a perfectly acceptable and understandable thing to do, I wanted to make sure to show that Parvati was strong enough to move on, even without her sister.

I'm especially glad to hear that you thought her reaction was realistic and that it made sense. Overall, your reviews have just been wonderful and all these kind words are inflating my ego :P Thank you so much for dropping by and thank you for all the compliments!

-Jayna


 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsJaydeMalfoyWishes: Wishes

3rd January 2016:
Awww! Oh no!! *sobs* I wasn't ready for this, it broke my feels!

Seeing the comparison between the two birthdays was just heartbreaking - knowing that one of them is filled with hope, and the other was filled with dread. Also, seeing James as a parent and Harry as a parent really brings out that contrast, too. And it is so sad that James was SO sure he was going to die that he left Harry that note.

Speaking of the note, I really loved the idea that someone could set a gift to arrive at a specific date - that's very original, but also still fits perfectly with Canon!

I know receiving that note would have really meant something to Harry, and I'd have loved to read his reaction!

This was another fantastic, although sad, story lovely! *hug* Well done!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoyA New Way of Life: The Ecstasy of Running

3rd January 2016:
Hello there, lovely, and Happy Hot Seat!

First off, I definitely CAN tell how much running means to you in this! You described the running itself, as well as the feelings associated with it, very clearly! You made me feel like I was out there running with Draco, and it was exhilarating! Very well done!

Secondly, I think you did a great job with Draco's characterization here! I especially loved the parts where you said he was troubled and running from his past, and when you said for once he wasn't advantaged or disadvantaged - I know that must have felt nice to him!

Also, I really like the idea of Draco taking up a 'muggle' sport to let off some steam! He didn't even take his wand with him, which said a lot in itself!

All in all, this was a wonderful little story, and I can't wait to read another of yours! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoyActions Speak Louder than Words: Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

2nd January 2016:
OMG THERE'S A NEW CHAPTER I JUST CAN'T EVEN *flails*

Although maybe I shouldn't have been so eager to come back and have my heart broken...

I know I'm not even a character in this story, but even I can't believe she's gone, it's so sad, and you did an excellent job of conveying the absence and sense of loss they all feel - I mean you even made me feel it. Your portrayal of their grief was very, very real.

I'm glad to know that Sels' parents aren't holding a grudge against the wizarding world, that's very important and I'm glad you brought it up. And I'm also glad that, after taking their time to grieve, Harry and Scorpius and Dom are back on the case - I'm glad there's still someone out there working to find Stannous and I hope they find him soon! He definitely IS getting desperate and that doesn't bode well for Rose! And I'm glad she doesn't take issue with the 'no public places' thing anymore! It's for her own good, even moreso now than before!

Speaking of Rose, she's almost in her 3rd trimester!! EEK! I'm getting So excited for the baby... but also really, really nervous. I mean you just KNOW there's going to be one more big showdown with Stannous and I really, really hope it ends well for everyone involved... I don't think my poor heart could take losing another one of these characters you've made us fall in love with!

Seriously, I can't express to you how much I love this story, or how incredibly talented you are! I'll be eagerly waiting for the next chapter! Well done, as always!

-Jayde

Author's Response: Jayde,

I absolutely love your reviews.

I've gotta say it again. I LOVE YOUR REVIEWS! They are just so sweet and heartfelt and you make me FEEL every emotion that you went through when reading the chapter and it just... Gah! Thank you so much.

It really means a lot that you feel I did a good job with the grief. I try to balance getting deep enough into their feelings and going overboard to the absurd. But I can't imagine too many worse things than losing someone you loved so much at such an early age.

Haha - I'm pretty excited for the baby too. And you're spot on about a big showdown coming up - but I can't say anymore than that. I've got a bunch of things that need to happen before that. There's a ton more ups and downs ;)

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoySeven years later: Seven years later

2nd January 2016:
WHY, Chiara, just WHY?! You broke my feels!

I love the fact that they all made a pact on their first day, and that they all kept it, in spite of everything. And then, the second 7 year appointment.. *sobs*

There were SO many emotions in this - happiness, excitement, then uncertainty, more happiness and relief, and then just utter sadness. You are a MASTER at conveying emotions!

I really, really enjoyed this also, and I loved your characterization of Snape! I wish we could see more about this quartet from you!

Well done!

Author's Response: Erm... I'm sorry? (no, not really...)

I wanted to write about an unconventional friendship. I liked the idea of four friends from all four different houses, and I thought it might be cute to have them meeting up once school is over. I'm glad you liked the idea behind this.

Yes... The second meeting was really sad... :'(

Aww... thank you... It's always great to know that I managed to convey so many emotions.

Actually, one of my ideas for a new story is to write the seven years at Hogwarts of the four of them. But it is only a really vague project that I'm not sure if it'll ever see the light...

Anyway, thank you so much for all your super kind reviews! They all made me so happy!!!

Lots of love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe memories in your biscuits: The memories in your biscuits

2nd January 2016:
I know, I'm way behind, but I'm still not finished yet!

I actually read this the other day, but got distracted before I could write my review. I'm sorry! :(

I really, really love your characterization of McGonagall here! She's so strong, but also has her weaknesses and is firm, but also nice. You've combined all of those elements perfectly to make her a very likable person. I also really like the fact that, even though she COULD make the biscuits by hand, she CHOOSES not to, because it requires hard work and she really just wants to let off some steam. That's very easy to relate to!

I really liked her interactions with Remus, and how encouraging she was!

But then, the dementor attack was really scary! It was so sad to see her lose Dorcas like that! :( I'm so happy Severus (I THINK it was Severus) was able to save her!

This was another really interesting and really well-written story, dear! Well done!

Author's Response: Hi again, Jayde!
Oh, no worries about the lateness. I'm so happy you decided to read some more of my stories! :D

I'm so glad you liked my McGonagall. I wanted to show a much human and fragile side to her than what we see through the books. I'm so glad you liked it!

Remus really needs someone to remind him that he's better than he thinks from time to time. I think McGonagall wouldn't let him just surrender.

The bit about Dorcas was terribly sad to write, too... Yes, it was Severus who saved her.

I'm so happy you liked this story too! Thank you so much for another great review!!!


 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Children

30th December 2015:
Chiara! Hi there lovely! And Happy Hot Seat!

I really, really like this! I like the idea that Remus and Peter might have been friends before going to Hogwarts and meeting the others. It's so sad that everything had to change between them because of Remus' Lycanthropy - I wish he could have told poor Peter - but I understand why he couldn't.

Your description in this was amazing! I could picture everything you said!

I'm SO curious for how this is going to turn out, especially with the bit up top about "you lied to me"... I can't wait for an update to find out what happens next! Well done dear!

Author's Response: Hi, Jayde!
Aww... Thank you so much!
I'm so glad you enjoyed the start of this new story! Peter and Remus are two characters that always fascinated me and that I adore writing, so I wanted to try and explore their friendship a bit more.

I'm glad you liked them meeting before Hogwarts (this is something I mentioned in my other story). And yes, it is sad they were separated because of Remus' lycanthropy. But they'll be reunited again, as we already know.

That's so great to hear! I really struggle with description, so it's great to know that it worked!

Hopefully it won't be too long before an update, but I won't make any promises. Hope I'll see you here again when a new chapter will be up! :D

Thank you so much for the beautiful review!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFairytalesque: The Ball

28th December 2015:
I just can't contain my excitement for this! I love it so much already, and we're only 4 chapters in! I'm going to need another chapter of this!! ♥

I just LOVE the comparison of various parts of Lily's life to parts of a Fairy Tale - this is so original and amazing, and the pieces line up perfectly!

I'm extremely curious as to what was said between Petunia and Lily on the platform, and I can't help but wonder why Lily would be angry at Severus - it's not HIS fault Petunia reacted the way she did to Lily's magic. Still though, at such a young age and knowing how much she loves her sister, it's probably a little hard for her to see that.

I'm very interested to see what happens next - I really, really hope these reviews were the boost you needed to pick this story up again! This is SUCH an amazing story, dear - you NEED to finish this! PLEASE! ♥ *squishes*

Really, really well done! I love it and it's going in my favorites right now!

 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFairytalesque: The Fairy Godmother

28th December 2015:
EEk! I just LOVE this!

It's SO easy to see here why and how Lily and Severus grew so close and became such good friends - they both needed each other, really. And, you've conveyed their emotions here SO beautifully - honestly, this is my FAVORITE portrayal of the beginning of their friendship that I've ever read!

I can imagine how hard it must have been for Lily to believe what Severus was saying at first - for all she knew, he could have been creating fantasies in her head, Hogwarts may not have even existed. So, it shows even more just how trusting she was of him, and also how desperate she was for an explanation of what's going on with her.

And reading this makes me even MORE sad to know what's coming when they get to Hogwarts. :( Seriously, you've just completely blown my mind with this! I can't wait to read the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFairytalesque: It Inciting Tragedy

28th December 2015:
Oh WOW. Just, wow.

First off, I'm pretty sure I've never read a story that talked about Lily's parents, how they met, what Lily's life as a small child was like, so you get major kudos for originality.

Secondly, I think it's great to have some background information to get us started, to help us see what happened that caused all the choices and events that happened in Lily's life.

And your whole emphasis on the word "normal", and how Ruth wanted her daughters to be so extraordinary, but then wound up regretting it, is just... amazing. She got exactly what she wanted, but then once she saw it, she realized it may not have been what she wanted for her daughters after all.

I like your description of Lily's temper, because she's definitely known to have one in the books. And, reading how Ruth always tried to keep from upsetting Lily, etc, really helps me to understand why Petunia might have wound up hating her sister.

This is another fabulous chapter, I really hope we get to see Ruth's reaction to finding out Lily's a witch!

Well done!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>