Reading Reviews From Member: MrsJaydeMalfoy
  
704 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoyGoodbye, James: Sirius

20th July 2016:
Bahahaha!! Oh my goodness, that was disgusting, but also the PERFECT sendoff for Sirius to give James! :P

I'll be honest, I was expecting this to be about the night that everything happened, but something you picked up on here was the fact that Sirius really didn't have TIME to grieve that night, he was too busy fighting and then getting put in Azkaban. Once again you've thought outside of the box here, and it makes complete sense that Sirius would stop by Godric's Hollow first - it's just my headcanon now.

This is a very sad chapter, but it's not really in Sirius' nature to be sad, so much as very angry and wanting revenge, and you showed that here beautifully. James would have wanted Sirius to have fun, and that's exactly what he did.

This is another fantastic piece, lovely, really.

Well done, and again, thank you SO much for donating to HPFF!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoyGoodbye, James: Lily

20th July 2016:
*Wipes eyes* Wrong one! I picked the wrong one to read! *Sobs more*

I'm kidding, of course, but this really was SO heartbreaking! When I saw the chapter title I was kind of thinking that Lily didn't really have a lot of time to say Goodbye to James, and honestly I was hoping these goodbyes were maybe like.. for the weekend or something, not when James died. :P

But, even though there wasn't a lot of time for Lily to say goodbye, you packed SO much into those few moments - this is SO powerful! You addressed the fact that Lily didn't have long to say goodbye and she couldn't really even focus on her goodbye because she was trying to protect Harry.

That's something I hadn't really even though much about before - I guess I just focused on "Lily ran upstairs trying to save Harry", not "Lily was trying to save Harry and had to hear her husband die". You just completely brought that whole other element to it, and it's so sad! :(

I thought the part about Lily really not even being able to stand because of her grief was an amazing touch.

Well done, and I'm off to the next chapter now, though I have to admit I'm even more afraid of reading Sirius' goodbye now... :(

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoyActions Speak Louder than Words: Brewing: Rose POV

20th July 2016:
BETH!!

I just stopped by to leave a few reviews for your week on the Hot Seat, and I see that there's a new chapter of this that I haven't reviewed yet!! What is this madness?!? Oh well, whatever madness it is, there's no time like the present! We'll kill two birds with one stone - your first hot seat review from me and my insane need for more of your story! And, by the way, before I jump into my review, I just wanted to thank you for donating to keep HPFF around!!

And now, the review...

I KNEW IT! I KNEW THOSE WERE SCORPIUS' PARENTS EVER SINCE ROSE GOT ASSIGNED THE CASE FILE AND SHE KNEW SOMETHING WAS OFF! Call it intuition or what have you, but I knew it! And while I'm kind of bouncing around in my seat with excitement, I'm also heartbroken for Scorpius and really wary of his reaction, as well as curious and wary about what's going to come of all this. Clearly his parents were murdered, so WHY? And what kind of affect is this going to have on him? And who in the Ministry was in on this cover-up? And why? GAH, so many questions!!

As for Al, I'm SO happy that he's starting to heal, even though I know the process will be slow, at least he's able to smile a little and get enveloped in work again. And it was great seeing Rose being able to enjoy his recovering as well, because to me that's kind of an indication that she's healing, also.

The moment in the hall with Scorpius was so cute and sweet, if a bit heartbreaking. Scorpius has been through SO much with his parents, then Sels, and now he's just constantly afraid of losing Ro and the baby.. poor thing! I really hope this latest development doesn't push him over the edge.

And OH my goodness, only SIX WEEKS until the baby's born!? This is SO exciting, but also really nerve-wracking. Because I just KNOW Stannous is going to do something, either before the baby's born, or as it's being born.. something's going to happen and I'm terrified!

And, I really REALLY need another chapter now, but I'm also really afraid to read it. :P

Well done and MORE PLEASEEE!

And now I'm off to find another story of yours to get hooked on. :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOur Children's Work: The Order of The Phoenix

20th July 2016:
Nope, still not done! :P

I TOLD you I'm on a 'not frequently written-about characters' thing. :P

And this says it's going to be a short story, but there's only one chapter so far and um.. I'm going to need another chapter now please. XD Sorry, I'm not trying to be pushy or anything but I needz moar! (Even though I kind of feel like this fic could potentially/probably break my heart).

I love the way Alice is scolding Frank here, and how they're both determined to help with the Order, despite putting themselves in harm's way. Reading this honestly made me feel very nostalgic for Neville's parents, even though we really didn't get to see them in the series, this makes it feel like I know them very well, and that's saying something since it's only the first chapter!

I think my favorite part of the whole chapter though was the description of Augusta - she's ferocious! I kind of want to read a fic about her now, also! *Cough WRITE ONE cough* :P

This is another fantastic piece, and it's just been added to my 'Currently Reading' list - please update soon!

Well done, and thank you again for donating to HPFF!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThief: Scones And Jam

20th July 2016:
Hi again! I hope you didn't think I was finished! :P

This was another of your stories that just jumped out at me. Romilda Vane is definitely NOT often written about, and currently I'm on a "little written about characters" thing, so I really wanted to see what you did with her here, and I was NOT disappointed!

We don't really get a lot about Romilda's character from the books, other than that's she's boy crazy and in love/lust with Harry. I think we're definitely given a negative impression of her in the books due to the whole 'Love Potion' incident, but what teenage girl DOESN'T have a crush she's crazy over, you know? :P Obviously there's more to Romilda and I love that you've explored that here.

Reading your descriptions of the starving students brought tears to my eyes, and also made me hate the Carrows even more.. if that were even possible. And then, seeing Romilda being so brave and facing the Cruciatus so that her friends could eat and so that the house elves wouldn't get into trouble completely changed my outlook on her as well - you've done a wonderful job of adding a whole other aspect to her personality and I really liked it!

Honestly I can't help wondering what's going to happen after this scene - I might need a sequel please! :D

Anyway, this was another excellent piece, well done!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Sorting Of Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore: Are you sure?

19th July 2016:
Hi there Kaitlin! I haven't talked to you in a while, I hope you're doing well! I'm here with a few slightly belated hot seat reviews for you! Thank you SO much for donating to keep HPFF alive, I can't tell you how much it's appreciated!

So, as soon as I saw this, I HAD to read it. I mean, come on, the sorting of Albus Dumbledore?! Everyone's debated for so long over which house he was sorted into, I couldn't resist! And I have to admit it was very hard to keep myself from scrolling down the page early to see which house he was sorted into! :P

I think Gryffindor is a good choice, and I like the reasoning here! Of course he had the traits of Ravenclaw and Slytherin to, but I think wanting to learn to be brave is quite brave of itself, if that makes any sense.

It was a little awkward seeing young Albus - I mean, he must have been a bit strange for his age, you know? For some reason I kept picturing him as an old man in this, even though he's only 11. :P

One thing that definitely caught my attention here was your description - especially of the Hogwarts ceiling changing colors! It was so beautifully described!

This was a wonderful piece and I really enjoyed it! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoyMy First Date(s): My First Date(s)

19th July 2016:
I KNEW IT! I knew Katie liked Alicia all along, and that's why she was being so picky! :P

I was talking to Renee and told her I was leaving you some hot seat reviews, so she suggested this story and I'm very glad she did! This is cute and sweet and fluffy and just wonderful!

I think you had great transitions between all of the episodes, and I loved how each episode happened on their special couch, it's so sweet that they had a secret spot even before they were a couple!

Your descriptions of the dates were amazing and really I can't think of much else to say about this except that I loved it, it's so cute I just want to squish it!!

Well done, lovely, and thank you again for donating to HPFF! ♥

Author's Response: Hehe, I love it when people root for Katie and Alicia from the beginning!

I'm glad Renee suggested this story! It's really fun and sweet, which I think is a great way to leave off, especially after reading some of my heavier stories.

I'm incorporating this ship into my Polyverse, and have a few other stories planned for them, also including Oliver, Percy, and Audrey. At the moment I have a one shot kind of as a promo for that up on ao3, though I'm not sure if you read over there.

Thank you again for all the reviews! I hope you're doing well ♥

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPretty Little Thing: Pretty Little Thing

19th July 2016:
Hi again! I'm back with another belated Hot Seat review!

I have to admit, this story broke my heart, made me want to cry, and also gave me a sense of hope all at the same time - you are wonderful with conveying the emotions, dear!

Once again, you've left me with a lot of questions about this relationship between Ro and Septima. However, you've given me enough information to know that I don't like Septima and I was rooting Ro on when she was standing up to her.

I really felt bad for Ro at the beginning and honestly thought Septima might have even been dead, but after the confrontation and seeing that Ro said all she saw was her, it really filled me with a sense of hope for her - she CAN overcome this and escape Septima's absence constantly harrassing her, and that's so amazing.

Though short, this piece is really powerful - you really know how to pack a punch in just a few words! Well done!

Author's Response: Haha, looking at the order you read my three stories, I find it amusing that you started with one that was totally hopeless, then one that shifted from hopeless to hope, and ended with the more positive My First Date(s). =) See, I do happy sometimes!

As you say all the feelings this story made you have I sit here going "Good..." perhaps tenting my fingers with an evil glint in my eye.

Or, more like, being glad that you enjoyed my story and left this gracious review =P

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsJaydeMalfoy19226: 19226

19th July 2016:
SAM!! It's been too long, I hope you're doing well! I'm here with a few (belated) Hot Seat reviews for you! Thank you SO much for donating to help keep HPFF around! I can't tell you how much it's appreciated! And now, on to your first review!

This is just.. spooky and haunting. It's also a little confusing, but I'm pretty sure, given the plot, it was meant to be that way. :P

I have so many questions about what's going on here, even though I know what's going on.. if that makes any sense. It's very ambiguous, but also very clear cut at the same time, and that takes talent!

For example, when Ginny says the diary is under her bed, I'm wondering if that's what she's hallucinating, or did this actually happen in an alternate universe where the diary was never discovered?

Also, I really love the idea of there being that connection between Ginny and Tom - here you've made it seem like they're almost the same person and it's creepy!! (I mean that in the best possible way!)

I think the repetition is incredible, and so realistic and such a great descriptor of Ginny's situation - her life is on repeat, so it makes sense that the same words would get re-said or re-organized, but ultimately have the same meaning. SO AMAZING.

Anyway, this is a haunting and thought-provoking piece, I really enjoyed it! Well done!

Author's Response: Hey Jayde, ♥

Thank you very much for the reviews. No worries at all that they're belated! (I've been on a twitter hiatus, so didn't actually know when my hot seat week was =P)

I am really glad that you liked this. Yes, it's intended to be kind of disconcerting and confusing, but I'm glad you thought there was a good balance there.

In my idea of the timeline for this story, the events of CoS happened as they did in the book, but afterwards Ginny was unable to fully re-adapt to reality after the firm grip Tom has on her world and mind. So yes, thinking that the diary is underneath her bed is a hallucination, as her mind is trapped reliving the events of her first year.

Thank you for your feedback!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Witch Hunt

1st July 2016:
*Gasps* My goodness, what an intense chapter! I really like that we've been able to go back and see what got everything started in the Introductory chapter, and I feel like some of my questions have been answered, but I've also got SO many more questions that make me just want to keep reading and finish all of this tonight! :P

I'm definitely anxious to know exactly how Alex's mom fits in with all of the Blacks, and what exactly it is that she did that put herself and Alex in so much danger!

I love the infusion of Cherokee heritage and words here, it's absolutely brilliant! As is the fact that Alex can turn into a wolf because of a bracelet from her stepfather, who it's obvious she loved very, very much.

I certainly have some mixed feelings about Alex's Mom - I mean, obviously she abandoned Alex so I don't like her for that, but then she comes back in the picture and sacrifices her own life to save Alex.. and I mean even Alex finds it hard to be mad at her after that. :(

This is wonderfully written - I can't wait to read more. For now I need to get some rest, but I'll try to get back and keep reading as soon as I can! You've definitely got me hooked!

Well done, and again, thank you So much for donating to HPFF! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Welcome to My Life

30th June 2016:
I finally got around to reading this second chapter, and I'm SO glad I did! THIS. IS. INCREDIBLE! You've created your own separate wizarding world here, complete with school, village, scenery, legends, creatures, languages... GAH! This is just like reading "Philosopher's Stone" all over again!

Your description is absolutely amazing, I could easily picture the island and the school, as well as the Yunwi. And I love the subtle differences between the AMA and Hogwarts, like students being able to use computers, etc. And seeing the article about Harry being delusional really helped me to place this in time as far as what's going on in Harry's story right now as well.

She's a BLACK, so I am SO intrigued to find out who her Mom is!! Eekk!

 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Prologue (In a New York Minute)

29th June 2016:
Hi there, dear! I'm here with some reviews for your turn on the Hot Seat! Before I get started with my review, I just wanted to thank you SO much for contributing to HPFF! It's because of people like you that we're still around! ♥

And now, on to your review!

This is an INCREDIBLE first chapter. Right away, you've provided so much information, while also leaving just enough questions and curiosity there to make me want to go flying over to the next chapter - it's very addicting! I'm very curious as to who the Mom is and why she'd be a British Death Eater in America, and I'm also curious as to why other Death Eaters are chasing her. Guess I'll have to keep reading to find out! :P

You did a great description of the scene in the airport - I could picture it as clearly as though I were watching it in a movie, and that takes talent! Also, you did a wonderful job with the emotions here! It's only natural that, even though she's escaped for now, Alex would still feel stressed and tense and afraid to go to the authorities for help, so that was very realistic and believable, and it also made her very easy to relate to, right here from the beginning. I'm very interested to see where things go from here!

Great job, dear! I'm off to the next chapter now!

 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsJaydeMalfoyA Very Puppy Christmas: His name is...

29th June 2016:
I'm sorry this has taken so long, but I at least wanted to leave one more hot seat review for you! And, when I saw the banner and the title of this story, I just couldn't say no! I absolutely ADORE dogs, they are so precious, and I don't see very many fics about puppies / pets; I just couldn't pass this up!

And the first comment I have to make is that I'm quite disappointed that there's no puppy in this box. That author's note had me hopeful :P

This, once again, is just the cutest, sweetest, fluffiest little piece, Lizzie! I love it to bits! I think the idea was very original and your description allowed me to clearly imagine everything in my head, from the poor puppy's appearance when Harry found him to Lily's face when she opened the box!

And the ending. "Snuffles"... really? I mean, are you actually TRYING to kill me with feels?! (I'm kidding of course - Snuffles is a wonderful name! But still, the feels!)

All in all, this was another wonderful, fabulous story dear, I really enjoyed it!

Thank you again, SO much, for contributing to HPFF! ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Worst Birthday Ever: Of All The Days To Be Born

26th June 2016:
Here with another belated Hot Seat review! I remember reading this back during the Birthday Celebration, so I couldn't NOT stop back by and re-read and review this now!

First off, I thought this was very original - I think it's quite refreshing to see a girl who's NOT excited for Valentine's Day, who's not going crazy waiting for flowers, etc. Of course, Dom is hoping for some attention here, but not in the typical Valentine's Day way, and I really like that.

Secondly, I think this is also very REALISTIC. I'm sure there are lots of people who have birthdays on holidays who might feel kind of short-changed because they have to share THEIR day with a holiday - I'm sure they'd probably feel kind of overlooked or forgotten about, just like Dom does here. So huge kudos on originality and believability!

I really, really loved Louis' statement to Dom that there's nothing wrong with wanting to be recognized on your birthday - and he's absolutely right! Even if they don't want to admit it, most people DO want to be recognized or thought of on their birthday, and that's totally understandable. So, even though Dom is being a bit grouchy, her reasons for being that way are easy to understand.

And LOUIS! JUST AWW!! That is so sweet - he is officially the best little brother EVER! I was so happy that he did something like this for her, and that Dom got the attention and celebration she so desperately wanted and needed here! It made me smiling from ear to ear - this is the second of your stories to make me smile like this today! ♥

Really, really well done here also, Lizzie! I loved it! Thank you for participating in the Writer's Duel, and also thank you again for donating!

 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Howler: The Pun Also Rises

26th June 2016:
Hi there Lizzie!! *Squishes* I miss you! I hope you're doing well!

I am incredibly late with this, but I am here to leave you some reviews for your turn on the hot seat! I meant to stop by much sooner, but things got a little crazy and I just lost all track of time. I'm sorry for the slowness, but I hope these reviews can at least somewhat make up for how late I am! And, thank you SO much for donating to keep HPFF around! ♥

First off, I just want to say what a wonderful job you did here with the dialogue! Honestly I would have thought that having only / mostly dialogue could make things a little confusing, but it wasn't at all - you did a wonderful job of keeping things separated and letting us know exactly who was speaking! Well done!

Also, although it was mostly dialogue, you still did an excellent job of letting your characters' personalities shine through, through their words and actions. That's just another testament to how talented an author you are!

Thirdly, this is just HILARIOUS. I was smiling so much by the end, and I really needed a pick-me-up today, so THANK YOU! I love that Teddy's in denial about his feelings for Victoire, and then Harry sort of forces him to reveal them. Plus, the way Harry was cracking those absolutely horrible jokes was so funny, I could totally see him doing that after he became a godfather / father - and you really did a great job of inserting Harry's howler in between bits of Vic and Teddy's conversation!

I loved your description, too - especially when Teddy's face AND hair turned red. So funny!

All in all this was just a wonderful, funny read! I really enjoyed it! Well done!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBeyond Repair: A Highly Unusual Day

26th June 2016:
What's this about a new chapter? And Aww man! Kristin beat me to the first review! :( *Raises eyebrow at Kristin*

Okay, enough rambling: once again, I LOVED this, as I knew I would. As soon as Petunia mentioned Lily being 11, I just KNEW it was going to be THIS chapter, where they find out about Hogwarts, and I was really excited to read it. And, once again, you have blown me away with your description, and the little details you include about Lily and Petunia's relationship and their feelings.


I loved your description of Lily's excitement and her automatically knowing why Minerva was there, and then the way Minerva smiled about it. I could easily see those things happening because you described them so well, and because you've made this so realistic.

The seeds of this argument have been growing for quite a while, just because Petunia is the older sister who's easily annoyed by Lily's actions, and then here we got to see just how things would have escalated once they found out (for sure) about Lily being a witch and heading off to Hogwarts. Here, you've got the beginnings of the whole 'weirdo'-type namecalling from Petunia, but you've explained it in a way that shows Petunia didn't mean it that way and in doing so you've made her much more relatable and likeable as well. It'll be interesting to see how the argument / divide between the girls progresses from here - and I'm sure it'll be heartbreaking as well. :(

Petunia thinking about Lily being off in a castle was a nice touch, too - it helped remind me of her thoughts and hopes from earlier chapters, and it's already helping me to see how jealousy's going to be a factor here, as well.

Anyway, this is another WONDERFULLY written, VERY descriptive and emotional chapter that I enjoyed very, VERY much! I'm so happy I finally got to read more of this and I can't wait for you to update!

Well done, lovely!

 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Marauders

19th May 2016:
Wh- what have you done to me with this chapter?! *Sobs* I just.. I was NOT prepared for the feels I just felt here... like, what?! *Sobs more*

I know that so many other things happened in this chapter, such as the boys picking their group and individual nicknames, which was brilliant, by the way, as was their prank.

But, there are two scenes that are just stuck in my mind and are making me sob like an infant right now: The group hug when the boys say they love Remus and he just can't deal, and of course the scene at the end with them playing and Remus realizing he doesn't have to be alone. Like... GAH! I just can't right now! *sobs even more*

I just felt such a surge of love for James, Sirius and even Peter when Remus (the wolf) turned around and saw them there... the Marauders on their first night together as all animals! Eeek! I'm a sobbing, flailing, fangirling mess right now Chiara! Look what your story has done to me!! This is just.. beyond perfect... it's just probably my favorite chapter I've ever read of anything! GAH! ♥ I've told you before that you do such a wonderful job with conveying emotions, and you certainly didn't disappoint here!

I know, I know, I'm rambling on and on and just repeating the same things over and over, but you really just tugged on all my heartstrings with this! I just.. GAH!

I'm going to go now, to try to get it together and stop crying.. but seriously.. this is SO amazing, YOU ARE SO TALENTED and I NEED MORE PLEASE!!! ♥

Author's Response: I don't even know how to thank you anymore! This review in particular made me feel so warm!!! I'm so sorry I made you cry... but so proud as well... *hug* *hug* *hug*

This is quite a heavy chapter... aww, glad you enjoyed the prank! Did the "rhymes" work? Rhymes are so hard, especially in a different language when you aren't 100% sure of the pronounce... :P but apparently it worked! :D

Aww... I know... poor Remus is so used to think that he is undeserving of being happy and loved that he just can't deal... but that's the reason the Marauders are so wonderful, right? :)

Aww... I'm so glad you felt all those emotions and I'm so flattered by all your praises! Thank you! So so so much! And sorry for all the feels! *hug* *wub*

More will come soon, promise! Thank you! A hundred, a thousand, a million times thank you! That's all I can say in response to this incredibly flattering review!

With all my love, and some more!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Gryffindors

19th May 2016:
Another wonderfully well-written chapter, dear! I think it's wonderful that Remus and Peter are back together and being friends, but I also still feel really sad that Peter's being so critical of Remus and not understanding, and Remus feels that he simply can't tell Peter what's going on. It's really heart-breaking. :(

I think we are already beginning to see here some of the traits that will eventually make Peter useful to the dark lord - I have to admit that the way he 'observes' everything seemed a little creepy! But, that's just how he is, you know? So that part was very in-character and believable.

Also, I really liked the conversation between Peter and the Sorting Hat. Obviously, the sorting hat knew what it was talking about, and especially the bit about self-preservation.

Honestly, this is the first fic I've read where Peter actually seeks out the friendship of James and Sirius, and I really like it, I think it's brilliant. Peter definitely wanted to be the center of attention, so it makes sense that he would seek out the most popular kids in school to accomplish that. I'm just wondering now how things are going to work out when Remus comes back!

Fabulous chapter in a fabulous story, and I'm off to the next now!

Author's Response: Hi again, Jayde! Long time no see! :P

Ah, I know... Remus is too scared of Peter's possible reaction, and Peter, well... he's Peter. He is the sort of person who would take things personally and feel mistreated and betrayed. But they do care for each other!

And yes, Peter is also the sort of person who observed things and stuff information for future use, without really sharing with anyone. I'm glad you found it in character, even if I agree it's a little creepy...

Glad you enjoyed the talk with the Hat. It knows better. But Peter doesn't want to listen. Not right now.

Peter does crave celebrity, and being considered by the popular guys would surely made him feel accomplished. Besides, he feels a bit trapped by his friendship with Remus. He wants to expand his horizons, if that makes sense?

Thank you so much for another awesome review! I'm so thrilled you are enjoying this so much!!! :D

Infinite love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe first kiss is grand...: The first kiss is grand...

19th May 2016:
I'm still not finished!

GAH. Everything I have ever read of yours has just been SO phenomenal - you are SO talented, and not to mention so versatile! You convey every single emotion that you write so well, I really envy your work!

I loved seeing James' thought process here, the way he's surprised to see her smiling at him, then afraid to do something to mess it up, and so nervous, it's just so sweet! And it's also a little heartbreaking knowing that just her smiling at him seems such a big difference to him - he really was trying pretty hard, you know?

And then, Lily saying she might feel the same way, and the kiss, was just PERFECT!

But then you had to go and add more to it and make it even more perfect and squee-worthy! The emotions that you conveyed coming from Lily's side of the situation are just so REAL! I loved seeing how happy it made her, and then seeing her rush downstairs to kiss him again was just like icing on the cake!

You are SO talented, sweetie! This is another fabulous piece of yours and I look forward to reading more from you! (Speaking of which, I'm off to 'Liar' now to do your reviews for the Hufflepuff exchange! :D )

Author's Response: Aww, Jayde... *blushing*
I really don't deserve all those praises... you are too kind to me!

I'm so glad you enjoyed this little story, and James and Lily's characters! I'm a heavy Jily shipper, if you hadn't guessed! :P

Awkward James is the cutest! He was trying really really hard! And seeing her smilimg was definitely a big deal, since she made no mistery of finding him unsufferable...

But she actually liked him a lot! ;) So glad you liked the kiss! I had so much fun picturing that scene in my mind! :D

I'm also so glad that you felt Lily's emotions authentic! Love makes every girl beautiful, doesn't it? :)

Aww... you are too sweet, honestly! Thank you so much for all the wonderful reviews for the Hot Seat! I need to head to your story soon as well... Hopefully I will during next week! I can't wait, I adore your writing!!!

Mountains of love, my dear!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOnce upon a time: The good werewolf and the evil vampire

18th May 2016:
I'm not finished with you yet! :D I know I'm a little late with these next reviews, but still, Happy Hot Seat!

Chiara. CHIARA. C.H.I.A.R.A!! THIS IS THE CUTEST, SWEETEST, FLUFFIEST LITTLE ONE-SHOT IN THE HISTORY OF FLUFFY LITTLE ONE-SHOTS! I just adore it! It's going in my favorites right NOW! I know you said in the author's note that you felt self-conscious about posting it, but I'm SO HAPPY that you posted it anyway because it is amazing and you have NOTHING to feel self-conscious about!! I just.. GAH! I wish I'd read this before the Keckers! It SO would have been nominated!!

I love love LOVE this tender moment between Sirius and Regulus. We know in the end that Regulus wound up looking up to Sirius anyway, so it's nice to see this bonding moment between them. And, even though this is a fluff piece, you can definitely see the conflicting ideas floating around in Regulus' head that would one day lead him to do what he did.

And, even though it's a part of the magical world, and therefore, fantasy, this story is also SO REAL, because nightmares happen. Little boys or girls go to their older siblings for comfort or protection, that's so true-to-life and real and it really helped me connect with both Sirius and Regulus here!

I also love that the first story that came to Sirius' minds was about his friends and Remus' lycanthropy, and how he used that story to prove his point to his brother about werewolves not being evil, and about people shouldn't be judged based on old prejudices.

And it was So hilarious when Reg kept correcting Sirius about the stake for the vampire! Typical little brother actions! And speaking of hilarious, so was the story about the 'vampire'! Sirius has a way with inventing stories, doesn't he? :P

My favorite two parts of this were the tickle fight, and then the very end - SO SWEET AND CUTE!! Those two definitely have their differences, but at the end of the day they're still brothers, and that's what's important.

I could go on forever and ever about how much I ADORE THIS, but I think you get the point. So now I'll just stop rambling and click on 'favorite' and then go find some more of your amazing work to read! ♥

Author's Response: Jayde!!!
Aww... you're flattering me with all your these super sweet reviews... *blushing*
You are awesome!

Thank you so much! I wrote this ages ago and, while I found it sweet, I wasn't sure if it was interesting or good at all... so I'm incredibly thrilled by the response it got. Your entusiasm is so lovely! Just, thank you!!!

I've always loved to think that the two brothers used to have a sweet relationship at a young age. We know things will change, of course. But we also know that Regulus will choose the light in the end. And I do believe he always esteemed his brother, even when they disagreed.

Ahahah! Well, yes, this could've easily been a real life moment. Aside from the fact that werewolves and vampires exist. :P I love writing siblings' relationships, and Sirius and Regulus especially are so much fun together. :D

I can't write anything without throwing in Remus somehow... :P (ok, that's only half true, but I love Remus!) I guess using real life experiences is the easiest way to invent a story. And of course, Sirius tried to teach him something about prejudice.

Ahahah! The vampire story was hilarious! Yes, Sirius does have a way with inventing stories! ;) And obviously Reg would want to show off his knowledge! :D

Aww... so glad you liked the end! That's exactly what I wanted to show, that their brothery love was stronger than any different character or view they might have.

Ah! How can I even thank you enough for your sweetness??? I'll be back to reply to your other reviews soon! Thank you so much again!

Snowball hug,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoyIn between: The Sorting

17th May 2016:
HELLO, LOVELY CHIARA!

(First off, just let me say that I know I still owe you a PM response, I haven't forgotten, I'm going to do my best to get that done tomorrow, but first I wanted to leave you these reviews! And now let's get down to business :P).

HAPPY HOT SEAT AGAIN. I just wanted to stop by and make sure I leave a few reviews for you as my own personal way of saying 'Thank you' for all of your generous contributions to the site - people like you are the reason we're still here and it's SO appreciated - THANK YOU! And now, on to your review!

THERE. IS. MORE. TO. THIS. STORY. Holy cow! I haven't even started reading yet but I looked at the summary and thought YES!, so I just had to share that with you before I begin reading. :P

*Scrolls up and reads*

Oh, I just love this, Chiara! First off, I'm pretty sure I've told you this before, but your description is just amazing. Reading your description of the castle was just breath-taking and honestly, it made me feel like I was seeing it for the first time right along with the four friends.

I love how close they've all grown in the short time they've known each other. That's very realistic, it's just how young children are and honestly it just seems like these four were just MEANT to meet up and be lifelong friends, despite their differences.

I loved seeing their sorting, and I especially loved Emmeline's sorting into Hufflepuff, how she kind of agrees with the stereotype of Hufflepuff being boring at first, but I'm sure her mind's going to change very quickly!

I also think you did a wonderful job with emotions here. You portrayed the kids' nervousness so well, and that is very realistic! Also, when you said she could FEEL the disappointment coming off of Severus about Lily's sorting, I could feel it too and that was SUCH a powerful moment. And honestly, when Severus was taking so long on the sorting I think in my mind he was begging the hat to put him in Gryffindor with Lily.. poor thing. :(

Anyway, I loved reading this and it was great to see more about how this all got started and continued, even though the ending is so sad.

Well done, dear! ♥ *squishes*

Author's Response: Jayde!!!
Aww, thank you so, so, so much for stopping by!!!
I love this site so much! And I'm only glad that I was able to give my little contribution. It's nothing compared to the dedication and effort you and the rest of the Staff put in everything! Thanks to you!

And no worries about the PM. I answered only a couple of days ago. Take all the time you need. *hug*

Ahahah! I'd been thinking about an extention to Seven Years Later for a long time. And then you came and said you wanted to hear more about the quartet and I guess that's what convinced me in the end! :) (I'm not sure when I'll be back here, though... I'm pretty focused on Liar at the moment...)

Aww, thank you! That's actually funny because I struggle a lot with description (I feel much more comfortable in writing dialogue) but I guess my writing has improved since I started. :D Anyway, I'm so glad you felt that way about the description of the castle. :)

Yes, I guess at the age is much easier to simply bond! I love that you think they were meant to be friends! It's such a cute thought!

Emmeline will come to adore her fellow Badgers! How could she not? We know we are awesome!!! :P

Poor Severus... I'm not exactly sure what happened between the Hat and him... I think they were both quite conflicted... but Severus is foundamentally a Slytherin, I'm convinced of that. It is sad that they were separated, though... :(

Thank you so much again for this lovely review! I'll try to get back to this story in not too long, promise!

Tons of hugs and love!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFull Moon and 15 Years Old: A Ceremony of Adulthood at Fifteen

13th May 2016:
Hello again! Nope, I'm not finished! XD

I read this back during the Writer's Duel, and I've been wanting to come back and review it ever since. And, since your turn on the Hot Seat was this week, there's no time like the present right?! :D

I love the fact that you chose to write about this moment! I feel like it's a very powerful moment that wasn't really fully explained very well in Canon, and you did a great job of representing it here!

I really like how James matured here, you did a wonderful job of showing that! And you had Sirius characterized perfectly, very immature - something that really didn't change very much as he got older, either.

I also liked how you escalated James' hate for Severus at the beginning, first Severus proved to know more than he did, then he 'stole his girlfriend', so to speak, and those things just combined to cause James to do something very selfish and childish. That was very, very realistic and you did a great job showing how the behavior of teenagers can be sometimes!

Also, I really liked the fact that, even though James matured, he was still not going to let Severus get away without at least a promise not to tell what he'd seen. Yes, he saved his life, but he also made sure to let him know that he wouldn't take too kindly to Remus' secret getting out. That's just awesome!

Anyway, this was a great one-shot, and thank you again SO much for participating in the writer's duel, and also for your donation to the site!

Author's Response: Thank you again, Jayde! You are such an amazing person who cares all members on the forums. :worship:

Oh, you read this for HPFF 15 years event?
Thank you so much for sparing time for this again.

You may be the first person who mentioned I did something good for Sirius. Thank you for the encouragement. I was not sure if I could write about him right.

I'm glad that you understood how James got to hate Snape in my head cannon. I tried making the complicated relationship clear, creating Gryffindorness in James and Slytheriness in Snape.

The impression in the book three, the last parts, the secret of Remus was revealed, are so strong, so I tried writing about them. So I guess James must have let Snape promise about Lupin's secret.

Thank you again for coming back to drop your thought at the writer's duel. :)

Kenny



 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsJaydeMalfoyRed Red Rose : Show Off

13th May 2016:
Hahaha! This is cute and adorable and hilarious, like I knew it would be! I just LOVE the ending there when, out of nowhere, Hugo just goes running after Scorpius, and Scorpius just grabs the cards and takes off running! I thought one of Hugo's cousins had taken the cards, so I thought it was hilarious to see that it was Scorpius, and I could just picture the two of them running around like that in my head!

I was also really pleased to see Draco and the Potters/Weasleys getting along here. SO many stories show a tense atmosphere between them, but it's nice to read something where they get along, approve of their childrens' relationship, and support their children in even less common pursuits.

I really liked seeing things through McGonagall's eyes in the first part of the chapter, and I was sad to read that she'd be retiring soon. I think you made a good point that she won't really know what to do with herself when she's not teaching anymore.

Your description of Lee's actions and words when he first got on the stage was pretty funny. And I really liked seeing the moment of tenderness between Rose and Scorpius!

I'm very excited to see where things go from here, and I think your love for music really shines through in this story! This is going on my 'Currently Reading' list now, and I'll be eagerly awaiting an update! Well done!!

Author's Response: Thank you again for sparing your precious time, Jayde!

My next gen. head cannon has been formed like I wrote in this chapter. Hugo is like his dad, Ron and Scorpius is like Draco Malfoy. Albus is like Harry and Rose is like Hermione. But the situation has changed from the dark time to a brighter one. I chose the theme, musical one as a symbol of peace.

I chose McGonagall as the person who tells the time was shifted from the war to the next generation with much hope.
The impression of Lee as a Potterwatch DJ is very strong for me, so I had him enter this chapter.

Thank you again for encouragement. I may update when I have time, maybe summer vacation. :)

Kenny





 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoyRed Red Rose : A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

13th May 2016:
Hi there Kenny! I know I'm a little late with this (I'm sorry for that!), but I just wanted to make sure I stopped by to leave you a few Hot Seat reviews as my personal way of saying 'Thank you for your generous contributions to the site'! Without amazing members like you, we wouldn't still be here, so from the bottom of my heart, Thank you!

And now, on to your review!

This is a great, very exciting first chapter! You've already filled us in on so many details in everyone's lives, like the fact that Scorpius and Rose are dating, the fact that Albus and Scorpius write songs, that Scorp is a prefect, etc.

I really loved how you had Hugo playing with those cards, it seems a very childish thing to do and from the way you described it, I could easily picture him in my mind sitting on the floor counting the cards with a look of dismay on his face! I really hope he finds the cards soon, but I've got a feeling one of his cousins might have had something to do with their disappearance! :P

This has a very light, fluffy, and comical feel to it, you've definitely prepared us for some misadventures and laughs ahead!

I thought it was very interesting that Rose asked Scorpius to be her girlfriend, instead of the other way around. Most of the stories I've read show Scorpius pining away over Rose, so this was a nice change and very original.

As I said, an excellent first chapter, and I'm off to the next! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you, Jayde for stopping by. I reckon you are so busy, but you thought of dropping your feedback, I really appreciate your kindness.

Since I participated in the activity, writing duel, Game On at House Cup 2015, the idea popped in my mind. I wanted to continue the musical concept when I decided to write for this challenge.

A few authors here wrote comical stories, I was very impressed by some works, I wanted to write a tip of them. I wasn't sure I could write the comedy, but your review gave me encouragement. Lots of amazing authors have written good fluffy stories, which might give me much influence.

Yeah, I understand what you said, I've read Scorpius pining away over Rose type stories. They are well focused on their emotion, and the descriptions are awesome. I can't write like them, but I just enjoyed to imagine my head cannon, next generation ship.

Talking of card games, my son's friend obsessed with collecting cards, so the idea popped naturally in my head. It was fun to write about Hugo, too.

Kenny



 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Lake: Quest

6th May 2016:
I found myself with a few, unexpected free minutes and thought I'd try to squeeze in one more review on one of your lesser-reviewed stories!

And AGAIN, Kevin, WOW! *Clicks favorite button*

I don't even know how to begin to review this. I'm just a puddle of awe and amazement sitting in a chair staring at the computer screen with wide eyes. Once again, you've tackled something SO original, so unheard of, and made it into one of the best stories I've ever read.

I've never before read something about the Giant Squid, or how he came to be the Giant Squid, so again, kudos on originality, and I LOVE THIS. This is my headcanon for how the Giant Squid came to be in the Black Lake and rescue Hogwarts students now. Even if JKR releases some kind of statement about it later, NOPE. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED.

I just... GAH! Kevin stop being so awesome! (Okay actually no, please don't!) :P

Something I've noticed about your writing across all three pieces I've read today is the flow and readability. On short pieces like this one, but also longer pieces like Schrodinger's Cat, your words just pulled me in and kept me glued to the screen, eagerly awaiting more. It's like I started reading and it was over all too soon. That's proof of how exciting and addictive your writing is - it flows so perfectly!

I wish I had more, intelligent words to write here about this, but honestly I'm just flabberghasted and speechless, I can't even form proper sentences right now. Just... this is just AMAZING, Kevin. I really hope you realize how talented you are!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>