Reading Reviews From Member: MrsJaydeMalfoy
  
678 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoyActions Speak Louder than Words: Buildup: Scorpius POV

20th April 2016:
WELL IT IS ABOUT TIME I GOT HERE TO READ AND REVIEW THIS!!! I'm sorry it has taken me SO long, but I haven't forgotten! As soon as I saw that you'd updated I was SO excited, I wrote 'review ASLTW' on a notepad on my desktop, and it's been sitting there ever since! I hope my review can make up for the crazy amount of time it's taken me to get to it!!

First off, in a way I'm kind of relieved that it's been 3 months since the attack, because that means that Stannous hasn't been able to get to them for 3 months. But, at the same time, knowing how desperate he is, that's also 3 months for him to plan something completely horrid.. so it really makes me nervous. And then also, knowing that it's been 3 months means that Rose is getting REALLY far along now, so, if Stannous is going to try something else, he's probably going to do it soon... *looks from side to side with paranoia*

The replay of the events was just AMAZING and it really helped me to feel like a part of the investigation - I LOVE that! I feel like I'm caught up to speed with the characters as far as intel goes! But, being able to see in on that meeting has just given me SO MANY QUESTIONS, like if the death eaters realized that they'd got the wrong person... and HOW did they know Sels was in Diagon Alley? I mean COME ON! The fact that they immediately went after everyone else in the vicinity makes me think they DO realize they got the wrong target, and were hoping Rose was somewhere nearby hiding.. but still. I'm just so curious about what their goal was.. did they want to hurt the baby, kidnap Rose? Both? UGH so many questions! But I'm honestly kind of scared to know the answers!! :P

And then of course, poor Scorpius!! It broke my heart to see him so conflicted, fighting so hard to stay strong and focused, but he just can't keep it together. I can't blame him, and I know he's got to be really conflicted about all the emotions going through his head. Obviously he's very sad for losing Sels, but in a way I'm sure he's relieved that it wasn't Rose and the baby... but at the same time I'm pretty sure he feels guilty for thinking that way, as Sels was his friend... the poor guy! I'm so happy that Harry realized WHY he needed a break, and that he convinced him to go talk to Rose. I can't wait to see their conversation, because I'm sure that they can both make each other feel better, or at least I hope so.

Anyway, this was another really intriguing and also slightly nerve-wracking chapter, and I can't wait to see what happens next. Update soon please!! *Squish* ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChoices.: Holiday Thoughts

19th April 2016:
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR STOPPING BY MY PROFILE AND LETTING ME KNOW THIS WAS UP!!! And also, I'm the first to review it as well! YAY!! :D

You have just completely torn up my emotions with this. (And I mean that in the best possible way!) First off, you had me SQUEALING like a little kid at Christmas when I read that they got engaged and then married! I was SO happy, although I have to admit I'm kind of sad that nobody else can know for right now. But, at least they have Theo and Ginny!! I really hope things calm down some day so that they can have their big white wedding like Draco was talking about, and it's SO SWEET that he wants to give her all those things!

And then, I just felt so heartbroken for Draco, knowing what his father did to his mother, and it's awful that he did so basically just to get back at Draco. It's just terrible and I can't imagine the type of pain he's going through right now, and combining that with the fact that he's meant to be on his honeymoon and having fun is just so sad. :(

I'm kind of afraid for those two, going back to the rest of the world. In a way, I'd kind of like to see them run away together, with their hidden romance, something like a Romeo and Juliet of the wizard world. But, at the same time, they shouldn't HAVE to, you know?!

And them talking about having children, and being parents... EEEK!! ♥

Anyway, this is another wonderful chapter and I can't express how much I just LOVE this!! I'm going to need the next chapter soon, please!! Oh, and my favorite line of this whole chapter? "to propose and marry my little bookworm"... AWW!!! ♥

Well done, dear!! 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: The Truth

19th April 2016:
REVIEW NUMBER 500!! YAY!!! And it also just so happens to be the first review on this chapter, so DOUBLE YAY!!

I really love the bonding between Draco and Roxi here, even though it doesn't really seem like bonding. (They're madly in love, they just haven't admitted it yet!) XD

It seems like Roxi is able to see right through Draco, and I think it's good for him to have someone like that in his life. She's a bit like Saleena - she won't back down until she gets to the bottom of what's bothering him, she won't let him just wander off to be by himself, and that's what he really needs, whether he thinks so or not.

I definitely felt like those two cleared the air a bit, and you could really feel the mood shift between them towards the end of the chapter... IT'S LOVE! :P (Okay, I know I'm jumping the gun, but anyways) :D

It's great that he was at least able to thank her for what she did!

And that last little paragraph filled me with hope, but also with dread... first off, to see Draco excited to be spending more time with Roxi was, of course, squee-worthy! But, 'everyone was safe FOR THE MOMENT' just makes me shudder... dun dun DUNN!

Another wonderfully written chapter and I can't wait to see where you take this from here! I'ma need you to get on the next chapter now plz. :D

*Squish* SURPRISE! And congratulations on reaching 500 reviews!!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: Captive

19th April 2016:
499! So close to 500!!

Okay, so I really just wanted to yell at Roxi when she did this. I mean, come ON! Like Tonks said, has she learned nothing! It really does go to show how young she is, and how inexperienced as well. I mean, she's willing to risk being captured just to look at him. *Shakes head*

And, well, Percy's cat's out of the bag now, isn't it. *Sighs* At this point he's just not showing any remorse at all, and I just finished reviewing chapter two of his story, so I can't help but wonder how he got from that point of uncertainty to this point of just pure HATRED. :(

Seeing Lucius in his condition, hearing his words about only wanting to save Draco, is just really heartbreaking. He's really hard to relate to in the books, but you've definitely made it easier to see things from his point of view here, and that's saying something!

Well done, dear! *squish*

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: False Accusations

19th April 2016:
Review No. 498!! :D

I really like the first half of this chapter because it really shows how close Saleena and Draco have gotten in the time she's been taking care of him. Not only does he know about her being a gypsy, but he also knows the situation with her family and her people, and he's genuinely concerned for if she's ready for that or not. It's very sweet!

I was glad to see Draco beginning to make a recovery here, and Minerva definitely regained some of my favor when she invited him to join the Order and come to a meeting - it's really great of her to think the best of him and want to include him!

I just LOVE seeing Draco and Roxi's individual reactions to seeing each other for the first time - first Draco can't stop thinking how weird she is, and then it's completely the opposite from Roxi's point of view! :P

And WOW, slow down Neville! I mean, I kind of get the frustration a little, because Draco always WAS pretty awful to him, but still, cut the guy some slack!

I really like how Draco talked some sense into all of them - he has a point! And I think it's very realistic and incredible how his experiences of the past few days and weeks have humbled him considerably - I mean let's face it, he could stand to be taken down a notch or two.. (And I say that in the nicest, most adoring way possible! :P)

Another fabulous chapter, lovely, and now on to the next!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: Trustworthy

19th April 2016:
1 down, 4 to go! :D

Hahaha, I don't know why, but going back and reading Tonks' reaction to finding out that a new metamorphmagus was coming is hilarious to me. Maybe it's because I know Roxi and I know she's not trying to replace anyone, I don't know, but either way, even though I should have been upset right along with Tonks because she was crying, I was just laughing and thinking to myself "Girl, you have nothing to worry about!" :P I can't wait to see Roxi re-enter the picture and see Tonks' reaction again! :P

And I kind of get why Minerva is being so suspicious of Saleena, but at the same time it gets on my nerves a little bit, because we both know that Saleena's not up to anything. I mean, like I said, I understand being cautious and I normally really like Minerva, just a part of me wants her to back off a little bit.

And that last line was REALLY powerful - she's never been afraid of anything, and for the first time, she's afraid. It makes me afraid right along with her!

Great job, lovely! ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: Under Arrest

19th April 2016:
How about we get you up to 500 reviews on this today, how does that sound? I think yes! :D

It's been a while so I had to skim back over this to remind myself what happened :P But, something I definitely remember is being SO MAD AT PERCY ugh!! Just sitting there with a smug look on his face about potentially getting his mother in a lot of trouble. *narrows eyes* You really did a great job of making me hate him here!! (I mean that in the best way possible!! :P)

Also, I remember being frustrated with Scrimgeour's stubbornness, he just refuses to see what's right in front of him, and that's what HAS caused (and will cause) SO many problems! He's a lot like Fudge in that way, and you did an excellent job of showing that here!

I loved seeing Draco talking some sense into him, and I also loved seeing Saleena stand up to him! She's very passionate and determined - she's an excellent strong, female character in this and very admirable!

Well done with this chapter, and I'm off to catch up on the others I'd missed!! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Ultimate Betrayal: The Ultimate Decision

19th April 2016:
YAY, first review!! ♥

You already know a lot about what I think about this chapter, but I'm going to leave a review anyway because YES.

First off, I can't remember if I said this in the review of the first chapter or not, but I'm really happy that you chose to take Percy's story and make a spin-off about it - it definitely provides some insight into WHY he is the way he is in LNW. And I think you've shown a really logical progression in him so far - you're definitely making it easy to see how he wound up that way in your story!

I LOVE the playing around you did with Percy and Wormtail - Peter knows who he is, but Percy can't seem to place him - it's hilarious. I can't help but wonder what will happen if and when Percy does find out and/or realize!

Percy's characterization is, again, spot-on! You have this amazing way of getting in to your character's heads, and we can see that even more clearly here - his thirst for recognition, his uncertainty, his shame of being on the wrong side, and, although he doesn't like to admit it, his hesitance for betraying his family.

And speaking of characterization... Voldemort. I mean, he's just perfect. Again, you really get into his head and show us that, while he's evil, he's also very manipulative, and that's how he's managed to get so many followers, get so much information - he definitely takes on many more characteristics in your stories that make him a much more round character, and it's amazing. And you've just got the perfect combination of manipulation and evil here!!

I'm really interested to see what happens next, and how/if Percy manages to get this information! Let me know when you've got it ready to go! :D

Great job!! ♥ *squish*

 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Ultimate Betrayal: The Ultimate Encounter

31st March 2016:
I got beaten to the first review! :( Oh well, I'll get it next time! :D

This is SO GOOD!!! Your description is absolutely incredible, I could picture everything here as it was happening SO clearly in my mind!

And I think you did a FANTASTIC job of getting into Percy's head. We really only see him once he's turned in LNW, so this is definitely a wonderful opportunity to explore WHY that happened, and I think you did a great job with it! I LOVE that you included his love of order and rules, and recognition - that is SO TRUE of Percy and so very in-character! You've shown us the natural progression of how Percy from the books could have turned into Percy from LNW!

I also think you did a great job of portraying just how convincing Voldemort can be - he's basically using logic to convince people who have different beliefs that his way is the best - and he's doing an excellent job at it. If even Percy can be persuaded to join his side, that's really saying something!

I know you weren't planning on this being any longer, but I'm super-thrilled that this is going to be a short story! I can't wait to see what happens next!!

Really, really well done, lovely! ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFaith, Trust, and Crystal Balls: Step One

18th March 2016:
MADI! *Squishes*

I'm here with your (slightly delayed) reward review for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! Congratulations, and thank you so much for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday! (And I know I owe you a PM response, but I wanted to get this taken care of first - I'll go respond to your PM right after this, I promise!)

I've told you I've been meaning to read this anyway, so now's the perfect opportunity! I'll be reviewing as I go, so if I seem to change topic or anything suddenly, that's why! :D

So first off, I'm really excited to read this because I've heard you talking about it so much, but also because there are like NO stories out there about Sybill, at least not that I've seen - this is SO original and I'm really excited to see where you take this!

And eeek, right from the beginning you've got me sympathizing with her and feeling bad for her. Why would everyone just turn her down for no good reason? I mean, I know that looking for a job can be like that sometimes, but it still seems really unfair, you know? And :O They turned her down just because she's a seer?!? That's the stupidest thing I've ever heard! I mean, I understand that it's not a very well-respected ability in the wizard world (which in itself is really messed up), but just because she sees things once in a while doesn't make her any less qualified for the job! *grumbles at interview people*

Awww, that's so sad! I think it's awful that Sybill's family thinks that she won't succeed as a Seer, when that's what she wants to do more than anything! But, I really LOVE her determination to prove them wrong, and I love the fact that she's packing her bags in preparation for her big departure, trusting that it's going to happen. You've made her very likeable here!!

YAY! I'm so excited that she's found something!! I can't wait to see what's waiting for her there! And Just WOW - your description of Nottingham and the way the muggles and wizards just mingle together flawlessly is incredible! That sounds SO amazing and you really captured Sybill's sense of wonder at it, and all her excitement about discovering the new place! And you've really just presented her as fearless - moving to a new city, learning all about it on her own, working to get on her feet, buying the shop.. you've really got ME feeling like I'VE just walked around and discovered a new city, and that's incredible!

And the people she bought the store from were SO nice to leave the souvenirs for her! And again, I'm noticing your excellent description - you made it very easy for me to picture Sybill's painting and redecoration of the outside of the store! And I laughed out loud when she forgot she could use magic. :P I can imagine that would happen to witches and wizards sometimes. I loved the image of seeing the items shrinking and flying around the shop into their boxes!

Awww! Poor Sybill! It really broke my heart to see her so lonely! But, at the same time, that part really gave us the opportunity to see how close she and Em are growing, and I think (and hope) that Em's going to turn out to be a GREAT friend for her! I like her already! And who knows? Maybe the "help wanted" sign WILL bring a nice young man Sybill's way! :P

I loved the description of Sybill's flat, also! I'm so excited for her to finish up with the renovations and open the shop, as well as hopefully find some time to work on her seer abilities, and possibly find a little romance!

This is SUCH an excellent first chapter, dear, you've already got me hooked on another story of yours! You are such an incredibly talented author! I'll be stopping by to give Chapter 2 some love very soon! This is going in my favorites right now!

Well done, and again, congratulations on winning a round of Pass the Parcel!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoyKeeping Vigil: Keeping Vigil

17th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

Okay, so I was NOT prepared for the way you just grabbed me by the feels right here at the beginning! Honestly, when I read the story summary I was thinking this was going to be about their (alive) lives in Godric's Hollow after first moving in - like a metaphorical heaven... but the fact that you're literally referring to heaven here, and it feels like hell to Lily because she doesn't have Harry with her, is just SO powerful! GAH! And it's so original, too! I have NEVER read a story like this that talks about Lily and James' time in heaven after dying!

Also, the fact that they can look down on Harry from the pool, and the fact that Lily chooses not to because it would hurt more... the idea is amazing, and then your characterization of Lily here is as well!

Awww!!! The part with Sirius was so sad!! Poor James!! You did such a great job with the emotion there, showing his grief, and, even though Lily was hurting and afraid to look for herself, the fact that she was still willing to go hold James and be there for him at that rough time is incredible.

*Gasps* They're arguing, in heaven?! GAH! You are just completely blowing my mind with this piece! First off, I'm not going to lie, I kind of felt like James was grieving more over Sirius than Harry, too. But, reading his explanation at the end really made a lot of sense, and I'm glad they got that all out and cleared the air between them, so that hopefully they can try to move on.

But, and I'm not sure I'm going to be able to explain this as well as I want to, but here goes: Many of us already know how hard it is to lose someone we love when they die. But here, in such few words, you've captured perfectly the idea that the dead can grieve for the living - for them not being at their side, for things not going well for them.. and it's just... revolutionary and original and amazing and... Gah!! I could just go on and on about this!

Obviously, there's the sense of 'everything's wrong' here, and you feel really heartbroken for these two. But, at the same time, we know that everything worked out for the best in the end, plus they're in heaven so they're not suffering (physically) anymore, so, although there definitely is a tone of sadness to this, it's kind of hard not to feel a little hope, also.

This has got me thinking about what Lily and James would think if they were looking down throughout the various moments in Harry's life.. it makes me want to read about that.. soo... sequel maybe? Please? :D

Anyway, this is a wonderfully written piece, dear - it flows really well and I didn't see any spelling or grammar issues- it's SO amazing and original, it's going in my favorites right now! I'm so glad I read this! Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

Author's Response: Hi Jayde!

Oh, it never occurred to me that the summary could read as though it was about their time in Godric's Hollow! (I actually have read one story about that - Withering by Unwritten Curse, it's really good!)

Honestly, this piece was inspired by the idea of James witnessing Sirius' arrest and knowing that he was actually innocent. So I wouldn't be surprised if I was maybe a bit heavy-handed with that and/or didn't focus on his feelings about Harry enough. However, I personally think my explanation of James' feelings makes sense, and it seems like you do too :P

I don't know about "revolutionary", but I'm excited to know that you thought this was an original idea :)

A bunch of people have asked for a sequel to this, but I'm not currently planning one - sorry! D:

I'm glad you enjoyed reading this, and thank you very much for the lovely review - and for running such a fun game!

-Kayla


 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoyso let us create: if your dreams are far too real

17th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

Okay, so first off, I think the article was a GREAT!! way to start this! You've already given us SO much background information about the relationship between Albus and Scorpius and Powell, as well as all their success, their Hogwarts houses... there's SO much backstory packed into that article, and it's also extremely well-written! It's the perfect introduction!

And Aww! Poor Scorpius! :( I think you told us a lot about his characterization in this bit about him, and you've definitely made it easy to sympathize with him. But, I've got to admit that now I'm SUPER curious as to if Al will ever find out about his feelings... must.. read.. more! :P

And again, there's another article with a LOT of great backstory incorporated in it! I love how they came up with the band name, and your descriptions of the band members reactions and their clothes really helped me to picture the interview in my mind! I really do think that incorporating so much information in these interviews is just amazing, a perfect way to provide more information, especially considering their profession! :P

Oh wow. I loved reading about Scorpius' thoughts about being placed into Hufflepuff, and Seeing how Scorpius came to fall for Al just makes me feel even worse for him, the poor thing! I really, really hope something will work out between those two!

Awww! Now I'm even MORE sad for Scorpius! :( I can't imagine how hard it's got to be for him watching Al go out all the time, and you did an excellent job of conveying his frustration and pain. And it really says a lot that, even though he told himself he wouldn't go write a song about it, he did anyway.

I think Scorpius would do well to take Felicity's advice - but I also know that's a lot easier said than done! Still though, a part of me wonders if he DID start seeing someone, would that perhaps make AL jealous enough to realize there are some feelings there? Okay so maybe I'm just wishful thinking. :P

Wait, WHAT?! Alex is a GUY?!? OMG! I think I've probably got as many questions going through my mind as Scorpius does right now - does that mean he has a chance? Will it work out? Has Al secretly been harboring feelings for him all this time! I need answers!! *Scrolls*

*Gasps* He found the song!! Oooh!! ... YAYYY! OMG!!! ♥ *flails* Oh, I'm so happy things worked out for the two of them!! That ending is just beyond perfect!! Annnd now I'm going to need a sequel where they live happily ever after, please! :D :P

This is an amazing, wonderfully-written piece, dear! I love it!! Really, really Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChoices.: Choices are the hardest things to make.

14th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

So, the first thing that really caught my attention was your characterization of Draco. You've really gotten into his thoughts here, and use that to show us what kind of person he is, and I think it's brilliant. I love how you've put us in his mind right as he's about to make a difficult decision, and I also love how you're giving us a bit of background through his eyes, as though he were explaining the situation to us.

I think this would obviously be a VERY difficult decision for Draco to make in this situation, but I have to admit that a part of me also thought "Do you even have to ask yourself that question?" Obviously he loves Hermione very much, and he doesn't approve of or agree with the Death Eaters' beliefs, so I'm personally a little confused as to why he would even consider it - but at the same time we know how much of an influence Lucius had on Draco's life, so it's also pretty understandable. You did an EXCELLENT job of showing the internal struggle he's got going on here!

Oh my goodness! Reading about Lucius' threat makes me definitely understand more why Draco would consider this! He was very close to his mother and it'd be SO hard to never see or hear from her again!

But then Awww! Reading how much he loves Hermione is just so fluffy! It sounds like those two are perfect for each other! And *gasps* He's going to go ask her!! *Squees* Oh my goodness, I need a sequel to this that shows the big moment, please!!! ♥

I really hope that, somehow, Draco's able to keep his family safe and still have Hermione. There HAS to be a way!

This is a very well-written one-shot, dear! There are only a few words here, but they are SO powerful and full of emotion! It's incredible!

Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

Author's Response: OMG THANK YOU THANK YOU SO MUCH!

In re to the sequel, I may be writing it in April manually while Im on a camp without my laptop and the rest of my already started work.
Im not going to give away any of my plans for it though. You'll have to wait and see. :P

I have no way of describing how much this review is making me smile, laugh, grin and shout in glee.

Thank you so so much!

Caity
x


 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe First Christmas After The War: Chapter 1

14th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

So, the first thing I notice here is your description - it's amazing!! In the first few paragraphs your words allowed me to clearly picture the scene in my head - I loved your description of the snow and the holiday season, as well as peoples' reactions to both.

I was definitely not prepared for the feels at reading the line "the first Christmas without Fred". :( I love Christmas and snow, so I usually associate those things with positive, happy feelings, and then coming into the reality of what this Christmas means for the family was just heartbreaking. And then, seeing Ginny look to Harry for answers about what grief feels like was just... gah! The poor Weasleys!

But Awww! I love the fact that little Teddy was able to brighten things up for everyone, even if only a little! I think having a baby around tends to do that most of the time, so that was very realistic and I'm sure it was a very welcome temporary relief for the whole family!

And again, your description! I could easily picture Hermione sitting in Ron's lap, the exchange between Molly and Ron and Harry... you made it SO easy to see the change in mood here, and that's amazing! You're very gifted with writing descriptions and emotions!

And your last paragraph is SO powerful, really, and I completely agree with it. Bad things happen, we lose people, but the important thing is to remember to keep fighting and know what you're fighting for. That's just so deep and thought-provoking!

I was sure when I read about it being the first Christmas without Fred that I was going to cry by the end of this. I was pleasantly surprised - it's given me a sense of peace and hope for the Weasleys. It's amazing!

This was a very VERY well-written piece, the description is amazing, and it flowed wonderfully. And this is going in my favorites right now.

Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOne Last Victory: Doubt

14th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

I was immediately intrigued by the story summary and chapter summary, and I was SO curious to find out who I'd be reading about - and then when I saw it was Minerva I was pleasantly surprised! I haven't started reading yet but I'm definitely excited to see where this is going!

Okay, I'm not going to lie. I thought this was going to be about the battle of Hogwarts, and I was just SO ready to see Minerva's iron will against all the death eaters. And then I knew it was a little different when she mentioned seeing the gates differently - and then I read 'her cane' and I was just like AWW Minerva! :(

Waiting for her to die?! That's awful!! And I mean I love Neville and Hannah, but hearing their conversation from Minerva's point of view just makes me feel so angry with them! But, deep down I know that they're only saying what they think is best for her. So let me keep reading before I make any judgements. :P

okay, now I'm at the conversation with Albus and I just don't think I'm emotionally prepared for this. Albus, who's already gone, talking to Minerva about dying, when she seems to almost be gone, it's breaking my heart :(

Awww! She just wants to keep everyone safe! That is SO like Minerva and you've characterized her really well here!

And leave it to Albus to tell Minerva like it is, even though she doesn't want to hear it. :P He's definitely right though, and it broke my heart to hear how she thought she had failed during the battle - it wasn't her fault, but leave it to her to take on so much guilt and responsibility.

*Gasps* Her husband?! :O And now he's there? Aw!! A part of me feels like "Noo don't let her go" and another part of me feels like "She needs to rest, to be at peace" . :( But the fact that it took him saying "They're safe" for her to agree really says a lot.

This is a very well-written and emotional piece, lovely, it really pulled at my heartstrings! It flowed very well and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, either. Well done! I definitely enjoyed it! And congratulations again on winning pass the parcel!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

McGonagall is always a favorite to write. She's always so strict yet cares deeply about what she does. She cares deeply about her students and I think that is an admirable trait.

So when I saw the challenge, I immediately looked up old Renaissance masters. I came upon a few of Queen Elizabeth I. That's when the plunny hit. I immediately could picture Minerva in a similar situation: Both grew old in positions of power and tried to keep on going even if the people that they trusted worked against them to get someone else in their seats when they die.

So I wrote that. It made Minerva seem overtly cynical and cranky. I suppose that's what I was going for, but I wanted her to feel something. Something more of what Minerva would feel and not when Elizabeth would feel as much: regret.

And that's how it came into being. I was curious on what the mystery prize was for the pass the parcel. Now that I've found out, thank you for hosting a delightful game and may HPFF see the next 15 years!

Happy Writing!
Professor McGonagall


 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPut a Ring on It!: Christmas Bells were Rung

13th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! This seemed like a fun story to read and I'm in need of some humor in my life today :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

Okay, so the first thing on my mind is what in the WORLD is wrong with Sirius? I mean, I have a general idea, but I'm really curious to find out what's wrong specifically - great job with building curiosity here in the beginning!

And I think your characterization of Sirius is spot-on; the fact that the girls knew something was wrong because he wasn't being cocky or flirting definitely does a great job of showing that. I'm not really sure what he's going through, but it's got to be really embarrasing if he doesn't even want his friends around.

It's a good thing Remus found Sirius' trunk! And can I just say that Peter talking about a rat made me chuckle? :P But o.O He's bleeding? what in the world is wrong with him!?!

*Gasps* OH NO. I don't know whether to stare at the page in shock, throw up, or roll on the floor laughing. OMG. Just... NO!! LOL! I actually really like, and agree with, James' exclamation there! :P

This was certainly a very original and shocking piece - you got me!

Your description was great, and everything flowed very well, and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors either - well done! And congratulations again on winning Pass the Parcel!

Author's Response: Heya! What's this? My winnings from Pass the Parcel - what an unexpected surprise! And don't worry about reviewing as you read. I appreciate reading your raw (pun intended) reaction.

So yes, Sirius. He certainly has gotten himself in deep this time. When I started writing this tale, I knew the challenge would be twofold: how much to reveal without crossing the ToS line, and the bantering between the boys. Sirius certainly had a lot more to say regarding the Muggle girl; it was a struggle to rein him in to just describing the general movement of that tassel.

As another reader asked, can you imagine how Madam Pomfrey might react if Sirius ended up in the Hospital Wing with an infection there? I’m almost tempted to write a sequel...but perhaps it's best if I don't. Some things are better left to the imagination.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a lovely review!

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFirewhiskey and Dragonbreath Shots: Firewhiskey and Dragonbreath Shots

13th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

Okay, so first off, this story is addictive and it flows very well! I meant to read the first few paragraphs and then comment, and I made it halfway through before I even realized what was happening!

I was really curious as to why Lily was having such a rough day, but then when she mentioned Petunia it all started to come together. And Sirius was actually really nice to her there! I think needing to pay his own way after moving in with the Potters is a great explanation for why Sirius would be working there, so kudos on that! But eeek, it sounds like she's got some jealousy issues when it comes to James - I hope things are sorted out by the end! Honestly, I thought at the beginning this was going to be a Sirius/Lily story, but now I'm wondering if it's somehow going to become Lily/James! *Keeps reading*

Oooh, she's ogling James! Must.. read.. more! Okay, first of all, it kind of breaks my heart for Lily that James says he's over her. But, I imagine it must have gotten pretty frustrating for him trying to convince her all that time! And LOL! The 'James Henry Potter' line was HILARIOUS!

Awww, Lily protecting him is so sweet! And *gasps* GO LILY! haha! :P

Aw!!! OMG that line was so sweet!! (The 'I'm over you until I see you smile again' bit, in case you were wondering). Just aw!! ♥ And oh wow, those two certainly DID get caught up in the heat of the moment, didn't they?!

And oh no!!! Nooo Lily don't do that! Why would you go and tell James something like that!?!? GO to Hogsmeade with him already!! *Facepalm* Poor James, she's just broken his heart all over again! :( I mean, I understand where she's coming from, but still.

Anyway, this was a really, really addictive and well-written story, dear! Your description was amazing and it flowed wonderfully! I'm going to cross my fingers and hope for a sequel!! *Crosses fingers*

Great job, and again, congratulations on winning pass the parcel!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoyWilted Salad: Wilted Salad

6th March 2016:
Hello there! I'm here for the HPFF review-a-thon!

I've been meaning to stop by and review this ever since I read it for the Writer's Duel, and now, when it can help HPFF's fundraiser, seemed as good a time as any!

First off, I have to start out by saying that I normally really, really don't like Petunia, and it's not very often that you read many fics about her or from her point of view - so I think it's very original and amazing that you chose her as your main character.

And, as hard as it is for me to say this, you've actually made her very easy to relate to, and somewhat like-able here. It's just really easy to sympathize with her - she just wants to be included, she just wants to be special like Lily, and to think that she kept practically begging Dumbledore to give her another chance at showing her magic is just heartbreaking.

This almost makes me wish Petunia HAD been accepted to Hogwarts, and it really makes me want to read a story where she IS accepted... a follow-up to this, maybe?

I think your description here was absolutely incredible, and the emotions as well - you really connected with Petunia and helped us to get inside her head and understand a little about why she could have been SO bitter towards Lily and the entire wizarding world.

I really enjoyed reading this, I'm so glad this piece exists! Thank you SO much for participating in the Writer's duel! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoyExcerpt from the Deposition of Dolores Jane Umbridge: Dolores: Age Fifteen

6th March 2016:
Hello there! I'm here for the HPFF review-a-thon!

I've been meaning to stop by and review this ever since the Writer's Duel, and now, when it can help HPFF's fundraiser, seemed as good a time as any!

The first thing I remember about this story is just being completely creeped out (and I mean that in the best possible way!) Umbridge is probably my LEAST favorite character in the series, including Voldemort, and I don't think she's very often written about. So the fact that you were able to write about her and keep her in-character enough that I think I dislike her even MORE after reading this, is AMAZING.

I've often wondered what happened that made Dolores so.. terrible, and here, you've gone back and shown things that show that's she's even WORSE than we'd imagined. I just LOVE how in-character you've kept her here!

I'm really curious as to WHY she and her father would just so suddenly turn against her mother and brother, though! Honestly, I'm kind of hoping for another piece related to this one.. *Crosses fingers* :P

Anyway, this was brilliantly written, and I thoroughly enjoyed being creeped out by this! You did a fantastic job of really making me FEEL the emotions here! Thank you SO much for submitting this to the Writer's Duel!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review. It's canon that her father worked for the ministry in maintenance, and that he was married to a Muggle and they got divorced around when Dolores was fifteen. I don't address the reasons here, but I have another story that I've been working on for a while that would show exactly why.

Thanks for being creeped out. That's how Dolores should make you feel. She's and unrelenting psychopath. Thanks also for saying that I kept her IC. That's super-important to me.

Thanks for the review. I appreciate this and all reviews.


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoyElastic Heart: Elastic Heart

6th March 2016:
Hello there dear! I'm here for the HPFF review-a-thon!

I've been meaning to stop by and review this since I read it for the Writer's Duel, and I figured now, when it can help HPFF's fundraiser, was as good a time as any!

I really enjoyed this snapshot into young Narcissa's mind! I definitely got the feeling here that's she's kind of torn between the two extremes - she's not as 'gung-ho' over Voldemort as Bellatrix is, but she doesn't approve of Andromeda's choice of boyfriend, either. I think sisters tend to be that way - one of them a mix of the other two, so that was a very realistic portrayal and I really liked it!

I think that most people tend to lump Narcissa in with the 'bad' crowd, if that makes any sense, so it's really nice here to see you giving her a different set of thoughts and beliefs, and really exploring her character. The ability to get into her mindset so well just shows how truly talented you are!

All in all, this was a wonderful one-shot, dear, thank you so much for writing it and participating the Writer's Duel! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed it

 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBirthday Cupcakes: Birthday Cupcakes

6th March 2016:
Hello doll! I'm here for the HPFF review-a-thon!

I've been meaning to stop by and review this ever since reading it for the Writer's Duel, and I figured doing so when it can benefit the fundraiser was the perfect opportunity.

I've already told you this in a PM, but let me just say this again - I ADORE THIS TO PIECES. Seriously, you made me CRY with this, it's so sweet and sad!

I LOVE the idea of Lily always wanting to make cupcakes, but never getting the chance until she got to Hogwarts. And the idea of her and James bonding over that and letting it be their 'little secret' is so sweet and fluffy I just want to squish it! I'm not sure if you can squish an idea, but whatever. :P

And then, you had to go and break my heart, while also making me actually LIKE Petunia in the last chapter. I mean, it takes a lot to make Petunia of all people seem good, but you've done it and it's amazing! It just goes to show how fabulous of a writer you are!

You did an excellent job with the emotions here (obviously, since you had me and the other staff and even your MOM crying!), and it's SO well-written. Great job with this, and CONGRATULATIONS on winning the duel!! Thank you so much for participating in it, I'm SO glad this story exists and it's going in my favorites right now!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoywhen we were young: you sound like a song

6th March 2016:
Hi there! I'm here for the HPFF review-a-thon!

I've been meaning to stop by and review this ever since I read it for the Writer's Duel, and what better opportunity than now, when it can help HPFF out, right?

The first thing I remember about this is just the bittersweet feelings of love and loss between Rose and Scorpius. It's obvious that, at one point, those two loved each other VERY much, and in a way it kind of felt like they still do. I'm not going to lie, when Rose's HUSBAND stopped by I was just completely FLOORED. I think the fact that she even had to tell him "you have nothing to worry about" in the first place, kind of indicates that there definitely IS still something there!

I love the fact that you've made Scorpius an artist in this, and that he can "still remember the exact colors to mix to create Rose's hair color". That's just SO sweet... are you an artist as well?

I kind of hoped those two would somehow wind up back together by the end of this, but you did a great job of conveying this emotion that it's kind of "too late", if that makes any sense.

Anyway, your description in this, as well as the emotions you conveyed, was absolutely breathtaking! Really, REALLY well-written, dear! Thank you SO much for writing this, and for participating in the Writer's Duel!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for the review! I'm so happy you liked this. I loved participating in the Writer's Duel.

There is definitely a feeling of loss here. Rose and Scorpius had something real I think, but they were young and it didn't last. Yeah, telling her husband that he has nothing to worry about does seem a little suspicious! Haha, I kind of wanted to capture that a little bit. Nothing happened between Rose and Scorpius here, but there's some lingering feeling.

I love Scorpius as an artist. This story is in the same universe as my other artist!Scorpius story, "Rose Tinted Glass" which shows them in the aforementioned coastal region.

I'm not personally an artist, but I am an art historian. I just love writing about artists. Rose is a painter in my one shot 'Colors.'

I'm so glad that you liked this story! Thank you again for the lovely review!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBlind: Blind

21st February 2016:
Hello again! Reward review 2 of 2! And I must say, after everything of yours that I've read, especially that fantastic Blaise/OC I just finished, I am SO excited and I have high expectations for this!

And once again, your introduction did not disappoint. So many questions, so much information, just in the first few lines. I've got a feeling that this one's going to turn out to be different than I think it will though, for some reason.

I'm not sure which character is speaking right this moment, but I can feel their remorse and just how much they love this person they're talking about... but for some reason I just get the feeling it's going to be too late..

Now that I'm reading 'after he picked me up during a fight with Scorpius', I'm thinking this person's talking about Teddy, since he was on the characters list, and from this person's description of him, he sounds like such a great friend and great person... but there's really just a bittersweet tone to this, I'm definitely curious about what's going to happen.

And I find it very realistic that this person doesn't really know the moment when they fell in love with him. Emotions are never straightforward in real life and you do a great job of conveying that here!

Wow.. that moment with Scorpius was intense. I wonder what happened, if it's got anything to do with Teddy or not. *Keeps reading eagerly*

My heart started pounding pretty crazily when he was walking down the aisle, but the fact that it was HIM walking down the aisle only confirms my earlier suspicions... it's too late. :(

OH wow.. It's ROSE?! I don't know why, but I'd convinced myself it was Dom for some reason... I guess I should have known when it was Scorpius they were dating, but still, I'm shocked! I'm almost certain I've never read a fic about Rose loving Teddy before... this is unique and original and amazing... and also very sad! :(

I'm not really sure HOW to feel here.. I want to be happy for Teddy and Vic, but how can I be when Rose is so heartbroken? I've never even considered shipping these two before, but now I find myself really wishing things had turned out differently, that he knew how she felt and could somehow go back in time and change things.

And, I can only assume that Rose hurt Scorpius by leaving him because she realized she was in love with Teddy.. I mean I understand his pain, but it's not her fault! Feelings are confusing sometimes! :( I feel so sorry for Rose! Again, you did a fantastic job with emotions here!

This is another wonderfully well-written piece, I really just love your writing - you are SO talented! I'm so glad I've gotten the chance to read some of your work now!! Well done, dear! And Congratulations again on winning 'Guess the Present'!

 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFrom Afar: From Afar

21st February 2016:
Hello again, doll!

I'm sorry this is a little delayed, but I am here once again with two more reward reviews for you from the 'Guess the Present' thread! (My goodness you've got a good eye!) :D And again, I just want to say Congratulations, and thank you for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday!

I had actually thought about reviewing this the last time I was on your author's page, so I'm happy to be back now to get to read it! And I'm certainly looking forward to what I KNOW will be another amazing piece from you!

Once again, I am already struck by how captivating your introductions are! You've already pulled me in to another story, and you've started with so much suspense, while also providing us with loads of details about the setting and time frame in the series, in just a few words. I already have SO many questions! But I'll just have to keep reading to find out the answers, won't I?! :P

Oooh, who is this mystery Ravenclaw?! And why is she in the hospital wing writing so much? *Raises eyebrow* I really like that brief glance between the two of them - it makes me feel pretty confident that he's coming back to the hospital wing soon!

Aaah okay, so she's studying to become a Healer, maybe? That's really interesting! Honestly, I don't think I've ever read a fic where a student who was planning on becoming a healer was training/studying with Pomfrey, but it makes a lot of sense!

And WOW. I don't know HOW you've done it, but you've actually made me feel sympathy for Blaise. I mean, I think it's hard to relate to the Slytherins in the series sometimes, not because they're all horrible people or something, but just because so many of them fight against Harry in the war against Voldemort. But, seeing Blaise's thoughts here - how he's being pressured into joining the Death Eaters, how he's afraid - it really helps to remind me that these characters were just KIDS at the time this was going on - they had NO CLUE what they were doing or what they were getting into, and most of them didn't even have a choice as they were raised to think that way by their parents. Just that one little bit has caused me to rethink my feelings about LOTS of characters, not just Blaise, and that just goes to show how amazingly talented an author you are!

I LOVE the part where Blaise says that she makes him forget everything, that she's got a 'glow' - that's really a great job of showing us his feelings there and I really hope those two wind up together! And YAY, now we have a name! Hello Rachel! (Honestly, for some reason my mind was thinking 'could this be Luna?') :P And I laughed when he complained about Draco's whining!

Haha, it's funny how that works - you don't notice someone for a long time, even though they've been around for years, and then all of a sudden once you notice them for the first time, you can't stop seeing them! That's very accurate! :P And awww, I love seeing them studying together! I even feel relief FOR Blaise, since he finally has an escape from Death Eater and Voldemort talk. Once again, it just goes to show how talented you are! You are a genius with conveying emotions, dear!

Okay, so when I first started reading the '6th year' paragraph, I was terrified that something awful was going to happen to one of them during the war - I'm SO glad it didn't! But it was SO sad the way they were smiling at each other sadly from the opposing sides! :( But, I do really like the fact that, even though he was raised NOT to like people like her, he does and he can't deny it.

YAY for Blaise going back to school, despite what his mother thought he should do! And awww!! For a minute I thought she was mad and she wasn't going to speak to him, but I'm really happy that Blaise blurted out what he did! :P And yes, thank goodness for the weight being lifted off his shoulders! Oooh I really hope these two wind up together!

Poor Blaise!! What happened?!? Why in the world would his mother's husband hurt him, and what is wrong with his mother that she would allow that to happen to her son?!? Ooh I hope he's going to be okay! And strangely enough, I really feel a sense of pride in knowing how amazing a healer Rachel's become, too. You've made it SO easy to become invested in these characters!

Awww!! YAY YAY YAYYY!!! ♥ Finally, a kiss!!! *Squees* I LOVE THIS STORY! THIS IS GOING IN MY FAVORITES RIGHT NOW! I just LOVE how these two have really "had something" for SO many years - neither of them made a move, but they always sort of 'knew' - it's like they've been meant to be together for so long, and now they finally are! EEEk!! Oh, I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to see a continuation of this, maybe a wedding, perhaps?? *whistles* I mean, you've got me not only shipping Blachel, but you've also really made me grow to like Blaise in this, and THAT is saying something. I honestly think you've just replaced my headcanon of Blaise with this version. No really.

I am so, SO glad I read this! It's so wonderfully well-written, like all of your other work! I just love it to pieces! Well done!! And congratulations again! *Runs off squeeing about this story*

 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBonded For Life : Bonded For Life

21st February 2016:
Hi there! Jayde here, with the 2nd of your reward reviews for correctly guessing one of the presents in the "Guess the Present" thread! Congratulations, and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday!

I was going to read the Draco/Hermione one-shot I saw a little higher up on your author's page, but I noticed that that's the one-shot Dee had left your other reward review on, so I thought I'd go with this, instead. Plus, I'm really in the mood for some fluff, and this looked particularly fluffy! :D

I'll be reviewing as I read, so if I seem to jump from one topic to another kind of quickly, that's why!

Okay, so the first thing I'm just struck by as soon as I glance at the page is just awe of you for being able to complete the A-Z challenge! I seriously don't think I could pull that off, so HUGE props to you there!

You've got a VERY powerful introduction here. Just in the first paragraph you've already let us know we're at a wedding, and you've clued us in on SO many emotions!

And then, the "Hurry" line. GAH, I don't know what it is, but that got me right in the feels... he's so desperate for her to be his! It's so moving and fluffy and sweet! And aw, he's going to cry because she told him she loves him! Eeek!

I really like the part where you said "for years marrying her seemed like a wild fantasy" - because in James' case, I'm sure it was true! It took him SO long just to get her to agree to go out with him, I'm sure there must have been times when he thought it'd NEVER happen. Poor thing. :( But, there's no need to be sad - they're getting married so obviously it all worked out in the end. (Sadly, I think I said that last bit more for benefit than yours :P)

And WOW. I know that completing the A-Z part of this must have been a challenge, but the words you chose to use to fulfill that requirement are amazing and fit so well with the story!

And Awww! He's not even paying attention to the ceremony because he's staring at her! That's so sweet!!! ♥

I love the part where the other marauders lift James onto their shoulders.. though it's also a little bittersweet because we know what will happen in just a short time with Peter... :( (Don't think about that now Jayde, just enjoy the ceremony!) :P

Hahha! The X and Y sentences made me laugh! :D

This is just such a cute, fluffy little story and I love it to bits! You did a fantastic job with conveying a very powerful emotional moment in such few words! Your writing flowed very well and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, either - well done dear!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>