Reading Reviews From Member: MrsJaydeMalfoy
708 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Heartbreakers

15th September 2016:
YAY I get to be the first to review the new chapter!! ♥ :D

I just don't even know where to start with this one - it's so intense! I was so, SO sad to see the way Remus pushed Peter away, but at the same time I understand where he's coming from and it's got to be hard for his friends to understand that - yes, they can transform into animals, but they at least remember who they are. And, I felt really bad for Peter in that scene, but at the same time I feel like he should have been able to see through Remus' mask down to his fear... but it's also not Peter's fault... GAH! SO many emotions at the same time! :P

Then, seeing things that happened with James and everyone else as well was really sad, but I was happy that James got everyone to make up, at least for the time being.

And then, the fact that Remus worked so hard to be able to get Peter that gift was SO sweet, I was really hoping things would work out for them.. and then Peter had to go and get a boyfriend and complicate things even further. :P I'm really curious as to how he's going to act now that he's seen that Remus still cares!

This was another wonderful chapter, dear, I really love this story so much! I hope you update soon, I can't wait to see where things go from here!! Well done! ♥

Author's Response: Yes! You are the first!!! *squish*

Oh, thank you! I have to say, I was super nervous about this chapter for some reason... I'm so glad to hear you "enjoyed" it!

I know, it's sad... but it's just the way they are... Remus is too scared of hurting people, Peter does see through Remus' mask but he's too focused on his own feelings... I'm glad you could feel them both, though!

Yes, poor James, too! His cousin's loss, and finding himself alone dealing with it, was really hard for him. Yes, he got them to make up for now. That's what I love most about James, how much he values friendship!

Ah, glad you found that bit sweet! I know, it's all so complicated right now... We'll see together what will happen now...

Ah, thank you so, so much again for taking the time to stop by and leave such wonderful, squee-worthy reviews! You are the bestest and I love you so much!

Thank you again and snowball hug rolling to you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Lovers

15th September 2016:

It's been TOO long since I've been here to catch up reading this wonderful story, but I'm here now and there are TWO lovely chapters for me to read, so I hope this makes up for my tardiness!

First off, I just have to say that I missed this story so much! It's just such a fantastic story of friendship and mystery and romance and the tale of the two Black brothers... it's just great!

And I have to say, I just LOVE Remus' Dad! He is SO caring and supportive and understanding, not to mention hardworking - the world could really use more people like him! ♥

I thought the way Peter kept kind of huffing with jealous was really cute here. And THE KISS! *gasps* I definitely didn't see that coming, but I'm so happy it happened! I'm so glad Remus has someone (well, actually multiple someones) to remind him that he's NOT a monster and he DOES deserve to be loved/in love!

I think you did a great job showing the emotions here - Remus is obviously very confused about his feelings and you wrote that very clearly. And your characterization of each of the marauders is just fantastic!

Another wonderful chapter and I can't wait to see what you've got in store for me in the next one! Well done, lovely! *Squish*

Author's Response: CRYSTAL!!! (I still need to learn how to make hearts...)

Ah, you have nothing to apologize for! It was so lovely to find this incredibly sweet surprise review! Sorry for taking so long to answer...

Ah, thank you! I must admit, I'm loving this story too! I had no idea I would get so involved with it when I first had the idea... now I love my boys so much!!! And I'm so glad you are liking it so much!

Remus' parents are the best! John is a bit of a Hufflepuff, now that you mention it! :P I agree, the world could definitely use more people like him!

Ahahah! Poor Pete... I'm happy to hear you found him cute! And yes, Remus needs to be told that (a pity he still finds it so hard to believe, no matter how many people try to convince him...)

Good to know that Remus' emotions and confusion came across well! And that all Marauders felt in character!

Honestly, you're too flattering! Thank you so much! You are wonderful!

Tons of love, and see you again on the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Order of the Serpent: Whispers

15th September 2016:
OH wow.. things are already heating up quite a bit here just in the second chapter! These are definitely dark times the wizard world is facing! Honestly, now that I think about it, I don't think I've read too many stories about how the first war got started, and all the disappearances, the Muggle-born registration, so this is quite a unique perspective for me!

The thing that hit me most about this chapter was again, your ability to communicate those emotions. I was just reading along at the start of this chapter when Charlotte was mentioned, and just BAM!, Grief! It was almost palpable! You didn't spend a lot of time talking about it, but the words that you did use were so powerful that it really hit me with a sense of sadness. And, a little later on in the chapter, you hit me with the nervous feeling over everything going on with the war... You are very talented!! ♥

Can I just say that I LOVE that these are not two, but FOUR Slytherins who don't agree with Voldemort's ideals!? That's really a breath of fresh air, so original! And I love Russell and Hector, they're really funny! :P

This is another brilliant chapter and I'm really excited (and also slightly anxious) to see where things will go from here! I hope to see more of this soon!! ♥

Author's Response: Honestly, I'm glad you think that, because I kind of wondered if this story started too slow :P So that is good to hear! Dark times indeed, though. The first war would have started years before this, when they were in school, but it is a beginning in a way as this is the first year they're out of school and having to fully deal with the war outside of the safety of Hogwarts. I'm so glad you like the perspective!

omg, thank you so much for the comment about communicating emotions. I've never seen that as one of my strong points so that really means a lot to me that you think so! ♥ eep, thanks!

Yay, I'm so glad you love that! I have always been kind of offended on Slytherin House's behalf that they always get portrayed as evil/ jerks/ future Death Eaters, when it's a bit unrealistic for an entire house to be like that. Just because they're ambitious/determined doesn't mean they're BFF's with Voldemort, so yeah, I really wanted to explore different sides of Slytherin qualities here and especially the lives of people who weren't in the Order. Thank you, I'm glad you like the characters! They really are so close to my heart by this point and I love when people love them :D

My computer is recently repaired so I'll be working on the next chapter soon. Thank you sooo much for stopping by and reading and reviewing. You leave such wonderful reviews! ♥ You're the best.

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Order of the Serpent: Horizons

15th September 2016:
So you've got a new story, eh? Well I'll just have to stop by and read and review it then, won't I? :P And YAY, there are already two chapters!!

I'm really excited to start reading something that focuses on female friendship instead of romance - I really think this will fill a void, indeed! And you're off to a great start - I haven't TBAH (yet) but you've definitely given a great introduction into the characters and a bit of what's been going on in their lives.

You also did a really great job with conveying emotions, even here in the first chapter there's clear worry about Nathan, as well as just everyone in general based on what's going on with the war - you did an awesome job of conveying that.

I really like how odd a pair the girls are - you mentioned how one wants to run away while the other wants to fight, and I think best friends do tend to be a bit opposite in some ways like that, so it's very realistic and adds a whole other layer to their friendship.

Your description was great, also - I really liked how the conversation took place over the cooking, and I had to chuckle when the parsley started flying. :P

Anyway, this is a brilliant first chapter and I'm off to the next now! Well done, lovely, and Congratulations on starting a new story! I'm so excited for you! ♥

Author's Response: OMG JAYDE HI!!! ♥ eek, thank you, this was such a wonderful surprise!

there really are too few stories that focus on friendship, particularly between two girls, and I think that was a huge part of what motivated me to actually write this story down. TBAH is long and I'm not expecting most people to have read it, so this story should be able to stand on its own. I'm glad everything makes sense so far and the characters seem well introduced despite them being new to you.

The war is such a sad time in wizarding world history, and while I'd touched on it in other stories, it will feature pretty heavily in this one. I'm so glad to hear you thought the emotions in the chapter were well written!

Aw, I love that you appreciated the differences between the girls and how they seem realistic. I never really thought of it like that, about the dynamics of best-friendships, but what you say makes perfect sense.

Thank you, I'm so glad you liked the description! Haha, and yes parsley flew. It may be the middle of a war, but at the end of the day these are two teenage girls trying to figure out how to live in the real world, and life goes on, as they say.

Thanks SO much for stopping by and reviewing, it means so much to me. I'm thrilled that you like the story so far.

Thank you *hugs Jayde* ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoyElaborate Lives: The Siege

14th September 2016:
YAYYY, a new story to read!! :D I told you I'd stop by to read and review all of your new chapters soon! ♥

So, can we just talk about the description in the first two lines? Um.. OMG! 'The light spread across the lake like dye in fabric'. RENEE. Do you even realize how beautiful that is? YOU ARE SO TALENTED! *bows down*

And it's not just the description - you've already just completely pulled me in to another story with different characters, a different setting, but nevertheless, I'm already just HOOKED. There's something about your writing - I don't really even know how to describe it... it's like you pour your heart and soul into it and I can FEEL that when I read your work - each chapter and story has something that's just so uniquely YOU and it's incredible. ♥

This was already quite an intense first chapter, and you've done a great job of introducing us to the time period and quite a few of the characters - it's definitely an 'en medias res' kind of chapter and I really love that!

EXCELLENT job, and I can't wait to see where things go from here! Let me know when you update please!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBeyond Repair: Station Wagon

14th September 2016:
Oh my Goodness... it starts. *sighs sadly* :(

I really liked that we got to see Lily's emotions in this chapter - OBVIOUSLY she's going to be so conflicted about her emotions right now, from excited to sad to worried, so I think it was really great that you were able to convey all of that.

And then, Petunia. *sighs* I was happy to see that Dumbledore had responded to her, but in all honesty I really was wishing he'd have let her come.

Buuut, then seeing her reaction and the way she's treating Lily already beginning to deteriorate, made me lose a little bit of the sympathy I had for her. I think it's obvious that it's jealousy, and that she's only acting this way out of hurt and sadness, but that doesn't make it any more pleasant or fair for poor Lily. :( When she threw the ring I literally gasped.

I can't imagine things getting much better in their relationship from this point, but I am still looking forward to the next chapters, because this story is SO beautiful and well-written and original! Let me know when the next one's up and I'll do my best to review it more quickly!! ♥ Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBeyond Repair: Crossed Fingers

14th September 2016:
I'm here, I'm here!!! (And it's about time, too, isn't it?!?) I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get to this!

And GAH, I think this chapter just killed me with feels and cuteness. First off, it's so, so sad that Petunia feels so left out. It's really clear that she wants to go to Hogwarts SO much, and even though I know what the outcome will probably be, there's a little part of me that's really hoping Dumbledore could just respond and let her come to Hogwarts. :(

I LOVED how Petunia went to their Dad for advice, that's a typical little girl reaction so it was very realistic. And I really enjoyed that we got to see the thought process behind WHY Petunia wrote that letter to Dumbledore in the first place.

This was another FANTASTIC chapter, lovely, and if my eyes are to believed, you've already posted ANOTHER, so I'm off to that one now! ♥ Well done!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Holiday Spirit: Arrival at the Malfoys' Manor

9th August 2016:
Hahahaha!!! Oh my goodness, I just LOVE this, for SO MANY reasons!!

First off, I love the Father/Son "talk" between Draco and Scorpius. I've seen SO MANY stories where Draco and Scorpius don't get along well, and/or Draco acts just like Lucius, and, while I definitely think Draco could possibly still hold on to some old prejudices or struggle with his father's influence, I feel pretty confident that he'd strive to be VERY different with Scorpius, so it's great to see that here.

I also really liked seeing Draco and Hermione, still referring to each other by their surnames, but also getting along. I think things would have been pretty strained with them just after the war ended, but at this point they've had more than 20 years to deal with those issues - I'd like to think they WOULD be at this point in their communiations/relationship, it was very refreshing to see that here, and I could easily picture the two of them as adults saying things very similar to their dialogue here.

The green vs. blue vs. red houses conversation was hilarious also, and I loved seeing Astoria here, having learned a bit about her from "Unforgivable" - I like the fact that all of these stories are interconnected, with Astoria being in Ravenclaw, and then the mention of Brendon and him being "not a normal Slytherin" was awesome as well, you already know by now how much I adore Brendon!

I really like how, although Astoria is all for charming the doors and whatnot, Draco takes a more realistic approach to all of this - he knows that they will find away around those charms, or find a way to be alone together during the day, and he's not willing to pretend otherwise. He's a great dad, facing the situation head on and making Scorpius address his concerns, even though it is a bit horrifying for Scorpius.

The way Scorp kept putting his foot in his mouth was adorable, also - in fact this entire story was! This fits SO easily in with my headcanon!

Another fabulous story, dear! And again, Happy Hot Seat! Thank you So much for donating to HPFF! *squish*

 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Blue Ashwinder: The Remedy in the Book

9th August 2016:
Hi again! ♥

You know, there's something about your writing... I don't really know how to describe it, I can't think of the proper words... *googles a word for what I'm trying to say* Captivating! That's the closest I can find to what I'm trying to say. (Yes, I know, it's sad that I had to Google 'captivating'. *hides*) Anyway, what I mean by that is, whether you're writing about Scorpius or Astoria or any other character or situation, your words really pull me in to your story - you grab my interest from the first line and you maintain it the whole time, so much so that I'm eagerly scrolling down the page without ever letting my eyes leave the words. You make your readers feel as though we're really THERE with the character, and you effortlessly allow us to relate to your characters and really understand their thought processes. It's brilliant!

I remember seeing the "Current Events" challenge on the forums and thinking to myself that I'd never be able to turn a current event into a fic, so I just have to say that you've done an OUTSTANDING job doing that here - turning a MRSA home remedy into this story is just so imaginative and amazing - I am truly impressed and in awe of your skills!

Your characterization was amazing, particularly as you showed the contrasts between James and Scorpius, and also with Esme - you made it very easy to not like her! (And that's a GOOD thing, I promise! :P)

I have to admit, I'm really very excited to see where this story goes, what James' response is to Scorpius' question, and what sorts of adventures and inevitably trouble they get in to trying to come up with this remedy.

Well done, and I hope to see more of this soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoyUnforgivable: Imperio

9th August 2016:
Branwen! (hug)

Hi there lovely! I know it's not really appropriate to ask "how are you?" in a review, so I won't, but I at least want to let you know that I miss you and I hope you're doing well!

I'm here with a few belated hot seat reviews for you! I'm sorry they're a little delayed, but I couldn't just let your hot seat week come and go without leaving you some love! ♥

This is really a beautiful piece. I love the fact that you chose Astoria as the character here, I feel like SO little is known about her from Canon, so it's wonderful to see her really fleshed-out here, her characterization is amazing. You've made her her own person and really given her a voice, and made her very easy to relate to and understand.

I think the Greengrass family is typically associated with Pureblood Ideals, because of their blood status and the whole Slytherin thing, but it's great to see a different take on that here.

I also really love the fact that you're showing the repercussions of the war on her. She's not one of the trio, or even a main character, so the war wouldn't have affected her as much as some people, but, no matter how small a role they played in the war, EVERYONE at the school, EVERYONE in the wizard world would have been affected by it, even if only slightly, and I think this story does an excellent job of showing that.

And Brendan... what can I say about Brendan? I just LOVE him. I LOVE the fact that he's a Pureblood, and in Slytherin, but he's also brave and went back to Hogwarts and fought in the battle, and is willing to protect Astoria from their whole family, despite having his own family to worry about now - he's just breaking all of the traditional Slytherin stereotypes and it's AWESOME.

I was really curious as to why Astoria was so upset with Daphne, and when I read that paragraph I literally gasped - what Daphne did was just awful. Yes, Astoria was told to leave, but I highly doubt, based on her actions and words here, that Daphne cursed her for her protection.

I was happy to see that Astoria had someone she could run to, but I was really hoping she'd tell Brendan what had happened so that Daphne WOULD be sent to Azkaban, but at the same time I know that then her parents would have gotten involved and it could have potentially caused more problems than it solved, so, although I don't like it, I agree with Astoria that it's probably for the best. But I DON'T agree that she's weak, or that she should be afraid of what Brendan would think of her - none of this is her fault and she tried to do the right thing - even if she could have fought off the Imperius Curse, she was just a little girl, nobody could blame her for being afraid.

Anyway I'm afraid I'm rambling at this point, but this was incredible and I can't wait to read another of your stories! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBeyond Repair: Pocket Money

9th August 2016:
*Tackles* THERE'S A NEW CHAPTER OF THIS STORY! ♥ AND I GET TO BE THE FIRST TO REVIEW IT, TOO?!? *Pushes other readers to the side*

I am so happy that there's a new chapter of this!!! I'm pretty sure I was squeeing BEFORE I read it, and I'm squeeing even more now! I didn't realize just how much I had missed this story until I read this!

YOU. ARE. AN. INCREDIBLY. TALENTED. AUTHOR. I'm just going to put that out there right now before I even jump into talking about the chapter itself. You have a wonderful way of pulling readers into the chapter and making us feel like we're right there as it's happening, and it's amazing. Your descriptions and the way you explained Petunia's feelings about magic honestly really made me feel like I was seeing magic for the first time right along with her, and it's also left me feeling nostalgic to return to Diagon Alley as well. WELL DONE!

I loved, loved loved LOVEDDD the closeness between Petunia and Lily here. The way Lily promised to take Petunia to Hogwarts, at least once, and the way they both "oohed" and "aahed" together over everything they'd seen instead of Petunia being petty and jealous and making Lily cry, was just so sweet and I honestly really wish things could have always been that way between them. This chapter is honestly so sweet and cute and full of sisterly and family feels, it's hard not to smile when you read it.

Of course, my heart did feel quite broken for Petunia, especially in the Wand Shop scene. Yes, this particular day IS all about Lily, and that was further cemented when Petunia tried to get her own wand and couldn't. It's completely understandable why that would make Petunia feel upset, I'd be upset if I were in her shoes, also. I know that nobody is intentionally making her feel that way, and no one WANTS her to feel that way, but once again you've done an amazing job of creating sympathy and being able to relate to Petunia, who's someone it's very hard to relate to in the series. That just shows, even more, how amazing and talented you are!! *hearts;

I really liked how their mother and father tried to make Petunia feel included and important as well, with the "ice cream" talk and her mom giving her some spending money - it was so sweet to see, although it also kind of fills me with dread because I know that, even though her parents and Lily are trying, it's not going to be enough for Petunia, and that makes me sad. :(

I could go on and on about this chapter, honestly, and still not be able to express how much I love it, nor all of the reasons WHY I love it. It's just another of these absolutely adorable scenes with Lily and Petunia that I wish had been the norm for their relationship, and again you've given me sympathy and understanding for Petunia, which is a big deal!

Wonderful, WONDERFUL chapter, and I can't WAIT to read more!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Letters to No-One: The Letters to No-One

9th August 2016:
I'm back! And I certainly picked a good story to come back to!

THIS. This has given me so many different thoughts and emotions and questions.. it's just incredible!

Obviously it's heartbreaking, seeing Sirius' sadness, seeing him in isolation for something he didn't even do, seeing him wondering how it could have happened. There's also frustration because he's blaming himself, even though it wasn't his fault, although he doesn't know that yet.

Then there's curiosity - you've given some great clues as to who the letters are for, but you've also still left it open to interpretation, which I really love here.

There's definitely a shift in tone when Sirius comes back from isolation, and I couldn't stop myself from wondering what happened, why he was forced into isolation in the first place. He definitely seems defeated near the end, but in a way, that really makes me feel hopeful as well, because we know that eventually, he found out the truth and escaped, and was reunited with Remus and Harry.

I think you did an excellent job of getting into Sirius' head here and exploring some thoughts and feelings he would have had that I think can often be overlooked in fic, so really well done with that.

This has really got me thinking about what Sirius could have done in his time in Azkaban, and how could things have been different if he'd only been able to get a letter out to someone, made them believe his side of the confrontation with Peter. But, who knows? He very well may have tried writing a letter to someone, and received a "return to sender" message just like the one here. I think that's what I like the most about this story, is that it opens up SO many other possibilities!

I really enjoyed this, dear, you're incredibly talented!!

Well done, and thank you again for donating to HPFF! ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Skull Beneath the Skin: I. No-One Mourns the Wicked

7th August 2016:
This is another intriguing and intense chapter! The ending really shocked me - Posy has described her group as very tight-knit, so to hear that she's willing to become Tibs' rival says a LOT about her character, as well as her determination to do well in the ranks of the Death Eaters.

Tibs' mother's illness is really very, very strange, and must be very hard on herself and Tibs. Still though, reading about the muggle servants made me cringe and shudder.. I'd certainly hate to think what could happen to those poor muggles later on down the road..

And the bit with Mrs. Black was a nice touch, also. On the one hand, I just wanted to argue with her that Sirius was loved and admired by so many people, and that of course people would mourn him, and I'd also love to tell her how misguided all of her thoughts are on Sirius and blood purity - but on the other hand, in a way it was nice to see that she at least cares enough to cry about her son, if that makes any sense.

I'm very interested to see where things go from here, and particularly curious as to what Posy means with "war begins here". I hope to see an update soon!

well done!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Skull Beneath the Skin: Prologue

7th August 2016:
Hi there lovely! I hope you're doing well!

I'm here with a few belated Hot-Seat reviews for you! I'm sorry they're late, but I just wanted to show my appreciation for you donating to keep HPFF around! Thank you!

And now, on to your first review!

I think you've got an AMAZING first chapter here! You set a very clear, darker tone here with Posy's thoughts about being a Death Eater and about Aurelius' death, already there's a sense of foreboding blending in with your words and it's given me a Halloween-esque feeling - it's brilliant!

I really like how things are set up here, with the group of four friends who always stick together, sort of like a Death-Eater opposite of the Marauders. Since Sirius was mentioned here, I can't help but wonder if there's going to be some sort of standoff or showdown between the two sets of 'Marauders'.

Also, I think you've done a wonderful job of portraying 'sympathy for the devil' here, if that makes any sense. Death Eaters can sometimes be hard to relate to, for obvious reasons. But, you've really allowed us into Posy's mind and feelings, to the point that when she mourns all the losses the Death Eaters have had lately, I almost feel sorry for them. GREAT job with that!

Anyway, this is an intriguing chapter, and I'm really interested to see where this goes!

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsJaydeMalfoyGoodbye, James: Sirius

20th July 2016:
Bahahaha!! Oh my goodness, that was disgusting, but also the PERFECT sendoff for Sirius to give James! :P

I'll be honest, I was expecting this to be about the night that everything happened, but something you picked up on here was the fact that Sirius really didn't have TIME to grieve that night, he was too busy fighting and then getting put in Azkaban. Once again you've thought outside of the box here, and it makes complete sense that Sirius would stop by Godric's Hollow first - it's just my headcanon now.

This is a very sad chapter, but it's not really in Sirius' nature to be sad, so much as very angry and wanting revenge, and you showed that here beautifully. James would have wanted Sirius to have fun, and that's exactly what he did.

This is another fantastic piece, lovely, really.

Well done, and again, thank you SO much for donating to HPFF!

 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsJaydeMalfoyGoodbye, James: Lily

20th July 2016:
*Wipes eyes* Wrong one! I picked the wrong one to read! *Sobs more*

I'm kidding, of course, but this really was SO heartbreaking! When I saw the chapter title I was kind of thinking that Lily didn't really have a lot of time to say Goodbye to James, and honestly I was hoping these goodbyes were maybe like.. for the weekend or something, not when James died. :P

But, even though there wasn't a lot of time for Lily to say goodbye, you packed SO much into those few moments - this is SO powerful! You addressed the fact that Lily didn't have long to say goodbye and she couldn't really even focus on her goodbye because she was trying to protect Harry.

That's something I hadn't really even though much about before - I guess I just focused on "Lily ran upstairs trying to save Harry", not "Lily was trying to save Harry and had to hear her husband die". You just completely brought that whole other element to it, and it's so sad! :(

I thought the part about Lily really not even being able to stand because of her grief was an amazing touch.

Well done, and I'm off to the next chapter now, though I have to admit I'm even more afraid of reading Sirius' goodbye now... :(

 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsJaydeMalfoyActions Speak Louder than Words: Brewing: Rose POV

20th July 2016:

I just stopped by to leave a few reviews for your week on the Hot Seat, and I see that there's a new chapter of this that I haven't reviewed yet!! What is this madness?!? Oh well, whatever madness it is, there's no time like the present! We'll kill two birds with one stone - your first hot seat review from me and my insane need for more of your story! And, by the way, before I jump into my review, I just wanted to thank you for donating to keep HPFF around!!

And now, the review...

I KNEW IT! I KNEW THOSE WERE SCORPIUS' PARENTS EVER SINCE ROSE GOT ASSIGNED THE CASE FILE AND SHE KNEW SOMETHING WAS OFF! Call it intuition or what have you, but I knew it! And while I'm kind of bouncing around in my seat with excitement, I'm also heartbroken for Scorpius and really wary of his reaction, as well as curious and wary about what's going to come of all this. Clearly his parents were murdered, so WHY? And what kind of affect is this going to have on him? And who in the Ministry was in on this cover-up? And why? GAH, so many questions!!

As for Al, I'm SO happy that he's starting to heal, even though I know the process will be slow, at least he's able to smile a little and get enveloped in work again. And it was great seeing Rose being able to enjoy his recovering as well, because to me that's kind of an indication that she's healing, also.

The moment in the hall with Scorpius was so cute and sweet, if a bit heartbreaking. Scorpius has been through SO much with his parents, then Sels, and now he's just constantly afraid of losing Ro and the baby.. poor thing! I really hope this latest development doesn't push him over the edge.

And OH my goodness, only SIX WEEKS until the baby's born!? This is SO exciting, but also really nerve-wracking. Because I just KNOW Stannous is going to do something, either before the baby's born, or as it's being born.. something's going to happen and I'm terrified!

And, I really REALLY need another chapter now, but I'm also really afraid to read it. :P

Well done and MORE PLEASEEE!

And now I'm off to find another story of yours to get hooked on. :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOur Children's Work: The Order of The Phoenix

20th July 2016:
Nope, still not done! :P

I TOLD you I'm on a 'not frequently written-about characters' thing. :P

And this says it's going to be a short story, but there's only one chapter so far and um.. I'm going to need another chapter now please. XD Sorry, I'm not trying to be pushy or anything but I needz moar! (Even though I kind of feel like this fic could potentially/probably break my heart).

I love the way Alice is scolding Frank here, and how they're both determined to help with the Order, despite putting themselves in harm's way. Reading this honestly made me feel very nostalgic for Neville's parents, even though we really didn't get to see them in the series, this makes it feel like I know them very well, and that's saying something since it's only the first chapter!

I think my favorite part of the whole chapter though was the description of Augusta - she's ferocious! I kind of want to read a fic about her now, also! *Cough WRITE ONE cough* :P

This is another fantastic piece, and it's just been added to my 'Currently Reading' list - please update soon!

Well done, and thank you again for donating to HPFF!

Author's Response: Hi Jayde!

Thank you so much for dropping by to read this and for continuing on with the hotseat reviews. It means a lot to me. :)

This does follow along with cannon, so I can't say it will exactly have a happy arc in terms of Neville's parents, but Neville's story won't be entirely dark. So maybe bittersweet is the right word?

Glad you liked the characterizations. I thought Alice might be a stronger woman, sort of like Augusta...and that Frank might be more mellow.

*cough* I have a fic about Augusta called Determination where she's the first female auror ever. *cough*

I'm so glad you liked it and I hope to update fairly soon. (I'm the worst with WIPs, please don't hate me)


 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThief: Scones And Jam

20th July 2016:
Hi again! I hope you didn't think I was finished! :P

This was another of your stories that just jumped out at me. Romilda Vane is definitely NOT often written about, and currently I'm on a "little written about characters" thing, so I really wanted to see what you did with her here, and I was NOT disappointed!

We don't really get a lot about Romilda's character from the books, other than that's she's boy crazy and in love/lust with Harry. I think we're definitely given a negative impression of her in the books due to the whole 'Love Potion' incident, but what teenage girl DOESN'T have a crush she's crazy over, you know? :P Obviously there's more to Romilda and I love that you've explored that here.

Reading your descriptions of the starving students brought tears to my eyes, and also made me hate the Carrows even more.. if that were even possible. And then, seeing Romilda being so brave and facing the Cruciatus so that her friends could eat and so that the house elves wouldn't get into trouble completely changed my outlook on her as well - you've done a wonderful job of adding a whole other aspect to her personality and I really liked it!

Honestly I can't help wondering what's going to happen after this scene - I might need a sequel please! :D

Anyway, this was another excellent piece, well done!

Author's Response: Hi Jayde!

Thanks for dropping by to review this!

Definitely not. I wanted to try and push a bit outside of the stereotypical girl who tries to give Harry love potion and explore why she was a Gryffindor.

The starving students is actually something that was inspired by Traitorous Hearts by Penelope Inkwell. When I read it, I felt like it immediately became my head cannon as well.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Sorting Of Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore: Are you sure?

19th July 2016:
Hi there Kaitlin! I haven't talked to you in a while, I hope you're doing well! I'm here with a few slightly belated hot seat reviews for you! Thank you SO much for donating to keep HPFF alive, I can't tell you how much it's appreciated!

So, as soon as I saw this, I HAD to read it. I mean, come on, the sorting of Albus Dumbledore?! Everyone's debated for so long over which house he was sorted into, I couldn't resist! And I have to admit it was very hard to keep myself from scrolling down the page early to see which house he was sorted into! :P

I think Gryffindor is a good choice, and I like the reasoning here! Of course he had the traits of Ravenclaw and Slytherin to, but I think wanting to learn to be brave is quite brave of itself, if that makes any sense.

It was a little awkward seeing young Albus - I mean, he must have been a bit strange for his age, you know? For some reason I kept picturing him as an old man in this, even though he's only 11. :P

One thing that definitely caught my attention here was your description - especially of the Hogwarts ceiling changing colors! It was so beautifully described!

This was a wonderful piece and I really enjoyed it! Well done!

Author's Response: Hey Jayde!

It's been entirely too long. I miss seeing your lovely face/screen name around.

Thank you so much for following through with the hotseat reviews!

The reason I thought he might be a Gryffindor is because he talks about our actions defining us far more than our words. I think like you said, choosing to be brave is in essence bravery.

I have the same problem. I can't not picture him as an old man.

Description is always my favorite part!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoyMy First Date(s): My First Date(s)

19th July 2016:
I KNEW IT! I knew Katie liked Alicia all along, and that's why she was being so picky! :P

I was talking to Renee and told her I was leaving you some hot seat reviews, so she suggested this story and I'm very glad she did! This is cute and sweet and fluffy and just wonderful!

I think you had great transitions between all of the episodes, and I loved how each episode happened on their special couch, it's so sweet that they had a secret spot even before they were a couple!

Your descriptions of the dates were amazing and really I can't think of much else to say about this except that I loved it, it's so cute I just want to squish it!!

Well done, lovely, and thank you again for donating to HPFF! ♥

Author's Response: Hehe, I love it when people root for Katie and Alicia from the beginning!

I'm glad Renee suggested this story! It's really fun and sweet, which I think is a great way to leave off, especially after reading some of my heavier stories.

I'm incorporating this ship into my Polyverse, and have a few other stories planned for them, also including Oliver, Percy, and Audrey. At the moment I have a one shot kind of as a promo for that up on ao3, though I'm not sure if you read over there.

Thank you again for all the reviews! I hope you're doing well ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPretty Little Thing: Pretty Little Thing

19th July 2016:
Hi again! I'm back with another belated Hot Seat review!

I have to admit, this story broke my heart, made me want to cry, and also gave me a sense of hope all at the same time - you are wonderful with conveying the emotions, dear!

Once again, you've left me with a lot of questions about this relationship between Ro and Septima. However, you've given me enough information to know that I don't like Septima and I was rooting Ro on when she was standing up to her.

I really felt bad for Ro at the beginning and honestly thought Septima might have even been dead, but after the confrontation and seeing that Ro said all she saw was her, it really filled me with a sense of hope for her - she CAN overcome this and escape Septima's absence constantly harrassing her, and that's so amazing.

Though short, this piece is really powerful - you really know how to pack a punch in just a few words! Well done!

Author's Response: Haha, looking at the order you read my three stories, I find it amusing that you started with one that was totally hopeless, then one that shifted from hopeless to hope, and ended with the more positive My First Date(s). =) See, I do happy sometimes!

As you say all the feelings this story made you have I sit here going "Good..." perhaps tenting my fingers with an evil glint in my eye.

Or, more like, being glad that you enjoyed my story and left this gracious review =P


 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsJaydeMalfoy19226: 19226

19th July 2016:
SAM!! It's been too long, I hope you're doing well! I'm here with a few (belated) Hot Seat reviews for you! Thank you SO much for donating to help keep HPFF around! I can't tell you how much it's appreciated! And now, on to your first review!

This is just.. spooky and haunting. It's also a little confusing, but I'm pretty sure, given the plot, it was meant to be that way. :P

I have so many questions about what's going on here, even though I know what's going on.. if that makes any sense. It's very ambiguous, but also very clear cut at the same time, and that takes talent!

For example, when Ginny says the diary is under her bed, I'm wondering if that's what she's hallucinating, or did this actually happen in an alternate universe where the diary was never discovered?

Also, I really love the idea of there being that connection between Ginny and Tom - here you've made it seem like they're almost the same person and it's creepy!! (I mean that in the best possible way!)

I think the repetition is incredible, and so realistic and such a great descriptor of Ginny's situation - her life is on repeat, so it makes sense that the same words would get re-said or re-organized, but ultimately have the same meaning. SO AMAZING.

Anyway, this is a haunting and thought-provoking piece, I really enjoyed it! Well done!

Author's Response: Hey Jayde, ♥

Thank you very much for the reviews. No worries at all that they're belated! (I've been on a twitter hiatus, so didn't actually know when my hot seat week was =P)

I am really glad that you liked this. Yes, it's intended to be kind of disconcerting and confusing, but I'm glad you thought there was a good balance there.

In my idea of the timeline for this story, the events of CoS happened as they did in the book, but afterwards Ginny was unable to fully re-adapt to reality after the firm grip Tom has on her world and mind. So yes, thinking that the diary is underneath her bed is a hallucination, as her mind is trapped reliving the events of her first year.

Thank you for your feedback!


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Witch Hunt

1st July 2016:
*Gasps* My goodness, what an intense chapter! I really like that we've been able to go back and see what got everything started in the Introductory chapter, and I feel like some of my questions have been answered, but I've also got SO many more questions that make me just want to keep reading and finish all of this tonight! :P

I'm definitely anxious to know exactly how Alex's mom fits in with all of the Blacks, and what exactly it is that she did that put herself and Alex in so much danger!

I love the infusion of Cherokee heritage and words here, it's absolutely brilliant! As is the fact that Alex can turn into a wolf because of a bracelet from her stepfather, who it's obvious she loved very, very much.

I certainly have some mixed feelings about Alex's Mom - I mean, obviously she abandoned Alex so I don't like her for that, but then she comes back in the picture and sacrifices her own life to save Alex.. and I mean even Alex finds it hard to be mad at her after that. :(

This is wonderfully written - I can't wait to read more. For now I need to get some rest, but I'll try to get back and keep reading as soon as I can! You've definitely got me hooked!

Well done, and again, thank you So much for donating to HPFF! ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Welcome to My Life

30th June 2016:
I finally got around to reading this second chapter, and I'm SO glad I did! THIS. IS. INCREDIBLE! You've created your own separate wizarding world here, complete with school, village, scenery, legends, creatures, languages... GAH! This is just like reading "Philosopher's Stone" all over again!

Your description is absolutely amazing, I could easily picture the island and the school, as well as the Yunwi. And I love the subtle differences between the AMA and Hogwarts, like students being able to use computers, etc. And seeing the article about Harry being delusional really helped me to place this in time as far as what's going on in Harry's story right now as well.

She's a BLACK, so I am SO intrigued to find out who her Mom is!! Eekk!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>