Reading Reviews From Member: peanuts11
  
41 Reviews Found

Review #26, by peanuts11The Month I was a Hipster: Day 4

8th November 2012:
I love how this story doesn't have/conform to cliches. Millie and Berkley's friendship is so endearing. Despite her messups, however plentiful they are, he always looks out for Millie. I love the depiction of their friendship. it's so realistic because friends are always there for you, even when you come up with harebrained schemes. You are also so good at characterising all the characters we've encountered so far.

I also love the pace of the story, sometimes characters who are dealing with breakups seem way to preoccupied and hurt and then it seems to take up most of their lives and narrative, which can be quite annoying but with Millie, you can see that she has other things to deal with as well.

Love when she says "slaggy boyfriend thief that she is" - made me chuckle haha.

My only criticism is you need to update more haha

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story and that it didn't really have any cliches - that's something that I'm working really hard at. I love Millie and Berkley's friendship too and a lot of readers seem to as well which makes me happy. It's something that I'm really proud of.

And I'm so glad that you like what I've done with Millie's character and how she's dealing with the break-up. I mean, it's definitely something that's on the back of her mind and this whole hipster thing is her own way of distracting herself, but I didn't want it to define her. So thank you!

And I know I'm so bad at updating haha. Let's hope that 2013 is a better writing year for me :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'll try to update soon!

~Jess :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by peanuts11Matchmaker: The Force to be Reckoned With

8th November 2012:
really loving this story atm. I especially like how James and Hollie aren't together yet. Review soon, I feel like the storm is going to unleash some tumultuous emotions. great so far...

Author's Response: HELLO AGAIN! Thank you! And yes the storm is definitely a crucial part of the story emotions-wise. xD

 Report Review

Review #28, by peanuts11Matchmaker: The Laughing

6th November 2012:
I'm loving the characterisation of Eve, Hollie and Dom. You already see hints of their differing personalities. Although i really like the girls, I do get the sense that they are slightly immature for 17/18. That being said, I love their, especially Hollie's naivety because it makes me like her even more. I also like the slow progression of her friendship with James.

Author's Response: Hiya! Thank you so much that's really encouraging. :D I'm pleased you like them. I suppose that they are a little immature but remember that Hollie's actually only 16! And I want room for her to develop, so that's sort of why I made her see shallow/immature at first. :) Thank you for your lovely reviews!!
-LWG


 Report Review

Review #29, by peanuts11Matchmaker: The Collecting

6th November 2012:
I really like the potential of this story. I like the relationship between Dom, Eve and Hollie as it seems natural but i think you could do a little more to develop the characters a bit more. This is a fantastic first chapter, though.

I'm not sure about phones and electronics in Hogwarts because of all of the magic but it's nextgen so it's not completely out of place.

I do think it's a little bit cliche but it's mostly well written, which makes up for it. With the characterisation of Savannah, I think there needs to be something more redeeming about her character so that she doesn't appear to be a 2 dimensional character.

However, I think the plot is quite original.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a bunch for this review, I've really enjoyed reading it! :)

I've worked quite a lot on the characterisation of hollie, Dom and Eve actually because I really wanted there to be obvious character traits and differences between them. But it shows up a little better in later chapters!

The only real reason I wanted them to have phones was because it would make the 'matchmaking' operations a lot easier to co-ordinate and more professional even? Idk, maybe it wasn't a good idea, but like you said - it's more plausible seeing as this is 2017+ we're talking about.

Hmm... the dreaded cliches! They're hard to get around really because, well, they're everywhere!! Thanks for your feedback on it. You're right about Savannah, I'll work on that...

Thank you!
-LWG x


 Report Review

Review #30, by peanuts11Bubbles: Bath time

6th November 2012:
I really like how you wrote this story. I love the characterisation of Louis, including typical traits of a three year old, such as having a favourite sibling and being afraid of the dark.

I also liked how easy this was to read, it's not too heavy of a chapter and vocabulary is chosen really well, in a way that means you don't get bogged down with the text but your point gets across.

I also really like the portrayal of Fleur and her burst of french and the fact that Louis calls her "maman." I think this story is a adorable and written faultlessly.

Author's Response: Thank you for all the compliments! I was so worried Louis would be too baby-like. I'm glad you liked this :) And, of course, thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by peanuts11Catharsis: Diamonds and Rust

6th November 2012:
Aaah, I really loved this. I had this internal struggle whilst reading this, thinking i want them to get back together but they shouldn't because he reeally screwed up. What I'm trying to say is, you're a fantastic writer. You do need to reread in some places but I hope you write something longer soon.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I'm not working on it's longer version anytime soon but a few ideas have been hopping around!
I'll work on some errors when I start editing this again.
Thank you sooo much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by peanuts11With All Things: George, July 1999

2nd November 2012:
I've been looking for a story exactly like this for ages and yours is just perfection.
My first favourite!

Author's Response: I recognize you from the forums!! Thank you so much!! I'm flattered by your favorite and appreciate the review.

 Report Review

Review #33, by peanuts11Traditions: Seven Years

1st November 2012:
I really like this.
I'm not a usual James/Lily fan but I liked how simple and romantic this was.

You've introduced me to new genre and I've discovered a fantastic writer. Thank you.

peanuts11

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad you like it! I'm rather fond of it too. :p

Thank you so much for these kind compliments, they really put a smile on my face. :)

Thanks for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #34, by peanuts11Note to Self: Love is a feeling (so is pain)

21st August 2010:
Aw, i really like this story. You're so descriptive that i can almost feel her pain. I hope you update soon :)

Author's Response: I put a lot of though into my descriptions, I'm really glad you like them. Also, you're my first reviewer! WOOOHOOO!

 Report Review

Review #35, by peanuts11Ripped Apart: Somewhere in between

14th August 2010:
Original and interesting. I like the refreshing take from a Hufflepuff's POV. Can't wait to read more :D

Author's Response: Thank you :D

 Report Review

Review #36, by peanuts11Lost and Found: Relapse

13th August 2010:
I'm liking the direction of this story. I just wish that i could get a description of Evangeline so that i can get more of a feel for the story. I'll be looking out for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: yeah, i realized i have given little to no description of her so far (which is actually very out of character for my writing, because usually i describe things in unnecessary detail) so i will definitely include a better description of her in chapter three and other upcoming chapters as well. thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a review and i'm really glad you like it! :D
-M


 Report Review

Review #37, by peanuts11Pretty Boy: Silence

13th May 2010:
Update! Please :). I really, really like Leah and Pretty Boy. She's already taking shape as a 3 Dimensional character :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #38, by peanuts11Black Hart: Dangerous Threats

13th April 2010:
Awww, i love this story. Especially the part at the end. I almost choked up :p

Amazing!

Author's Response: Hey there peanuts11! It's great hearing from new reviewers!

I'm really glad you're enjoying the story so far, and it means a lot to me that you took the time to review, so thank you! And I know, the end was a bit on the depressing side but I'm thrilled that you're enjoying it! Thanks again, and the next chapter will hopefully be up by this weekend!


 Report Review

Review #39, by peanuts11Whatever You Major Girly LOSER!: What Happens On Mondays

17th February 2010:
I like this, its a fun read and i think you've a real idea about where you're going with it. So i'll look out for it. :)

Author's Response: Yeah it's pretty clear in my head. Thanks for reading

 Report Review

Review #40, by peanuts11Freak: A Pointless Interlude

30th December 2009:
My first review for this story. I absolutely love Frizz and Stud Muffin's rambling. And her joke about the carrots and the peas. I've been telling that joke to everyone. Classic. I like how this story doesn't have Frizz falling for Sirius and then getting pretty and him liking her at the start. Its got more depth because they are friends. Good job :D

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I have fun with the rambling- in fact, the chapter you see is about half of what it originally was. I have to cut out some of the ramblings, because they get so completely off-track and go on for a really, really long time. Despite the very, very clichéd plot, I've been trying to make this as original as possible. The Brussels Sprouts may have been going a little over the top, I admit. ;) But I'm glad you appreciate their friendship. Thank you, again!

 Report Review

Review #41, by peanuts11My Possibly Crazy Neighbours: Pool

30th December 2009:
I really like Melanie's quirky character, its consistent and really funny. This story is different from everyone elses and i really like that. Keep doing what you're doing. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, it's nice to hear that my story is different. And I'll certainly try! Thank you!
:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>