Reading Reviews From Member: lauraf68
  
392 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lauraf68Forward And Upward: A New Master

21st August 2013:
Very nice chapter 1. I liked the interactions between Harry & Dumbledore, especially the part regarding Severus and Fawkes. However, I'm concerned about Harry being able to work full time teaching AND finishing his 7th year.

I look forward how you bring Harry back to his friends, his surrogate family (Weasley's), and Ginny. Happy Writing!
-Lauraf68

 Report Review

Review #2, by lauraf68Returning Home: Unexpected Kindness

19th July 2013:
Very good chapter. Remus thought things through well. Was honest about his intentions and may have truly gained a friend. Now I look forward to what Privet Dr has to offer & how Remus will or will not react. :-)
Happy Writing! -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thank you for your support! The next chapter has gone in the queue so it should be up soon. I hope you enjoy it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by lauraf68Two Steps Forward: Comes the Future

15th July 2013:
Oh!!! {Sniff, sniff}. What a wonderful chapter. I love that Severus has finally followed his heart. And I'm so glad that he and Harry have started to sweep away the past.

I am concerned with Severus' statement that he and Harry wouldn't be friends. Not that I think they need to go paling around or anything, but it seems like they could have a 'working' friendship? Alas, that is probably another time and story? :-)

I've enjoyed your story so much I hope there is just a bit more? -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Sadly, this story is at an end. But I am writing more, the school year is yet to start. There is more Snape and Alara to come!

Thanks for the kind words, they mean the world to me.


 Report Review

Review #4, by lauraf68Two Steps Forward: Of Shakespeare and Werewolves

12th July 2013:
Dear Wildmoon,

I've caught up on the last two chapters and they are great!! I love how Alara is slowly pulling Severus out of himself. She really understands him now and knows not to react at his irascibility, which I think in turn is making Severus understand he can trust her.

I especially loved the part where Severus dropped his mind walls and 'read' Shakespeare to her-aww, my heart did a pitter-patter. :-)

Of course the ending of this chapter was wonderful and Alara was finally able to reel Severus into her arms. (He really is like a deep sea fish, have to give them a lot of line space and slowly reel them in.)

Happy Writing!! I'll be waiting and excited for the next chapter!! -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks! Only one more chapter to go in this story (It's very short compared to the first one, sorry about that).

If Snape's world hasn't turned on it's heels yet, it surely is about to!


 Report Review

Review #5, by lauraf68Passports Required: Passports Required

12th July 2013:
LUV IT!! -- "Fed the Powers that Be a load of crap?" "I'll tell you all about your desperate drug addiction later." -- was my favorite!!

-Lauraf68

Author's Response: Hehehehehe. Thanks! It was a blast to write, except for the time limit, LOL. So glad I could make you smile, though!

Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #6, by lauraf68Returning Home: An opportunity for Remus

10th July 2013:
Very nice chapter. I've always liked Remus and wondered how he stayed away all those 10+ years. Looking forward to reading your version of how he didn't. :-)
Happy Writing! Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked the chapter. I'm hoping to get the second chapter up within the next week :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Heart of the Hero: Chapter 18 - Shaman's Way

30th June 2013:
Dear Jeo,

It was so nice to hear about Draco. I'm so glad he has changed and coming to grips with his situation. I cried for him too, that he wouldn't be able to show Narcissa how her changed.

Oh Severus--I just do not understand your Severus yet. Is he only playing his part, or has decided to turn bad? Hmmm?.

Great read once agin. Onto the next chapter --Lauraf68

Author's Response: Draco is coming around. It will be more chapters than usual before we get back to him this time, but I left him in a positive place at the end of his last chapter, and that will continue in his next as his changes in character have some time to truly take hold.

And again about Severus... I'm not telling.

Looking forward to your reactions to the next couple of chapters, lots of things happening! As always, I appreciate your comments, thank you so very much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by lauraf68Harry Potter and the Heart of the Hero: The Party

29th June 2013:
Jeograph,
I'm sorry I haven't kept up with your story, somehow I had 'lost' it. Now that it is found I see that I have many chapters to catch up on. Which is VERY exciting.

Although well written the Voldemort part TOTALLY creeped me out!! I'm curious if your Snape will still be on the side of light and in the end still helping Harry?

The Blood Stone seems like a very creative protection, I wonder why it couldn't have protected James and Lily? I think it is great how all the Weasley's could strengthen the wards and even Hermione could add to it.

I loved all the reminiscing and stories told to Harry. Especially Remus, Moody, and of course Mrs. Weasley. Oh my, how touching (I cried for her having to give Harry to Hagrid). It does explain Ginny and Harry chemistry however. Now I just hope everyone who is leaving the manner stays safe!!

Great chapter as always, I will have to more catching up later. Going to a summer BBQ now. Happy Writing!!
-Lauraf68

Author's Response: I was beginning to wonder what happened to you. Glad to see you back! You do have some catching up to do, but I have every confidence you will get there quite rapidly.

I am actually pleased that the Voldy scene creeped you out a bit. It was meant too. He is after all a creepy guy.

As far as Snape goes... Well, I am not telling yet. You will just have to wait and see like everyone else.

The Blood stone is a specific protection for the Manor and to some extent all family members, but it only helps in as far as the protections that are cast upon it. James and Lily never lived in the Manor, as the result of the decisions made by Deyton and Philomena. It was a difficult and terrible decision to make but it had to be so in order to allow Harry's life to be what it had to be according to Philomena's visions. We will be getting further into Potter history in coming chapters. As well as into the extent of "relations" between to our present characters.

I had lots of fun writing all the tales of first meetings for Harry's party, and I very gratified that they have been so well recieved. As far as the saftey of t hose who departed at the end of the chapter... Well, you will soon find out just what happened.

Thank you so much, as always for all you comments! I hope you had a good BBQ, and stuffed yourself appropriately?


 Report Review

Review #9, by lauraf68United : Nothing

24th June 2013:
Wow, Hogworts gone?? Doesn't seem possible. I'm a bit confused as to how the founders are to find their heirs and rebuild, plus how they will also help Harry survive Salazar. I'm very Interested in reading about your explanations. Very creative, definitely different ideas. Keep up the good work. Happy Writing! -Laura

Author's Response: Hey, yes hogwarts gone! I struggled to write that. I have my way of getting them to help harry, it will come out in the next few chapters. I'm thrilled you like my story. Thanks for the review!
Ellennify


 Report Review

Review #10, by lauraf68In a Family Way: Epilogue

23rd June 2013:
Finally I've had a chance to catch up on HPFF reading and what do I find? You've finished re-posting this awesome story.
Poor Ginny, all that false labor and then ends up having Ron & Hermione deliver James.
I especially enjoyed the epilogue. I too have a father in law who is more of a father to me than my dad could be so I could relate to the emotional aspect of it all.
Thank you for an excellent reading experience. -Lauraf68

Author's Response: I appreciate you sticking with it until the end. Nothing too different in the reposting, just a few edits here and there. I'm glad you enjoyed the epilogue. I love showing how uniquely special the Weasley family is, not just among wizards, but among humans. Arthur and Molly took Harry as their own from the beginning, no questions asked, regardless of their financial situation. They'd have had him live at the Burrow if Dumbledore had allowed it. The details of JKR's work, and the threads she weaves that also allow us to pick them up and weave a bit more on our own, are pure genius. Thank you for going on Harry's little journey with me. I am so glad you liked it.~GW

 Report Review

Review #11, by lauraf68A Very Weasley Camping Trip: Sparks will Fly

21st June 2013:
Very nice! Love that George is healing and enjoying spending time with his family. -Lauraf68

 Report Review

Review #12, by lauraf68Two Steps Forward: One Step Forward

21st June 2013:
Oh---my---goodness!! Just caught up on your second story. It is amazing!!! I love it, especially this chapter. I'm also hoping Severus' 'nightmare' was really a glimpse of the future and the Hag was giving Sev a wake up call to start living his life! My goodness he's only about 38 yrs old and now has a chance to finally have a life. I hope he listens to his heart (Lily) and does.
Keep up the wonderful work!! Happy Writing! -Lauraf68

Author's Response: I'll give you a hint, it wasn't the hag! Though this may be a loose thread I don't tie up in the story, I just sort of realized this waking up this morning.

Glad you're enjoying it, the part in the graveyard was a real struggle, particularly using the word "apparition" because it means such different things between the wizarding world characters and the Muggle reader. That's not too confusing is it?


 Report Review

Review #13, by lauraf68Strung Together: The First Day

7th June 2013:
Chestnutpixie,
Very nice story you have started here. I'm very interested. I hope Harry comes around and allows them to help.
Looking forward to more, Happy Writing! -Lauraf68

 Report Review

Review #14, by lauraf68UnVeiled: The Camping Trip

4th June 2013:
Keep up the good work!! I read because its a good story so as long as you write then I will read!!

Oh my, what a cliffie!! Can't wait to see who is responsible and how Draco & Lucius react knowing its Death Eaters.
-Lauraf68

 Report Review

Review #15, by lauraf68In a Family Way: The Name Game

3rd June 2013:
The last two chapters were amazing! So glad Ron took charge in the chapter and not only cleared the air with Malfoy, but saved Harry from himself and most of all Ginny and the baby.

This chapter was very cute with the baby showing its displeasure. My favorite part was Ginny & Kreatcher's scene and how she decided on the baby's name. I know Harry agrees since you follow canon, but I look forward to reading of his reaction.

-Lauraf68

Author's Response: I love that you pick up on the scenes that matter the most to me.
Ron and Ginny's relationship may suffer from their tempers, but you know that bond is too strong for a few fights to shake. Ron is nothing if not loyal to those he loves, and he's always been good in a crisis.
I tested my girls' names the same way. My mother always said you could always tell how much trouble you were in by how many of your names were used. Real trouble calls for all three, and it needs to roll off the tongue easily when yelled in a fit of anger. :)
I'm so glad you are enjoying the story. The last few chapters are being set to post soon!
~GW


 Report Review

Review #16, by lauraf68A Very Weasley Camping Trip: The Strength in Bonds

3rd June 2013:
VERY NICE CHAPTER!!! I should have waited to comment on last chapter after I read this one---oh well, too late now. I think I understand Mrs Weasley's concerns. Good luck Hermione -- I hope Harry doesn't die of embarrassment. :-)

Keep up the good work, Happy Writing!! -Lauraf68

 Report Review

Review #17, by lauraf68A Very Weasley Camping Trip: Soccer and Snogging

3rd June 2013:
Cute chapter. Liked the bit with the soccer practice and games.
Bit confused why Molly was concerned that Harry & Ginny hadn't 'slept together' yet. In my opinion, I see Molly as being one who hoped they would wait until married (ie the boys/girls seperate tents).
Keep up the good work. Happy Writing. -Lauraf68

 Report Review

Review #18, by lauraf68Whatever It Takes: Whatever It Takes

28th May 2013:
Very nice! As usual, I only wish it was longer. :-)

I found a small typo issue, there is a duplicate sentence in the Rita paragraph. (Wand raised and red hair flying, Ginny was the picture of wrath.)

Thanks for the quick read, very enjoyable. -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks for catching my typos! Sometimes cut and paste is not my friend. I'm kind of the queen of one shots. It's when I have to develop the story into a longer tale that I struggle. I'm considering working on Enough on the side, and reposting when it is complete. I'm glad you enjoyed this. Thank you so much for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #19, by lauraf68In a Family Way: Welcome Home

23rd May 2013:
Oh my! I missed your last update so I had 2 chapters to read, I was so excited! The previous chapter was HILARIOUS!! Percy and Bill had Harry's mind spinning, so glad that Arthur was there to help bring his anxiety down. Then what Audrey and Fleur were saying had me nodding my head in agreement while saying "Don't get Ginny too worried" (like my I-Pad had anything to do about it).

This chapter was just wonderful too. I like how Harry just jumped in after Ginny burned dinner, smart guy!! But then the whole new house idea had me so happy for Ginny. Just think, all new and she didn't have to stress or wear herself out.
Then came the room Neville decorated and the portraits. My goodness, you had me laughing through my tears (gotta love that Sirius Black and never mind that Lily can put him in his place).

Wonderful job!! Found one tiny typo: "Their feel touched solid ground,". I'm sure you meant "Their feet".
Take Care. Thanks for a great read, looking forward to more. -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out the typo! Going to fix it now!
I really loved writing this last chapter. I loved giving Harry his own little moment, and letting Neville have a part in it. The portrait idea came to me when I read the end of Deathly Hallows and Harry discussed his choices with Prof. Dumbledore. I was pretty happy with how it turned out, so I'm excited that others are enjoying it, too! Thank you so much for reviewing! ~GW


 Report Review

Review #20, by lauraf68The Gift of Severus Snape: The Unexpected Gift

22nd May 2013:
Well, not the route I saw in my head coming up, but still wonderful and a whole other tangent than I could have ever imagined. I would never have guessed Severus to make such a mistake (I would call it a Freudian slip, subcontiously he may have wanted her to know??).

Great ending too! I love how Maggie helped Alara see with different eyes and how Alara apologized.

Excellent work, wonderful premise, great writing skills. 10/10! I can't wait for the next segment. Happy Writing! -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks! The next story is about half way there, but I need to take a couple of weeks away from it and finish another project first.

Thank you so much for your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #21, by lauraf68The Gift of Severus Snape: The Wand of Guenhwyvar

20th May 2013:
Wow, updates are fast, I'm finally caught up. Not suprised but sad to see Alara was in danger from a source who double crossed her due to a hatred they couldn't see past.

So glad Walter and Nigel are on her side even if they don't particularly like Severus, although they seem to have enough integrity to look past the issues that Severus brings (which is how it should be). Also glad the centaurs helped Severus out.

I like how you wrote the Alana and Ollivander scene at Hogwarts and his shop, but a little surprised Severus would be so stern with the boy. I guess he has a reputation to uphold (lol).

I'm glad that Severus finally open his mouth and offered to escort Alana. I take this as a beginning stage to him opening up to her (so to speak). At least he is being caring in his demeanor to her and not as cross anymore. But I fear she may get frustrated if he continues to be silent when she is wanting/needing interactions from him.

Good work!! 10/10!! Looking forward to more. Happy writing. -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Well, yeah, he is still Snape, though to his credit he only glares at the boy and doesn't rip him a new one. Tyler gets afraid of him pretty much by reputation only.
He's a character on a path of growth, he's not there yet. The next story in the trilogy softens him up quite a bit more, I don't think he opened up his eyes to what was going on until Nigel slapped him upside the head in Chapter 14.

Only one more chapter to go. Alara has made one *slight* miscalculation and that needs to be addressed.

Thanks for your thoughts!


 Report Review

Review #22, by lauraf68Ancient Relics: A conversation

15th May 2013:
Just found your story and read through all chapters posted before reviewing. Very engaging premise. I was completely in shock when you had Voldemort cast old magic and then have him disappear (I really want to know how he learned it). I thought for sure Harry would still defeat him. I felt the anguish Harry would have experienced.

This chapter was nice for tying up some loose ends, although I wonder if Lavender survived? After Merlin sat down and Fawkes showed up, I felt relieved. BUT, then When he introduced himself, I felt like he said too much. His comment about "family myth" and "wishful thinking" feels like a bold faced lie that may count against him later. Just feel like he could have left off the "wishful thinking".

Your writing style is fluid and very explanitory, which is nice because of the changes you have made. I give you a 9/10 on this chapter (mostly because of the one comment). However if I were to rate the piece as a whole it would be 10/10!!!

Happy Writing!! -Lauraf68

 Report Review

Review #23, by lauraf68The Elder Wand: Dumbledore's Spell Book

14th May 2013:
Thanks for expanding on Chapter 1 of your WIP. This is very helpful backstory. Although, I get the feeling there could be even more when it comes to Harry & Ginny's relationship, Fred's funeral and the Weasley's getting on with life. Am I safe to assume it will come within that storyline?

Keep up the good work, Happy Writing!!-Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, but unfortunately that's all there is for this story. Sorry to disappoint, but having never lost a family member and never been to a funeral, I really don't feel comfortable writing in great depth about how they would all be feeling at that point it time.
As for Harry & Ginny's relationship, personally I don't imagine that it would have been anything more than them picking up where they left off pretty much and dealing with all the losses, and I can't find myself interested in writing about that relationship.


 Report Review

Review #24, by lauraf68The Gift of Severus Snape: The Falcon and the Falconer

13th May 2013:
Dear Wildmoon,

I just recently found your story and have been trying to catch up to the end chapter (nice to have such timely updates). Overall I give you a 9.99/10 (.01 mark off for tiny bit too much angst from time to time). But of course that's just me, I bet some people love that. :-)

I'm really enjoying your OC, Alana. Her backstory is so creative and yet flows well and very believable. I love her interactions you have crafted with the other Hogwartians (students included). I think it is nice to see a Ravenclaw not so full of themselves. But of course she is like Hermione and could have fit into Gryffindor too.

At first your Snape was so 'Snarky' I thought for sure it would get him no where but friendless. Then he was attacked so many times I thought for sure he would be killed or maimed.

Now I hope that the Centaurs will help save Alara's life and not claim they cannot because of some prophesy mumbo jumbo.

I have enjoyed your writing technique. So smooth and well thought out. There are times I think you are going one direction with an idea and out of nowhere it changes. All the while still making sense and staying true to character.

I honestly look forward to more and hope Alana will recover well. While seems unusual for them to be together after harboring such negative feeling, I think in time they could build a loving relationship.

Keep up the good work and Happy Writing!!! - Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thanks for your thoughts! I find them interesting- when I first started putting this story together I was afraid of neutering our dear Snape, it's good to know that I may have overshot my runway a little bit and not allowed him to grow out of "Professor Snark" quickly enough. I appreciate the critique!

This is intended as part of a trilogy, Book two is nearly done. I will definately consider your words as I edit.

Alara was indeed a hat-stall for me, having a lot of Gryffindor qualities. I felt that Snape needs someone brave enough to take him on and smart enough to figure out how to do it. But ultimately, his anti-Gryffindor prejudices wouldn't allow him to kind of 'let her in' so to speak. In her backstory that I don't have published, what drove her to be top of her class is the fear that she didn't actually belong in Ravenclaw, it was only her wand that got her in. So she's pretty much always feeling like she has something to prove. Of course, she actually made top of her class, and nearly top of her year, so she must have belonged there.


 Report Review

Review #25, by lauraf68The Journey to Australia: Home Again

8th May 2013:
Very nice chapter. So glad everything worked out for the Granger's getting back to England without any residual memory deficits. Of course it's also wonderful each set of parents are glad to see the two of them together and happy.
Keep up the good work. Happy Writing. -Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! It's such a good feeling knowing that some people like my story! To be completely honest though, I could never have had it end any other way, bringing her family back together seemed really important to me. I hope the ending wasn't too cheesy, trying to decide where and how to finish a story is easily what I classify as my weakest spot.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>