Reading Reviews From Member: Essie
  
89 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EssieStagger: Do I Dare

27th May 2013:
I love your writing! Piper is a very interesting character, I shouldn't like her and yet I do. I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know, Piper's so annoyingly like-able even though you know you shouldn't because she's so mean. Thank you! x

 Report Review

Review #2, by EssieAcanthus: Spectrum

24th April 2013:
Hi, this is a really promising start, I am looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Ah first review on the story! I'm so glad that you're looking forward to reading more, and I hope it lives up to your expectations :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #3, by EssieOff the Rails: twenty-eight

9th November 2012:
The title is starting to make sense now! An excellent chapter, well done. I sympathise with James but he needs to get his act together!

Author's Response: Yeah, we're definitely getting to the crux of James' story now. He has a lot of learning to do, and this is where it begins. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by EssieClash: Sugarcoat

28th August 2012:
Whoaah this is so hectic! I can only hope that things look up soon (although I don't see how!) Another fabulous chapter, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #5, by EssieThe Wrinkles of the Road: A Weasley Family Saturday

24th August 2012:
So glad to see there's a sequel to curiosity! Keep them coming :)

Author's Response: Will do. :) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by EssieStaying Strong: Nothing but Trouble

14th June 2012:
Hi Rosie, I've really enjoyed reading this! It's very realistic with well drawn characters. Good work, I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad I did a good job with characterization, and I'm very happy that you're enjoying the story! :D

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #7, by EssieChasing Madness: This Cannot be Happening

3rd May 2012:
I really enjoyed this chapter! Good on Rose for being a feminist.. hopefully she snaps out of her foul mood soon!

Author's Response: She gets cheery in soon enough, don't worry (:

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by EssieCanis Major: Was It Something I Said?

11th April 2012:
Loved this chapter, Henry sounds absolutely gorgeous and was that a hint of foreshadowing I spotted there with the 'classic racer' magazine? hmm!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks so much :) Henry is wonderful, I love him wayy too much, haha.

In regards to the 'Classic Racer, Classic Mechanics'... spoilers. :P Can't give anything away now, can I? :P

Thanks for the review, i'll try and get the next chapter up soon,
- Adele :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by EssieIf Wishes Were Fishes: Secrets, Snogs, and Silly Wishes

24th February 2012:
ah so much drama! I loved it! p.s. now that you mention it, I can totally picture Celia as the really lovely 'other woman' that you really want to hate, but can't - just like Lavinia!

Author's Response: haha I know! I was just watching the show and all of a sudden I was like "OMG! It's Celia!" haha. Anyways, glad you liked it :) I'll have more up soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by EssieSouthern Cross: Homesick

1st January 2012:
I loved the reference to the drink driving ad, it's insanely popular in Australia! "puzzle time!" I have watched it so many times. I really enjoyed this chapter, having gone on a 6 week exchange myself I could relate to what poor Adelaide was feeling like!

Author's Response: It's popular in Australia? Seriously? Wow. Dude. -mind blown- I've been using it in Japan to showcase Kiwi culture :P This chapter is lifted straight out of personal experience (I'm overseas at the moment, so I may as well put my homesickness to good use - I haven't been singing in any toilets though:P) Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by EssieGirls Always Win: In which we meet Scorpius Malfoy

27th December 2011:
I loved how natural the beginning of Rose and Scorpius' friendship was! And Amelie is a very interesting character, she seems willing to go to great lengths to get what she wants! Looking forward to the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by EssieOlive Wood: A Guide to Falling in Love: On Painful Confrontations, Long Lost Relatives and Thin Ice

17th December 2011:
I love how the character of Olive has really come to life in this chapter, she is very complex and her sense of self-understanding (is that a word?) really grows here. I do hope things look up for her!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm glad you think that she has come to life. This is one of my more serious chapters where she really takes a good long look at herself and thinks about what she did. It was rather enjoyable to write, if you know what I mean. I hope things look up for her too, but I think she's always going to feel a little guilty. Thank you so much for reviewing (:

 Report Review

Review #13, by EssieSo, Listen...: May 1998

21st November 2011:
This made me cry! I knew this chapter was coming and it still broke my heart - really beautifully written, well done.

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

(and sorry that you cried ^ ^ )


 Report Review

Review #14, by EssieFrozen: Everybody Hurts

16th November 2011:
I thought I'd read this because I really liked 'Off the Rails', I really enjoyed it, you capture the heartbreak of war really well and the characters are all really three-dimensional. I can't believe this story only has 3 reviews! Are you going to keep going with this story, I do hope you are!

Author's Response: AH, you have NO IDEA how much this review means to me! I've been working on this story on and off for about a year now, and I love it so much and am adamant I'm gonna finish it. At the mo I'm concentrating on Off the Rails but I plan on spending some serious time on this at some point so it will be finished! I'm so so glad you like it too, thank you ever so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by EssieStarving Artists: Metaphor Wrapping Paper

15th September 2011:
I can't believe it's the end already! I remember when I stumbled upon this story when it was chapter 1 and then it got really popular and I felt like people do when they have a favourite obscure indie song and suddenly it starts playing on all the radio stations. But I am happy that this story has been so well received because it was amazingly well-written, so original and Lucy and Scorpius' relationship was so refreshingly cliche-free.. and I really enjoyed all the existentialism. can't wait for the sequel! x

Author's Response: Haha, I know what you mean! Such an appropriate comparison for a fic like this ;) Really glad you enjoyed it & thank you for reviewing - I have no idea when the sequel will be up (I'm swamped with UCAS and coursework right now, eek) but hopefully sometime this side of the year 3000! Haha, thanks again ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by EssieThe Seer: Foul Play

13th August 2011:
Another beautiful chapter as always, the characters are so very realistic and there was a great balance between action and emotion , well done!

 Report Review

Review #17, by EssieThe sporadic suffering and tiresome torments of Albus Potter: The one with the tattoo.

4th June 2011:
I absolutely LOVED this, I have been cackling to myself the whole time. Al's voice is marvellous, I love his confusion and hate/love for James. You've allowed James and Al's relationship to be the focus on the story which has worked really well! good work!

Author's Response: Ahaha, James and Al's brother realtionship has always been the focus for this story for me. Thanks for the lovely review my dear :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by EssieLeaping Obstacles: The Snitch

5th May 2011:
Very sweet ending, although because I know what's going to happen I can't help but feel very sad as well!

Author's Response: Thanks so very much for your sweet and totally unexpected review! :D Know what's going to happen? Hmm. . .

Hope to see you around!


 Report Review

Review #19, by EssieOff-Kilter: sour as

30th March 2011:
Such an amazing story, very very clever: I was guessing right to the end what the heck was going on with Corinna and Oliver.. it was very does she/doesn't she. It was refreshingly free of fluff and sugar coated sentimentality so I did feel that it was realistic.. teenagers are cynical, paranoid and angsty beings and I thought this story captured that perfectly! well done!

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I am glad that it remained unpredictable to the very end. Yes, it was a do they/don't they relationship, the dynamics of which I adore; and on that note, I also like seeing one resolved nicely (stretching it out too long makes it aggravating more than intriguing). Fluff and sentimentality are two words I very much dislike, especially in the context of this story, and realism is something I adore. As a cynical, paranoid being myself, I have to agree. Thank you so much for this lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by EssieLove Goddesses, Overprotective Brothers, and James Potter: Abusive Best Friends, Fred Weasley, and Disaster

27th January 2011:
One of the funniest fanfics I've read in a long time, Fred and Louis are hilarious as is Aphrodite! And James sounds fit as - Keep it up!!

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you liked it! Thanks so much! XD

 Report Review

Review #21, by EssieMemento: II

27th November 2010:
A very interesting story, Astoria sounds very intriguing and I am loving Draco's confusion over Pansy! It's a nice change to see Draco as money-strapped and working in a bookshop and not in a swanky job, you manage to make it work very well and not out of character at all!

Author's Response: Astoria's a bit of an enigma, yeah :') I've written the whole 'Draco-as-a-peasant' idea quite a lot, but this is the first time I tried to write it without making him so OOC as I've done before, so I'm very glad to hear that you liked his characterisation (: Thanks very much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by EssieUndecided: The Sting of love

9th November 2010:
Chris Judd for minister for magic? I never thought I'd see that happen! Haha that made me laugh. It always makes me happy to see aussie references :)
I love this story, poor Roma, I wish she could just choose already & be put out of all her misery! pressure to choose a career and cannot for the

Author's Response: lmao... We have another Aussie! :D
lol well, what can I say? I'm a lifetime blues supporter XD
I'm glad you like the story :)
haha... if it would be so easy for her to choose I wouldn't have a story :P
Thanks for the read and review
xo Adriana


 Report Review

Review #23, by EssieOn the Brink of Insanity: Hollie Malone's Guide to Stalking Hufflepuffs

24th October 2010:
the stalking bit was very funny & It was really quite sneaky of Roger and Hollie to ditch the other two! Why is Jade in such a snit? Interesting! looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Jade's a cynic. I'm working on teaching her a lesson ;) Thanks for reading&reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by EssieStarving Artists: The Benefits of a Flashback

15th October 2010:
This made me laugh out loud. Many times. I love this depiction of art school, I can tell you're writing from real experience because there is something resigned and disparaging there, but in an affectionate way... sort of like how you'd regard a wayward child - did that make sense? Anyway Lucy is a wonderful character, lost and not really sure what the heck is going on with her life but trying to make some sense out of everything. The dialogue about the profoundness of ducks was absolutely hilarious. I have also spent many a English class discussing the symbolism of chicken salt and silos!

Author's Response: Real experience? You bet. Maybe not art school in itself, but the utterly overwhelming snobbery of the general art world and the perils of not getting GCSE art coursework done on time. Plus the experience of only really being good at photography, which, according to many people 'isn't really art at all'. Oh, such philistines.

I do sound quite bitter, don't I? Well. Art is art. A wayward child - haha! That's a good description. A wayward child smeared in paint spouting profound sayings and trying to be an intellectual. Quoting Nietzsche. Falling up stairs and looking eternally awkward. Avoided by all of the other kids on the playground.

Yeah that's art ;D

I would say Lucy is quite lost (: I'm not quite sure she knows what she's got herself in to. Ducks and drawing men in the nude and such. It's not just you and Lucy who've done that; I spent most of a lunchtime in the art office with my friends and the art teachers talking about...well, various things, but the main point of discussion was how, if my art teacher was really rich, he'd become a stalker. Yeah, these sorts of people teach me (:

Thank you very much for your review! Resigned and disparaging - oh dear, suddenly I feel there's a serious element I must live up to! Oh well, I'm very glad you liked it (:


 Report Review

Review #25, by EssieSeek Me, I Dare You: First Day Back

28th September 2010:
I'd love to see a sequel, one with Toby would be very interesting but it might be hard to make him likeable!
Nova's illness is very mysterious, is it going to be explained later on?
update soon!

Author's Response: Yes everything will be explained and thanks so much for your review! When I'm finished with this story I'll work on a sequel about Toby. Who says he needs to be likeable? =P There is a lot going on right now and I'm going to be unbelievably busy for the next couple months but when things get slower and a bit less busy I'll get right back to writing and shoot out a few chapters.

Thank you so much for the review! Hope to hear from you soon =] Check back on the story in a little while.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>