Reading Reviews From Member: adluvshp
  
1,793 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshpAn Ode for W. H.: Taurus

29th March 2015:
Hey! Here for the Slytherin Hot Seat Review =)

This was an amazing little story! Firstly, I loved how poetry was the theme. I absolutely love poetry so this made my day xD You paid great attention to little details and provided such awesome descriptions, they were just the strongest point of the narrative for me. I adore such details and descriptions so I really enjoyed that, especially the bit in the beginning.

Your characterisation of Taurus was also very interesting and I enjoyed reading the narration from her point of view. All the backstory and stuff was nicely placed and gave me a good insight into her life. The writing style was flawless and the smoothness of the narrative was perfection. Honestly, I don't have anything else to say except great job!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshpChai, Carrots, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

23rd March 2015:
Hey! Here for review tag xD

I am so excited I get to go another step further in the Chai series! Ah I can't believe they made 'Gaajar ka halwa' -- it's my favourite dessert of all time and now I'm hungry for it xP

This entire one-shot was to sweet. I really loved it. It was awesome that it was from Neville's point of view. You portrayed him really well and he was adorable. His feelings for Hannah came across smoothly and I was smiling throughout reading this. The entire set up was awesome and then the ending was just too cute with the Valentine proposal.

All in all, another one of your amazing stories that I loved. Great descriptions, perfect dialogue, smooth narrative, flawless grammar and amazing plot. Great job!

10/10
Cheers
Aditi

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshpCarina: Carina

23rd March 2015:
Hey! Here for our review swap.

Wow, this was incredible. I rarely read Tom Riddle stories because I'm afraid writers won't do him justice but you got his teenage/lover self spot on here. It's hard imagining him in a relationship but if he could be a lover, I think he'd be one like you described here. So manipulative, obsessed and controlling. His "love" for Carina was indeed very interesting to read and I liked how you showed us glimpses into their relationship through your fragmented writing style.

I did not feel much for Carina here, but the letter was certainly powerful. The story of the bloodbath was also described powerfully and left me feeling pity. What she did in the end made sense and I was interested to see that Tom was affected by her death so much, and yet he could not comprehend how she didn't agree with him.

Your descriptions throughout were beautiful and painted some amazing imagery. The narrative flowed smoothly and I enjoyed the over all atmosphere. You did a great job writing this and I really liked it.

Good work!

-AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so sorry that I couldn't reply sooner, I was on a self-imposed ban from the laptop because it was preventing me from getting any work done. After this, I'll head over to your page to fulfill my end of the deal :)

Trust me, the apprehension is one that I know well. I used to be reluctant to read anything featuring Tom as a main character and writing him is honestly quite terrifying. It's a relief that people think he's not OOC and that his controlling nature is shown in his 'love' properly. Anything with Tom is bound to be rather...twisted.

I find that quite a few people don't feel anything for Carina. Personally, I pity her a lot, but I suppose that's because I created her. She's so empty after the bloodbath that I guess there's just not much to connect with. I'm glad that the description of the bloodbath evoked pity though because it was a scene that gave me a lot of trouble :)

Thank you for reading and for the review swap :)

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshpBunny Slippers: The Longbottom Family

23rd March 2015:
Hey! Here for our review swap.

My goodness, this was so heart wrenching. You did a great job of describing the scene of Alice and Frank's torture. The action was spot on, the characterisation of the two was superb and the descriptions were captivating. I was completely hooked from start to end. I could feel Alice's pain and Frank's worry. When Benjamin died, oh dear. And then the ending bit was the most powerful and the saddest.

Over all, I think you did an amazing job with this. I would have been at a loss when given the prompt bunny slippers and murder but you nailed it. How it went from being a normal family evening to a terrible death and torture was so horrible yet very plausible. I am all sad now, poor Alice and Frank, poor Benjamin and poor little Neville =(

Great writing! I'm glad I got a chance to read this. It really tugged at my heartstrings.

-AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hello there!

Although I don't want to make people upset, I'm happy to hear that this story was heart wrenching. I always found the Longbottom's to be particularly tragic and I really wanted to fill in the gaps in their story.

The prompt honestly did throw me for quite a bit. I had been thinking about writing a Longbottom story, but when I got the murder and bunny slippers prompt I didn't know how I could make it work, since Frank and Alice don't actually die. After a few weeks of mulling it over, Benjamin was created.

Thank you so much for reading this and leaving such a lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshpForget Me Not: bloom and wither

23rd March 2015:
Hey! Here for our review swap.

So, I looked at a couple of stories on your author's page and I realised I've reviewed all that I clicked on.
But, will you see this - I just realised I never reviewed this story even though I read it and announced it first prize in the Color and Emotion challenge. So, I thought what better opportunity than now to do so =)

This was absolutely, stunningly beautiful. It broke my heart into a million pieces and yet I loved it so much. Your portrayal of Scorpius is just amazing. I love how he stays loyal to Rose throughout, how much he loves her and does what she asks of him despite everything she put him through. The way her blue eyes were significant throughout was also very powerful.

Your writing style was impeccable. The fragmented style with the deeply descriptive phrases was beautiful and worked nicely with the theme. Speaking of, the plot was just so tragic but so well-crafted. The ending was especially heartbreaking with Scorpius having no memory of Rose and yet something stirring in his mind on seeing her body.

Your characterisation of Rose was also very strong. I could see why Scorpius was so fascinated with her, why he loved her and at the same time I disliked her in a way. The scene when she finally dies was also moving and reading the violence that happened and the son's death was just very well-written and hit me hard.

All in all, this was a very, very good one-shot. I really loved it. It truly deserved the first place in the challenge. You've done amazingly. Great work!

10/10
-AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshpmisguided ghosts: veni.

23rd March 2015:
Hey! Here for our review swap!

I think this is a very interesting story! I love your plot idea of Rose wanting to do something about treating mental illnesses in the wizarding world. After the war, it is especially very important. The idea of Ron wasting away like this is quite sad but quite plausible at the same time. It makes sense that Rose would think about this after seeing this problem at home.

I like your portrayal of Rose and Albus, as well as the brief introduction of her friends. This all seems a very normal atmosphere and I like that it is not over-the-top. Your inclusion of LGBT characters and relationships is also done nicely.

There was a small part that I did not understand - the suicide case thing. I think it'd be nice to add a brief backstory to that the way you did with the Parkinson case (mentioning that she tried to kidnap Al). If you provided some kind of backstory about who Willow was and what James had to do with it (I didn't get that conversation), it'd make a little more sense. Maybe it's just me who didn't understand though, so if you think it's okay, you can ignore this little bit of CC =)

Apart from that, I really liked reading this. It is a strong start to your story and I loved the note it ended on, with Rose deciding to do something about the mental health illness thing herself. Your descriptions are good and your narrative is smooth. I didn't see any grammar errors either.

Good job =)

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshpBlood Red Petals: Chapter One

23rd March 2015:
Hey! Here for Slytherin Review Tag!

My goodness, what have you turned poor Scorpius into? *gasp* A killer! No. Can I just hug him and tell him to give up this bitterness?

Okay coming to coherency, I LOVED this. What a brilliantly written story. Scorpius is the perfect 'villain', seething in rage and bitterness and rejection. Your characterisation is perfect. It almost makes me scared of him. The idea of him killing red-heads impulsively because Rose refused him. wow. *shudder*

It is interesting how this Scorpius differs so much from my Scorpius - the one who is happy in Rose's happiness. And yet your Scorpius really wants Rose, hates the rejection and is, honestly, a little crazy. It's insane but I love it xD

Your descriptions were marvellous too. Enough to be haunting yet not over-the-top to be graphic. You had just the right amount of detail. The way you told the story was also awesome - I understood where Scorpius was coming from and everything very easily in this short piece. The ending was the best bit of course, and it kinda left me wondering whether he's going to kill Rose if she rejects him again or whether he is going to woo her and this time she'll fall for him. You saying this is a prequel in your author's note has intrigued me so I'm going to check out the sequel to this story soon xD

All in all, amazing writing as usual. Loved it!!

10/10
Cheers
Angie

 Report Review

Review #8, by adluvshpPrincess: Princess

22nd March 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap.

Wow, this was just beautiful. It almost gave me chills. You captured the effects of War beautifully here and I love how you chose Astoria as your main character here. It was interesting that she stayed back in the war to fight and she saw her friend die and she still got nightmares. The hand shaking was very plausible too. The comparison between her childhood - being a princess - and the broken girl at the end was beautifully done.

All in all, I really liked reading this. The descriptions were brilliant and the emotion was seeping through the narrative wonderfully. It really made me feel for Astoria. Good job!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshpHarry Potter and the Broomstick Makers: Eye Healer in a Muggle Town

22nd March 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap.

This was an interesting chapter. I liked how you set up the meeting between Dudley and Harry. The whole visit to the eye-healer thing was also quite fascinating. I liked how you portrayed Dudley. The ending was also very sweet. Good work all in all =)

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Wow you read my story so fast. Thank you so much. I didn't have confidence how readers would feel about visiting eye-healer thing and the ending, so your review gave me some encouragement. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by adluvshpA Terrible Mistake: A Terrible Mistake

22nd March 2015:
Review tag!

Wow, this was very, very interesting. You've always read and reviewed my stories so it's awesome to read your writing and discover it's pretty fantastic in itself.

You captured Lucius' POV brilliantly. I loved how this gave a different perspective in his thoughts - his regrets of joining Voldemort and him not wanting to be 'strong'. The descriptions were superb as well and your writing style reflected the manner in which I'd expect Lucius to think/talk.

All in all, this made for a brilliant read and I was awed by it. Great job!

10/10
Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Thanks Aditi.
I'm happy to know you enjoyed it


 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshpA Black Christmas: A Black Christmas

22nd March 2015:
Hey! Here for review tag!

This was a fun little story. I definitely enjoyed reading it. It makes for a good AU (as of course I can't see the Blacks associating with Andromeda and Ted since they hated muggleborns). I liked your portrayal of Andromeda and Ted, and of Sirius and Regulus. Certain parts of this made me grin.
For CC, I'd say checking over your spelling again as there were a few mistakes, and perhaps adding some more description to balance out the dialogue.
Apart from that, this was quite good and a nice read =)

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much, I'm very happy to hear that you found this amusing and that you liked how I portrayed the characters!
I wouldn't call it AU... Sure, it is very unlikeable that Andromeda would decide out of the blue to go see the family for Christmas... And if that could ever happened, Orion would've probably just shut the door on her face...
Still, I liked to imagine Orion a bit more tolerant than her wife and brother-in-law and since they are Blacks and do take etiquette very seriously, I suppose this could have happened (even if, as I already said, I agree with you that it is highly unlikeable).
Really? No one pointed out typos before... I'll check, thanks for signaling it.
As for description... Yeah, that was common feeling... In my defence, I have to say that this was my very first story and I did put more effort in description in the following ones. I probably might consider a revision, but I'm scared I would end up ruining the story, so I prefer to just leave it this way.
Thank you so much again for the review!
With love,
Chiara.


 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshpLuna : Encounter

16th March 2015:
Hey! Here for Slytherin Hot Seat! Sorry for the delay!

I loved this! You captured little Luna's personality so wonderfully. Your descriptions were very strong and the way her thoughts flowed was beautiful. I could definitely imagine Luna feeling this way. The second person narrative doesn't usually work well in these kind of stories, but here, in my opinion you nailed it. I was absolutely into the story and went with the flow.

The plot idea of Luna encountering thestrals for the first time, her fascination and her affection with them, it was all too sweet and very nicely done. As I said before, you got Luna's thought process wonderfully - you didn't overdo it and you got it just right. It made for a very nice read over all and I'm glad I got a chance to read it! Good job =)

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshpThe Department of Spectral Affairs: Darkness

2nd March 2015:
Hey! Here for the Slytherin Review Exchange. I'm sorry it took me so long!

Wow, this is very, very interesting. I love what I've read of Not Normal so far and I'm glad you decided to give Regulus his own little story here. The idea of afterlife is very interesting and not one I've seen explored properly in fan fiction before. This is a very promising plot and already you've built the setting wonderfully.

Your descriptions were just superb. The drowning part was really surreal and the endless falling was almost haunting. You captured the darkness of it very nicely. The ending bit, with the switch to first person point of view, was smoothly done and intrigues me that I want to read further to know what's going to happen next.

Great job all in all! Excited to read more of this story =)

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #14, by adluvshpSymphony: Chapter Two

21st February 2015:
Hello! Here for your Slytherin Hot Seat Review!

I had been very intrigued when I'd read the first chapter of this story so I'm glad I got a chance to come back for more. Your descriptions were just amazing - so haunting, so beautifully written and so powerful. I still think the narrator is death, or related to death, considering the tone and the words they use.

The idea of that little boy riding all alone to warn the villages just broke my heart. It's so very sad, and in times of war like this, quite believable. Certain bits stood out as strong imagery to me too, such as the part about all the people being corpses.

I am really enjoying your writing style - it's short, snappy and very interesting. I'm curious to know more about the narrator and to see what happens next so I'm going to favourite this and try and read the rest when I get the time.

Great story! 10/10

-AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshpHouse of Cards: Joker

11th February 2015:
Hey! I finally got the chance to come back to this story to read the final chapter. All I have to say is, Wow.

I don't know why you feel you're 'bad' at things that were involved in this story but to me, this was absolutely brilliant. I loved your writing, your plot, your descriptions and the characterisations. You captured the Black family in a very interesting manner and your portrayal of Sirius was spot on. This final chapter definitely wrapped things up nicely - with the Black family disowning Sirius and Alphard dying. There're still many questions unanswered though and I guess your sequel might tackle them so i will have to check that out some time.

All in all, I felt this was a beautiful story and I had an amazing time reading it. Great job!

10/10
-AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hi there, Aditi! Thank you so much for following this story all the way to the end - it means to much to see people sticking with this! Thank you! :)

Gah, thank you so much! This is the first chaptered story I ever finished - well, the first proper novel/novella I ever finished - so it means a lot to me, so hearing you say that is so lovely! I definitely feel like I've grown with this story and learned things - like how to plot :P - and I'm so glad you liked Sirius! One of the main drives for this story was portraying Sirius in a different light, so I'm glad you liked it! Yeah, I didn't want a 'perfect' conclusion for this, tbh, because it wouldn't feel quite right to me, but I might end up taking another look at it - who knows? But there'll definitely be questions answered in the sequel - I'm planning on it! ;)

Thank you so so much for this review, and for following this - I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshpPainful Bliss: Prologue: Beginnings

10th February 2015:
Hey!

Wow, this was very interesting! Lately, I've found myself drawn to Draco/Astoria stories and as soon as I saw the summary of this, I knew I had to read it! You did a great job characterising Draco. The way you expressed his emotions was amazing and I was really in his head while reading this which was superb.

The pain, the horror of the war, the coldness - I could feel it seeping out of the narrative and it was greatly done. I also liked how there was emphasis on Astoria's 'plain'-ness, how she wasn't extraordinarily beautiful and that Draco was not enchanted by her in first glance - there was so much of normality between them, that I loved that. Astoria is not some character seeking out to reform him, she is just who she is and just being that person intrigues Draco and he feels somewhat happy.

So yeah, I really love the realistic angle to this. Your descriptions and writing is very interesting too with its somewhat fragmented style. I am kinda hooked to the story and would love to read more so I'm favouriting this! I can't wait to see where the plot is headed and what layers do we unravel about this pair.

Great job! 10/10

-AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for reading my little story. I'm extremely drawn to Draco/Astoria but I can't seem to find any stories about them anymore. If you have any recommendations that would be great!

This story is mainly about emotions. It's not about scenery or what's around them but what's going on inside of them instead. Half of it deals with Draco while the other half deals with Astoria and then it sort of overlaps where you get the both of them. It's hard to explain but once you read it I think you'll understand.

I didn't want to make her this beauty queen. Sure she's a beautiful woman. She has the money to take great care to her appearance but the first time Draco sees her it isn't love or lust at first sight. She's average to him and I think that's how it is for a lot of us when we go on dates or start dating someone. Sure it starts to get magical as you learn more about them and start to feel deeper towards them but sometimes at first you're like, "This person is okay."

Thanks so much! I hope you enjoy the next chapter. There's a time jump so things are VERY different. Again, thanks for such a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by adluvshpWhere My Demons Hide: There is nowhere we can hide

10th February 2015:
Oh my, this was so haunting. Another one of your amazing pieces. I totally, entirely loved it! The way you fit in the song was too good, and your descriptions were just perfect.

Ah Blaise makes me shiver. I can visualise him having an affair with Ginny - and then him killing her. Ghosh it's crazy but it's to be expected in your stories xP

It was sad in a way, how Ginny wanted to turn him into a better person and yet in the end he remained the same, or got worse. The little details about their affair was also very interesting. The most haunting and captivating thing about this piece was the imagery though - you did great work with that.

I really liked it! Superb job! 10/10

--AditiDraco95

P.S. I know what kind of tragic stories you like but alas I couldn't exactly meet your request when I wrote "Rose" - it is not tragic in the way you'd like it to be, but I hope it is still okay! If you want me to write another, I can give it another go (with the right time and inspiration). But really, this story just made me feel a lot 'ashamed' about mine xP GREAT WORK!

Author's Response: Angie, your review made me SO happy!
I wasn't expecting it at all and then you were so sweet to give me a 10/10! *faints*

I'm glad you liked it! I've been a little nervous about this story, especially since it's so vague (compared to other stories, this doesn't get too deep into the story plot) and I was afraid it might ruin the flow/story.

Also, you literally BROKE my heart with 'Rose'!! You met my request in any way possible.

Thank you so much for your review!
- Avi


 Report Review

Review #18, by adluvshpJust One Memory: Just One Memory

10th February 2015:
Oh my god this makes me want to cry. Poor little Teddy - the whole idea of Teddy wanting just one little memory of his parents is so, so sad. It reminds me of little Harry in a way. *sobs and squishes Teddy*

I love the way you have written the relationship between Andromeda and Teddy. It is just so sweet. I also think your portrayal of an eleven year old Teddy is quite well-written! His 'desperation' of knowing "what I really look like" is adorable in so many ways. I can actually visualise something like this happening!

In the ending bit, when that memory of Remus and Tonks comes back to Teddy and he says I love you, ghosh I just wanted to cry again. This is just too heartbreaking and at the same it kinda brought a smile to my face too. You really wrote this so nicely!

I loved it! Great work =) Cheers!

--AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #19, by adluvshpGetting Out Alive: Buttered Tea (An Example of Distraction)

10th February 2015:
Hello Mae! Here for Hot Seat. I'm going to try and return the favour of your amazing numerous reviews but I don't know how many I can get done between all this stressful uni work. I'll try my best though!

So, this is an awesome start to your story! I love Jay already. Her life is very interesting and the way you portray her is also very engaging.

Hudson seems nice as well, though there might be something between him and Jay? I feel like it's brewing xD

By the way, buttered tea sounds crazy! I don't even know how you came up with that haha.

I am a little sad seeing Jay's relationship with her Mum though. I hope it gets better - I mean the way Jay says that her mum only cries because of not having husbands instead of missing her is just really depressing. And it kinda reflects the complex relationship the two have. I wonder if you'll touch on that in the later chapters.

I love the way you have introduced us the characters in the first chapter here, and all these letters and stuff are really sweet. It gives a nice insight and backstory and I'm curious about many little details too - especially about Jay's dad.

I'd say this is a brilliant start and some awesome writing! Great job!

--AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #20, by adluvshpThe Man With the Twisted Face: Prologue

8th February 2015:
Hello! I'm here for the review swap from my status (sorry for the delay)!

This seems like a very interesting story! I love the way you have set the premise here. The narrative is intriguing and the writing style, like that of storytelling, is super engaging. I could visualise the scenes in front of my eyes as I read your descriptions.

I also enjoyed the idea of The Revolution. It's quite interesting to see all this from the point of view of Dolohov's parents too - I have barely ever thought about them. I also feel for the poor kid - at such a young age he is forced to listen to such talks and expected to play a role in the revolution. No wonder he is not interested - he was only a kid after all! I also like how you've already created fear of Voldemort, and fear of what his fathers turns into when talking about him, in young Antonin's mind. It is very telling to see this rooted in his mind from a young age. It is also sad that his parents are contemplating disowning him because he wants to get to know Muggleborns before 'judging' him. Children are really so innocent.

The last line of this chapter is also very interesting. He met a girl - does this girl push him to the dark side or does she strengthen his resolve against the Revolution? It makes me wonder, and it is a good way to end a prologue and develop interest to carry on reading the rest of the story.

All in all, this was an awesome chapter and I'm quite excited to knowing what happens next. Please do keep writing =)

Cheers!
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #21, by adluvshpChai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Zebras, and a Surprise

5th February 2015:
Hey! Here for review tag!

Yay I am so glad I got a chance to come back for the sequel. Ghosh, Hannah and Neville are just adorable! Just friends, really? *raises eyebrow and smirks* Come on, have a little kiss already xP

I really loved this! Once again, your portrayal of Neville and Hannah was brilliant. It was interesting how Hannah's healer-y instincts kicked in when she saw Neville and I liked her thought process there. The way she just let Neville talk it out was also very sweet. And the little flirtations, the way she blushed, it was so adorable and I can't wait for these two to get together (hope that happens in the next story)!

The prompt you got would have totally baffled me but I'm so impressed with the way you incorporated it. A zebra cake sounds awesome, haha.

All in all, another brilliant one shot and I had an awesome time reading this. Once again, you've made hungry and smile xP Great writing, brilliant descriptions, smooth flow and error-free - recipe for a perfect one shot which you've mastered!

10/10
Cheers
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Heya!

Hannah and Neville really are adorable. Haha, "just friends" indeed. Everyone knows what's going on, guys.

I like that! Healer-y instincts. That's the way I think of them in my head! She has so much experience with this that she just knows. She's very good at letting people work through it themselves and just supporting them. And yes, they still manage to flirt! Neville has far more game than he realises.

I was the same when I saw it. I was like "whaa...?" It's a bit difficult to casually introduce a zebra into one's story, but I tried my best. Maybe if they'd gone to the zoo...

Thanks so much for the lovely review. And I aim to make people hungry with this series. It's all about the food :P


 Report Review

Review #22, by adluvshpChai, Samosas, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

3rd February 2015:
Hey! Here for Slytherin review tag =)

Omg I loved this, loved this, loved this! Now you've made me all hungry for Chai and Samosas :D Incidentally, I just had samosas earlier today but not as good as the ones you just described (because we can't get them that amazing here in UK).

By the way, I'm not sure whether you know (or have guessed) or not, but I am an Indian, and I think you did a great job of explaining all the things and getting the recipe right xD I also love how your Hannah is Indian (and her grandmother lives in Delhi eep - I am from Delhi too xD) and you have cast Alia Bhatt to play her (in the banner). It's just all awesome ideas and it's very refreshing and pleasuring in a way to see Indian terms and Indian faces on HPFF!

Anyway, I've strayed too much off-topic xP The point is, I totally loved this. Your characterisation of Hannah is adorable and I enjoyed the interaction she had with Neville. It was also interesting to see how she was unwilling to 'let him in' at first and how by the end they had become such nice friends. I guess cooking really brings people together eh xD

All in all, this brought a huge smile to my face (and hunger to my stomach). Your writing style was amazing, the descriptions super awesome, no grammar errors at all, and perfect plot. I had such a great time reading this. And my goodness, I've gushed a lot in this review! This review is probably not helpful at all but I just can't find faults with this story and I am too excited and happy after reading this, haha.

GREAT WORK! 10/10

Cheers,
Aditi

Author's Response: I'm always hungry for chai and samosas. Like, seriously. I can eat them at any time at a moment's notice. I don't even care. They are too delicious to resist. And the UK doesn't have good samosas? That is so disappointing to learn :( That should be against some federal law!

*Indian hi-5!* I believe we may have had an in-depth discussion about rotis once! Although I don't live in India, I'm surrounded by these foods. A lot of the confusions that I feel Hannah must have experienced (I think I mentioned one or two as a sort of joke) are similar to the ones I've felt. And again, I must hi-5 you since I am also from Delhi! Maia made this banner for me, and I'd offered a few face claims for Hannah. I'm very happy with the selection of Alia. She works remarkably well.

I'm so happy that you liked the characterisations. These two were fun to write, as was this story. It was something a little off the beaten track for me which I like to do every now and again. I think cooking has a way of making or breaking a relationship.

I'm happy that this made you happy. That's all I really wanted to achieve with this story. Smiles and hunger! Thanks so much for this wonderful review :) Here's to better samosas in the future!


 Report Review

Review #23, by adluvshpFor Good: The Speech

3rd February 2015:
Hey! Here for your requested review from the forums.

This was a very good one-shot. I enjoyed reading Harry's speech. It was very moving and very on-the-point. The words were powerful yet they flowed naturally. I could definitely imagine Harry talking this way. The little backstories that you gave of various Slytherins here was also very interesting. I also liked that Draco and Harry had resolved their differences and that Harry did this for his friend. It showed a very nice angle to post-war situations - of love and forgiveness. I also liked Draco's characterisation such as the description of his stance and the way he spoke to Harry. Good work there.

The only CC I'd give you is to perhaps add a little more backstory to this one shot - give it an intro and conclusion instead of it just being a speech. Give it a context, because it will be more powerful and more story-like then. For instance, you could start of with describing the setting, Harry's fears/worries of going on stage and addressing the topic etc. and ending it with Harry's satisfaction/feelings towards it. That would make it all the more relatable. That's just of course my opinion as I always like to see some setting and description instead of straight action =)

Otherwise, this was brilliant and I had a good time reading it. It refreshed my memories of the main book moments, and of the emotions associated with them. I also liked the angle of everything being fine and them still building the world back. Your writing style was good and I didn't see any grammar errors either! Good job =)

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hi! I apologize for my severely late response to this (I actually forgot I had it tbh)! :)

I'm so glad you liked it! I haven't done a song-fic in so long so I was worried about how this would turn out. Harry's speech, while it did take up the entire thing almost (oops) was really enjoyable for to me write, even though the topic was not-so-fun. Fleshing out the Slytherins made it seem more realistic for me because it showed to the audience of the speech and the readers that they were real "people" and that they had feelings/lives too.

I would have to agree with you on your CC--I completely forgot about adding backstory and just went right into the speech without giving context whatsoever! I will have to go back and edit that this summer then! Not going to lie here, I did happen to look up certain events in my books to make sure I had the people/timeline correct. (Maybe I just need to do a good ol' re-reading of the series this summer, as I'm about due for one anyway :P )

Thank you so so much for this fabulous and constructive review! I'll have to pop over again sometime soon! :)
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #24, by adluvshpTurning Page: Ashes

3rd February 2015:
Hello, here for review tag!

This was intense. I loved the way you've begun your story. This first chapter definitely struck a chord with me and I was engrossed. Your portrayal of Draco is very interesting and I like how you've shown him dealing with trauma after the War. His self-loathing and trying to put pretence is also nicely done. I also like Astoria's character so far and I'm curious to see her role in helping to heal Draco.

Your writing style was good and the flow was smooth. I didn't see any glaring grammar errors either. All in all, I think you have a solid plot and a well written chapter, so good job! It's definitely very, very good for your first fanfic =)

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Ah, I'm so happy you like them! I especially worry about how Draco comes across so that means a lot!

Aw thank you so much! I was so nervous about posting this, I haven't written anything in so long, I was afraid I'd gotten rusty!

Thanks for leaving such an awesome review! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by adluvshpWinds of Desire: Caught Red Handed

28th January 2015:
Hey! Here for review tag!

This is an interesting premise for a Dramione (which I think it will turn into) so I quite like it. The way you have started with this introductory chapter is good, providing us all the backstory we need.

How horrible of Ron to do what he is doing to Hermione. I think you portrayed Hermione's feelings quite well. I liked this chapter and want to see how the story progresses. The only CC I have is to perhaps smooth out your narrative, make it more engaging by having more description and emotions. Good job otherwise!!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Well hello there, :)
Thank you for coming by and reviewing my old story, I haven't worked on it for quite awhile! ;) I plan on re-editing quite a few things, I was a bit clueless about how to write these fanfics when I started. The fact that you think it's starting out good is wonderful :D I am glad you like it so far for the most part.
-Lindsey


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>