Reading Reviews From Member: adluvshp
  
1,844 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshpGame On: A Pawn in a Game- HeyMrsPotter- Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin for the HC 2015.

I really liked it! It took me a bit but then I got it that it was Quirrel being talked about here. I think before he reached the stone.

His idea of being a pawn in the game was nicely done. The way you described the chessboard and the game was chilling in a sense.

I could visualise it all happening in front of me. The way Quirrell was connected to Voldemort was also interesting, feeling his emotions and stuff.

Your descriptions were brilliant. Like "He towers over you, a mountain next to an ant, able to squash you without a second thought. You shiver and he punishes you for your weakness; excruciating pain reaches your every nerve end and you want to cry out but it will only make the pain worse. Why can’t you be strong for him?"

It shows how much he wanted to be "strong", to be rewarded by Voldemort. And that was interesting. And then the end was sad in a way - yes the chess was over but his task wasn't and he braced himself and I could feel his emotions then. It was all described in a very chilling way, so great job! And of course conveyed so much in 500 words, that's a feat!

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshpGame On: Wotter Twister - UnluckyStar57 - Ravenclaw

6th July 2015:
Slytherin for the HC 2015.

Haha this was hilarious. I loved the idea of the Wotters playing Twister. James idea of revealing secrets was very good in the end.
Rose's secret of her dating Scorpius came out, woohoo. And Molly is a shoplifter. Wow, haha.

Your description of the game was clear and I could visualise the full scene so great job there. I enjoyed the little details that showed the relationship dynamics between the characters too like Fred and James and Molly and Rose and Hugo etc.

The things they had to do was brilliant like the Pygmy Puff impression or singing Celestine Warbeck's song.

All in all, it made for a very amusing read. Enjoyed your descriptions and dialogue. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshpGame On: You Are - Dojh167 - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015.

Ooh this was very interesting. I liked how you showed this side to Ginny's personality - her thinking that she's always been comfortable around men.

It make sense. She's grown up with six brothers and stuff. So her conquering this demon of being comfortable around women, of playing on an all-girls team, is very well described.

I liked the way she is giving a pep talk to herself. I could feel her emotions coming through, from nervousness to fear to worry to determination. You portrayed it all very well.

The concept of this was great and I liked how this is another "war" for her to conquer. A small victory, another step in life, a step closer to her dream. All in all, great job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: Broom Race; Heart Races Faster - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Aww, I really liked this. It started off with Roxy playing broom racing internationals and that was great. But the ending bit was my favourite with her being proposed to and she saying yes. She did get a "gold" today. I totally got what she meant even if her boyfriend didn't haha.

I enjoyed your descriptions here immensely. The whole feeling of flying was described wonderfully. Your choice of words to describe Roxy's emotions were great too, like her heart beating faster and stuff.

It was good to see how down-to-earth she was. She wasn't sad about not winning gold but happy about winning bronze. It was also awesome that she was a record-breaker. The little details really made this work even more and I loved it! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: Envy - BookDinosaur - Ravencalw

6th July 2015:
Slytherin for the HC 2015

Ah the famous Draco-Harry rivalry. I liked how the focus of this fic was particularly on how Draco felt angry at Harry for getting into the Quidditch team.

It was interesting to see an insight into Draco's mind - the idea that to him it was alright to trouble neville. It was "fair game".

I also liked how Draco had initially refused Lucius' offer to buy the brooms for the team, and had later relented. It showed a distinctness in his personality.

It was also interesting that Draco was genuinely practicing. He really wanted to outshine Harry and he was giving it his all.

Your portrayal of him overall was very good and I liked this insight into his mind. You captured his emotions very well. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: Wizard’s Chess - Unluckystar57 - Ravenclaw

6th July 2015:
Slytherin for HC 2015.

Haha omg I loved it. Another amusing little piece by you! The idea of Rose being so terrifying is amazing - I think if Ron and Hermione's personalities were combined, she could turn out like that with Hermione's temper and Ron's competitiveness and little of her own flair.

I loved the sorting you did here. Rose a Slytherin and Scorpius a Puff. Teddy being scared of Rose, of doing this whole chess olympics thing to have her pleased, complimenting her the way he did, was all too cute and funny. And adorable.

The ending bit was hilarious with Teddy winning and being afraid of Rose's wrath. I wish we'd seen what she'd have done to him.

All in all, great descriptions, amazing dialogue and lovely concept! I had an awesome time reading this! A very innovative fic indeed!

 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: Haunting Hide-and-Seek - UnluckyStar57 - Ravenclaw

6th July 2015:
Slytherin for the HC 2015.

Omg this was so adorable I can't even!! Wow just wow!! I could visualise it all - the little thestral and the game of hide and seek and the way you were telling the story, it was all just so cute. I wanted to hug the little thestral and cuddle the way I cuddle my cat xD

The idea of thestrals not being able to see other thestrals when they're first born is very interesting! I also like your concept of them being able to see their mothers and then slowly others de-invisible-izing.

And what better way to do it than hide and seek? haha, fun indeed.

The way little Mort was a thestral-thestral was awesome and how he totally enjoyed finding out his family and playing the game.

Great idea and lovely characters! Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: She’s a Natural- ScoroseOTP- Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin for the HC 2015.

This was very good, I loved it! Your characterisation of Ron is perfect and I loved the idea of little Rose already being so good at Chess.

It is also just like Hermione to consider the game "violent" for a five year old.

The way Rose described: Her little Chessmen and lady, Mrs Queen, Mr King, Mr Rook, Mr Rook, Mr Bishop, Mr Bishop, Mr Knight, Mr Knight, Mr Pawn, Mr Pawn, Mr Pawn, Mr Pawn, Mr Pawn, Mr Pawn, Mr Pawn and Mr Pawn - was awesome. Exactly how I'd imagine a five year old mind to work.

Ginny's comment about having taken Rose shopping was amusing - Rose is already less about shopping and more about chess at this age so you can foresee her personality when she grows up. Haha, it was great.

 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: Charlie Weasley and the Dragon Races - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin Review for the House Cup 2015.

I loved this! I have written a Fic about Dragons and Charlie myself so I enjoyed reading your perspective of it. The idea of Dragon races is very interesting and I like how the Keepers care so much about their charges and want the animals to be happy.

The way you describe the game is very exciting and I wish we'd gotten to see the actual race as I'm sure your descriptions would have been marvellous then as they worked really well into the opening itself.

Your characterisation of Charlie was nicely done and I could get a good sense of his personality just from this brief insight into his life. His love for the dragons, his excitement, his energy was all nicely portrayed. I had a good time reading this!

 Report Review

Review #10, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: That Game Called Love - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin Review for the House Cup 2015.

Wow, this was a very interesting concept - abstract in a way - of love being a game. All this time I've been reading Fics about games/sports but this one was definitely unique. I like how you chose Andromeda as the MC here, I enjoy reading her.

Your portrayal of Andromeda was nicely done. Her worry, her confusion, her frustration at falling for Ted was very nicely done. I could feel her emotions. I also liked that she and Molly were on good terms. The idea of Molly thinking about Ted in a romantic way is quite amusing but I'm glad nothing actually happened. The bit with the meatballs and Molly going back to Arthur was very sweet.

All in all, innovative, interesting and enjoyable read!

 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: Muggle Quidditch - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin Review for the House Cup 2015.

Ooh I loved how you gave a different spin to Quidditch here. I also liked your portrayal of Dominique - she's one of my favourite Next Gen characters and I write her a lot so I liked your take on her. It made sense that she'd want to practice for Quidditch from as young as her time as a First Year. And then she turned out so good, so I enjoyed the last line foreseeing her as Quidditch Captain.

The whole concept of the flying ribbons was creative and I could visualise the scene nicely. The little details such as a lock being there on the lockers and the kids coming up with ideas was all nicely done. The descriptions were good and dialogue well-balanced.

Good job!

 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshpGame On: Volume II: Ultimate Gobbstones - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin Review for the House Cup 2015.

This was a very fun read! What I liked most here was the idea of the "extravagant game". We've only seen Gobstones as a small game in the books, sometimes played, on a small scale, but it was refreshing to see it written here on a big scale in this form. I liked the dynamics between the characters too, such as Kenway and his sister, and Rose and her brothers etc.

The ending line was brilliant, no game could ever compare to Quidditch in the wizarding world hehe xD Your descriptions of the game were also very good - I could get a clear picture of what was going on. Roxanne making the winning shot for Albus' team and yet someone else getting the best overall prize made sense. And on, I enjoyed that Erine Macmillan was a professor and he was commentating!

Great job overall!

 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshpGame On: The Game of the Cat - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Slytherin Review for the House Cup 2015.

This was very very interesting! I loved how this is from Mrs Norris' POV. I don't think I've come across a story from her POV before. Her thoughts were very amusing to read. Simple and direct, like you'd expect a cat's thought process to be. Her fondness for Filch was apparent in her thoughts and I liked how she viciously enjoyed the game of "cat and rule breaker". You definitely gave a unique spin to the events in the books.

The way she was so perceptive was very interesting - like living for the faces they made when caught or enjoying the unreliability of their answers. The ending bit was the best - ah someone was invisible and to her it was a level up in the game. Definitely a superb concept and well-executed. I enjoyed this very much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by adluvshpHC Event 3 - A as in Sexuality: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
Hey Liz!

Since you've reviewed for Slytherin for the HC, I thought I'd come by and leave you a complimentary thank you review =)

Ooh, I really liked this! You describe Dorcas' fears and nervousness very well. I like how she feels free after having come out to her friends and yet at the same time she wonders if things will change. It was sad that she didn't get accepted prior to Hogwarts but I liked the happy ending here and that she finally found good friends who didn't care about her sexuality =)

Great little one-shot! Enjoyed reading it!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshpDeceivingly Angelic: One

28th June 2015:
Hey Raisha!

Since you've reviewed for Slytherin for the HC, I thought I'd come by and leave you a complimentary thank you review =)

I really liked reading this! Your character Angel is very human and relatable. I like how she's in Ravenclaw and on talking terms with Luna. Her interaction with this "boy" is very intriguing. I wonder who he is and why is he so rude?

All in all, great start to the story! Cheers!

-AditiDraco95

Author's Response: You are so sweet! Than you so much!
It's been a while since I've looked at this story tbh but if I remember correctly it's someone who is just naturally rude! A certain Slytherin perhaps... o.o


 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshpSlowly Falling: Falling

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

This was lovely, just lovely! What a sweet little James/Lily story. I liked how this started off with Lily hurt over Severus' words, of her and James not being on good terms, and yet Severus' words are what brought them together in a way.

The gradual change in relationship between the two was very well-written. I loved the little scene with Remus, Peter and Sirius coming to "help" Lily and she smiling - it was a very adorable moment. And something I could see James doing.

The ending bit was the sweetest. The Astronomy tower setting was beautiful and the way James sneakily let them stay, and then their kiss - it was just magical. I was smiling while reading it.

Your descriptions and characterisation were brilliant! I enjoyed reading this =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by adluvshpcrying lightning: Prologue: yesterday // let's head over to tomorrow

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Wow, this was just beautiful! I loved your writing style here. The short, snappy paragraphs, the little brackets, the overall tone of the writing, worked very well. The theme was very interesting and was definitely powerful.

I liked how you didn't take any names here yet we could guess who the characters are, sort of. There is a certain intrigue surrounding the narrative at the same time and that was perfect.

Your imagery and descriptions were just marvellous. In 500 words, you expressed so much. And the whole connection with the game was very creatively done.

I especially loved the part about the firsts - the first murder, the first curse. That was some beautiful writing and clever thinking.

Really, I am speechless. Amazing little one-shot! Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by adluvshpHamartia: one.

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

This is a very interesting start to the story! I like how it's from the POV of a new Slytherin character, someone who is "willing" to be on the "dark" side, as it's a fresh perspective.

Your descriptions were simply amazing, and some bits really stood out to me like "(I learned this, too, was out of necessity, because of the sheer venom directed at us from self-righteous Gryffindors and Hufflepuffs with points to prove, and that Slytherin’s caustic reputation was self-defence)." and "I didn’t learn her name for another two years, but when I did – Athena Selwyn – I knew she would be my downfall."

Your characterisation was very good and I am instantly intrigued by her personality as well as somewhat connected. Her hiding her parentage, experience of being into Slytherin, meeting Athena, falling for her - it is all described very well. I am in love with the narrative and the writing style, it flows beautifully.

All in all, such a lovely start to the story! I'd love to read more. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #19, by adluvshpAll Existing Matter: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

This is amazing, pure amazingness. Wow, what an ingenious idea to combine magic with science! I love how you've introduced the concept of MASA and of everything being top secret. It is plausible that with the help of magic they can reach another planet within 3 months.

Rose's characterisation is very nicely done. Her nervousness, fear, thrill, it all comes through wonderfully and I can connect with her quickly. It's interesting that she's a botanist - that's a profession I've seen her in for the first time in FF.

The entire scene on the planet was very well-written. I enjoyed how Rose was thrilled by the new planet, how she was immersed in finding the plants. And then BAM, the mud, the shaking of the ship, and they left her. That was terrible, ghosh, what an awful crew. I am very intrigued to know what will happen to Rose now. Is she going to meet ET life? How's she going to survive without magic? Very interesting and I really want to read more!

Pleasure to have stopped by!

 Report Review

Review #20, by adluvshpRoses: Roses

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Wow, this was beautiful, and also very sad, because the ending. Cries =(

What I loved about this was the recurring theme of the white roses. It was sweet how it started off with Harry visiting his parent's graves with his family and leaving the white roses then ventured into the past with Lily doing the same for her grandma.

It was adorable how James sort of got under her skin, giving her white roses every so often and slowly getting her to warm up to him. Lily's thoughts on that were fun tor read.

I was shocked when the bit about the journal came out but then it was cute how James asked her to marry him and everything worked out.

The wedding and the events following that were nicely written - it was an interesting sign that peter brought black roses. And then the ending with the roses wilting and there being black roses. That was the saddest.

Such a lovely little one-shot with great descriptions. I really liked it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by ♥ I'm really glad other people enjoy this's story as much as I enjoyed writing it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by adluvshpThinking About You: You, You, You

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

OMG WHAT? UMBRIDGE? THIS WAS ABOUT UMBRIDGE? I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT?! YOU WROTE A ROMANTIC ONE-SHOT ABOUT UMBRIDGE WOW. AND LOCKHART. OMG.

Okay now the hyperventilating is out of the way, I have to say, this was AMAZING! Your writing style was totally awesome and fit the theme of the story. I liked the way the little snippets of thoughts were put into the narrative too and they gave personality to Umbridge.

The ending of course was the masterpiece. Using her little signature cough was perfect. I suppose this was during their Hogwarts days so it's an interesting idea to have them go to the same school and Umbrige having a crush on him.

And "with your voice like molten galleons you pronounced proclamations, ‘pointless proclamations,’ others who were lesser said, ‘profound proclamations," BAHAHAHA. I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE.

Loved it really. Never thought I'd say this about an Umbridge fic but this was great!

Author's Response: ANGIE!!

Hello there! :D THIS IS A VERY STRANGE ONE, YES. I am so glad you found them out!!

BAH!! YOU ARE TOO KIND! It makes me so happy that you like it. Seeing that they might have gone to school around the same time, who knows, right? :P

I SEE THAT YOU SEE! I couldn't help it! It alliterated, it has context, IT HAD TO BE DONE. I COULDN'T NOT BE DONE.

BAH!! Angie. Thank you so much!!! Never thought i'd write an Umbridge fic either. But it was well worth all the reactions I got with this: confused, surprised, appalled, awed by cuteness?

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS REVIEW!!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #22, by adluvshpExpect the Unexpected: Prologue

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Ooh this was very, very interesting! I loved the mysterious feel to it with the fog and the still lake setting. It was all calm and serene until Pansy suddenly popped in.

Draco's shock and surprise came through nicely and then Pansy speaking in riddles was very intriguing. I wonder what she meant by emerald in the eye of the snake. This might have later significance, I'm guessing.

And then Draco got transported to the Room of Requirement. That's when I guessed it was surely a dream. Yet, Harry's arrival and their kiss was certainly abrupt (and intentionally abrupt, I'd think). It kinda made me chuckle but also curious to know the why behind the dream.

All in all, this sets an interesting premise to the story! Good descriptions and narrative!

 Report Review

Review #23, by adluvshpslytherin will rise: you and me

28th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Oh, this was so sad, and beautiful, and heartbreaking, and also amazing! I can't believe you wrote this in the alphabetical manner. After I read your Author's Note, I checked and indeed every sentence did follow the order. And that's just amazing. Wow!! Unique writing style!!

The concept of this was lovely. I really liked how you wrote this from the POV of an unnamed Slytherin. Her characterisation is great, starting off with thinking how Voldemort would lead them to great things and by the end realising how bad it was. The bit about the plant comparison was amazing. It made me so sad that teachers didn't realise how Slytherin students were being mistreated by others.

And then the ending, gah so tragic. I loved your descriptions and use of language. Like "is it cowardly to not wish to fight your parents and friends on the battlefield? Quiet courage can be just as grand when it is needed." JUST BROKE MY HEART. Can't believe her love died at the end =( All in all, amazing story.

 Report Review

Review #24, by adluvshpFive of a Kind: Introduction - Dealer's Choice

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

This was a very interesting little chapter! I like how Cormac is a professor at Hogwarts. That's something I wouldn't have envisioned. I wonder what he teaches, haha.

You have captured Cormac's personality pretty well. The annoyance at having to spend his day off watching kids in detention, the desire to flirt with the new girl or the bartender, are all quite plausible for him.

What I liked was the vagueness - you kept a certain level of intrigue here, not informing why the kids were in detention, what the Deputy Headmistress' scheme is and what exactly is going on.

And of course, having the Weasleys, Potter and Malfoy all in the same detention can turn out to be very amusing so I'm looking forward to checking out what is in store for them.

Your descriptions were good, nice characterisation and over all good plot!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Angie! Cormac I think is going to be interesting, although I haven't really decided what he teaches yet. And I'm glad you like his characterization, I always thought of him as a bit of a slimeball.

I do keep it vague because everything will be explained as the chapters progress. I do think the characters are going to be a lot of fun to explore and write, especially Malfoy, he's going to be one of my favorites in this, I can already tell.

Thanks so much for the lovely review, I'm glad you liked the intro!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #25, by adluvshpSturm und Drang : Freedom

27th June 2015:
Slytherin here for House Cup 2015.

Ooh, a very good beginning to a Draco/Astoria story. I love how this starts off with the news article that gives a backstory of sorts. Draco's characterisation is believable too, yes he was pardoned but he's not changed overnight. His feelings about muggleborns etc still linger.

I enjoyed the setting you created here of the Manor, the calm atmosphere, absence of Lucius, Narcissa's singing. It was very nice and sweet. The idea that Draco has to do community service is interesting. I also like the concept of support groups/organisations helping Muggle-borns. The one about the war victims is also very plausible and it's interesting that Astoria runs it.

Great job so far. I am excited and curious to see what happens next!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>