Reading Reviews From Member: adluvshp
  
1,936 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshpTell Me Who You Are: Phase Two: Tell Him You're a Witch

23rd June 2016:
Hey! Lost Muse here with your challenge review.

Wow, I really liked reading this! You've a very nice story here. I am actually eager to read more. Dominique is one of my favourite Next-Gen characters and I love writing her. So, it was very interesting for me to see her from your perspective. Her fears regarding coming out as a witch made sense and your portrayal of Mark's reactions were spot on too. You did a great job and I already ship Mark/Dom. The entire narrative came out beautifully and all in all this made for a brilliant read. Good job!

Cheers
Angie

Author's Response: You just... You just made my day. I was working on two other challenges plus the third chapter of this story when the forums went down and on the same day my computer stopped working and they told me yesterday that the hard drive was bad, so everything I had is now gone. It means a lot that you liked it so much- it was my first challenge in years and years and I was super excited about it. Hopefully, I will be able to finish the last three chapters with my notes. Thank you so, so much and thank you for a great challenge.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshpCloaked in Silence: T H R E E

23rd June 2016:
Hey! Lost Muse here for your challenge review.

Wow, I was not prepared for the pool of tears this fic drowned me in. I really really was floored by this though. What an amazing 3-part-story. You really wrote this inclusion of a Muggle into the magical world wonderfully. The concept of this was beautiful and heartbreaking. I really loved it (even though it shattered my heart). The little inclusion of the Potters was nicely done. And well the entire journey of the Muggle to find the cloak and save her sister's daughter from death was really so well written and moving. I really dont have much to say here except that this was superb and you have a strong entry on your hands here. Great job.

Love
Angie

Author's Response: It's very sad that I'm just now clearing through reviews.

I'm so very glad that you liked it! It was my first time writing something that wasn't completely fluffy (it's an addiction, I can't help it).

Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review! It means the world to me and winning the challenge meant even more! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshpThen There was Light: Welcome to the World of Magic

23rd June 2016:
Hey there! Lost Muse here for your challenge review!

Ooh, I quite liked reading this. I used to be a Twilight fan too, but not so much anymore, so well, I still enjoyed reading this. The crossover is interesting - I do see it is quite AU. From the hints, I can see Bella is either a vampire, or was bitten by a vampire but survived the attack. Something along those lines. She is a Muggle either way though so that makes for an interesting turn of events. I did catch that the "inspector" is Harry - guessing he's undercover as an Auror to investigate and stuff.

Your descriptions and all were really cool, and overall I look forward to the rest of the story as the premise is very good. Great use of the challenge prompt =) Cheers!

Love
Angie

 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshpThe Obliviator: Chocolatey Chocolate Cake

23rd June 2016:
Hey! Lost Muse here with your challenge review.

I absolutely loved this. You have a strong entry here. I really enjoy the unique writing style though it takes a bit getting the hang of. Your portrayal of Mrs Hamilton, George and Angelina is all lovely. I really like how they've all become friends. The entire premise of this story is very good and interesting and I'm excited to see where things proceed. Had a great time reading this!

Love
Angie

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshpI'm Not Crazy: I'm Not Crazy

22nd June 2016:
Hey there! Lost Muse here to read and review your challenge entry!

Wow, this was an amazing piece. I certainly didn't expect something dark and twisted for this challenge but your originality has me floored. I absolutely loved the narrative here, the plot idea, and the overall way of executing the story. It was crazy and moving and tragic and pitiful all at once and I really felt for your MC. The writing style was impeccable. You've a strong entry on your hands here. I loved it!

Cheers
Angie

Author's Response: Hi!
Thank you so much for reviewing and for hosting the challenge!
(Second place!! I can't believe it :P Thank you so much!)

I'm really glad you liked it!
For some reason all the one shots I write tend to be dark and twisted (writing happy fluff just doesn't come naturally to me!).
Thank you so, so, so much! It was a really fun challenge!

-Rosiful


 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshpIntroducing...: Introducing... Lexa Starr

20th May 2016:
Hey! Here to shower you with some review fairy sparkle. I was initially just going to R&R the first chapter, but I couldn't stop reading, so I decided to leave you a review on this last one =)

So, I really like the premise of this story! The way you're introducing all the characters in each of the chapters, and building up a plot at the same time, is super cool. I really enjoyed reading all of them!

Lexa sounds like a great character, and I like her already. I also enjoyed the portrayal of James! The interaction between Meghan and Lexa in this chapter was quite sweet. Oh, and I liked the inclusion of Professor Longbottom, nice touch xD

All in all, I think this is a great story. Do keep writing! I hope it receives more recognition and reviews. Cheers!

Love
Angie
(Lost Muse from the forums)

 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshpThe Gifts: Neville: The Three Broomsticks

20th May 2016:
Hey Caity! Here to shower some review fairy sparkle on you.

First off - "I believe in you little one." Aw I loved this line, mainly because I call you the little one quite often xP (And I believe in you).

Second of all, this was amazing! I absolutely loved reading it. You portrayed Neville/Hannah in such a cute way, it had me gushing and smiling. Neville was adorable and real in his nervousness. I liked how Hannah was straightforward and came right out with it. And of course, Madam Rosmerta was cool to do this to bring them together xD

Your narrative was nice and precise and I quite enjoyed it. The dialogue worked well. And all in all, this was super cute and super awesome, yay for Neville/Hannah, and for your writing! Kudos!

Love
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response:
Hey Angie! I luv fairy sparkle!

Im glad you liked that line! I put it in there as a little hidden reference to you, so I'm glad you picked up on it!

Thank you! I'm pleased that you enjoyed it! I've always imagined Hanville as quite a cutesy, homey romantic couple. NEVIILLE'S NERVOUSNESS IS FREAKING CONSISTENT THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE SERIES. And very little Neville writers keep that adorable part of him. They scrap that piece of his essence. Ab Hannah was always straightforward. They're perfect for each other. Madam Rosmerta is freaking amazing. She's so self made with her own thriving business. I love her.

Im so glad the dialogue worked well! Dialogue is such a tricky thing to write and i'm glad this was good!

Hanville is cute and awesome and so a fic about them is of course gonna be cute and awesome.

Caity
x


 Report Review

Review #8, by adluvshpGive Me a Sign: Give Me a Sign

18th May 2016:
omg can i cry? i want to cry. this is one of the most perfect stories that i've come across on the archives. and i absolutely love that the MC is a Slytherin and all her kind, thoughtful, wonderful friends are Slytherins. This dispels so many stereotypes for the 'deaf' and the house, and I loved it so much.

I am so so happy you linked me to this story so I could shower some review fairy sparkle on it. I wouldn't have wanted to miss out on reading this one-shot at all.

I am crying by the way.

This was beautiful. I absolutely loved your characterisation of Dana, the way you gave us a window to her thoughts ranging from her 'disability' (though I hate to call it that), to her loneliness, to how she felt at Hogwarts, to her crush on Albus Potter, to the ending bit where all friends have learned the sign language for her. Such brilliant and real portrayal of her as well as her emotions.

The plot/theme of this story was unique and wonderfully planned. The execution in the narrative was of course perfect. Your descriptions were great and really I don't know what else to say except that this story was so touching and deep and intense and lovely. Great job!!

Love,
Angie
(Lost Muse from the forums)

Author's Response: Angie!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review my story! You're such a lovely review fairy!

Slytherins always get the bad wrap but I think they really are such great friends when it comes down to it.

I'm so glad you liked Dana. I think as a teenager going through it she probably felt a bit out of place but it's so much easier to get on with those years with great people by your side.

Thank you so much for so much helpful feedback! I really, really appreciate it so much!


 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshpMaybe This Time: Maybe This Time

18th May 2016:
Hey there. I came by on MuggleMaybe's recommendation to shower you with a little review fairy sparkle!

Wow, I've never read a story about Eloise before, so kudos for writing a minor character so beautifully. I absolutely loved reading this. You showed her thoughts and the reasons behind her actions very well. It was sad - the household she grew up in, the way her father treated her mother, and yet how her mother's expectations for her daughter remained that she find a man who loved her. I'm glad Eloise stood her ground though, and did not settle for a man who wasn't good enough.

More often than not, our experiences shape who we are and you showed that brilliantly here. Seeing her mother and father the way they were, it'd have had a complex impact on Eloise and her interpretation of relationships. You portrayed that with beautiful descriptions and implications. The short segments were powerful and profound. I really liked reading this! Glad I could stop by.

Love
Angie
(Lost Muse from the Forums)

 Report Review

Review #10, by adluvshpThink of Funerals: Five Stories

18th May 2016:
Hello. So, MuggleMaybe recommended that I shower this story with some review sparkle, and boy, do I need to thank her?! THIS WAS INCREDIBLE.

Sorry for shouting but it really was. I read it twice, once directly, and once after reading your A/N. The first time round I didn't even realise this one-shot made use of all of these devices. To say that this piece of work is creative would be an understatement. Seriously, how do you do it?!

I loved the first segment of the jilted lover - it could be anyone really - and the anonymity of the characters makes it all the more enticing to read. Your descriptions were absolutely beautiful here.

The second one about the diary, I realised in my second reading that this was Ginny. I love your use of words here, especially how you say "the cursive dares". It's amazing that it's in alphabetical order, wow.

The Narcissa segment - I couldn't figure out the narrator exactly - but it was definitely haunting in a sense and portrayed Narcissa in a tragically beautiful manner. I could feel her pain.

I am guessing the black milk was about a death eater. Powerful descriptions there, and your interpretation of the poem to weave this into a narrative was superb. Still amazed.

And the last one. My, oh my. My WolfStar feels. You characterised Sirius perfectly. In such few words, I got him completely. The "how to" style was perfect here, and the way the emotions came through was magnificent.

All in all, what a beautiful masterpiece of writing this is. I'm so glad I stopped by. Loved it. Great work.

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse from the Forums)

Author's Response: Angie! What an amazing surprise review! Thank you!

This was easily one of the most fun challenges I ever did. "The Wedding" was based on an exercise we did in one of my creative writing class - which is a fun one, because it forces you to narrow down and end on a sort of high-impact punch (I tweaked it a little to be descending odd numbers because that was the only way to get to 100 words total, and I was super excited when I realized that getting to 100 words was possible).

"The Diary" was also based on a CW exercise, only the original has you alphabetize the beginning of every sentence. But then that would be 28 sentences, so it would be hard to do only 100 words. So yeah, I just went nuts and alphabetized every word. That was REALLY interesting, and I recommend doing it! Like, I couldn't really plan what it was gonna be about or what was gonna happen. It was almost like automatic writing - I would just sort of make the sound of the letter and try to come up with a word that fit. I was all like "a-a-after... b-b-b-buying... c-countless. d-diaries? oh, I guess this'll be about Ginny and Tom." But yeah, I really liked "cursive dares" too, and that sort of word choice had a lot to do with how limited my word choice was :P

The Pantoum! I once heard a woman read an AMAZING pantoum during an open mic thing (that's how I learned about it) and I've been trying to make this basic structure work ever since! But UGH - it's never as good as the one she did! Like, it made me (and the rest of the audience) bawl our eyes out.

I imagined Black Milk to be from the POV of a muggle at Azkaban during the war, since the Death Eaters basically turned the prison into a concentration camp. (Also, the line about the serpent is based on an actual translated line from Todesfuge! And Voldemort genuinely had a serpent!)

Finally, How To Stories! That was one of my favorite CW exercises, and I really recommend that every tries to write a How-To Story. One of my favorites I ever read was called "How to be a Real Ballerina" or something - see if you can find it online, because it's really good (and funny). I think it was published in a collection called "Brevity and Echo." Anyway, How To stories are great :)

Thank you again so much for stopping by to review this very strange thing!

xoxo
Roisin







 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshpfloo: 100

18th May 2016:
Hey there =) I'm here on MuggleMaybe's recommendation to shower you with a little review fairy sparkle.

Wow. This one-shot was phenomenal. I won't lie, it took me a moment to grasp it as the format was *slightly* confusing but then as I got into the rhythm, I realised how the words connected each little 'micro-fiction'. It was a brilliant and unique idea to weave in other people's lives as Lily travelled through the floo along with her own thoughts/memories regarding her and Siobhan's relationship.

Your descriptions were absolutely beautiful and I loved the little glimpses we got of the multitude of households she saw into. The memories of her relationship were also nicely done - it showed the transition from their love and fun to her moving away. The ending was sad - Siobhan moved on and didn't wait for Lily - and the way it ended with her saying goodbye first was impactful.

All in all, this was a very interesting read and I loved it! Great job! This story is definitely underrated and deserves more recognition!

Love
Angie
(Lost Muse on the forums)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for this surprise-review. I just assumed that this story would be burried in the depth of HPFF forever :D

I'm really happy that you liked the idea of the story. I know that it asks a lot of the readers, and initially I was so uncertain about it that I considered not putting it up at all. I'm still far from happy with it, but I simply don't have the time to edit it, plus I'm not sure in what way I would change it (apart from some more obvious stylistic blunders): On one hand, I liked the idea, on the other hand it's not so practical. :/

It means a lot to me that you think my descriptions were beautiful. I liked some of them a lot, too, but I'm always very uncertain when it comes to writing in English.

Thanks for taking the time&reading this!
Shinicha


 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshpConfession: Confession

17th May 2016:
Hey there! Just here to shower you with a little review fairy sparkle.

Aw, this was so adorable. You totally made me ship Albus/Scorpius here (though I'm more of a Rose/Scorpius shipper). Their dialogue/interaction was so adorable, it made me grin like an idiot. Aha I absolutely enjoyed Scorpius' confession. Despite the lack of any descriptions, his nervousness came through very well and I enjoyed how much he was afraid and was over-thinking, regarding the friendship bit especially. The "I'm a bloke-you're a bloke" line made me laugh. Sounded real xD

The way you showed us that they kissed with the lack of speech and the mention of it later was clever. And the ending dialogue was cheeky and fun to read - doing other stuff than talking haha.

All in all, I think this was great! I am a sucker for descriptions but you pulled off the only-dialogue thing wonderfully. Kudos to you for mastering the feat! Great little one-shot! Glad I could stop by! Don't hesitate to drop me links again for more review-fairy stories.

Love
Angie
(Lost Muse)

 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshpDear Myrtle: Dear Myrtle

17th May 2016:
Hey =) I'm just here to shower you with a little review fairy sparkle.

I really liked reading this. It tugged at my heartstrings and almost moved me to tears. Your characterisation of Olive is very well done. Most stories portray her as a bully but you've shown a more humane side to her, have even shown that she and Myrtle were friends once, so that's a very interesting and real perspective to go with here.

The inclusion of the world war and the Nazis was an interesting touch. I liked how you meshed the wizarding and muggle worlds together here, and it was definitely interesting to see Olive's character evolve with the events around her. At the age she was, her wanting to fit in with the other two girls made sense, and I felt awful for Myrtle when she teased her and hurt her. Still, this stuff happens in real life and you showed the situation well.

The ending bits were very saddening. How Myrtle continued to haunt Olive, how despite after being restrained, the guilt and thoughts of Myrtle kept haunting Olive, and ultimately the irony that she got glasses too. I'm glad Olive came to accept what happened, 'grew up', and ultimately managed to forgive herself. It was well-written. I could connect with her and felt for her.

Your descriptions overall were great and I really enjoyed reading this. The dialogues were great and the writing style was perfect. The best part was the theme/concept though. Great work =) Glad I could stop by! Don't hesitate to drop off more links for my review fairy project.

Love
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Angie, you are the sweetest! ♥

Eep, thank you so much! Almost moved to tears?! wow, gah, I mean I'm sorry about that but also it means so much to me that the story evoked so much emotion. Thank you. I'm so glad you like the characterization of Olive. She is only seen through Myrtle's eyes in the books and gets maybe one or two lines of a mention - certainly not enough to make her seem three-dimensional. So she's just 'the mean girl who teased Myrtle about her glasses' but no one is ever that one-sided and I loved the opportunity to show a different angle to her.

I think with something as huge as the second world war, even wizards would have to be at least a little aware of it as a lot happened in Britain and buildings were bombed down and stuff - even though it was a Muggle war, it'd be pretty hard to not notice that. And pretty much the instant I realized Olive would have been ten at the start of the war, I knew I had to include it as it would have been pretty important and going on in the background throughout her Hogwarts years.

It's really wonderful to hear that you liked the way Olive's character evolves throughout the story, thanks! The bit about her and Myrtle having once been friends and then growing apart was so real for me, and it was that that made Olive a relatable, more human character, at least to me while I was writing it. Especially as that age is so difficult, social pressures so much more intense, so they're both hurt and confused as they grow up and grow apart. I'm so glad you enjoyed that perspective.

Myrtle mentions in GoF how she left school to haunt Olive, which she presents as just a funny joke, but it kind of just made me wonder how bad it was for Olive, who was the one to find Myrtle dead, and then was still being haunted by her years later. It must have been horrible. The bit about Olive needing glasses was just me being unnecessarily cruel to my characters because I loved the irony :P but yeah, I imagine it was hard to recover from what surely would have been a lot of guilt. As you said though, she grew up and forgave herself, and Myrtle didn't.

Thank you so much, it really means a lot to me that you liked the dialogue, descriptions, writing style, and concept - I'm blushing now after all this praise! Seriously thanks for the review, and for doing this whole review fairy project, it's incredibly kind of you. ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by adluvshpForbidden Fruit: Living On, Loving On

17th May 2016:
Hey there! So, MuggleMaybe recommended me your story to shower a little review fairy sparkle on, and I'm glad she did, because I truly loved reading this.

Your portrayal of Luna is refreshing and unique and very real. I feel like this fits her personality very well. Not being able to tell apart friend-feelings and love-feelings, being confused about what she feels for who, wanting to be free, and the brief glimpses we get into her relationships, makes a lot of sense. I like how she finally found someone who accepted her the way she was and gave her the freedom she needed, though a little sad that Neville/Luna didn't work out since I kinda ship them.

Nonetheless, you portrayed a lot in this little one-shot and did a great job with theme. The descriptions were spot on, and I absolutely loved the simplistic writing style. The narrative totally drew me in and it made for an interesting read. Pleasure to have stopped by, and if you'd like to, you can always leave me links to yours (or others') stories that have less than 15 reviews - I'd love to shower them with more review fairy love =)

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Hello Angie, and thank you so much for this surprise of a review! I'm so happy Renee pointed you here! : )

Hehe, the reason that you think my characterisation of Luna here feels 'real' is probably that she's suuuper much based on me. People often headcanon Luna as Autistic, and while I waver back and forth on whether I do that myself, but here I definitely wrote her as such, and then it just felt natural to lend her some of my traits that I feel are linked to my Autism. : )

I sort of ship Neville and Luna too, but I always have them break up in my stories - I guess I don't see them as a 'forever' kind of couple, but that doesn't mean the relationship was a failure, you know? Some day I'll write a story where they are poly and stay together while they also marry Hannah and Rolf!

I'm glad the simplistic writing style works for you, because I know not everybody likes it. I actually wasn't all that happy with this story when I wrote it, but I re-read it recently and like it a lot more now! I definitely see what you mean by the theme working; it really does, much more than I felt like it did when I wrote it. And usually the passage of time make me like my stories less! (And then re-write and re-write them...)

All in all, thanks again for this review, and it's been great seeing you here and there around the web, Angie! : )

/Kapa


 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshpBattleground: Robbed

17th May 2016:
Hey Kaitlin! I'd like to shower you with a little review fairy sparkle.

I absolutely loved this. What a brilliant, brilliant portrayal of Tom Riddle Senior. I honestly never looked at his situation from this perspective - as an assault victim, somebody whose rights were taken away - and yet it makes complete sense. Your descriptions of how much he loathes Merope, what she did to him, how much agony she caused him, and how he hates that he couldn't even enjoy the pleasure of having a child, are so surreal and vivid and perfect. My heart broke for him and I could really feel for him here.

What I loved even more about this one-shot is how you've taken something so canon, yet something invisible, and brought it to light. It also turns the stereotypes around - of showing the man as the victim and the woman as the abuser. And you do complete justice to the scenario. I like how he tries to talk to his father about it but he doesn't seem to listen/understand. It shows the harsh reality of the real world too. His despair over everything is palpable and very real.

You truly wrote a magnificent powerful one-shot in such few words. I was totally moved. The writing was just superb and the theme was profound. Great work. Pleasure to have read this - do drop me a link or two of some of your other stories which have less than 15 reviews.

Love,
Angie
(Lost Muse)

 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshp(1) The Grand Scheme of Things: Chapter 5 - Three's a Crowd... or is it Four?

17th May 2016:
Hey! Here for your much delayed requested review from the forums. I meant to R&R the first chapter but I ended up reading all the chapters and decided to review this one.

I really like the story so far! Clara is a strong character and I like your portrayal of her. Oliver is just too adorable though. And it was cute how he was jealous. Obviously, his worry of losing Clara to Hayley makes sense - it shows how much he cares for her. Hayley does seem like a nice character too though. And by the way, kudos to you for showing Ollie's anxiety in a natural manner.

All in all, I really liked reading this story, and I hope to be back to read more. Your descriptions and dialogues are really good, and the plot is well-mapped. The characters are real and relatable, and the story seems headed in a good direction.

Oh and before I close off, I've to say, I loved this line: Iíve been at this school for two and a half days, and Iím yet to meet an eleven-year-old who actually acts like an eleven-year-old.

Haha.

Great job! Keep writing!

Cheers
Angie
(lost muse)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing my story. It's my pride and joy, so I'm glad you like it :D Chapter 6 will be out soon.

 Report Review

Review #17, by adluvshpRise of the Phoenix: Vengeance

17th May 2016:
Hey! Here for your requested review from the forums. I'm very much delayed with this review, so apologies.

So, I meant to review the third chapter but the story is good I couldn't stop reading, so I ended up reading through all the chapters, and decided to review this last one =)

If that doesn't tell you, then I'll say it explicitly: I am really enjoying the story! I think you've done a great job here. The plot is very interesting and your characters continue to grow and be relatable, and I like being in their heads.

My favourite characters so far are Alice and Aurora. I really like Gideon too. The way you have woven the story is very interesting and I'm definitely curious to see what happens next. Your descriptions are really good and I enjoy your dialogue as well.

The last bit was very nail-biting, and you ended on a nice cliff-hanger there. Dolohov is just ugh. You've obviously written him well. I honestly don't know what else to say except that so far this is a great story and I enjoyed reading all the 19 chapters that are up. Do keep writing. Great job!

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Hey.

I can't believe you read so much, thank you.

Your feedback means a lot especially as the later chapters have less reviews so knowing that they work so effectively for the reader is lovely to hear.

Cheers for the swap, no worries about taking your time, I am always very informal about these sort of things. I like reading your work and I am glad you got stuff out of reading mine.



 Report Review

Review #18, by adluvshpBroken: Broken

17th May 2016:
Hey Kshitij! I finally got the time to stop by and check your new one-shot!

As always, your writing amazes me. It's really well done! I loved how you took Morrigan the war goddess and painted her as a witch here. The concept of Molly being transported to her realm and subjected to all that Morrigan tried to show her and break her and get her to not fight Bellatrix, was unique, intricate, and beautifully written.

Molly's characterisation was perfect too. You showed us the fierce mother she is and the lengths she'd go to protect her own. Despite seeing so much pain and despair, she still found the strength in herself to fight and prove Morrigan wrong. And she won. That was poetic and profound.

Your descriptions throughout were beautiful, and I really liked how you described Morrigan, as well as her realm and how she showed Molly the things that'd cause her pain. Fred's death, Tonks' death, and Ginny's deaths all were especially moving - and well at least am glad Ginny's wasn't true.

All in all, this was a great one-shot with the right amount of emotion, action, and concept. I really liked it. Great work!

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse)

 Report Review

Review #19, by adluvshpSeven years later: Seven years later

17th May 2016:
Chiara! Hey! I have been a little swamped with exams stuff so I couldn't do more reviews for the site hot seat, but I had to do at least one, and this story immediately caught my eye, and I'm so glad I read it! It kind of made me tear up!

I absolutely love the idea of Severus, Lily, Edgar and Em deciding to meet again seven years later when they're eleven, and then meeting once again another seven years later. Despite how things changed, it was nice that they all still stuck to their word. The contrast between their eleven year old selves to their seventeen year old selves, and later (for Snape and Em) to their twenty-four year old selves was palpable. I was so sad in the end when they wished for the other two to be there. The beginning bits to show the foundation of their friendships, tied in with the division of their houses was nicely done.

Your descriptions were beautiful throughout and I was really hooked to the one-shot from the beginning to the end. I think you did a great job portraying all the characters, especially snape. I also liked the two new ones - Edgar and Em - a lot. Your dialogue was well-written and overall this flowed smoothly! Great job!

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Angie!!! *hug* *wub*
Aww, no worries, hon! So glad you managed to stop by at all!!! :D

I'm so glad you enjoyed the idea for the story. They changed a lot during those fourteen years, but their friendship survived time, differences and divisions. It's a bit naive, maybe, but I loved the concept! :)

So glad you liked the descriptions, because I tend to struggle with them... and that the characters were well done, too!

Thank you so much for the awesome review!!!
With love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #20, by adluvshpAlligator Sky: {O N E}

17th May 2016:
Hey! Here for (delayed) Slytherin Hot Seat review.

Ooh! This looks like a lovely story. I absolutely loved the introduction of Lily and David. I find it really cool that they're both "space-nerds". Lily's excitement at being "home" at the museum was lovely. I also loved how David was enamoured as soon as he saw her - it was so cute. And then when they talked, their interaction felt genuine and natural and I liked that. You did a great job with descriptions, from the beginning of the story to set the scene, to that of the characters' thoughts and feelings, to the overall narrative. The dialogue flowed smoothly as well, and I was totally captivated while reading. I really enjoyed reading this and hope I can be back for the next chapter! Keep writing, great job!

Cheers
Angie
(lost muse)

Author's Response: Delayed reviews are fine since I am just sooo delayed with my replies.

I'm so glad that you liked the story, Angie! I'm especially pleased that you liked my descriptions. Your critique is invaluable, as always.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by adluvshpFaÁade: For You (Intro)

17th May 2016:
Hey there! Here for the Slytherin Hot Seat from the forums!

So, this was really very well-written. It's a great way to kick off a story. I haven't read the prequel but your summary made sense so I went from there. Rosalind is a very interesting and grey character. She treads on the thin line between morality and immorality, and I really love that. She's real, she has flaws, she sees herself as a 'good' person yet she accepts the wrongs she's done, and she isn't ashamed. While I don't necessarily agree with her on eliminating evil (because I don't believe in taking the law in your own hands i.e. killing someone because they're evil), I do see her point of view, and am able to relate, which is a great thing. Your descriptions are really well done to get that across. The details of the Azkaban, the guard, and the will are nicely done as well. I like the glimpse of her relationship with her sister, as well as her past relationship with George. It's nice that she has one true friend in Draco at least.

This is certainly a strong start to your story. The chapter pulled me right in. I really liked reading it and I hope to come back for more.

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Hello there!

Yes yes yes - Rosalind is very grey. I want her to be polarizing because the more you learn about her the more you understand the way she is and realize that she might be a bit off her rocker...or she might be right.

I'm so glad you liked it! She does have a few sides to her that are seen later on but for the most part she is pretty angry. I hope you come back as well, and thank you so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by adluvshpLife on the Run: A Currach on the Shore

9th May 2016:
Hey Kenny =)

Aw, this was a sweet one-shot. I quite liked reading it. You showed a series of events that can easily fit with canon and yet are quite different. Your perspective on Lily/James' year on the run was fresh and interesting. I loved the inclusion of the Muggle family, and I really liked the characterisations of Frank and Harry. It's heart-warming to imagine that Lily named her son after Harry - it made sense too.

Your descriptions were just lovely. The scene where Severus is watching Lily and James was nicely done. I also liked how he sent his patronus to warn Lily. And her surprise that it was a doe. A very sweet touch.

I also absolutely loved the romance between James and Lily. You showed their love for each other amazingly. It made me smile, and it was a pleasure to read those moments. It was like light in the darkness sort of thing.

All in all, a very amazing and well-written one-shot. I really liked it! Great job!

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Hi, Angie! Thank you for stopping by again!. I really appreciate that you spared your precious time for this. :)

After joining Tidal Dragon's story challenge, I could continue this story. Compared with the previous works of my own, I think my description skill apparently has been developed. Your review gave me confidence, too.

I've just started writing Marauder's era. I think there are lots to be developed in both Jily and Snape/ Lily ship. I wish I could have more time to read the other authors' Marauder's stories. I'd like to learn more from the fellow authors. And I'd like to read your works,too. I will make time for reading yours. :)

Kenny



 Report Review

Review #23, by adluvshpRed Red Rose : Show Off

6th May 2016:
Hey again!

Ah I take back what I said in the previous review. You have a marvellous mix of dialogue and descriptions in this chapter and I enjoyed it thoroughly. The opening is wonderfully done, showing the events from McGonagall's POV.

The idea of Rose performing is so cool. We didn't see anything like this happening at the Great Hall during Harry's time but it makes sense to have new things incorporated in the Next-Gen era. After all, things change over years and it's nice you've shown that!

The idea of Hermione and Harry as guest lecturers is really cool too. I can see why Ron wouldn't be interesting in doing something like that - right in the nail with the characterisations there.

Ah Malfoy is a professor too? That is so cool. I am really liking your take on things here. Neville and Draco getting along, now that is something I didn't forsee, and yet you've effortlessly built it. Kudos!

Seeker's Heart - interesting name! Hermione was very much in-character worrying about "not encouraging them" and "can't decide their future" like this. Hehe. Malfoy's response was so apt though, loved it.

Rose and Scorpius are so adorable! I absolutely love how much she's in love with him and how she thought of him while singing. It was so cute. And the ending, haha. It made me chuckle.

Over all, this story is so much fun to read and I'm having a great time reading your take on the Next-Gen kids at Hogwarts. The theme is great, narrative perfect, and superb characterisations and dialogue so far. Keep writing!

Cheers!
Angie (Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Thank you again for coming back, Angie! You are so generous!

Yeah, at the description part, Kevin,Tidal Dragon, my fellow gryffie trained me to write. His story challenge gave me a chance to deepen the character's mind movement. This community have given much influence on my improvement in writing in English.

Like the other authors, it's easier for me to write about Harry, Hermione and their mates than writing about their kids. So I couldn't resist mentioning them in this chapter. It might be the first time for me to write from McGonagall's POV. It was fun, too.

As I wrote the scene that Scorp played the instrument at Hogwarts before, at House Cup 2015 writing duel, I thought of the musical scene naturally. If I had had more time, I might have written more in detail, the description part. I may be back to develop this story near future.

Thank you again, for reading and reviewing on this, Angie!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #24, by adluvshpRed Red Rose : A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

6th May 2016:
Hey Kenny! Here for Hot Seat. Thank you for donating to keep HPFF alive =)

This is a lovely beginning to your story! I enjoyed the banter between Scorpius and the others very much. The opening was nice with the banter between him and Hugo. I also like that Rose and he are dating - and Albus grumbling about it was cute.

Albus writing songs! Now I have not seen that done before, so that's a unique trait you've given him. I like it very much. Oh, and the idea of Hugo playing with "Uncle Harry's" cards is so awesome, hehe xD

Hmm, I wonder who Uncle George's best friend is. It's cool that they're making a band and Rose is manager. It would be really fun to see how they proceed ahead from here. I have to say, this looks like a great next-gen fic as the theme is quite different and fun.

Your dialogue flows naturally and overall narrative is great. My only CC if at all it can be considered that is I'd have liked a little more description/narrative. But that's just my preferred writing style - to have a good mix of dialogue and descriptions - and I understand not everyone enjoys writing like that, so it's totally your call =)

Besides that, I really enjoyed reading this. On to the next chapter xD

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Hi, Angie, Quidditch buddy!

Thank you so much for stopping by. You are so kind. :)

House Cup story challenge,"Game On" let me write Hugo's Card Game fic. It was so fun that I thought of writing about him again. My son's friends liked the card games, trading cards very much, so I made up the stories at House Cup writing duel. I also thought the idea that Scorp might play some intruments, which would be cool.
As you pointed it out, yeah, I prefer to explore the different themed next-gen story.

Ouch, your POV is really right. I have to develop my description skill. Though the deadline prevented me from thinking deeply about description, I should've spared time for that. Thank you for leaving your feedback including CC. I really appreciate for that. :)

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #25, by adluvshpDrive: Drive

1st May 2016:
Hey! Here for the TGS review exchange.

Aw, this was very, very sweet. I absolutely loved reading this. The pairing of Lavender/Oliver is one I certainly never imagined but you wrote it beautifully. It definitely worked here in this post-war scenario. Meeting in a therapy group made sense.

I felt sad for both of them, they had truly faced a lot so young, so it was lovely the way you showed how they found each other. The foundation to their relationship was built beautifully. I loved the idea of Lavender being self-conscious and wearing the scarf, and discarding it by the end of the story. It was poignant.

The ending was very hopeful and sweet and made me smile. I also enjoyed reading the way they kissed each other. Your descriptions showed me how much they loved each other. It was all very well done. Great job!

Love
Angie (Lost Muse/AditiDraco95)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>