Reading Reviews From Member: FriendofMolly
  
2,378 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMollyIn 19 Years: Chapter Eight

9th December 2014:
LiveBreatheNeedHP ,
I really hate it when Ron is a jerk. I do have hope that things will turn around. I am enjoying your version so far. I would like to have a chat with the Muggle Studies Professor.
FoM

Author's Response: All part of the character development, I'm afraid. Don't worry, he should be right in just a short while.
What kind of chat is that?
Thank you for your review, they are always lovely to receive.


 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 5: Mother

5th December 2014:
marauder5,
Death and mourning are always a tough subject to write about. I found myself flashing back to when I lost my Mom. So that should tell you, that this chapter was done very well. You balanced it nicely with the travails of Ginny in her first World Cup. I was almost afraid that the nausea had another cause. I understand the wait. I wish you well on your move. May it go smoothly, and that you find where you are going, is where you want to be.
FoM

Author's Response: It is tough, I was quite terrified to be honest. So that is very reassuring - thank you so much for telling me that. I'm so glad you thought the balance with the Ginny half of the chapter worked as well. I didn't want to be insensitive, but I also couldn't write a whole chapter about grief. As for the nausea... I sometimes find myself feeling a little sick when I'm just nervous. Thank you so much for your well wishes- I hope you are doing well too.

xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 2: Goblin Made and Goblin Smiths

15th November 2014:
oldershouldknowbetter,
What a place to end the chapter? Nice little cliffhanger. I do have suspicions as to what's in the package. I hope you have another chapter ready to post soon. You, again, surprised me with the direction you took Harry's confrontation with the Goblins. Harry is going the next step and begin the unification of the Magical world. I can only imagine what else you have in store for this story.
FoM

Author's Response: Wow yet another review thank you so much FriendofMolly - and they have all been wonderful positive reviews too.

I do indeed have another chapter written - it is in the hands of my wonderful beta Loonylovegood67890 who has been doing a sterling job on my behalf. She was going to rush the next chapter to me but I forestalled her - I'm selfish this way but I want her to do a good, considered job rather than a rushed one finished in a day. So any delays in the editing process should only be laid at my door and at no other.

What is in this package? I'm truly sorry, but you wont know exactly what it is for another few chapters - actually chapter twelve or so. You do get an inkling of what it must be (within certain parameters) in the next chapter though.

I would be very interested to know what you think it might be, hmmm. When we find out what it is not in the next chapter please tell me your suspicions; I look forward to finding out what people think it must be.

Yes unification of something that seems to be together. As we have seen there is an awful lot of disharmony in the purely wizarding world - particularly between the full-bloods and the half-bloods. That is one negative repercussion that I feel will come from the aftermath of the Second Wizarding War. Voldemort and his followers were pushing the pure-blood agenda very hard with very horrible consequences; for muggle-borns especially. I think that there would be a sort of back-lash against them.

Harry really doesn't have much to do with the pure-blood world - the only pure-bloods he knows are blood-traitors to a man (or woman). So we wont see much of it in this story, but some repercussions of it will be felt in the next-gen story I'm writing.

There are a couple of other 'wrinkles' upon the world of Post-Hogwarts that I have in-store for my readers - I hope you all enjoy them.

As of this response I have 95 views for this chapter, wow nearly a hundred.

Thank you all,

Oldershouldknowbetter.


 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 1: Harry on trial

15th November 2014:
oldershouldknowbetter,
I must commend you on a job well done. I have seen the confrontation between the Goblins and Harry in regards to the Bank Break in. Your version is quite unique, and so very right. It's obvious that the Goblins, don't need wands as they have their own magic. But with wands, but more importantly being welcomed and educated at Hogwarts, they will be on a equal level. Wizards have tried to keep Goblins at a lesser level, just as they have House Elves and Centaurs. Harry being the wizard he is, only wants to right a wrong, and most people think he didn't listen in Binns class. Or it could be just as Dobby befriended him, so did Griphook (and Professor Flitwick) so does Harry want that to be expanded. I must go on to see what happens next.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you again for the nice words and now a commendation too.

Thank you for saying how unique it is. To me it was just an obvious follow-on from the events that happened in the books and Harry's good nature. I truly believe that Harry would be disappointed if the outcome of the war was just 'business as usual, lets go back to the way everything was'. If that was all then what did everyone die for - for nothing to change for the better?

I'm not the biggest supporter of the goblins, but their position in the world of Harry Potter is very much as second class citizens. If Harry could see something that it was in his capability to change I think he would want to do it and actually carry it out. Especially if it squared away something that he knew was not necessarily the best thing he'd ever done from his past.

I don't believe that the goblins have much true magic of their own. I think its more of that 'old magic' like the protection that Lily put on Harry by her death. A tiny bit more but not terribly much - no cast a spell type stuff. Mostly it is because I believe the same ratio of wizards/muggles would hold true for humans as it would for goblins - well that is the central premise to one of the main thrusts of this story anyway.

The magic the goblins can use is explored a little bit more in the next two chapters (especially chapter 4).

Yes, it is not because they are goblins but because Harry sees a wrong which he can right. Sees a people that are oppressed and not given the full franchise that as a race they should have always been entitled to.

Thank you for the wonderful review, as of this response the chapter has 140 views, thank you for being one

OlderShouldKnowBetter


 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Prologue

15th November 2014:
oldershouldknowbetter,
I thought your treatment of the trial was very realistic. Harry and Draco will never be great friends, but they can now be cordial. I have a suspicion, now that Lucius is out of the house, Draco might be treated to more hugs like Narcissa gave to Harry. I did see something you got wrong. Dumbledore did not cast a invisibility charm on Harry before Draco appeared on the Astronomy Tower. Harry was covered by his Cloak of Invisibility. Albus only cast the Body Bind curse. Harry had been carrying his cloak all year, at Albus's request. Otherwise it turned out just as I imagined it would.
FoM

Author's Response: Well thank you very much.

I'm glad you thought the trial was realistic - I tried to match it somewhere between real-world trials and those witnessed in the JKR books.

Harry and Draco will probably never be great friends, that is true, but they may be something slightly better than cordial. They were cordial to each other on the train station in the epilogue of Deathly Hallows. But they now have children attending the same school together and in the same year. What if Albus is sorted into the same house as Scorpius?

So they may become better acquaintances if not friends after all. For a treatment of this I am writing a next gen story set in a continuation of this version of the HP world.

Hopefully without the direct influence of Lucius in their lives the two will grow closer together and become the better for it.

As to the mistake you thought you found, it was very deliberately done. I know full well that Harry was hiding under the invisibility cloak; Dumbledore only had the chance to cast one spell before Malfoy burst onto the roof - the body bind on Harry.

Harry throughout the books has endeavored to keep the existence of the invisibility cloak as big a secret as possible. One of the chief advantages in having an invisibility cloak lies in having your enemies not knowing you have one. Because being invisible is all about your enemies not thinking you are in their presence - if they know you have a cloak they will suspect that you may be present and take steps accordingly. The wizarding world has many easy ways to achieve a knowledge of a hidden/invisible enemy in your midst; Homenum Revelio just to name one off the top of my head.

So Harry says at the trial that '(he was) made invisible' to deliberately not mention the existence of the cloak to a packed courtroom. Yes I know in the final battle between Harry and Voldemort, Harry whips off the cloak and confronts him, but I'm not sure how many people (who didn't already know about the existence of the cloak) realised that is what he did. I'd like to think that to most people in the heat and confusion of the battle he just suddenly became visible. I don't know, but that is what I've assumed.

So as the trial was from 'Draco's 3rd person' view, I couldn't really put in there that he had made that mistake on purpose. As Draco knows about the existence of the cloak he could have wondered about the inconsistency, but he had more weighty and pressing, personal concerns on his mind so it slipped his notice.

Thank you for the great review as of this the views on this chapter are just over two hundred - how fantastic!


 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Getting To Know You

13th November 2014:
don_bski ,
That was really good. I enjoyed the interaction between Ron and the Grangers. Now of course Hermione found something that will aid her in her future career. I will love finding out just how much was done in the past, only to be dropped when Tom started his reign of terror. I guess I'm most interested in the House Elves.
Until the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for this review and the others you have done on this story. They are all appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMollyLife After The Defeat of Voldemort: Coming Home

11th November 2014:
harrypotterfan814,
It was nice to see everyone taking Arthur in the hospital so well. It wasn't too long ago that they were worried sick. I guess having Hermione at his side helped a lot!
FoM
PS Absolutely riveting.

Author's Response: Yeah, i figured having someone they knew really well tending to him and giving them constant updates would help them cope a lot.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, glad you still like my story :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: A Special Place

9th November 2014:
don_bski,
I don't know if I want to know more about the 'operative' at Azkaban or just why Ginny's secluded spot seems familiar to Harry? It's a given that Harry was recruited to join the Aurors. Is Ginny holding something back? What will happen next?
FoM

Author's Response: More on the way.

 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Troubled Times

8th November 2014:
don_bski,
Wow! That was an awesome piece of Magic, giving Harry a link to contact an Auror. It was a very smart decision to send it with him. It was a good way to end their trip to Australia. It's time for the next part of the story.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks. I think Aurors have other magical means available for doing their job. Developed by unspeakables, Aurors don't talk openly about it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMollyLife After The Defeat of Voldemort: St. Mungos

7th November 2014:
harrypotterfan814,
Ok you're forgiven. What in the name of Merlin happened to Neville? I am curious as to Hermione's promotion. That's quite a leap. You left so many lines dangling. Why was Arthur called out to Privet Drive? Why is Arthur being put in isolation? I've heard of limited visitation, but never total lockdown? I await your next.
FoM

Author's Response: I know there's a lot of things left unexplained, i'm editing my next chapter still to tie a few of those, but not all of them will be tied until a few chapters down the road, which i'm still working on.

Thank you for continuing to read and review, i really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMollyLife After The Defeat of Voldemort: The Christmas Holiday Fiasco

7th November 2014:
harrypotterfan814,
NO! Please , don't let it be Arthur. Btw, that's why I gave you 8/10. I was still stunned that Hermione caught the Snitch, and not Harry.
FoM

Author's Response: Yeah, i thought i'd change it up a bit and give Hermione the satisfaction of beating Harry and the opportunity to do something she hadn't done before and didn't think she could do.

Thanks for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMollyLife After The Defeat of Voldemort: An Emotional Start to The Holidays

6th November 2014:
harrypotterfan814,
Oh my! Could it be Albus and Sirius? Or Albus and Severus? Or even James and Sirius? But if it was James, where is Lily? But if everyone that was killed in connection with Riddle, Lily will soon be here. But until you post again I'll just have an incredibly warm feeling of what is to come.
FoM

Author's Response: All will be revealed in the chapter that is awaiting validation. Thank you so much for reading, i'm glad you like the story :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: The Meadow

5th November 2014:
don_bski,
It's hard to explain, but this chapter has stunned me. I know there is more than what we see. They were led to this Ethereal sanctuary, and for what reason, it is not knowable. What comes in the future is very exciting. More soon!
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for your your review. This is a unique chapter in the story. More allegory than I usually write.

 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 5: Chances

28th October 2014:
marauder5,
Those of us who stick around and read each new chapter are richly rewarded. You have a knack for coming up with a new twist on some of the usual plotlines. I admire your ability to mix old favorite characters and ones you bring to the Wizarding World. You make it work. so go back and start writing chapter 48!
FoM

Author's Response: I'm so happy you feel that way. Thank you, so much for those kind comments - it really does mean a lot. Just posted chapter 48 a few days ago so fingers crossed that you'll like it!

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! I appreciate it so much.

xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMollyBirth of the Potter Children: CH 10 Teddy and Babies

26th October 2014:
Jet,
I love watching the life long relationship between Victoire and Teddy. They are as entertaining as Hermione and Ron, just in a different direction. If I haven't said it lately, you have a solid grasp on JKR's characters.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you. I've already tried to anticipate the Hogwarts years. It will not all be smooth sailing.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Travel Plans

24th October 2014:
don_bski ,
How did I miss this Chapter? It was really a different perspective on the trip to get Hermione's parents. I have read versions of this scenario. Your take made a lot of sense. Well I was most surprise by the Goblins in Gringotts. Even though they were very happy that Harry destroyed Riddle, he did after all break into a forbidden place. Maybe in the future, when he tells this story, he should give the Goblins a way to save face. I'm looking for the next.
FoM

Author's Response: You didn't miss the chapter. I had some trouble using my time-turner and the last two chapters were posted out of order. They are in proper order now.

 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMollyLife After The Defeat of Voldemort: A New Beginning

17th October 2014:
harrypotterfan814,
Wow! Now this is an exciting premise. I'm just waiting for Sirius to show up. Do you have another chapter at the ready? Harry finally having his parents, strange and wonderful. I have a feeling that Harry is either living in one of the Potter homes or Grimmauld Place. If it's #12, I suspect very soon his Godfather will show up. Though it's great that Lily and James, Remus and Tonks are back, perhaps Severus will too be around. But I would really hate it if his followers, like Wormtail and Bella come back too. I do think it might even be possible for Albus and Fred to show up. All this is very mysterious and exciting. I do hope you will post more.
FoM

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for the review! I'm currently re-writing the other chapters i wrote a few years ago, to make it so it's not as rushed and changing some things i had put in. Once i'm done with chapter two, it'll be posted. Who knows, maybe we will see Fred and the others ;)

Thanks for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Searching for Memories

16th October 2014:
don_bski,
Now that's a happy reunion chapter. There are so many of these I've read. Many have Hermione's parents furious, some blame Harry, some have them trying to keep Hermione away from the Magical World. In yours they are more realistic and welcoming. That is great news for everyone. I am thrilled that you have taken this tone. Life needs to start being better, if not happier.
FoM
PS Hmmm, will Ron go with George or with Harry to join the Aurors?

Author's Response: Thanks again for your review FoM. I see the characters as veterans returning from a war. They went through a lot of turmoil in the HP novels. Those events and the war profoundly affected them. Likely there were many witches and wizards who were afflicted with PTSD as a result. But I think the moral fiber of the main characters allows them to choose to move forward in a positive way. How else could they achieve what is described in the epilogue of DH.

Keep reading for the answer to you question.


 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMollyThe Magical Life Of Azalea Dursley.: Chapter 11 ( christmas )

9th October 2014:
Marauders4ever1,
There's nothing more special in fan fiction,
than a Weasley Christmas. This was especially so.Sometimes I feel sorry for Zaley's childhood. But her childhood was so much better than Harry's, and now she's been adopted by the Potters. So I'd say she's ahead, and blessed. I did find a couple of little mistakes. I found in one instance, Potter was spelled with a small case p. Bill and Fleur's firstborn's name is Victoire. Also the word 'necessary' was misspelled in the line regarding the refilling fire whiskey bottle. I didn't find any of these interrupting the flow of the story, I just thought you might like to know.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading a YET AGAIN! It is always good to become aware of your mistakes as then you can fix them, so thank you. I also do believe that Zaley is in a better place than Harry was at her age, and there is NOTHING i love more than a good Weasley christmas !

Thanks again,
~M4E1~


 Report Review

Review #20, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Saying Goodbye

8th October 2014:
don_bski ,
A wonderful chapter. One question, Fabian and Gideon? If you are talking about Molly's brothers, they're dead. I thought you having Fred's grave dug by hand worked very well. George joining in with the Weezes was just perfect. The appearance of the woodpecker carrying an acorn brought a happy tear that Fred was able to say one last goodbye. I was disappointed that so little was said about Remus. Perhaps Hermione will have a hand in stopping the hate.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks again for your review. Yes, that reference to Fabian and Gideon was suppose to be removed. It was part of something else. Strike that sentence until I get a chance to correct it in the next update cycle. I need more proofread elves.

 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Comfort and Care

4th October 2014:
don_bski,
Outstanding. You developing an unique story. I am very intrigued. I do like the fact that Hogwarts is helping all of those hurt in the Battle. I was so afraid when Harry walked over to the injured house elf. I was afraid he might find Kreacher there. I was relieved that he wasn't. I do hope that we will see him reunited with Harry. I admire him greatly for his part in defending Hogwarts and helping to end the reign of terror. Please don't make us wait too long
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for your reviews FoM. I'm glad you like the story and are enjoying it. I'm also a admirer of Kreacher and what he did in the battle. There will be more about him in the future.

 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Healing

4th October 2014:
don_bski,
Outstanding! I came across your story after reading one of my favorites. I am so glad I stopped to read it. I love AtB's. You have given it a bit of a different spin. I have read others that have Hogwarts communicating with Harry. There must be something to it, after all the spell Minerva used to awake the statues, armor, and other bits of Hogwarts to protect the school. So having the castle help heal it's defenders is not that far of a stretch. I look forward to reading your next.
FoM

Author's Response: Reading the first books of HP, I often wondered about Hogwarts castle and thought it much more than just a stone structure. This chapter was an opportunity to explore those thoughts a bit and expand into past generations of students.

 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 5: A Christmas surprise

3rd October 2014:
marauder5,
This was a wonderful Christmas chapter. It was deliciously sweet to watch George and Angelina, with their secret. Molly and Arthur will be just as excited with their news as they were with Bill and Fleur's announcement when both there little angels were on the way. I can see that Victoire is quite a handful, not to mention devoted to Teddy. Harry's reaction to Teddy relationship was predictable, yet totally Harry. So what ever it is that has inspired you, may you be blessed with it again.
FoM
PS Your own story sounds intriguing. I just hope you are happy.

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you liked it. And you're right of course, Molly and Arthur will be delighted once they find out :) I see you've noticed that about Victoire - I reckon most kids that age can be a handful, haha. Thank you so very much for your kind words! I'm so happy that you're still reading and that you still seem to be enjoying the story.

As for the personal note at the end - how sweet of you. I hope you are happy too. And yes, I'd definitely say it's been an exciting year, and I'm quite sad that it's coming to an end. But off to the next adventure, I suppose!

Thank you again :)

xxx


 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMollyWhat Happens Next?: Chapter 4

30th September 2014:
ginweasleypotter,
I was thrilled to see an update from you. I think you have a good grasp on just what Harry and the others were feeling immediately After the Battle. Just remember they were all exhausted, both physically and mentally, so their conversations just might be a bit stilted.
More please,
FoM

 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMollyBirth of the Potter Children: CH 6 Molly gives Ginny her First Pregnancy Lesson

23rd September 2014:
Jet,
Ginny needs to practice the Langlock spell. It's the best way to shut someone obnoxious up, and lessen any flack she will get with her more aggressive hexes. Well that and a quick apparition, will save her more grief. Someday Sluggy's niece will get what is coming to her.
I am always amazed when adult children are surprised that their parents are still sensual even after they have grandchildren.
Good One,
FoM

Author's Response: Everybody is safe. Everybody we care about, at least.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>