Reading Reviews From Member: FriendofMolly
  
2,264 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 5: The going away party

15th April 2014:
marauder5,
Thank you for finally posting. It was worth the wait. Though the horrible murder of Dawlish, will stay with me for a while. It sounds like a strong Sectumsempra, which according to a spell dictionary, roughly translates to cuts like a
sword. I guess the antidote for that, was Luna. Sweet, wonderful, slightly off center, yet softly direct. I'm surprised at Hermione, she should know by now, Nargles infest mistletoe and are mischievous thieves. This is a wonderful and sad start to year 5. I guess life can't be all Honeydukes and Pumpkin juice. I do hope Ginny will get occasional letter from Luna. It would be terrific to hear about the creatures she finds.
Bravo!
FoM
PS So was the move, all you wanted it to be?

 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: CH 28 The Twin Towers

6th April 2014:
Jet,
This was a good review of who and what's been going on. I think if you had added anything more it would have been lost on those of us still stunned, 12 years later. On the other hand, it has whispers of what is to come. That is something to be excited about.
FoM

Author's Response: I made the choice when I started my story to tie it into real dates. One can argue if that was a good idea or a bad one, but I am trying to be true to that decision. I did not think that you could just gloss over September 11. Some years later there is an attack in Britain. I mention it as well.

I think the Wizarding world is more closely connected to the Muggle world than some Pure Blood families would like to believe.

Thank you for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #3, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Winters After the War: Office Politics

4th April 2014:
Mrs.Granger,
Just checking in. I found that I missed reviewing for this chapter. Even though I remember the outcome, it's still fascinating to read the process once again. Of course you bringing the three friends together on the case, fits like a glove. If there is one thing that their relationship would help, it would be as an example to the rest of the Aurors. Of course Harry, Ron and Hermione had many years of practice.
FoM

Author's Response: Dear Friend of Molly,

Thanks for 'checking in'. I'm always glad to hear from one of my long time readers, and I'm always interested to hear your thoughts about any particular chapter.

I wanted to let you know I've started to publish some of my other non-HP work. If you are interested, it can be found on Wattpad. I've used my actual name there instead of a pen name (I'm hoping to be noticed by an an agent). Check under Cherie Stabell.

Thanks again for your review.

Mrs_Granger


 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch. 26 The Malfoy Wedding

29th March 2014:
Jet,
I am so glad this chapter has finally posted. The flow and content are just perfect. Even though Ginny reacted a bit selfishly about Harry having to be in Switzerland during the Quidditch Finals, I am thrilled that when she recognized that Harry needed her, she was right where she needed to be.
Bravo,
FoM

Author's Response: Ginny knows that Harry has to put his job first at times. Sometimes what our head knows and what our heart wants are two different things.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Summer After the War: What is Right vs. What is Easy

11th March 2014:
Mrs. Granger,
I find myself feeling so sorry for the position that the Ministry has put Harry and Ginny in. I guess I would understand if he was there in an Auror capacity, but he was still a student. Proper protocol, my foot, It's governmental overstepping. Even if it takes years, the only thing for Harry to do, is put a ring on Ginny's finger, and declare to the world, they are engaged.
FoM

Author's Response: Dear Friend of Molly,

I completely agree with you! However growing up and accepting the role and responsibilities of an adult is never easy ... even in real life, the transistion can be difficult. This is what I was trying to do here: to explain how in the Wizarding world this might work.

Thanks again for the review. I'm glad you are still enjoying the story the second time around.

Mrs_Granger


 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Summer After the War: Practicing With Rats

9th March 2014:
Mrs. Granger,
Again, I'm stunned at an un-reviewed chapter.
Maybe it was meant to be as this was a really different chapter. Having the whole family, minus Molly, practicing contraception charms. It's a good thing they can practice on rats. It's also really great that the proof of success it readily evident. There has always been the joke, the Arthur and Molly were rubbish at these charms, hence the number of children. I have always thought this not the case, as they are very capable at other charms. Perhaps it's like the Unforgivables, you must mean it, and Arthur and Molly are thrilled with the size of their family. Ron is going to need lots and lots of practice.
Bravo,
FoM

Author's Response: Dear Friend of Molly,

Thank you again for your review. I always enjoy reading your thoughts.

I think you might be right that you have to mean it for these sorts of charms to work. That would certainly help to explain why Arthur and Molly have so many children.

Mrs_Granger


 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Summer After the War: The Population of Cats

8th March 2014:
Mrs. Granger,
I am rereading my faves, and imagine my surprise that I missed reviewing this chapter. As with all your chapters, it keeps the reader guessing. I also found bits of humour sprinkled throughout. I wonder when Harry will remember the book Andromeda gave him? I don't remember every detail of what you have written so I'm enjoying this as if I'm reading it for the first time. I do hope someday you'll pick up your writing once again.
FoM

Author's Response: Dear FriendofMOlly,

So nice to hear from you again after all this time! I'm glad you still like the story the second time around.

Actually, I never stopped writing, it's just that I'm working on my own unique work at the moment. My dream is to get a novel of mine published some day, so that is what I'm working towards at the moment.

Thanks again for the review.

Mrs_Granger


 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Deathly Revisionists: Harry Potter and the Deathly Revisionists

28th February 2014:
Eric,
Oh my! I understand what prompted this story. Their saving grace was that those who truly loved them, didn't let them go. That includes those of us who believe that JK got it right the first time. I know you are right in the assessment from Hermione and Harry, themselves. All 4 characters are driven people. It's what drives them that is different. Hermione said it all, when she intoned, "You cannot hurt me, because I am loved". That is exactly what is right about these two couples. Harry and Hermione are very much alike, because of their experiences before their entry into the Magical World. Ron and Ginny, though poor in material goods, always had abundant riches in the love they were raised in. Thank you for the way you had Hermione and Harry fight for their mates. Thank you too for the way you had Ron and Ginny fight their way back. A most excellent conclusion to this story. Finally, thank you for again proving that the right couples are the couples of canon.
FoM

Author's Response: Hi FoM,

As always, your review is generous in spirit and in detail and I appreciate it.

Thanks for taking the time to give me your feedback. You clearly get what I was trying to say and I'm glad you appreciate the result. Thanks,

Eric



 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 4: May 2nd, 2002

26th February 2014:
Marauder5,
As lovely as this was, it was way too short. I too am surprised, after mentioning their Anniversary, Ron didn't have something for Hermione. But knowing Ron, he just might pop a surprise in a day or two. I could feel the underlying sadness, yet it's looking a bit brighter and lighter. Congrats on your new home, I hope you enjoy it. So much so, that it will inspire some more chapters from you. Thanks for finally posting. Your story has been missed.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMollyWords Unspoken: Words Unspoken

19th February 2014:
Ryebread,
There were many things Petunia left unsaid. I see her as keeping her mouth shut and her words to herself, for self-preservation. If she says nothing she won't be admitting that she was wrong. She can't even think how scared she is, because she knows deep inside, she and her precious husband and son, could be killed, if not for the heart of her nephew. I don't know if Tuney will spend the next 9 months consumed by guilt because of how she treated her beloved sister's son. though I doubt it. I do hope she tries to find a way, after Harry is triumphant, to just start saying how she was wrong, and is sorry, and will forever be in his debt. You did a great job with this.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. And that's a great point. I honestly hadn't thought of the self-preservation point of view, but I like that. It really makes sense. You should write your own one-shot and improve upon my own ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch. 25 The Spring of 2001

22nd January 2014:
Jet,
How different this is from the first draft. It definitely flows a lot smoother, and opens a few possible plotlines. In every story, I find the urge to throw a Petrificus Totalus at someone. If I had two wands Carmella and Colorado would be my target candidates in this one. I understand Ginny's disappointment, but she is whining like a 14 year old. She can't be surprised when Harry gets pulled into a crime scene. She knew how he was when she married him. It's time for Harry to dig out his Omnioculars, so someone can record Ginny's matches. It's getting really good and mysterious, as there is so much that can happen.
FoM

Author's Response: It really helps having to rewrite something.

I'm working on having Ginny work hard on understanding Harry not being there. It's just hard to have such a fabulous sports season and then the most important person in your life is not there.

Thank you again for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMollyGeorge's Journey On: George's Journey On

18th January 2014:
potterfan310,
Thank you for writing the perfect follow up to The Journey. In the books, it was always Fred and George together. When Fred was killed during the Battle, we all knew, no matter what he did after, there would always be part of George that was lost. My favorite part of this one, was that George brought a jumper for Fred. The Treasure Chest was a bonus. I have to say Bravo!
FoM

Author's Response: Hi FriendofMolly,

Aww thank you! You're too kind. I love Fred and George and knowing that they would be without each other breaks my heart. I thought the jumpers would a great touch because I think that even though Fred was gone, Molly would still one every year for him.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

-Potterfan310


 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: CH 24 The Christmas of 2000

16th January 2014:
Jet,
You wrote a stupendous Christmas chapter. It was very sweet that you wrote of Harry and Ginny's plans of sharing their home with children who wouldn't have a Christmas. The simplicity of having the little ones make an ornament, was unique and beautiful. Thank you for sharing the first of many Christmas that Harry was able to participate in making it special for others.
Perfect,
FoM

Author's Response: Christmas and summer at the pond are going to be markers for the stories as the next generation gets older. Harry working the 23 and 24th is also going to play into some future chapters.

Please let me know when I fall short. Thank you for the review.

Ket


 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMollyPatronus: Helena Ravenclaw

16th January 2014:
Leonore,
That had to be the most unique way to end a story. It certainly is a reason that Helena turned the 'Baron' down. Perhaps why he killed her. I look forward to the flip side of this story.
FoM

Author's Response: I like unique! I will get onto the other side shortly - I have the plot mostly thought out. Thank you for reading and reviewing the whole set - a lovely surprise when I logged on.

Leonore


 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMollyPatronus: Molly Weasley

16th January 2014:
Leonore,
This was a very lovely memory. Of course Molly's memory for her Patronus involved her children. It was very sweet.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Leonore


 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMollyPatronus: Luna Lovegood

15th January 2014:
Leonore,
I love this memory! As close as Luna is to her father, you had to know that her best memory was with her Mum. I had a suspicion that it was magic that made the dragonfly iridescent, it had to be absolutely the most beautiful picture.
FoM
PS Now this was much more enjoyable. I do wonder what inspired the rabbit Patronus? We know the memory, just not internal reason.

Author's Response: I wanted something different to complete the set, a moment that's not in canon. I could have gone with DA, but that's not original. I have no idea what inspired the rabbit patronus, but that's what it is in canon (a hare, anyway). The memory is made stronger because it's the last day they ever spent together. So glad you liked it! I'm with you that it's better than Umbridge, but how could Luna not be?

Leonore


 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMollyPatronus: Dolores Umbridge

15th January 2014:
Leonore,
Usually its fascinating to discover what memory is strong enough for a Patronus. This one, gagged me. It also seemed a bit weak. But in Dolores's pathetic life, it had to do.
FoM

Author's Response: Umbridge is hardly the easiest character to write, and the fact that she could produce a patronus at all surprises me. But she can, so she must have some reason. It is hardly my favourite of my stories. Thanks for reviewing anyway and sorry you didn't like it.

Leonore


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch. 21 Ginnyís Head Injury and Hermioneís Promotion

15th January 2014:
Jet,
Never a dull moment in the Weasley Family. Narcissa may not have met the Toad, but surely she knew that Draco was the head of her Inquisitor Squad. I'm sorry that Ginny hurt herself, but it sounds like she put to end someone the MLE should have.
FoM

Author's Response: Ginny got a little carried away. Quidditch is in my mind a little like American Football or boxing, leaving too many of it's players injured. Her body is already a little battered, and it would be wise for her to be a little more careful.

Narcissa and Molly are important.

Thank you again for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch 20 Kreacher Reflects

13th January 2014:
Jet,
If only, if only. My heart breaks for Kreacher and Azalea. There is nothing worse than losing a child. In this case change brings pain, before the good. Harry certainly wouldn't want Azalea to endanger her health. Yet he is sadly unaware. Here's to better days.
FoM

Author's Response: You can see by the second inscription that Fletcher's life and death are bringing major changes to the Wizarding world. It is sad that it takes so much pain to bring this type of change.

Harry would be horrified if he knew Azalea is endangering her own life to fulfill Harry's off the cuff remark about having children. This story thread is not over.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #20, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch. 18 Relatives

13th January 2014:
Jet,
This was a little bit trouble, but a lot more joy I have to agree that Tom and Bill's grandfather and father are the nastiest we've seen in a long time. They were only topped by the absolute most hated woman alive, Dolores Unhitched. I predict she will spend the last miserable days of her life screaming,"I was only doing my job". At least the family have their own private beach to relax on.
Bravo!
FoM

Author's Response: I think people will forgive big evil more easily than petty meanness that delights in hurting other people. Dolores and Vernon Dursley seem to differ only in degree, and it is hard to see anything good about either of them.
The cousins are going to love the beach.
Jet


 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch. 16 Victoire has Red Hair!

13th January 2014:
Jet,
This keeps getting better and better. You are delving into the whys of House Elves. It's fascinating.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you.

It is always interesting to me how different authors handle the next generation. Birth order is important. Victoria is portrayed many different ways.

It seemed to me that everyone had Dominique as a female, although the name could be male or female. So when I first started to write the story I tried to make her male. It didn't work. I find it fascinating that even an author only has so much control of their characters.

I hope I can keep the house elf story consistent and fascinating.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch 15 Attacked by Guns!

12th January 2014:
Jet,
The final segment is the best. I think Donna learning to giggle is the first in a long line of good Motherhood lessons. Why a witch is fussed with a dirty dress? Does she not know Scourgify?
It was inevitable that guns would invade the magical community. It funny how the DE's willing adopt Muggle technology, when it does harm. This was breathtaking.
FoM

Author's Response: I am not sure how good Donna is at domestic spells, unlike Molly for example. Even if she does know Scourgify she may not take a messy dress lightly, especially if her mother was upset if Donna got dirty doing anything but playing Quidditch.

Donna has a long part to becoming a good mother, and it will not always be easy. I expect her own children would not be as timid at Tabitha, which would cause Donna to have to change parenting skills again.

Every child is different and ought to be parented differently.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch. 22 The trial of Dolores Umbridge

12th January 2014:
Jet,
I could hear her screeching all the way. I think her hunger for power and tight standards for that power is what finally took the rest of her mind. She certainly was delusional when she stated that if given the Kiss she would become a Dementor. I can just imagine her in her cell, lecturing a
non-existent class about the wonders and noble purpose of working in a proper Ministry. It's unfortunate that she probably will never acknowledge what she did was wrong. It fits with the attitude of the DE's.
Well Done,
FoM

Author's Response: I have actually started on a little work set in the afterlife. Harry and Dumbledore confront an unrepentant Tom Riddle. It allows me to grant some salvation to unhappy people like Petunia, who should not be condemned to spending eternity next to Vernon. I don't see any salvation for Dolores, however.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch. 23 Romeo and Juliet elves, Oh my!

12th January 2014:
Jet,
Such is the price for modernization coming to the Magical World. It just can't happen overnight. The ever-evolving change is exciting to read. I do want to point 1 thing to you. Your other Beta had put a correction as to the spelling of butterbeer. The correction is between two sets of **, instead of parenthesis's. You might want to remove it. I can't wait for the next chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: I looked for both * and ( in this chapter and couldn't find them. I think it is corrected now. Beer not bear.

Most of the long story has the evolving freeing of house elves in it.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMollyBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch. 14 Harry in China for Potions, then Reorganizing the Ministry

12th January 2014:
Jet,
You never cease to surprise me. Things are changing all over the Magical World. It's about time. Must go to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: Harry and Hermione are not the only people trying to change the magical world. In this ever changing world with more and more intrusive technology some groups of magical people have to be trying to deal with it and not just hide. I have the North American and Chinese in the lead, with Switzerland and some of the European countries right behind.

I portray Britain as behind the times, partly due to Riddle and some very conservative wizards. There are other parts of the world even more behind the times, however.

Jet


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>