Reading Reviews From Member: FriendofMolly
  
2,426 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter - Aftermath: 3rd Chapter

2nd March 2015:
AWPscrape,
Excellent. I kept hoping for a small portrait of Severus to pop up in the Potions lab. He might just know the antidote to the spell. But alas he hasn't appeared yet. You story is going in directions I haven't seen before. I'm enjoying it. Just please watch the punctuation, spelling and grammar.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks again for your reading and for the feedback you are giving me :) I hope that you will enjoy it to the end, but I have to tell you that it will take some time till we get there. :) I have considered what you said about beta reader and I have a few questions on you on that matter, so is it possible if you could add me on skype?

 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter - Aftermath: 2nd Chapter

1st March 2015:
AWPscrape,
The chapter again was good, but still had spelling, grammar and punctuation errors. Why Dawlish is still in the dark about the abilities of Harry, Ginny, Ron and Hermione? Just because Riddle is gone doesn't mean they revert to being everyday teens again. I understand Molly's rant, she hasn't seen 3 of "her children" in 9 months. She is forgetting that they all have spent the past year fighting the Dark Side, without the help of adults. I too, thought they should have sent a Patronus, but they reacted just as they have been for the last year. It's not going to be easy for these young soldiers to rely on others. I really must continue.
FoM

Author's Response: Again thanks for your reading and your comment. To your question about Dawlish. Well I will start with it is difficult to answer even in my mind and not to translate that to english but I will try. :D
Take it like this, he is a senior in the law department and he knows everything about Harry. Okay, not everything, but he knows a lot about him. He knows the things Harry had done, but look at it. He heard everything from second hand. He was not there, in Harrys fourth year, he came to the battle of department of mysteries after it was finished, he was not there in the battle of astronomy tower and he didnt fight in war. Later in the story, there will be some details about his time, while Harry was hidding. I have already planned it and I am not going to spoil it. ;)


 Report Review

Review #3, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter - Aftermath: 1st Chapter

28th February 2015:
AWPscrape,
Because I am addicted to After the Battle stories I chose yours. I enjoyed the content, but there were a lot of spelling, grammar and punctuation mistakes. You need to find a beta reader for back up polishing. You have the start of a good story, so please look into it. I will continue reading this. Like I said I like the content.
FoM

Author's Response: First of, I want to thank you for reading it. It is so good to read your comment and know that you like it and I am sorry about the grammar. I really do try, but you know, it is not an easy task to write in second language. I will continue my best effort and I am going to try and find someone who will be able to help me with the grammar issue, but people that I know, dont have time for my "stupid story..." :/

 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMollyA Free Elf: A Free Elf

28th February 2015:
dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap,
Thank you. You wrote a wondrous view of Dobby's last moments on earth. One can only hope that he is met by James, Lily, and of course Hedwig. He will wait with them for Harry to finish his journey, many, many, years from now.
FoM

Author's Response: Friendofmolly,

Thank you so much! I didn't think anyone would read this and to know one person enjoyed it truly makes my day. I wanted Dobby to have a shining moment because he was an important character to me and he deserves it. Thank you very much.

Deeds x


 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMollyStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: The Soul Ring

22nd February 2015:
harryginny2,
I can't help but think you gave us a hint as to where the "Soul Ring" is. This is not the first time Harry needed to speak to a ghost to find a hidden dark object. I do hope he has the same success. He probably has driven the rest of the Aurors crazy with his disappearance.
I need more,
FoM

Author's Response: I did give readers a bit of a hint but I thought it ok to do so. I hope you found the chapter interesting. I am still working out some kinks with the next chapter but will have it up as soon as I can

 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMollySummer after the war: Family And Plans

21st February 2015:
kellyhp,
WooHoo! How was the HP studio? I enjoyed the chapter. I can't imagine how excited the Weasleys were. Please don't make us wait too long.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMollySummer after the war: For old times sake

21st February 2015:
kellyhp,
I'm thrilled to see a couple of chapter from you. The content was good. The spelling not so much. As always it was good to visit The Burrow and those who live there. So thanks for this chapter.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMollyStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: The Program Proposal

16th February 2015:
harryginny2,
It looks like it was in the nick of time that Harry came up with his plan. Well it could be the man in the portrait in the Lestrange's was obviously a Wizard, but also was important to King John's court. If I remember correctly, King John was not a very upstanding King. In fact he was a very bad man and King. We are also talking about the same time of early Hogwarts. So the plot thickens.
FoM

Author's Response: I thought it would be interesting to add a bit of historical flare and create a few more links between the muggle and wizard world

 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMollyStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: Restructuring

14th February 2015:
harryginny2,
I can, of course see both sides. Gawain is threatened, and had never been encouraged think outside of the departmental rules, given the Ministry of late. If he in turn has ideas, of his own, perhaps he and Harry can meet in the middle. But knowing Gawain, that won't happen. Now I must go to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for your continued support!

 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter After the War: Mourning and Recovery

13th February 2015:
Austin Moony,
I think you handled this very difficult part of the story very well. The beginning of the chapter said it all. The nightmare will never cease. It will get better, but it will never go away. This one pretty much captured it all.
FoM
PS Watch your spelling and capitalization.

Author's Response: Thank you. And as for the spelling and capitalization I might need a professional editor. Haha

 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 6: Fred

12th February 2015:
marauder5,
What a lovely chapter to follow the dirge of the last. Fred lives again, and another layer of healing has been laid. But did you have to add the bit with Ginny's having magical surges. Is it her state of tiredness, or is it something else? I can't wait for the next.
FoM

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked this chapter too. It will be nice to be able to write about a Fred from now on. Ginny is very tired. I can totally see that messing with her powers. Thanks again for taking the time to read and review x

 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 5: May 2nd, 2003

12th February 2015:
marauder5,
You wrote a wonderful chapter. A particularly difficult chapter, but thoroughly perfect in the feeling you conveyed. I don't know if your spell check went on strike or that there was a hiccup in the processing at this site. I saw numerous misspells and possibly typos. Perhaps Luna's Wrackspurts got to it. Saying that it no way ruined the content. In fact the timing for Harry's partial meltdown was well done and came at a perfect interval. Yes all those who fought Riddle did so for the best of reasons, yet I understand why Harry felt at this time it was for nothing. Because the selfish actions of a crazy orphan were a waste of so many peoples lives. Many thought, if only Tom had turned his considerable powers to the good, how much better the Wizarding World would have been. And he lost after destroying so much, so other than destruction what was the use? Good for the voice of reason, otherwise known as Hermione showed up. Now I must continue.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! I am very happy to hear that you liked it. It was difficult to write as well so it's really great to hear that the emotions of it still came across. Thanks for telling me about typos - I'll go back and check for sure!! I'm glad you found Harry's little meltdown both believable and appropriate for the time. You're so right. There was really no point to Voldemort's action, so much to the action of those who stood up against him. I guess Harry got the two confused for a while there. As always, Hermione straightened a bit of that confusion up though.

Thanks for another lovely review, for sticking with the story and for making me smile. I appreciate it so much x


 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMollyStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: Quidditch and a Whole Lot of Tempers

8th February 2015:
harryginny2,
Sorry it took me some time. It was very well worth it. You've added a very Harry trait into the story, temper, temper, there Harry. Good for Neville fighting back. Good timing with the Harpies intro.
On to the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter After the War: Going Home

7th February 2015:
Austin Moony,
I enjoyed this chapter. I would like you to do a little spell checking. The place the Weasleys live is The Burrow, not the Borrow. Also pay heed to capitalization. Sometimes it's the grammatical errors that can take away from the story. You have shown you have a strong plotline ahead, so please show it at it's best. I don't mean to be harsh. If I didn't enjoy your story I wouldn't tell you this. Please post the next soon.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for the tip! I'm not the best speller. Haha

 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter After the War: Down by the Lake

25th January 2015:
Austin Moony,
A very interesting start to an AtB. I look forward to what direction you take. So far I like how you started it. Harry revealing his secrets to Ginny was said in a very direct manner. It should help with both of their healing needs. It wasn't a surprise that he told Ginny, she will always keep his confidence. I look forward to see how you handle the rest.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you. Feel free to add suggestions. I could always use them.

 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 5: The Holyhead Harpies

25th January 2015:
marauder5,
A perfect Quidditch chapter for the end of a wonderful Quidditch season. More important a welcome chapter from one of my favorite authors. As difficult as life has been for you this past year, it's now a new year, a new start, and a new you. So thank you for this chapter and the nail biting portions of it.
FoM

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so very much for those kind words. I'm so happy you liked this Quidditch chapter, Quidditch is a field I haven't written much before so I'm very glad you enjoyed this. And thanks for the personal encouragement too - you're so right, I just need to look forward and try to think positively.

Again, thank you so much x


 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 4: Lightsthefire

24th January 2015:
oldershouldknowbetter,
Applause, Applause! This chapter was not overly long, as it was filled with a lot of very important information. If you didn't give us the back story, what happens in the latter wouldn't make sense. As for any overshadowing, you wrote the way it was needed. You were able to keep LightstheFire in the center even amongst so many strong personalities. I can't wait for the next. Will Harry be the one who takes her to get her school supplies?
FoM

Author's Response: Hello, hello my faithful reviewer; do you know how much I love you?

Thank you for the applause. *bows with as much humility as one can manage*

I'm glad you didn't think it was overly long. My beta - the lovely and estimable Loonylovegood67890 - and I worried whether it was too long and would put people off with it's length. The problem was that there was no good place to cut it; no place worthy enough for the emphasis that a chapter break would impart. There were only two places I could have cut it and one of them was a quarter of the way in and the other was a quarter from the end - both places would still have resulted in an overly long chapter and worse an extremely short one too.

It was done and apparently done for the best (to slightly misquote Pride and Prejudice).

I don't know how important all of the information about the goblin society was. Strictly speaking it wasn't necessary, but I thought it's inclusion was warranted as it supplies some lovely background and expansion of a world within the Harry Potter universe which was largely untouched in the books and as far as I know very few within the fan-fiction community have touched upon it either. As such I had a lot of latitude in my decisions of what I wanted it to be like and what I could include. I wanted it to be a blend of old-fashioned and modern, muggle and wizard - and I think I achieved it.

Did you like Stampofiron? I did. Totally unplanned, she was a joy to write and was one of those happy accidents that come about when you have a space (character-wise) that you need to fill and let the dictates of that space shape the character within it. Her dialogue I hope worked and if nothing else still amuses me every time I re-read it. I wonder where I got the idea of a foul-mouthed, head cook from? hmm ...

I'm so glad Lightsthefire still stood out amongst those (you were right in saying) very strong personalities. Even her friends have very definite personalities that I hope I imparted a good sense of. Singssosweetly you can imagine the type: she has talent in her chosen field (how much choosing an orphan gets I won't go into); a big personality; and you can imagine that she never shuts up within her own group. Tendsthehearth is far quieter and hides from the spotlight (a spot she is happy for Singssosweetly to occupy), but she has a bit of the rebel about her - I can imagine her trimming her side locks of hair each week so that they stay JUST under the regulation length.

The action moves away from the goblins for a few chapters because Harry has accomplished all he set out to do before he returned to Hogwarts. He wants to have a bit of time relaxing in the countryside with his beautiful girlfriend. We will see the goblins again soon when Harry (and his friends) come back for the feast.

No Harry wont be going to get her school supplies with her, that's not terribly exciting. In fact it's pretty boring, a few books, a cauldron, some potion ingredients, no we wont be seeing that. Her wand on the other-hand, the selection of that could be quite interesting ...

Thank you once again for your interest, as of this response the story has 1350 views and this chapter has 66 reads - thank you all.



 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMollyHarry Lily and James Potter finally meet: Harry's children off to Hogwarts

24th January 2015:
evil hawk,
I thought when I read the promo that this would be something else. I'm curious, will you explain just how Riddle is alive? Also Albus is older than Lily, how is it that she has already been attending Hogwarts and Albus is a first year?
I'm also confused as to how Dumbledore and Severus are alive, and possibly Sirius. He went through the veil, so is it possible the veil doesn't lead to the afterlife, at least the one in which James and Lily dwell?
I'll read the next,
FoM

 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Hogwarts Again

19th January 2015:
don_bski,
An apology. I had forgotten when I reviewed the chapter with the moving of the Godric's Hollow cottage, that Harry had indeed found his first broom, from Sirius. I was dismayed that this chapter was the end of your story. I truly enjoyed every chapter, every bit of unique magic (you really out did yourself with the restoration of the enchanted ceiling). You included many unique beings, where usually they are not. I would ask if you haven't decided already, to lend your mind flow to the next part of the story. There are so many threads you started that you should continue.
Thank you,
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for your many reviews. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed this story. It was enjoyable to write thanks in part to what I've learned from this board and its members. I'm mulling over future story possibilities but my time is needed at a day job for a while.

 Report Review

Review #20, by FriendofMollyYears After: Year One: Hogwarts

17th January 2015:
moony_n_padfoot.
You did a good job of covering the important events in the lives of our heroes. It would have been better had you put more detail in your story. Are you planning more chapters?
FoM

 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Birthday Celebrations

16th January 2015:
don_bski,
Perfect, just perfect. How different was Ginny's coming of age magic versus Harry's? The appearance of the "red tailed hawk" choked me up, so Thank You. An anti-theft on a broom, excellent magic. If only we could do that with cars. I'm guessing that the ensuing Quidditch match was awesome. Write more please.
FoM
PS Luna on a flying bike? What a visual. Again Perfect!

Author's Response: Thanks. With respect to Luna, the careful reader might see another parallel.

 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMollyThe Magical Life Of Azalea Dursley.: Chapter 12, Part 2

13th January 2015:
Marauders4ever1,
AAARGGH! Please don't make us wait so long. This is definitely riveting.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewng AGAIN!! I promise it won't be that long, sorry !

~Marauders4ever1~


 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Shell Cottage Holiday

13th January 2015:
don_bski,
Well written chapter. The action was enjoyable, and the visit to Dobby expected and sad Harry and Ginny certainly made up the lost Quidditch play. I especially like the dance on brooms.
Until the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks. I was please with the way that scene worked out too.

 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Homeward Bound

12th January 2015:
don_bski,
Wow! I am almost speechless. It was wonderful that Harry and Ginny were able save the young mother and her cubs. The property that Harry and Ginny chose sounds lovely. I do wonder if they'll be able to have a Quidditch Pitch? Shrinking and moving the Potter Cottage was very unusual, but I liked it. Very cool for Harry to find his dad's broom. But where was his child size broom?
On to the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and happy you are enjoying the story. Harry finds his toy broom during the first visit to the cottage, chapter 'A Journey Home.' There's a lot going on in that chapter so I might need to rework the broom detail a bit.

 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMollyThe Secret of Hogwarts Castle: The Bus Ride

10th January 2015:
SilverPatronus,
Darn, what a cliffhanger! So far, it's the mystery that keeps me hanging on. Please post soon, with a longer chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! I promise that the next chapter will be longer.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>