Reading Reviews From Member: FriendofMolly
  
2,567 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 11: Truth and Ice-Cream

23rd December 2016:
oldershouldknowbetter,
Maybe, just maybe Harry kept things to himself because he wasn't always sure of what he was doing, yet felt he needed to do. Growing up he had to keep everything to himself, for fear of criticism and punishment. He was also taught by Dumbledore to keep things to himself. He also knew that Ron had grown up hating the Malfoy's for the way his family was treated. Harry though disliking Draco, could see how he was trapped into the world his dad controlled. But it was good that Ron spoke up. I did find something sly about Fabian Fortescue. And that lawyer is definitely not being entirely truthful. Definitely not totally upfront. But you were right this chapter needed to be written.
FoM
PS RIP Lavender Brown

Author's Response: Hello there, once again.

Here you are responding to my response to those who responded to my previous chapters. ;)

I see all the points you are raising as to why Harry kept secrets during the JKR books and ... I basically agree with all of them. All of them are good points, but for the purposes of this story, I had to narrow them down somewhat. Ron alludes to the fact that Harry had to keep his secrets, he knows that he had to, it's just now, there is no reason to anymore - not between good friends such as they who have been through so much together. I also had to have some good reason that Harry never mentioned Ron's reaction before in the story. The fact that Harry got caught up in doing what he thought was right and didn't tell anybody, especially Ron, just seemed right. It fits in with some of the things you mentioned too.

My readers pointed the omission out to me, but I'm glad they did. This exchange is a necessary one, one that needs to have happened to put the two friends on an equal footing. To go forward, to have any decent character for Ron he has to cease being the sidekick to Harry. He has to be his own man and one important step on that path is Harry treating him as such.

I really didn't want to have Fabian seeming to be sly. I basically wrote him for a few reasons, but one of the main ones was a comment I heard of JKR's. Where she said that the one death she regretted was that of Florean Fortescue. It was certainly a random, background sort of death, one that didn't play a major part, but to say that was the one death she regretted writing didn't sit right with me. I wanted to show that it did leave its mark. It did effect the world beyond the narrow confines of what we got to witness in the books.

As well as to show my take on how Harry was going to be treated post the end of the War.

As to the Lawyer, what lawyer is ever completely truthful? But we shall see some more of him in some of the chapters to come.

It was originally my intent to leave Lavender alive - probably with Finnegan - but then I read that JKR said she was almost certainly dead, from her battle with Greyback. Once I did think it though all these beautiful scenes came to me. Beautiful being an operative word, harrowing and heartfelt could be others. Not to spoil things terribly much, but the next chapter is going to be devoted to the end of Miss Brown. I hope to get it out by the end of Jan, beginning of Feb.

See you then.


 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMollyOne Year Later: One Year Later

8th November 2016:
CharmHazel,
You did a great job of the aftermath of The Cursed Child.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you. Have some other ideas for it as well. So keep an eye out.

 Report Review

Review #3, by FriendofMollyA New Normal: James Sirius Potter

5th November 2016:
CharmHazel,
Great idea waiting to the end of the chapter to reveal the name of the baby. It was nice for it to be Teddy they told. Obviously he's a bit nervous about where he stands, now. He'll know soon enough how important he still is. The rest of the chapter was terrific, as it brought us up to date with our favorite family. My how fast the family has grown.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you. Be prepared for the birth of Albus next.

 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMolly19 Years: Year 8: Expecting

3rd November 2016:
Marauder5,
Oh for Merlin's sake, You made us wait a very long time, so you filled this chapter with loads of start up threads. Ginny having a rough pregnancy, Hermione , pregnant but scared silly and a little boy named Topher. I'm betting that Topher is down in the Department of Mysteries. Could it be, someone spelled him to block his magic. It could be that he is a very powerful child. Perhaps his Mum heard a startling prophecy, and somehow masked his real self. Oh please post the next soon!
FoM

Author's Response: Sorry again for the wait! There sure is a lot of things going on here. Interesting theory about Topher- all will be revealed soon, I promise. The next chapter is nearly finished, it might just be another week or so before it's up. Thank you, as always, for reading and reviewing! Xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMollyThe Elder Wand: Dumbledore's Spell Book

30th October 2016:
bowtruckleinlove,
Of course Dumbledore had more plans than he had let on. It's going to take time for everyone to heal. But there are still problems to weed out. It's good they will give him time. But there has to be more to this story.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMollyThe Elder Wand: The Internal Struggle

30th October 2016:
bowtruckleinlove,
I was going through my favorites list and found this story, (at least a chapter),I hadn't reviewed. Of all the chapters I've read about how Harry deals with the Wand, this one is on par as one of the best. I look forward to the next.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 10: Weasley's Wizard Wheezes

16th October 2016:
oldershouldknowbetter,
As intrinsic as the Goblin chapters were, this chapter was a much needed reminder of the rest of the Magical world. So much to be considered, the missing DE's, the Grangers, and of course our beloved Weasleys. So thank you so very much for giving us this bit of the rest. It was truly enjoyable to read.
FoM
PS Don't make us wait too long.

Author's Response: Yes, the goblin chapters were necessary, but even I felt that they dragged on a bit. There was characterisation there, to be sure, of our main players, as well as containing some pertinent actions that had to be done before the story could move on, but I am glad the story has in fact moved on. There will be some more goblin stuff, especially when Lightsthefire gets her wand, but it will be leavened with other action as well. I never realised, going into this story, just how big a part goblins would play in it from having Harry make that one altruistic action of letting one come to Hogwarts. I still stand by it, as a wrong that he could correct and would correct, given his selfless nature, but that one action would have, and has had, some definite ramifications that have had to be addressed.

The missing DE's, the missing Grandparents, what will happen to the Weasleys in the fallout from the events in the closing hours of the war: so many stirrings of plot, hey? I think, with this chapter, the story has entered it's middle phase, the beginning events have occurred and we can now move safely on.

As to the next chapter, it is in the hands of my beta, the wonderful Pix, and I hope to get it out sometime in the middle of next month.

Thanks, as always, for the wonderful review.


 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMollyA New Normal: A Weasley Celebration

9th October 2016:
CharmHazel,
Thank you for giving Ginny and Harry a wonderful wedding and a joy filled reception. It was lovely and fun and of course with the betting a bit hilarious. It was a great chapter to read.
FoM

Author's Response: The bet is based on something that happened at my own wedding, so I had to use it as inspiration!

 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Last Wish: Chapter Twenty Six

5th October 2016:
Panacea,
Thank you. If you hadn't allowed the healing of Isla. The poison had a bit of irony. It was a surprise that Jordan gave it up somewhat easily. That they believed him was unusual, but lucky for Isla. Your story grabbed me when I first read the summary and it still holds on. I'll be on edge until the next post.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for being so supportive of my story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Last Wish: Chapter Twenty Five

30th September 2016:
Panacea,
What a way to end Jordan and Ginny's rein of terror with the Genies. It was spectacular. But Please do not let this to be the end of Isla. It would be a horrible twist if all she and Harry did to free the Genies ended in her death. I beg you let her live and be happy with Harry.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you ! I hope you like the last few chapters!

 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMollyAfter Deathly Hallows: I:AVADA KEDAVRA !

29th September 2016:
Slytherin Pukwudgie,
Except for the end, this was a concise beginning to what can be a wonderful tale. I enjoyed (if at this point that can be said), you included all the important characters. So I applaud you. Now for the part you may or may not like. I found you didn't space between the end of one sentence and the beginning of the next. Yes you had a period, but there wasn't the usual separation. You also had a few misspelled words and capitalization was also missing. You might want to look for a Beta reader to look over your next chapter before you post. Your story has great potential, with a few tweaks you just might find a smoother flow. I look forward to your next.
FoM
PS I can't wait to find just which Death Eater snuck into the Great Hall.

Author's Response: I thank you for the review and i am sorry for the mistakes.I will correct them.This isn't my first language and i was a little bit in a hurry when i posted it,but,no problem,the mistakes will disapear.

Slytherin Pukwudgie


 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Last Wish: Chapter Twenty Four

27th September 2016:
Panacea,
Oh no! There must be a way out. It's obvious how this happened. Ginny is the key. But if she is in league with Jordan, the Weasley within her must be suppressed. Oh please find a way around the possessed Genies.
FoM
PS Now you have upgraded this from knots in the stomach to an overwhelming sense of dread.

Author's Response: Thank you! I love reading your reviews! New chapter is up! I hope you're ok!

 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Last Wish: Chapter Twenty Three

24th September 2016:
Panacea,
Now would be a good time for a good Legimens. Jordan must be stopped. It was good for Isla to see her Mum. That will give her strength for what is to come.
FoM

Author's Response: Hope you like the new chapter! Thank you for your kind reviews!

 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Last Wish: Chapter 22.

19th September 2016:
Panacea,
You certainly have a way with bringing emotions out of your readers. This ended with my heart in my throat. The takedown of Jordan, did fill me with a joyous glow. It was close to when Molly rid us of Bella.
FoM
PS Don't make us wait too long.

Author's Response: thank you! I like the comparison of Molly and Bellatrix! New chapter up hope you like it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMolly19 Years: Year 7: May 2nd, 2005

10th September 2016:
marauder5,
It took a bit but reading this reminded me just why we read fan fiction. Clan Weasley is the reason this Magical war was fought. Their love for each other and for others and the inherent goodness within. You write it so well.
FoM

Author's Response: I am so happy you feel that way. Thank you so, so much for your kind words. I always look forward to reading your reviews and I appreciate you taking the time to write them more than you know! Xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMollyA New Normal: Bonded for Life

7th September 2016:
CharmHazel,
I have read many different versions of the Wedding of Harry and his Ginny. This was was especially sweet. As much as the whole Magical world has been watching Harry during his most important moments, it was good that this was a much more private moment.
FoM
PS It was perfect.

Author's Response: Exactly what I wanted. I just cannot see Harry and Ginny wanting a big wedding with the world watching.

 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Last Wish: Chapter went One

7th September 2016:
Panacea,
Stomach is still in knots. Astoria could ruin the whole thing. Hermione will help her out. Draco has a lot to make up for. It's understood he couldn't tell her about the plot. Please don't let this get messed up.
FoM

Author's Response: New chapter up!
So sorry for the delay! Hope you like it!


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 9: Politicians and Smiths

5th September 2016:
oldershouldknowbetter,
My head is spinning at the complexities of Goblin culture. But all in all the Magical community will be better for this to have happened.
FoM

Author's Response: Hi again.

I hope that your head is not spinning too much. I tried to make everything logical and carry on from what we knew, or what I'd established previously and what made sense. If you have any things that you want to know, things that might be unclear, then please let me know in the next of your wonderfully regular comments. Even though the next chapter is not one that has much to do with goblins at all (finally, I hear some of my readers say).

Not only does this follow on from some of my head cannon; not only does it follow on from what I believe Harry, with his good nature, would do if he thought of it; but, I agree with you, the whole magical community would be better off if it happened. It's something that Harry says - all that death and destruction must have been for something good, and not just to lapse back into the way things were.

Anyway, glad you are still enjoying things. And next time, well that'd be Sunday and we know that Weasley's Wizard Wheezes is reopening then, don't we. See you then.


 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMollyThe Waylaid Wand: Epilogue

4th September 2016:
Ericfmc,
This was the perfect ending of this story.
Thank you,
FoM

 Report Review

Review #20, by FriendofMollyThe Waylaid Wand: Blackbrae

4th September 2016:
Ericfmc,
Well you certainly packed this chapter with excitement. The thugs certainly didn't go down easy. Thank goodness for Susan and her latent magical ability. Now on to the last.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMollyThe Waylaid Wand: All Roads

3rd September 2016:
Ericfmc,
She did it! Unfortunately short lived. But Luna knew where they were, and now so does Hermione and Harry. This could be a big mess, but somehow things will be turned back to the good side. Thank you for revealing just who the bad guy in the Ministry. It makes sense.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMollyThe Waylaid Wand: The Sum of All Fears

2nd September 2016:
Ericfmc.
You certainly added more to this story with this chapter. A wizard within the Ministry is in collusion with a crazy Muggle. Why? Is it some Pure blood seeking revenge for the downfall of Riddle? Or someone disciplined for not fighting against him? Susan has amazed me, with her ingenuity trying to figure out how to get out of her dungeon. Perhaps she has a bit of magic within. I can't wait to get to the next.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMollyThe Waylaid Wand: On The Trail

1st September 2016:
Ericfmc,
Bella, never even thought of her. She certainly had the time. I just thought Dung messed up the spell. Now given they know it was a portkey they have possible destinations. Very cool spell Ron performed.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Last Wish: Chapter Twenty

1st September 2016:
Panacea,
Oh I liked this one, other than Isla being hurt. Draco was perfect and hopefully will be perfect to retrieve her bottle. But you probably
have something tricky up next.
FoM

Author's Response: thank you! hope you like the new one!
I have a busy week ahead but hopefully I can keep updating regularly ! Many thanks!


 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMollyThe Waylaid Wand: Ancient Rights

31st August 2016:
Ericfmc,
This was a gut-wrenching chapter to read. It turned out better than expected, so that was helpful. I almost expected Hermione to blurt out her fudging to Madame Pomfrey how big her front teeth really were. So thank you for the hope you've left for what is to come.
FoM

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>