Reading Reviews From Member: FriendofMolly
  
2,413 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter After the War: Down by the Lake

25th January 2015:
Austin Moony,
A very interesting start to an AtB. I look forward to what direction you take. So far I like how you started it. Harry revealing his secrets to Ginny was said in a very direct manner. It should help with both of their healing needs. It wasn't a surprise that he told Ginny, she will always keep his confidence. I look forward to see how you handle the rest.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMolly19 years: Year 5: The Holyhead Harpies

25th January 2015:
marauder5,
A perfect Quidditch chapter for the end of a wonderful Quidditch season. More important a welcome chapter from one of my favorite authors. As difficult as life has been for you this past year, it's now a new year, a new start, and a new you. So thank you for this chapter and the nail biting portions of it.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #3, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter 4: Lightsthefire

24th January 2015:
oldershouldknowbetter,
Applause, Applause! This chapter was not overly long, as it was filled with a lot of very important information. If you didn't give us the back story, what happens in the latter wouldn't make sense. As for any overshadowing, you wrote the way it was needed. You were able to keep LightstheFire in the center even amongst so many strong personalities. I can't wait for the next. Will Harry be the one who takes her to get her school supplies?
FoM

Author's Response: Hello, hello my faithful reviewer; do you know how much I love you?

Thank you for the applause. *bows with as much humility as one can manage*

I'm glad you didn't think it was overly long. My beta - the lovely and estimable Loonylovegood67890 - and I worried whether it was too long and would put people off with it's length. The problem was that there was no good place to cut it; no place worthy enough for the emphasis that a chapter break would impart. There were only two places I could have cut it and one of them was a quarter of the way in and the other was a quarter from the end - both places would still have resulted in an overly long chapter and worse an extremely short one too.

It was done and apparently done for the best (to slightly misquote Pride and Prejudice).

I don't know how important all of the information about the goblin society was. Strictly speaking it wasn't necessary, but I thought it's inclusion was warranted as it supplies some lovely background and expansion of a world within the Harry Potter universe which was largely untouched in the books and as far as I know very few within the fan-fiction community have touched upon it either. As such I had a lot of latitude in my decisions of what I wanted it to be like and what I could include. I wanted it to be a blend of old-fashioned and modern, muggle and wizard - and I think I achieved it.

Did you like Stampofiron? I did. Totally unplanned, she was a joy to write and was one of those happy accidents that come about when you have a space (character-wise) that you need to fill and let the dictates of that space shape the character within it. Her dialogue I hope worked and if nothing else still amuses me every time I re-read it. I wonder where I got the idea of a foul-mouthed, head cook from? hmm ...

I'm so glad Lightsthefire still stood out amongst those (you were right in saying) very strong personalities. Even her friends have very definite personalities that I hope I imparted a good sense of. Singssosweetly you can imagine the type: she has talent in her chosen field (how much choosing an orphan gets I won't go into); a big personality; and you can imagine that she never shuts up within her own group. Tendsthehearth is far quieter and hides from the spotlight (a spot she is happy for Singssosweetly to occupy), but she has a bit of the rebel about her - I can imagine her trimming her side locks of hair each week so that they stay JUST under the regulation length.

The action moves away from the goblins for a few chapters because Harry has accomplished all he set out to do before he returned to Hogwarts. He wants to have a bit of time relaxing in the countryside with his beautiful girlfriend. We will see the goblins again soon when Harry (and his friends) come back for the feast.

No Harry wont be going to get her school supplies with her, that's not terribly exciting. In fact it's pretty boring, a few books, a cauldron, some potion ingredients, no we wont be seeing that. Her wand on the other-hand, the selection of that could be quite interesting ...

Thank you once again for your interest, as of this response the story has 1350 views and this chapter has 66 reads - thank you all.



 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMollyHarry Lily and James Potter finally meet: Harry's children off to Hogwarts

24th January 2015:
evil hawk,
I thought when I read the promo that this would be something else. I'm curious, will you explain just how Riddle is alive? Also Albus is older than Lily, how is it that she has already been attending Hogwarts and Albus is a first year?
I'm also confused as to how Dumbledore and Severus are alive, and possibly Sirius. He went through the veil, so is it possible the veil doesn't lead to the afterlife, at least the one in which James and Lily dwell?
I'll read the next,
FoM

 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Hogwarts Again

19th January 2015:
don_bski,
An apology. I had forgotten when I reviewed the chapter with the moving of the Godric's Hollow cottage, that Harry had indeed found his first broom, from Sirius. I was dismayed that this chapter was the end of your story. I truly enjoyed every chapter, every bit of unique magic (you really out did yourself with the restoration of the enchanted ceiling). You included many unique beings, where usually they are not. I would ask if you haven't decided already, to lend your mind flow to the next part of the story. There are so many threads you started that you should continue.
Thank you,
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for your many reviews. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed this story. It was enjoyable to write thanks in part to what I've learned from this board and its members. I'm mulling over future story possibilities but my time is needed at a day job for a while.

 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMollyYears After: Year One: Hogwarts

17th January 2015:
moony_n_padfoot.
You did a good job of covering the important events in the lives of our heroes. It would have been better had you put more detail in your story. Are you planning more chapters?
FoM

 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Birthday Celebrations

16th January 2015:
don_bski,
Perfect, just perfect. How different was Ginny's coming of age magic versus Harry's? The appearance of the "red tailed hawk" choked me up, so Thank You. An anti-theft on a broom, excellent magic. If only we could do that with cars. I'm guessing that the ensuing Quidditch match was awesome. Write more please.
FoM
PS Luna on a flying bike? What a visual. Again Perfect!

Author's Response: Thanks. With respect to Luna, the careful reader might see another parallel.

 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMollyThe Magical Life Of Azalea Dursley.: Chapter 12, Part 2

13th January 2015:
Marauders4ever1,
AAARGGH! Please don't make us wait so long. This is definitely riveting.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewng AGAIN!! I promise it won't be that long, sorry !

~Marauders4ever1~


 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Shell Cottage Holiday

13th January 2015:
don_bski,
Well written chapter. The action was enjoyable, and the visit to Dobby expected and sad Harry and Ginny certainly made up the lost Quidditch play. I especially like the dance on brooms.
Until the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks. I was please with the way that scene worked out too.

 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Homeward Bound

12th January 2015:
don_bski,
Wow! I am almost speechless. It was wonderful that Harry and Ginny were able save the young mother and her cubs. The property that Harry and Ginny chose sounds lovely. I do wonder if they'll be able to have a Quidditch Pitch? Shrinking and moving the Potter Cottage was very unusual, but I liked it. Very cool for Harry to find his dad's broom. But where was his child size broom?
On to the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and happy you are enjoying the story. Harry finds his toy broom during the first visit to the cottage, chapter 'A Journey Home.' There's a lot going on in that chapter so I might need to rework the broom detail a bit.

 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMollyThe Secret of Hogwarts Castle: The Bus Ride

10th January 2015:
SilverPatronus,
Darn, what a cliffhanger! So far, it's the mystery that keeps me hanging on. Please post soon, with a longer chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! I promise that the next chapter will be longer.

 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMollyThe Secret of Hogwarts Castle: Holly

10th January 2015:
SilverPatronus,
Hm? What a mystery!? You have intrigued me. This storyline has great promise. I must continue to the next.
FoM
PS You have a typo in the first sentence, I believe Holly's last name is incorrect. Also if her Da is our Seamus, his birth year would have been 1980.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for telling me the birthdate of Seamus. I get confused with all those stuff. Also about the typo. Thanks for being with my story!

 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMollyHarry Potter and the Final Year: Chapter3: Titles and Relatives and Friends

4th January 2015:
oldershouldknowbetter,
Yes indeed, I liked this chapter very much. The Ministry has always had a group of purists. I'm thinking that Hogwarts should handle Hogwarts business. So sending out Harry, Hermione, or even Professor Flitwick would be perfect. A Goblin with a S.P.E.W. membership, really isn't that surprising. When like groups of beings, unite, it can help both! I'll be anxious to see the next.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you again for your review.

I'm sorry it took me so long to respond, but I was trying to look up some information.

Yes I believe it is not just the Ministry, but the magical society as a whole that is slightly biased towards purebloods. The explanation of how the detection of underaged magic works always seemed to me to be highly biased in the favour of pureblood children. The Ministry can detect that a spell is preformed at your residence but not by whom! Pureblood children could be getting up to all sorts of hijinx, even with their parent's knowledge and consent. Whereas if a muggle born did a spell at home - pow! breached the statute and it could be ruled (as Harry's was, unjustly) to have even breached the International Statute of Secrecy.

Hogwarts should handle Hogwarts business and under someone as strong as Dumbledore it did. The ministry might try to interfere if they think they can get away with it.

Yes I thought that given the pro-pureblood and pro wizard (read human) nature of the world in which they live, goblins taking an interest in the welfare of house-elves is a natural fit. If one magical creature could get a step up in the order of things it might make it easier for others to do the same.

Also I seem to remember Hermione was going to or did put an add in the Daily Prophet. This was the piece of information that I tried to look up, I couldn't remember if she had actually done it or not - I didn't confirm it, but I believe she did. I wondered what would be the consequence of that add, what people would it reach? This is a direct result of that add, and Hermione's desire for basic human rights to be extended to every sentient creature, going out into the world at large.

The consequences of this won't be seen until later in the story and the full consequences not felt for years to come (see my Next Gen story in about two chapters). *ahem, shameless cross-promotional plug*

The next chapter will be on it's way soon - all I was actually waiting for was to finish this review before submitting it for validation.

So I'll go off to do it now.

As of this response this chapter is up to 181 reads, but the whole work has 1120 reads - so fantastic, thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Labors of Love

4th January 2015:
don_bski,
Another fabulous chapter. I loved it from start to finish. Your magical imagination is intriguing. You have opened whole new area with the AP maps, and the Magical/Muggle computer.
More, more, more,
FoM

Author's Response: If the real ones only worked that easy. ;)

 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Aurors and Brooms

2nd January 2015:
don_bski,
I enjoyed this chapter immensely! You have a unique storyline and plot points. The physical test for Aurors, and the Ceremony after was really impressive. So far it doesn't look like there's any grudges being held (that is a popular plot twist), it usually involves Dawlish, Robards, or another previously unnamed Auror. Harry and Ron stirred up a lot of trouble while on the run, but now are considered Heroes, when some of the Older Magical Law Enforcement officers have doubts as to the truth of their exploits. The reconstruction of Hogwarts, with modern additions is very exciting. Of course the Cleansweep Brooms sound very exciting. I can't wait for the next.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks. Good to hear I'm not rehashing details already written about by others.

 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMollyStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: Fitness and Tracking Training

29th December 2014:
harryginny2,
Darn, now I'm caught up. Your story has a quality that pulls the reader in and never lets go. I do hope there's another chapter begging to be posted. I'm finding your Auror training one of the most strenuous I've read. That is a good thing, though I'm confused at the insistence of wandless transfiguration. Surely there are more basic training techniques needed first?
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely comments. I believe Ron and Harry had to learn so many basic and extensive skills during their year on the run. Harry had already somewhat began to try to learn Occlamency during his Hogwarts years and Neville ran the DA and engineered the resistance against the Carrows his whole last year of Hogwarts so that is why I have not included as much detail on basic training. Most of my story is also from Harry's point of view and he is the most experienced of the three.

 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMollyStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: We're Not At Hogwarts Anymore

28th December 2014:
harryginny2,
Oh my goodness! The maze again. this time it was almost worse. But Harry did think relatively quick, even though he probably doesn't think so. He does though need to control the energy he uses to do wandless magic.
FoM
PS You could tell he was trying.

Author's Response: Yes with the part of Voldemort eradicated from inside of him, Harry now has more space to expand upon his own magic, although learning to control it will be more difficult than one might think

 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMollyStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: Training

28th December 2014:
harryginny2,
How very exciting. It would have been so much better if Harry had faced Gawain. He obviously has a chip on his shoulder when it comes to Harry. Harry's going to have to work twice as hard to prove he's not an over-hyped wunderkind. Or does he have a problem because of Scrimgeour? Only time will tell.
FoM

Author's Response: I see the relationship between Robards and Harry as a complicated one. I don't think it would have done the character development justice to have had them face off so early in their time as co-workers

 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMollyStep by Step, the Missing 19 Years: Understanding

28th December 2014:
harryginny2,
I think the best part of this chapter was Ron fighting his way through to Hermione and the last part with Harry finding bonded chains for he and Ginny. That was a surprise, as I thought he'd find something in his vault for his love.
FoM

Author's Response: I wanted there to be something more than just a family gift for their relationship, although there will be items from the vault used later in the story

 Report Review

Review #20, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: A Summer Solstice

27th December 2014:
don_bski,
Well, darn. Now I'm all caught up and will need to wait for your next. Until then I will think about this chapter, and the feeling that this is a great turning point. For Hermione, and to a lesser degree, Ron and Harry, for them to bring all Magical Beings to a more level field. The star study portion was a different kind of Magic. Actually it was ethereal and awe inspiring. Please write more.
FoM

Author's Response: More on the way.

 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Centaur Sentiments

27th December 2014:
don_bski,
I do like the line you are developing. You have brought in the House Elves and Centaurs. Will the Goblins be next. A united Magical world will be a much stronger Magical world.
FoM

Author's Response: It will probably take a writer the likes of JKR to get the goblins to be nice. ;)

 Report Review

Review #22, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Magic and Choice

26th December 2014:
don_bski,
More amazing magic. The way that you're expanding the scope of the Magical World is great. Now that Riddle is gone, normal life can be lived. You are giving us a wonderful tour of what will be.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: On the Mend

26th December 2014:
don_bski,
Speechless. One question, will Gus forgive and respect Harry?
FoM
PS I'm liking to magical additions.

Author's Response: Hopefully. Harry is destined to become head of the Auror department. He'll have to learn to deal with this sort of thing.

 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: A Journey Home

26th December 2014:
don_bski,
Now this was a really good trip back to Godric's Hollow. Thank you for bringing Harry back one more time to the home he lost one horrible Halloween night. Ginny being with him was perfect. I loved that he was able to take some things, especially the broom, with him. I must continue.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMollyInto the Golden Sunrise: Taking Stock of the Pieces

26th December 2014:
don_bski,
Wow! I like the whole chapter. You really know how to build the suspense. Raccoons in the Storage room? A little levity is always welcome. But the discovery of Severus's book and by Harry? Something tells me that's just how he intended. I can't wait to continue.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks. Happy you like the chapter.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>