Reading Reviews From Member: RoseLolly
  
59 Reviews Found

Review #26, by RoseLollyThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Four - Severus

4th November 2008:
Urgh. He's so...sweet. They're so perfectly awkward, I can't wait to see where you take this. Snape's father and his horrid Death Wish thingy-What'll He do? I suppose it's one of those things that can't be undone. Evil, evil man.

I'm going to have some lunch now, act like a human etc. But I'll be back later to gorge on some more.

I love it, if I haven't already said that.
-Rose

Author's Response: I know...the sweetness itself is awkward coming from Severus. But I hope I did an ok job writing it... I know most HP readers out there couldn't really imagine Severus as being such a passionate person (especially before DH came out and PROVED IT! Ha HA! I told you all so!) but I think that's a very believable side of him.

Darn it, don't you just hate it when human needs like sleep and food get in the way of things you want to do? I remember hating it when I was having a good writing streak but then it would be 2 am and I was totally starving. I was always scared to go eat and have the chance of losing that streak...but it usually ended up ok ;) So so so glad you love it! I have been especially blessed after the server crash because I have had several amazingly kind readers like you who have left me such wonderful reviews! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #27, by RoseLollyThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty - Severus

4th November 2008:
Oh my god. You, my dear, are dazzlingly brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you! Wow! *blushing*

 Report Review

Review #28, by RoseLollyThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Sixteen - Severus

4th November 2008:
“Are you fancying dancing with anyone tonight?” Lockhart asked, trying to sound innocent, but the slurring of his words wasn’t helping.

“Not with you, if you’re asking,” I replied dryly. Lockhart guffawed loudly and clapped me on the back, much to my displeasure.


I just had to tell you, that is the favourite quote for me so far. Bloody hilarious. Lockhart is such a...urgh. You've written him with just the right about of...annoyingness.

That is all =)
-Rose.

Author's Response: That's probably one of my top five favorite quotes I wrote as well. Don't know how it came to me, but glad it did. Guess the innate Severus in me just knew exactly how he would want to reply to such a stupid prat. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by RoseLollyThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Fifteen - Avrille

4th November 2008:
It's all so deliciously original. I don't normally even let myself read stories that plonk OCs into the books and send them on their way...But this is different. She fits, and she isn't alll...unbelievably involved in what's happening in the castle around her. And, even when she does stumble into a scene from the books, it's still...yours. Or Avrille-have I spelt that right? Bleh, my memory is awful sometimes. Anyway, it follows along as it should, but it's fresh. A new perspective too, which is really spiffy. Good old Sev, I do love him!

-Rose.

Author's Response: Thank you! You really nailed it on what I was going for with the fic. I mean, I think with some OC fics it can kind of get like Forest Gump where they happen to be involved in every single major event in the book to an unbelievable degree. Whereas for mine I wanted it to be more like a Snape romance that just happens to occur in one of the books, if that makes sense. I'm really glad that it comes across as original, too. I had only ever read one HP fic before writing it and didn't read any until I was done because I didn't want to be influenced by what other writers did. Thank you for the review and super glad that you love darling Sev XD

 Report Review

Review #30, by RoseLollyThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Four - Severus

3rd November 2008:
I'm completely enraptured by every word you've written. This is so, wow, and amazing. Snape's characterisation is so perfectly fitting, and Avrille! What a nifty OC. She's so believable, realistic...the little rambling moments of embarrassment, etc.

I've yet to favourite, because I've been devouring this with my eyes far too hungrily to stop and click it. I'll do it now though, and dive straight into the next chapter...=)

-Rose

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so honored by your review :) I'm glad you like it so much and thanks for letting me know!

 Report Review

Review #31, by RoseLollyPerfection's Defiance: Pompous and Plum Colored

3rd November 2008:
I'm sorry I haven't reviewed sooner. (Three chapters in urgh.) I'm also sorry I haven't found you, and this story sooner. Completely brilliant. My word. I'm loving it to bits, characterisations are spot on, and I've never thought the Weasley's were an easy bunch to manage...

I just want to read more, so I'll leave it at that. But yes, I love you. Heh.

-Rose.

Author's Response: Aw, I more than forgive you. You will be reading more as soon as I am sure that the next chapter is absolutely perfect, which should be very soon.
I love the Weasley family, but I agree with you that they wouldn't be an easy bunch. That's half the fun of writing about them, though.


 Report Review

Review #32, by RoseLollyWeasley Family Mayhem: Weasley Family Mayhem

3rd November 2008:
Oh God. This was brilliant. =) Sort of reminds me of Brothers&Sisters. But yes. I loved it. Not much of a review, but I've just about summed my feelings up. Hehe.

-Rose.

Author's Response: Lol, thank you! God, it's been so long since I've been able to get onto a computer to write back to reviews, you guys must hate me! Anyway, just about a hundred reviews to soldier through. :) Thanks for the lovely review, darling!

 Report Review

Review #33, by RoseLollyOnce Upon a Moon Baby: Once Upon a Moon Baby

3rd November 2008:
Aw. So sweet, so fluffy. Heh. But really well done! Scorpius's little comments were so perfect, and what a lovely, lovely interpretation of Draco.

No concrit or anything. Great dialogue, smooth flow. And very cute. Yeah.

Loved it.

-Rose

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Glad you liked it. :D

 Report Review

Review #34, by RoseLollyCalliope's Guide To Surviving The Seventh Year: The Redding Clan

2nd November 2008:
What a spiffy start! I already love the family dynamics, and your characters are nice and easy to like...It had a good, smooth flow too, casual narration that really suited.

Can't wait to read more =)
-Rose.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you, I love when I can do things spiffy-like, so thank you for letting me know. Also, I'm glad you liked the characters, and the big family theme. It's always good to know I did well with the flow, so thanks for that too. :] I'll update as soon as I can, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by RoseLollyDelicate: Desperate Times

31st October 2008:
I absolutely loved it! Rose trying to pick fights was an amusing touch-well, more everyone's reaction. James scampering up the stairs...=) Scorpius's laughing...etc.

Robert! God, that was completely awful. Hope Jenny comes around-overreacting with her morals that one.

Brilliant job!

 Report Review

Review #36, by RoseLollyLily Evans: Dose of Trouble

30th October 2008:
This is so addicting, I can't even begin to say it =) Honestly one of the most interesting, moreish takes on the Lily/James ship. And Remus-that's such a jazzy twist, having him there. Right there.

Your James is brilliant though, you describe him so vividly somehow. His mixed up attachment with Lily...The jealousy...But you don't force him in. He isn't over done, or pointedly involved when he shouldn't be.

And Frank < 3

'Nuff said.

-Rose.

Author's Response: Dear RoseLolly,
Haa, Remus a "jazzy twist"--love that:) I'm glad that you like the relationships and all the complications in between (you can't have a good story without good, dramatic romance) And yes, James is such an intricate character. And I'm also glad that you love Frank (who doesn't?!)
Your Obedient Servant,
The Phantom


 Report Review

Review #37, by RoseLollyIt Began with a Push: It Began with a Push

29th October 2008:
So well done! Eek. Really sweet, not over done though. You created an image and it was perfectly enough to make the whole scene seem...real.

Loved the end though. Really loved the end. =)

This is me trying not to sound sleep deprived. Not really pulling it off, but anyway. Lovelylovely. All done =)

-Rose.

Author's Response: LOL, thank you so much for leaving me a review before you gave in to your sleep deprivation! :-) I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #38, by RoseLollyLily Evans: Welcome To Hogwarts Part 1

27th October 2008:
I think I may have read this forever ago, but I'm pretty certain I love this version quite a bit more. Really well done, all the character interactions and relationships are comfortable but don't reveal too much...Can't wait to read more!

Only one teeny bit of concrit, and it's honestly nothing. But there were a few places where a word felt a tad over-used in a few places...[nifty] & [man] from memory. It's so easy to do, and like I said, next to nothing. But something to keep in mind if you ever er, re-edit?

Anyway. Love it entirely! Adding to favs.

-Rose.

Author's Response: Dear RoseLolly,
Sorry about that! I just love using words that I use in my daily lingo, and those two must be my primary choices. Sorry if it seems a tad bit repetitive:) But thank you so much!
Your Obedient Servant,
The Phantom


 Report Review

Review #39, by RoseLollyStaring At The Sun: Staring At The Sun

26th October 2008:
Aw. So lovely to see a nicely portrayed Peter. Your characterisation seemed really fitting, and the idea. The sun. You tied it in so well. Really added a sweetness to it, the descriptions. To Dara too. It made her seem so... vivid, without pointedly describing her.

Completely lovely Peter/OC. Gosh, do I wish there we more of them!

-Rose.

Author's Response: Awww thank you :))) This is such a lovely review, thank you so much for your kind words! You've made my day, I'm really happy that you think so, it sure means a lot. Thanks again for reading and reviewing. *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #40, by RoseLollyJames & Lily's First Date: James & Lily's First Date

19th October 2008:
I just love your ability to crawl into the heads of teenage boys. I just know I'd stuff it up royally if I tried. =)

I think I might love everything you write. It's beginning to seem that anyway, isn't it? Probably because every word you write seems so... fitting, but nicely surprising too. However your head works, I wish mine could work it out, try it on for size etc. The ability to just scrawl out hilarity I mean. Yeah.

I got to Livia, and pretty much just forced myself to keep...awkwardly reading on. I wasn't sure I wanted to think about possible kids of a possible James...Too sad to think about it really. But funny too. I almost feel urges to write all those kids their own story in my head, you know? You sort of gave them life in their little vague-crazy-James-Potter-imagination-paragraphs.

No favourite quotes, because I doubt there's room for them all in here =)

-Rose.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Ah, to be fair, I always end up writing effeminate guy narrators, so it's not much of a stretch. xD

Aww, you're so sweet! I just love writing and it humbles me whenever someone likes reading what I've written. =) And there are downsides to living with my brain, like being horrible at math.

I think the most powerful humor stems from sadness, which is why I included the bit about the family that Harry could have had. You can't have a story about Lily & James without the undercurrent of tragedy, at least. ;)


 Report Review

Review #41, by RoseLollySituations: I Love The Girls Who Love To Hate.

19th October 2008:
Completely wow. It's perfect for them. Really, genuinely perfect.

Author's Response: . ahh!! THANK YOu!! thats what i think of their relationship too ;P i didn't know i'd get it perfect though *blushes* gawsh, thanks :]

 Report Review

Review #42, by RoseLollySilver Roses Dont Bleed: Summer Happens To Be Quite Boring...

19th October 2008:
Well, I'm definitely interested =) I just thought I'd point out that you've switched back and forth between first and third person without any indication...

"Cami awoke with a start and looked over at the sleeping body next to her. She sighed and rubbed her forehead while thinking to herself "It was just a dream..." Well it wasn't so much a dream but a memory. Last year was a tough year, especially for Harry and I."

It happens a few times, but a quick read-over should make it fairly easy to convert. Good luck, there's definitely potential for a great story here =)

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing that out. =-D
When I get some time I'll go over and fix it.
Thank you!
--Chanel


 Report Review

Review #43, by RoseLollyMy Life Without Me: Prologue

19th October 2008:
Your summary really...it pretty much convinced I had to read this, if only to see where you took it. Definitely want to read more =) The spacing seems a bit spazzy...but that's nothing, nothing at all.

-Rose.

Author's Response: yeah, I heard about the formatting, Ill look into it, i dunno what it is, but yeah. Im glad you liked it and my summary actually pulled you in!! I suck at them, but yeah, good it worked:]
Thank you for reviewing:]


 Report Review

Review #44, by RoseLollyGive Up This Fight: Inside Looking Out

18th October 2008:
Oh wow, this was so well done. Though, of course, you must know that by now =) Anyway, I really must read on, because it's brilliant.

-Rose.

Author's Response: Hi Rose! I'm so proud and happy that you thought it was well done. :) I've worked really hard on this story so it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed this first chapter! I hope you'll like the rest of it and thank you so much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by RoseLollyShadows and Dust: Two Princes

16th October 2008:
Your characterisations truly are bliss, even if you chose plot. I wouldn't have guessed you did :]

"It was the first sacrifice."

I really pittied Snape, reading that sentence. I think he's a fantastic character, but it's rare I'm genuinely moved by people's interpretations of him. What a mess though, giving up his Lily for something so menial.

-Rose.

Author's Response: ^__^ Wow, thank you! This is a very lovely review, definitely a day-maker.

I've been working on a solid characterization of Snape for a long time, so it's wonderful that you like how he's turning out in this story. =D


 Report Review

Review #46, by RoseLollyShadows and Dust: The Swallow

14th October 2008:
I've always wanted to read something of yours, because I knew it'd be lovely and brilliant. I just knew it. But it wouldn't be the same if I just searched you down, I wanted to stumble. And er, here I am.

This story already has me wanting more, it's got so many underlying currents that I can almost pick, but not quite. They make it seem so real. The little moments between Grimm and McGonagall are just, well, it's an intreging sort of thing, isn't it? Anyway.

Really glad I finally did end up here. I love it so far. And if I didn't have to go to work, I'd be clicking away on those little arrows til my hearts content. So, um, 'favourited,' and a pending, 'I'll be back.' And I will. I must. Obviously. :]

-Rose.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! This story is still iffy in plot, which is why I haven't updated it too quickly, but it's coming along slowly. :/ It's really wonderful that you like it, though, very much so. It means a lot that you want to read more of it, I hope you enjoy the rest when you're able to come back! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #47, by RoseLollyAccidentally on Purpose: Of Sexy Boys and Drunken Rants

13th October 2008:
"I'm not frowning at you." I say to him as I frown. "I'm trying to quirk an eyebrow."

I love drunk just as much as I love her sober. Your Sirius really is a lovely beast, might I add. Her sort of.furious attraction to him is nice and, um, oddly realistic. Yes.

-Rose.

 Report Review

Review #48, by RoseLollyAccidentally on Purpose: Of Flying Forks

13th October 2008:
You had me snickering like a mad fool, what is it with forks? They're just hilarity all round, aren't they? This must be what addiction feels like.

-Rose.

 Report Review

Review #49, by RoseLollyAccidentally on Purpose: Of Stolen Kisses

13th October 2008:
The banner, I'll start with the banner, because it's probably the reason I'm here, and I figure I'm forever grateful for it. For being so bloody brilliant, that is.

Anyway. Fantastic first chapter, I figure I'm already hooked, but I won't declare it until chapter two. You know, just in case xD I can't pick a favourite bit to comment on, I tried just then, and I thought maybe it'd be the beginning. or the bit she's explaining just what she's put Sirius through over the years. But then there's his acne free backside.

And the sneezing.

It's all there isn't it? What am I waiting for? Might as well declare my feelings now, eh?

I love it.

-Rose.

 Report Review

Review #50, by RoseLollyDelicate: It Can't Get Any Worse...Right?

13th October 2008:
I just noticed I'd wiggled my way to chapter 11. Without reviewing again. I meant to though, if that counts for anything. But the arrows always look so scrummy, so I click them. And eat the next chapter as quickly as I can.

I'm er, really enjoying this story, if I actually need to say it. It's probably love. Yes. I love it.

Your sense of humour is really just, awesome. Haha. Rose is wonderful to read, her interpretations add so much to the mix. But all the characterisations have been perfectly realistic (in terms of Weasleys and Potters, that is), and you've kept them consistent. I imagine it must be hard to balance them all in your head, work out who'll step in where and react how. But the family dynamics really are well done. Jumbled and messy and always changing.

Loved Hugo, by the way.

I'd give you a favourite quote, but there's a few. And you know, if this review box let me, I'd probably just quote the entire thing straight back in. Because it's all just as brilliant. Which is completely.

Yeah.

-Rose.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>