Reading Reviews From Member: adoranymph
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adoranymphDoor Into The Dark: Fear of a Name

21st February 2014:
So sorry it's been a while since I've reviewed, life is a busy thing, as you know. I've been behind in my fanfic WRITING too so that needs some doing. But I really liked this chapter. It was kind of a quiet one but it was a really clever way of working slughorn into the picture. And I felt so bad for poor Remus too! :( looking forward to more, and I should have more moonlight up soon, it's coming close to the end after all.

Thanks again for posting another awesome chapter :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by adoranymphDoor Into The Dark: Whispers and Lies

4th September 2013:
wow this chapter was taking a turn i didn't expect, but it makes sense all the same. with lily hanging out with severus, of course there would be a point where they might suspect that she wasn't all she seemed? first impressions aren't always correct, as usual, and at the same time they can be, which is what can make things so confusing and uncertain. :)

but i really liked that scene where lily gave him the cake that was sweet and something lily would do unreservedly. poor remus though, and even severus was contrite after remus lost it for a second. i particularly liked the line about remus feeling like he was being strangled by his own web of lies, very good imagery.

can't wait for the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Yeah, I just wanted to put a question over Lily here because we are in a way defined by who we befriend an hang out with, and if she is friends with a suspected dark wizard, she becomes guilty by association if you get me. Obviously Lily is good, and in the end what finishes her friendship with Severus is who he hangs out with and the views he has. She realises that he is no longer who she thought he was, if that makes any sense. But don't worry, Lily's integrity will never be in question in this story!

Anyway, thanks so much for reading and reviewing, I really appreciate it. I will read Moonlight soon and I'll try my best to have the next chapter up as soon as I can :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by adoranymphDoor Into The Dark: Respect and Disrespect

4th September 2013:
Again another excellent chapter, although I just got confused at the one bit where James rescued Remus from falling out of the tree--was he already climbing up there and reached him in time that way or did I maybe miss something? I just wondered how otherwise he would've gotten up there so fast to pull him up.

Regardless, the scene where James was trying to tell Severus which tankard to pick was just as good as the bit where Severus saved them from the grindylow earlier. Very dramatic, and of course I'm glad little Pete's okay. :D

I look forward to the next chapter, and btw what's the new rule about chapter length? I was looking through the site rules and I still only found the old rule about the 500 word minimum.

Author's Response: Sorry about the discrepancy there. I just meant for James to start climbing up to help as soon as Remus fell, but now you say it, there is not enough time for James to reach Remus as quickly as he did. I think a little re-write is due in that part. I will look into that! Thanks for pointing it out.

With regard to the rule of chapter length, I never read about it anywhere, but when I went to post my chapter, they told me it was too long and could not exceed a certain amount, resulting in me having to split it, to my dismay, because I'd never been caught out like that before, and I know you've posted 10,000 word chapters and it's been fine, so I figured it was a recent change there, though they did not inform us of it...


 Report Review

Review #4, by adoranymphDoor Into The Dark: Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

9th August 2012:
i absolutely LOVED this chapter! everything about it was just perfect. so well told, and lily and severus' characterizations were spot on, spot on. and remus' own fears and apprehensions. you really had him going up and down with nerves and elation back and forth. i was that way too, i'd get nervous meeting new people, but i'd want to meet new people, and i'd worry people made a judgement call and didn't like me (course my secret wasn't lycanthropy, it was just plain weirdness). excellent, excellent chapter, so i really connected with that. i think the best parts were little characterizations, like remus imagining arthur and his knights and his favorite quidditch team out of the window, or the way he "coiled his legs" around the stool while he sat on the sorting hat--and i loved the tension hook there at the end, thinking the hat was going to blurt out that he was a werewolf when in fact it ends with "GRYFFINDOR!" very clever.

and i would also say that this is what i love about reading stuff like marauders' fics in general, especially ones that take place in the pre-harry era, this far back, because you know how these characters' lives are going to turn out, and seeing them so innocent and unknowing, bumping into each other as such and finding themselves drawn to each other to what would eventually become "the harry potter story" is SUCH a great thing to explore in fanfiction. :D

anyway, great job again, and i can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think I did Snape, Lily and Remus well. I did find Snape very difficult to do, he caused me a lot of problems and I was slightly worried he was a little too like Draco Malfoy or something... so I am really glad you thought his characterisation was good.

I'm exactly the same way with meeting new people are you and Remus are (or at least Remus in this fic) - I think it's sort of a universal thing, everyone wants to be liked and wants to be friends with people but there is always this thought plaguing the back of your mind that you might say or do the wrong thing and lose the friendship you have been trying to forge - and I just took that and ran with it in this chapter.

I'm glad you liked the idea of Remus coiling his legs around the chair - that's exactly what I do when I'm nervous, so I just had Remus do it too - always write about what you know they say! I'm also glad you liked the tension near the end - is the hat going to say werewolf or is it going to say Gryffindor?

I know what you mean about Marauders fics there - that's the same reason I love them too, and it's a really great topic to explore in fanfiction, though a difficult one too and the pressure is on to the characterisation right.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing - I really appreciate it so much! Thanks a million - can't wait for more Moonlight now!!!



 Report Review

Review #5, by adoranymphDoor Into The Dark: The Aurors in the Woods

31st May 2012:
oh no! this chapter ends so terribly sadly, but at the same time i can kind of see where this is going, the origin of remus being so secretive when he meets james, sirius, and peter at hogwarts. but at the same time, the moment leading up to when he was about to tell paul his secret, my palms were getting clammy because i just knew what was going to happen, and there was all of this anticipatory tension that you did very well with your writing.

i also liked how you expressed his pity of the werewolf who bit him (like he said he did in the books) because for now he doesn't know that the werewolf bit him actually really enjoys it. i wish i had explored this a bit more when i was sketching remus' childhood in moonlight, but there you are.

and i also like how after paul yells at him to never go near him again because of what he is, we can see remus' own self-loathing unleashed, how damaging this condition is for him, and how that comes to affect his decisions later on in life, his insecurities, his relationships, etc. very, very, very well done!

p.s. i'm so sorry that i haven't reviewed yet or posted a new chapter of moonlight (until now). a week ago i caught an awful bug and i've just been sick as a dog but hopefully i'm on the mend now. and i hope the end of your school term is going well (it is over nearly, yes? i know the timing's a bit different than it is over here).

Author's Response: Hi! Yeah you're right, the whole point of this chapter was to show the origin of Remus being so secretive about his condition with the Marauders.

I am glad you liked the bit about pitying the werewolf who bit him, I'm going to do a sub-plot in this story of Remus finding out about Greyback, so I'm just laying the ground-work here! Don't worry about not exploring that concept in Moonlight a bit more, Moonlight is great as it is - don't fix what isn't broke, if you know what I mean!

Yes, again you are right, this also explores the origin of his self-depreciation too, showing that all his insecurities in his later years can be traced back to his childhood.

I am so sorry to hear you were sick! I hope you are feeling better now though! That's great that you have the next installment of Moonlight up - can't wait to read, but I will have to wait until later this evening when I get home!

Nope, still not finished and won't be until 31st July... the results of the term 2 exams came out yesterday... upsetting sums it up, so I have to work really hard this term to make up for it. But don't worry, I will set time aside for reading Moonlight and your new founders' fic! :)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing, I really appreciate it! Can't wait for Moonlight now :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by adoranymphDoor Into The Dark: The Runaway

8th May 2012:
I think this is my favorite chapter yet! It's so moving at the ending, so sad but so good too because Remus' parents love him so much. Not only that, but it almost foreshadows all the running away Remus will do with Dora later on in life, again, not because he's scared, but because he wants to keep the people he loves safe. And I really liked the imagery of the word monster "attacking" Remus, comparing that attack to that of Fenrir (the wolf). Very excellent. And I liked you connecting Remus' visualization of himself as a killer back to when he killed the gnome (accidentally).

Also, I totally agree that his parents would be under a lot of pressure after his being turned into a werewolf. In fact it's almost like you see that this whole thing might tear this family apart at the seams, but in the end, love can be stronger. And in a way, Fenrir loses.

By the way, I'm SO sorry I haven't posted anything more on Moonlight yet, I've been trying to get something up this week, but I am running a tad behind. Hopefully by this weekend though I will have the next chapter or two up, since I don't want there to be much interruption in Remus' confrontation with Harry! ;)

But yes, I would definitely say that this is my favorite chapter yet. I feel like all of the tension has been building to this moment of Remus doing something drastic like running away, and now I almost get the sense that Remus is going to try to move on with his family from this whole catastrophe.

Speaking of moving on, I hope that your year at college is ending/has ended on a good note? Anyway, Moonlight will be update ASAP, and excellent job again! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Really, thank you! You've hit the nail on the head with this - that's exactly what I wanted to do, show that even from a very early age, Lupin had a bit of a habit of running away to keep people safe, as of course he did with Tonks in DH!

Again, your spot on with his parents too - that's exactly what I was going for, how something like this could tear their family apart, but it doesn't, ultimately it makes them stronger, so I am glad you think that too. One of the things I wanted to emphasise (more in coming chapters than these four), is that Lupin turns out to be a good person because of his parents, it is their influence that saved him from the enemy within.

Don't worry about Moonlight, it's not as though I'm checking for updates hourly or anything (cough, cough)...! I know it will be worth the wait, so I seriously don't mind! Can't wait to see the confrontation with Harry now, that will be really interesting!

Again, you've hit another nail on the head, about moving on. You'll see that a lot in the next chapter, which will give a sense that everyone is moving on and are just living the life they have, as opposed to wishing they didn't have it. Some normality returns and I have Lupin grow up an awful lot, so I hope you like it! I'll be posting it in a day or two! :)

Nah, not finished with college for the year yet, I'm stuck in exams at the moment, but I don't actually officially finish until Harry Potter's birthday (July 31st) would you believe? We have three terms this year, as opposed to only two, which is a bit mad but there you are! No summer hols for me! So still a long way for me to go yet, but once the aul exams are out of the way (which is Thursday), things will be a lot easier! I will have so much more time to devote to reading and writing fanfiction, can't wait!!! Hope all is going well with you now too! Seriously can't wait for more Moonlight, and thanks so much for reviewing, you don't have to, but you do, and it really means a lot, so cheers!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by adoranymphThey Brought the Great Alastor Moody to His Knees: Prelude: Retirement and its Many Woes

19th February 2012:
an excellent beginning! i really liked the phrase about being able to see through a ruse like glass, and overall i also liked how you made mad-eye's reasons for being so vigilant not paranoid at all but perfectly logical, regardless of whether or not it's really only perfectly logical in his mind, because that's the point, it's from his point of view. so job well done, and i also liked how you expanded on the sort of relationship you fostered between him and lupin, and not only that, but conveniently it segued into the subject of his taking the DADA job.

i'm sorry i haven't update moonlight yet, i'm hoping to do that this week, and to make up for it, i'm hoping to get up a lot. things have been rather up and down, but hopefully this week i can get back on track. :)

Author's Response: Cheers for reading and reviewing, you're so good like that, you don't have to but you do! Thanks so much, really appreciate it!

I'm not terribly gone on this chapter to be honest, it's just a prelude, I would have put it up altogether as a one-shot, but if I did that I sorta felt that it would be a bit too long to be read as a single chapter all in one go, and that its sheer length might put readers off. So I decided to split it. I suppose I could have edited/deleted some of the material, but then I was afraid that Moody would have no rapport or relationship with the reader and as a result, what happens in the next chapter (his great fall, his defeat, his kidnapping) won't mean anything, you know? This chapter is more just setting the scene, the next one is where all the action is really!

I am glad you liked the friendship between Moody and Lupin - it was the only way I could make everything in the monologue connect. It was good as a sort of transition from Moody telling everyone about his life at the moment, to what will happen in the future (ie him taking the DADA job)!

Anyway, chapter two has been submitted, and that's where all the fun/action is (or so I hope!!!), so fingers crossed it will be validated in a few days!

Don't worry about Moonlight. I don't really intend my constant comment at the end of reviews: "please updated soon!" to mean drop everything and write the next chapter ASAP, it is more used to convey how excited/interested your story makes me and I am just eager to read more because I like it so much! Plus, I understand completely what it is like having no time to write! I'm in the same boat myself. I'm slowly finding time here and there to write an new fic - a novella - but I'm not going to post it until I've several chapters done, because the pressure to update constantly would just get to me, and would probably distract me from college work I should be doing... like the work right now I should be doing *guilt assaults conscience*. So anyway, no pressure or anything - I am just looking forward to your next few chapters and I will wait patiently for them, it's no problem. In the meantime, hope work is treating you well! :)

Thanks again for the review, you're so good! I really appreciate it so much! Thank you again. Go raibh mile maith agat.

TLM ;)


 Report Review

Review #8, by adoranymphWe Must Not Sink Beneath Our Anguish, But Battle On: Hope

27th December 2011:
aw that was just so sweet! i can't even begin to say how sweet that was! and gosh did harry need something like that when you just know his childhood was just that bad. speaking of which, i like how you portrayed it, how harry struggled with being alone, how he did find ways to cope and have fun on his own even though it was less than what he wanted, and how Remus gave him something special for his birthday when he really needed it, and how Remus felt a sense of empathy towards harry, and that he found a way to let him know that he was one of the people out there, hidden from him, who actually did care about him.

so excellent! and thank you, by the way, and i hope you had a very merry christmas and happy st. stephen's day too! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I am again so glad that you liked it! I knew I couldn't let Lupin take Harry away from the Dursleys, because that would completely defy canon (which I refuse to do!!), and I couldn't just let Lupin leave him there in misery, so I figured that Lupin had only one option: to show Harry that there were people out there who cared about him and that one day he would be meet them all, but right now he just had to hold on and survive until that day! :)

Anyway, thanks again for the review, does this mean that there is a new chapter of Moonlight up??? I must go and check now! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by adoranymphWhy I'm Afraid of Spiders: Why I'm Afraid of Spiders

25th December 2011:
wow this was a really great story! i mean it's a great interpretation in that it's very different from what i expected, having of course read nothing more before on it than the snippet that Ron mentions in Chamber of Secrets. it's a lot darker than what i expected, and i like that you showed how it affected Ron's relationship with the teddy bear that he lost as a result of Fred's turning it into a spider. job well done! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I am glad you think its a good interpretation. It's actually based on a short story I wrote last year where a boy loses his teddy bear, then I was re-reading Chamber of Secrets and Ron told Harry and Hermione that he was afraid of spiders because when he was three Fred turned his Teddy into one. So then the idea just hit me, why not adapt the short story I had written into a HP fan-fic? And thus this story came into being. Thanks again for the review! Hope you had a good Christmas Day and that you have a great St Stephen's Day today! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by adoranymphWe Must Not Sink Beneath Our Anguish, But Battle On: Loss

21st December 2011:
hi there! first of all, i want to say, a great start to this story! so sad, and i know how remus feels, because boy have i been there, just not wanting to get up and not wanting to face the daylight. i really can't wait to see where this story goes, and to read the new one that i saw just popped up which looks like it's about how ron got scared of spiders???

which brings me to my next point, i apologize for having disappeared from the face of the earth for like three weeks and not having updated moonlight or read anything except for this one chapter in that same amount of time, i have been BUSY, what with work (we get really swamped at the end of the year apparently), and then there's christmas shopping and other christmas related preparations, plus one other big personal writing project, plus i was set back two days because on sunday i was quite ill which was most inconvenient, but that's life!

anyway, hopefully i will have time to catch up over the four days i have off over the holidays, and then some time over new year's too.

so again, i have to say, an excellent start to this story, i think you've really captured how hopeless remus has become, how lonely, how even his own grieving process is almost routine, that's how grey and bleak his life is. i just wanted to cry! but i hope that harry coming into the picture (pre-azkaban era, right?) might help to brighten his life. don't give up remus! :)

thank you for this terrific opening chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so glad you enjoyed it and that you found it realistic! I think everyone has those days where they just can't get up and face another day. Overall, this is just a short story, very low-key. I just hope you enjoy the two remaining chapters!

Yes, I have written a story on the origin of Ron's fear of spiders, as you can see. It's a bit similar to "The Quiet Before All Bad Things" in that it's again told from the point of view of a small child. I hope you like it!

Don't worry about not being able to update Moonlight or anything. This is a very busy time of year. I've just finished exams myself and I had to write a 5,000word essay on Yeats, and there was all the preparations and stuff for Christmas, so don't worry, I can completely relate! I do hope you are feeling better now though after being sick!

I am so glad you liked this story and thanks again for the review. Yes it's pre-Azkaban, and yes, Harry will feature, mostly in chapter three though, that's where the actual encounter will be told. Harry doesn't brighten Lupin's day as such, I think it's more that he shows that we must not sink beneath our anguish, but battle on!

Thanks again for the review! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story and I look forward to reading the next installment of Moonlight whenever it comes (no pressure). ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by adoranymphI Hope He Will Understand: Fall From Grace

1st October 2011:
That was my most favorite chapter yet! I loved everything from the way Harry told Teddy that he could slide just as easily as he could so there was no point in avoiding his tickling, to the way you connected Teddy's confusion about his father to Harry's confusion, how they had both seen their fathers as heroes and then questioned that heroism for different reasons, to the very sweet ending where Teddy and Harry clean up the room, and Harry sees the signs of magic in Teddy when the picture is repaired, to when Teddy apologizes to his father's picture and tells him that he loves him very much regardless of his being a werewolf. It was all just so very sweet, and it's been so cool to watch Teddy grow up so far, as well as watch his and Harry's relationship develop. :)

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you! I'm glad you liked all the bits you mentioned, I really like them too! I also am really glad you like how Teddy is growing up and how his and Harry's relationship is developing. I've been working hard to make Teddy's relationship with Harry convincing and real, as well as a relationship that changes and matures with time. Harry moves from being Harry the play-mate, to Harry the hero, to Harry the father-figure (or I hope that's how it comes across throughout the story so far!!) Anyway, the next chapter is in the queue, so keep an eye out and thanks again for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: A Name

17th September 2011:
yay! all done! bravo! first of all, i would like to say that arthur is such a cute little guy. and i knew he would pick hufflepuff. :)
i also thought the naming of herpo the foul was a nice touch, since herpo i believe comes from the greek(?) word for snake, like in herpatology, the study of snakes, yes? and it makes sense that a guy with such a name coupled with the foul would rear a basilisk or two. and i thought it all tied very well together, with just a little bit of tense foreshadowing at the building of the chamber of secrets! (sequel perhaps?)
anyway, excellent job on this story, and congratulations for completing it. i don't read a lot of founders' stories, but yours, i like. and it's inspired me to start reworking an idea i had for a founders' story of my own. ;)

Author's Response: Oh wow thanks! But I should tell you, I didn't invent Herpo the Foul - JK Rowling did. See, she wrote about 100 chocolate frog cards for the Harry Potter computer games, and I just nicked Herpo and Hengist from there - so they are not my own creation - as always, credit all goes to JK Rowling! I'm glad you liked this story as a whole anyway, founders stories tend not to be terribly popular anyhow. But seriously, you should totally write your own founders story, and tell me when you have it up on this site and I will most definately read it! Well, thanks for all the reviews on this story and for sticking with it until the end!!! Can't wait for the next installment of Moonlight!

TLM :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by adoranymphI Hope He Will Understand: The Smile

23rd August 2011:
aw, that was so cute and beautiful! i love it! well done (although i had a feeling it was going to be a wolf!), still very cute! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much, that's all I can say!!! Really appreciate all the reviews. Looking forward to the next chapter of moonlight now!!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: Lies

23rd August 2011:
oooh! i love how you have gradually built up the tension between the founders, particularly between gryffindor and slytherin, and dropping those little hints about the chamber of secrets. awesome! awesome chapter! also liked the bit where slytherin pretended to be tentative in saying they should teach magic, that kind of teasing humor. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so glad you liked it! Thanks again for all the reviews on this story, really appreciate it! ;)

 Report Review

Review #15, by adoranymphI Hope He Will Understand: Funeral Blues

15th August 2011:
oh my gosh, such a beautifully sad chapter. and i loved how everything was written, all the mourners that came to pay their respects, and the idea that the plants were bowing their heads in grief too, and the idea that the torch was being passed to harry to be the father figure, and all of the memories flashing in his mind of remus and tonks, and poor teddy crying. and the ending was perfect and beautiful. well done! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review and all your kind words really!! I am so glad you liked this chapter, I was a little unsure about it myself. Looking forward to the next chapter in Moonlight, I've been checking every day!! :) Anyway, thanks again for the review and I'll put the next chapter up soon.

 Report Review

Review #16, by adoranymphI Hope He Will Understand: Death is a Scar

2nd August 2011:
aw, that was so sweet! i loved how you described teddy, so cute! and i especially loved that line about lily's eyes meeting remus' eyes, excellent image. i also liked your description of death as a presence, and how it affected harry especially in the aftermath of all that had happened, and you ended the chapter on such a sweet note. i love it.

and i agree, that was pretty much my only real problem with DH part 2 was that teddy wasn't really in there. i mean harry mentioned remus and tonks having a son in the resurrection stone scene but in the movie timeline it came out of nowhere and they had cast a teenage/adult teddy for the epilogue scene but then totally cut that out! but that's all the more reason for fanfiction! yay!

Author's Response: Thank you but firstly, I just want to say that I was never trying to steal your idea at all, because after I wrote this, I remembered you wrote a fic called "The Godfather" and one "He Will Understand" and I was never trying to copy you. I just wrote this because I was so angry that they left Teddy out of DH Part 2 and I just wanted to write something about him because I feft he deserved a mention, because he's great and all! That's why I wrote it, honest, not trying to copy you in any way!

I'm glad you liked my idea of death being a presence and how it effected Harry. I was going for this sense of fragmentation, brokeness and loss. Death was pulling the chapter apart, just like it was pulling Harry. And I'm really happy you liked the ending too, it just wrote itself, coming to me as I wrote. I needed something happy, because (I felt at least) the chapter was quite sad!

Thanks so much again for the review, you're great, just in case you don't know!!! Next chapter will be up soon, just want to see what reaction this one gets for a little while first!

TLM :-)


 Report Review

Review #17, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: Pressure and Relief

2nd July 2011:
Well done! Bravo! I think this is my favorite chapter yet, and very well written too. I felt so bad for Ravenclaw when Slytherin was putting all of that pressure on her, though I understood why, and it was so cool how you described the diadem working its magic. It was also cool when Slytherin called his snake friends to him to subdue the hog. And then of course Gryffindor slicing off the hog's head was awesome--and incidentally, will that inspire the name of Aberforth Dumbledore's pub?
Now I can't wait to see how they go from this victory to deciding to build a school there!

Author's Response: Yeah, you guess right, that will inspire the name of the Hog's Head, which, in my story, will be built where the head landed. Very observant!! I'm so glad you liked this chapter. There is one more chapter left, which I may have to split in two, haven't decided fully on that yet, so there maybe one or two more chapters yet to come. Thanks again for this, and all your other reviews, much appreciated!!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: The Battle of Hogsmeade

8th June 2011:
wonderful job! i loved it!
sorry i took so long to get to it i've been preoccupied, but i love how this was done. you've really worked a lot of suspense into the plot, and (maybe i've already said this) but i love how true you are to the founders' characters. and i loved how slytherin jumped up at the sound of his friend godric in distress. i really like how you haven't painted him to be some kind of predisposed baddie just because he's slytherin, because its true (according to jk) he and gryffindor were very good friends in the beginning. bravo! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Yeah, that's what I wanted to do, I wanted to show what great friends Gryffindor and Slytherin were, while at the same time, show some underlying weakness/badness to Slytherin's character which usually lies dormant but awakens from time to time. Plus I doubt that he was bad all the time, no person is bad all the time (except perhaps Voldemort), so I just wanted to show that Slytherin was somewhat likeable at one point. Also, he would have been a very one-dimensional character if he was just automatically bad, you know? Anyhow, thanks again for the review ;)

 Report Review

Review #19, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: Disaster

9th May 2011:
oh no! what is hufflepuff going to do? poor slytherin! and poor everybody else too! sorry i haven't read this until now, i just had exams week, but it was well worth the wait. good chapter! i especially liked "screaming sky" good imagery. also, was it supposed it to be "clouded his vision" rather than "clouded his village"? great job! i'm all in anticipation! :)

Author's Response: Thanks I'm glad you liked it! Hope the exams are going well, I feel your pain, because I'm doing final exams too at the moment!! Yeah, it was supposed to be clouded his vision, sorry about that... Sometimes it's just super hard to proof your own stuff and because you miss things like that, because I know it's supposed to be vision, so I see vision, not village when I read it - ah well, I'll change that now! Thanks again for the review, nearly finished the next chapter, hoping to have it up next week, once exams are over! Thanks again for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: The Hog

2nd April 2010:
Oh my gosh! I hope Salazar is gonna be okay, cuz I mean he's not really evil, and I feel like him and Gryffindor are good friends. And I hope that the hog doesn't completely destroy Hogsmeade. I'm really interested to find out where this is going to lead in terms of the founding of the school. Hope to hear more soon! Must know what happens! :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I've just finished exams, so I will start working on the next chapter pronto. Thanks for reading and reviewing!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: The Prophecy

27th March 2010:
oh my goodness what happens next! well, i suppose i'll have to read to find out! but can't read more know it's past midnight. this was a very well-constructed chapter, and i liked that line: "He was in full hero mission mode right now and as a result his sense of humour had decided to take a little holiday to mainland Europe, where it was sunny." Very funny and clever i thought. :)
i also thought you might like to know that i have arrived in ireland and will be here until 31 March. until next time, toodles!

Author's Response: I think the first thing I should do is apologise for the weather in Ireland right now, I have no idea why it's snowing/raining when it's nearly April but there you go. I really hope the weather hasn't ruined your trip, it does tend to do that a lot...
I also like that line, I was actually quoting my history teacher there, he says that all the time about his sense of humour and I think it's a great phrase! ;)


 Report Review

Review #22, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: Introducing Hengist of Woodcroft

11th March 2010:
hiya! sorry i haven't reviewed in while, but here i am now :)
really liked this chapter, and i think you've really got each of the four's personalities down. i just knew that hufflepuff would be the one to be so nice to hengist, and i liked that. i didn't care for slytherin's remarks, or gryffindor's laughter at hengist, but then boys will be boys i suppose. i'll be reading more soon. ;)

Author's Response: Thanks, I am glad you are enjoying it! I tried to get the founders to live up to the traits of their houses and I hope I got it right. I know Gryffindor is supposed to be this big hero and everything, I just wanted to make him more human and protray his friendship with Slytherin, showing how Slytherin was not always really evil. Anyway, hope you like the next chapter too!!! ;)

 Report Review

Review #23, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: The Perfect Spot

28th August 2009:
your founders are wonderful! i could definitely see Gryffindor "acting the hero" (just like another certain famous wizard), and i could see Slytherin as a bit demanding, and Hufflepuff as wanting to do everything in her power to help people, and Ravenclaw having done her "homework" (knowing already about Hengist (almost) and everything). i also loved the way you said, "As twilight softly caressed the landscape". that was brilliant description.
i'll be reading more very soon! :)

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I am glad you liked that phrase, I have been trying to improve my writing, particularly my description so it looks like I am succeeding - Yay! I am also glad you liked my take on the founders, I tried to make them embody the qualities they value in their students. Anyway, I am delighted you like my story and I hope you enjoy the rest!!! :-)

 Report Review

Review #24, by adoranymphHow Hogwarts Received Its Name: Hogsmeade, A History

22nd July 2009:
very excellent and very clever! *claps* and poor william! i barely knew him, and already i'm sad he's dead, but i can understand why hengist (awesome name by the way, i love uncommon names like that--what nationality is it, is it german?) freaked out: for one thing his wand was broken, and two, well, he was freaked out!
also very cool how your theory on how each of the (soon-to-be) founders got their individual magical objects and what they symbolized and such. very, very cool, and very, very well-written. bravo!

Author's Response: Cheers! Thanks for the review! I am very glad you liked the story. I will submit the next chapter pronto as I am now back home after my holiday to the USA! Oh yeah, I didn't make up the name Hengist of Woodcroft, JK Rowling did. He's on chocolate frog cards as the founder of hogsmeade! Anyway, thanks again for reviewing (as always) and I will update soon! :-)

 Report Review

Review #25, by adoranymphIt Does Not Do to Dwell on Dreams: It Does Not Do to Dwell on Dreams

22nd March 2009:
wow, and remus of all people taught him that. well, remus is quite clever, is he not?
this was very well written, i thought. it flowed nicely, and it was sweet and simple and to the point. i would think that dumbledore would have gone by "socks" as the old standby answer to the "what do you see in the mirror?" question, but then that's just me. otherwise, it was really a very clever and wonderful story. it's one way to explain how dumbledore might have come learn not to spend his time in front of the mirror of erised anymore, if he ever had the problem, which i imagine he did.

Author's Response: Thanks, I am glad you liked it! I was debating whether to go with the aul socks or not, but decided to do something different in the end, I did not want it to be too much like Harry's experience with the mirror, you know? Anyway, thanks for the review, it's much appreciated since I bascially just wrote this fic on the bus on my way home from school! Also I agree, Remus is very clever, sometimes I think people just don't give him enough credit! ;-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>