Reading Reviews From Member: Up and Away
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Up and Awayetc. etc. (and life goes on): Intermission, Enter Firewhiskey

20th December 2012:
I read this chapter when it first came out, but it was late at night and I forgot to tell you how absolutely wonderful it was. I loved the editing drinking game, Scorpius and Pickett joking around, and ALBUS. I am so satisfied with the way their relationship has come together (as you put it, in the "ooh-la-la" at the end), but immediately after the sense of satisfaction came, there was a sense of dread. You never do what I think you will with those two. I think you are going to pull some trick, something that will make me mad and unsatisfied all over again. But I am, of course, going to love it because you write wonderfully and your characters are amazingly believable. This chapter was spectacular, and I can't wait for the next.

Author's Response: After spending a couple hours with those two writing that scene, there is really no way to describe it than a bit of 'ooh-la-la'. I love that y'all know this is going to bring some terrible reckoning even with the ooh-la-la. I feel like I've made everyone suspicious and rightfully so, knowing what I like to write 8D

Thank you for reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Up and AwayHormones: At the Shop

19th October 2012:
I usually hate "I got pregnant at Hogwarts" story-lines, but somehow you made me love it. I love Freddie, I love how violent Ryan is, and I love the way they are reacting to the situation. Fantastic :)

Author's Response: You and me both, completely. I hated them so much I wanted to write my own and make it super different. Guilty! Anyway, so glad you're liking it so far. I really hope you continue to follow along. Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Up and AwayBreaking the Quidditch Code: King Henrik

18th October 2012:
Thank you so, so much for writing this. I cannot tell you how much I absolutely adore James. The plot was not only believable, but I was completely emotionally invested. I would have been devastated if James and Avery had not ended up together, or if James had not made it in the quidditch world. Hurry up with the sequel--and the sequel to the sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading all 54 of these beastly chapters! It means a lot. Really! And I promise to update as soon as possible! I have a lot of fun things planned.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Up and AwayIssues of Epistemic Modality : Three full stops (dot dot dot)

25th September 2012:
I love this story so much its insane. I've never given much consideration to Molly, but you wrote her beautifully and interestingly. Best of all, your characters were brilliant and imperfect just like real people and Dex was a real guy that I just fell in love with. Fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you so much up and away! I really loved writing this story and Mary and Dexter were too of my favourite characters that I carved out, so I'm so glad that you liked them :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Up and AwayDetective Inspector Muggle: Murder in Miniature

24th September 2012:
I am very excited about this--not only is it a wonderful premise, but you made references to both Sherlock and the Borrowers. Please, please keep this up :)

Author's Response: Its taken me an AGE to get to writing the next chapter of this, but I'm determined to do get it done very soon. And the borrowers and Sherlock are awesome ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Up and AwayA Light That Never Goes Out: The Muggle World, Part 1

16th September 2012:
You have absolutely made my life by writing Petunia as a likable character. Its almost impossible to find an author who takes the time to flesh her out. To me, that detail made this chapter fantastic. It should be noted, that I have absolutely LOVED every other chapter, too. All the characters are great, and I loved how you described James as being unsure of himself once Lily actually decided to go out with him. Fantastic job--keep it up :)

Author's Response: Aw, yay! I do think that Petunia often gets treated pretty poorly by fanon, which I don't love - she wasn't my favourite character by a long shot in the books, but I do think that there's a lot of depth to her, and I really can't see her as a villain.

She had a very hard life, IMO - she had so much jealousy and love and very conflicted feelings toward her sister, and then she lost both her sister and her parents at a very young age and ended up stuck with a constant reminder of everything she'd lost. I wanted to show Petunia as someone with a little more subtlety than just the awful sister nobody likes, you know? I'm glad you see her that way, too. :)

Thank you so much for the review, and I'm glad that you're liking the story thus far!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Up and AwayShenanigans and Hi-Jinks: The Hogwarts Express

29th August 2012:
Adorable. Please write more things about Teddy and V--they are my favorite couple. Also, I love Freddy and the hijinks he and V can get into :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you liked this!

I actually have quite a lot written about them - I'm not sure if you've seen it or not. There's Fish Out of Water, Fortune Favours the Bold, Cloud Nine, The Dark Side of the Moon, and In a Brown Study. I'm definitely planning to revisit them at some point as well - they're one of my favourite couples too! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Up and AwayA Suitable Man: Enchanté

25th July 2012:
I think I'm going to enjoy this story a lot! Keep writing :)

Author's Response: ooh, I hope you do - thank you!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Up and AwayThe sporadic suffering and tiresome torments of Albus Potter: The one with the grown up stuff

24th July 2012:
So I waited until the last chapter (I was on a bit of a roll reading) to tell you that I absolutely love this story. I mean really, fabulous job. The characters are real and funny and I was totally behind Al and Jan from the start. Add that to the fact that I somehow find James (who should be incredibly annoying) actually kind of endearing, and you have got a great story on your hands :)

Author's Response: Hey Up and Away! I'm really glad that you enjoyed it because I've really loved writing it. Al and Jan were just lovely to write about and I'm going to really miss them - James too (possibly the most, actually). Thanks for such a lovely review! Really made me smile :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Up and AwayBreaking the Quidditch Code: Best Friends

5th June 2012:
This was a fantastic chapter! Its so good to see James and Avery friends again--I didn't realize how much I missed it. I can't believe there are so few chapters left. Hurry Up :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying it! It was my favorite chapter, so I'm glad you see people are liking it. I was hoping I hadn't built it up too much, haha. Thank you so much for the review! I'll update as soon as I can!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Up and AwaySo, Listen...: April 1996

4th December 2011:
Well I hope you are happy--you made me cry twice during the course of the story. Fred is one of my favorite characters and you portrayed him beautifully. All the hilarity with just enough sweetness--I totally believed it could have happened. Please, please, please make Hollis happy in "So, Professor..." ok? I couldn't bear it if she wasn't.

Author's Response: Baww. I'm sorry for making you cry! Here's a consolation cupcake to hopefully make things better. ^ ^ So, Professor is a much lighter story, and she is indeed happier. It might seem bittersweet, coming off the back of this story, but I assure you that Hollis lives a very long, very happy life. Thank you so much for reading this story.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Up and AwaySo, Listen...: March 1997

5th November 2011:
The idea with the quill is fantastically inventive! And so Fred-like! I'm so impressed :)

Author's Response: Thank you! The quill is one of my favorite parts of the story, I think. I'm glad you like it too. ^ ^

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Up and AwayRanny: Jester

25th August 2011:
Yes! Does this mean that our lovely heroine is now free to fall madly in love with a certain Hufflepuff keeper? Because I love Perry so much :P

Also, I really loved the way you resolved the Albus/Ranny tension. You did a wonderful job of establishing expectation from both of them and they way it ended was wonderful--anti-climaxic and slightly humorous.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!
Perry seems to be a very popular character; I just love his name ;)
Thank you again, I'm really, really pleased that you're enjoying this! I love to write Al and Ranny interactions, they're so diverse, yet so predictable.
I hope that you like the rest!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Up and AwayThe Opposite of History: Friends or More?

10th August 2011:
I just wanted to tell you that I really love this idea! And it is brilliantly written :) You had me completely entranced with Lily's life--both real and dream. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you have enjoyed this story so far and I hope you'll come back for more.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Up and AwayRanny: Damsel

1st August 2011:
Robin Robin Robin! It was wonderful. I have really enjoyed Al being so flawed--usually people make him perfect, bookish, sweet. The way you have written him is unique and and I can't wait for him to make his comeback as a hero (or at least a better friend haha)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm glad that you're enjoying this still, and that you like the next chapter!
Honestly, if the main guy is sweet and perfect I can't read the story, no matter who he is, I have to write them with lots of flaws.
I have actually tried writing a sweet Al in the past, bookish - to use your word - but it just wasn't working for me. So I kept going with character development and I came up with a bit of an arrogant Albus Potter. :)
Thank you again! I hope that you like the rest!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Up and AwayKismet: Classy Quills

18th July 2011:
I like the idea and I'm sure you will do well with the story :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Up and AwayWinner Takes All: Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

12th July 2011:
I waited a long time for this final chapter, and I wanted you to know that it was worth it! I love Teddy and you wrote him beautifully.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm sorry about the wait, but I'm also very glad to hear that it was a worthwhile wait. ^_^ And that you like Teddy is even better. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Up and AwayRomeo and Juliet: Wherefore art thou, Romeo?

19th May 2011:
Hahaha I really enjoyed this. I didn't read the note at the top at first, so i was confused for the first two paragraphs, but once I realized you weren't doing this on purpose, I loved it.

Thank you for brightening my day!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Up and AwayMorocco: CHAPTER SIXTEEN

18th May 2011:
This was wonderful--absolutely spectacular. The characters were fantastic, and the plot...I'm just so impressed I don't have words. The world you created was so believable and intriguing.

And the romantic in me loved the way you brought Rose and Scorpius together. You made them unsure in a way that still allowed me to believe they would get together in the end, and when they finally did I was completely satisfied.

I meant to review each chapter as I went along, but because I didn't, I tried to make the review extra complementary--you deserve it.

Author's Response: thank you darling. i am really happy you enjoyed it and especially that you liked the characters, as i was very attached to all of them by the end (except perhaps Areli...he frightened me!). Thank you - I really appreciate hearing your thoughts!
xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by Up and AwayThe King Of Hearts: Queen

5th May 2011:
I just wanted you to know this was wonderful! I really enjoyed the characters--they were believable and interesting--and the plot was fun to read.

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm glad that you've enjoyed this little story of mine! :D
I had so much fun writing this; it was so different to anything that I had ever done before.
Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Up and AwayBreathless: This Could Not Get Any Worse.

8th February 2011:
I actually like it. Its weird, because I wasn't sure how I felt at first--Adele and Albus were so immature and yet married--but I like the way they are adapting. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Up and AwayBreaking the Quidditch Code: The Worst Type of Hypocrite

7th February 2011:
Wonderful as always. I really love how you described everyone's reactions. Obviously people were going to be mad, but I really loved that it was Lily who stood up for James (and did an excellent job of it). Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! Everything just sort of hit the fan. The usual in my stories, I must confess. I do love Lily. She's one of my favorites. I think I say that about every character. Darn it. thanks!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Up and AwayThe Dark of Night: I

1st February 2011:
I am really very curious to see where this is going. Good job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Up and AwayThe Oddballs of Ravenclaw: Fourthies.

31st January 2011:
I just wanted to tell you that I really liked that last line--"I didn't know I would be." It made me smile. Poor Scorpius doesn't know whats coming for him, does he?

Very nice!

Author's Response: Of course he doesnt! Hahaha. He's about to be blind sighted:)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Up and AwayBreaking the Quidditch Code: Caught

9th January 2011:
The "manly mittens" were a thing of brilliance.

Bravo :)

(Also, I really enjoy James--you make his worries and emotions believable. Wonderful!)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked that! I was at work before the chapter was written daydreaming their date and their walk over there and thought about James's clothes. And I knew he had to have mittens. But not girly mittens, because there's no way he'd EVER look feminine (lol), so thus came manly mittens!

I'm also thrilled you enjoy James :) I love writing him and he feels so real to me. So I'm happy! Thanks so much!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>