Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
453 Reviews Found

Review #26, by marauderfan Just Edie

27th May 2015:
Wow, so much has changed! Aah, I love that she's working for the FGC and doing freelance writing, I am so glad that things worked out so well and that she's doing the work she loves. I like that it's set up so that things may eventually return to somewhat-normal with Dean and Edie because I love their friendship :) but it's not an easy road and thats shown really well.

I also love that Rose and Edie are legit friends now. Rose was always an interesting character and had a lot in common with Edie in some ways, despite their differences, and its nice to see that they were able to become friends.

The part where she goes back to Hogwarts was so metaphorical of her journey over the whole story so far.So deep. I loved it. And omg I am on the edge of my seat waiting to know what will happen with Edie and Oliver. Anything could happen and I can't believe there is only one chapter left! I am so excited to know what happens but also not excited because then it will be over. It's a real dilemma. Aah! Anyway, this was a great chapter!! I love all the different themes and how well rounded this story is - it's so much more than a love story, its about finding who you are and growing up and there are so many things that go into that so I like how there were so many subplots, it made for a very rich story.

Excellent work!

Author's Response: Yes, things have finally worked out for Edie--at least in the employment department. I suppose she could have a big-shot journalism career writing about everything that interests her, but that didn't feel too realistic to me!

Dean and Edie will probably never go back to being completely normal, but they're at least talking now. Natalie is going to put a strain on things. Dean finding a new (and more compatible) love interest is really important and formative for their relationship. Edie will realize that Dean was only doing certain things for her (landing her an internship, for one) and being there for her all the time because he had feelings for her. I tried to allude to those weird, semi-jealous feelings that occur when someone who liked you unrequitedly finds a new love interest. Edie certainly doesn't have feelings for Dean, but he's being swept away much in the way that Lisa was by Justin. It sheds some light on how Dean's actions as her supposed best friend were really founded on sexual or romantic intentions, and not just friendship, which makes you feel super weird.

Yes, Rose and Edie are friends! It was important to me that this wasn't a Girl vs Girl fic--especially Girl vs Girl fighting over Boy. In a lot of ways Edie and Rose had more in common than Edie and Lisa. The former are both single (or before Conor at least), in to the nightlife scene, and writers. Lisa and Edie are meant to represent the friend you make when you're eleven, and who you grow in a different direction from. Even though Lisa and Edie will be best friends until the end of forever and always, they don't have a lot in common (unlike Rose and Edie!)

Hmmm, maybe this should become a Rose/Edie fic...

I'm so glad that this comes across as more than a love story. The second half of the fic, when Edie starts to have those ~*~fEeLiNgS~*~ for Oliver, definitely becomes more about their relationship. But it's definitely not The Most Important Thing in the story--nor is it in life!

Wow, all of my responses are kinda preachy, eh?

Thank you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #27, by marauderfan Girl Seeks General Sense of Purpose

27th May 2015:
This was a great chapter and I love that Edie is really finding her passion in life even if it isn't clearly apparent to her yet - she's realised now that journalism isn't for her (and her declining that job was really unexpected but perfect and I'm glad she did), and she seems most invested in social activism and that's where she feels most connected and that she can make a difference. I could see her working for a Wizarding nonprofit org to create change, given her attention to the Female Goblin Coalition and how much the outcome of the rally means to her, so I wouldn't be surprised to see her eventually end up with a job concerning that sort of thing. Of course, as I myself know too well, sometimes the most interersting and meaningful work means you don't make much money, but it's worth it to do what you love!

I have so many feelings about Edie and Oliver and I can't decide whether they're going to make it in the end, as there's so few chapters left. Things are pretty messed up now and it's so complicated, but it seems to be just bad circumstance and it does feel realistic.

Edie continues to have the most hilarious comments about her unlucky life and unemployment. I laughed out loud both times it was mentioned that some sort of wayward food had materialised in her hair. :p

Off to read the next chapter now!!

Author's Response: Hey you!

I'm glad that Edie not being "What I Wanna Be When I Grow Up" sits well with most readers. *Quickly uses this as an excuse to talk about self* I studied Art History in school and have been trying so hard to get a job in an art museum ever since, but the more that I learn about general philosophies and practices in the Art World, the less I want to become part of it. (This is just me here.) Edie's undergoing the same thing. After the way that Theo and Mr. Ward treated her, Edie started to have second thoughts. Now, learning that the publication she thought was so above it all really *isn't* any better, she's realized that she had grandiose ideas about people and journalism that aren't necessarily true (at least in this story.)

Yes! You're just hitting the nail on the head, with the problem in Ediver's relationship being timing and circumstance. It's been a difficult dance because I didn't want it to seem like they randomly hated each other and then it turned into love. Stories about people at odds who fall for one another are so interesting, but I was hoping to approach it from a different angle.

Oh gosh, I know that after I went through a breakup I did *not* look cute. Same hoodie for days, bloodshot eyes and swollen face from crying--like people in my classes were staring at me. It was bad, but not so bad as having cheese in your hair ;)

 Report Review

Review #28, by heartjily4ever Just Edie

20th May 2015:
this chapter is full of so many omigoshes for me. Dean and Edie dated? She's blonde? -or was blonde- and rose and connor fleming? Too much to throw at a girl in such a short space of time.

Ginger is back hurrah. I'm far too excited by this dog if I'm honest.

But most importantly communication between the two. Oliver and Edie spoke (even if by letter form) - oh and by the way you are once again very much amusing with your fantastic descriptions of the sweaty grumpy queuing man. Also hedgehog patronus is amazing (and adorable) and there is nothing wrong with them, if a little on the short and feeble side.

Cliffhanger kills me, i need to know what happens when she turns. i don't think i can wait till the nect chapter.I'm really hoping it means something good for them - god knows they need it.

I don't want there to only be one chapter, - your too amazing and so is this story for this. It's actually pretty sad but as much as I don't want the last chapter as I don't want it to end, I can't wait for an idea of the two of them actually meeting once more.

great chapter as usual

Author's Response: Agghh I know I tried so hard not to information-dump here. I know I totally did anyway. Some rigorous editing a few months down the road should fix that up. I wanted it to be kinda similar to the first chapter, serving to "introduce" characters in a crowded room. But I wanted it to be clear the difference that almost a year makes (I think a year??? the chronology of this fic is so messed up.)

I once chopped off all my hair into a pixie cut post breakup, and it ended up looking kinda awesome and I kept it for like 4+ years, but Edie's breakup hair didn't go so well. And she went blonde, ahaha.

Ginger = Dog-Dragon! Is Edie now totally a Mary-Sue because she has a magical companion creature? Hehehe.

I feel like a hedgehog is a pretty good Patronus for Edie because she's all defensive and prickly on the outside and actually pretty sensitive and weak on the inside. (Please do not think that I'm saying she has a "tough badass exterior but on the inside she's really a sweet caring girl.") She just thinks she's tougher than she is, and can only dish it out but not take it back... A hedgehog seemed like a decent animal metaphor. Plus they're pretty awkward little creatures.

I know exactly what you mean! I really really want to end this with one more chapter, but I have so many tiny little scenes fleshed out, with no idea of how to transition them, that I don't??? know??? if I can fit it all?? In just one chapter???

THIS STORY NEEDS TO END but I also need to clarify why What Happens is going to happen. Ugh.

Anyway, hopefully I'll update soon, haha. Thank you so much for your reviews! They were fun to read ♥

 Report Review

Review #29, by heartjily4ever Girl Seeks General Sense of Purpose

20th May 2015:
First things first (and this is before I've actually read the chapter ) the chapter image is gorgeous and if you made it you are a genius .

Your hilarious, if slightly accurate of the way gossip works in small villages/towns is fabulous. I sympathize with Edie having to struggle with the lil village and her news, although the fact that Jae got out as well makes it even better. You just write this story so well i have so much admiration for you seriously.

I'm so glad she has the interview, at least something good is happening in her life. The idea of the office is pretty neat - i love the idea of a hidden space underneath a book shop, would be the greatest. Actually reminds me of the recent film "Kingsmen: Secret Service" with it being underground under the suits shop. But you know books, newspapers, nice hinting :).

massive plot twist though, refusing the position. at first I was shocked but I kind of understand, moral compass and all.

oh please they are so completely still in love and should be hugging and kissing and all, i don't care what the story says I can't handle the stress of this relationship. I understand why he's so mad and boy you write angsty complicated couples well and I admire everything you write for them in terms of plot but in terms of my emotions, I'm not happy. I really hope things work out for them. I also hope that Edie maybe starts to forgive herself ( as well as Oliver forgiving her) because some of her lines make me feel so sad.

Positively fabulous chapter again, the contrast of humour and darkness is amazing, and it was so much longer which was great because it just meant more of the fab story. Plus Dean was back, which i was rooting for. Only question is, what's happened to her dog? I feel like we haven't seen it in ages, and maybe I've just had a blank and forgotten something important but I feel the dog should most definitely re-appear.

Author's Response: Hi again!

I did not make the chapter image--Mintleaf at The Dark Arts did. You should go check out their gallery, it's really something! I think I'm going to pester them to do the remaining chapter images as well... ;)

Small-town gossip is one of my favorite things to write, as I grew up (mostly) in a town of 900 people. Even more, the mean age was something like 60 because it was a bunch of old northern retirees who relocated down South... Anyway, they had nothing better to do than gossip and try to get each other in trouble for noise violations, building code violations, etc. So that's probably why it was so easy for me to write about Heathfield!

I have not seen Kingsmen yet! We're waiting for it to come to the $2 theatre down the street because I am a cheapskate. Huehuehue. That's funny that it's similar to the Oracle Underground!

I think this plot twist is a little *too* massive. I meant for the buildup to be a bit more smooth; instead it's like "Oh she's going to say ye--WHAT?" which I actually didn't want that time. I dunno, we'll see. I also like making you guys yell in frustration so maybe I'll keep it! ;D

"I can't handle the stress of this relationship." Hahahaha, one of the better review quotes... I just really wanted to get across that Oliver can only be so forgiving. In a lot of ways he's really let Edie off the hook. I mean he intended to never speak to her again after reading the first two articles, and then when they were around one another it was just so painfully obvious that they get on amazingly, so he kinda got swept back up or what have you. But hurting Ada--and revealing that he almost lost custody of her before *Oliver* could even tell her--was just too far. He has a lot of guilt about the way he first behaved as her legal guardian, so it's a very tender subject indeed, and Edie stole his chance to try and make things right.

It is indeed complicated. I definitely didn't want this to be a "Oh my God I HATE Oliver Sodding Wood" story--she never hated him. He never (truly) hated her. The circumstances they met under were really unfortunate, and had they met as two strangers on the street, things would have probably worked out swimmingly for them. Their struggle isn't in their personalities, or their character makeup: it's in the universe's poor timing. But now things are kind of broken beyond repair.

Ginger! I know she's kinda taken a backseat. There is such a huge ensemble cast in this fic and it's hard to make sure everyone--especially a little pup--gets their time. Me adding extra characters all willy-nilly is another reason this fic could've stood to be another ten chapters longer, just so that everyone became as fleshed out as I would've liked! Haha.

I hope this response wasn't too daunting to read. Congrats if you made it this far! ♥

 Report Review

Review #30, by heartjily4ever Happy New Year?

20th May 2015:
Seamus is back!! I always love it when he appears. And he's an Auror now! yay. shame about Dean and all - i really want him and Edie to at least talk, especially if they were such good friends. i also just need more Edie/Seamus/Dean to find super cute as a friendship.

Na but seriously I started writing this when I started reading and now I'm just annoyed. The article is back, again. I knew it wouldn't all be okay after she burnt it but so soon? seriously? And Mr ward is so horrible, especially when it's completely clear how torn up she is. So much pain between Edie and Oliver, I can't imagine how much hatred he must be feeling to be honest. Yet another case of Edie doing something that comes back to bit her in the bum - only this time I just feel immense pity because she'd really not wanted this. and I'm crying because their relationship is over and i can't handle that because they were the cutest.

I also can't believe he would kiss someone else so soon, seems a bit odd considering how strong their relationship was but at least she kind of has Rose. I love that they sort of made up, even if it was because of completely annoying circumstances. Can't wait to read this next chapter, I love this story so much.

Author's Response: Look at all of these lovely reviews! What a nice thing to wake up to. Thank you very much.

So I was struggling with how to start this chapter, and then I remembered "When in doubt, write about Seamus" and it just took off from there. He's a huge outlet for humor in this fic and so any time I need to make things a tad less dramatic, I just toss him in the scene ;)

It would be ideal if Dean and Edie could just talk. In my experience it was way more passive aggressive; I started dating somebody and then my "best friend" and I didn't speak for months. We've still never talked about it, but the road has smoothed over. I think if we'd talked about it, it would have ruined everything (just with our personality types.) Edie is very much the type to sweep things under the rug. Unfortunately Dean is no exception!

Hahaha, sorry you're so annoyed! It did happen rather quickly, but this story needs to end at least a *little* succinctly, and if I'd had the eighteen million chapters of Ediver fluff that I could very easily write, the whole story would have suffered in quality.

Ohhh I'm glad you said something--Oliver didn't actually kiss anybody (or did he?) At least, Edie didn't see him kiss anybody. The midnight kiss between him and the dark-haired witch was a mental image that she kind of, erm, daydreamed? She's at her wit's end at this point. Thanks for mentioning that, I'll poke around and see if I can make that clearer!

Thank you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #31, by madness Just Edie

20th May 2015:
Well that was an exciting chapter! Loving it, as always.

Author's Response: Thank you! Struggling with the next chapter (in an I-Don't-Want-this-to-End way) ♥

 Report Review

Review #32, by LittleMissAutumn Just Edie

19th May 2015:
THIS STORY HAS TORN AT MY HEART IN SO MANY WAYS! I laugh, I bite my fist, I want to cry, I laugh again...this is a roller-coaster that I've deeply been enjoying and I can't wait for the next chapter! I spent the day reading the entire thing and it's been a day wonderfully spent if I must say so myself. :) I relate so much with Edie. Her character, brothers, and friends are so well written. Her and Oliver are so cute together and I know that despite their conflicts, they will eventually get together and hopefully live long happy lives together.

Author's Response: Agghh yay, thank you! I'm glad the roller coaster hasn't been too... roller coaster-y. I tried sprinkling in some humor here and there to balance out how dramatic the last five or so chapters have been. In fact, some I wrote to completion, realized they were too sad/angsty/melodramatic, and then had to start over. So that's very refreshing to hear, thank you!

I'm glad you can relate to Edie. She's made up of the messy parts of me and so many others, and that's why I wanted to write about her!

The next chapter is giving me a little trouble... mostly just because I don't want it to be over and if I never write it then the story will never end and all of my little fantasies can go on forever and ever and ever and ever right??? But, knowing me, I will just start word-vomiting when I write and one chapter will turn into three because I have SO many head canons and ideas for these two and this fic, and I hope I get to write about all of them.

(Oops, long response. Coffee.)


 Report Review

Review #33, by ataxaphobia Just Edie

18th May 2015:
I've just discovered this story and managed read the whole thing over the weekend. I'm sad to see it end already! You're hilarious, heart warming, and serious all at the same time. 10/10 would recommend. P.S. I'm following you on Tumblr now. :)

Author's Response: Ohhh that's so awesome, I love hearing my Tumblr isn't all for naught! I have a couple new followers as of this week, but feel free to send me an ask so I can say hello and thanks for reading! (And if not, I'll say it here: hello and thanks for reading!) ♥

 Report Review

Review #34, by Anonymous Just Edie

17th May 2015:
So excited for the ending!! Honestly I can't believe it's almost over. Fingers crossed Edie and Oliver end up together! Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I just noticed that I am very terrible at counting, and there's actually another chapter after this--and maybe an epilogue. I think earlier I made it seem like this would be the final chapter.

Either way!

Thank you very much for reading ♥

 Report Review

Review #35, by Anonymous Just Edie

13th May 2015:
Gah! *speechless*

*literally speechless*


*brain exploding*


Author's Response: Brain explosions are better than throwing your laptop! (I think?) Oh man, children--can you imagine Edie being a mother? I cannot. Plus Oliver probably had his share of parenting with Ada.

I foresee this fic being completed before the end of June. Wow! Just under the 3 year mark. ♥!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Kaia Girl Seeks General Sense of Purpose

12th May 2015:
so good. Edie declining the job was surprising but i'm glad she did :)
it was a long chapter but it went by so fast and i NEED more. the fact that there is only one more chapter until the epilogue is a little worrying, for i might just cry if Edie and Oliver don't get together in the end..regardless, please update as soon as you can!

Author's Response: Heya! I'm glad that her declining the job was a surprise. And I'm with you: between Blakeslee, Theo and now Conor Fleming, I don't entirely blame her!

I know it was super long, I originally had it written that Oliver was unconscious and Edie just kinda glimpsed him before leaving, but I just *had* to add a little interaction between them, which gave the chapter some unforeseen bulk.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Anonymous Happy New Year?

4th May 2015:
Oh my goodness...Okay, so I finished reading this story in about a day, more so because I got halfway through this and then almost threw my phone because WHY CAN'T EDIE AND OLIVER JUST BE HAPPY AND HAVE NO PROBLEMS AND -! *breaks into tears*
This is such a wonderfully written story and I am just in love with it and I can't wait for you to finish it and I really really really REALLY REALLY REALLY hope that they find happiness and UGH THEY FREAKING DESERVE IT! *more tears*
Can't wait until the next chapter =)

Author's Response: Oh wow oh wow oh wow!!! It is seriously so flattering that people have read this whole thing in one go. Like ??? I can't even express how nice that feels. Thank you! Hopefully your phone is unscathed ;)

The next chapter is basically done, it's just a matter of finding time to fine-tune everything. Hopefully I'll have some time in the next two days to put it in the queue. In the meantime, I have a Tumblr account for this fic, under the username "lennoxed" (M). There's some extras, inspiration and other fun stuff to keep you entertained while I try to get my life together! ♥

 Report Review

Review #38, by Eliza Happy New Year?

3rd May 2015:
I am trying very hard to remain calm and collected right now, but I just read this whole thing in one setting and nope nope nope you cannot leave it there, and again NOPE. WHAT a place to leave it!!! Please, please update ASAP, I must know what happens in this fabulous story.

Author's Response: Hey! The next chapter was giving me some trouble but I've rewritten most of it. Just the last scene needs some reworking and then it'll be ready to go! Thanks for reading ♥

 Report Review

Review #39, by Ari Happy New Year?

23rd April 2015:
Please update soon!! I just read this who story in like two days and love it. I love Edie and Oliver together and hope you will get them back together soon (maybe in the next chapter? A girl can dream, right?) Anyway, such a hilarious story and I anxiously await another chapter!

Author's Response: Heya! Thanks so much! It seriously blows my mind that people binge-read this story... Wow! I can't make any promises about them getting back together, but there will indeed be an update soon! I'm having some trouble writing the next chapter, so I went ahead and skipped it and have written almost the whole chapter after *that*... Hopefully it will get things flowing again and you'll see an update soon.

Thanks dearie ♥

 Report Review

Review #40, by N Happy New Year?

5th April 2015:

Author's Response: Hehee, yes, there are certainly unprecedented levels of angst in this chapter! I considered rewriting the scene with Ward to make it a bit less dramatic and even with a little comedy in there... But it's the one time Edie feels true remorse for something--what she's done to Oliver and Ada--so I didn't want it to be lighthearted.

Next time, on "Sarah Leaves Unnecessarily Long Responses to Anon's Succinct Review..."

 Report Review

Review #41, by hufflepuffheart Happy New Year?

29th March 2015:
So you know how people binge watch television shows on Netflix and all? Well I believe it's safe to say I just binge read this entire story, and I can't say I regretted a moment of it! Not too often do I come across stories that hold my interest (I'm rather scatterbrained) to hunker down in a blanket fort and read every single chapter made available, but I couldn't help myself with your story! You've done a spectacular job giving each character itheir own voice and their own distinct personality, something I think that can be difficult to do at times - it's easy to let certain characters that start off strong disappear into the void, but you have done an excellent job at avoiding this! I do miss the drunken excursions of Seamus, Dean, and Edie - those moments were always so much fun to read, made me want to sit in a pub and have a few drinks with them and try and keep up with their quidditch banter and ridiculously high tolerance for alcohol. But I realize that these came few and far between as Edie changed and went through her trials and tribulations. Edie is such a strong and pretty lovable character (even though she could be stubborn to the point of yelling at times) and you've done a beautiful job developing her and having her grow as a person. I also have to comment on Rose's character, and tell you that I liked her at first, THEN ABSOLUTELY HATED HER, and now after this chapter I kinda like her again. I love when that happens so please, keep doing what you're doing! Anywho, it's getting a bit late on my end, so I will quit my incessant babbling here, but I look forward to finding out what happens with Grimma and the FGC, with Dean and Edie and Mr. Finnegan, and of course Edie and Oliver. And thank you again, for providing me with funny and excellently written story to read! Cheers!

Author's Response: Hey there! This review is honestly so nice. Thank you so very much, I mean that sincerely. What kind words!

When people say that they binge-read this entire thing, I first of all am so incredibly flattered, and also wonder what their thoughts are. It's taken me over two years to write this, and my voice has changed significantly (I think moving to a rainy rainy city has led to the last few chapters being more dreary than usual) so reading it all in one go must be very strange! Your comments about Edie's evolution have put me at ease, though, and I can't thank you enough for taking the time to review, as this has always been a concern of mine.

Yes, Seamus and Dean have sadly taken a back seat, but it's what happens in life, no? I can think of people who I was SO close with, either for weeks or years, and for one reason or another we drift apart (moving, changing jobs, new relationships--all of which happened to Edie.) This story has only taken place over about five months, so in terms of the breaking apart of friends, we're in the thick of it!

I'm glad that your opinion of Rose is a little unclear--or at least not pure dislike. She is based on a person who at times I felt so belittled by, and then who would sometimes go out of their way to show me kindness. She's three-dimensional that way, as is Rose, hopefully! Plus I don't like the idea of a Woman vs. Woman nemeses. Really Ward was the enemy all along!

To be honest I've taken a break from this story in the last few weeks... Work has largely gotten in the way. I'm moving, too, but after next week things should be settling down. I'm so close to the finish line and can't wait to write the last chapter. It'll be soon, I promise!

Thank you again, so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #42, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Happy New Year?

21st March 2015:
The bottle of champagne that he brought specifically for this moment is popped, and he sprays it everywhere, shouting to everyone’s protests, “IT’S OKAY, I’M AN AUROR!”

Seamus, you DA man.

I feel bad about Dean. I miss Dean. He has kinda been given the shaft in this story.

“Definitely not married! It was my best mate’s wedding! We didn’t even go together!”

“The lobster puffs were extraordinary,” Seamus says.

Seamus is no help whatsoever but he’s still the man but he’s going to end this relationship before it has even started if he doesn’t hush up.

“It wasn’t her, Edith!” Mr. Ward’s lilting voice has a sharp edge that I’ve never noticed.


Uh, heartbreaking but there was a part of me that knew this was going to happen. I mean, just because she burned it hello there’s magic in the world. And if this was the muggle world all these places have cameras. They could have seen what she was typing or went into her harddrive because most computers are set up to the main system where anyone can snoop on it. Totes illegal but come on, you know it’s done.

Depressing! Come on Ollie, have a brain. Hate to say Edie deserves it but she's kinda naive anyway.

Author's Response: Huehuehuehue, Seamus. I was struggling with how to start this chapter and was like, "Seamus. Duh." Hence he has the very opening line... It really helped. He's so much fun to write that I just speed-typed wrote the whole thing in one sitting. And yes, Dean's been kind of given the shaft, but it seemed like the best way to convey the strains on Best Friendship Meets Unrequited "Love." It's so uncomfortable that neither of them actually wants to talk about it. Plus a dramatic confrontation would just be too much with all of the ~other drama~ going on (cheating on Rose, Do-We-Or-Do-We-Not-Date?, losing her job, everything with Ada, etc.)


Another thing I changed--originally Rose WAS gonna have been the one to publish the stories. But I was like, "Ehh, how much Woman vs. Woman does this story really need?" Hence the almost-friendship between Rose and Edie.

Yeah, I know what you mean. "But... magic." Of course someone would find out. Like, why didn't James and Lily just Apparate to baby Harry's room and then Apparate all of them away? There is probably a canon reason for this that I am totally oblivious to buT MY POINT IS. It totally could have been prevented/foreseen because of magic, but it needed to happen because otherwise there would be no story ;) (Wow I am not comparing the romantic turmoil of Edie to the genius that is JKR's writing, promise.)

Aww, I don't think Edie deserves it! Maybe I'm totally biased? I don't know, she's been pretty terrible up til recently. But she made a careless mistake and had no bad intentions, and Ward took advantage of her... I dunno. At least this one single time, I'm gonna say she didn't deserve it ;) But yes--she is certainly naive!

Thank you again, as always, lovely reviewer! I have the next chapter all written but it took a Very Dark Turn that I had not at all intended. It needs to be re-worked... I have GOT to end this thing sometime, and I can't keep adding more to the plot. Especially when it's all angst, angst, angst!

 Report Review

Review #43, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A King on Her Throne

21st March 2015:
I’m finally back! YAY! *cheer*

Musicians never wake up early! It’s part of his artistic process

Man, I should have stuck with playing the guitar.

meanwhile he didn’t think twice before selling me out to the Wizardazzi


There never was a choice. There was always only one answer, and it was handed to me from the beginning. It’s only taken me this long to realize it.

Edie, for the love of Merlin. Thank goodness. I’m glad you’ve somewhat come to your senses. I cannot trust you’ve come to them 100% because you are you but still.

“Cruel!” she laughs. “If you were a man doing this, would you be cruel? Or would you just be a hardened reporter, doing whatever it takes to get the job done? You were biased, yes, but never cruel.”

There’s some truth to that. Though I disagree and think she was rather cruel in the beginning. But in order to be a reporter you have to create distance between you and your subject. This is why a lot of reporters get so much flak because they start to become friends with some of them, go out to drinks, dinner, and then they’re asked: hey, don’t write that. And then they don’t and the whole institution of journalism is hurt because it comes out ten years later that so and so was bought or told the half-truth instead of the full truth.

I used to have a drinking problem. Right after my parents died. I took it horribly, and I didn’t act like an adult, and I really let Ada down.

Well, I didn’t see that coming but is ‘used to’ mean it was only because of his parents or he really shouldn’t be drinking and his bender and attitude when he first met Edie was because of the alcohol and perhaps Oliver is an alcoholic.

I feel like we are nearing the end and that saddens me but I have to say this chapter was fantastic. I’ve been waiting for Edie to grow up and come to some realizations for the past few chapters but I think it finally hit her and she has.

May I ask what are you going to work on next once this story is over?

Author's Response: Weee, you're back!! Yes, thank you for Wizardazzi! You clever thing, you. :)

As for the "Choice" Edie had, I suppose there always was one, if you look at it from one angle. I had a hard time explaining it in the chapter (didn't want to spoon feed y'all too much!) so hopefully this helps... She was always able to choose Oliver or her career. Obviously, choosing Oliver meant forsaking her career because she wouldn't write mean things about him; choosing her career meant letting go of Oliver, etc. etc. etc. But! She had always thought that there would be that job. A few times she worries and wonders if she will be kept as an employee after the articles are published, but never enough to inquire about it. (Again she's sweeping things under the rug here and ignoring her problems, which I'm not at all defending--but I'm totally guilty of it!) So yeah, her realization that "there was always only one answer" doesn't mean that he answer is "I have to choose Oliver; I have to be the bigger person; I have to not write the articles." The answer was that there was logistically never a future for her at WW. I didn't want this story to be about the MC being forced to choose between love and a career, because I don't see how the two are even on the same level (and I think I've harped on that enough on other review responses!!)


Anyway I hope that was explained well enough in the story, but in case it wasn't... there's an unnecessarily lengthy explanation for you. (And you probably already knew all of that but oh well!)

I love how knowledgeable you are about journalism, because all of your points--like journalists becoming friends with subjects and being asked to not write certain things--are all interesting. They makes me wonder how this story could have changed, vastly or insignificantly, with little tweaks like that. For example, if Edie and Oliver had hit it off initially, instead of her getting ahead of herself, and him asking her not to publish about Ada "as a friend" vs. not telling her about Ada because he didn't trust Edie.


Ohh sorry for any confusion there--Oliver is not an alcoholic. At least not by my definition. I hadn't considered the thought that somebody who "used to" have a drinking problem, but still drinks, therefore STILL has a drinking problem. But I didn't intend for him to be an alcoholic at all. Maybe that all has to do with perspective, though? I'm sure some readers would consider Edie's drinking to be questionable, especially towards the beginning of the fic, but I just see it as part of being a twenty-something who genuinely enjoys the taste of beer (and also a good time.) I dunno. Anyway, when I first mapped out the fic I played with the idea of Oliver being a recovering alcoholic. It just didn't sit well with me, though, because of the strains that could put on his relationship(?) with Edie. It opened a lot of doors and opportunities for angst that I didn't want to pursue.

Oh my god I just really blabbed SO much. Thank you so much for all of your reviews, and if you made it this far into my response I'm very impressed ♥

As for writing projects, I'm finally dabbling in original fiction. (I wrote KC&CO after like 5 years' absence from HPFF because I wanted to write a novel but didn't think people would read it.) So as much as I love this story, and I'm gonna be so sad when it's over, in a way it's been one big writing exercise.


 Report Review

Review #44, by marauderfan Happy New Year?

18th March 2015:
Omg. That... could have gone better. I see Edie has not lost her talent for ending up in really terrible situations. I had a bad feeling about that article she wrote in the last chapter - like I thought someone might have seen it - but I didn't expect anyhing quite that bad. Eek!

On the oher hand, I really, really loved the appearance of Seamus again. I had missed him! It felt like kind of a throwback to old times, except with a little weirdness about Dean now. Ooh and I like that Rose and Edie are kind-of-friends now. That was a lovely scene. I like that they have each other at least - both of them have been screwed over by their former jobs, and been dumped (by the same person!) so at least they can understand each other a lot more, and gripe about how unfair life is, haha.

This was a great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for reviewing ♥

Yes, she definitely does have a penchant for the less than ideal. It was weird writing it because normally I try to make the situations humorous (or at least not be totally devastating) but this time she really is experiencing something fully, and letting herself be upset by it instead of sweeping it under a rug, making light with jokes, etc. I didn't really say it in the story but it was a huge deal that she cried at all, as she's emotionally stunted and can't ever fully grasp how terrible things can be enough to experience it emotionally. She's not very empathetic, but that includes things that happen to her. She's selfish and self-centered, yes (ohhh yes very), but rarely does she fully acknowledge the Truly Terrible. The fact that she cried in front of Ward and Rose, two people she disliked, is saying something.


Yes Rose! That was a last-minute change to the plot, actually, but I'm glad for it. Originally Edie and Lisa were going to be hanging out, but I wanted to express change, etc., so Edie suddenly being back to having girl time with Lisa (who, let's face it, cannot function without Justin) felt too comfortable. Plus, like you said, things have come full circle and Rose and Edie are now in the same boat!

Thanks so much for reading. I can't believe how close this story is to being done (no I will not stop saying that, not even after it's already done.)


 Report Review

Review #45, by chicken addiction Happy New Year?

18th March 2015:

Author's Response: Soon! ♥

 Report Review

Review #46, by heartjily4ever A King on Her Throne

14th March 2015:
I love this chapter so much lovely, I feel very proud of Edie and her character development. The resignation was done very well - I approve wholeheartedly of the reasons for it - especially in light of adorable Oliver's new reveals. Blakeslee is a huge prat who clearly does not care enough about other people - but you do wickedly selfish career driven women very well.

I am with Edie and her family on the hillwalking hating. My family love doing Chrimbo walks for fresh air which is total rubbish because I could very easily just open a window. And you have to put on so many layers and then just take them off again later - I could complain forever but I won't because your fabulous writing is very distracting.

The Oliver scenes were done so well!! His admition is perfect and he is opening up on purpose which is so great.I love his character more and more as each chapter arrives, with the little bits of him all coming together into this knotted little lump of cutely vulnerable but ruggedly protective and perfect for Edie in every way-ness.

I really like the idea of writing the article and burning it - I hope it doesn't come back to bite her one the bum, although I don't know how it could. I think it will cleanse her writing palate and really just help her as a journalist - speaking of which I hope she finds another job soon. As always I would cherish some more Ginger in any chapter, and I can't wait for the next

Author's Response: Hey dere!

I'm glad that Edie is finally getting on everyone's (maybe?) good sides. Or at least she's showing her potential for being an actual adult. Blakeslee is selfish, yes, but to me it's just in her nature. The things that we would see as selfish (namely not caring who she screws over in the name of getting a good story) she doesn't see as so. You and I would see human decency and compassion for coworkers/interview subjects as most important; she most values being a thorough reporter, upholding Witch Weekly's standards, and providing readers with interesting material.

Haha, so glad that a few of you seem to be on Edie's side with the Christmas walk. I'm more on Hypatia's wavelength, honestly, though perhaps in a less creepy way than standing over one's bed while they sleep.

"Knotted little clump of cutely vulnerable but ruggedly protective." Ummm I need to remember this to put it on my tumblr or something. That is one of the greatest descriptions of Oliver that I've read yet! Thank you! :D

Yes, writing and burning the last article was indeed a cathartic moment. She just had to get it out of her system. She also know that it would never be read, so that she could write the way she wanted to without any repercussions. Therapy, in a way!

Ginger so good. Best. Best pup. It's really hard writing from Edie's perspective, because she's bad with animals and is just like "Eh, okay, I guess you're cute... Come along, then." Whereas I would never leave Ginger alone and poke her squished-in face. I have a little headcanon about Ginger that may come as a fun surprise, but I'm not sure if I can fit in in the story! If not here, it'll be in the blog, trust.

Thank you so much! The next chapter has been validated ♥

 Report Review

Review #47, by fran A King on Her Throne

14th March 2015:
Omigoodness my parents are all for stupid little walks on Christmas day, especially if we have visitors and it's so annoying - it's as if they don't know its a holiday for sitting eating too much food and watching TV. You shouldn't do any form of exercise at all. I firmly agree with Edie - the only way through is the power of hot chocolate.
I'm totally proud of this new Edie with her job and the way she handled Olivers revelations - which I also love that he is opening up and such. It was a very mature move by Edie which i completely approve of especially in light of new Oliver secrets. Blakeslee is a jerk obviously - career gone to her head maybe? I'm a huge supporter of career driven women going for what they want, but less so at the expense of others privacy. But I guess thats journalism for you.
I hope things take a turn for the better for Edie job wise soon, seeing as her love life is on the up. Hoping for more Ada in the story as well :D. Great piece of writing again - I've found it funny the whole way through so you've done a fabby job. Can't wait to read more lovey.

Author's Response: Aww, I wish my parents wanted to do a Christmas Day walk! They're of the "sitting around, staring at space, nobody really talking, eating a lot, awkward silences" type. I'd honestly love to have a Christmas with lots of chatter and hiking and such. And yes--lots of hot chocolate!

I'm so surprised by everyone's reactions to Blakeslee! Well, I suppose she's not exactly the kindest of people, but she's always been better than Mr. Ward. At least in my mind. She's definitely not a warm and fuzzy person, and we've really only seen her when she's angry or disappointed in Edie, for various reasons. But I have a love-hate (mostly love?) relationship with her.

Adaaa! This cast is huge, and unfortunately not everyone gets enough screen time. She's so fun to write, because she's in the midst of her petulant "Ughhh, whatever" pre-teen phase that I recall oh so well. I like when she and Oliver kind of gang up on Edie, as in both smirk at her with raised eyebrows and such. But she's also very sweet in her own way.

Glad it's still funny! I've been worried about keeping the voice lighthearted while Edie goes through some turbulence. Glad it's holding up.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review ♥

 Report Review

Review #48, by alicia and anne Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

13th March 2015:
I have had my eye on this story for quite some time! So I am so happy that you asked for this one to be reviewed :D

YES! It's got Dean and Seamus in it! It's going to be pure awesome! I can already tell. Especially because they're picking holes in Seamus' flirting techniques. :P

Edie is pure brilliance! I absolutely love her! The love is so strong she is so amazing!

This first chapter is absolutely brilliant! It's so hilarious and I am already hooked on it! I am going to be favouriting this right now so that I can read and review the rest of it. I can't wait to see how her morning is going to go. I honestly can't stop giggling.

Seamus, Dean and Edie are pure amazing and I can't wait to see more of them together, their chemistry together is superb and they just seem to bounce off of each other. I am so very excited about this story!

Absolutely fabulous chapter, hun! You are so talented :D Keep up the amazing work!

Author's Response: Woohoo! I've suckered another reader in.

Dean and Seamus forever and ever and ever, seriously, I love them both so much. JKR created so many lovely minor characters that it's very easy to let them take their own course, and have their own voices, and be generally great. Those boys. And I suck so much and didn't really keep up with Seamus's flirting tendencies as I could have... I mostly stuck with the loudmouthed party-going fellow. One of the major edits I'll be doing soon is to keep his flirty tendencies in the forefront. But not with Edie. Just no.

Aww, I'm glad you like Edie! Seriously, it's like one of the most flattering things to hear that people enjoy an original character. They can be very tricky and I have written many a terrible Mary Sue in my day. Trust.

Thank you so much for offering some reviews! I'm actually almost done with this fic, with just 3 or so chapters left, so it's nice to get new readers every now and again.


 Report Review

Review #49, by marauderfan A King on Her Throne

13th March 2015:
This was such a good chapter! (They all are, honestly) I thought you handled her resignation really well, and I liked the way it was more complicated than just choosing between a boyfriend and a career - life is more complex than that and you illustrated that in here. I think she made the right decision though - the job was turning her into someone she didn't like, who wrote cruel things about people, and she wouldnt have been happy there in the long run. And with that ending, as Oliver says it is a new beginning (though I can really relate to Edie on how much she is dreading searching for jobs again. Ugh it's the worst haha.)

And wow, Oliver's story! I really didn't expect any of that. It' does explain a lot though, and ties some loose ends together. I love how the way Oliver is portrayed in this story has changed so much, and it has a lot to do with how much Edie had changed over time - she has come a long way from when she just saw him as the privileged, pompous jerk.

Lovely writing! I can't believe the story is winding to a close - I'm simultaneously really looking forward to it and also not wanting it to end because I just love reading it. :)

Author's Response: Heya!

It was really important to me that Edie doubts her decision quit the magazine. Even moreso that she truly didn't *have* a choice, and that the way things stacked against her, she couldn't choose a career. It's always bothered me in stories and films when somebody completely gives up on something (usually a job) for the romantic interest in the story--who, in many cases, they just met. In real life, making that rash of a decision based on somebody you just met or barely have spent time with, doesn't work out. At least not always. So that's why Edie has the moment where she thinks "Oliver and I aren't getting married, by any means, and he's not necessarily my boyfriend--has this all been worth it?"

There were, of course, other reasons for quitting. As you pointed out, it was turning her into somebody she didn't like... which is a big reason, and maybe the "right" reason to quit.

It's all very complicated! hehe.

Yes, hopefully she and Oliver have both grown tremendously! Although to be fair, Edie actually had the majority of the growing up to do--Oliver just needed to be explained a little better.

I completely agree! Every time I write a new chapter--which has been happening REALLY fast these days--I feel so sad! Partially I'm very proud, because I've never actually finished a novel before on HPFF. But I also don't want to stop writing about these characters I've come to love so much!

Thanks for sticking around ♥

 Report Review

Review #50, by chicken addiction A King on Her Throne

11th March 2015:

Author's Response: THANK YOU. YOUR USERNAME IS REALLY FUNNY :) I have the next two chapters already written (???! Me? Ahead of the game? What?) So they'll be up shortly. ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>