Reading Reviews for Keep Calm and Carry On
  
402 Reviews Found

Review #26, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap An Interview with Mister Wood

8th February 2015:
“That’s because you followed him everywhere and couldn’t formulate a proper sentence. I’m pretty sure he thought you had the hots for him.”

^ HAHA! I love their interactions. Their conversations flow perfectly and what I like even more is that Edie hangs out with guys for the most part. I've never been that great at female relationships (or any relationships really) but male-female ones I can relate to.

It crosses my mind to ask if Dean would rather sleep in my room with me, but something about that feels weird.

^ NO! Rule number one, never sleep in the same bed. Doesn't matter if you're 'just friends.'

Tell me he doesn't have a thing for her. No things! No feelings! This is the only downfall to female-male friendships. That friend zone does exist.

This cannot be happening. This cannot be happening. This cannot be happening.

THIS CAN NOT BE HAPPENING.

YOU TOTALLY GOT ME. Naughty author! My reviews are so pointless I am sorry and they are rambly messes. I love me some Wood, even though he seems rude. Private person!? Psh! He could have at least some respect for other people's professions. Not everyone can just fly a broom, you know.

Author's Response: Ohh, sweet Seamus! He was so prominent early in the story and he really has taken a back seat... It was completely unintentional I swear! I have a nice Edie/Seamus friendship scene that I'm about to write.

You make an interesting point about females not feeling like they can interact. I totally hope this doesn't come across as offensive in any way, but I wanted to ~explain a lil somethin~ about this fic. Edie being "such a feminist" while also pitting herself against Rose, and not being a great friend to Lisa, is another means of her being a total hypocrite. "Edie sucks" is kind of the theme of this story--I think I was watching too much GIRLS when I started it, thank you Hannah Horvath. When I was in high school all my best friends were guys, and now my best friends are women, and I was trying to explore what could have made that change. At least for me (again, just me here!) it was when I stopped comparing myself to women/feeling insecure/competing in every single way with them. So hopefully Edie will start to go through the same kind of transformation, so that she'll be able to uphold her "feminist" label that she so far has kind of not done an awesome job with.

Phew.

Oliver's sassiness with the press is actually a recent edit I just made! Originally he was just really awkward and bad at conversation, which he still is, but no longer overwhelmingly so. It didn't mesh well with the rest of his pushy, opinionated character that we see in canon. So I decided he'd be all "Eh you lot are just out to make me look stupid and I'm NOT going to cooperate." Hence Deverill forced him to have this interview, to give him and Puddlemere a better public appearance before his first season back after his injury.

WOW you didn't know you were starting a Q and A with the author, did you?

Thanks for the review, as always! ♥


 Report Review

Review #27, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Proposition

7th February 2015:
Bartering with journalists is something I’ve always been wary of. It’s an unspoken rule of the game; something gleaned from black and white Muggle films where men in jaunty hats get themselves into sticky situations by making deals with the press.

^ NEVER TRUST A JOURNALIST. We're a bad lot. Then again she's a pseudo-journalist and I too am a pseudo-journalist and I'm surprised it's such a big deal because at my internships I was required to do all the work for the so-called journalists and editors and write out their pieces for them and they would publish it under their name.

OH RIGHT, THAT'S WRONG.

Thank you kind author for being on my side in this argument.

Anywho, I'm obsessed with Wood. I used to write him all the time. I'm ashamed of the stories I wrote so they aren't on here anymore (ha-ha) with him at least. One might be making a comeback so it's refreshing to read this and be like 'SOMEONE LOVES MY OLLIE!"

Author's Response: AHHH! You have no idea how exciting it is to wake up to a new review for every chapter. Seriously, thank you! ♥ Do you have an account on the forums? I tried to send you a thank-you PM but had no luck. Anyway, seriously, it is so appreciated when HPFF activity has slowed and reviews are harder to come by.

Hmm, that's an interesting fact about your journalism internship. I never took that into consideration and wonder what I could have done to explore that in this fic... Probably would have cut out some unnecessary additional plot and backstabbing and conniving (there's so much of it) but oh well! Haha. Thanks for letting me know, though, if I ever try to turn this into OF or do something similar...

I actually have very little profession experience in the writing world (I studied Art History and Creative Writing and took the former path) but I've heard of a lot of artists who have interns who actually help to paint their canvas, etc., and aren't given any credit or compensation. Same kind of thing, I suppose, to a lesser degree.

I'm glad you like Wood too! He's one of the better minor characters I think. Oh gosh, don't even look at my first fic I published. It's from, like, 2005. I need to back up my reviews and delete all my old stories because they really are just mucking up the author page, I think.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #28, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Job Thousands would Kill For

7th February 2015:
Ward didn’t even know my for the first two weeks I worked for him.

^ You're missing a word: name

should an editor need a Spell Checker Spell?

^ Yes. I won't even start on this magazine I once worked for.

“We need you.”

“I will be there!” I gush, emphatically poking the surface of his desk.

But I do this just as he is saying, “To man the refreshments table.”


OH. OH BURN. EPIC EPIC BURN. That was horrible. Even I had to take a step back and then I started chanting, "Quit, quit, quit." But we all have to start somewhere that's why we deal with it. I am the same way. I can't even say I 'was' because here I am in the same predicament for the fourth time in a row.

...she's lucky she has someone attractive to remotely stare at or daydream about. I've got nothing. Thank goodness for HPFF.

Author's Response: Ahh! Thank you for pointing out the errors. I have re-written this chapter a dozen times, and each time I seem to only generate new typos.

The "refreshments table" thing actually happened to me AFTER I wrote this chapter! My intern advisor at the art museum called about a "paid opportunity" she had for me and I started getting more and more excited, and it was to scoop ice cream at her son's bar mitzvah. D'oh.

Thank goodness for HPFF indeed. And for you lovely reviewers! ♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

7th February 2015:
Pot of coffee, pain-relieving potion, kip at five o’clock, pubs at eight, rinse and repeat.”

^ Been there, done that. I mean...errr..

Witch Weekly has quite possibly the worst internship program of any Magical publication. Just thinking about it makes me angry.

Been there too. I don't understand this internship nonsense where I have to do such menial tasks I feel like I have no dignity. I'm not a maid! Why do I have to wipe down mirrors and clean refrigerators with cheap towels and even cheaper cleaning products. Getting coffee is fine except when the person yells at you because you got them the wrong thing BECAUSE THEY TOLD YOU THE WRONG ORDER.

Just so you can one day hopefully get a job. Not in my industry. Forever intern here.

I feel your pain girl.

If this entire story was them slurring around the room I would read on like a champ. I can't believe this is your first comedy it's really funny and we're only one chapter in. I like the characters, especially your OC, because she's relatable if you couldn't tell from my ranting above. I think we've all been there, jobless, significant other less, no life plan or at least it's not going anywhere-ish.

Author's Response: Hi there! It's always nice to hear from a new reader ♥ (Funny story about your username, I thought he was saying "Dirty knees and the thunder chief" for a long time. Which is apparently a common misconception?)

Ha, this first chapter is largely autobiographical in that sense of the pot of coffee, pain-reliever, etc. It's easy to do. Especially when you hang out only with your coworkers and you're all at work together the next day doing the same "healing rituals."

I'm glad you can relate to this story (but maybe not in the first-hand experience way that you seem to be...) I wrote this as a bit of therapy when I was a lowly intern, although I'm sorry to say I still haven't ~skyrocketed into my future~ in the two years following. Maybe I'll be nice and do things differently for Edie. Maybe.

It's funny how many people have commented that they would read an entire story about drunk people. Haha! They do indeed continue to imbibe from time to time, but I feel like the story gets more and more serious the further it goes on? I just caught myself writing the last chapter and was like "Jeez, slow down, when did this become an angst fic?" So enjoy it while you can!

Kidding.

Sort of.

Thanks for stopping by!


 Report Review

Review #30, by heartjily4ever The Unfortunate Truth

30th January 2015:
Oh I never suspected Theo, woah. It's a really great plot twist though, I love it. I still absolutely love clueless Justin - his character is adorable. I hope things don't go too horribly wrong for Edie

Author's Response: Justin's the best. I wanted to write about what happens to best friendships after one of them starts a romantic relationship with someone else. Edie's disliked him (or tried to) for selfish reasons along the lines of you-stole-my-best-mate-and-even-though-you-two-are-clearly-soul-mates-I'm-still-grumpy-about-it.

Glad Theo was a plot twist! He represents Edie's naivety in a way. She just assumed they were friends, just the way that she assumed she was the "good one" out of she and Oliver (and out of basically everyone.) It was going to take her feeling completely betrayed to knock some sense into that thick skull of hers. Therefore Theo's the one to say "Hey you're actually a huge jerk too btw."

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #31, by ohnobeans And What a Mess It's Been

28th January 2015:
TOTALLY BLOWN BY OLIVER HAVING READ THE ARTICLES!!! AH

and FINALLY sex yay! I love that Edie's whole family walked in hahahah

Author's Response: Yes! At first I thought Edie should have been blown away as well, but realistically he TOTALLY would have read them. Like she said, if Oliver had written something about her, she wouldn't rest until she'd found it. It just didn't make sense to keep him in the dark forever.

That last scene was so much fun. I love Edie's family. Even though they aren't totally pivotal to the plot I try to give them as much time in the limelight as possible. Especially Liam; I just love that little fellow.

Thanks for taking the time to review ♥


 Report Review

Review #32, by xx The Unfortunate Truth

26th January 2015:
Great ending! I'm loving this story so much!

Author's Response: Thank you! That was a fun ending to write. I've been a little frustrated with Edie (and I made her up, so I assume readers have been, too.) It was nice that somebody finally told her that she's not so high and mighty as she thought. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #33, by marauderfan The Unfortunate Truth

26th January 2015:
Oh no! I feel like the previous chapters were almost too good to be true, and then this chapter is like... the 16-tonne weight that crashes down and is like "Oh hey. Here's reality, it's back."

I feel so bad for Rose. I mean, she's not that nice, but for her to be dumped and then fired all in quick succession is a recipe for a horrible week. And in a way, Rose is no worse than any of the other characters, who as Theo quite wisely pointed out at the end, are all a bit unscrupulous when it comes to getting ahead in the news industry. Reading from Edie's POV I sympathise with her a lot, but in the end, they're all making decisions which hurt other people, even though they're not bad people. That's one thing I love about this story because that's the way the real world works. No one can be super nice and not upset anyone else and get ahead in a career all without sacrificing something, and this chapter really shows that, in their different decisions.

What a mess, though! And poor Justin and Lisa caught in the middle of it. I don't know how Edie is going to find her way out of this, but I'm certain she will. Even though it probably means a bit of unwanted media attention and who knows what with her job.

I've got to say though, you definitely did surprise me with revealing that Theo was the one who sold them out. I suspected that Rose liked Oliver, but that didn't make it any easier to find out for sure.

This was a great chapter!

Author's Response: Hiya!

It was indeed starting to feel a little too fluffy--had to get back to the "cold hard truth" of Edie's existence in which everything always goes wrong always.

I'm glad you feel bad for Rose! The last thing I wanted was to have some kind of standoff between she and Edie/Oliver, and have a clear "Ha! Rose we've finally bested you!" moment. She's having a rough time indeed, between Oliver and being fired. The tables have turned and now she's the one having rotten luck.

Yes! You really hit the nail on the head--I wanted this story progress from Edie thinking that she's so much better than Oliver, and being very high-and-mighty, and then slowly realizing that he is actually the kinder person with more integrity. Theo really spells it out for her in the end, as you pointed out. I think she needed to hear it from somebody she felt betrayed by; someone who she thought was her friend. Hearing it from her mother wasn't enough because she wrote it off, as she did with Lisa a bit.

"No one can be super nice and not upset anyone else and get ahead in a career all without sacrificing something..." Yes! I love reviews like this that allow for discussion of the plot... Aghh thank you so much.

Thank you so much for reading. The next chapter is a bit slow-going, but it's all coming to a culmination very soon ♥


 Report Review

Review #34, by chicken addiction And What a Mess It's Been

21st January 2015:
WHOOP what a fun chapter :) I loved that last scene :) and Oliver...yummy.

Author's Response: Thank you! I agree with your sentiments for Oliver. The next chapter is all written; gonna do some edits today and pop it in the queue.

 Report Review

Review #35, by devotedasperusual And What a Mess It's Been

19th January 2015:
Hello there :)

Well, this seems a bit foreign. It's been so long since I've commented on anything on this site, let alone KC&CO. Just popping by to say that I've still continued reading, even if I have become an absolute little Rose with my no commenting nonsense. So sorry, eternally.

I know you're probably reading this going "now who on earth is this random creeper coming along" but the only thing I can think of that you might remember about me is my deep love for Seamus, and for shipping everything and everyone that moves. Right, enough being creepy. On to the fangirling.

OH MY GOD THIS WENT IN SUCH A FANTASTIC DIRECTION I JUST WANT TO GRAB YOU AND SQUISH YOUR CHEEKS.

The only thing I have to say about the centre portion of the chapter would be that it so wasn't your first smut. Don't lie, no one writes that good on their first attempt. *eyeballs you severely*

But yes on to the last portion which literally found me losing the ability to breathe. It is so incredibly Edie-ish to get caught in the act by her entire family. Her mother, oh dear her step-father. Just everyone was so perfect. The harlot comment also had me cracking up and I'm not entirely sure as to why I found it so funny, but I did so there you go.

Just, they're both so perfect? I don't know how to describe it. It's like, my favourite books always have two main characters that without each other are pretty despicable people. Oliver is as arrogant as they come, and Edie's nothing more than a jumped-up activist without an actual cause but together they just work so wonderfully and beautifully that I can picture them sitting around a breakfast table fifty years from now arguing about something stupid and trivial and throwing pieces of toast at each other and it just sort of makes my little heart soar?

Fantastic job as per usual dear, and don't you think I'm not going to be stalking your a/c waiting for you to update again.

Because I will.

Winks and slowly backs away.

Author's Response: Okay, this review made me laugh SO hard. You aren't at all becoming a complete Rose--although that was about where I started with the cracking up. I also love Seamus and ship everything and everyone, so I'm glad you stopped to review! ♥

No really, it is my first smut! At least to this extent. I've written a tasteful "kissing and then fade to black" here and there... But I've been reading fic for over a decade so I'm sure I've picked up a thing or two, haha. Put those severe eyeballs away!

I love Edie's stepfather, and I wish he was more pivotal to the plot because he has such a small presence in the story. I just imagine this super laid-back, bearded guy who just likes to play music alone in their shed and who lets Hypatia drag him along to all of these crazy contemporary art gallery openings, where he is totally content to just sip on punch and let Hypatia natter on.

(I'm glad you liked the harlot comment, I was quite proud.)

Oh my god this review just keeps getting better. "Oliver is as arrogant as they come, and Edie's nothing more than a jumped-up activist without an actual cause" HELLO YES YOU WIN ALL OF THE PRIZES. They definitely are both flawed, but hopefully they work together well! Um I love the idea of 70 year-old Ediver throwing toast at each other... Like... Thank you I'm going to think about that all day now.

Stalk away! Working on chapter twenty-seven as we speak. I decided to take a little break from writing and was greeted with this awesome review. Thanks so much, it really made my day! ♥


 Report Review

Review #36, by marauderfan And What a Mess It's Been

16th January 2015:
Hi! Just stopping by to say that I loved this chapter.

I appreciated that there wasn't this huge falling-out about the articles - I think it's much more realistic that he had read them and just hadn't told her, and that they had an actual discussion about it - after all the lies and anger thus far, it was nice to see them just be honest and try to work through it together. It's also a lot more meaningful because Edie has a difficult decision to make, essentially having to put either her new relationship or her job first. That's a tough place to be in, and easy to relate to.

Well done on writing the love scene too, as well as the rest of the chapter that wasn't originally intended haha. I loved their fluffy pillow talk too, and him FINDING THE MAGAZINE haha

Omg, that last scene in the morning when her whole family barges into her room was so incredibly hilarious and awkward and like, so typical of Edie's life :p

Lovely work on this chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hello! Stop by away! (Does that even make sense?)

I am feeling pretty good about my decision to remove the ~falling out~ as well. Even as I planned on writing it, and developed the storyline around it, I knew it was just too cliche. Don't worry, they're not totally in the clear yet, because things can't just go right in this story. And yes, it's a very tough place to be in! Edie is finally going to have to make some adult decisions.

AHHH I knew from the second that Edie dog-eared the page of his photo shoot that Oliver would have to find it. I just didn't know how it would come about until this chapter happened. But hey, this way they got to do some other fun stuff too ;)

Oh Lennoxes. They are so much fun to write. Even as I'm typing, I'm like "Seriously? You're insane. Knock it off."

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter. I always get nervous when writing fluff so thanks for the encouragement ♥


 Report Review

Review #37, by Sanne And What a Mess It's Been

14th January 2015:
I just wanted to say thank you for not going the obvious way with Oliver eventually finding out about the articles and getting mad about it etc. (which is so very predictable). Instead, the conflict is Edie having to choose between her job and the man she loves. I think this is a much more realistic scenario and also much less predictable.

So, kudos to you for not going the predictable route and I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Funny you should mention that--originally I had planned on Rose showing Oliver the articles, and him getting mad, and pretty much following every cliche you'd have guessed. But it felt too much like 27 Dresses and basically every other romcom.

I hope the conflict came across well. Oliver really hoped that things would just work themselves out. He's definitely ignoring the problem (they both are) and has given her an ultimatum by saying how horrible the stories were and being like "Well just write a nice one now lol." He doesn't *realize* he's putting her in a position (and she's certainly had her hand in things), but yes! As you said, she now has to choose and it's not so easy. Really trying to focus on the "home life or career???" choice that women are faced with today, because sometimes you can't fully meet the demands of both.

And there you have it: another one of my soapbox speech review responses!

Thank you for taking the time to read this. ♥


 Report Review

Review #38, by xx And What a Mess It's Been

13th January 2015:
Ahh I really loved this chapter! It was probably my favorite of the story so far. The whole part with her family at the end was so funny. I love her brothers. And good on you for the sex scene. It didn't seem like your first time writing one so yay you. Anyway, I can't wait for more and I'm looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: Hey! I'm glad you liked this chapter so much. Sometimes it's difficult for me to write something so fluffy; like I have to remind myself that it does drive the plot (in a small way) and is worth writing! I'm glad the ~love scene~ was tolerable. I've already edited it, of course, but it's mostly the same. Thank you for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Sara Good Decisions

7th January 2015:
This story is sooo good! Hopefully there is a following chapter soon :)

Author's Response: Hiya! Yes, there is indeed, I promise. I suddenly realized today that this story has taken me over two years to write--I'm pretty ashamed of that! Lately I've been trying to get over my speed-write-and-queue writing style, which was probably why this story initially had so many readers in the beginning but which also led to less than polished chapters. Hence this is taking FOREVER now but I promise this story will see its end. And now I will end this sprawling response to a succinct review.

 Report Review

Review #40, by KoetjeBoetje Good Decisions

13th December 2014:
Oh my gerd, I love this story!

I started reading yesterday evening and was not able to put it aside. Eventually, when my eyes were closing on their own accord, I decided I would continue the next day. Now I've finished this chapter and I want more!

This story makes me clap my hands and laugh out loud when something funny happens (which is often!), but it also makes me moan in sympathy when something bad happens to Edie. I love the characters!

Keep the chapters coming, I am looking forward to reading them! :D

Author's Response: Hiya! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. It means so much when people say they read this whole thing in one go (or in your case, two.) Seriously, that is so flattering!

I was having a problem with chapter 26. I had the whole thing written but I didn't like it at all... But I finally had my stroke of creativity today (if you want to call it that) and have some stronger ideas. I'll hopefully have it done by the end of the month, maybe before the queue closure!

Thanks again dearie ♥


 Report Review

Review #41, by TumTum Good Decisions

13th October 2014:
Oh man this story is so funny and I'm on tender hooks wanting everything to work out. I love Edie, she's so down to earth; I like that she burps and drinks too much and blushes a lot. That said there have been whole chapters where I have just wanted to shake her and tell her to get her priorities straight - like this chapter for example. What on earth is wrong with her that she's willing to let things get that bad between her, her friends and even Oliver. Just ugh get a grip girl. Each time someone pointed out how cruel or just immoral her news stories are and she gets all surprised like 'oh really? Is it?' I want to yell 'Of course it is! How can you be in that much denial'. I do somewhat understand - she's insecure and very critical of herself and others and she's had it tough with men and her career but it makes me hate her a little and wonder what daft stunt she's going to have to pull to make up for it. I can see that some of the other characters think the same thing and I admire your commitment to making a flawed character who is still believably human.

I'd like to say that I hope that it all works out ok but I also really hope Edie has to face how badly she's behaved and maybe, you know, gets her head out from her behind and grows back some sense of integrity. And makes it up to the people she's hurt. It just really annoys me that Oliver, while his initial behaviour is awful and she was right to be as angry as she was (I thought she was amazing), is being so thoughtful and honest now and she doesn't feel the need to keep up her end of things... with anyone? I don't feel like all that self pitying she's been doing and that I expect her to do is a relevant excuse.

Anyway, that aside I loved the other characters in this, especially Seamus and Dean, they're hilarious and the writing is super compelling. I like that Oliver was so detestable at first but that he has grown on her and us as the reader. I especially like when he tries to hide his smile with his hand and his awkwardness is adorable.

My only criticism of the writing is that, in the earlier chapters, Edie spends an awful lot of time dwelling on Rose's and Lisa's appearance. I know that she was insecure but honestly I felt like I didn't get to know much about Lisa at all, except that she is much prettier and thinner and more I don't know? Submissive that Edie (in Edie's opinion) until several chapters later. And this from the supposedly passionate feminist.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. I truly appreciate your constructive criticism!

You've definitely hit the nail on the head with Edie. Flawed, flawed, flawed--and there's the irony, right? I don't want to give too much away (ahhh, it'll all happen soon, I promise!) but she definitely does have her hypocrisy called to her attention. I liked the idea of this deeply flawed protagonist, especially because she's a woman. Maybe I was reading too much Game of Thrones and watching too much Girls, haha. It doesn't seem like you feel weird about your opinion of Edie (and you shouldn't!) There were times that I wanted to shake her myself. I don't know what it is, but I really love creating imperfect characters. Not quite to the level of Hannah Horvath, if you follow Girls at all, but she definitely is one of the inspirations for this story! Maybe I can coax you into continuing with KC&CO if I tell you that Edie will indeed see things in their proper light?

I totally agree with pretty much everything you've said. There's only one bit I want to contest--and really, I am just playing devil's advocate because I think your review is really honest and I appreciate that. It's what you mentioned about her job, and the articles she wrote. Getting a job was more important to her than anything (maybe another flaw?), including relationships with friends and romantic interests. This I can totally sympathise with, as somebody who's received enough rejection letters to wallpaper my entire flat. But I can also see your point. Much of her cruelty towards Oliver was personal. Things like this are actually difficult to write, because *I* can see that she's being an idiot sometimes, and *you* can see that she's being an idiot... but stubborn ol' Edie just can't.

Ooooh, good point. You are totally right about Lisa and Rose, and their appearances! As I've been harking, the early chapters need a serious re-vamping. I like giving physical descriptions of characters, but somewhere in the back of my mind is still the notion that if you describe your MC too much then she's a Mary-Sue. Obviously this is not true--it's definitely a flaw in my writing. I appreciate you pointing that out! I'll make a note of that for my edits, for sure.

Thank you again for leaving such a helpful review!



 Report Review

Review #42, by coleridgeandco Good Decisions

9th October 2014:
This is seriously one of the best fanfictions I've ever read.
I love your 'political undertones', to quote your own story ( ;-P ) and I can't wait to see how you will develop the friendzone business!
This is awesome, you should know, and a very original piece of writing in its genre.

PS I'll be impatiently waiting and checking your page constantly to keep on procrastinating by reading KC&CO!

Author's Response: Oh, gosh, thank you! That's so kind. You have no idea how lovely that is to hear! Thank you very much ♥ As for updates, I should be working on this in the near future since I suddenly have so much free time *cough unemployed cough* So check back soon for more procrastination fuel~

 Report Review

Review #43, by nott theodore Good Decisions

16th September 2014:
Hello again!

AH SO MUCH FLUFF THIS IS AMAZING! I really love getting the chance to read about Oliver and Edie and all their cute moments now that they've finally talked to each other about their feelings and stopped being all obstinate and stupid about things not being able to happen between them. It's so great to read about them together in this chapter because we've been reading and hoping for them for so long and now they're finally getting there. Which is amazing.

Your description of the wedding is just amazing. Every little detail is painted so vividly that I can picture it in my mind - the music, the dancing, the order of it - I couldn't help laughing out loud when I read about Claire getting up to announce every single stage in the wedding and the party afterwards, because it's like it's been organised with military precision and even if the other guests don't want to do any of the things she's insisting on, they don't really get much of a choice since she's announcing the instructions to the whole party.

The detail and thought that you've put into the wedding really is great, though. And it really does fit well with what I imagine Justin wanting - some fancy location and everything done so properly, so that everyone is guaranteed to know that he's done well for himself and that he and Lisa are going to be successful. I'd love to see his family's reaction if they found out that Lisa was already pregnant :P

Talking of Lisa, I love the way that she's breezing around the wedding and doing so well with all the bride's duties, talking to all the guests and enjoying herself, but managing to stop herself from drinking anything by passing every glass she gets to Edie. I'm not sure Edie's the best choice given the way she sometimes behaves when she's drunk, but she's the maid of honour - it's one of her bridesmaid's responsibilities, right? She doesn't have a choice about whether she gets drunk or not, she just has to help Lisa :P

Ah, Dean. So there was something more than the fact that Edie hadn't been spending much time with him and Seamus recently, and I guess he kind of has got a point because they risked a lot for her by breaking into the building. But at the same time I'm really glad you wrote about the 'friendzone' and you did a great job of capturing the confusion and awkwardness that Edie felt when she realised that Dean was in love with her. I do feel sorry for him, but at the same time, Edie shouldn't feel guilty for not feeling the same way. I'm just hoping that in the future her and Dean can maybe get back to being just friends, although I doubt it, unfortunately, as it's normally really awkward.

Haha, Seamus wandering in and just having no idea what's going on :P He's so great, and I loved the way he was acting like Oliver's best friend and then didn't even realise the bartender was a man. Seamus is brilliant for comic value, as well as being a good friend.

Aw, Oliver and Edie are once again really cute (I'm feeling like I need to improve my vocabulary right now, I apologise!) and I love them getting to know a bit more about each other through normal, little conversations like this. Although Edie made me laugh so much after all her resolutions not to do anything, even kiss Oliver, and then by the end of the chapter she's just demanding that Oliver goes and takes her back to his place. Edie's just such a realistic character and that's fantastic - she makes mistakes, plenty of them, and has to live with them, but she's so likeable as well.

Ah, I'm a bit worried about the truth coming out about her articles, though! This was a great chapter!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello again! So sweet of you to leave two wonderful reviews. Thank you very much ♥

Hahaha "stopped being all obstinate and stupid." That's very true. (Maybe mostly Edie's stupidity, but we'll see...) I was very nervous writing this scene because I figured a lot of readers have been waiting for it forever (or those of you who don't still hate Oliver, anyway, hehe.) I was so scared I wouldn't do it justice! Turning Edie from completely helpless in the way of romance to *this* was nerve-wracking.

Ohh, Claire... I don't think the mother of the bride typically even has a role in weddings (at least that I've seen.) But Claire is certainly not letting that happen. Good thing sweet Lisa is as calm and laid back as she is, or things could have gotten very ugly...

Yeah! To be fair to Edie, she really did intend to stay sober for the night... But things didn't exactly go as planned. Like you said, though, she's just doing her job, right? ;)

Yeah, I really wanted Edie and Dean's relationship to not be as black-and-white as I've seen before. (Obviously in some cases that works, but it wouldn't for this story.) They're both good people, but they're in an unfortunate situation with no real remedy, so each of them is the victim and each of them is to blame in some way. Edie really does ask a lot of him, and even kind of uses him unknowingly (especially with breaking into Witch Weekly.) But she isn't required to have feelings for him because of it.

SEAMUS. I feel like I need to write a series of one-shots based on what's going on in Seamus's head. I'd imagine it at times to just be a little hamster on a wheel, or cheese sandwiches, or girls.

Yeah, Edie's resolve didn't last very long, did it? It very quickly went from "we should keep at a distance" to "well... I mean... we *could* kiss, I guess." I was nervous writing that whole part of the chapter, because I wanted to acknowledge that they weren't outwardly trying to be cruel to Rose. But I also wanted to stray away from the "forbidden romance," especially at a wedding. Hence Oliver and Edie didn't dance together or really even interact in any way that felt too "Grey's Anatomy" to me ;)

Oh, the articles. Shhh, Sian, just ignore them until they go away! That's what Edie's doing, at least.

Thank you again for your reviews! I can't wait to get back to writing this story. ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by nott theodore Makeshift

16th September 2014:
Ah! Okay, so I finally got a few minutes to review the two latest chapters of this story (I don't have time to go back and review every chapter, but I can start from now, right?)

Edie's nervousness before the wedding was really cute. And she just can't concentrate on what she's meant to be doing, which is Seamus's hair (isn't Seamus old enough to do his own hair? It's not like he's the one getting married :P) and eventually her mum has to do it for her. At least she can now admit (to herself) why she's so nervous about going, and it's not really the fact that she's got a long journey via Portkey. That's a good sign!

And arriving right in the middle of a fight, that sounds so like something that would happen to Edie. The explanation of the fight made me laugh a lot, too - it's always those ridiculous sort of tensions that come along and cause a fight or something years later!

Dean! It's been a while since we saw him properly in this story and I have missed him, even though I've been preoccupied (like Edie) with all the other things that are going on in her life. He seemed to be acting a bit strange with her, so I'm intrigued about what's causing that... maybe just the fact that she's not been making time for him and he's annoyed about it? Or maybe there's something more to it...

Lisa ♥ I loved seeing the conversation between Edie and Lisa just before the wedding, and the way that even though she's meant to be helping her best friend with one of the biggest days in her life, Edie is still getting distracted by mentions of Oliver! It was nice to see the two of them though, before this massive moment in Lisa's life! Although I'm equally intrigued about why Oliver needed Justin to work as his lawyer...

The wedding seemed to fit Justin very well, although it wasn't quite as bad as I thought it was going to be, without some of the awful things (her Portkey was bad enough, honestly!). And Peter, breaking down and sobbing about how alone he was, made me laugh so much :P I can just imagine Justin's brother in tears about being single at the wedding!

Yayayay Edie and Oliver! I was so excited for this moment, because it was great, after 24 chapters, to see them having the conversation they've probably needed to have since the very beginning (although to be honest, if they'd had this conversation way back then, there wouldn't have been a story for us to read so I won't blame you for that :P). The explanation about Oliver and Rose makes sense, and I don't think worse of him for it, especially when Edie's thinking back to the relationship she had with Cormac (!) which basically paralleled what was happening with Oliver and Rose. And of course, the explanation brought Oliver's feelings about Edie into the open more, and I couldn't complain about that!

OLIVER AND EDIE FINALLY KISSED!!! ♥ ♥ ♥ That was such a cute moment and a really great end to this chapter - I can't wait to see what happens next! (I'm really hoping that Edie doesn't go and do something stupid and make things awkward again...)

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi there! You most certainly can start reviewing from wherever you want. If you're suddenly like, "Oh, and by the way, in chapter two you mentioned something I didn't like..." I would a) be very impressed with your memory and b) be very thankful 'cause that chapter is about to get a major facelift this week. Right now it's oh so *Cringe-y* to me.

Haha, Seamus certainly is old enough to do his own hair! But that's him, I guess. A fun-loving and hyperactive little terrier, and also extremely lazy. Plus Edie probably felt bad about pretty much ignoring him for so long...

Ha! Yes, the fight! I posted a rather embarrassing status in the forums about it. I was picturing these two very bro-y guys, in American terms. Like the kind who visit their old colleges and reminisce during football games about how good it was ten years ago, and it's kind of funny but for some reason also made me a little sad? Anyway I couldn't think of a British word for "bro" and enlisted the help of some people on the forums... ha!

Ohhh gosh, writing an Edie and Lisa scene is just like... detoxing from the rest of this story. They just come so naturally (not at all trying to be boastful, I hope it doesn't sound that way) just because they're such good friends and their time spent together feels so natural and easy. I really liked writing the scene of Edie helping her to get ready. Even though Edie was being a bit selfish, as per the usual, and wanting to know more about Justin being Oliver's lawyer...

Ha! That Portkey! I was rather pleased with that one, to be honest. Justin. Oh, Justin. And Peter! I imagine him to be like the older, shorter, not as attractive, not as successful brother who's like, a door-to-door salesman for hair loss potions or something. Poor lil feller.

Wow, yeah, I guess 24 chapters is a long time to wait. Phew. A long time coming, I'd say, and hopefully it felt pretty natural. One thing I am terrified of--yes, TERRIFIED--is building a relationship too quickly. So I think I overcompensate by dragging it out for as long as possible? And ew, Cormac. Paha. What was Edie thinking, eh?

Thank you Sian! On to the next wonderful review you've so kindly left! ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by marauderfan Good Decisions

15th September 2014:
Another fab chapter! Lisa's wedding was so entertaining, particularly her outward composure while running around and handing off drinks to Edie.

Fluff! And more fluff! Haha, honestly I loved it. For me it's such a struggle-fest to write anything fluffy, so I can appreciate your trouble with writing it - and it all worked out well, and even if you felt awkward writing it, it doesn't show. Congrats on the fluffiest fluffy fluff. :D

I like that you're addressing the friend zone too. Poor Dean. I do feel really badly for him, but it's not Edie's fault by any means. I think it's a really realistic view of that sort of friendship too, because in real life that's a pretty confusing situation and I think you captured that. It's awkward, and maybe it will get worse before it gets better, but I hope that someday in the future they can be good friends again, because I loved reading about Edie, Dean, and Seamus, the dream team of friends back in the beginning.

Awesome work on this chapter! ♥

Author's Response: Hey there! Ohh, Lisa is such a dear. I love her. I kind of based her off a former co-worker of mine, who got married and was very nonchalant about the whole thing (she didn't even really "walk down the aisle" so much as stumble down a hillside in a dress without music.) Plus it's more fun for the groom to be freaking out... ;)

FLUFF SO MUCH FLUFF YES. I'm right there with you. It's a struggle-fest to write a snuggle-fest (should we maybe get this printed on coffee mugs/tee shirts?) I'm glad that you liked it though. Honestly I'll probably go back through and tone down on the soppy-ness (especially at the beginning... ugh) but I'll try to stay strong and keep most of it in there!

I really do feel bad for Dean too! He's such a great character in the books, and has always been a favorite of mine. I kind of feel bad for writing him this way. Possessive!Dean is more of something we see in the movies, if my memory serves me correctly, when he's dating Ginny. But I'm definitely building off of that--Dean and Edie just wouldn't work because he's too possessive. Both of them are headstrong, which could potentially work *ahem Oliver ahem.* But it's the way that Dean uses his stubbornness, by trying to control somebody, that just wouldn't work with our friend Edie.

Thank you so much for this review, lovely! Sorry it's taken me so long to respond. I just moved across the country and almost have everything unpacked and ~*~internet~*~ so soon there will be updates! AHHH plus I completely re-wrote the ending and am so much more in love with it and can't wait to get there now.



 Report Review

Review #46, by teh tarik Good Decisions

13th September 2014:
HELLO!! I'm back. And I really do apologise for my awfully sporadic reviewing, but ugh, I'm not so good with reviewing everything I read anymore. Just...I PROMISE YOU THAT I'M STILL FOLLOWING THE MISADVENTURES OF EDIE LENNOX. ♥

AH. AAH.

I would love some coffee.

*swoons and falls in love with this fic all over again*

OK, gah, so much fluff, and yay! All that Ediver is finally being realised.

Gah, you've written Lisa's wedding so well! All the details from the vineyard to the expensive cheeses etc.I don't think I'd believe it if you say that you've never been to a seaside Italian wedding before. :D I must say I love Lisa in these last two chapters: how collected she is despite it being her wedding day and all (well, until the makeup mishap), and how she keeps plying Edie with drinks because she can't drink herself.

GAH, I'm just going to list all the things I love about these past two chapters.

- Peter Finch-Fletchley blubbering away, arm-in-arm with Edie

- Lobster puffs sound absolutely delicious. ARE THEY EVEN A THING?

- Seamus and Oliver being such great mates and all.

- The revelation that Oliver and Rose are not a thing. And bahaha, that Edie has been an utter idiot all this while. Sometimes I feel like shaking her. Which makes me love her all the more.

- Edie's fantasies. SERIOUSLY. (Very sturdy rafters). Good god.

- ALL OF THE EDIVER. The kissings, the awkward!Edie moments, and drunk!Edie at the end practically DEMANDING that he take her home. For *cough* coffee. Yeah, right.

I think you made a good point with the whole Friendzone message. Edie feeling all uncomfortable and selfish because she's enjoying herself and not thinking about Dean. It's great that you point out that there's absolutely nothing wrong with what she's doing; it's something I was wondering about when I was reading this chapter. Then I got to your A/N and saw your message about the whole issue. It's GREAT that you bring this up; there are so many fics with OCs whose best mates are all guys, who get along with dudes but none of them really address the relationship complexities and issues that can arise with such situations. Hmmm, I wonder how things are going to turn out between Edie and sulky!Dean.

AH OKAY I LOVE THIS CHAPTER. I know you're probably hoping for useful feedback, but I don't really know what to suggest. These chapters are just fabulous! You've developed your characters so, so well, and everything flows beautifully.

Next chapter, please! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hello! I'm finally responding to you--yeesh. What a month it's been. But your reviews make me so happy, and I'm always so glad to respond :)

I read that as "Ediver is finally being released," and imagined this giant 1/3 Edie, 1/3 Oliver, 1/3 Kraken emerging from the sea and sinking all of the other 'ships. (Must... not... doodle this... Or maybe later.)

Unfortunately I have not been to a wedding like this... most of my friends have done the "unassuming garden wedding" Edie was grumbling about. Although this kind would certainly be more fun, and I don't know what she's complaining about!

Honestly I wish I had thought of Peter Finch-Fletchley before this chapter, because I love him so much. I have such a clear image of him in my head, played by this really minor actor named Danny Strong... I'm fixin' for a big KC&CO edit (finally getting rid of all of the parts that make me cringe) and I may or may not put a little dash of PF-F in there ;)

You had me second-guessing myself with lobster puffs! Do yourself a favor and look them up. And get hungry.

Yeah! I am going to definitely explore the "Friendzone" thing, but this story is already SO LONG and needs to start winding down. Hopefully I can condense it into a few sentences. But I found myself even feeling guilty for not *writing* that Edie follows Dean outside to console him, which is odd. When something like this happened to me I pretty much ignored my best friend for the rest of the party (and kind of ran away in the middle of him confessing his feelings to me because I can't handle confrontation.) So imagining Edie heading outside and suddenly being very considerate and caring and knowing "just the right thing to say" and "patching things up..." Nah. Doesn't feel right.

Thank you so much for your review! I apologize for taking so long to respond. But I (almost almost) have the internet at my flat, which means I will finally be back on HPFF in a week or so, with updates soon to follow.

Thank you, lovely! Hope you're doing swimmingly! ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by EvilSoul Good Decisions

9th September 2014:
wi so fluffy xD
please don't make Oliver angry with Dean (or Edie)... :(

Author's Response: Yes, much fluff. This fic is now just a giant pile of bunnies. (Ouch, really bad joke.) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #48, by stop_the_attack Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

21st August 2014:
hey! i just started this and it's perfect... so perfect. i'm hooked, never stop writing! :D

Author's Response: Weee! Seriously, getting new readers this late in the game is the best. Thank you thank you thank you ♥

 Report Review

Review #49, by JT4HP Makeshift

9th August 2014:
I love this story! It is so great, really. Oliver and Edie are just fab. I'm glad they're getting there and I can't wait to find out why he needed Justin as his lawyer! Ah.

Can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much. Oooh, yes, much intrigue with the lawyer stuff. It'll all come together very soon, promise. The end is nigh! ♥

 Report Review

Review #50, by castaspell Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

23rd July 2014:
Two words: In. Love.

Author's Response: Thank you! I haven't had a review on chapter one in ages. So nice to have a new reader. Welcome!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>