Reading Reviews for Before They Fall
  
930 Reviews Found

Review #26, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Day for Madness

20th January 2015:
For a second I thought something steamy was going down.

Ha!

I think this was part filler, part the tables are turning on the dark side of things. Clearly they're still at school living their lives so little moments like this, Quidditch, injuries, fleeting conversations are necessary but man sometimes I just wish what was going on, on the other end.

But in your viewpoint. Although I'm sure it's just muggle hating and torture so you wouldn't be able to write 40 chapters on that. I'm getting sidetracked.

Bellatrix is a sicko. She really is. She makes my skin crawl. I think she would have married the Dark Lord if he ever needed to get married. Or she would bare his children if he ever needed children. And that just grosses me out my lunch might come back up.

Shudders to think of the two of them romantically.

I liked how Lily made her decision. It took a small push from her friends but I think she was getting there on her own anyway. Finally though, Lily and James are together. I've realized the focus has sort of shifted from everyone else to them and I guess that's to be expected. Would be nice to see little interactions with Sirius/Belle. I'm sure she's going to tell Sirius her secret soon. Or even more Alice/Frank/Moody.

I just have an Alice/Frank obsession that needs to be filled. You've given me an idea for a one-shot. Shame on you!

 Report Review

Review #27, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Not Just Friends

20th January 2015:
It hadn’t been until after he’d removed all the hair that he realized it would only make a difference if he played Quidditch naked.

^ Good golly. I tried to convince my boyfriend to shave his legs too for sports and he is not easily swayed, says he's not a polo swimmer. Haha, I just want him to do it so I can make fun of him. I'm a bad girlfriend.

Anyway, yes! The feels! I found myself beaming as I read this chapter and it happened so...quietly. No loud fireworks or crazy expectations. Heck, I thought they wouldn't get together until chapter twenty or the end at least. I liked this better. It was quiet. It was thought out and James still tried to control himself, as much as a man of his age can.

I thought the conversation they had of "friends" but "not just friends," was a classic. We've all been there trying to DTR our relationships or non-relationships. It was very real. I suppose that's what I'm trying to say. Relateable.

 Report Review

Review #28, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Build Up

20th January 2015:
Oh no! J, why couldn't you spare the owl. Hmph! But Petunia wrote back to her? I'm guessing it's going to be something horrid or maybe it won't be. Or maybe it'll be her telling Lily she's engaged or something and she doesn't want her there. Or that she's been seeing things, odd things, bad things.

Or I'm just looking into this too much because that's what I do.

And uh, Alek. Gross. Seriously, he's a slimy character. Anyway, I thought the potion scene was very well thought out. I actually quite enjoyed reading it! Normally I skim those parts because I can tell you for a fact I would not have been good at potions. I burn everything I cook.

...I still eat it though.

 Report Review

Review #29, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Revelations

20th January 2015:
supporters of the Dark Lord’s in Easter Europe

^ pretty sure you mean Eastern unless the Death Eater's like to celebrate easter. With those little marshmallows that are shaped like bunnies, oh peeps! And they wear bonnets and...I'm going to stop myself there.

So the hint you gave us in the last chapter I was right sort of. I never think of miscarriage because I just don't like to think about it. I know too many people that have experienced that in real life so it was heart breaking to read her story here. I think because I guessed she was pregnant in the last chapter it didn't impact me as much like other scenes have, which is fine with me to be completely honest.

 Report Review

Review #30, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Hogsmeade

20th January 2015:
Finally a chapter without bawling my eyes out. I have to stop reading now but I'll pick this up again later. Oh the feels! I just love their love even though they aren't in love exactly yet.

Was Belle pregnant? That's what I'm thinking. Or she hurt someone. I'm trying to figure out. I'm pretty sure you told me before but I have a bad memory! It wouldn't surprise me if she was. I'm interested in what route you're going to go. I could be completely wrong but her reaction to what was happening revealed a little something something.

The attraction between Belle and Sirius is obvious. They like each other. Great. But for some reason I don't see them together. I just don't. Obviously Sirius wouldn't care about whatever it is she is hiding but I don't think she's ever going to be able to let it go.

 Report Review

Review #31, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Order

20th January 2015:
There was never a thing wrong with extra precautions.

^ That sounds kind of off to me. Doesn't read well.

Oh Minnie! I'm still a little emotional from the last chapter I might have to take a break and stop reading but I really don't want to. Poor Minnie, calling her Gryffindors her children. You know I think the way you captured Dumbledore is perfect because he changed after the first war. Lily and James were dead, Sirius was in Azkaban, Peter was a traitor (though no one knew), Remus was barely living and all these other students of his were dead but there was no option to not fight. So he had to protect Harry. That's why I think he was so adamant about him trying to stay out of everything from the beginning and even when he started Hogwarts. He was just a young boy whose life could have easily ended any number of times. Lily, James, etc, they're still young as well. Like she said, they're children but in both generations they were all forced to grow up too quickly. I think he did a better job of trying to protect their son and the rest of the students the second time because he knew more of what he was dealing with.

 Report Review

Review #32, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Constant Vigilance

20th January 2015:
More than a few glistened with the tears that often fell when you realized that life doesn’t care whether you’re ready to grow or not.

^ You have me on an emotional roller coaster. I cried from that point on even though the letter from the Potter's made me chuckle and Moody. I just can't seem to handle this story! I think you're the first person to ever convince me of this time period. You and I both know I write (or did write) mostly humor. Ridiculous things half the time but this, this is fantastic. It's everything I would want for Lily and James (and of course the others) story. I feel like I know them, is that weird? As if I'm making a connection to them. They're real and I think that's amazing because I've never really been convinced of Lily in fan fiction. She's always so snooty and rude to James and James is always so beyond extra it makes it hard to see them together at times. This story creates that for me.

 Report Review

Review #33, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap One of Theirs

20th January 2015:
So many emotions. I think I'm just completely worn out from this chapter and the last I can't even begin to imagine how you wrote either. I don't even want to touch on Frank, Alice and Augusta because thinking of them makes me too sad.

So instead I'll talk about Bellatrix and how you completely creep me out. One minute i'm crying. The next I'm laughing. While others I want to hide behind my covers and speed read because that girl is dark. Your imagery had me shaking. That's a compliment to your skill but not good on my end. It's a good thing I'm reading this in the morning. You and Dan like to creep me out when it comes to Bellatrix.

Give me nightmares.

 Report Review

Review #34, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap No More Secrets

20th January 2015:
Oh lord. I just cried a lot. just call me Kim Kardashian because my tears were hideous. Lord, J, man. I wasn't expecting that. From the opening of the chapter I knew Sirius had done something and he had gotten into a car accident but I didn't connect the two together. Probably more my fault since I didn't re-read the beginning.

James's reaction was intense. I was surprised he reacted that way because if Lily can't blame Sirius then why should he? I know it was probably more of the heat of the moment and he is incredibly attached to her but that's his brother. Of course James doesn't strike me as the type if Sirius or any of the other's were to do something wrong he would go to the authorities or someone. Especially if they killed someone or did something just as bad.

I just feel pure doom is coming next. I reckon it'll be Voldemort's attack they were discussing in the previous chapter. I forgot to mention in my last review but you write the darkness so well. I was creeped out by Bellatrix and man I am currently OBSESSED with Lucius. You have no idea. After what, two years, two and a half years? I don't know how long it has been but he was my inspiration to write something new again. I think we share the same brain because all I could sense from him in the last chapter was his cowardice. i truly believe even though he was for blood purity and backed the Dark Lord and I'm sure at first it was exciting for him, he was a coward through and through. I think it partly has to do with love because out of all the Death Eater's it was only Lucius, Severus and Narcissa that were capable of love.

Oh and Augusta! I loved the mention of her. Truly made me laugh. I miss writing her. Oh and Alice! For a moment I drifted off and heard her in my head and a slither of a story emerged but the chapter sunk me back in and I can't remember what it was about.

Ugh, addicting! How am I going to get anything done today?

 Report Review

Review #35, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot, and Prongs

20th January 2015:
It was nice to know that, even though Alice and Frank’s feelings for one another were clear, Sirius cared enough to not want Alice hearing about some other guy liking her.

^ Loved that part.

Hey! Hey! It's been awhile. Excuse the short review but it's hard to copy and paste on this phone of mine. Wow, I will be honest I don't remember the first few chapters entirely. I know there's more to Belle's story and we have even scratched the surface yet so I don't think I have to go back.

Long chapter but easy read. Your words just flow wonderfully I find myself at the end when I feel like I just started at the beginning. More than anything what I enjoyed about this chapter was the friendship/family aspect because they're all very close their friendship moves on to a deeper level.

I want to know more about Belle of course but I think I'm just as interested in Sirius. Yeah, we may know his story and everyone elses but there's just a sense of him, his emotions, he's such a dimensional character that I can't get enough of him.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Ginny Padfoot The Force That Drives Us

16th January 2015:
That was a really good book that you wrote!
I loved each and every chapter of it and i can't wait to see the next book.

*Ginny Padfoot*

 Report Review

Review #37, by fishfingers and custard The Force That Drives Us

4th January 2015:
This was possibly the best written fanfiction that I have ever read. Good job, and thank you for writing it.

 Report Review

Review #38, by Snuffles The Force That Drives Us

1st January 2015:
Oh my. Wow. I simply don't know what else to say. I mean, I could yell at you until I'm hoarse for killing off Belle, but there wouldn't be much good in doing that. We'd probably just both end up extremely frustrated. (You know this is the second story I've read in which Sirius' girlfriend dies at the hands of Bellatrix shortly before graduating? Geez, y'all need to let up on the poor guy a bit. I think he's been through enough.)

But since I must accept it, I will say that I thought Belle died beautifully. She never lost her sass, her wit, or her courage. She faced it head on. She didn't let Bellatrix break her. And for that, I admire her. And you also nailed Sirius' reaction, imo. Watching him break like that, especially after seeing the two of them just be so gosh darn perfect for each other, was simply heartbreaking. He's just so lost and disbelieving and in pain, it physically pains me. Why must you put my baby through this.

And though this does not apply strictly to this chapter, since it's the last one I'm just gonna comment on the story as a whole and gush about James and Lily's relationship. I love it. I love it I love it I love it. They're such a natural pair, there's clear chemistry between them and their differences offset each other so nicely. Ugh. Can't stop fangirling. You also described Lily's mental state after both attacks quite well. She'd understandably carry a lot of emotional baggage from the two, and something like that's not going to erase overnight. But, you didn't let her dwell on it either and become some sort of hardened, emotionless zombie or whatever. Because that's not our Lily, is it?

I also feel like there's been some very subtle hinting throughout the story that Peter may not be totally loyal? Not sure, maybe I'm just imagining it, but he's definitely in a different class than James and Sirius, who are so obviously dedicated to each other and the fight against Voldemort. But I did like that you managed to include him well and treated him like the good friend they all assumed he was. A lot of people like to forget that Peter was actually, once, on the good side.

If I have one complaint, it's the lack of Marauder bonding, or any sort of real bonding that was not Lily and James. I do realize that is the intent of the story, to develop Lily and James's relationship, much as in the books where everything is from Harry's point of view, indirectly, and so this cannot really classify as a complaint. I suppose that in a perfect world, what I really want is a book series based on the Marauders and their shenanigans (or a movie. or tv series. whatever Joanne decides...) and so I certainly cannot fault you for that.

Perfect ending to a perfect story. Totally looking forward to the sequel, whenever you finish it. You have a true talent. Thank you so much for sharing it with all of us humble readers. :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Snuffles Surviving the First Defy

1st January 2015:
Oh god, oh god, oh god. When Olivia talks about "her boys" and "her sons" I just lost it. Nearly cried. It just makes me so happy whenever I read about Sirius being welcomed into their home as a second son, especially with this war going on. Shows that even in times of war, there are still good people out there.

And dang, all the Jily moments in this story are fabulous. This is possibly one of the best developments of Lily and James' friendship-to-relationship that I've yet seen. Seeing James so caring and compassionate, sensitive to her wants and needs, and always just there for her, it just makes me all warm and tingly and I really want to go looking for a James of my own, honestly. They're just so real. Earlier, you acknowledged Lily's problems with James, but we also saw his development, not to mention that there was a lot more to him in the first place that Lily never seemed to see.

And of course, every scene with Bellatrix or any of the death eaters is also excellent. You somehow seem to have given them a sort of humanity. I've often felt that the villains of Harry Potter are so wonderful in that, in some strange, twisted sense, you can feel for them. Bellatrix is the epitome of senseless evil, and yet, to see her groveling at the feet of the Dark Lord, to see her unending devotion and ceaseless desire to please him, we begin to feel sorry for her. She just wants to do what she feels is the proper thing to do (I won't say "right", because I believe even Bellatrix acknowledges the evilness of her acts). She truly believes this is the way that the world ought to be run, and that what she's doing is justified. And so I feel sorry for her.

Lastly, Regulus. Damn. I see glimmers of Sirius in him, albiet a more cowardly, selfish version of Sirius. He appears to have the most developed conscience of any of the death eaters, despite being the youngest, and I like he simply lacked the backbone, nerve, and true moral stamina that Sirius possessed that enabled him to walk out of his family. Regulus accepted and believed everything his parents force-fed him, but I can't help but think (as we do know from DH), that he's got a little bit of doubt about the whole thing. Wondering if, perhaps, Sirius does have the right idea. Anyway, this continues to be excellent and I can't wait to see where it goes next.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Snuffles Baby Steps

31st December 2014:
I love the way you write everyone. I love how you've developed the characters, mostly your OCs (Belle, who I simply adore) and those who essentially are (Frank and Alice- especially Alice! I can see where Neville gets his kick-butt-ness from!) But you also do the Marauders and Lily really well, and since this is a Sirius chapter, I'll mention him. He's my favorite character in the entire series, so I get very upset when people don't write him well, but you've not only written him well, you've somehow written him with almost every one of my Sirius headcanons included, it's so fantastic. Ugh. I can't stop fangirling over this enough. This is why I love fanfiction, because people like you really do use your immense talent to further craft and expand the world that we all love with a work that rivals the original in quality (in my humble opinion).

 Report Review

Review #41, by Snuffles Sirius Black

30th December 2014:
First off, congrats on the award! Only one chapter in and I'm already positive this is going to be one of my all-time favorite Marauder fictions. You just capture the boys and the Potters so well, it's exactly as I always imagined the Potters to be. So loving, caring, opening their home to any who needed it, and, of course, welcoming Sirius as a second son. This line in particular resonated with me:

But all that anxiety had melted away when they’d met Sirius for the first time during Christmas Holiday. From that day on they had tried their hardest to give him all the things his own flesh and blood deprived him of.

Because, first of all, 11 year old Sirius Black just hits me right in the feels. I imagine him as being this spunky lil dude that's so accustomed to pain and abuse and also had this complete upheaval of his beliefs after coming to Hogwarts and he's so proud and strong and doesn't want to let anyone in but he's so little and cute ugh it just makes my heart melt. And the fact that Mrs. Potter just wants to give him as much love as she can, as much love as she gives her own son, she just has always reminded me of Molly Weasley and I think you seem to have angled her that way as well and wow I just love this so far and I'm really excited to read the rest.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your sweet review!! Maybe by the time you finish the story I'll be continuing the sequel!

I'm so happy you're enjoying the story; your review has really brightened my evening! Thanks again for taking the time to leave it, and I hope I'm able to make you fall as in love with these characters as I am by the end if it!!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #42, by beefcake Sirius Black

27th December 2014:
how you even get a dobbie for this dobbies are free they have socks its like

 Report Review

Review #43, by Gauti The Force That Drives Us

5th December 2014:
This indeed is the best piece of fanfic I hv had the pleasure of reading. Only wanted to say that it would be icing on the cake if u continued the sequel(as darkness descends). It appears as if u hv not posted in 2014. Pls start posting soon. It really feels bad when one awaits eagerly for the story but no update about it is received. Hoping to continue the journey forward.

 Report Review

Review #44, by Tris  How To Love You

24th November 2014:
Yup. I love this chapter particularly much! This was sooo cute! When James said that guys weren't made to have so many feelings I literally burst out laughing! This was so cute and I like that you (so far at least) are making this the way I would expect Lilly and James to be when they were togather. They don't go on and off, they don't REALLY upset each other, they are perfect. loving this so much!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Tris  Train Rides and Memory Lane

24th November 2014:
Gosh,mi love the Murauders. Every tome I read one though I can't help but be sad about Lilly and James, it was nit enough time for them. I am TRULY enjoying your story and even though I am home sick for the day there is nothing I would rather do right now than curl up and read this story. Also I am really loving the depth with Bella, the cute potter family, the backstory of petunia and Lilly and just all of the dynamics you have created. This is a story masterfully pieced togather, and I am really excited to read on!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Capudoeza The Force That Drives Us

22nd November 2014:
I love this story. I hope you continue with book 2

 Report Review

Review #47, by Cannons The Force That Drives Us

7th November 2014:
Hi,

Words are something that I am struggling with at the moment, but I want to say this is one of the best stories I have come across on here and the amount of talent you have is unreal.

 Report Review

Review #48, by dancingflower Sirius Black

18th October 2014:
Hello dear,
First, I wanted to congrat you on your award for this story. I think you totally deserve as it is one of my favorite fiction ever (and believe me, I've read a lot).
Then, I wanted to ask you something. I am a French Potterhead and I think you deserve to be read here in France. So I wanted to know if it would be possible for me to translate your story in Frnech and to publish it on a blog (with giving you all the credits of course). Please, let me know if you allow me to do so

Keep going, you're amazing
Marie

 Report Review

Review #49, by Emily Evington The Force That Drives Us

20th September 2014:
Dear Jchrissy, So I'm not used to writing reviews (as this is my first review) I just finished your story and it was absolutely amazing! Well written and very addictive, and I don't cry often when reading, but I cried when I read this. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #50, by whisky The Force That Drives Us

12th August 2014:
I just want to say I'm obsessed and you're brilliant. I was too addicted to write reviews for every chapter cuz I had to get to the next. Can't wait to go look at more of your stuff!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>