Reading Reviews for Before They Fall
  
880 Reviews Found

Review #26, by nott theodore Christmas Day

12th July 2014:
Hi, Jami!

Aw, what a cute chapter! I'm so, so happy to read this chapter and see all of these lovely characters actually have a nice time for once, and have a Christmas without it being ruined by a Death Eater attack or something. They've already gone through so much and they've got so much more to face (it's making me so sad, knowing that) so I'm happy that they actually had a nice day on Christmas Day here!

I loved the fact that the three girls got up early to try and make breakfast - it definitely seems like the sort of thing they'd do, as a gesture of appreciation. And Olivia is just so sweet, I loved the fact that she knew that Belle and Sirius were together even though Belle hadn't mentioned anything!

The only tiny piece of CC I have is that I noticed a missing dialogue tag when Augusta's trying to get Alice to eat something. Other than that it was edited perfectly!

Oh my goodness, the presents were so cute! That was honestly my favourite part of this chapter, the fact that both Lily and James had put so much effort into coming up with the perfect present for each other and they were just adorable!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #27, by nott theodore Surviving the First Defy

12th July 2014:
Hi again, Jami!

Ah, I really loved the way that you worked this into the story already! I know that there's not that much to go off when you're writing Marauders era stories but the fact that you worked in every single bit of information that does exist about them just makes this story even better. I think it's great for us to see the 'first defy' here and the fact that they've managed to survive an encounter - though it wasn't as easy as the prophecy made it sound, necessarily!

That scene with Dumbledore was so well written. Seriously, how do you do it? He's such a hard character to write and I can never manage it, so I'm impressed by everyone who can, like you!

One thing I absolutely loved about this chapter (although it also made me really sad) was the fact that you reminded us that all of these characters are still children. They're going through a war and being forced to grow up too quickly, but at heart, they're still in school - I think the line about Regulus and the broom was the best example of that. It's just so sad!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #28, by nott theodore Holding On To You

12th July 2014:
Hi Jami! Oh my goodness, I'm sorry it's been so long since I read and reviewed any of this story, but I'm back now - maybe a few more reviews will be the encouragement you need to carry on writing? ;)

Wow, what a chapter to carry on with! I love this story so much and it's just reminded me why once again. You write the characters so well and I think that Belle has to be one of my favourite OCs in this era, especially paired with Sirius! All of the part with Lily and James and Lily getting drunk was so cute, and I loved the way that James stopped Lily before she did something she regretted. It was nice to see a calmer bit with the four of them before the dramatic ending! I liked the interaction between Bellatrix and Rodolphus because we don't often see much of the two of them together but it was great here, and then that ending! No, what a cliffhanger! James was trying to save Lily and Bellatrix was being evil and... I'm reading on!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #29, by SiriuslyPotter Head Boy and Girl

5th July 2014:
Really enjoying your story, it's well written and flows beautifully. Hope we see lots more of the Marauders in the upcoming chapters; I have a soft spot for Sirius and Remus.

Thank you for working so hard

 Report Review

Review #30, by Thekels7 The Force That Drives Us

27th June 2014:
Quite funny and emotionally traumatizing at the same time...

Definitely deserving of the most addicting award because I couldn't stop reading, my only guilt was James's owl's name was Beowulf considering that was what I was actually supposed to be reading lol.

Good job!

Author's Response: Aww I wish I could say I was sorry about the emotionally traumatizing aspect of it...but... ;).
Thank you so much for reading, and I'm really happy you liked it!

Have fun reading Beowulf!
Jami


 Report Review

Review #31, by endlessShenanigans A Night of Surprises

18th June 2014:
I'm really liking this story so far! Its not the usual James/Lily story which is refreshing, and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so happy you're liking it!

Jami


 Report Review

Review #32, by Pretense Of Perfection The Force That Drives Us

18th June 2014:
I want to start off by saying this is definitely one of the top ten best Marauder fics I've ever read. and I read a lot of them.

I do want to point out that in the beginning of the chapter when Lily is thinking about how cruel the world is, you used the word "cruelness" which would've sounded better in the sentence as "cruelty," at least in my opinion.

But wow. I'm still in shock over Belle's death. I just want to hug and love poor Sirius. I can't wait to start reading the sequel, and I hope you update it soon!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Pretense Of Perfection Forever Frozen In Time

18th June 2014:
Wow...I didn't see that one coming, at least not until next chapter or possibly the sequel. I'm shocked.

Poor Belle. Poor Sirius. I don't know what to do with myself right now. I have too many feels about this.

I honestly didn't like Bella all that much at first. She was funny, but she's sort of the pretty girl that you love to hate. Over time I feel like I got to know her better, and projected a lot of myself into her as well. I really try not to do that, just for this reason, but Bella and I share a lot of personality traits. This really hit me hard.

But of course I understand. I'm not sure how everything will play out, but I do understand that sometimes a character needs to pass on for the sake of the plot. Sigh.

 Report Review

Review #34, by Pretense Of Perfection Compromising and Conniving

16th June 2014:
Poor Violet...I mean, how desperate and insecure do you have to be to throw yourself at someone else's boyfriend when he clearly isn't interested. Sadly, a lot of girls seem to think this way...

Anyhow, poor Lily too! I don't know if I could hold my tongue, or my fists at my side listening to all of that! Violet is actually planning to use her body to try and manipulate James away, and Lily knows it. She has wayyy more self control than I do, that's for sure.

Overall another awesome chapter. I can't wait to finish this and start reading the sequel. Please update it soon!!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Pretense Of Perfection Holding On To You

12th June 2014:
Ahhh, I can't wait for the next chapter!!!

There are some fics I read with Bellatrix that really just make me hate her through and through as a character. Than there are some where I sort of understand a small part of who she is, was, and how she got that way. This is definitely not one of the latter. I literally want to strangle her myself. If she didn't drop me first for being a muggle. Gr.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Pretense Of Perfection When Past Collides With Present

11th June 2014:
Ahhh, I haven't reviewed in a few chapters!!

These last few chapters have been so intense, wow! I love all the new interaction between Bella and Sirius, its about time those two finally stopped dancing around their chemistry. As for Sirius and James? I almost can't believe they're finally officially together!

I'm also glad Christophe and the Leclaire's finally had what was coming to them as well. Poor Belle having to deal with them for so long, I really have no idea why/how she did it.

Anyways, I just wanted to say this story is so great, I've really become so enchanted by it. It's nice to read about Alice and Frank as well, before their lives took a turn for the worse.

I usually make it a point to offer some sort of constructive criticism in every review I post, just because I feel like every writer needs it, but I honestly can't think of anything that I can even say in that aspect. I would perhaps like to read a little bit more about Remus and Peter, but since the story is mainly about James and Lily I guess that's sort of expected.

And I usually don't rate, but I just had to do it on this chapter (:

 Report Review

Review #37, by Pretense Of Perfection Revelations

4th June 2014:
Aw, poor Belle! Although, I sort of knew what her secret was for some reason. Probably because I keep over-identifying with her, and I have personal experience with some of this subject matter.

That being said, I think you did a pretty good job explaining her feelings and everything that happened. I think the side-effects of her miscarriage maybe could've been expanded upon a little bit more (as there are many, and they make you absolutely miserable), but overall I think you did an excellent job. I felt both sympathy and empathy toward her, as well as anger toward her family and ex-boyfriend.

Of course Lily and Alice are there for her, that's just the type of friends that they are, and it made me feel a little bit warm and fuzzy inside. I hope she tells Sirius soon!!

Oh, and I think this was from the last chapter, but I also absolutely knew that Alrek was a death eater. He was just too smooth and polite, and so interested in Lily he couldn't have been one of the good guys. I mean come on now.

 Report Review

Review #38, by Pretense Of Perfection No More Secrets

1st June 2014:
Wow, the secret is finally out! I've been dying to know since it was first hinted at...wow. Just wow.

The emotions you evoke and portray are stunning. It's a true testament to Lily's character that even from the beginning, she didn't blame Sirius. I know personally I probably would have, at least at first, until I calmed down and saw through the haze of confusion and grief.

I honestly understand why James reacted so strongly, and I'd be disappointed if he didn't. It's just true to his character in my opinion. He has a hot tempter, and loves Lily very much. Watching her suffer was probably one of the worst things he ever experienced.

So clearly, I thought this chapter was excellent. Poor Sirius never can seem to catch a break.

 Report Review

Review #39, by Pretense Of Perfection The Picture of Friendship

1st June 2014:
I must say, this is a very well written Marauder's era fic! I like how you didn't completely ignore Peter, like a lot of other authors tend to do. To me, he was a very important character, and more often than not is done little to no justice by fan fictions writers, even in his Hogwarts years.

Anyways, I'm done ranting about that. I generally dislike the transfer student thing, but you made it work in this piece. Belle is a relatively likeable, and completely believable character. I'm not too sure how I feel about Alreck though...I'm thinking he might be a Death Eater. Dun dun dun.

I did notice some spelling/grammar errors, but nothing too bad, so I won't go ahead and lay them all out here.

There's two things I haven't been a huge fan of so far...One of them is Lily and James dorming together...it could just be a personal thing, as my head canon has always been that the Marauders dorm together no matter what, but I've always felt that the Head's sharing a dorm is just sort of...convenient I guess? And perhaps a tad unrealistic. Just my thoughts though!

The only other point in your story I'm having a bit of trouble with is Lily and James' relationship with one another. I know that they grew A LOT closer with the death of Lily's parents and all, but I feel like maybe without any of their personal back story, explaining the dynamics of their relationship before Lily's parents died, it just feels a bit...rushed or something? I don't think that's quite the word I'm looking for, but for some reason that's the best way I can think to describe it at the moment.

But again, overall it's nothing that detracts from the quality of your work, just me being canon police and super nitpicky about nonsense. I've really enjoyed this so far! It's been a while since I've read something that really draws me in that I just simply can't stop reading, and I think I may have just found it (:

 Report Review

Review #40, by Pretense Of Perfection Sirius Black

29th May 2014:
Amazing first chapter! I feel so bad for Lily.

The interactions betweens James' parents and the three teenagers is very well written! And creative, I might add. I personally never really thought of them as aurors, but I love the idea.

I did notice a few spelling/grammar errors, but nothing that really detracts from the quality of writing at all.

The imagery you use is magnificent, it made me feel almost like I was sitting there drinking cocoa with all of them (wouldn't that be my wildest dreams come true). Simply stunning.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Andreanne The Force That Drives Us

19th May 2014:
I finished reading this at one in the morning yesterday. It truly is addicting! Probably the best Jily fic I've ever read. There was the perfect balance between James/Lily moments and darker moments that showed us that the War was beginning. I've got nothing else to add except that I wished it was longer :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review and awesome compliments! I'm so happy you liked it!!!

Thanks again!
Jami


 Report Review

Review #42, by classicblack The Force That Drives Us

11th May 2014:
So I know why you won a Dobby for most addicting story.

I'm usually one of those people that leaves a nice little review every chapter but I was so wrapped up in this story and spending my weekend (which I should have spent revising) finishing it that I couldn't leave a review until now.

And let me tell you this story was phenomenal. Absolutely brilliantly done. There were no plot holes and hardly any cliches (and anyway everyone loves a good cliche now and again) and the dialogue was lovely and the pace was perfect and just gah. I loved it. I used to give out that word too liberally in reviews but I truly did love this story. I cannot wait to continue on to the sequel.

This story made me laugh and get a little choked up and just go aw. It was suspenseful and addicting. Seriously, well done.

Fantastic job and happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #43, by TheMaraudersBabe A Night of Surprises

30th April 2014:
I am seriously becoming very addicted to this story! haha. I can now see very clearly how it won that particular award. I think part of the charm and allure to it is that it is so well written with little to no mistakes at all in any of the chapters. It's quite admirable and I can only imagine how hard you have worked on this xo

 Report Review

Review #44, by PotterBaby__x The Picture of Friendship

30th April 2014:
"We have all the time in the world, right?"
Broken. Shattered. Writhing from the aches in my chest.
Your writing is amazing.
Really, really enjoying it.
The way their relationships and interactions between each other are written is superb and I've got so many feels, it's just so beautiful.
Not to mention, lol you're so hilarious! The dialouge between James and Sirius is fabulous!!
Big ups to you!

 Report Review

Review #45, by TheMaraudersBabe Head Boy and Girl

29th April 2014:
You're killing me, babes. Once again, well written and very nicely laid. Don't know how much more I can tell you -- there isn't anything for me to criticize. Always expect nice things from me! :) I think I'm going to add reading a chapter of this story every night before bed xo

Author's Response: These reviews have been such an awesome surprise! I just wanted to say thank you so much for taking the time to read Before They Fall, and I am so, so excited that you're enjoying it! You've put a huge smile on my face this morning!!
Jami


 Report Review

Review #46, by TheMaraudersBabe Hogwarts Express

28th April 2014:
Back again! I didn't say it in my review of Chapter 1 but I really enjoy the spacing of your paragraphs. By that, I mean that I appreciate that your chapters are not a bunch of long, arduous paragraphs. I like that they are shorter and spaced out because it (1) makes it easier to read and (2) makes it a lot faster as well. I can definitely see how that plays onto making it addicting! Once again, excited to continue reading! xo

 Report Review

Review #47, by TheMaraudersBabe Sirius Black

28th April 2014:
I really enjoyed this first chapter and though it was a good opening for your story! I know I'm pretty late to the story game for this particular story but I saw that it won the "Most Addicting Story" Award and I simply had to! All I can say so far, is good work! I am sure that you have worked hard on this story because this first chapter was flawless. I'm am looking forward to reading the rest of it! xo

 Report Review

Review #48, by coleridgeandco The Force That Drives Us

20th February 2014:
So... It is currently 4:33am, I have read this whole masterpiece in one day and I must admit this is the first time I cry over a fictional character's death. Even with Fred... And I kind of expected it with Belle, so... I simply bow to your ineffable skills

 Report Review

Review #49, by emily The Force That Drives Us

10th February 2014:
first of all, wow! you really deserved to win most addicting story...it is 5am, i have to be up in an hour, I tried going to sleep like 10 times but couldnt until I finished and now im just a blubbering mess. I didn't even realize how much i loved belle until the end. you are an amazing writer.

 Report Review

Review #50, by Europa27 Constant Vigilance

3rd February 2014:
I like your story very much. It is very good although, although the though keeps popping into my head, God all of them die long before they have a chance to live. And to see peter, it turns my heart. Just noticed a couple of things :
Remus was a prefect, but he says here in the story that we will leave if you are not sure before the Prefects meeting.
Mad-eye has both his eyes, during the trial of Bellatrix and others, as seen in the Goblet of Fire, which is long after this story takes place.
If you could just make sure of these two, yours would be the best James/Lily story.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>