Reading Reviews for Drowning Down Under
  
158 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Stunned Chapter 42: Memoria Reverto

18th January 2014:
YES YES YES AUSSIELOTTIE THIS HAS MADE ME UNBELIEVABLY HAPPY!
I think this is one of my favourite chapters, everything went at a good pace and just yeah, perfect really!
Definitely liked how you started later on in time and then went back to explain it all, very effective.
I'm excited for what the next chapter brings, oh tense with Lucius!
Anyway, I loved the Dramione action in the chapter (as always) and the whole spell moment where everything came rushing back to Hermione, expertly done. I thought that the idea of it all coming back in a jumbled order was especially cool as well!
Until the next chapter (hopefully not too long as you've been updating amazingly quickly recently THANK YOU for that!)
Stunned x
P.S. forgot to mention that I also liked the interaction between Harry and McGonagall, I think that portrayed really well how much of a soft spot she has for him!

Author's Response: Naww! Thanks so much for your lovely review Stunned! You're much too sweet!

I'm glad that this was one of your favourite chapters! I was very happy as I wrote it, writing the memories returning was probably my favourite part! I'm glad you liked the speed of the chapter, I was a little worried it might have been too fast moving but you've put me at ease!

Minerva is especially difficult to write for me, so I have been challenging myself to make it as realistic as possible, but yeah, I imagine she would have a huge soft spot for him! :)

Next chapter... Yes, I intend to put it up for validation later today or tomorrow... Depending when I write the next chapter!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #27, by Booklover Chapter 41: Accusations

17th January 2014:
Love the story. Read up until this chapter in one sitting. Can't wait for the next part.

Author's Response: Booklover,

Thank you very much! I can't believe you read it all in one sitting! Although actually I can... I tend to stay up far too late reading fanfics... I hope you enjoyed it!! Out of curiosity... How long did it take for you to get through all 41 chapters? :P

The next chapter should be up soon as I have just put it up for validation!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!!!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #28, by Stunned Chapter 41: Accusations

17th January 2014:
YES thanks for the special mention AussieLottie!
No Dramione in this chapter :( but the whole Malfoy drama was really good and I'm actually kind of glad you spent a whole chapter on it, it's definitely building the suspense!
I love what you're doing in the story, unravelling small bits at a time only to quickly create a new problem, it's very clever and effective!
At least they've got the wand (clever idea!) so hopefully when they manage to lift the memory charm off Hermione (GO DRACO!!) she'll be able to testify. Well, that's what I'm thinking anyway...
Loved the chapter, and I'm seriously looking forward to the next one, I literally never want the story to end I'm rather obsessed!
Stunned x

Author's Response: No worries Stunned!
Yes, no Dramione drama... And I have to admit that was really bizarre for me to write as previously I always incorporated Dramione into it... But as I am developing as a writer I am more interested in pushing myself to improve and try new things, so I am trying more dialogue and different perspectives. So it is very interesting to find out the reader's insight. :D

I prefer writing shorter chapters and then updating more regularly and now that the end is in sight for this story, I feel like I am writing a lot more and therefore being able to update much more regularly.

Thank you very much for all your flattery! It has put me in a wonderful mood! I had a lot of fun writing this chapter, searching for all the spells and coming up with little plot twists like the two wands and Hermione's counter-curse have been really fun so who knows... I may end up writing a sequel...

The next chapter has just been put up for validation so hopefully it'll be up soon!

Thanks for your ongoing support!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #29, by Stunned Chapter 40: Suspicion

15th January 2014:
FOR GOODNESS SAKE HOW HOW HOW COULD YOU LEAVE IT LIKE THAT I AM VERY DISTRESSED I AM ALSO VERY DESPERATE FOR MORE!
Congratulations by the way for reaching chapter 40 (WOW!) this story is amazing!
Literally I am loving just everything about it, you write so well, and the individual characters are so accurate and I just love the inter-play between them all and just everything!
Please update super soon! "Please? Pretty please? Pretty please with cherries on top?" (Haha stolen from you A/N sorry) ;)
Stunned x

Author's Response: Aw :)

Thank you so so much!! You're such a supportive reader! I always love reading your reviews! I've been writing this story for such a long time and it is my first big piece of writing so it still seems incredible to me that I have been able to do this!

I know I'm a terrible person for leaving this chapter at a cliff hanger... But you're going to hate me even more when you realise what happens next chapter!

Thank you again for your heartwarming review! I'll put up a new chapter for validation tomorrow, just for you!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #30, by slightly odd kat Chapter 13: Revision

14th January 2014:
There are at least 2 competent female teachers in Hogwarts, Professors Sprout and McCgonagall. So the new DADA professor cannot be the first one.

Author's Response: I meant a competent teacher in Defence Against the Dark Arts!!! :) Considering Hermione's experience with female teachers it's fair too, having had Trelawney and Umbridge as teachers, I think Hermione would be entitled to this thought too.

I think when I wrote this chapter I was thinking about the fact that Howarts had hired a new teacher, who wasn't incompetent. I wasn't saying there weren't any competent teachers at Hogwarts already because obviously there are a whole collection of exceptionally smart witches and wizards teaching at Hogwarts.

Anyway to sum up, I meant a new, competent DADA female professor. xD

Thank you for reading and thanks for pointing that out to me! I'll try to edit it to clarify it so others don't get confused too.

~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #31, by Giorgia Chapter 39: A Night Out

13th January 2014:
He's right on figuring out how to undo it all!! Ahhh!!! I would love to just be able to tell him xD This is such a great story, I really love it!

Author's Response: I think everyone wants him to figure it out... :P I'm definitely very excited for him to find out! Thank you for your kind words!

~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #32, by Stunned Chapter 39: A Night Out

13th January 2014:
Ohmygoodness I beyond loved that chapter!
That is SUCH a clever idea about the Obliviate counter curse I was practically bouncing around on my chair when I read it! It's very very frustrating that he doesn't know it's Obliviate that caused Hermione's memory loss, Ginny/Harry/McGonagall HAS GOT TO TELL HIM SOON OTHERWISE I MAY OR MAY NOT DIE!
The suspense is killing me!
Loved the chapter, and the interaction between Draco and Hermione especially, it was written expertly! 100/10!!
Stunned x

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Your comments are always so sweet! :D It is always annoying when the reader knows something the character doesn't know... ;)
I'll try to put the next chapter up for validation within the next week, unfortunately life is getting busy again! :3

Thanks for reading!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #33, by Stunned Chapter 38: Irreversible

11th January 2014:
NOW THIS WAS A SUPER GOOD CHAPTER!
Maybe (I'm all wrong I know but I just like to test out my theories even though you'll probably laugh when you hear them seeing as you know what will happen!) Lucius or someone will turn up at The Three Broomsticks thinking that his memory charm didn't work when he see's them 'together' and then Draco will realise what he did and BOOM! Harry Potter the genius can sort it all out and Happily Ever After!?
Hahaha sounds ridiculous but that was my first thought! ;)
Anyway I loved the chapter and Hermione's tentativeness around Draco was portrayed really well.
I'm so so excited for the next chapter, thanks for updating so quickly!
Stunned x

Author's Response: Stunned,
THANK YOU!!! :D
It's great to hear your theories! I didn't laugh, it's a good idea... But you'll need to wait and see whether I used it or not. ;)

I'm glad you though the chapter was realistic, I was just trying to convey Hermione's anxiety at being around someone she didn't know but who seemed to know her extremely well. I'm glad that was clear!!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #34, by AriesGirl40 Chapter 37: Obliviate

9th January 2014:
You already know what I think :)
I enjoyed the update.
Looks like Mr. Malfoy did make a mistake. He forgot to tell her to forget him!
See you soon

Author's Response: Well it's always nice to be reminded!!! ;)
Thank YOU for the comment! It really is fantastic to wake up to reviews. :D I'm glad you enjoyed the update, I hope the next chapter will be up by this Monday...
Mr. Malfoy shouldn't have taken on the smartest witch of her age... He's bitten off more than he can chew!

Thanks for reading!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #35, by Stunned Chapter 37: Obliviate

9th January 2014:
Things are progressing!
Great chapter, I thought, although I'm totally missing the Dramione-ness to the story, I am excited about this turn of events.
I also think you write it convincingly, none of that ridiculous behaviour that you sometimes see authors writing about but quite matter of fact and logical, which I think realistically, you would try and be in this situation.
I'm hoping (since Hermione dreamt this at the end) she might start to piece together that she has been obliviated and then will perhaps be able to provide some information as to how she can return her memory, or perhaps (being Hermione and all!) she will start to break down the charm?
I don't know, but I am seriously excited for the next few chapters, although perhaps after your 'despicable' chapter 40 things may start to look up! Please?! ;)
Anyway, loved the chapter and basically just really enjoy reading this story!
Stunned x

Author's Response: Awww :) Thank you for reviewing!!! I'm missing the Dramione-ness too... But the next chapter I just put up for validation is about to set the story up for a very cute event... It's very fun to hear your theories... I won't spoil anything for you though, maybe you're right, maybe you're wrong. Let's just say it's a lot harder to erase someone's existence from someone's memory than Lucius initially thought. ;)

Thanks for reading!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #36, by Giorgia Chapter 37: Obliviate

9th January 2014:
kjsegbABAILbsgsziuwbas!!! OMG! Bloody amazing!! God i just dont have any words to describe how this chapter made me feel!!! Please release the next one soon!

Author's Response: Awww :D Thank you for commenting! I just put another chapter up for validation so the next one should be up by Monday.

I'm happy to hear that my chapter gave you feels! >:D
Thanks for reading!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #37, by NeverForgetPG1 Chapter 5: In the Bedroom

29th December 2013:
Hermione's character seems to be changing so much. One minute, she is crying over her parents, the next, she is laughing about something weird. You also need to develop Malfoy's character. Why did he fall for her? How are his parents? Does he still really care about the whole mudblood/pureblood thing? Otherwise, the story seems okay.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
Hermione is going through some pretty major emotional trauma... That can include mood swings, so Hermione has been hysterical. Hermione cracked up at something that wasn't funny because of this. Draco was introduced at the end of the last chapter and you are only 5 chapters in... You'll see some more character development, I can promise that... :D

As for the rest of your questions... All will be revealed later on! Thank you for giving my story a chance!

~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #38, by AriesGirl40 Chapter 36: Draco who?

26th December 2013:
There still has to be a flaw in not remembering just one person, that sounds more like a clue..
I hope she uses her spell and has Lucius in jail for a small stint. The idea of him getting away with it without a lesson doesn't sit well with me.

Happy New year to you too!

Author's Response: Oh yes, a clue... You're just very clever. Things are about to become clear. Chapter 37 is certain to fill in all the blanks.

Lucius will go to Azkaban... I promise! >:D

MUAHAHAHAHAHA!

Happy New Years to you too! Enjoy the celebrations!!!

~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #39, by AriesGirl40 Chapter 35: Celebrations

26th December 2013:
Okay she has now lost her memories of Draco. She created a counter curse, I suggest she use it for herself. There are too many people out there who know she and Draco were a couple. How could she not figure out she was Obleviated?
See you next chapter
Hope you had a merry Christmas :)

Author's Response: Oh... If ONLY things were that simple... But I'm not that nice to my characters! All will become clear in the next few chapters... I do have some explanations coming up. :)

I did have a lovely Christmas, what about you? :D

~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #40, by AriesGirl40 Chapter 34: Results

26th December 2013:
With all those O's I think Hermine can do whatever she wants and make a living out of it.

Author's Response: Agreed! Hermione is a pretty clever person! :D
She has a pretty fantastic future ahead of her, something that she deserves after everything. :)

Thanks for the comment and read!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #41, by AriesGirl40 Chapter 33: Nastily Exhausting Wizarding Tests

26th December 2013:
What a slave driver. Atleast everyone used Hermione's schedules. Can't blame them for quitting and getting some sleep.

Author's Response: Yeah, I don't think I would want to be a study buddy with Hermione... Although according to all my friends I can be a bit of a Hermione myself!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #42, by AriesGirl40 Chapter 32: Back to Hogwarts

26th December 2013:
This chapter I enjoyed all the friendly banter between couples and friends. I seem to be behind a few chapters so I'll just keep my thoughts short so I don't get mixed up in chapters :)

Author's Response: Hello again! I've been wondering where you have been! :D
I'm glad you enjoyed the bantering, this is basically me coming back to the story after a huge break, being older and having found a new writing style.

THANKS FOR READING AND REVIEWING!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #43, by Stunned Chapter 36: Draco who?

23rd December 2013:
*gasps*
This was unbelievable!! I can't really honestly believe that she's forgotten him, it's only just sinking in!
You wrote it well though, none of that attacking him and refusing to listen to him, she's Hermione at the end of the day, and I'm glad she's taken their advice and gone to the hospital wing. Maybe things will start to look up?!
Draco had seriously better head on down to that good ol' library and get looking up a way to cure her!
Really good though, I loved the chapter.
Stunned x

Author's Response: Oh dear... I feel so bad at how horrible I'm being to my characters in this story!! Things are going to get worse before they get better I'm afraid... I have another two chapters written and things still aren't looking up! I can promise there will eventually be a happy ending though!

Thank you so much for your review and wonderful feedback! It's always lovely to get an outsider's opinion!!! :D

I really worked hard at writing this chapter in a way that gave a fair representation of each character and how they would react to the circumstances. Hermione, while having her memories removed involving Draco, still had all those experiences and has those emotions, she just doesn't know where they came from or who to direct them at... It's all a little complicated... :) Coming back to the point... Hermione is Hermione, she isn't being unreasonable on purpose, she's just trying to deal with this curve-ball!

But she has forgotten him... And you'll have to wait and see to find out what will happen next!

Thanks for reading,
AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #44, by Stunned Chapter 35: Celebrations

16th December 2013:
This was totally NOT what I was expecting. I don't really know what I thought would happen... perhaps the cliché Lucius kidnapping Hermione or something but this was just something else. A really unique idea and it's added such an interesting twist to the story. I wonder how it's all going to turn out!
Aw this has made me feel really sad and sorry for Draco, there was me, getting all excited about a perfect dinner... and it nearly was until Lucius ruined it!!
Another super duper chapter which I loved, I cannot wait for the next one, Draco's reaction when Hermione has forgotten all about their relationship is going to be heart-wrenching, I can tell!
Love this story I'm so glad I stumbled across it and started reading! Merry Christmas to you to and have a fab New Year! (I can't believe I've got to wait until January for the next chapter!)
Stunned x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm also extremely glad you stumbled across my story! Your reviews always bring a smile to my face! :D

I had considered a predictable "Lucius kidnapping Hermione plot twist" but I decided that this would be better... Or worse. >:D

I'm delighted you enjoyed this chapter! I will write over the Christmas break and look forward to uploading a new chapter in 2014!

Next chapter is going to be a sad one, so brace yourself!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #45, by Lucy Chapter 34: Results

15th December 2013:
You need to upload the next chapter! Like NOW!!! I'm in love with this story! If you don't upload before the Christmas break I am going to die. Okay, maybe that was a little bit of an exaggeration... :P

But seriously, you've been building up to something for the last couple of chapters and I can't wait to find out what it is!

Hermione getting 11 Os isn't really that much of a surprise! She IS the smartest witch of her age. :) But I like how you had Hermione and Draco discuss their plans for the future a little bit, it was really realistic! I'd want to be a spell inventor too!

I can't wait for the next chapter!
~Lucy (10/10)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing again!! It really does make my day! I've actually put up another chapter for validation, but now it's in the validation queue... :S

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, I know filler chapters can be a bit annoying, but for me, I start writing and have to let things run their path.

Anyway, hopefully the next chapter will be up before the break, but if not, it will be up afterwards!

See you in 2014!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #46, by Lucy Chapter 30: Home

15th December 2013:
Aw! This was such a cute chapter! Hermione's parents are really well written and I like how you compared the Wizarding war to WWII, I had actually had that thought too! :)

I absolutely love your representation of Draco and Hermione, they're like the cutest couple ever!! I'm going to stop writing now as I can't wait to read the next chapters!

~Lucy (10/10)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I've been thinking about WWII heaps as we've been studying it at school, so when Draco and Hermione's dad were talking I figured it would be a perfect time to drop in some knowledge I have! :D

Thanks for your lovely comment, it's so nice to get positive feedback! I hope you enjoy reading my later chapters!
~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #47, by theWICKEDone Chapter 33: Nastily Exhausting Wizarding Tests

6th December 2013:
Love it. Love it. Love it... Can't wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and your lovely review! :D

I hope to upload another chapter before the christmas break starts, unfortunately I have exams coming up so I don't have a lot of free time on my hands. D:

Thanks again!
AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #48, by Stunned Chapter 33: Nastily Exhausting Wizarding Tests

6th December 2013:
Aw this was a totally satisfying chapter.
I loved all of the characters in this chapter, especially Ginny, she's such a character!
Looking forward to the next chapter and hopefully now the stresses of exams are over for them they can start to have more fun! The celebratory dinner sounds awesome! :)
Stunned x
P.S. I don't know if you're reading my story 'Lucky' but if you are the next chapter is up and if you're not... can you please give it a read? And possibly a review?! Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you for your response! :)
I'm very glad you enjoyed this chapter! I've really been enjoying writing my story again so it's great to get some positive feedback on it!

The celebratory dinner is going to be very exciting... But I don't know about fun! ;)

Thanks for reading,
AussieLottie

P.S. I'd be happy to check out your story! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by Stunned Chapter 32: Back to Hogwarts

3rd December 2013:
YAY A SUPER DUPER FAST UPDATE (my favourite!)
As for the fact that this was a filler chapter I really didn't mind because your writing seriously made up for it!
I loved the on going 'chatter' in this chapter, it made it seem all the more realistic and funny, you wrote it excellently.
There's not really much else to say because it was so good I have nothing to complain about!
Looking forward to the next chapter and some exciting action!
Love, Stunned x

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! It's always very encouraging to receive them! I've just written Chapter 34 and have put Chapter 33 up for Validation. I'm glad that you enjoyed my filler chapter! I wasn't sure how my constant dialogue would be received, as previously it's been quite an internal monologue. Once again, thanks for reading!

~AussieLottie


 Report Review

Review #50, by AriesGirl40 Chapter 31: Malfoy Manor

1st December 2013:
One would have hoped that when they turned their back on the dark lord for the final time, they might have learned something. Mr. Malfoy is ignorant to the workings of the world without worries of blood. I think his world is about to come crashing in on him.
Good chapter :)

Author's Response: THANK YOU!! :D

I have a wicked plan in mind so I simply need to get it written down. :) Thanks for reviewing- and following my story in general! It's been a long time! Thanks for hanging in through my rough patch!!

Cheers,
AussieLottie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>