Reading Reviews for Curiosity Is Not a Sin
  
433 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MoonNRoses The Trouble With Cousins

20th April 2015:
Lol... knowing Rose, that probably was the first thing that started the change. Oh to be a teenager again.

Author's Response: I know, seriously, right? Thank you so much for your review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #27, by MoonNRoses A Compromising Position

20th April 2015:
Awww. heart to heart with Albus. He's so...responsible. No, that isn't the word and I can't think of the right one at this moment but I do know I want to be his friend... or his mum. I'd be thrilled to have a kid like him.

Author's Response: Yeah, I can't quite think of the word, either, but I know exactly what you mean. In the sequel, Scorpius describes him at some point as something along the lines of "incredibly earnest and a little too wholesome" - something along those lines, maybe? I love writing Albus, though - I'm glad you're liking him, too! Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by MoonNRoses Secrets

20th April 2015:
Nice! Rose is still slow on the uptake but her but her body, at least, has figured something out. I hope she doesn't break his heart.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad you're continuing to enjoy the story!

 Report Review

Review #29, by MoonNRoses Flirting by the Lake

20th April 2015:
Oh Rose... oh poor Scorpius. she has him eating out of her hand. But I can't help the grin on my face. I really must go to sleep now... I'll try and read some more tomorrow. Cheers!

~Mooney

Author's Response: Yeah, she really does - but I don't think he'll be complaining too much as long as she keeps kissing him! ;) Thank you so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #30, by MoonNRoses Forming a Truce

19th April 2015:
Yes, I love this ship too. I've written a few short stories starring them but I am really liking your long one.They really are cute. Oh I can't wait until one of them lays a whammy on the other. I'm hoping Scorpius goes in with a smooth move.

~Mooney

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope it wasn't too disappointing that Rose was the one who initiated their first kiss. ;) ♥

 Report Review

Review #31, by MoonNRoses Eavesdropping in the Library

19th April 2015:
Oh, Rose give the boy a chance!!! My heart is hurting for him. Poor guy... doesn't even realize how far gone he is over her, does he? And for Hermione's daughter, she sure is slow in that department, even with the eavesdropping. She must get that from Ron... oh... Ron's face when he finds out will be hysterical! LOL. I'm enjoying myself immensely.

~Mooney

Author's Response: Yes, Ron is *hilarious* when he finds out - I've written a little about it in a couple chapters so far, but I hope you enjoy the last (as yet unpublished) chapter of CINAS, which takes place as they get off the Hogwarts Express for the Christmas holiday.

Poor Ron.

(Though actually, it's not until the sequel that Scorpius and Ron *really* have it out - there are a couple very tense chapters I'll be uploading to it soon. /shameless self promotion :P)


 Report Review

Review #32, by MoonNRoses The Hospital Wing

19th April 2015:
I seriously had the biggest grin on my face when Scorpius came to see her... And when he left. I love that she was speechless and thinking of him. I should be going to sleep as I have to get up early in the morning for work but... a few more chapter shouldn't hurt, yeah?

~Mooney

Author's Response: Ooooh, I have that *all the time.* "I need to be up in eight hours... I'll be fine with seven, though!" "Hmm. I need to be up in six hours. But what's five and a half instead?" "Oops. Now I need to be in three hours."

... I hope that's not just me, anyway.

I'm really happy that you find CINAS so engaging. Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #33, by MoonNRoses Scorpius's Revenge

19th April 2015:
Ah... revenge by giggles... well played, Mr. Malfoy... well played.

~Mooney

Author's Response: Haha, yes - I'm so glad you liked it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #34, by MoonNRoses Surviving to the Weekend

19th April 2015:
I so want to know what Scorpius is thinking... poor bloke. I like the insight that James has and that you give him depth rather than making him a prat like I've seen in other stories. And I like that he is a sounding board for Rose and he doesn't get all super over protective. Rose speaking up for Scorpius was nice. I can't wait to see more interaction between the two of them. Cheers!

~Mooney

Author's Response: I can totally understand that! That's part of why I put quite so many incidents of Rose eavesdropping - I mean, it's a part of her character in general, but I definitely wanted to give some insight into his thought process, too. In the sequel - which was originally all Rose's pov - I've actually gone back this month to add in a lot of Scorpius pov chapters for exactly this reason! :) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by MoonNRoses Trick Sweets and Blood Traitors

19th April 2015:
I haven't been on HPFF in some time and reading this makes me want to kick myself from staying away so long. I love the build up and how you include all the family. I'm wanting Rose to give him more of a break and I see it in this chapter. Something is definitely starting and I LOVE it. Your style of writing is engaging and easy to follow. I am really enjoying this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this review (and all your others, of course)! I'm so sorry it's taken me a week to respond - I've been super busy, but I've been reading all your reviews, and they've put such a smile on my face. ♥

 Report Review

Review #36, by merlins beard Scorpius's Birthday

19th April 2015:
Hi Branwen!

God you make me so incredibly happy when you update. I saw the new chapter and was like "Oh my god I can't wait to read this..."

It was everything I expected... so cute and funny and just so... ROSE!

It's so like her to throw a fuss at sitting at a table that it becomes a suitable birthday present. I'd really like to know what she has gotten Scorpius too.

I like the fact that she doesn't need much convincing to join Scorpius in his dormitory... and I completely understand her desire to kiss him with his shirt on the floor rather than on his body.
This story is just so addictive...
I love it.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: ♥ I'm so sorry for the delay in responding to your wonderful review - it's been a busy weekend. Yes, it really is so like Rose, isn't it? I think she probably made up for it by jumping at the chance to go into the Slytherin dormitories, though. :P

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Ayumi Scorpius's Birthday

19th April 2015:
Loved this chapter as always!! I'm so glad rose stepped out of her comfort zone and sat with the slytherins, God forbid...and I love how well they balance eachother out ❤️ Can't wait for the next (and last!) chapter and the Xmas story!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ♥ I hope you enjoy them both as much as you've enjoyed this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Veritaserum27 Potter Family Secrets

17th April 2015:
Branwen - what are you doing to me with this awesome chapter.

Marauders Map, Rose and Scorpius action, and Victoire, too. By the way, I've decided that you must write her story too. I can't even imagine how awesome it would be!

I did find a little typo:

Once Albus was sure they could here again, he jerked his head toward the corridor.

I think you meant to write "hear" instead of "here."

Gah! Al is just so adorable and perfect. "Rosie, you're always allowed to be in a good mood."

I'm trying to put into words how awesome this chapter is. You did such a fantastic job of describing the scene and mixing it with the dialogue. It is easy to follow, and riveting at the same time.

It sounds like Draco has done a lot of growing up. I LOVE this. I also love how you told the story of the Marauder's Map - as it was told to Rose and Albus. I really love it when an author gives us a new perspective on part of the books that we know so well. I could just see Scorpius's eyebrows growing up his hairline - haha!

And nice try, Scorpius - but you won't be able to hex Rose just yet. He seems to be trying too hard to stay mad at her - maybe it's just me :)

I keep saying this, but I really mean it - Great job with this story!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Yes! Victoire and Fred are on the list, I promise. I've got a few Victoire/Teddy one/two-shots elsewhere on my list, as well as a short story about her work that I really need to edit and finish, *and* she actually features pretty prominently in the sequel to CINAS, but I really want to expand on her time at Hogwarts a little more, because wow. She was terrible in so many ways, and her relationship with Fred is one of the funner Wotter clan duos I write about.

(BUT I'M NOT ENGAGING IN SHAMELESS SELF-PROMOTION. Not me.)

I'm so happy that the retelling of the Marauders Map and my description of Draco-as-an-adult worked for you! They're both tricky things, and I really wanted to make sure I got them right. Draco in particular is so divisive as a character that I wrote this knowing that some people would say "He's too nice!" (though actually, almost no one's said that, to my surprise), but this really is my headcanon of him. I hope you continue to like the way I tackle him, because he appears several more times in this and the sequel.

♥ Thank you!

Branwen


 Report Review

Review #39, by Veritaserum27 A Package From Fred

17th April 2015:
Hello Branwen,

Gosh - I feel so lucky that I was paired with you for the Prefect exchange. Your story is awesome -and I definitely got the better end of the deal, here :D

I really like the pace of your story, and this lighthearted chapter came at a perfect time. After the last one was so drama ridden, I really enjoyed reading this. Thanks for giving me (and Rose!) and break in the action.

However, I need to comment on your pure genius at the shield charm necklaces and bracelets. How did you come up with that? I want one! You also took the skiving snackboxes to a whole new level. That entire scene was written so well. I could just see the entire family poring over the loot and deciding who got what, with side exchanges along they way.

At the same time, you kept true to their personalities - James and Roxanne are the pranksters - and James is a tad protective of Lily. Rose loves her brother, but doesn't feel as close to him, because of his sorting.

And of course, there's Scorpius, who can't even accept a chocolate frog without thinking there's something attached to it (although I'm not sure I can blame him).

Great chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Aww, I don't think so! I'm actually on my way to read Hurricane Luna after this, and I'm sure I'll love it just as much as you're loving this. (Or more. I love Luna.)

I'm really glad you liked that scene! It was actually much, much longer before the edits, but I cleaned it up a little and consolidated a lot of the stuff he sent because it just dragged. It's gratifying to hear that it still works well - I'm so tense about some of these chapters that have undergone edits, you have no idea. :P

♥ Thank you!

Branwen


 Report Review

Review #40, by Veritaserum27 An Encounter in the Library

17th April 2015:
Hi hi hi!

This chapter was so god! Love me some Rose/Scorpius passion-fueled, library-whisper-shouting arguments. Haha! I can't REALLY blame Rose too much for the confusion when it comes to Scorpius. I mean, even after she admits that she overheard his talk with Albus, he's still being cryptic. Or maybe it's just that it is SO obvious to me that Scorpius is in love with her and she doesn't see it...

I really like your Noah Nott character. He seems a lot more even keel than his cousin - sort of like Albus. He also seems to have a lot in common with Rose - much to Scorpius's chagrin.

You have a great talent for dialogue. I was reading so fast, just trying to get to the next line - and Rose's comment about keeping her mouth open was just... Bah haha!

I found a small typo here in this line:

she was even cheerful enough to she joined Albus when he headed to the library after they got out,

I'm not sure how it should read, but maybe something like:

she was even cheerful enough to join Albus when he headed to the library after they got out,

Your characterization runs deep - and I'm enjoying seeing a bit of Scorpius's Slytherin side. He can't fathom that Rose wouldn't have an ulterior motive for using the passage with his cousin - partly because he thinks everyone has a reason for doing something out of the ordinary AND he and Rose are in a bit of a prank war at the moment.

I'm wondering what Rose wanted with Fred? Perhaps she asked him to procure some sort of item that would keep her safe from any attacks - like a sneakoscope?

I guess I'll just have to read on to find out!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! ♥ I'm really glad you like Noah - he's a fun OC to write, and I keep trying to find a way to work him into the sequel.

Also - yes. I really, really wanted to show Scorpius's Slytherin side throughout this story, but in a fairly subtle way - like, personality traits and approaches to life rather than beliefs. (If that makes sense.) It was important to me that he be a pretty strong Slytherin, because I love causing existential crises for Rose every time she realizes it - and because it's going to be very difficult for her to fall back on "But most Slytherins aren't like that!" because, well, quite a lot of Slytherins are like that.

I'm glad you liked the line about Rose's mouth being open - she definitely hit a little close to home with that one.

Thank you so much! I'm really glad you're continuing to like it!

♥ Branwen


 Report Review

Review #41, by Veritaserum27 Conversations with the Potter Boys

17th April 2015:
Hello Branwen,

Here for another review with the Prefect Exchange!

So, I'm kinda glad that I didn't read this story before - not because it isn't good or anything, but because I get to see it from the perspective of a reader who is getting your freshly revised version as a first read.

And I LOVED the scene with James. It firmly cements just how strong and close this family is - regardless of their differences or outside friends. A lot of times, a set of arrogant family members (as Scorpius described them) are too wrapped up in themselves to care about each other. But this is not the case, and James is really sweet to Rose. He keeps her confidence and gives advice.

I also like that Albus is letting both Rose and Scorpius have their own defense in the "war of the fifth years." And although he is willing to listen to both sides, he's also not clueless that either party is completely innocent.

So... Scorpius is planning on retaliating, huh? It sounds like Rose is going to make a pre-emptive strike - or maybe something else.

Another great chapter and I can't wait to see what happens next!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Yeah, I think (and this actually does get alluded to later on in the story, a bit) that both Rose and Scorpius think that Albus is a little more clueless than he actually is. He knows that they're both not quite as pure as freshly fallen snow, whatever they'd like him to think. :P

I'm glad you liked the scene with James! That was totally new for this revision, and I really wanted it in there because right, they're definitely not too arrogant or self-absorbed to care about the people they're close to. They're all very loyal to each other, and I wanted to show that - and that James actually has surprising depths and insight, for someone Scorpius dismisses as being super arrogant.



Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Veritaserum27 Eavesdropping in the Corridor

17th April 2015:
Hi there Branwen!

I'm here for the prefects' review exchange. Ok. So this is my favorite chapter so far. I've gotta break down these three characters and what I liked.

I think Albus is the best character. Ever. I LOVE the CI - and it's exactly how I pictured him as soon as I read he had red hair. I think it would be funny if the CI could have Scorpius with the bright red hair from the story - haha. Anyway, Albus is so kind and sweet and really, really loyal. He plays peacemaker perfectly. I'm crossing my fingers that you have a story line for him somewhere in this novel (other than being Rose and Scorpius's go-between).

Scorpius seems to have it pretty bad for Rose - the poor boy doesn't even know what to do with himself. He loves to hate her and hates to love her. No wonder he is perfectly awful to her every time they meet! This chapter explained so much.

And then there's Rose. You'd think that the girl would sit up and listen when not one, but BOTH boys seem to have picked up on the same character flaws of hers! But no, all she's worried about is how well Albus defends her to her nemesis. She's got a lot of growing up to do.

So - here is my official CONGRATS ON BEING IN THE TOP TEN!! This story totally deserves it!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Ugh, I knew I forgot something when I requested that CI! I meant to ask for them to make Scorpius's hair red, but it totally slipped my mind.

I'm really glad you like Albus so much, because yeah, that's exactly how I wanted him to come off - I actually just wrote a scene in the sequel in which Albus throws a very uncharacteristic fit for Reasons and Scorpius is just kind of standing there thinking, "What is going on, I am so confused." (Except not quite like that. Obviously.)

Poor Scorpius. I'm really glad you felt like this chapter explained a lot of his reaction toward her, because yeah, I wanted that to get established fairly early on.

Thank you so much for your congrats and wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #43, by just.a.willow.tree Potter Family Secrets

16th April 2015:
Okay, I know I'm kinda reviewing the story out of order, but I was going back and finding a couple of my favorite chapters with the least reviews. Perverted Scorpius, yikes. >__> I find his ~feelings~ for Rose quite hilarious, especially when she teases him and he actually gets all embarrassed and adorable about it.

(Scorpius is one of my favorite Next Gen characters.)

Also, may I take a moment to applaud you for making the beautiful choice of having all your Next Gen stories exist in the same world? Because I absolutely /love/ stories grouped together like that, and I've only found one other author who wrote her Next Gen stories like that. And I like that I can love the same Rose/Scorpius couple throughout all your other stories.

Rose in all her self-confident glory. :') I love reading about girls who manage to pull these sorts of things off when talking to guys, and this just makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. (Odd topic to feel fuzzy about, I know.)

AHHH. Your writing gets me all ~YAY~ inside. If that makes sense. :P

Love,
Eva

Author's Response: Aww, no worries, Eva! There's no reason you should have to review in order if you don't want to. :P Yeah, there are wildly disparate review counts between chapters because some of them are totally new (though not all necessarily new content). I really appreciate your reviewing those, because they've been looking so lonely to me. :P

I'm really glad you like the all-the-same-world thing - I know that a lot of people don't do it that way, but I ended up spending so much time developing a solid headcanon for CINAS that I 1) didn't want to do it again and 2) had so many more stories I wanted to explore that staying in the universe just seemed natural.

Also, I think my readers usually like it? For lots of reasons?

I can definitely get a little ridiculous with it, though. Technically, even my Marauders fics are in the same universe - I think I've alluded to a tiny detail I mentioned in one of those stories in this one. (Which was probably unnecessary. I think one person did notice once, though, which made me very happy. :P)

It is totally not a weird topic to feel fuzzy about, actually! I can totally understand that. I feel like girls (and even women, for that matter) tend to be written to conform to certain gender norms that I really don't like, and while a lot of it was initially subconscious, I think that a lot of my female characters (and male characters, for that matter!) kind of subvert it. Rose and Scorpius definitely do.

Thank you so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by merlins beard Prying Fathers

16th April 2015:
I'mso glad this is over (for now), it's 1 a.m. again... i can't wait for the next chapter...
I love this story so much,I don't want it to be over... I'm really looking forward ti reading the sequel as well.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I hope you enjoy the sequel as much as you enjoyed this! ♥

 Report Review

Review #45, by merlins beard Malfoy Family Secrets

16th April 2015:
Hello again.

I really love the scene you created. I know some people might not see Draco like that, but this is exactly my headcanon... I think he was pressured into believing what he did, and I'm sure he would have started to doubt everything about the Death Eaters when Voldemort was threatening to kill his family if he didn't kill Dumbledore. I even think the first two clumsy attemted murders were almost like a cry for help. If he was worried about not being discovered, he wouldn't even have tried that.
I believe once he realized what was happening, he was too far in to get out unscathed, and he was really scared to try.

Being a Slytherin, he obviously wasn't brave enough to risk his life and that of his family to get out. He (and even Lucius and Narcissa) only did what wad directly asked of them toward the end and in my opinion, Draco and Narcissa really deserve to be given a second chance.

I really love this chapter a lot. It is so incredibly important to the story, I'm glad you decided to write it.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Oh, good! This is so reassuring to read, because yeah, a lot of next-gen depictions of Draco that I've read tend to cast him in a light that's (IMO) way too similar to who he was at school. I totally agree that the two attempts at getting to Dumbledore that totally failed were a cry for help - it's really too bad that the Death Eaters didn't get there a few minutes later, because I think that Draco *would* have taken Dumbledore's offer to hide him.

(Though I'm less sure that Lucius wanted to be hidden, which could have complicated things.) But yeah, I totally agree that Draco and Narcissa both deserved another chance - I actually cover the Narcissa angle a little in the sequel, because Scorpius actually *does* go back on his promise in this and asks Rose to meet her.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #46, by merlins beard A Letter From Home

16th April 2015:
Naww... I think that might have almost been an 'I love you'
Scorpius is sooo sweet... i know lots of guys who could lern a lot from him ;)
~Anja

Author's Response: Yeah, it totally was. Oh, Scorpius. You're just lucky that Rose can be a little oblivious. I'm glad you think he's sweet - I definitely wanted him to come across that way!

Thank you so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by merlins beard A Visit to the Village

16th April 2015:
Just wanted to let you know that this chapter wasn't boring at all... i did get some sleep though, because i was so exhausted that i fell asleep while reading (At 3 a.m.) i've been itching to grt back to this storyball day.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm glad it wasn't boring, *and* that you finally got some sleep. ♥

 Report Review

Review #48, by merlins beard Patrolling with Scorpius

15th April 2015:
Oh, come on... PLEASE let me finally go to bed... I hope the next chapter is really boring so i can finally stop. I've been at this all day (with a couple of breaks in important classes)...
~Anja

Author's Response: Aww, I hope you were able to tear yourself away after the next chapter and get some sleep! Yeahhh, I've definitely gotten that way about fics before, too - I'm really flattered mine has elicited that reaction from you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #49, by merlins beard Talking by the Lake

15th April 2015:
I really love all the honesty between Rose and Scorpius. More stories would benefit from honest talks between the main chcharacters... I hate miscommunications, I mentally applauded scorpius for telling Rose how her teasing makes him feel uncomfortable. So many things in life would be so much easier if more people actually did that instead of blushing, turning away and then complaining to someone else later...

Sorry for the weird rant, i really like this chapter a lot. It may just be my favourite so far.
~Anja

Author's Response: No, no apologies necessary! I'm actually really, really glad you've picked up on that and like it so much, because that's something that was very intentional on my part. I also find a lot of protracted miscommunication frustrating, too, and I actually think that people have a lot more of a capacity for saying, "No, do not do this, I don't like it" that popular culture tends to think that they do, particularly once they realize that the sky will not fall down because they do.

Okay, now I went on a rant. Thank you so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #50, by merlins beard Flirting by the Lake

15th April 2015:
Just a short one for this chapter. It doesn't need many words... it's perfect.
I never imagined their first kiss to develop from rose teasing scurpius (i thought he'd do it just to shut her up)... but it was perfect and incredible and magical the way you wrote it.

~Anja

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing this scene, and I'm glad you liked it so much! ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>