Reading Reviews for Run
  
714 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Courtney Dark Newcomers

28th July 2013:
Hey there!

So I've actually read this whole story a while ago, but I may or may not have been reminiscing about it a couple of days ago, and remembering all my favourite parts, and I couldn't help myself - I just had to come back and re-read the whole thing, because it really is such a creative, imaginative, unique story which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Anyway, I just thought I'd leave a review letting you know I'm about to enjoy your story for the second time - and I'm not one for re-reading fanfiction, so this is big for me!

Oh, and by the way this is the perfect opening chapter! The little details that you include are so great - and I absolutely love the way you characterize Cedric Diggory. I've seen other writers depict him as a very bland, one-dimensional character.

Anyway, TTFN! I have a craving for the next chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #27, by loveology Newcomers

26th July 2013:
Okay, so I'll start at the beginning, and just say that that's an excellent choice of quote at the beginning. :) Like, it really set the mood and all that. :P

Okay, so this entire idea of having a story take place after death has been done before, but not in this way. This is creative and imaginative and massive kudos for coming up with it. Also, I love how Cedric seemed so enthused at the idea of seeing people he knew but also dreading it obviously because that means they died but yeah, and i love the slew of familiar names too! It makes me feel more knowledgeable about the story and like i know more than some of the characters even. ;)

I also really like how you ended the chapter with a cliffhanger! It left me wanting more so much that, I must confess, I went through some of the chapters for sneak peaks. I still plan on reading it though, don't worry!

All in all, I'm really excited and this story seems grand and I think it definitely deserved a dobby award, heck, maybe you should change names and get it published, i'd read. :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by soliloquy Double-Edged

27th June 2013:
Ah. All the feelings are already swirling. I can only imagine Lily's desperation and the suckiness that is having to defeat your best friend.

Who did Dorcas want to see? Was there anyone specific? And did any other canon characters get killed off?

I have so many questions about this world! So many ideas and thoughts and wonderings...ugh.

If Rowena attempted to run off and was caught, how come she wasn't sent to the Grotta?

Ah. i wish this review could be better but I'm running off to read the next one.

 Report Review

Review #29, by soliloquy In Plain Sight

27th June 2013:
The complexity of Lily's emotions is amazing. At first, I was confused why she was trying to hide from James. I wondered if everything was alright in their seemingly picture perfect relationship. I had completely forgotten that yes, Snape too would be joining them.

That Snape would also be there. That she would have to encounter him once more.

I can only imagine her feelings. The guilt. The anxiety. The awkwardness. How she probably is feeling everything rushing at her at once and at the same time, this immense guilt that he might have wasted his life because of her. Not the real her, perhaps, but this idolized, idealized version of her that he kept in his memory.

But at the same time, I wonder if Snape does know the real her, still. That his memory hasn't built up this idealized version. That, he really does know that she's still married to James and that he isn't expecting her to give him anything because he did it out of love for her -- that he didn't do it because he thought she owed him something at the end...

God. You write the emotions so well that I'm entranced and lost and spinning. Poor, Lily. Poor Severus.

 Report Review

Review #30, by soliloquy Like Dreaming

27th June 2013:
Wah. I literally got super teary-eyed just now. I was devastated when I read that the Tonks and Remus were dead in the seventh book, and it devastates me again to have it repeated.

The worries...I love how you've framed their relationship as bickering and lovely and real. I just...gah. Too many emotions right now. I love how they're together and they love it, but they also hate it because they're away from their child -- but isn't that real relationships, too? When you're glad to be just with your significant other but all the while missing the child?

I don't have a child but that's what people tell me, anyway. That there's always this sort of selfish piece of you that's conflicted -- that you want one thing, but also the other, but life is that you can't have both.

Oh, the Lupins. i want to give them a big hug. Again, your details are spectacular. I love the details explained to them and everything having to do with the water and how they cross and the bit with the resurrection stone.

 Report Review

Review #31, by soliloquy Newcomers

27th June 2013:
I...love this. I reread the first chapter to remind myself what on earth I've missed in terms of small details.

And honestly, I quite forgot how well written and amazing it is. Though, I'm not surprised because well, you're Sarah. As in, you're amazing and awesome.

I love the detail you put into this world -- the description is rich and inventive and really allows the reader to imagine what sort of place Cliodna’s Clock is.

And I love the description of Cedric's daily life, as well as all sorts of juicy tidbits about the inhabitants. Everything is so realistic and wonderful. I can't wait to catch up on where I left off...

P.S. I suck at reviews...most of them will be mostly squeeing. I hope you don't mind ;D

 Report Review

Review #32, by marauder5 Tradition

28th May 2013:
I liked to see Regulus acting a lot like a younger Sirius. Only in this story would he able to hang out with Fred, Cedric and Colin, but I definitely enjoyed it. What I did find hard to believe, however, was that Dumbledore and Grindewald lived together. Firstly, I don't think Dumbledore would want to: I think he's realized what a bad person Grindewald was, and that he simply manipulated him during their youth. It was because of him that Albus lost Ariana.. Hmm. Also, wouldn't Grindewald end up in the Grotta? He was described as the worst evil wizard, only behind Voldemort himself. Trying to rule over Muggles, etc... and no punishment?

Beisdes that, this chapter was great! I loved the end of it! :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by marauder5 Quidbumps

22nd May 2013:
Okay, so if there was ever a chapter of a story that was nothing but pure brilliance, then it must be this one! I could just shower you with beautiful adjectives of how much I LOVED this chapter! First of all, you have once again shown your amazing creativity with this Round of the races. I thought that the one with the Goblin's rebellion would be impossible to top, but you have proven me wrong - this is my favourite round so far, as well as my favourite chapter of this absolutely incredible story! The whole idea with mising Quidditch and Shuntbumps was brilliant, and very intriguing throughout the chapter! It was quite complicated, and yet you managed to write it with such a natural flow so that the reader still knows the score and keep up with all the different characters! Wow! I'm impressed :)

I like how Crabbe used his 'evil' side in this: like how he used the Imperius curse on James. James not wanting to hurt any of the boys, because he saw Harry in all of them, was also very affective and touching. And Fred, not being able to stand Tonks turning into his mother... the way you described how difficult it was for him to see and think about George, that just broke my heart! I can't believe you managed to weave that into such an action-filled chapter, but it worked really well.

So, once again I'm worried for Tonks' future. But I have to admit I was thrilled when she picked James as the loser, and also when she made Lily promise never to compete in the Duel again! They're both safe! However, the bad feeling I have about Tonks remains. I have to keep reading, I suppose. Congratulation on this fantastic chapter!

 Report Review

Review #34, by sirius_groovy Newcomers

12th May 2013:
Hi,

I just feel proud that I stumbled upon your fanfic. It was brilliantly and professionally written and way beyond the years. It has definitely set the bars higher for aspiring HP fanfic writers. Although initially it reminded me of Hunger Games a little bit, it took a different path later. You have provided amazing depth to all characters and your attention to details is amazing. I could easily visualize the grey shades of all characters with your beautiful description. This was unlike anything I ever read.

So original and gripping. I cancelled my weekend plans to finish reading this! :)

I really pray that you write a novel for real and publish it. We are in dire need of writers like you. :)

Good luck!!

 Report Review

Review #35, by marauder5 Number Two, Polaris Crescent

20th April 2013:
I absolutely love Tonks and Remus together! They're both funny and adorable. I was so sad when Mrs Darby asked if one bedroom would be enough. They should have been with Teddy, and then they would have needed another one..

I love reading about them together, as we don't get to see too much of it in the HP books. You're portrayal of their relationship is perfect! Although, this makes me worry about Tonks' future. It would be so cruel if they went through all this, if they bought a new house and settled in, and she'd end up dying. What would it do to Remus??

Author's Response: Tonks/Remus is one of my favorite ships, second only to Romione. :) I'm so proud of them for making the most of their new life. Lily is Tonk's parallel in many ways, as they've both left their sons behind on Earth. But Tonks is attempting to move on whereas Lily still isn't ready to accept that she's dead and no longer a mother. :(

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #36, by marauder5 Capture the Flag

20th April 2013:
I liked this round of the Runs better than the first one. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, from the first word to the last. I don't think I've mentioned this before, but the idea of having the rounds take place in memories... wow. Hats off to you. It's absolutely brilliant. It was nice to see you tying the story together with historical events, like the Goblin Rebellion.

As ever, your writing is brilliant. You've added the perfect amount of detail to this chapter - it makes everything so vivid, but also leaves a little bit for the imagination (just how I like it!!)

As for the events of the chapter, you've surprised me. I had this theory that Snape would be the one to die, but he's out already! And Peter... I'm glad he didn't get the chance to cause any more pain.

I'm really worried about who'll end up in the final round. Don't let it be James! It would break my heart if it was him - he's the one who's been waiting for all this time to meet Harry when he gets there... I'll have to keep reading :)

Author's Response: Out of all five races, the second and fourth ones are my personal favorites, so I'm quite pleased that you liked this one.

Having the setting of duels take place inside of memories gave me limitless options, so I had to carefully pick and choose different types of races to depict. This one was more action-y in the sense that the game changes often. You have to pay close attention to see who's winning and who's losing because it changes so fast.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Debra20 Newcomers

18th April 2013:
I've been meaning to read this for such a long time now, and now here I am. Ready to immerse myself in this mystical world I've heard so much about!

Wow...just wow! I feel like I've fallen in Wonderland and I'm Alice, discovering a new world and following favourite characters adapt to this new world. It's amazing what imagination can do, and clearly yours is very rich. Otherwise, there'd be no way to create such an amazing start of something that I'm sure is going to be a grand journey.

I'm so happy to see my dead favourite characters again. Setting aside my sadness at their deaths in the books, I've always wondered (as I do in real life as well) what happened to them after they died. Did JK ever imagine what was next for them? I've allowed myself to believe that she has because that particular quote you used, the one Albus Dumbledore said is a very strong hint in that direction. At least that's what I like to tell myself because I can't bare the thought that death is the final stage of one's life and there is nothing beyond that.

I recently read your reply to the "Conflicting constructive criticism" thread on the forums and I remember you said that your reviewers usually fall into two categories: the ones that tell you that too much description can detract the plot and you should tone it down, and the ones that love it. Well, I will join the team that praises you endlessly for your descriptions. Not only the ones about the setting or the surroundings but the descriptions of the character's thoughts and feelings as well. I think description is an essential part of story-telling and one can never truly go overboard with it (well, you CAN overdo it but I'm certain this is not your case). Your story especially needs a great deal of description because you are presenting the readers with a whole new world, unlike what we've ever seen before and if we aren't able to imagine how everything looks in the 'beyond', we will only get confused when trying to picture it ourselves, and THAT would be a real turn off.

I'm really excited about "Run". I am really eager to know more about these races and what they mean. Can't wait to find out :D Amazing start!

Author's Response: Hi, Debra! Eeep, thank you for stopping by! One of the first things I hear from new readers is that they've heard of this story before and come into it with somewhat elevated expectations, which quite honestly intimidates the beans out of me.

While this story is advertised as an action/adventure, since there is quite a bit of dueling, at its heart this story is really about "living on" after death. It's about all the characters we've heard about who have passed on, trying desperately to scrap together some semblance of a new life. Some people just can't move on, and it destroys them. Some people move on at such a speed that they forget all about life on Earth. The different ways these many characters react to their new immortality is what "Run" is all about. I really, really hope you enjoy the journey. :)

Eee, I'm so glad to hear that my imagery wasn't overwhelming! Sometimes I get so excited to paint a scene that I forget to stop doing it. I wanted this to be a visual experience and I want readers to become familiarized with every square inch of Cliodna's Clock.

Thank you so much for your review! I hope you continue to read and enjoy. :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Rainpixie Impending

16th April 2013:
I knew it!!! My poor heart strings!!!

Author's Response: :( Sorry! ♥ -hands you a teddy bear and some kleenex-

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Rainpixie The Beauty of Someday

16th April 2013:
"Daily departed" is really clever!!

Author's Response: Heehee, thank you! ^ ^ I'm rather fond of that detail.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Rainpixie Line in the Sand

16th April 2013:
I really enjoy the love triangle going on with the founders! It reminds me a little of lily and Snape in this chapter

Author's Response: That's good to hear! That's exactly what I was going for. I loved illustrating the parallels between Rowena, Salazar, and Godric and Lily, James, and Severus. It is essentially the same triangle that plays out to much different results because the women at their cores are so different from each other.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Rainpixie Quidbumps

16th April 2013:
I'm glad you mixed the game! It really have a feel for the different generations of the characters. A little something for everyone. I hope it comes down to tonks and crabbe. I mean why isn't Crabbe in gotta anyway? He died trying to kill harry! I was surprised that James and lily weren't a little less forgiving

Author's Response: Quidbumps was fun. ^ ^ I got to invent a little instead of sticking to one particular game. Ooh, rooting for it to come down to Tonks and Crabbe, eh? Good question about Crabbe! I suppose his redemption is that he never really had a chance to grow up and realize that what he was doing was wrong. It's one thing for a fully-grown adult to commit evil acts, but for a boy who's been surrounded by Death Eaters all his life and really doesn't have the intellectual capacity to know any better, he was more a product of his environment than anything else. If he'd grown up with another family, another House, I suspect he would have gone a much, much different way - and I think Cliodna knows this as well. But who knows! Her decisions about who goes where are murky at best.

 Report Review

Review #42, by Rainpixie Rules of the Challenge

16th April 2013:
This remind me of the hunger games only more people get to live, which is more comforting. I was wondering what was going to happen to peter! Very creative and exciting chapter!

Author's Response: lol, Hunger Games Harry-Potter style. Instead of one person living, only one person dies. Gotta have a lid on that population control!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Rainpixie The Other Boy Who Lived

16th April 2013:
Oh no!! I don't know if I can handle it if lily and tonks go head to head! And yet I am so obsessed with this story

Author's Response: D: Lily and Tonks have so much in common. It would be hard for anyone to root against either of them. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! You are awesome. ^ ^

 Report Review

Review #44, by Rainpixie The Warehouse of Winter Walk

16th April 2013:
I'm sure I'm not alone when I cry out a vindictive "yes!" To Peter getting what he deserves from those who deserve to give it to him.

Author's Response: Peter is the worst! I don't feel sorry for him at all. He's one of the few 'bad' characters in HP that I can't make excuses for. I just cannot sympathize with him, no matter what.

 Report Review

Review #45, by Rainpixie Double-Edged

16th April 2013:
I am finding the idea of death after death very uncomfortable. I'm anxious and excited to see what happens next. I have a feeling you are going to be pulling on my heart strings very shortly!

Author's Response: Death itself makes me extremely uncomfortable - the finality of it, the unknown. I'm a bit of a masochist for forcing myself to think about the afterlife for several months while writing this novel because the idea of the afterlife freaks me out a little.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #46, by Rainpixie Newcomers

16th April 2013:
Wow!! What a unique and creative story idea! I am so glad I found this story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you've stumbled upon it. :) I hope you enjoy Run!

 Report Review

Review #47, by marauder5 Various Magic

15th April 2013:
This chapter was really good! The flow was perfect - I just read it all, without even thinking about it, which is exactly how it should be :) Well done!

I enjoyed seeing the contrast between Dumbledore's advice and personality and Salazar Slytherin's. I feel kind of bad for both Crabbe and Colin. I hope you will reveal in the future why they signed up for the Devil's Duel, because netiher one seems to really want to be part of it.

The best part about this chapter was the last section with Remus and Tonks. I love the fact that he tried to prepare her for the duels, and that he was hesitant to really try to defeat her. That's why it's a good thing Moody was there. Although, I'm a bit confused as to why Tonks was so 'bad' at dueling - like she stated, she IS an auror. The fact that Tonks refused to hurt any of her opponents was nice, and I'm glad that Remus supported it. However, if it comes down to her and one more in the finals... the other one has to die in order for her to win...

This is so interesting! I just want to read more!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it. :)

Salazar is a nasty seed. His advice versus Albus's advice really illustrates the sort of counseling given to Colin and Vincent all their lives. Vincent has always looked up to Slytherins, to Death Eaters, to people who do not have his best interest at heart, whereas Colin's idols are do-gooders like Harry Potter. I did give a glimpse of Colin's motivations for joining the Devil's Duel in this chapter (he wanted to visit Dennis and warn him about his early death), and if you keep your eyes peeled you might see Vincent's motivations a bit later on. ;)

Tonks really is good at dueling, just not at dueling her husband. She can't treat him like an adversary because she loves him, and is unwilling to hurt him even if it's for practice. She doesn't want to hurt anyone, really. In this respect she's not well-suited to something like the Devil's Duel. It's for more ruthless, cutthroat competitors. Hopefully she'll be able to internalize these concerns and put them out of mind so that they don't affect the duel outcomes.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #48, by marauder5 Midnight Oil

8th April 2013:
Another great chapter! Not that I'm surprised ;)

I love the amount of detail you've put into this story. Your descriptions of this world they're living in are so vivid, that I feel like I'm watching it, rather than reading about. However, a tip for future stories could be not to let it get out of hand. It's absolutely fantastic, but sometimes, just sometimes, less is more. There have been a few times when I've read this story that I've found that it didn't flow as well as it could have, because it focused a little too much on descriptions. However, this is just a tiny detail and all in all, I love the descriptions :)

Lily in your story is so interesting. I find that many authors portray her as almost perfect, the ultimate good person, without a single flaw. Which is not very believable. That's why I love her in your story - she has flaws, she's a regular woman - she likes the fact that Snape is in love with her. She appreciates the attention. I love it.

But in this chapter, I just fell in love with James. I've always loved that character, even in the original series, and congratulations, you've done him justice! Lily is a lucky woman to get to be his wife :) He seems so wonderful!

I was so sad when I read about Fred. It seems like he hates the quiet because he misses the Burrow... maybe he'll win, so that he'll get to hide in there somewhere for just one day, and be home again. I'd like that :)

I look forward to reading the rest of your story. It's so, so good!! ;)

Author's Response: Sometimes I let the details run a little wild and forget to rear them in. XD Sorry about that! Some passages, for some reason, came out extremely visual and it was important for me to describe exactly what everything looked like. And in other chapters it's more action-oriented, or dialogue-oriented, etc. I tried to keep a nice balance but my tendency to go on description tangents does appear every now and then. *hides*

Lily's characterization in this story is somewhat divisive with readers. She's usually portrayed a lot differently in other fanfics, but I wanted to try something new. After all, we really don't know that much about her - and what we do know, is from memories or hearsay years and years after her death. The afterlife changes people. Lily is not the same person as she was when she came here.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #49, by marauder5 The Brothers Black

6th April 2013:
I meant to keep reading this story a long time ago, but I haven't got around to it. But finally, I read another chapter. And it was as good as I had expected. Not that I'm not interested in the Devil's Duel and its outcome, but it was quite nice to get a break from it.

It was also very nice to see Sirius and Regulus get along. I see no reason why they shouldn't. Sirius must forgive Regulus after what he did, right? He was good, after all. So that makes me really happy.

Ariana was a nice addition too. I like how you described her fear of life on earth, and I hope we'll get to see more of her in this story.

It was also interesting to hear their speculations on the outcome of the Devil's Duel, to get a better insight on why they forced Peter to join and the rules of the imprisonment in the Grotta.

Overall, a very good chapter. I have no complaints, and I'm eager to keep reading :)

Author's Response: The Devil's Duel is a grueling, time-sucking, stressful occasion. As much as I liked writing the various rounds, the real meat and mystery is in the in-between chapters. You'll find as the story progresses that there is a whole lot more to this island than meets the eye.

I loved giving Sirius and Regulus the opportunity to have family again. The brothers had a great many years to reflect on what was important and what wasn't, and in my head I think they embraced each other fairly quickly after Sirius arrived in Cliodna's Clock.

Ahh, the speculations. They are endless. If there's one think you can say about the afterlife, it's that they have very, VERY little to do. So they will talk certain subjects to death.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #50, by Aaron Midnight Oil

1st April 2013:
It was a good chapter but I believe someone hacked your account. Many of the words have been replaced such as wand with banana, eyes with puppies, love with Tinky Winky, and face with purse. There's a few other ones including underwear and eyebrow that I can't quite decipher. Just thought I would let you know, however I am very much enjoying your story and really appreciate your creativity and attention to detail. Thank you!

Author's Response: I would recommend reading the printer-friendly version of this story. As an April Fool's joke, HPFF has gone through and substituted certain words for other ones in everyone's stories. XD It'll all be back to normal tomorrow.

Thank you for reading!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>