Reading Reviews for Pride & Pestilence
  
136 Reviews Found

Review #26, by AlexFan The Pestilence Comes Forth

30th October 2013:
I love Rose's humor. My favourite part definitely had to be near the beginning where Rose was thinking about writing 'Oh' instead of 'Miss'.

Clearly, as you can see, I am easily amused.

And the meeting with Scorpius was certainly exciting and entertaining to see. Rose and Scorpius don't get along from the get-go. They don't know each other, all they knew is what they've learned or been told about each other and just use that as all they need to know about each other.

And I like Rose's quick thinking about the dancing (although I suspect that Scorpius doesn't believe her in the least about the new dance being called the Hippogriff).

I have respect for Rose and the fact that she hasn't snapped at Lily. I would've lost it if I'd been in her place but Rose seems to have control over herself when it comes to relatives.

I look forward to seeing more of the interaction between Rose and Scorpius.

Author's Response: Haha, but I was hoping it would be a funny thing to have Rose think about, so there's nothing wrong with being easily amused by it. I'm glad to hear that it was funny, and that Rose's humour appealed to you. :D

You've mentioned the most important thing about Rose and Scorpius's understanding of one another - all of their knowledge comes second or third hand, so they make their "first impressions" based on prejudice, and it will be difficult for them to revise their opinions. It's just a slightly different way of approaching the Pride and Prejudice plot - Darcy and Elizabeth base their first impressions on their own observations, as well as their assumptions based on each other's class. But for Scorpius and Rose, there's a whole history that stands in the way too.

That's a good point about Rose's patience - thank you for noting that. It'll be a useful personality trait in future chapters. ;)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story! It's wonderful to hear from you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #27, by Ella Miss Potter's Observations

29th October 2013:
Oooohh, and things get interesting! I am loving this story, hope you update again soon! Is Mr. Fitzgerald our Wickham? I'll just have to wait and see :D

Author's Response: Thank you! It's great to hear how much you're enjoying the story! :D

Haha, yes, Fitzgerald is a... well he's a form of Wickham, and I'm looking forward to working more with him in future chapters. ;)


 Report Review

Review #28, by ruby_slippers Miss Potter's Observations

27th October 2013:
Oooo intrigue! I love it! While im inclined to like mr Fitzgerald at the moment I do not trust him as far as I can throw him - and given my upper body strength (or rather distinct lack there of) thats saying something! I can't wait to see rose's perspective on all of this and how she will handle being in such close quarters with mr malfoy with only a stressed miss zambini as a buffer haha! Love it and can't wait for the next installment! God bless xx

Author's Response: Mr. Fitzgerald has that certain quality to him, doesn't he? He's a sort of Wickham-Willoughby-Crawford hybrid - Austen seemed to include one in each of her novels, though I'm not yet sure just how I want to develop him. Will he be a good match for Lily, or will he be no more than a cad? Who knows? ;) Haha, I love hearing that you won't trust him as far as you can throw him - that's just the kind of effect I was hoping he'd have on readers. :D

Thank you for reading and reviewing! It's fantastic to hear that you've enjoyed this chapter. I'm looking forward to writing the scene between Rose and Scorpius - I've been putting it off for to long!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Crescent Moon  Miss Potter's Observations

27th October 2013:
I loved this chapter. You seem to be adding more twists and turns and lots of questions. So I can't wait to see where you go with this. Loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm glad to hear that you like all of the twists and turns (they're so much fun to add!). :D

 Report Review

Review #30, by Annie Miss Potter's Observations

27th October 2013:
I love this!
Love, love, love.
Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I'll try to update soon!

 Report Review

Review #31, by ruby_slippers Frivolity and Friendship

14th October 2013:
Oh my goodness i was so excited when i saw that a new chapter for this story was up! I love your writing style for this story and the way you have written the characters for this period! It's so incredibly interesting and i can't wait to see where you take this!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! It's fantastic to hear that you've been following the story, and that you've enjoyed the new chapter. :D

 Report Review

Review #32, by AlexFan Sense and Insensitivity

15th September 2013:
I've been meaning to read this for a while because it caught my attention but one thing lead to another and I never did so the review swap gave me the perfect opportunity!

I don't know how you did it but you somehow managed to make the next generation fit into 1817 perfectly while still managing to make it sound like next generation. I feel like that doesn't make any sense whatsoever so forgive me for that.

I could picture in my head the family reunions or meetings that must've happened at the Burrow and everything that went on.

If I hadn't known any better, I would've thought that this was written by Jane Austen herself but I do know better. That still doesn't take away from the fact that this is still written brilliantly.

I can imagine how hard it must be for Rose to live in a world where all that is required of women is that they are wives and mothers but they don't have much say in anything else given her nature.

I like the way that you haven't made the Weasley's rich though as they are so often portrayed. It's a new way to look at how their life must be and I'm interested to see how everyone gets by without being filthy rich and being able to buy anything because they've got the money.

Anyway, brilliant first chapter and I look forward to the rest of it!

Author's Response: Thank you for stopping by! It's great to hear that you've been meaning to read this (but of course I'm glad that you finally had the chance). :D

There are a surprising number of ways that JKR's Potterverse draws inspiration from Regency and Victorian society - it's most obvious with the pureblood families, but wizarding society as a whole seems to be transplanted from the worlds of Austen and Dickens. This made it a lot easier to bring the next-generation into 1817, as did the similarities between the wizarding wars and the French Revolution/Napoleonic wars - everything just fit together really well, and I was very lucky that it did.

It's a wonderful compliment that you liked the writing style and thought it similar to Austen's. I'd love to be able to write characters like she does!

I look forward to seeing what you think of the rest! Thanks again for reading and reviewing. :D


 Report Review

Review #33, by Crescent Moon  Frivolity and Friendship

1st September 2013:
I love this story. It's so refreshing to read because of it's originality. I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's fantastic that you find this story refreshing - it means a lot that you've enjoyed it. :D

 Report Review

Review #34, by Midnight Spark Sense and Insensitivity

26th August 2013:
Wow... you're story is so different from others... you've made the next generation like the medieval times. I'm so glad I got to enjoy a different story!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's lovely to hear that you've enjoyed the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #35, by j Frivolity and Friendship

1st August 2013:
I'm looking forward to the akward interactions!!! I havê to congratulate you again for the originality of the story. I love the language and descriptions and the Austen feel of the story!

Author's Response: This is fantastic to hear, especially about the language, descriptions, and style! Thank you for stopping by to read and review! :D

 Report Review

Review #36, by Cirque Du Freak The Flowers of London

27th July 2013:
The day of the ball has arrived and then you cut the chapter short just before all the exciting events could happen! It was the typical writer in you to do so, I can tell. :P

I really like this chapter where you've introduced Harry and Albus here - Harry is much what you expect as he's the man of the house, most respected and held in high reserve. Albus is a bit of a wild card here as you could go either way and it's very interesting the way you chose to characterize him!

I loved the fact that he has a very outlandish sense of style (reminds of the Weasley twins once they had come into a bit of money) and the fact that he's pretty vain about his appearance as you mentioned he didn't like to wear glasses for the fear of them tainting his image. The whole thing is pretty laughable when you think about it.

This is a very Lily-centric chapter although you do slightly slip into Rose and then bring the narration back out in the paragraph where she's noticed Albus' attire - that could have probably been done in Lily's POV where she had noticed the look on Rose's face, something they could have bonded over the fact that Albus was eccentrically dressed. The two cousins have similarities shared even though it's not at all apparent as of yet.

I like the interaction between Lily and Ginny about Rose as the characters are very much alike when it comes to certain situations and how Lily feels a bit left out and finds the behaviour rather improper - it shows a clear divide between them as people, but still I think Lily has a point when it comes to her view on wanting to get married to secure her future. I think she could be unpredictable in her actions after she's married and she has that freedom as a woman.

I think I will leave my review bombing here and pick up again some time during the next week (I'm so awful at reviewing is what I'm saying).

Lovely writing as always, Susan!
Hannah


Author's Response: Haha, yes. :P I love a good cliff-hanger when I can fit one in. It's also a problem of mine that I end up writing too much, adding one description after another until I end up with double-length chapters. I really don't know how the word count adds up so quickly. *hides*

What you've said about Albus is exactly right - he can go either way, becoming a positive or negative character, or perhaps staying somewhere in between. He does help Rose in many ways, yet he also hinders her. It's also very uncertain what he does with himself - does he merely pretend to be a fop? Is he a government spy? An Unspeakable? A hit wizard? It's left up in the air, mostly because he does so much to appear silly and vain. It makes him a very interesting character to write, and I wish that I had the room in this story to expand his storyline further.

I'm glad to hear that you like Harry's characterization. For some reason, he's very nice to write about when he's an adult - his responsibilities have given him a sort of gravity that suits him.

I'll check over the POV in this chapter again. It is mostly from Lily's perspective, but there's always going to be some slippage. All the same, I'll see whether or not fixing it will, like you said, show more of the similarities between the two of them, at least on their opinions of Albus's fashion sense. Thank you for pointing that out!

Thank you very much for coming back to review these chapters, Hannah! Your reviews are excellent!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Cirque Du Freak The Pestilence Comes Forth

27th July 2013:
And I'm back!

So this was a very exciting chapter as we're finally introduced to the main man himself and what a delightful entry he made to the story! It's still wonderful that with the similar personalities (opinionated Weasley, proud Malfoy) that it is just so much better read and appreciated in this era rather than the modern one. You had a gem of an idea and it's all being pulled off very well.

I particularly liked this quote from the whole chapter: "She had heard herself referred to as “Oh Rose” so many times in the last few days that she was sure that, need she write her name in full, she would append an “Oh” where most would write “Miss”. "
It's this particular one that seem to stick out to me as it shows Lily's annoyance over Rose and Rose not wanting to try and please Lily even a little bit even though she's putting herself through the torture of practising to dance.

Ginny seems wonderfully herself and it was a really nice touch to put her in the middle of the chapter to go out flying and then still to be perfectly on time and reporting for duty when she is called for when they leave for the ball. It was lovely to have her there specifically.

I also like the input of Kreacher as well as his character and mannerisms remain and all canon still has a strong presence here.

Malfoy's character towards the end is very distinct in that he understands and knows of the fission between Malfoys and Weasleys and he keeps his distance to prevent clashing unnecessarily, but still this could be the excuse to be said if he asked - any true response would be that the instant dislike towards them is second nature.

"...lately arrived in London to, I think, obtain a wife." This also made me laugh as the similarities between Pride and Prejudice shine through a little more here and the foreshadowing in which both characters are in the search of a partner and how quick did they find them in the short amount of time they arrived!

If I was fast enough this is your 100th review and all such reviews are greatly deserved!


Author's Response: Welcome back and thanks again for reading and reviewing this story! It's wonderful to hear your opinions of it!

They are similar in personality, far more than either would care to admit at this point in time (and likely for a good while yet). Although they come from different backgrounds and appear to have different ways of understanding the world, it is mostly surface - they both tend to be judgmental and don't mix all that well with fashionable society, being too outspoken about some things and too quiet about others, doing overall too much thinking. And both are proud in their own way and very loyal to their families. Yet somehow, all of these similarities bring them into conflict with each other. It's very interesting...

And before I ramble on, thank you for the compliments! I'm pleased to hear that you like how the ship and the alternate universe are working together. By the end of writing this, I don't think I'll be able to imagine a Scorose that doesn't take place in this time period! It's just a perfect fit. :D

Yes, you've picked out a hint that Rose is as annoying to Lily as Lily is to Rose. Now there are two characters who come at life from entirely different perspectives, and although they come to tolerate each other, they'll have to work at reconciling their differences if they want to be more than just relatives.

That's an interesting question you raise about Scorpius's behaviour. His father doesn't share quite the same prejudices against the Potter-Weasleys - his disdain is primarily reserved for Ron and Hermione, whereas he has a more stable business/political relationship with Harry. Scorpius on the other hand, seems to paint the whole family with the same brush - his dislike toward them is mostly second-nature, based on poor experiences (especially with characters like Albus). If anything, Scorpius would purposely put himself in their way in order to cause a disturbance - he seems to take some enjoyment from his argument with Rose in this chapter.

Haha, little does he and Rose know how quickly they found their future partner. :P

Thank you again, and congratulations for giving the 100th review for this story!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Cirque Du Freak Sense and Insensitivity

27th July 2013:
Hi Susan!

So I saw this was on 98 reviews and it's been there for like a whole day and I can't resist bringing it to its full 100 like it deserves. It also gives me the excuse to properly review this as I read the whole thing in one sitting again and I am as much in love with it now just as I was when the first chapter was published. :D

So I really, really love the fact that you're going with my least favourite ship in this particular era - upon reading this everything fit so well and so amazingly that it when it comes to future chapters and reading the interactions and then personality clashes it makes so much more sense and has so much more depth to it than it does when anyone else writes it.

I loved the description in the beginning as it was much needed and you've created your own back story for the Potter and Weasley family to fit into the time period they're in which I think was fabulously done as well.

I adore the language you've used and it really does remind of Pride and Prejudice - the way everything flows together in a matter-of-fact way. You have your tone down to pat and it's so amazingly easy to read and understand.

I really like the interactions between Rose and her parents and Lily - you've fit them in with the time period, but you have their characterization also believable and there's the taste of themselves from the books, which I think would be very hard to do considering its a different era with different values and expectations, but you've pulled it off really well and it's another reason why I love this so much!

Lily's character is one that's...blatantly annoying. Moreso because I think this is what we get from being tainted by Rose's opinions and the fact that she's very much like the younger girls in the Bennett family. However, upon reading further along the story you see her reasoning and it's actually very sound, but it's the mere fact that she doesn't challenge life and questions why it is the way it is whereas Rose does.

Rose is much more modern and therefore likable to society nowadays, but I think Lily's character is still as interesting as she accepts that life is the way it is and not only does she accept it she strives in it and makes the best out of her situation because it is the way it is. She's almost of a Charlotte Lucas kind of character, but in a more hidden way and not so much outwardly joining Rose in her thoughts.

I think I've rambled enough here so onwards!


Author's Response: Eee, thank you so much! It was a great surprise to see your reviews for this story - I love getting long ones. ^_^ It's very kind of you to say that this story deserves more AND that you've enjoyed it so much - this last is the best compliment of all!

Scorose is probably my least favourite next-gen ship too, though for some reason, it works very well in this particular situation. The Darcy/Elizabeth dynamic nicely parallels Scorose and actually enhances it - the one major change I've added is that the tension between the characters is less based on class and moreso on the history of their families. This dynamic places both characters on equal ground - they're intellectual and witty, with a good dose of social awkwardness thrown in. It's wonderful to hear that you like how the ship is playing out, and I hope that it continues to work out this well all the way through the story.

There is a certain Austen-like quality to JKR's style that makes it less challenging to shift the Potterverse into the Regency period. The pureblood families have a very old fashioned quality about them, in their mannerisms and structure, and then there's also the multitude of characters JKR includes in her story, many of which are drawn from similar caricatures as one sees in Austen or Dickens. I keep being surprised by how well all the pieces fit together - it makes my job a lot easier so that I can focus more on the plot development. :D

Yes! You've interpreted Lily very well - we are seeing her through Rose's eyes in this first chapter, and there's a fair bit of disdain in her portrayal as a result. I've been working on toning down Lily's girly-girl behaviour, but she is drafted from Lydia and Kitty - an over-enthusiastic young woman who loves pretty things and wants to be admired. I'm glad to hear that, later on, her characterization improves - she has her reasons for being this way. Her mistake is assuming that there's only one appropriate path for a witch of good family, and to take the other is to sell ones self short. I like the idea of her being more like Charlotte Lucas - it's a far better parallel. Charlotte plans further ahead and also seeks security above all things, and Lily is doing much the same. Thank you for pointing that out - it should actually make Lily easier to write in future chapters. :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by Lympha Frivolity and Friendship

25th July 2013:
Thank you for posting. Your story is very interesting and I look forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm very glad to hear that you're looking forward to reading more! :D

 Report Review

Review #40, by AriesGirl40 Frivolity and Friendship

25th July 2013:
Oh, but something did happen,,, Rose expressed an interest in writing history. Miss Zambini seemed genuine in support of Roses idea. Albus took on the role of the male who pretends to support while also making an attempt to put the idea out of her silly little mind. I think that clinched it. Rose will write.
I look forward to their awkward moments in the next chapter. I shall see you then :)

Author's Response: Ah, that's true. Thank you for pointing that out! It may not have been a chapter with much physical action, but it did propel Rose forward - it's a big step for her to announce her intention of becoming a writer, even more so that she wants to write about the war.

Haha, Albus does take that role! I hadn't noticed that. XD It's the perfect role for him, though.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this chapter! It's excellent to hear that you're looking forward to the next!


 Report Review

Review #41, by Beeezie A Promise Given

18th July 2013:
Susan, why isn't there more for me to read right now? I'm going to commence whining. I want to read more.

I loved this so much. Your writing is superb, as ever, and I was really interested in how vehemently Rose rejected the idea of being an Auror. I don't know if that's something she'll come around to later on or if that's how she really feels. I kind of want to say that that's how she really feels. If my read is correct, that's very inconvenient for her, because judging from Roxanne it seems like that (or maybe being an Unspeakable) is pretty much the only way out of the "lady" role.

That said, I did like Ginny's reaction, and the tension surrounding them just walking around was interesting and helped contextualize the supposed peacetime for me. Sure, there's peace now, but it really is quite a recent development, isn't it?

Finally: Adela Zabini. Well, then. This makes me want to read on more than ever, especially with the P&P quote at the end!

Author's Response: You know, I only posted a new chapter days after you finished reading. ;) It's wonderful to see how much of a positive response this story has received - hopefully I can write chapters fast enough to keep up with everyone.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing the whole thing! Hearing that you actually loved - not just liked - it is a fantastic compliment. I'm glad to be getting this story right so far - it's fun to write, but I'm worried about my lack of experience in this kind of happier romance between Rose and Scorpius no less. Thank goodness for the inspiration of Austen and her novels! I couldn't have done this without them, and without readers like you. ^_^

Rose's rejection of the Auror role does come back to her later because some will expect that, if she doesn't want to marry, then it must be because she'd prefer to follow in her father's footsteps. Of course, she actually wants to become what her mother was unable to do: write. Rose dislikes violence, and while she's skilled at spells, she doesn't want to use them against others - the duel with Scorpius has reinforced that because some part of her actually enjoyed it, and that terrifies her, reminding her of all that went on during the revolution and the war that followed. She doesn't want to forget the war, but she does want to play a peacetime role.

Thank you again! I hope that you enjoy the next chapter too! :D


 Report Review

Review #42, by Beeezie The Field of Dishonour

18th July 2013:
This is perfect.

Action scenes can be really difficult to write, at least for me, but you did a beautiful job with this. It was engaging, entertaining, and had me hurrying on to find out what happened next. I obviously guessed that Rose was "Louis" from the start, but I wasn't sure whether Scorpius would ever find out. If he did, I was expecting a sarcastic sneer of some sort, but that definitely didn't materialize. He seemed genuine.

Which is, I guess, in keeping with a lot of Austen's leading men. :P

I also want to mention - I find the disconnect between Roxanne and the way ladies are "supposed" to behave very interesting, because the rules don't seem to apply to her. Where Lily in particular is always going on about looking proper and what ladies should and shouldn't do, Roxanne seems to be doing pretty much all of it. I find that interesting.

At any rate: the end really was perfect. I loved that Rose was able to defeat Scorpius, and the fact that his reaction was to respect her rather than dislike her more - or, worse, feel embarrassed/humiliated - is a good sign, I think, and I wish there was more than one more chapter posted so I could find out more!

Onward!

Author's Response: Yay, thank you very much! Action scenes are things I try to avoid because they require a kind of fast-paced narration that I don't feel capable of achieving. But to hear that it worked in this chapter makes me incredibly happy - your compliments have made my day! ^_^

It's not that big a secret that Louis isn't... well... Louis, but like you've said, the suspense builds instead from the question of whether the others there will discover the truth. The real trick, though, was giving Scorpius an unexpected response - he is perhaps so surprised that he can't even affect it. At the same time, he experiences much of what Darcy does as he becomes better acquainted with Elizabeth. In this case, Scorpius is shocked to discover that the witch he only regarded as the daughter of Ron and Hermione Weasley was a witch worthy of respect for her own abilities - that she is more than her parents.

It's less of a disconnect between witches like Roxanne and Lily than it is a spectrum with Ginny, Rose, and Victoire somewhere in between the "extremes". What Rose has to do is decide on where she stands in this spectrum. The main difference between Roxanne and Lily is that the latter has unquestioningly accepted the role of "lady", a role that is more influenced by Muggle society's expectations. Wizarding society is a little more open-minded, though it still maintains expectations of politeness and modesty - both of which Roxanne adheres to. There aren't that many female Aurors at this time, but during the war with France, there was a significant increase in their number because they were very useful as spies and "carriers" (for both messages and those escaping the revolution).

It's still something I have to work through. I don't want to make it that female Aurors have less to do with violence and aren't as involved in the action, but at the same time, they're not of a different class than other witches. You're right that the story presents a tension between these two roles for women, but I'm not sure whether they're actually opposing roles. Note for instance how comfortable Roxanne is as an Auror, whereas Lily is incredibly anxious about everything she (and everyone else) does - Lily seems to be the only one anxious about being a proper lady and following society's rules. There is a lot I have to do with Lily - it will be something good to deal with in the next chapter. :D

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story! You've given me wonderful material to think over, and it's also fantastic to see that you've enjoyed this chapter.


 Report Review

Review #43, by Beeezie In Which History is to Blame

18th July 2013:
Oh my god.

I didn't realize that Albus had overheard, which I guess isn't surprising, since you didn't say it. But I didn't even consider that anyone in Rose's family who might stick up for her would overhear, and here's Albus, being, well, Albus. In earlier chapters, I had this impression of him as a foolish dolt without a thought in his head. And, well, maybe he is, but he also clearly cares about his cousin and his family, and honestly, what's more important than that? I'm sure Lily is mortified, but Lily can be mortified all she'd like. Albus was awesome. Rash, sure, but awesome.

I also loved Rose's interactions with both Harry and Ginny at the end. I could tell how comfortable she was with them and how she was able to voice her fears, and I also loved that - once again - Ginny took on the role of the rather unconventional aunt. The more I read, the more I love the way you've characterized Ginny. She's not completely outside societal norms, but she seems to have carved out her own way to do things, which is something Rose will clearly need to do as well.

Amazing job. :)

House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Haha, of all the people to overhear that conversation, it had to be Albus. :P He's got a good heart and is proud to stand up for his cousin - there is a bit of the foppish fool about him, but much of it is an act, sometimes to shock people like his poor sister, and at other times to make people underestimate him. And he is wonderfully rash, just like like father.

It's fantastic that you like how both Harry and Ginny have turned out as well as the kind of relationship they have with Rose. They're the only people who really know what her life has been like and how much she's been affected by her parents' problems. She trusts them in ways that she can't trust anyone else.

I never expected to write so much about Ginny in this story, but it's been a great experience to situate her in this universe and give her such a prominent role as Rose's "mother figure". She has definitely made her own way in the world, understanding and manipulating society's expectations in a way that Rose would like to do for herself one day.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #44, by Beeezie Of the Prejudiced and Proud

18th July 2013:
This was really interesting! I liked the way you introduced Teddy, for two reasons. First, it continues to contextualize the role each family has in this story. From previous comments (especially regarding Lily) and particularly from this, it's clear that Harry is incredibly popular and powerful. I know that was implied when you mentioned he'd turned down the Minister of Magic post, but this really brought it home for me. Teddy's natural abilities may be impressive, but it's clear that a lot of this is Harry's influence.

I also found Victoire's presence interesting. I mean, obviously her being with Teddy isn't surprising, but it makes me wonder whether Bill's branch of the family has more respect and weight that Ron's?

Regardless, I loved seeing them both, and the mention of Dominique really intrigued me, as did Victoire's response to Rose's telling her that she had good fortune. I'm not sure if that will ever come up again, but it intrigued me right now!

Oh, and I'm glad you included this scene at the end! I've noticed that you've been tending to capture the sentiment of Pride and Prejudice rather than the particulars, which is great - it keeps the story from getting predictable and shows off your creativity (which, of course, is one of your strong suits).

However, this really is a classic scene, and I would have been a tiny bit disappointed if it hadn't been included. The fury she feels is perfectly in keeping with the way you've characterized Rose thus far, and I loved it.

Another great chapter. ♥

House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Wow! I hadn't thought of that in regard to Teddy's position in society, but it's very true that Harry's sponsorship/influence would have made a substantial difference. Teddy's parentage would have counted against him in many ways - female Aurors don't usually marry in this society, and having a father for a werewolf would have lead many to entirely exclude him from consideration - but people are willing to accept Teddy because he is Harry's godson. It's a very good point, and I'm glad that you pointed it out because I might be able to do something more with it later on. :)

Bill's branch does have more respect, not only because he's a banker/curse breaker, and thus higher on the social scale, but because Ron's actions during the war (which you'll find out about more as the story continues) brought him disgrace. It reminds me that I have to include Victoire and Dominique more in future chapters - they're fascinating characters in this universe, and I'd love to write more about them.

Haha, yes, I thought it'd be good timing to include a P&P scene, and this one is certainly one of the most recognizable. But it's also perfectly suited to Rose and Scorpius. To have the Malfoy look down on the Weasley (especially this Weasley) in such a way might as well be the classic image of the ship. :P I'm really pleased to hear how much you've enjoyed this story so far and how it works within the framework of P&P. It means a lot to hear such compliments from you! ^_^ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Beeezie The Flowers of London

18th July 2013:
The start of this chapter was very, very interesting, and you brought a lot of serious societal beliefs up in just the beginning of the chapter. You're not just telling a story - you're creating a world and showing the readers its faults and flaws. Lily's thoughts about wizards not needing to look good was very, very telling about her attitudes and the way her society as a whole sees women. It's clearly a bit more complicated than that, but it gives an overall idea, as did Lily's reluctance to criticize her brother, even though what she ended up saying really isn't that bad.

And I continue to love your writing style. It's easy to get absorbed in and quite witty as well; I loved the bit where Ginny popped out of thin air and you said there were too many spells for "this poor author" to list. I also loved the comparison Ginny drew between herself and Rose when she was talking to Lily in the carriage. The similarities had occurred to me as well, though Rose would likely rather read or garden than play Quidditch. Still, it amounts to the same thing: not being a "proper" lady.

Another great chapter, Susan. I loved seeing this from Lily's perspective, and I can't wait to go one.

House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Yes! Yes, that's what's happened to this story! It's become much more about the worldbuilding than I ever intended, but that's mostly what motivates me to write more. I've fallen in love with this universe and all of its complexities. At first I was worried that it would take away from the story, but if anything, it's helped me develop the plot in my own way, distinct from Austen's P&P. This story started as a parody, but it's become something more substantial... and I'm not complaining. :D

What's interesting about Lily is that she's "bought in" to those societal beliefs and doesn't think about what they mean - she represents the "average" point of view, unquestioning of the world in which she lives. A lot of the cousins are like this because they've not known anything else and are comfortable - complacent. Rose, coming from an outsider's perspective, sees all of the inconsistencies and hypocrisies of this society - she doesn't view Ginny or Roxanne as strange because the memory of the war is still fresh in her mind, thanks to her father's stories, in which witches are as much a part of the action as wizards.

It makes me warm and fuzzy inside to see you pull these things out of the story. ^_^ Thank you again for your wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #46, by Beeezie The Pestilence Comes Forth

18th July 2013:
You continue to amaze.

I think my favorite part of the whole chapter was the "Oh Rose" bit in the very beginning. I've totally been there, and it's really annoying. While I'm pretty sure Lily means well, she's starting to get under my skin, too, by being so ridiculous. I also loved the bit about constantly having a handkerchief in her hand just in case a man she wants to get the attention of walks by - oh Lily.

I also absolutely loved Rose's first reaction to Scorpius. It wasn't quite unreasonable - he did compare her to a hippogriff when she was already having a bad time of it with Lily - but it was perhaps a bit silly, and I was glad to see that she recognized that. And, of course, immediately dismissed it, but that's all right. A little conflict is necessary, and she found other things about him to dislike in no time! I especially liked the bit about Malfoys "heaving into view from whatever moral void in which they existed." It was lovely imagery that made me laugh.

This was another amazing chapter. I'm overusing that word. I can't help it. Great job.

House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: *blushes* You're being way too kind! Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review every chapter of this story. It's lovely to follow you through and see what aspects of the story are working most effectively. :D

The funny thing about Lily is that as close as she gets to caricature here, there's something frighteningly realistic about her. XD I'm looking forward to continuing to give her depth, slowly revealing more about her as the story develops.

Although this story is founded on the love-hate romance, I don't want there to be that much actual hate between the two of them. Certainly they misunderstand one another and get off on the wrong foot, but they're surprisingly well-suited to one another - the major difference between them is their background and education, which gives them an outward appearance that the other finds unappealing. Rose does have a bit of a short temper (rather like her parents :P), so I'm glad that her snappishness toward Malfoy wasn't unreasonable - poor girl, already in a bad mood, then mocked by this stupid boy... it wounds her pride, and she lashes out.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #47, by Beeezie Sense and Insensitivity

18th July 2013:
Oh, Violet. How are you so talented? It's almost unfair, except that it's not because you have such lovely stories (and graphics!) for everyone else to enjoy.

I have so much love for this story.

The writing is absolutely beautiful. It definitely felt a bit old-fashioned, which is perfect, but not so much so that I think it would be inaccessible even to people who don't like Jane Austen (which I very much do).

I also loved the way you set the stage for the book early on. That can be a really awkward point in an AU story - it's important to give the readers some sense of what's going on, since it is AU, but it can be difficult to do that without having it come off as awkward and boring. You, however, did not fall into that particular pitfall - the way you talked about the Weasley history here was elegant, and the way you phrased Hermione's background - "as far from pureblooded as one could get without actually being a Muggle" was awesome and so well suited to the time period.

You justified why Rose needed to marry very well. I think a "Because I said so" would have been fine, but I liked that you went deeper and gave reasons that doubled as a way to give the reader some idea of the world around them.

However, once you'd established that, you seamlessly slipped into Rose's character. In just a short period of time, you made me sympathize with her and feel for her. Your last two sentences of the chapter seem to sum up a lot of Rose's fears perfectly, and I can't wait to read on.

House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Oh dear, don't start on the compliments so soon! *hides* I don't know how I'll get through your reviews otherwise. I can't begin to explain how happy I am to hear that you love this story, its style and its universe. It's my first time writing a positive Scorose relationship, and also my first time writing in the Regency period, so I tend to agonize over... well, everything. To hear that it's working out means an incredible amount. ^_^

The wonderful thing I've found about writing this kind of AU is the amount of worldbuilding that's necessary. It's more like writing an original story - in fact, I can easily imagine how this story could be converted into an OF with some additional work on the magical structure. It becomes a way for the story to grow beyond of the confines of the P&P structure because I've included a lot more historical content than Austen normally does, largely because it figures prominently among the reasons why Rose and Scorpius become at odds with one another. Their prejudice is based less on class hierarchy and more on family reputation and the "sins of the father(s)".

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review every chapter! It's lovely to get such a treat, and even lovelier to hear how much you're enjoying the story so far!


 Report Review

Review #48, by WeasleyTwins Sense and Insensitivity

18th July 2013:
Hello Susan! It's been ages, it seems, since I last enjoyed something of yours!

I'm sure you've heard over and over how much people love or hate Austen, but I really like that you've taken her masterpiece (it's really more the time period, I know), and captured the characters and universe we love into something different and fascinating. This past semester, I finally read P & P with my students (they abhor it) and we really delved into the time period. I wanted them to understand the Regency era and what Austen was responding to/against/whatever you please. I also like that you've got your own narrative voice and didn't try to strictly emulate Austen's very distinctive voice. You make it your own, even while negotiating two universes, per se. But, how am I surprised? Still, you and your talents never cease to amaze me.

If I remember correctly, you don't particularly like Scorpius/Rose, so I'm interested in how all of this is going to turn out. Did you intentionally characterize Rose as similar to Elizabeth? Even if you didn't, they seem like almost-twins from different eras. Rose has always struck me as very independent and book smart, not unlike Lizzy. And Lily! As my Southern dad would say, what a card!

I've never really been one for AU because it's never in the right writer's capable hands for me. I think, however, with a few more chapters, I'll be the biggest AU fan running - only if you're writing, though!

As always, it's a privilege and a pleasure to read and review your work, Susan. I can't wait to see what's in store! ♥

Shelby

Author's Response: Shelby! It was a great surprise to see you reading and reviewing this story, and it means a lot to hear that you've enjoyed it so far! :D

It really is more of a Regency story than an Austen story, especially since I've drawn a more explicit connection to the Revolutionary Wars, but of all the authors who write about this period, her works are still the most inspirational - her wit and way of writing people is something I'd like to capture in this story. Her characters are wonderfully flawed and real, which is perhaps a major reason why her novels keep inspiring audiences (excluding your students of course :P The poor things have trouble with the writing because it doesn't sound like "modern" English to them - I wonder how they got through Shakespeare in high school).

I'm glad that the writing style is working for this story, not just because it's sometimes a nightmare to keep it up (it's wordier than even I'm used to!), but because I want to give a flavour of the style of the period without specifically trying to emulate Austen. There's no way anyone can do that - any attempts I've seen end up sounding ridiculous. It probably helps that I've also drawn from later nineteenth-century authors like Thackeray, Eliot, and Dickens - I've tried to recreate the period in this story rather than recreate an Austen novel. Maybe that's the difference.

It's true that I don't like Scorpius/Rose, though it's mostly because of how fandom has constructed their relationship. It's made a difference to place them in an entirely different setting, and I can see the ways that their personalities compliment one another. It's great that you see the similarities between Rose and Lizzie. I didn't purposely make them alike - the combination of Ron and Hermione gives Rose a lot of interesting characteristics. She is rather different from Lizzie as the story continues, mostly because Rose has more to fight against... as you'll see in later chapters. ;)

Thank you SO much for your review! It's inspiring and lovely - I can't tell you how much it means to hear these compliments from you, Shelby! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #49, by MissMoneypenny A Promise Given

23rd June 2013:
Hello!

First of all I'd just like to congratulate you, because this must be an extremely hard plot to pull of sometimes, what with all the historical accuracy, and the writing style, and everything. So hats off to you for that.

I'm really enjoying the story so far. I have to say, being a bit of wimp when it comes to this sort of thing, I wasn't ver the moon when I heard how Rose's family was now sort of... Is discredited the right word? But then I suppose it makes your fic stand out from others, and also emphasises the whole plot of Rose's search for a husband.

Rose is brilliantly written. She's a bit unpredictable, isn't she, and that's what makes her great. I am impatiently (not to say that the plot is moving slowly) awaiting more interaction between her and Scorpius/Darcy. And, if it's OK, would you mind putting in some good stuff that happens to Rose? Like, I don't know, everyone noticing how beautiful she is? Or she suddenly inherits a large amount of money? Or, at the very least, she learns how to conduct herself in public and becomes the toast of high society?

... Sorry. It's my own form of escapism.

Anyway, thanks for a great story, and please update soon!

Miss Monepennny :-)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It can be a challenging story to write, especially in trying to find the right balance between historical content and plot development (I keep veering toward the former to my dismay :P), but it's also just a fun story to write. The Regency period has a lot to offer, and I'm enjoying my first foray into it.

It's fantastic to hear that you've enjoyed the story so far. It was a risk to make Ron and Hermione unpopular in the wizarding world, but it made for an easy equivalent to the social position of the Bennett family in Austen's novel. Lady Catherine and Darcy himself have issues with Lizzie's family, and it ends up being a significant aspect of the novel's plot. I also wanted to take advantage of the fact that Hermione was tortured in Malfoy Manor - it's not something that comes up often enough in fanfiction even though it's a major traumatic moment for Hermione.

I'm so glad that you like my Rose! She's an odd character - at least in my mind - and I haven't quite figured out how I want to develop her. Good things will definitely happen to her! Thank you for mentioning that - she does need some happy moments to improve her self-esteem and ready her for the next encounter with Mr. Malfoy. :D


 Report Review

Review #50, by j A Promise Given

14th June 2013:
i love love love this! so much! i'm loooking forward for the next chapters! your story is very original and well written. i'm very curious about scorpius. and i'm hoping for a happy ending for the couple! thanks so much for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you! :D It's great to hear that you're looking forward to the next chapters. I have to sit down and figure out exactly how I want to develop Scorpius's character - he's a tricky one to write at the best of times, but because he's now in the role of Mr. Darcy, there's a lot more pressure to portray him in just the right way. *crosses fingers*

Thank you for your compliments! I really appreciate that you took the time to read and review. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>