Reading Reviews for What It's Worth
  
164 Reviews Found

Review #26, by TheWorldISee Reach Out in the Darkness

30th March 2011:
Oh dear, Molly's lost it! Hehe. Wonderful chapter as usual. Thad really reminds me of Wood here, those crazy quidditch captains. Poor Arthur is so in the dark about all this, men never know anything. :P I hope he figures it out soon so he can make sure Molly knows she's the only girl on his mind. :) Great job!

Author's Response: Thad might have had a psychotic break haha. Just kidding. I think he's just an obsessive sporty type. Guys like that have a lot in common, so he and Wood probably would've gotten along famously. And Arthur has no idea why Molly's upset - it would never even occur to him to be interested in someone else, so he wouldn't think that she was thinking that. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #27, by TheWorldISee Only A Moment

30th March 2011:
Hahahaha I love this line "if this was how he wanted to waste his time" it's so great. She's trying to be supportive but she can't help that she sees this all as a waste of time. Great job with that one. :)

Hattie's development with her mum potentially marrying a muggle is a great twist. It's really interesting to think about how the pureblood families operate and how they think about muggles. As Molly thinks, she's never been around a muggle, she's only seen them in passing and isn't sure what to think about them. And her squib cousin that was pretty much ostracized from the magic world (another one of your great details that you pull from the books), it's all really interesting to think about. Because I personally am more like Arthur is in this case. I think there's no reason to be prejudice and no bad time for tolerance but it's hard to feel differently when you have grown up being taught to think a certain way. It makes it easier to see how the Slytherins, like the Malfoy's feel the way they do (although I don't think they are right). It just makes for an interesting debate I suppose.

Anyways, now that I've spent a lot of time not making much sense I'm off to read the next chapter. Oh, and silly Molly for being upset that Arthur is "flirting" with someone. Hehe.

Author's Response: Thanks! I was going for that exactly; she's determined to support him but she still thinks it's stupid.

Hattie's really a good person, but she was raised pureblood and never even realized she might have a prejudice. Some of the things Ron says in the books makes me think pureblood kids - even the Weasleys - are raised with unconscious stereotyping of Muggles. And I think it's likely it came from their mother, love her though I do. She doesn't have Arthur's interest in them, and she does have a cousin who was a squib. I thought Hattie's subplot was a good one to bring out some new growth in Molly's character as well.

She is silly, isn't she? Arthur could only ever love her. XD Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #28, by TheWorldISee If You Know

30th March 2011:
Oh goodness, Arthur playing quidditch! How fun! Did Rowling ever elude to Arthur playing? This is bound to be exciting, and I do wonder how Molly will take it. Another wonderful chapter, loved Gideon and Fabian as usual. Well done!

Author's Response: No, it was never mentioned, but he's definitely a big fan - and Molly isn't - from canon, as he takes all the children to the Quidditch World Cup and she stays home alone. I figured though, with five out of his seven children being good at Quidditch (possibly six of seven, Bill's talent or lack thereof is never mentioned), it wouldn't be outside the realm of possibility for Arthur to be pretty good. The Weasleys seem like a bit of a sporty family. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #29, by TheWorldISee Here We Go Again

30th March 2011:
Wonderful start to the sequel, I didn't find it slow at all. I love that the girls had a council meeting first night back. And I hope that Thomas fancies Petula as well because that poor girl needs something positive in her life! I'm feeling incredible sorry for her. Siobhan's tattoo is awesome, I love it and it totally fits her character. But the more I read and think about it the more I'm a little worried for Siobhan's future... Alright I'm surprised I could make myself wait for the next chapter long enough to write this review so on to the next!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. I find writing beginnings most difficult. I like to jump right in. Siobhan's definitely the tattoo type. And Petula needs somebody to love her :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Aidenk77 Too Much To Dream

2nd September 2010:
Another brilliant, brilliant story. Your writing is just sublime, I enjoyed the story so much. I'm off now to find the next part. :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm very pleased that you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by RonsGirlFriday Too Much To Dream

9th July 2010:
I love this so much. Seriously, you have done such a wonderful job building the story of Molly and Arthur (and all of their friends) that I pretty much consider your Unsinkable-verse completely canon (all of the events, OC's, etc.). As in, if I were to stumble across another Arthur/Molly (and I haven't seen any, have you?), I would read it and it would seem weird to me because I already have this perfect and solid concept in my head from reading your stuff. :-D

And now I am definitely looking forward to moving on to "At the Hour" and "Over the Anvil."

-fangirl fangirl fangirl-

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! There aren't many Molly/Arthur stories set in their school years, really. Nothing as long as what I've written. I don't think anyone else has put as much thought into them as all this (clearly I need a life haha). I hope you like the next stories too!

 Report Review

Review #32, by RonsGirlFriday Lady Willpower

9th July 2010:
I really love the development of these characters - all of them are well-constructed and relatable. In particular in this chapter, Cecilia and the twins showing a different side to themselves - Cecilia's self-restraint when she knew it was necessary, and the twins sticking up for their sister and keeping her out of trouble. And of course, Molly and Arthur are completely adorable, as always!

Author's Response: The twins have really grown quite a lot over the course of this year. The duelling club gave them something to focus on, find some direction. It also develops their relationship with their sister in new ways. She has to see them as young adults instead of little boys. Cecilia really values her father and in particular his work and ideals very highly (her BFF is a Muggleborn, so it's not surprising). She had to control herself through this, which is good for her. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #33, by RonsGirlFriday Heart on the Shelf

9th July 2010:
I laughed quite a bit at Siobhan's reaction to hearing everyone was talking about weddings - jumping up right away and moving to another table. It created the perfect visual and it was so funny.

Arthur's protectiveness is really endearing, and his character obviously isn't completely overwhelmed by Molly's forceful personality. You write them so that they're very well matched.

Author's Response: Hehehe... I liked that scene a lot when I wrote it, it made me giggle. Siobhan's not a girly-girl, into weddings and all. I don't think she ever would be.

I think they're well-matched in canon, too. Molly does ride roughshod a lot, but she really does defer to Arthur quite often too. He's stronger than he sometimes seems ;) His calmness is a nice match for Molly's temper.


 Report Review

Review #34, by RonsGirlFriday A Thing About You

9th July 2010:
"What did you think we were going to do?"

Haha, that scene made me giggle. That poor boy.

Also, have I mentioned before how much I love Reid/Cecilia? I'm sure I have. They remind me quite a bit of my boyfriend and I. This line I especially loved:

"The school pays someone to do that," Cecilia told him. "Perhaps you've met her? They call her 'Madame Luscinia'."

Author's Response: lol. Poor Arthur. He was really hoping, even though he knew better.

I like Cecilia's sarcasm. Really, who else would put up with Reid? ;)

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #35, by RonsGirlFriday Clouds Passing Overhead

9th July 2010:
It's been an insanely long time since I've read this! I'm also going to get back to JAMR, but I'm in Arthur/Molly withdrawal, so I knew I had to finish up this one first. :-D

I've missed Siobhan so much in my reading absence. She's definitely my favorite female character here, reinforced by the fact that she totally doesn't care that Acacia calls her a homewrecking tart.

I like that your characters' interactions are always so realistic. The girls are very close, but they still keep secrets from each other and are reluctant to talk about certain things. And the guys generally don't let all of this petty nonsense come between them, but I do like this new Reid-Cosmo conflict now.

On to read the rest! I'm so glad to finally get a chance to sit down and read the finished product. :-)

Author's Response: So good to see you again! I'm glad you're back in the saddle.

Siobhan is one of my favorite characters as well. I've been really happy with the review responses on her. She is really quite unfazed by gossip, one of her more admirable qualities.

Even in a group of close friends, there's always an undercurrent of things unsaid. I try to keep things real, the way I see them.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #36, by katebabelovesharrypotter Too Much To Dream

18th June 2010:
I can never tell you how very much I adore your writing! I honestly love every single thing you've written! I even love your one-shots (and I do NOT like one-shots). You are such an excellent writier. I love your dedication to your stories and the way you write just fits into the whole Harry Potter world so well, but with its own uniqueness. I'll definitely continue reading anything you write! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *blushes* You really made my day - my week! - with this review. Thank you very much for your kind words. I hope you continue reading and enjoying!

 Report Review

Review #37, by GinnyCullen A Thing About You

14th June 2010:
I love how Arthur's mind goes astray at what Molly might have in store for his birthday. You keep making us want to come back for more and more!

Author's Response: Hehe, yeah he's definitely all hormones there. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Harry and Ginny Too Much To Dream

21st May 2010:
i'm very sad that this story has ended but i'm going to read the sequel right now!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thank you! Let me know what you think of it.

 Report Review

Review #39, by Harry and Ginny Written on the Wind

21st May 2010:
i'm so sorry i only got to review now but school has been hectic! anyway, things are getting pretty serious right now with the death of Twyla's parents. it shows that the wizarding world isn't what it was b4 and that it's no longer safer. reading next chapter now!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: I haven't seen you in forever! Thanks for coming by to read and review. Yes, things are definitely progressing in the war, heading toward danger.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Alopex Too Much To Dream

25th April 2010:
Aw, cute ending. This chapter was much shorter than most in this story, but it was a sweet ending and didn't need to be any longer, since you summed everything up pretty well in chapter 14.

I don't have much to say about this chapter, really. Arthur was rather adorable in his enthusiasm . . . I felt for Molly and the way she felt left out of the getting-jobs-and-moving-out business her friends are up to.

I did feel like this chapter was a little more scattered in terms of the characters. It's challenging to write large groups of people, and usually you do it well, but it didn't seem quite as cohesive this time. Maybe that's because you had to get them all in such a short space.

The OCs are brilliant, though. I've said it before, but I still like them. :-D I'm a bit anxious about the next installment, because I know they can't all make it safely through. :-(

Anyway, congratulations on finishing this story! (Haha, I'm reminiscing about when you finished "Unsinkable" and feeling proud that I've been following you for that long.) Your Molly and Arther set the bar, without a doubt.

Author's Response: I really didn't think this was a strong chapter/epilogue (since it wasn't really a chapter), especially compared to the finale of Unsinkable - funny that, since I think this story is stronger than Unsinkable, but that ended better - but I had dragged my feet so long on it that I just had to make myself finish it.

I do love my OCs, I hate to do anything to them, but it is a war, after all. Not everyone gets a happily ever after, and not all the ones who DO get one get to keep it forever.

Yeah, you've been one of my most loyal reviewers/readers


 Report Review

Review #41, by Kristin Too Much To Dream

21st April 2010:
A short chapter but that suited me well since I didn't really have time to read it (did it anyway, though)! Great end of a great fic and I can't wait to move on to the next part!

Author's Response: heh. Yes, it is pretty short, and thank you for reviewing! I hope to see you in reviews on the next part of the story :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Jen Too Much To Dream

20th April 2010:
I've loved this story. Your version of Molly and Arthur is quite delightful really. I do find myself wondering about how they end up eloping and a few other things, but that's half the fun, right?

Author's Response: I'll get there ;) The eloping story is mostly written already and will be posted as soon as I've got the second half of "At The Hour" up. The elopement is titled "Over The Anvil", so keep an eye out ;) Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Hermione528 Too Much To Dream

20th April 2010:
Thank you so much for this beautiful conclusion (to this portion of the Unsinkable-verse, anyway :P). I love how you've crafted these characters-- I just can't get enough! looking forward to the next part of the story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #44, by Rachel Too Much To Dream

20th April 2010:
So, wait, was this the last chapter of this one? Are you moving on now?

Lovely, by the way, although I could have done with it being a little longer... :-)

Author's Response: Yep, this was just an epilogue, thus its shortness. I'm moving on, but still in this same story universe. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #45, by theelderwand Too Much To Dream

20th April 2010:
Satisfying to finish off a tale, isn't it? And you should be very proud as this was a good one.

So much foreboding in this chapter. Arthur's future looking so bright, yet, from canon we know his career gets side-lined in the Ministry. Everyone still apprehensive about the looming war, marriage, leaving school. Must say, I felt that old familiar lurch in the stomach that I always used to get during graduations as I read this. Hats off to you for writing this so well as to evoke that response.

Still, I couldn't help but smirk at this:

"Chop chop, you lot," she said, shooing them toward the carriages. "We don't want to miss the train."

Echoes of September 1 at the Burrow! That was great.

I'm very pleased to hear the next installment will soon be up. Rest assured I'll be keeping my eye out for it. Curious tho, I tend not to post anything until my entire story is finished. Do you take the same approach, as it appears from your AN?

Been a real pleasure reading the Unsinkable 'verse. Thanks so much for giving me sucha great read.

TEW

Author's Response: It is satisfying. Sort of a relief when you've been working on it a long time. I'm very glad to hear the last chapter went over well with you. It's always a pleasure to read your reviews. :) Thank you so much!

I like shorter pieces to already be finished before I post them, but the novel-lengths I've written or am writing (in the case of JAMR) are pretty much posted as the chapter is completed. I have "At The Hour" all written, and actually has been for a long time now, and parts of "Over The Anvil" have been written even before I started "What It's Worth". OTA isn't quite finished yet, but the first two chapters are. I've already posted the first half of "At The Hour", and will post the second in a few days.

Thank you for the review, and for following the story all this time! I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Alopex Written on the Wind

16th April 2010:
I have enjoyed watching as the "current events" relevant to this story have steadily grown darker and more serious. First the rumors of Muggles being harrassed, progressing finally to Muggleborns being killed, and now Twyla's parents. Certainly that must have been a terrible time for those living it--in fact, we know it was based on what JKR's older characters said. It's really coming alive for me here, though. There's a real pall creeping over the characters' lives.

I'm impressed with your depiction of the exams! I think you've been emulating JKR's style very well in this story, and the way you handled the exams reminded me of the way she's written them. You didn't linger on them long enough for it to be boring, but it was perfectly clear how the stress was affecting everyone, etc.

Go Arthur! He almost has a job! I have a bad feeling about everything, though. I know this story is winding down, and it was obvious in this chapter that you're setting up futures for your characters. The problem is, I don't know if some of them have futures, you know? The world can be a dangerous place (especially if you're a wizard in Britain in the late 1970s), and "stuff" happens.

It's not all sunshine and roses. I definitely feel a sense of foreboding.

Author's Response: The wind-down on this story is here, yes, but there's more to the overall tale, so writing the ending of WIW has been kind of tough. Had to leave some things hanging, but not forever - the next installment is ready to go. Forebodings are definitely in order here.

It was a really dark time, as any war is, and they're all living right in the thick of it. It had to be awful to live through, and in canon they're still quite scarred by the experience. Hopefully I've shown in this story both the grimness of the times and yet that life still went on. That's the general aim ;)

I really appreciate the review. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Renegade Niffler A Thing About You

7th April 2010:
I am loving this story. From the various OC plots, to the realistic complications of teenage life in an ever darkening world, to the way you offset the darkness with light moments, it's just wonderful.

I love how you portray and develop Molly and Arthur's love. Molly was so sweet to have done that for Arthur, and he was so cute with his naughty expectations. Okay, I'll stop gushing now. Well done. Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Wow thank you! I'm really glad to hear that you're enjoying the story, and the OCs. I really like Molly and Arthur's group of friends, so it always makes me happy to hear that readers do too. I need to get my butt in gear and finish the epilogue to this so I can post the next part of their story. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Renegade Niffler Here We Go Again

29th March 2010:
Wizard tattoos! Brilliant! I think it's a true testament to the quality of your writing that I read "Unsinkable" so long ago yet remember your OC"s so clearly. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you still remember them, it's been a while since Unsinkable ended :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Kristin Written on the Wind

22nd March 2010:
Creepy chapter! I especially liked the part "It was far beyond a broken heart. It was as if someone had just destroyed her very soul." - it describes the contrast between the "tragedies" formerly known to Arthur & co, and the really bad things in life ... The ending was a bit more optimistic but we all know what's coming ... Great work as usual! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Yes, their definition of tragedy is going to have to change. No more fireworks incident, now there's real war and death.

 Report Review

Review #50, by theelderwand Written on the Wind

21st March 2010:
As with any chapter/story, its always the ending that sparks the most thought. I know Arthur's sojourn in the Ministry can't end well given the canon, so I'm assuming his job with Cecilia's father will likely end in his death and maybe Cecilia's too. Tragic. But excellently set up.

Your writing of the stresses of NEWT's and how everyone dealt with them differently has the strong taste of realism. Well done that.

The murder of Twyla's parents was a great piece of writing, very unexpected. The fact that her father was a half-blood went a long way to show how the heat has started to be turned up on the conflict. I can feel the explosion building and am most curious to see how you write it.

Once again, an enjoyable chapter. I wait, impatiently, for the next.

TEW

Author's Response: You are mighty perceptive. Yes, Arthur's sojourn in Mr. Fletcher's office won't last to the end of the summer, unfortunately. The Weasleys would have had a much different life if it had.

It's been a few years for me since I finished my master's, but I remember the comps at the end of it. Youch. Comprehensive exams suck, so I had them in mind writing about NEWTs. I'm glad it turned out all right.

Poor Twyla. But someone had to be the sacrificial lamb to the war. The first of many.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm sorry it took me so long to respond, I'm usually better about that.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>